(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Meilan

When's your playgroup and it's in SengKang area? I'm going to one for Keith at Bkt Panjang tomorrow ... hopefully it can get to be a routine one for him. hm, but he's running a slight fever today, perhaps due to teething so I may not go.

Sherlyn
We'll allow our #1 to skip his nap if it's 4pm++. He'll be tired out by 8 something and would be asleep in 5 mins. If not, I'll ask him to go to his bed and close his eyes. Sometimes hugging his big bolster helps. Just yesterday, I got him to sleep at 2pm till 2.30pm as we need to go out for Chinese lesson after that. He doesn't usually throw a tantrum but that might happens after a nap (where he was somehow awoken by his didi). What I do now is to tell him sternly that I'm going to close the door and he can open the door when he stops crying (I do pre-empt him before he sleeps that I'll do that). When the child is throwing a tantrum, I find you can' tell them the steps that you are going to take, so I pre-empt. So far, he hasn't really open the door himself but after shutting him in there for 2 mins, I opened the door to find that he's calm down a fair bit and we can talk.

Meilan/K's mom/Sherlyn, be happy that your mother and/or father is around to help you. My dad passed away more than 20 years ago and my mother is not exactly in the right mind to mind kids. I've struggled to accept this fact (of my mother) for a long time and in fact spoke to a counsellor recently on it. I'm learning to accept that fact that my mother is general in her own world of happiness. You may find it's a struggle to give your mother the balance of self-freedom and fulfilment as a grandmother ... be happy about that struggle. My kids are fed by either their father/mother or jie-jie (my helper). I do wish I have that luxury of a struggle.... just to give you a different point of view :>

.ky.

Hi there

Did not have time to read through all the post yet. But here's some sharing on our theme on Farm. I am still wrapping up Science on Space since Kai is so interested in that so will probably start on Farm for Science next week.

Duck on the farm
724770.jpg

724771.jpg

724772.jpg

724773.jpg

Rabbit on the farm
724774.jpg

724775.jpg

Animals on the farm with farmhouse and tractor
724776.jpg

Kai singing Old MacDonald has a Farm
724777.jpg

K's mum, yes, Kai has been praying for a meimei daily and he has all plan out what he wants his meimei to have haahaa....everything in pink.

wow, pris, lovely farm animals. kai is so lucky to have a talented mommy!
good luck with trying for no.2 ;)

Thanks ladies for your thoughts on caning, i am the soft hearted type who actually won;t use it, i was just thinking if i should stock a real one to threaten her when need be. yesterday, she actually saw one at a friend's pl, and boy, when i told her that's the cane, her tears started rolling and she went, ' i dont want cane, i will be in the 'good' group. hee hee, i should really keep one at home yeh?

meilan
how did the yoga session go?

Mommies
Popular book fair from tomorrow at Expo.

k's mom
hope ur kids have fully recovered, it;s really not easy having to deal with 2 cranky ones.

hi sherlyn
does jing an sleep early at nite if he doesn't nap? is it possible to let him have dinner early then tuck him in at 8ish? or is it father-son bonding time at night?

i am in the mood to play dress-up with mel.

so far, she has pretended to be a babe in bikini and a fairy princess. i took pictures after dressing her up, we were giggling away,it was great fun.

a boy and girl sibling team can be princess and prince, papa bear, mama bear nurse and doctor, etc, oh how cute!

hi moshimoshi/sarah

u gals meeting at ikea on thu morning? I may pop over to popular fair either tomorrow or friday

.ky.

how do your kids count? If I give a 4 x 3 number of cards to Ben, he'll be counting all over the place and that means that'll be some that he double count.... I'm trying to teach him to count "properly", eg from top to bottom and left to right... is that right? He'll do that but I know after a few days, he'll go back and count his own way

.ky.

Hi ky!

Bryan was also at that stage for a pretty long time. Actually ever since I discovered he could count a bit at about 2.5 years.

But at the turn of the year, I realised he's counting with better accuracy. He doesn't count things twice now. Perhaps he's also been getting practice at counting in school too.

Hmmm... am not too sure if this is commom among other kids... can't say much there other than keep practising with him by getting him to point at each item/have it covered up after counting.

