(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

K's mum, not necessary 3 yr as I have check with the HR before I left. In fact, I have a friend who returned to Singapore recently was away for 5 years and still on leave until her younger dd reach 3 yr old. I am not too worry also since dh has assured me that he does not need me to return to the workforce even when we return to Sg. Cap of 3 yr for each child till the child turn 3.

My nephew in Germany is also under a stat board, should be returning to Singapore this year too.

One of my cousins who used to work in both TDB and STD was bought out of his contract too and now he is with a foreign company and travel regionally too since his children is studying in Singapore so he still be in Singapore very frequently and it was good for the family when the holiday arruve that they travel with him all paid.

There are also more things to discover in Science, and when I was teaching, I hardly teach anything in the textbook except picking up the keywords for the children to learn, I provide them with activities beyond the textbooks and it helped alot when it comes for exams and also PSLE since they were not just tested based on textbooks.

Keikei, glad that your dd enjoyed herself. Kai has to give his 3 yr old celebration a miss though booking for the Macdonald restaurant was made by in advance even before we returned for our short break in Singapore. And unforeseen circumstances happened, my father-in-law was admitted to hospital due to 2 strokes with a month. Good thing was that my bro took a few days off to bring him to the theme park in downtown east and also to sentosa giving me some time to take a breather since I was like moving around to run errands, visit the hospital daily and also buying and preparing our luggage for Japan and also to return back to Vancouver.

Moshimoshi....it is so much easier to get all the science gadgets in Singapore. I used to do alot of that with my nieces and nephews and also with my students. Will go source around here for all the gadgets in the hardware shops soon here, since I think that it is really fun for Kai to build a circuit and I may used that as my next topic for Science. And I am sure Mel will enjoy them too.

3 yr old assessment has to be done with the week of the child's birthday, so you will probably need to wait till 4 yr old assessment.

Serenade, if you are still working on the yard - can teach about Living Things and Non-living things too. And also separating the different creatures into their animal kingdoms, that should be fun too. Kai did a study on frog and toad before we left Singapore when a friend give him a very interesting DVD from Taiwan in Mandarin and he loves all the songs and stories in there and one particular story about frog too. The recent life0cycle we have completed was on butterflies and moth. It is a petty that we could not get the eggs easily here and it was very costly at the insects shop and I have promised Kai that we will observe the changes again when we are back in Singapore since we can find the eggs easier in the park or even on lime plants which I can ask my uncle to look out for me.

How I wish for the weather to be sunny soon, there are so much we can do on the field.

KY, what does the jumpstart chinese lessons cover? Does Ben enjoy himself? So far, Kai can recognise quite a bit of chinese characters and have asked us to start him on chinese book reading. I got a set of 4 chinese stories from a chinese bookstore here and to my surprise since I would not open them, and it was meant for 3-4 yr old and it was so much tougher than the P1 abd P2 textbooks and we are reading it daily and Kai would pick out some of the chinese characters he has learnt. I am planning to teach him the poem behind each chapter of the text I am using to teach him Chinese and will enlarge to paste on the wall on paper for him when I find time to go to the photocopy shop.

Meilian, it would also be a good break for you if you could bring them to the park with an open space to run about for them to release their energy or to play with sand if you can find a sand pit. When we were in Singapore, I used to bring Kai alone to Sentosa beaches 2-3 times a week for him to play with sand and during the weekend, we could bring him to kent ridge park, botanic garden, west coast park and also east coast park for him to run about or to kick ball with him. And Changi Airport was also one of his favourite spot, too. And after visiting the Bird Park with a friend and her daughter, Kai started to love the birds' park where he and the little girl had fun playing in the water and spraying water using the waterhose provided at the children play area, but must be prepared to get extra clothing and dressed them in swimsuit there. And the mummies also had a good time chit chatting.

Joanne, has been praying for Benny, how is he doing now after the operation? You too must rest well so that you can take care of Benny and Bryan well! Benny is such a brave boy so you must be strong too.

Worry_mum, thanks for the update and you are very organised.

Ok....I am going to go all my stuff before everyone is awake! Have fun ladies!

Wow, the forum is getting very busy again and I'm happy to see our group expanding.

