(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Apricot ... thinking, thinking only .... we are staying put CCK .... luckily I have 2 boys, so i can go for a boys school.... depends if I wanna be gangho or not and go look for that school in bukit timah area, or if not, go to st anthony pri which hubby's an old boy of

ps. I'll see u this sunday. i should be in punggol ...

.ky.

Hi Ky,

Around wat time you be in Punggol to collect the GD discs and Curious George ? I will wait for you before going out to inlaw place. Just also wonder if you can bring my books from CE ? Thanks alot !

Hi serenade
Like u, i didn't inherit my mom;s 'good cook' genes, my sis n i will go, 'ma, can u cook this that this sun?haha we love her abacus seeds and soups, heartwarmingly heavenly. U are so right abt kids not eating well when dining out, mel will just gorge on french fries when we eat western and heaps of rice when we eat chinese! She's a real fuss pot, so letting her eat at home is much much easier.

Don;t worry abt those leotards, it;s just a thought, don;t wana trouble u really, but but if u do see some at good prices, must grab! heehee

Are u returning in April? We can have a mega gathering then.

Hi apricot
why don;t u move to AMK? then we can hang out more heehee

ky
Communication bk? Hmmm... must go bug the principal tomorrow, but seriously, communication is gd, so parents, let's hound the teachers more!
Thinking of PV already? Think i shared some time ago that a couple of my friends still had to ballot despite having slogged for the sch. So my approach is what the heck, pray and let Him decide, ok ok, who knows i may be the most 'kancheong' one in the end. I am for girl's school for one simple reason that they are more vocal compared to kids from mixed sch, just a generalisation, much also dependent on the sch's culture and teachers.

Hi K's mom
A pity that we didn't manage to meet but ya back again soon? Hey what daiso tour did u get??? Routine is always good for kids, glad u have some sanity now

Pris!
Tummy growling again!!! Oh my! Maybe you can help with this, can u recommend a healthy premix sauce (MSG free, low sodium). i wana cook it with veg/potato. Heard Prima is good but haven;t read the label for 'healthiness'. Oh, and what soya sauce do u swear by?

Does anyone know where to get good sausages? The ones i got from Fairprice are v salty and yucky.

Hi Moshimoshi,

I am moving back to inlaw place, so cannot chose AMK..But Serangoon is very near AMK so we can hang out often, no issue.!

Apricot,
You going to stay together with inlaws?? My hero!! Sorry ah, my hb is the only son (not child), and I say NO. Just can't imagine the potential conflicts...There's a saying "a kitchen cannot house 2 women"..hahaha

Hey Moshi,
More vocal could also mean 'talking back' to us parents...heehee

I think cooking is the easy part, but what to cook and the cleaning, washing is the killer. Especially for us 'eczema mommies'..

Few days did not login here ... downed with flu and still need to work like crazy everyday!! Really envy those SAHMs now (only during this timing ... ...)

Hi Pris,
Your food photos made me drool again! BTW, how do you cook the crispy sesame prawns? Just coat the prawns with sesame and deep fried?

Hi KY,
Your hubby from St Anothony? Mine too. Maybe they know each other ... ...

I'm kind of confused here, are you mums in SIN or overseas? Whereabouts?

Re: CNY gathering @ Botanic Garden on Feb 11

Pinic? Meaning each bring some food to share? First time joining (hope to join if I'm not travelling), so must check first.

Hi Pris!

You are such a foodie! Your dishes look so yummy, do you take orders eh???

How do you find time to cook so much? I remember you mentioned you let Kai help in the kitchen. What does he do exactly? Bryan's been wanting to help since we came back from Singapore. I let him do some washing of vegetables and dishes coz it was hot in SG so it's ok to get a little wet. But it's such a hassle here with the long sleeves and thick clothes. Not so funny to have to change him, plus Kristin will be yelling for her share to have fun too... sigh!