Maybe Pris or Serenade has more ideas. Their children are more advanced in counting.

moshimoshi, we dun cane our daughter. in fact, the cane is not useful at all cos dd is nt afraid of it. she's more afraid of standing in one corner for timeout. strange hor!!??

Hi Kristin's mom,

I am hoping that my mother will be like your mum, just helping out with a pair of eyes .. but she complains that it is a waste of her time to just help me out with feeding and lending me another pair of eyes so she prefer to cook and manage my household, and boy, i m not use to instruct other people to do things my way, how else would i be able to instruct her! But after many quarrels, she also know my pattern of doing things so will try to accomodate (that is v nice of her of cos).

and you are so right abt kids getting your nerve at home. I think with the first trip, i hope to have the next and the next and many more trips, but my mother will certainly would not allow me to venture alone out with them (that zoo trip is to meet my fren and kids there).

My boy's nap routine .. usually slightly after lunch and TV at 1 plus 2. But that is after wasting 30 mins to 45 minutes to coax him to sleep, if not for the forcing, he would not nap at all. Without nap and outings, he will only sleep 9 or 9 plus, cos even if he is tired, he will continue to play. In the playmode, i think all tired toddlers can keep awake longer. I will be happy if he has an earlier sleep time, but i am not into purposely deprive him of a nap, unless it is dinner time. I deem 5-6pm nap too late, cos his late sleep time will means more havoc at night and will irritate my hubby. I don't prefer high sugar snack, and my kids need supervision in coloring/worksheets as well. Bathing him and making him sit quietly (if i ever succeed) will put him easily into dream land which is a no no at those timings. Playground is a no no cos time to eat, and help in preparing dinner ? will be easier if I only had one kid.

Discipline wise, i do have houserules like no shouting, no running, but they are usually broken or the kids hv to be reminded. His behaviour is too violent now to be left alone unattended, so i think i will continue try isolate him on the sofa which is safer.

Thanks so much for the tips. Got to try them out to see if it works on him. I am glad all of you lend me a listening ear too. Sorry for the long post. I am a very "lor saw" woman.

Hi ky,

Wow, all the way to Maybee babies PG ?

I do pre-empt my boy for certain things, like how he shd behave when he is outside before we go out, but when we are out, he stil misbehave, or like "if you beat mei mei again, i will cane you" but he still will forget and blame me for canning him.

Without nap, he would only complain of tired after 9pm, and he can wake up at 6 plus to 7am the next day. Maybe he need less sleep? *sigh*

I also agree it is good to have an extra helping hand. But one mountain can't have 2 tigers, and i really hate the idea of making my mother manage my household in my way since she is not my maid. If only she could just be a "stand by", help when only required, and to lend me an extra pairs of eyes, rather then be the "maid" doing all my housework. So I guess my real problem is that my mother is not really behaving like the grandmother, where she shd enjoy the grandchildren but like a maid, preparing my dinner, mopping the floor, hanging my laundry etc.

i am so glad you guys lend me a listening ear and offering help. I do not have much friends now and my kids are also pretty lonely without friends. I hope once i settle in bringing them out alone, i can join more of the gatherings arranged here. :)

Hi Moshimoshi,

Jing An can tahan till 9 or 9 plus even without a nap. He will continue to run around after dinner .. till 9 when he is really tired. We usually give him early dinner if he dun nap, cos we are afraid he would suddenly want to nap without dinner. Sometimes he start dozing off at dinner table and we hv to "perk" him up with TV (even thou I don't like that).

There is seldom father-son bonding or father-daughter bonding, cos the kids usually runs around or play among themselves if we (the adults) do not initiate them to come to us for group play. Furthermore, kids both stick to me more and the father is usually tired and at times doze off on the sofa.

Sometimes i do wish the father is more involved on weekdays.

Hi Serenade,
Glad the info was useful to you. I'm feeling so much better from the aching. Have been trying not to logon that often else I'll be stuck on the chair. Bad posture too.

Feels good to have Hannah around. Too bad my pain was so bad that I couldn't do anything with her last week. Well, at least we had some activities together this week before term starts on Mon.