Thanks for all your concern and advice abt dealing with JK. I've seen some improvements with JK in the past week (though I'm not sure how long this will last) and I believe it's mainly due to the change in my approach ie - I stopped shouting as far as I can. When he spilled something, I just sighed and told him to be more careful. Even when he pushed meimei, I only told him sternly not to do it again. These are just some examples of how he is still his clumsy, mischievous self but because I have not been shouting, he has reduced the frequency of his tantrums significantly. Even when he is into one, he ends it much quicker if I remain calm but firm. But as soon as I raise my voice, he would start a screaming competition. So I have learnt that if I can't change others, I can only change myself. I also don't know how long I can remain in better control of myself but the past week has been a lot more positive and pleasant simply because I have adopted a softer approach on him.

I remember ky told me once how the way we handle our kids would gradually become our parenting style. Thanks ky, I reflected on what you said and decided that I didn't really like my style - screaming, bribing, threatening and seldom in control. My husband always points out mothers we know who don't scream (eg my cousin, our next-door neighbour, some friends etc) and how their kids' gentle temperament takes after them. Pris just mentioned that she seldom screams, maybe that's why Kai seems like such a mild kid. Amazingly, ky you told me your temper is not good but Benedict really seems like such a good boy (from the bottom of my heart) I felt heartache over the staple incident when he tried so hard to regain your approval.

Anyway, Sheryln, I think our situation is extremely similar- coping with 2 hyperactive kids, not wanting to take breaks at the expense of our already burdened parents, physically and emotionally drained by kids and housework ... You really are not alone.

More on staying at home, just in case by voicing my frustrations I have painted an overly negative picture on anyone considering to do so eg Worry mum. Frankly I didn't plan to be a SAHM for more than 6 months - it was more a try-and-see thing. But once you have tasted life 24/7 with your kids, it will be extremely hard to leave them behind again. Despite my complaints and frustrations, I actually regretted not doing so sooner when JK was younger and an only child. Instead, I was travelling on working trips so much that I missed his many firsts (they always happened when I was away). How I wished I had made better use of my time then!

As it turns out, one of my ex-bosses has just offered me for a 2-day per week contract. Now I am really in a dilemma cos as Sherlyn puts it, if I take up a part-time job, I will most definitely be more exhausted and have even less time for myself. And most of all, I already feel that I can't bear less time with my kids. But everyone asked me to give it a try first and my ex-boss suggested we try for 3 months first. I'm still considering...

Cindy, thanks for the your tips. Actually I'm doing very little already. Apart from the daily essentials eg cooking and washing, I leave most of the housework to our part-time cleaner or just make do with lower standards of cleanliness. As for cooking, I do a lot of single dishes eg Japanese curry, chicken rice or fried noodles. But I'm thinking that if I can cater tingkat dinner, my stress level will be greatly reduced. Now, I spend 1.5hr each afternoon just to help JK and JC fall asleep and depending on late they do so, preparing dinner becomes a greatly rushed job.If I didn't have to cook, I don't have to bother what time they sleep or whether they sleep or not. I also don't have to find time for marketing and all the washing. But honestly, we are already financially stretched on a single income and I also do not like the idea of having outside food especially if they are delivered as early as 4pm.

Sarah, I'm appalled that the girls in Hannah's class wear nail polish and chokers etc to sch. You are talking abt Kinderland right? For us, we are trying our best not to make JC into that sort of princess. In fact, we don't plan to expose her to the barbie doll kind of stuff. We are actually quite happy that she is a tomboy so far but seriously we hope to mould her in such a way that she will derive her confidence from her values and intelligence rather than her appearance.

Cindy, actually ky and I are currently in one of those playgroups you have proposed. It's really a great initiative to have mummies take turns to conduct learning sessions for the children but it takes a lot of commitment and passion and I'm fortunate to get accepted by this group. The mummies put in so much effort in preparing the lesson I'm determined to do my turn well in order to properly repay what we have gained.

I'm now trying to form a group for JC but it's so hard to start from scratch as most mothers esp working mums are afraid to commit on a regular basis esp if they have to teach a group. If only you and Serenade are here now...

There are a couple of interesting library programmes in Mar. I would like to share those below.

1)Parenting talk on "raising a happy and confident child" at the library in Hougang Mall on 17 Mar, 3-4pm.

2) Chinese storytelling at Sengkang Library on 21 Mar, 3-3.40pm.

Anyone keen to join me?