I love cooking too...but cooking has become a battle against time these days. Anything fast to cook and easy to eat is the motto - hehee, not your maggi mee lah.
Anything below one hour is good with preparation time... so steaming a dish and stir-frying a quick veg is usually the way. besides, my dh and i have so much fat to lose... mine since my 2nd pregnancy and his since my two pregnancies! haha!

baking is not my forte, my dh does that. but he seldom bakes anymore coz he's always too bz or tired... but germany's got great confectioners!!!

hmmmm... my children are quite easy eating out these days, esp in SG. Coz they like rice!!! not so fun in frankfurt though since eating out means going to a Chinese restaurant and alot of money.

does being a methodist warrant a place in ACS? how about a baptist? am not too sure if we're gonna be around in sg for the p1 registration ex. my idea is if we can't make it back before P1, then we'll definitely going after P1 starts for Bryan, i.e. when he's 8 or 9. Otherwise if he has problems catching up with his MT, he'll have problem getting out of it or doing CLB if he started P1 from scratch.

Then again, it might not be so difficult for him to learn his MT anyway. While we were away in SG for 4 weeks, he spoke quite a fair bit of Mandarin. Cf with what he does in Germany, which is virtually nothing!

Hi ky!

you're letting go of your maid sooner??? don't worry, you can definitely do it.

you got me thinking about P1 registration too... am hoping to avoid it coz i have no idea where to place my son... sigh! the nearest school to my place in Sg is Zhangde Pri. I don't really like neighbourhood schools. Coz that just gives my son later a lot of excuses to hang around in school even after school hours once he gets to the upper pri level.... not necessarily studying or in good company.

headache... pri school shopping...

hi moshi2!

the champion buy from diaso is still my microwavable bowl to prepare instant noodle. this allows me to prepare lunch within 15 min! you know lah, time is precious...

got lots of toys and some children crockeries... plastic wares - cups and bowls and spoons... expensive things in Germany...

another crazy thing i did in SG was shopping for water bottles! not in daiso though. it's diff to find bottles with drinking straws in germany. children bottles are all SIGG bottles... so ex, 10-15 euros each. what if we lose them???

of course i did my annual shopping at popular... and got lots of dvds and vcds for the kids in carrefour as well as in m'sia. got lots of board games this time too... JL and robinsons sales... haha!!! My dh was busy working and i was busy spending his money!!!

we had so much excess baggage that we had to call for help from a friend working in SIA. Got another 50 kgs of allowance... we had about 120++ kgs in total... the girl at the check in was busy checking out my son... hahaha!!! That was my dh's strategy so in the end she closed one eye and didn't even weigh the last two pieces of luggage... so we don't know how much we brought back exactly....

think i'd better stop this kind of shopping spree the next when i'm back... now that we have to go back every half year... and tickets are ex...

you were from a girls' school too???? AMK has a good girls' school - St Nicholas... they have a really good primary section.

hi serenade!

you were right with the buying and shopping... everything was cheap... but in the end, i think we spent a hefty amount this trip... making good contribution to the economy and air travel industry...

yeah... we're so envious of the snow in Vancouver... it's just rainy and windy here...
according to old farmers' calendar, if it doesn't snow during Christmas, it should snow during Easter... think summer this year is gonna be cold too... good thing we'll be back in Sg again. Actually my dh and i were planning to drive around this summer... but we might just keep the Sg trip short, just business for him and i think 2 weeks should still be enough for the grandparents to adore their grandchildren.... though i hope we can do more the next time round, like going to the zoo and birdpark when the sun is out and of course the beach... Bryan couldn't stop telling his class about the white tigers he saw in the SG zoo!!! It was rainy that day when he was there with his grandparents.

hmmm... the SG wives there cook alot too? There are some SG wives here who love to cook... so luck, no children and they can experiment alot... but soon.... soon, well, the next time we're back from Sg, Kristin will be ready to join the toddlers' class in Bryan's preschool... so i can finally get to enjoy a bit of German and Frankfurt without the kids. Ironically, I used to speak more German when I was in Sg.

is your blog up already?

share on your trips... france isn't too far away from us too
we can get some tips from you.