I am new to this thread. Let me introduce myself. I have 2 boys - the younger one will turn 4 in Dec and the older one is in P1. I just become a full time SAHM this year.
My younger one is in montessori nursery school now but the school doesn't offer kindergarten class. I have heard a lot about private kindergartens but I can't find a suitable one near my house. Do you have kids in PCF Kindergarten? Any comments?

hi sherlyn
gee, it seems that jing an can really go without naps, how about taking him out in the afternoons to fully utilise his waking hours? the libraries have the occasional story telling sessions.

abt gatherings, we will definitely meet again when Serenade returns in june. before that, we'll see what we can come up with. any bday parties??

was supposed to meet sarah at ikea, melody came down with a bad cough. sigh... so much for sch hol fun...

where do u live? are u a SAHM, sorry, am lazy to search for the table to check.

hi Jess
Welcome! my dd attends a church school, i don;t know much abt PCF, every school is different, go visit the school and talk to the principal to get a gut feel if u will like it. one advice i got from a friend is to check the toilets which
is an indicator of the hygiene level there.

ky
did u go to the pop fair? heard fr sarah that stationeries are cheap.

abt counting, the 'right' way to count from left to right, top to bottom. what cards are u using? is it to train mental counting? mel can count properly if the objects are arranged in linear fashion but may lose count if she is given a group of objects (more than 10) arranged in random order. i feel it;s better to let them first count objects in linear fashion and encourage them to count mentally without having to track with their finger. start with small qty, say, within 10 first.

keikei
do u have a designated 'circle' for ur dd to stand in? how long is the time out? i heard it goes with the child;s age, 3yo - 3min?

hi moshimoshi

intend to go tomorrow ... ya, heard a book on "san zi jing" is selling for $9.50 ... anyone wants anything pm me to topang (not too challenging stuff, ok...)

.ky.

Jess,
Welcome! Hope to see you online often.

Moshi,
Birthday party? Unless apricot celebrating aston's birthday in apr. Hannah's timeout is her room, and she can only come out when she calm down or my timer rings. 5mins is the maximum.

Hey, your friend is so right about toilets. It was a requirement whenever I go for interviews.

Ky,
I think I saw the 'san zi jing' you mentioned. Not sure how much it cost though. Good demand - saw many mommies buying it.

I'm getting jitters as my return date draws nearer and nearer. Kind of scary to return to Sg after being 4 years away, esp, when I think abt the education system in Sg. In fact, I'm having a sudden panic attack; Brandon will be missing out half a year of N2 life. I used to think that N2 is optional, but now I'm having doubts. Can anyone share what the kids are expected to learn within the first half year of N2? TIA.

seems like alot of kiddos are sick lately. dd has been coughing and hvg flu for past week and she has barely recovered. tday, she is dwn w high fever. i felt upset bcos i was nt aware of dd's sickness and I was actually at a colleague's hse for MJ. I felt bad when I wasnt by her side when she was so unwell. In order to brg her temp dwn, MIL gave her a shower and dd protested, cried and screamed. Gotta monitor dd's condition and hope that her condition gets better or hb wld want rush her to KKH A&E.

moshimoshi, dd's timeout ranges fr 3 to 5 mins, depending on how long it takes her to stop crying / stop throwing her tantram. if she's naughty again after a 1st timeout, she will hv to stand longer on her 2nd timeout.

Hi Ky,

Sorry, i thot you are attending one playgroup started from a MaySpring condo, think their name is MayBee babies. Guess its not that one then

Hi Moshimoshi,

I think you are quite right abt Jing An able to go without naps. Imagine he woke at 7am today, went to swimming pool play water for 45 minutes from 10, watch 1.5 hr of TV during lunch, then off we go to expo. He did not nap in the train ride from clementi to expo, and we went visiting the book fair, the metro fair, and he still din nap on the journey back. He only finally sleep at 815pm.

I thot the "swimming" would hv tired him out, and still worry he would miss his dinner if he nap on the journey back, and guess I was wrong this time.

I cant really go out in the afternoon, cos my gal would want to follow along if she sees us, and my gal needs the nap. Also most of the time, my mother would go back to her house (which is next block only) to cook dinner when the kid/kids nap, thus i have to be at home.

My boy is now in school mah, so if gatherings in weekday, i also difficult to attend, and my hubby isnt keen on gatherings (which means i have to leave him out on gatherings if it is weekends). Sometimes i do wish people would visit me, like have playdates with my kids since i so ma fan. haha.

