(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi kristin's mom,

Zavier is attending nursery 2 @ PCF. I acompanied him for 3 & 4Jan. He did not cry. 5th Jan, he was sick and resume school after 8days of break.. back to school on 16th Jan. According to dh,he cried every morn when he left him with teacher. He has yet to overcome and settle down @ PCF. Will have a "serious" talk with him every nite.. keke

Back to Mandeville Music School.. i attended the trial class with Zavier. its a Pre Schooler Exploration(Modules 1 & 2). Preschool music appreciation target to kids from 2.5yrs to 4.5yrs. thereafter, will decide which musical instruments to take up. I have fun learning too. Its not like Kindermusik where they have play and movement only. They have musical notes to learn.. I learned Quavers and crotchets during his trial class. Will get Zavier to continue from there after hearing out from you. DH also supported to move on from there. Thanks..

I am awaiting news if dh could get on the frankfurt train, shouldn;t be a problem

Cindy
Thanks heaps for the reassurance, and yes, it does seem that things are returning to normal ;) he is due back tomorrow

Serenade-chan
Genki? How's your kodomo?

Moo
Mel is also learning notes, and since i get to sit in, i get my 'free' lesson, totally cool n value for money!

U know, every morn, mel will promise to be brave but when she steps into sch, it;s the same sob sob drama, i just drop her and zoom off, i am the brave one man! despite all the sob sob, i know she's coping, she tells me what she did or did not do in sch, and acts out the scene at home to remind her toy friends of the 'school rules', and i sometimes hear her repeating what her teachers say, so it becomes like a feedback if the teachers are saying the 'right' things or if they are treating the kids properly.

okie, got to catch up with my ME time before i zoom off to pick Mel again.

Catch u guys later!

Anyone happened to know where in SIN can I get DVDs on storms, volcano, ... kind of things?

Those selling @ Amazon are for Code 1, can't play in my mom's house. Or other than Amazon, any other web site that sells?

About schools ...

Initially interested in placing DS in ACS, but heard its super hard to get in, since ballot within 1 km.

Now, thinking of Pei Hwa or Fairfield Methodist. I know Pei Hwa is good, how about Fairfield? Any comments? Looked through their web, not much info.

If it exceed the number for 1km, also balloting. So even for church afflicted, also need to ballot, if there are too many and exceed the number.

As for using the grandparents address, the grandparents should not be working and are helping with the caring of the children.

Serenade,
I'm hoping to put Hannah into Tao Nan, if not Kong Hwa. Hb is not keen in Tao Nan, though willing to go along with me. So he was happy to hear from his cousin that the school's standard has dropped quite abit, and hopes that I will change my mind. I like schools that involve parents, and Tao Nao seems to be.

Pris,
No kidding? Grandparents cannot be working? I am going to join the clan and use grandparents' address, hoping that will increase my chance. Haha...seems like fat hope. Must relook into plans...

Worry mum,
Hannah has been using Colgate/Darlie toothpaste for kids since 2yrs old. We brushed teeth together so I guess it helps. She will brush on her own in the morning and I do it for her at night.

seems like Pei Hwa is really a popular school.... yes, that's one of the school I'm considering to PV as well ... just called school and school advise to write in. as expected, they are now working with the 2002 parents on their PV work first. my other option is South View Pri which is another popular school in CCK. Pei Hwa has a good history ... btw, if I volunteer, my priority would be before those within 1km, right? Looking at the vacancies given out during the phases, got chance at PH if PV. and btw, my fren whom is providing me all these sources of info, PV in TWO schools ... she use it as a chance to understand the school better. the school that most of the residents here send to has quite a rigidly and parent-unfriendly principal ... so that's quite against me which is very pro-communication. 2 mothers are trying to get their girls out but as there's no vacancies in the schools they want, they have to wait till pri 4 when some kids are transferred out ... I think by being a SAHM, I'll probably and hope to work harder in the PV area.

botanic gardens on 11 Feb ... I'm for 4pm meetup ... but since it's the weekend before CNY, I'm hoping to go to Chinatown at least once in the day and it'll probably be that weekend ... so I may give it a miss. been doing too many things every weekend and someone just commented that I lost weight since she saw me just 2 weeks ago. can i know how/what the mummies here do to replenish their energy. I'm feeling very tired these few days coz of lack of rest

.ky.

hi ky, which school is this ?
" the school that most of the residents here send to has quite a rigidly and parent-unfriendly principal"

Hi Sarah,
Just like you, I am very tempted to join the clan in order for Aston gets into Mee Toh which is in Punggol. Idea is now killed off since I may move back to in laws place in Serangoon. Rosyth Pri will be our consideration but will be very very difficult cos it's within 2km and now it's either me or DH be PV. We have to begin PV by Jul2008.