K's mom...we were also back in Singapore during the hazy period for 6 weeks break before we headed off to Japan for 2.5months where dh conducted his research experiment in one of the institute in Kyoto so being travelling around Japan for a fair bit like Kyoto, Nara and Osaka. And we also make a long-thankgiving weekend trip to Tokyo for ds, we went to Disneyland and DisneySea as well as some shopping and temple and shrine visits. It was sad that weather did not allow us to go up Mt Fuji as it was raining. Did not take pictures of the shrines and temples there as dh found that they are similar to what we have taken.

Moshimoshi...to be honest, I only have dark soy sauce, light sauce sauce, honey, brown sugar(unprocessed sugar) , fish sauce and spices in my kitchen. My terikayi sauce also self-made. All the ingredients and how to make all the dishes are found in my blog.

For mums who are wondering what is my blog address. Here's the link, Click to My Blog

Serenade...can I have your blog address too?

Hi K's mum, remember the dat that we met is the day with a very heavy rain... so bad that my hubby said ok when I asked if I should go fetch him, and I reached home ard 6pm. Getting out of PS was a nightmare with the car ... but that day was really horrible for hubby as he was drenched through with the heavy downpour. We just went to the zoo too last week as part of Keith's birthday celeb ... didn't see the white tiger though, as usual, someone in my family feels that the kids has to go home quickly ... but we had fun.

Abt pri school, I went to a neighbour pri school, same as my bro, and 2 of us went to top sec schools upon my father's choice. I did wonder if my father had not chosen the sec schools for us, where would we be? Our life and our kids lives are definitely going to be different. My bro and I were lucky to be among "good children", even the "bad children" were quite trying to have more fun ... now with the current system, this so-called "banding" thing is created stressed among young kids ... I really do not like that very much and it seems very much from sch perspective like running a biz. can those who were teachers or have experience in this comment?

aa, why do u envy SAHM when you are sick? we don't even have MCs, and we can't sleep on our "job" ... I felt more terrible when we are sick at home ... perhaps u feel that you need to work like crazy, but I feel noone is indispensible at work and work no matter how impt can wait ... the kids would not be able to wait though ...

small world though, but don't think my hubby would know yours or even remember ... he's an "old" chap ....

.ky.

Hi ky,

For me, it's much more convenient to place both my kids in a nearby co-ed school. We have two schools in mind but still unsure if we want to go an extra mile ,i.e joining PV or church, to secure enrolment.

I was formerly from a neighbourhood school too and a number of us made it to the top sec schools. But we were a bunch of kiasu students. I can still recall my form teacher giving us tons of worksheets to practise on.

Are you, by any chance, from an all girls sec school?

Hi moshimoshi,
Looks like we are one of a kind - can't live without mom's cooking

No worries. If I happen to spot any good deals, will definitely let you know.

Just received news that we'll be delayed for another month. But we are pretty sure now that we'll be back in June 07. If mommies are still keen in barbercue, perhaps can come to my place then.

Just told sarah that there's a mothercare relocation sale at suntec, up to 70%. pop in if u are near.

K's mom
u know, nice to have u bk, always lotsa interesting stuff to read

The other time when i went to daiso with apricot, sarah n moo, i bought heaps of hello kitty stuff which up till now, are still in the bag, all nicely wrapped, just too precious to use, occasionally, i would take them out and admire them with mel.
Yes, st nichs is cool, just next to my mom's i hope to use her address to get a place.

Hey serenade
i remembered u wanted to practise japanese with someone, can i be that someone? but all I have a phrase book to back me up haha M also interested in French but the pronunciation is mind boggling. good thing i have a sis n BIL who are learning to check with.

Abt schools, girls sch or co-ed, most impt is that the chinese standard should not be too high, i hate to see Mel having to seek extra help and struggling to stay afloat. it is my wish however that she will be effectively billingual.
Anyone considering a 3rd lang, if the child has not mastered mandarin, can he do a third foreign lang, will it 'weaken' the 2nd lang? What's the best age to start?

A few more points, the sch shld preferably run single session i.e, starts in the morn, so she can nap or do HW in the afternn. Sch must also be near enough, max 10 min drive so she doesn;t have to wake up at 6am and gobble down bf.