I stay in clementi, next to NTUC, and a stay at home maid/mother. haha

Hi Jess,

Welcome. I am not that old in this forum either, and sometimes super active, sometimes super inactive.

sherlyn

Hi Serenade,

my boy attend N2 PCF. After the first term, i was given this piece of paper which apparently tells us what they are "taught" for that first term.

Here's the info :-

Language and literacy --
*self introduction - to enable children to say their names
*knowing your friends
*gender - boy or girl
*story 'goldilocks and the three bears', ' five little monsters'
*story ' big nose', 'crazy caterpillar', 'the donkey and the cat'
*my age - to enable children to know their age
*recognise the letters a, b , c, d , e by the shapes, name and sound
*things begining with the letter a, b, c, d, e
*discussion on the differences between a boy and a girl
*discussion on the type of clothes boys and girls wear
*exploring our body - my upper body , my lower body
*introducing the face and the nect - accessories for the neck
*picture talk - actions we can do with the different parts of our body

environmental awareness --
*sense of sight
*sense of smell
*sense of taste
*sense of hearing
*sense of touch
*whispering game
*movements of the neck
*placard book - "clean and healthy me" - observe personal hygience
*good hygience practice from head to toe

numeracy --
*to cout, read and recognise numbers up to 5
*to know that fingers can represent a set of things counted
*counting the different parts of the body
*counting the facial features
*matching accessories

self and social awareness --
*to enable children to know they are special
*to enable children to make eye contact when listening or being spoken to
*to enable the children to know their peers
*interact politely with peers
*to take turns during activity
*to respond appropriately to instructions
*my friends and i

aesthetic and creative expression --
*rhyme - 'my face', 'i am special', 'little boy blue', ' jack and jill'
*cut and paste - boy and girl
*songs "some little faces", " hokey pokey", "if you are happy", "the letterbag is here today"
*to fill and image with paint and brush
*song "hello, how are you", "head and shoulders,knees and toes"
*decorate a birthday card
*to enable the children to use art tools to express their creativity
*exploring sound and making shakers
*song "this is the way i brush my teeth"
*dough play
*foot print and finger printing
*music and movement: wiggle wiggle
*portrait of myself
*dramatization - story " little red riding hood"

Please note of spelling as I type all these without spell check. Hope that helps.

Hi Serenade,
Don't worry unduly. From your blog, I think Brandon is doing great. He's reading on his own! And not many kids of same age can do that.

Anyway, when Hannah was still in Kinderland, the theme was Me & My Body. Taught simple words like one, red, girl etc. For Chinese, simple ones like yi, er,etc. Oh yes, lots of songs in both languages. Then, it was CNY songs, tradition. This much to share, hopefully can share more when new term starts.

Btw, have you found a CC or kindy for Brandon?

Hi Jess!

A traditional welcome from this thread to you!

I'm sure you can share more on childcare with us as your older kid is already in P1.

Love to hear from you more often!

Hi mommies!

Wow... so much about book fair and education in Sg lately!

Have been giving the Internet a miss these days as the weather has been nothing but fabulous!!! 16 deg warm!!! And new leaves are shooting and cherry blossoms every where!
Unfortunately we are still sick... well, at least Kristin and I are still quite severely down with a sore throat and an irritating cough that has no phlegm!!!

The past few days were spent out in the playground, esp. on Tues and Wed coz Bryan was sent home from school on Mon on a suspected conjunctivitis case. But we really think it could be a broken vessel coz it got better after three days of rest and most importantly, there was no yucky discharge. So no school means playground. Otherwise we would have all lost it by now.

administering eye drops for Bryan... hehe, I think I'm a pro now... but I've given up totally on Kristin. Held her down with one arm and then use the hand from the same arm to pry open the eye with the other hand ready to drip the eye drops, and still she can keep her eyes tight shut. I really wish I had another pair of hands... Also, since the alarm wasn't really for conjunctivitis, i let it rest for. But when it comes to nose drops for her, no mercy! Tzzk, tzzk, what a nasty mom!!!