Sarah, are you still bringing Hannah to Ugly Duckling? Moshi, want to meet up in AMK / Bishan next week? I will hole up at my mum's place for part of the week during the Mar hols. Now that I'm a SAHM, I think JK misses not getting out of the house as often as before.

ky, I searched the NLB website and could not find any press release on closing of CCL. Obviously they are trying to make this a low-key thing. If you decide to follow up with more letters to the the press, maybe you can start collecting signatures for a petition here. I am not a user as there is none in my vicinity but I think they should open more CCL instead of quietly closing them down.

People around me have been sending their 3yr-olds to Kumon. I am not sure whether it's the right thing to instill the idea of doing homework daily at such a young age. Anyway, not that our JK qualifies for this kind of thing since he can't write yet and does not even recognise the full set of alphabet and numbers. His PD therefore could not do an eye-test for him during the 3rd year assessment. Wonder how I can ensure his eyesight is ok while I wait for him to master the basics? I didn't know there are eye tests with shapes and colours too.

Anyone sent your kids to the dentist yet? i wonder how much a routine check costs for children. I was covered by my ex-company and wanted to bring JK to my usual dentist. Was shocked that it would cost between $70 to $100 for him and $100-$150 for myself!!! Anyone knows of a child-friendly dentist in Sengkang area that charges much less?

Sorry I dominated the forum the whole night but it will be a week later when I next log on so wanted to leave a note for Joanne before I go to bed. Hope everything went well for Benny. pls keep us updated.

Hi Hi !!! Wow, our group are expanding right after CNY. Was very busy since CNY so no time to write but I was busy reading the posts here. Suddenly feel lost when I read the posts and I took 30mins to finish reading.

Just last Sat, I went to sell my old things eg clothes, shoes and bags outside Tanglin Mall Sat flea market. This is my 3rd time selling but this is my 1st time there to sell personally. Well, it is quite a good experience but you have to sell the things at very very cheap price. I managed to earn around $100. Just happy that I sell them rather than chucking them aside in the storeroom.

Meilan, dun fret over JK. Aston is also very whiney and annoying at times and I rem that I ever locked him inside his room for 2-3 secs and he was crying madly and when I opened the door, he was jumping jumping for help. Do not follow my method cos I was scolded by DH that this will create fear in him and worse he will hurt himself if he jump & knock. Aston is immuned to cane and we are minimising on that cos we realised cane marks are very noticeable and will embarrass him when he is in school. There was once DH caned him so hard and I cry when he show me the cane marks. We are going back to getting him to draw, write or read if he starts to whine. His ex-teacher says these methods proved effective for Aston. Not easy to get it done cos we need to be very precise and must be really patient.

Hi Meilan,
Aston visited dentist during Jan to clean his front two teeth. There are black marks due to he drank long term chinese med. We went to one just near my place at Blk 198 #02-01 Puggol Field Road, above the Econ Minimart. The dentist (Dr Loy Tsu Ken) is good to handle him. We paid less than $50. Clinic name is WH dental surgeons. Tel#63152555

K's mum, he is under EDB.

Dear mummies, do all of you bring your children to the dentist for twice a year checkup?

Kai is going to his 6 monthly check up next next Sat. And he is looking forward to control the dental chair haahaa.

Meilian....depending on what your paed has at the clinic. He also did a colour blind test.

Hi Serenade,

If i sleep more, i get less time to do what i want to do leh. usually i limit to "sleeping by 2am" but recently i violated the rule .. and my boy goes to 8am PAP so i m up by 645.

Wow, throwing tangerines from sofa to floor ? I think i will be crazy .. for things like these, if i dun stop them, i guess they will think this is allow and they do it often.

my kids only play and fight on their own, all other stuff like eating, drinking, nap/sleep, bath, reading, crafts etc require parental supervision so if i dun hv the energy to do anything, i also just play tickling with them, but playing tickling with them also headache, cos they still fight for "who gets to tickle first and who gets to tickle longer" *sigh*

they can fight for who brush teeth first, who use the toilet first, who bath first etc! so i hv to battle with these kind of fights daily.

Hi ky,

With my mother helping me during the weekdays, i dun think it is justifiable to hired a PT maid, and i think with my demanding character, the maid will definitely suffer .. so dare not hv maid. i will just hope i can cope one fine day on my own, cos aredi hv alot of conflicts with my mother ... good on one hand to hv helper, but will hv conflicts and other differences in alot of things. alot of times, i wanted things done on my way (like how to hang clothes, how to mop floor etc) .. kind of bad to impose my way on other people, so i must learn to change that *sigh*

Hi kristin's mom,

I cant just bring one kid out, cos the other sure to cry. bringing 2 out alone is impossible for me c.