Any other considerations?

Hi Moshimoshi,
SO happen Aston's CC (Cherie Hearts) has 3rd language lesson and he is learing Malay now. So funny that two days ago he was murmuring someting and later we realised he is counting numbers in Malay.

Hi moshi2!

Think St Nichs is still gonna be your best choice.

Actually, nothing against the standard of neighbourhood schs here. In fact, if it means I need to send my children to a nearby neighbourhood sch is fine. Just not within walking distance for the kids so that they won't find excuses to hang around sch after sch hours unnecessarily.

I was quite lucky that my parents worked hard to place my brother and myself in good schools right from the start. I don't think I'm ever smart in any way, just lucky that I had good schools to nurture me. And good schools for us then was also nearby - lucky, lucky then!

Is it necessary to start a third lang for children now? I'd be happy if my children pick up Mandarin well along the way. In the strictest definition, true bilingualism can never exist. There will always be a predominant language in which the brain processes thoughts, i.e the cognitive language (thinking language), which in the case of my children now, i believe, is English. Evidence: I've been noticing Bryan's transferring the continuous form of the English lang. as he combines action words in Mandarin to signify an ongoing process, in a way, he's thinking of expressing time. However, the expressions of time in Mandarin are usually made in combination with adverbs of time. (Chinese teachers, correct me if I'm wrong here.) So in a way, he thinks more predominantly in Eng, speaks it and speaks less of Chinese, although he'll instinctively blurt out phrases in Mandarin at times. I never knew that until we were back in SG where there's a natural environment for him to speak Mandarin again. Then even more seldon, he'll use a few German phrases to signify displeasures... but very, very rare... So in reality, we speak mostly 1st lang, often use 2nd lang, but occasionally 3rd lang.

It's always good to let a child start young on foreign languages. But there must always be a stage for them to perform on... they need to use it. Also starting with many languages, children usually speak a mixture of many languages. Unless of course, they are constantly being encouraged to speak in one language at a time. So parents, you need to guide them accordingly in each language. Personally, I don't think learning a third lang will cause any negative influence on the standard of the second lang. But to be effectively trilingual, only time can tell. Give the child ten years to make any assessments. Malay is a very good choice - apricot, thumbs up on your brilliant decision. It isn't exactly a foreign language as it's being spoken and used in SG. Anything not spoken or used in SG is foreign. So mommies, if you are thinking of sending your children for foreign lang enrichment classes like French, German, Spanish etc... save your money and invest eleswhere. Unless you can provide a play environment where you can encourage your children to speak these foreign lang, sending them to an expensive foreign lang class is futile.

Let your child take the lead in wanting to learn a new language. Starting young is not the key to mastering a language, it is interest and motivation and the fun of learning the language that can guarantee success... I think that's why all the mommies here are so hands on and engaged in providing their children a fun and interesting learning environment.

that's my two cents worth on third lang. learning...

haiz moshi2,

you mean i still miss the sales in SG??? I was looking at pretty winter stuffs at Centrepoint mothercare the other day... sigh...

o moshi2,

sorry for the multiple posts... just read an old post of yours on sausages...

have you tried getting sausages over the counter in NTUC fairprice. Try the chicken chipolata. Quite nice... you can still blanche it in hot water before serving if you want it less salty.

didn't get any sausages back to SG this time.. let's see if i can be better prepared the next time i fly back to SG... get you some weisswurst from here... you gotta remind me then.

hi mommies with little princesses!

how do you tie your daughter's hair?
kristin doesn't sit still at all!
and how do you keep the clips on? She'll be busy taking anything off her head.

Hi kristins_mom,

The wives here are great cooks. We have a lot of wives here. In fact, some are so good that they started catering services for singaporeans. We have a variety of selections - Chinese, Malay and Indian food. So, sometimes, we'll place orders with them for a change. And these wives, some are pretty young with two or three kids. Yes, it beats me how they manage business and kids with no external help. Perhaps they put them in school the whole day long.