AM hoping that my husband could be on leave... so that I can rest for 48 hours to get my health back... hmmm, wondering if checking into a hospital would just help to stop my cough, the headache (pressure from coughing so hard), stiff shoulders... sigh! Complain so much here... doesn't do justice to the blue skies and beautiful flowers blooming out there. Really, am very sick of being sick. And the docs here are just so careful that they'd rather us suffer than to prescribe antibiotics... who cares what will happen to my body later? I need an immediate relief so that I can run my household with a clear mind!

Thanks for hearing me out, friends!

Hi Sherlyn!

Yeah, think Jing An might be ready to pass on his nap. He can hit the sack at about 8pm without a nap. That's really wonderful, actually.

Problem with Bryan is that he can still be up and about and be really cranky till about 10pm if he misses his nap. It doesn't mean he'll sleep immediately. But it still depends largely on what he does over the day. E.g. today, he passed out even while he was drinking his milk at 8.30pm. He didn't have a nap coz he was out the whole day with school and followed by a playdate at a friend's place.

I'm the one who's not willing to give his nap up coz his sister still needs a good nap in the late afternoon. With him not sleeping and jumping about in the whole house, you can expect no peace for the sister.

Funny thing happened yesterday:
We were out at the playground and came home only about 5.30pm. Washed his hands and feet and got him changed and immediately he went straight to his bed at 5.45pm. He told me he was going to take a short nap. Too bad, Mommy had in mind for him to a bake a cake for his Daddy's b'day. And with that, he was wide awake again.

Hi Pris!

Kai is such a neat boy! He's got very good control with his hands too - just look at how he squeezed the glue out.

My son will be spreading glue all over...

Don't think my son has any aptitude there...

Hi Serenade!

Did Cheryl start playing with her food shortly after she started self-feeding? If yes, any brilliant idea to keep her focussed on finishing the meal?

Kristin's been discovering how food can disappear between her fingers, e.g. mashed up, torn up, squashed up etc. She's also been experimenting with eating with her hands.

Btw, the zookeeper thing that you used? Hey, that's a good trick. Now I tell Bryan to stop jumping around like a monkey while he's out at a store, lest some people might call up the zookeeper to come get him. Haha!

Also, I notice he scurried off to scoop up all his toys the other day even well before my cleaning lady made it to my doorstep. The buzz was good enough to start him working. I had never seen him keep his toys at such speed before. He was afraid that the cleaning lady would vacuum off his toys... so ever since then, I set a timer and tell him to clean up his mess, else everything else on the floor will land itself in a box and the box will end up in the basement and he'll not see the box for a very very long time... haha... no need to clean up now for Mommy!

Hi there

Been pretty busy lately and hardly have the time to pop in.

I just need a little help here. What sound does a rabbit make? is it nibble?

K's mum...Kai loves all his art to be neat haaahaa...

Ky, can't comment much on multiplication as I am working with Kai on additions up to 2 digits and hoping to add some problem sums (story sums). He has learnt alittle about fractions from a story book and was surprised that he understand it pretty well.

Serenade, I don't think Brandon will have any problem, he is very advance at his age.

Wow, this thread is very active. I didn't expect to see so many posts within a day but I really hope to make some new friends here.

I am not sure how old are your kids but based on your description, many of them seems very bright! I don't teach my boy much at home and he only starts attending school daily this year. In fact he learns most of the things in school. Are all the kids being mentioned here 4 years old this year?

Hi Sherlyn,
Thanks for the info! It has most informative and gives me an idea what to expect.

Can't help you much on the nap. The last time Brandon skipped his naptime, he ended sleeping earlier at ard 9pm. But he would wake up at 11pm and remain so until 1-3am. Which is why I prefer him to take naps nowadays.

Hi Sarah and Pris,
Thanks for the encouragement. But I just can't help getting a bit paranoid lately. Guess I'm also worried about the readjustment we will be going through. Life has been pretty easy and laidback for the last 4 years. But now, the thought of a fast-paced life seems pretty daunting. Imagine the switch from a country life to a city life. I really hope the kids can adapt fast and well to the new environment.

Hi Jess,

All kids here are 4 years old this year. If you scroll up a little, you will see a table depicting the birth months of the kids. Thanks to worrymum for the effort.

We have lots to learn from you. All our kids are either 4 or younger. So far, the mommies here do have regular meetups. Do join them if you can.