I cant deal with just one kid too, cos if i teach one, the other sure to disturb and my mother, usually reads paper or do housework (those that i find less impt) when she is free. I try not to instruct her to help me manage the other while i try to teach one.

Dear mummies, if you want me to invite you as a friend on my blog, please email me or pm me with your email. And if you are on msn or messenger let me know too, I can also add you.

I am off to homeschool now after a little update on my blog, still a long way to go.

Dear mummies, if you want me to invite you as a friend on my blog, please email me or pm me with your email. And if you are on msn or messenger let me know too, I can also add you.

I am off to homeschool now after a little update on my blog, still a long way to go.

Hi Meilan,

Good to have that job offer. Why not try it out .. you will never know if u dun try. Its oni 2 days, so even if u r tired at the end of the day, it will just be 2 or at most 3 days, rather then those daily PT job.

I also doing the minimum, just essentials like washing and cooking.. so also dun noe where did all my time went to ..of cos for both of us , we aredi wasted alot of time trying to help them take naps !

Good luck for your PT job.

Hi Pris!

So far, we've only brought Bryan to have his teeth checked once a year. We might bring him for another check in Jul this year. That will make it twice this year. Reason: He's been getting too many treats lately... and also he likes to grind his teeth.

Hmmm, your nephew's with EDB. Firstly, I don't think we are related. Or are we? Anyway, my husband is not the one returning Sg. And the one leaving EDB in April is my husband's boss who will be moving on to work in the UK. So that's your nephew? Your nephew is 40ish?

Hi moshi2!

I soaked in a hot tub yesterday... shiok while I was still in there, no more shoulder ache and as soon as i stepped out, i could collapse in bed and ready to zzzzzzzzz. but in Sg, not very nice to soak in hot tub coz it's already so hot.

haev you tried steam bath or sauna?

I've really forgotten how life's like without all those shoulder aches and stiff neck.

K's mum ...nope I am also not sure where my nephew is based in Germany. Anyway, he was my source for sourcing Logico Learning System. He is in his twenties. He should be coming back this year, no sure when though.

Kai goes for his twice yearly dentisit visit since last year, he has his first visit when his teeth came out during the first year and then after that since he gets lots of treats too he goes twice a year.

I love soakign in the hot tub. I went to the steam bath and sauna regularly even in Singapore and also for massage weekly while dh handled my boy alone.

We just came back from preschool, waiting for Kai to finish another round of his snack before we go for our long walk around the park and also go and look at the lily pond. At least, can see some shoots coming out, spring is finally coming.

Hi Meilan and Sherlyn!

I can only say, give yourselves some more time. Hang in there. I've not perfected the skill of taking care of two kids at the same time too. But so far at least going out with them isn't something I fear of anymore. I need to drag meimei with me every day while I drop Bryan off and pick him up.

Both of you are great moms. You just want to give your children the best. The sheer fact that you actually think about how to be a better mom already shows that you are the best mom. So don't be too hard on yourselves. There will always be ups and downs. After all, we are humans and have emotions plus our gender makes us more susceptible to mood swings with all those hormones in play every month. I bet your children don't want to spend their time with anyone else but you.

Hi Meilan,
Glad to see you feeling better. Yep, I'm bringing Hannah to watch Ugly Duckling. You keen? I have yet bought tickets.

Oh yes, no Barbie dolls for Hannah too. Btw, I paid $10 for routine dental check for Hannah. PM me if you need address. $50-$70 for adults if no major problem la.

Moshi,
There was a long queue at the tuina so I left. You bet my shoulders are breaking up, that's why not posting as often.

Hey, I heard Bishan Park is beautiful and there's a spa there. Are you aware? Seems like no mommies keen to meet up during Mar hols.

Pris,
You really enjoy life huh? Wow, regular steam bath, massage, sauna? I stopped such luxury even when I was still working. I was only relaxed for that day, and back to square one with neck shoulder ache next day.

DS has been very outspoken (PD said so, but I rather think its talkative) since young, its getting worse recently.