Just to tabulate the timing...
CNY outing on Sun 11feb:
1. moshi 11am
2. apricot 4pm
3. ky 4pm
4. sarah 4pm

Anyone joining us ? The more the merrier !!

Hi mummies, Sorry again! gotta to give CNY gathering a miss cos will be away for holiday during CNY period, so will be very busy in last minute packing. Take care and enjoy urself..mummies.

Sarah, sorry, U not worried Hannah might swallow the toothpaste ah? Till now I'm still giving my boy the First Teeth toothpaste until this morning.. then I noticed that is for age between 3mth to 3yrs. (Paiseh..
I'm blur sotong mummy).

Hi Worrymum,
Me too !! I am also still giving aston First Teeth toothpaste and thinking to change after he finish them.

Hi Worrymum,

Zavier is using the Oral B kids toothpaste at home. btw, any mommies send their ds/dd to dentist? any recommendation?

Hi apricot
Can;t do the 4pm outing, mel naps during that time. pl go ahead if majority wants to gather in the afternn

Wow! I see Pei Hwa is the top choice for many who lives in bukit timah area. i have a friend who lives in woodlands but got a place at peihwa cos she goes to adams rd pres church, no PV involved. Cool!

Worry Mum
Mel uses first teeth, i may switch to a cheaper brand since she can gargle and spit out well. As long as u feel comfortable, the recommended age for use doesn't matter.

K's mom
Totally agree abt the importance of having opportunities to practise the language, thanks for sharing, your opinion reminds me to be down to earth.

Abt schools, dh was formerly from ai tong, so he's all out for that sch, but i am not too keen cos the chinese standard is too high for mel, ok, that's what i think now, dh says i should not put her down by always saying that her chinese will not meet the mark, but hey, i have seen many kids from eng speaking family who gets single digit score in exams. And one should learn at his own comfortable level and the foundation must be strong to progress at a comfortable pace.

After a round of christmasy stuff, here's something from the great wall of china ;)

660457.jpg

Just cut out a chinese dragon from a mag or newspaper, connect the head n tail to a long strip of accordion paper. Add the straws/ sticks and ur kiddo is ready to do his version of the dragon dance, dong chang dong chang dong chang

Hey Moshi,
I agree you should give second thoughts for Ai Tong. Good sch esp you will be in Phase 2A1/2A2.. If you are worried abt Mel's Chinese, start talking to her in Mandarin. She's learning the language in nursery and you can definitely reinforce it.

Btw, I understand Ai Tong offers gymnastics too. Does it makes you 'WOW'??

Re PV. I was told that some schools have changed their policies and expects parents to volunteer throughout the 6 years.

Apricot,
Have you consider Monfort Junior? Good school, somewhere in Hougang.

thanks for your sharing on the toothpaste.. must go and search around liao..

As for the Primary School, for me, no time to do volunteer work leh.. have no choice... can only source for nearest and easy accessible for the caregiver, and will ended up in enrolling to neighbourhood primary school.

Re CNY outing on Sun 11Feb. No more mommies keen?

Moshi,Apricot,
Seems like only 3 of us (ky giving it a miss), shall we meet somewhere then? If you don't mind, can host it at my place. As before, we can potluck for brunch...at least weather is bearable. Hopefully more mommies can join us this time.

Hi K's_mom,
Yup, you should invite Bryan's friends to the house for a movie treat with popcorns etc..I have seen it works. Hannah has watched Harry Potter, Nanny McPhee with us, not forgetting those Disney classics.

Some interesting stats for P1 registration last year :

CHIJ (KELLOCK)
Phase 2C 85 vaccancies, 104 registered, all 104 accepted (no balloting) cos they fall within the distance category

ANGLO-CHINESE SCHOOL (JUNIOR)
Phase 2C 57 vaccancies, 74 registered, no balloting cos they fall within the distance category

RAFFLES GIRLS' PRIMARY
Phase 2C 75 vaccancies, 142 registered, no balloting cos they fall within the distance category

ANGLO-CHINESE SCHOOL (JUNIOR)
Phase 2C 57 vaccancies, 74 registered, no balloting cos they fall within the distance category

Hi Moshimoshi,
Perhaps you might want to check out Ai Tong again. Read that the new principal has a different way of handling things.

Hi Sarah,
Did Hannah watch Marry Poppins? Brandon loves the show very much. And some of the songs are pretty catchy too.

Hi Worrymum,
I started Brandon on kid's toothpaste when he was abt 30 mths old.

Some of the neighbourhood schools are good too. In fact, being in some "good/branded" schools, it means most parents have to spend a lot of money sending their kids to tuition and enrichment classes to meet the "standard". Some forumners mentioned that these kids even attend calligraphy "tuition" so that they can out do their peers.