Sorry abt my blog. Still working hard on it. The uploading is rather tedious. Any tips for easy and fast uploading? Will TRY to get it ready within this weekend... :p

Think you did better than me. Asides from carrying back 120+kg of luggage, we shipped another 5 boxes to France during our last Sg trip. So, imagine the hefty amount we (actually I) spent...

Hi kristins_mom,

I totally echo your sentiments on learning languages. After observing how the young kids pick up french here, I feel the environment plays a very important role. Constant usage is the key to acquire fluency in a language. I'm adopting a wait and see attitude for chinese. Hopefully Brandon's preschool is conducive for him to pick up the language effortlessly. Well aside from that, I do "teach" them simple stuff in chinese, Japanese and french, e.g. counting, greetings etc. Simple reason - I love sharing with them whatever I know
. It doesn't matter if they are able to count in Jap or french. We just do it for fun.

I seldom use hair accessories on Cheryl since she rejected them at 1 year old. But recently, she loves putting on them herself. In fact, she'll go around fishing for praises whenever she puts something on her hair. But she'll take it off after a while. So, can't help you ...

Moshimoshi san!

That will be fabulous! I'll go brush up on my Jap right away. Hopefully, we can introduce our little ones a language we like so much

For french, can't help you cos I'm not really into the language. Watch out for the letter "r" in french. Thtat's one letter that most singaporeans couldn't get it right. Prepare for a lot of memory work too. Hmm, I always thought French is tough, but someone told me Spanish is even tougher.

Were you from St Nicks' Pri or Sec? If not, PV will be a better bet.

Like you, distance is very important. Luckily for me, both schools - Pei Hwa & Bt Timah are pretty nearby. I might join PV for Pei Hwa cos the school compound is fabulous (from the website)
. Criteria for school? Well, as long as it's reasonably reputable and has a nice compound, I'm for it. I'm all for morning sessions too. Not too particular abt teachers cos I believe parental involvement is more important. No offence to teachers but I rarely come across teachers that made a difference. Maybe I had always been a "good" student
657475.gif

Any mommies from ACJC?

Serenade...haahaa...think teachers in Neighbour school works harder than teachers in top schools. That's from my own experiment haahaa

dh is not very keen to put ds into ACS (Church Afflicted), he wanted ds to go Ai Tong in Sin Ming.

I know that even PV does not warrant a chance if there is a ballot so still undergo the balloting.

For me, I supposed if we are away and probably be back when ds is about P2, he will need to take a test from MOE and with the test result, apply for the school so to save me going school hunting, I will settle for ACS and but will do more coaching for him since I know that the teachers in that school expect all the students to have tuition at home.

Hi K's mom
V stressed now, hurricane in germany, hub says train services disrupted and he had to cab around, may affect his train ride from cologne to frankfurt. What's the situation like at your side? Do u know if there's a hotline to call for updates on train services?

Serenade-chan
Will do nihon-go another time, kind of in a flustered mood, shoulderache, PMS plus worrying abt hub

Will write more when the blues go away.

hi moshimoshi,

Re: Sausages. Ever since my co shifted to West, my colleagues sourced out a importer of Johnsonville sausage, QB Trading. Much cheaper than getting in Cold Storage. I think its ard $6 to $7 for a pkt. Beddar Cheddar is too salty for me and i prefer plain Bratwurst..

Re: Storms in Europe
Hrd fr news, train services resumed after hrs of distruption. Check it out. Dun worry too muck ;)

Mommies, wanted to hear your opinion on trial class. Zavier attended 1 preschool music trial @ manderville today. Sat throughout with him as the class was ard 10-12pax with single teacher and he cried when i went off. He managed to settle all rite till 1 kid starts to scream n cried. Zavier was affected. And tt kid opened the door and left the door ajar. Zavier saw me n refused to let me off. The teacher was ok but I felt she cant cope with the class pax. Couple of kids were too mischievious to handle. So should i continue Zavier with it? He wanted to learn music but the rest of kids r scaring him off in a way.

hi moo87!