He's been talking non-stop, on everything; while travelling, watching TV, playing his toys, ... ... he likes to talk very loudly too, to make sure someone hears him and answer him. Been trying to get him to speak softer and not talk so much, but ultimately he just talks more! Am wondering is he normal or is there any other kids just like him??

Worst, he talks to anybody; be it friends, teachers or just strangers he met while waiting for bus/MRT. When my mom told him he actually tell a stranger (an Indian lady) whom they met at the bus-stop where he stays (without the unit number), I was HUH?!?!? So told him that he should not tell strangers about such details. He actually replied, " ... but she wants to be my friend, she smiled at me ... " !!!!

Tried telling him, we have two eyes and two ear, so we should see more, listern more than talk so much, since everyone only got one mouth!

Whenever his voice gets louder, I will ask him to lower his voice. Ultimately will raise my voice at him, he will give a very sad and hurt look. What am I supposed to do with him??? Is there something wrong somewhere? Is he just asking for attention??

Can someone suggest what should I do with him??

re : 4-yr old assessement at polyclinc

Hi moshi, the wait's similar to vaccination. make an appt over phone and reach abt 15 mins earlier. There were a pair of twins before us so we waited quite long for it. The nurse would share the usual eyecare, eg don't watch too much TV, 3m from it, rest your eyes after 40 mins by looking afar at greenery, etc. You can call to the polyclinic hotline (6560 3400) to ask if should go for 3-yr or 4-yr old assessment. We missed the 3-yr old and supposed to go in Feb but again forgot. We went one month later in March.

Keikei, not sure if you intend to buy the King's ice-cream. We bought once before in such a sale ... the ice-cream obviously has been kept a very long time (wafer has soften). And hubby waited quite long in line until the hot sun. We wouldn't do it again.

Hi K's mom,
We should let the boys meet up when u r back in town next time ...

Re : Chinese jumpstart programme
Pris, the teacher uses rhymes, songs and poems to get the children to memorize and read chinese. She believes a lot in right brain training and her exercises and activities relies a lot on it. Actually we can do the activities that she's doing at home. However, I find Ben behaves very differently with a teacher vs a mummy. It's good that Kai is keen to learn and able to pick up some chinese characters. You can try teaching tang poem ... there are plenty on the web with translation (I believe u r aware of that already) ... it's very amazing how quickly the child will learn the poem.

Meilian, good, good to hear that things are improving with JK. I find that JK is a very bright kid actually and you should continue to focus on that. Thanks for bringing up the staple incident. I didn't want to pamper Ben when he got injured in his finger with the stapler; hm, but I know he wanted so sayang from the mummy and you can see the difference btw my hubby and me right? I think hubby's too soft and I'm too hard ... this is an area that I have some concerns and would have to continue to do something abt it.

I too think that you should accept the job offer. There's no travelling and it's a 9-to-5 job right? With the extra income, you might want to consider hiring a help. I too had consider very long when I was thinking of this option. Adding up the cost for part-time maid, school bus, tingkat, it does make sense to put in a little extra for a stay-in help. As you know, I have a home-based job that I'm hanging onto as long as I have a helper. While my help is around, I have a list of to-change-before-we-are-ok-alone tasks to do. One task eg is putting Ben to nap. I used to have to pat him to sleep and it'd be impossible if I have to hush-hush his brother while patting him. It's been changed; he'll go to bed on his own now. I'm working on getting him to play by himself if mummy's busy...

Sherlyn ... tell me abt being demanding. I'm super demanding too and had screamed my head off at my maid before... sometimes I do regret that action as the kids had witnessed them. But it's done and I'll just have to live with it. Yes, I'm particular on how floors should be mopped and clothes to be hanged, etc, etc.... we demonstrated, write down or asked abt. Been there done that. I've done so much coaching with my maid and scolding that it's amazing that she's still here with me. In fact, barely 2 months ago, there was another big hoo-haa. But each time, we understand why it happened ... I have high expectation and she can deliver so much... slowly I don't scream anymore. In fact, I learn how to better control my temper from my maid... she's very mild-temper and that's probably why she can tahan me so long.
Somehow overtime, you find an useful pair of hands and brains and not just a burden that you have to look after. I've been getting her to play and teach my #2 when I bring #1 aside to do some work. I find that by allowing someone a chance, it does benefit not only yourself but helping another person (the helper) too. I do not seek my mother nor my MIL's help, though they're readily available. There are difference in how the children should be brought up and I think by having them around, it'll not be a win-win situation for me. With old folks' help, there are more functional and to a bigger extent, these functional activities seem bigger than it is.