Yap..."a rigidly and parent-unfriendly principal"...refer to PH school. I understand the P's position. As a teacher myself, I do provide feedback but I will not like parents to come and bother me daily since we are talking about 30 children in P1 and 40 to 42 from P3 onwards, CCA, Enrichment Class, Remedial Class, Teacher's Project, Teacher Required to attend 100 hours of training yearly, setting of exam papers (4Terms), setting of worksheets, marking and planning, and also conducting revision class before CAs and SAs. And mind you, lots of teachers get burnouts. Personally, I have witnessed many cases.

Serenade, thanks for the details. Planning to send Ds for ACS (Primary) and not (Junior), provide ACS (Primary) has no vacancy then will go (Junior). And it is good to hear that they take in all those registered in phase 2c within 1km. Will probably check with my ex-colleague again since I was told that they do balloting unless they do have sufficient teachers and classrooms for it. And also if the school called and explained to the parents, parents do redraw so that they can still register at another school instead of waiting until balloting is over and then choose the school with remaining vacancy. My cousin pulls out his boy when told the number exceeded and registered him in ACS.

And here's more info about registering for P1 while overseas.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/2006applicationforms.htm

Serenade, I was trying to find the information that you have provided but it is not on MOE website. And according to the website that balloting is conducted when applications is more then vacancies.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/phases.htm

I know that unless it is twin and vacancy exceed, they will admit the set of twin.

Anyway, just convinced dh that ds should go ACS to save us the trouble and I am also checking out Nan Hua haahaa. And will register ds when registration for him is conducted overseas and we will pay the fee and he will be on absence list till we returned and take placement test for the level to attend.

Will be MIA for some time from now. Very busy since dh's counterparts from Japan are here and we are hosting them for dinner and also going out with them during weekend.

And also Kai is in preschool cum we are trying out our full swing for homeschooling as well. Need time to prepare materials as well as training him for more stuff and he is also beginning to learn to clean the dishes.

moshi2,

hope everything is fine with your dh. The worst hit area by the storm is mainly in the west. But everything should resume by now. Frankfurt had winds at 94kmh, while in Cologne it was about 130kmh.

heard from the forecast that it'll be very cold tomorrow and some snowfall is due.

hi sarah!

thanks for the suggestion. maybe i'll do that... when things are less chaotic at home and my routine less disorganised...

i tried harry potter with him once. we were all happy watching, but Bryan was jumping up and down, wanting to switch off the TV...

Serenade,
I did sit through with him. It doesn't help... still... any other movie recommendations?

Wow, mommies!

No kdding... all branded schools here I see!

But guess we all just want the best for our children.

Pei Hwa is a very good and popular school... Some of my friends will attest to that. But don't think we're anywhere near the school... sigh! Maybe I really should move house.

I was also thinking of sending Bryan to ACS(Pri). I still believe in all boys' and all girls' schools. I think it's the best intellectual development for the children at this stage. I'm sure we all know that boys and girls learn differently.

Sigh... however, we're not all that near still... not within the 1 km vicinity.
I was thinking of going half load on teaching if we were back earlier than P1 registration ex and then offer the school some service like... errmmm, German enrichment class!!! Haha!!! Maybe that will give Bryan a better chance to get into a good school.

Has anyone considered Henry Park Pri?

Anyway, like Serenade said, 2003 is a year with one of the lowest birth rates. Hopefully it won't be too tough to enrol Bryan.

Poor Dragon babies - they always have to fight really hard to get things... anyone a Dragon baby here??? Also there will always be lot sof Snake babies too... spillover from the previous year... Have always observed the trend in our school enrollment too.

Hi Pris!

Care to share more on your homeschooling ideas when your guests leave?

Thought I might be inspired to do something at home too.

Was in Bryan's class for a short while this morning during circle time...
o boy, you see all those difficult words coming out for the letter W, e.g. walrus, wrench, and of course, my son wasn't quite wrong when he insisted that a witch was a wizard! haha! But not too bad... he is really more to 4 years in terms of intellectual development than he is to 3 years... but still a long way to go in term of emotional development.

But I really haven't taught him anything at all, other than reading with him. Bryan's a kid who learns fast and hands on. So taking him out on a field trip is far better than sitting at home at the table. Colouring and writing is terrible at this stage.

I don't intend for him to become a super kid... but am very eager to teach him enough for him to start reading on his own so that I can get my peace and quiet.

Hi moshi2!

Thanks for your excellent dragon idea!

Now I can tell Bryan's teacher I can teach the children to make a dragon for CNY!

I'm supposed to spend a morning with the kids and tell them about CNY celebrations.

Have in mind to tell the kids the legend of the Nian. Do you happen to know any good websites with good pics?

Hi ky!

Have you thought of De La Salle in CCK?

My FIL and dh are both old boys from that school... sigh, don't think Bryan will be able to complete being the 3rd generation from the school. It's too far away from us, and it's co-ed now.