think it should be alright for zavier to continue. just give the children some time to warm up to the teacher and the class routine. by the way, has zavier started on preschool already? if so, he would know that you'd be back to pick him up when the class is over, like school. maybe you can also prepare him on the music class - like telling him what to expect or look out for - before dropping him off. and introduce him to a few friends in the class... i always try to get to know a few names of bryan's classmates in the first few days of school and if need be, ask the parents' permission and take a few digital shots and then go back and talk to your son about his new friends in the music class. that will probably make him more confident during the class - after all, young children love familiarity. also, you can add a small treat at the end of the class... for the first few times lah, so that he won't cry and stick to you...

by the way, what is music class like for a three year old? is it more of a music appreciation class? or music and movement thingy? or actual technical instrument learning and playing of music?

so far, music class for bryan and kristin is our hi 5 vcds. classmates are daddy and mommy... haha!

hi moshi2!

as far as i've heard news on radio, most train lines have resumed. and frankfurt was all peaceful and beautiful on Friday afternoon... partly cloudy and sunny. it wasn't as windy as thurs anymore. the worst hit was supposed to be on thurs night. in fact, my dh flew to hamburg on friday morning and touched down safely in the evening.

you can tell you dh to call this no. to check 0 8000 99 66 33 or go online www.bahn.de to check train connections. some repair works are still ongoing for north rhein westfalia and brandenburg. but the stretches with interrupted repair works i read about do not include cologne-frankfurt. so i supposed it's alright now.

don't worry too much. everything is pretty much the same now. and there's no warning anymore. we were warned by the german metereological service that we shouldn't be out on thurs. and schools were closed after 12 nn so that students could go home safely before the storm set in.

it's rainy and windy today in frankfurt. temp is still very mild. we were out the whole day with the kids, driving from place to place to do groceries and get some ski suits. there will be snowfall next week. and temperature is gonna dip very quickly. today's still 12. tommorrow 3-8 deg C, and then by tues, it's about 0 to -2.

how long more is your dh gonna be in germany? hopefully he's brought thick clothes along. but if he's gonna be indoors most of the time for meetings, then he'll be safe from the cold.

hi serenade!

these moms are really super moms!!!
but guess everyone has different priorities. food is not the main course on my children's daily menu... haha!!! see, they don't appreciate food alot and cooking elaborately for them is a sure waste of effort. yeah, they'll help to prepare... but they won't help to eat... sigh! so, i do simple things to make sure they eat some meat and veg daily and fruits and vit c supplments... then i'm a very happy mom!!! you know at one stage, i was even happy when my son was eating plain rice. otherwise he'd boycott food in any form or sort! we've moved on now from plain white rice... and it's a sure bliss when i can get him to eat his steamed egg or tofu or fish with veg all mixed up in his bowl of rice.

there've always been two things i envy some parents alot: their kids always seem to sleep well, e.g. the 7pm to 7am sort and their kids eat well, e.g. everything cooked or uncooked and healthy!!

other things seem to interest my children more: e.g. reading, playing, going for a walk and running and also their vcds... haiz, so let's just move out of the kitchen for now!

has brandon ever seen a full movie before? bryan is such a chicken... when the "kanchiong" music comes out in any movie, he'll freak out and wants the vcd/dvd off immediately. you know for madagascar, we never got further than the part they arrived on the island... and my husband and i had to convince him that Toy Story was ok... recently tried the old Walt Disney's BAmbi and he had trouble with it too... everything curtailed after the music switched to the allegro mode. my dh and i wonder if he'd ever learn to watch a movie in full length. kristin, however, doesn't have the problem at all... maybe she doesn't quite understand still... but she sure is imitating the korkor's constipated facial expressions at times... pretending that she's scared too... my husband wonders if it'll be more encouraging for him to watch a movie with other kids his age...

Hi Serenade!

You're so lucky to have good schools around your area... If I was ever near Pei Hwa, it'd be my first choice. But it might not be easy to get in there... hmmm, if only godparents could also play a role in P1 registration ex... haha!!!

HI Pris!