.ky.

ky, I bgt ice-cream fr tat sale once 3 yrs ago. it's too far for me and by the time i reached home, ice-cream wld hv been melted. there are other hsehold pdts on sale too.

Hi sheryln,

Those are exactly the stuff my kids do too! But perhaps to a lesser extent since they don't get nasty with each other often. What i do is oblige them as much as possible - bathe them together; since they self-feed, so we have our meals together; Cheryl will do some colouring/pasting/playing while I'm coaching Brandon etc... We used to have problem with reading too but now the situation has improved - they have learned to take turns.

Yup, they do shout, scream and fight with each other sometimes. Instead of yelling at them, I'll just tell them to do their fighting outside the house if they want to continue. And if they don't sit on their chairs during meals, I'll threaten to call the zookeeper and send them to the zoo. It works fine for my kids. You might want to try other methods instead of being angry and yelling them to stop, e.g. take away their toys if they fight?

Do you hug or kiss your kids a lot? We do a lot of hugging and kissing here. Sometimes, when they are playing happily, I'll just plant kisses on their faces and tell them that I'm glad to see them playing together happily.

Don't be too hard on yourself. You are already a great mom trying to think of better ways to improve the situation. For me, I have learned to see things the way my kids see them and understand why they do certain things. Life is better since I stopped expecting to behave like mini adults.

Hi Meilan,

Great to see you are feeling fine now! Yup, I have thoughts about working again but I doubt I can leave my kids with someone else. So, it's still the kids 24/7 when we return to Sg.

Do give the offer a chance. I think it's a great idea. Perhaps over time, if you like, you may request your boss that you work at home instead.

I'm have no experience organising playgroups. But we can definitely get our kids together and do something. That's a great idea. Brandon and JK can probably have some interaction with each other while we work on the younger ones.

hi apricot
welcome back, was thinking abt u ;)

hi sarah
yes, there's a spa at bishan park but at SAHMs' unfriendly prices. we should go for a spa holiday and massage those aches away! just how long will the therapy last?
last nite, i slept in the best posture i could with my head supported by my $200 pillow and hee hee, shoulders are good today so now i must quickly say what i want to say, get offline and REST.

hi k's mom
u make me feel like jumping into a hot spring bath now!!! i don't have a bathtub la!

hi meilan
sure, we can meet, i'll see if sarah wana come to AMK . the activities at the library sound fun but mel has to nap in the afternn.
let's meet in the morning? or lunch?

hi serenade
mel will say she will go with the zookeeper, and hole up with the meerkats, her favorites. what i tell her is that i'll get the cane from the storeroom and it works on her, funny thing is we don;t have a cane in there and she has never seen one haha
anyway, i am so used to those bizarre tantrums, those cry for nothing sort, it doesn't bother me much.

Don;t miss today's front page news on homeschooling kids in singapore, there are abt 200 of them here. one homeschool mommy, a trained lawyer has this to say " When i was about to graduate from law school, a senior partner in a firm told me clients will not ask how many As I got or what school I was from. It's how I can help them that matters."

I can;t help but to wholeheartedly agree with this.

Some reasons cited for homeschooling are that it is more vital to mould the kids' character and prepare them for life and that the schools stifle creativity, one parent even noticed 'the sparkle had gone out' from their daughters' eyes.
Gosh, most of us here are sending our kids to school!!

meilan
kumon method aims to cultivate independent learning skills in children and to maximise their potential, advance learners can study beyond school level and the weakers ones study at their own comfortable level.

at 3 yr old, as u mentioned, some can;t handle thenpencil well, so doing daily homework for 20 min is a bad idea, worksheets drilling can be good to reinforce certain concepts but also kill the interest in learning for our precious lil ones who wants FUN more than worksheets. to benefit from this method, close parental supervision is needed and child has to commit for at least 1 year to see results.

Hey moshi2!

What 200$ pillow? Where did you get it? Wow, can get rid of all the pain and ache! Certainly worth it coz one day spa would have amounted to the sum if not more.