Hi Sherlyn,
We can probably arrange something since we are staying pretty close. But let me get the driving license first :p.

Hi moshimoshi,
Mel doesn't like bread? Just caught sight of her foot on the bread in the pic. Hmm, or is that foot yours?

Hi ky,
Am not into multiplication yet. Counting wise, Brandon can do it both ways - random and orderly manner. For random counting, he's quite fine with counting anything more than 10 but less than 15 (maybe 20). Most of the times, there's no double counting cos he can remember those that he has counted previously. For counting in orderly manner, it came later when he needs to count more than 20. I often leave him to count in his own ways. Will just get him to recount if he makes mistakes.

Another thing - For items less than 6, he can tell the correct qty just by taking a look. I'm not sure if counting in a random fashion helps in achieving this;

Hi kristins_mom,
Can't offer you advice on that part. Lately, Cheryl has digressed back to the baby stage. She prefers to be fed, even with her bottles of milk, sigh... Now I have stooped to using yogurt to bait her into finishing meals herself. And sometimes, it doesn't work...

The zookeeper trick is great, isn't it? Actually I learnt it from Lynette in the Desperate Housewife Season 1. She was threatening her kids about calling Santa Claus if they misbehaved. That gave me the idea.

Hurray for Bryan! At least less work for you now.

Hi Pris,
Yeah, can understand why you are so busy. Making preparation for homeschooling is a lot of work. What's more you still have entertainment to work on. Currently I'm wrapping Plants and hoping to start on Ocean next week.

Btw, are you archiving all your homeschooling work? Just occurred to me that it's a good idea to archive them for Cheryl as well as revisiting them with Brandon. Well, just food for thought in case you haven't done that.

On 2 digit addition, do you mean something like 12+23? Have you taught Kai to add vertically? Am still working with Brandon on single digit addition (e.g 6+9). Will probably proceed with harder additions once he mastered that mentally.

Kai is really neat with his work. Will show Brandon Kai's work to encourage him to be neater. But it will be pretty hard with a sister always trying to "lend" him a helping hand. Wish me luck.

Hi Sarah,
Nope, I haven't enrolled Brandon in any preschools yet. Seems like most morning sessions are not available except for Eton House. Most likely we will enrol him in The Learning Ladder pm session cos it's the nearest. But also considering another montessori preschool near our house. From Sheryln's post, PCF seems pretty structured too. Might consider PCF.

A bit confused - thought you will be going to Australia for 3 months? Change in plans?

Seranade/Pris ... multiplication? oops, communication breakdown. actually I lay out 12 cards (just some shape cards coz we were doing that before moving onto counting) in 4 row by 3 columns and asked Ben to count... and he was doing counting randomly. I guess I'll try out Moshi's suggested method, strengtening his linear counting first.

A fren who's started teaching pri told me that schools uses model when teaching maths (like beads used in montessori) ... Pris, how do you teach Kai addition?

On Rabbit, don't know what sound it makes... but how abt using it to teach chinese. Ben's first lesson in chinese is a rhyme on rabbit
"xiao bai tu, peng peng tiao.
bu chi yu rou chi qing cao" ... translated as
little white rabbit, jumping
don't eat fish, meat, eat green grass

Sherlyn, MaySpring ... where's that? AMK? I'm ok to travel as long as it's easily accessible and time permits. I go to Clementi, Punggol and now AMK on a regular basis, and I stay in CCK.

Hi Serenade, don't worry abt the kids adjusting back to sg's edu system. Like you, It's just a change in culture that may came as a shock more to us adults. Which monteossri preschool are you looking at? Have you heard of Sherwood Mont? It's off Jln Jurong Kechil. Perhaps when you are back, go visits the preschools and find out from them the curriculum. They should be ready to show you what they are teaching the N2.

There's a free concert at Republic Poly this evening ... we might be going. Anyone keen? see ya there!

.ky.

Hi Serenade,
Wow, Eton's House. Very expensive but gorgeous uniform.

No change in travel plans to Australia. But my departure plans depend on hb's schedule. Sis would prefer we visit year end so that we can travel to the coast or Brisbane. But I have enough summer in Sg and do not want to suffer more heat during holidays.

Therefore I have to enrol Hannah in another sch, not knowing when we depart. Especially I have not been exactly teaching her these days.