Ai Tong is a wonderful school! Isn't it difficult to get in there too?
I thought for kids returning from overseas, MOE will have them do a placement test and then still place them in a school nearest to their home address. Last year, I was passed a doc to read saying that MOE now won't accede to parents' request to place their children into schools of their choice should they return after the P1 registratione exercise. Maybe things have changed again.

K's mom...Nan Hua is very near my place and Ai Tong is near my in-law. I wanted ACS as I want ds to learn about christian value in school too.

About Pei Hwa, if I am not wrong, 1km also balloting, my cousin pull out his child since they are staying in the private house in Eng Kong and he found that he might not get a place and place my nephew in ACS.

Hi moshimoshi,

Have you heard from your hubby yet?

Hi kristins_mom

Brandon does enjoy movies and sit through them since young. Think his first DVD movie was Piglet's Big Movie at around 15 or 18 mths old. Cheryl's the one who can't sit still while watching TV (except selected ones). Did you sit through the entire show with Bryan? That's what I do with Cheryl when I want her to watch a particular DVD. And very often it works :p

Will write more when I'm free. Both my kids are down with throat inflammation. And Brandon is coughing non-stop, haiz...

Hi Pris,

When was your cousin's kid due for P1 registration? If my memory serves me well, last year was an exception b'cos of dragon year babies. In previous years, don't think there's any balloting for those within 1-2km. Even Bt Timah Pri conducted balloting last year too.

Btw, think there's balloting exercise for Phase 2A in ACS most of the time. Think the father has to be with the alumni and actively involved to secure a seat... heard that from my friend whose hubby is an old boy.

Remember, remember, Year 2003 has got the lowest birth rate...

He is in P1 now. And my mum's neighbour attended the church (Glory Pes. Church) there told me even with church afflicted connection, they went through balloting for her girl (end up in a school near home) and boy (try again cannot get and end up in his sister's school) and they are going to try again for their 3rd child.

Serenade...Dh used to teach and help out in Methodist schools before. And we are very involve in the fundraising etc.

Hi Pris,

This is really surprising. You mean that church affliction doesn't guarantee a place? I thought church affliction/clan connection has priority over PV. Is Glory Pes. Church the primary church direclty afflicted with Pei Hwa? A friend of mine told me that there are several churches "associated" with Pei Hwa but only one is "directly" afflicted with Pei Hwa. Just checked the P1 2007 registration stats. No balloting for Pei Hwa in Phase 2B last year. Hmm, really surprised that your mom's neighbour didn't manage to get a place.

Hi kristins_mom,

Is Pei Hwa a good school? Understand that it is a SAP school and it offers higher Chinese. Am pretty surprised to find that there are many good schools in the West. Believe it or not, I used to live just across Ke Ming Pri in Bt Batok.

Which school do you intend to enrol Bryan in?

For kids returning from overseas, I heard the parents have to approach the school themselves. Not sure if there's any placement tests but several parents have problems finding a pri school for their kids upon their return from France.

Just found out from another forum - for Phase 2C, if all the applicants live within 1 km from school, the school will have to accept all of them.

Eg.

50 applicants, 70 applicants, all 70 accepted as they fall within the distance criteria.

Perhaps, moving house is a better option...
board-post.cgi

Serenade,
You're so 'early'. You are so right about dragon year kids! One mommy that I spoke to from Hannah's CC told me that her kid was not accepted in a neighbourhood sch right below their block. It's incredible!

Yes, church affliction definitely has priority over PV but not guarantee place. I guess birth rate for the year play a big role. A friend joined St Andrew's Catheral just to enrol son in the sch, and it was a breeze for her.

Hi sarah,

Hmm, I'm actually "late" :p.

Quite curious, how come the kid wasn't accepted? I thought if the applicant fall within 1km, the school will have to accept him/her. Perhaps too many applicants?

Read somewhere you can but there's some catch.

Hi Sarah,

Managed to find out more abt using grandparents' addy - if the kid is cared for by guardians, then he/she will be placed under 2km and not within 1km, even if the school is just downstairs.

Which school are you considering for Hannah?

Understand that church affliction doesn't guarantee a place. But for Pei Hwa, quite surprised it is that popular.