You know, I love the hot and cold - the whole blood cirulation thingy is so good. Like come out of the hot tub/steam bath/sauna and then cold shower... and then lie down for 20 mins!!! shiok!!! and then for the night it will be a good night's rest.

no hot tub at home? Never mind, check into a hotel for a weekend lah... get mom or MIL to babysit for the weekend. Tell them, it's good holiday for you and hubby! ;)

But spas are so available everywhere in Sg. Just pop into one while Mel is still in school lor.

dd has nvr visited a dentist. guess it's real time to do so soon since majority of ur kids hv regular dental chkup.

me sleep on some magnetic mattress which aids blood circulation and it helps in shoulder aches and stiff neck too.

Hi Pris!

Your nephew is under a scholarship from EDB? Or working? Coz there are only two other Sg men in my husband's office, and they are certainly not your nephew.

Has your nephew ever taken German before in NUS? Maybe he was one of my students then... haha.

You got him to get Logico for you? I know Logico is only obtainable direct from the publisher Fink here. Either you get down there or have them deliver the set to you. And Fink is just 30 min away from Frankfurt.

Wow... all those spas... how I miss them. Prices here are astronomical... so spas here is out for me. BEsides, there will be no other childcare option other than hiring a babysitter. SO that would add to the cost too.

Hmmm, am not too worried about my NPL situation coz I will just let the government agencies do the talking among themselves, if my husband is required to stay longer than expected. I will be certainly very glad if I don't have to return to work too soon. Being a SAHM is not easy, but am beginning to enjoy it in a strange way... so far it's still OTOT, no need to meet exam schedules, do exam marking, set question papers, grade projects, read horrible essays etc.

Hi apricot!

Maybe you could put up a 2nd hand baby stuffs stand the next time...

Was it easy to make money??? How do Sgporeans receive flea markets? If only they have more flea markets with children's stuffs back in Sg, then can cut a bit of cost on the clothing, toys, books etc... luckily there are lots of garage sales for kids stuffs here. Got to change the clothes pretty often due to seasons... but I've learnt not to buy in bulk. Only buy when it's absolutely necessary coz kids grow out of their clothes quickly. So never buy anything oversize coz not only will it not keep warm when it's winter, the kids won't be able to wear after the season. Hmmm, in a way, living in SG will give us extra cash to buy other things for the kids, e.g. books.

Hi aa!

Yeah, I know how embarassing it is coz sometimes Bryan will blurt out something very loudly and inappropriately in public.

But recently back in Sg, I've introduced rules on behaviour in public places. I told him when he embarasses himself, he will also embarass the whole family etc. And I will get him to verbalise what is expected of him in public places, e.g. he can't cry for no reason, i.e. throw tantrums, he can't scream and shout etc. It's a lot better now.

ALso I learnt this in Bryan's school about the inside voice and the outside voice. So when a child is indoor, he's expected to talk audibly but not too loudly as opposed to how he can talk at a playground.

Hmmm, have you tried playing the whispering game with him? I know when I start to whisper to my son, he'll whisper back. And I pretend to be walking tippy toes, he'll follow suit too. Tell him it's a game.

ALso, you can pretend to whisper quietly into your hubby's ear. And tell him to do the same.

But sometimes, it's still too difficult for a preschooler to contain his excitement. Don't worry about the stares in the public. I'm sure any parent with a preschooler will understand the phase your ds is going through. As they get older, they'll learn to be shy in front of strangers and become very self-conscious all too soon...

Hi ky!

You bet, man! I'll bring both kids out to play with Ben and Keith when we are back.

Also, by then, the weather might be better for a group gathering... unlike the rainy season in Dec/Jan.

Anyone interested in signing up your kids for swimming lessons at OCC. Details as follow:

Duration: Once per week, 50mins (12 weeks)
Costs: $180 (members), $200 (NTUC members), $210 (non-members)

New terms starts in April. Max no. of students 8. Let me know if you are keen.

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>AMum</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD>Kai En</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD>Zo En (G)</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>Zo Ze (B)</TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi mummies, had been a silent reader for the past few days..

My whole family was down with virus.. Fever, running nose, cough..
kao_angry.gif
Had been sleeping for the past 2 days..
Continuous 3 days MC.. no joke. Simply hope can get rid of the virus soon..

Sherlyn, mind to provide ur DS and DD names?

KY, Chinese Jumpstart Programme, any weekend class? Weekday diffinitely out for me.. Can provide me contact details?