Hi Ky,

Is Ben now with The Learning Ladder? I'm intending to enrol Brandon with The Learning Ladder @Buikit Timah. Would you mind sharing with me the fee? Thanks.

Hi Pris,
I got the stats from another forum. The stats were from the MOE website previously.

Looks like PH is really popular. Maybe I should try to make an effort too.

Hi Yap, "the school that most of the residents here send to has quite a rigidly and parent-unfriendly principal" - it's just a neighbourhood school beide my estate; quite unknown. The feedback is that the school is quite dis-orgnanized and parents are not informed of certain info eg % mid-yr exams and projects contribute towards final-yr exams. Such impt info are only shared further down the year ... and feedbacks given by parents are not received well. The principal even stood at the gate to prevent parents from going in during the first few days of school.... these are the rumours I hear.

I hear principal now is attached to the school for max of 5 yrs, so eventually the principal now may not be the principal later when your kid goes to school.

K's mom, precisely why so people are moving house ... there are folks here who have moved just to be nearer Pei Hwa ... we are not going to do that though. And btw, Pei Hwa will accept write-in now, another popular neighbourhood school, South View said to check with them at the end of the year.

I've heard that Henry Park's std has dropped ... and apparently it's not easy to get in though the within 1 km population is quite low.

We've thot of De La Salle ... didn't would give it a try. Somehow the image doesn't go very well for me, folks are saying it's a snobbish school. Have called and ya, they don't take in PV, so it'll be pure luck for us ...

I'm actually more for mixed school for pri school, then boys' school for sec school .... sort of what I went through and someone said it's good for the kids' mental growth.... like the kids would have a chance to interact with the other sex and eventually when they are developing physically, they should not have that distraction and since they have already interact with them at a younger age, they are no longer as curious as they are supposed to be ... know what I mean?

Hi serenade, ya, I was formerly from a all-girls sec school. yes, Ben's with TLL @ Woodlands. Fees is $534 for half-day after less of subsidy. The one at Bukit Timah doesn't provide lunch. If you are keen, do register earlier. I know they did aggressive promotion late last year and a lot of places are filled. N1 is impossible to get in at Woodlands now and there's enough waitlist to start a new class which they would only later this year ...

.ky.

Yippee! My dish washer is back, safe and sound in 1 piece! we actually skipped school for breakfast hushhush

11 feb CNY meet:
Sarah's place it is! Hey, MH is joining too, so it's 4 families. LUNCH? I shall beg my mom to supply her fame fried rice.

Serenade
Looks like i need an goggle a/c for my gems?
Abt PH, my friend got a place thru the church pretty easily. this P1 business is so mind boggling n troublesome, dont think i wanna think abt it yet. I agree though that neighbourhood schools can be good schools, if the teachers are close knitted, the school morale will be good and this rubs off on the kids. I taught in a neighbourhood sch and i love every bit abt it except for the principal who gave us hell, really miss the kids, am glad that i am still in touch with a couple of them ;)

K's mom
will keep a look out for nian.
Do u know nici products, mel loves them and she has a few in her collection already. daddy got her a wundertute pochette surprise with her fave cat toy inside. n a kiddie umbrella, hey, the workmanship is so childfriendly, euro indeed!

This is a reply from a friend in service regarding registration and for parents who are planning to PV, maybe you can try contacting the school now.

XXXXXXXXX <[email protected]> wrote:

Hi Pris,
Your friend is right, that practice has been on-going.
If the number of applicants (living within 1 km) exceeds the no. of vacancies available for the last phase, all those applicants living outside 1 km will NOT be eligible for balloting. All those within 1 km will ballot for the vacancies left and if they are exactly equal to the vacancies, all will be taken in without the need to ballot.

Well, it's very competitive to get into XXXXXXXXX, I've parent volunteers whose child are due for registration in 2009 already doing volunteer service.

If you are interested, you really got to write in early and start your SERVICE early.

Thanks for your concern.
God bless you and all at home too.
XXXXXXX

Hi Serenade

Thanks for the info. My cousin was right from your info, Pei Hwa went through balloting and ACS (Primary) also went through balloting.

And ACS(Junior) and RGS(primary) absorbs all the pupils as they have the facilities and teachers for the extra classes and those that goes through balloting, they could not have an extra class as no facilities or not enough teachers.

Thanks again for the info. Think have to start to keep track since from friends I know that some parents having our children's age are already PV in the school.

Hi Pris,
Don't mention it. Just sharing info.

Btw, your Japan photos are really beautiful, makes me want to visit the country.

Hi moshimoshi,
Glad to know that your dishwasher is back safe and sound. Now, you can sit back and relax while the dishwasher gets on with his work

A friend has been cajoling me to join her church (directly affilated to PH). But process quite tedious. My hubby is quite happy with Bt Timah Pri. His good friend's son is studying there now and apparently, the school has pretty high standard too. All P1s-to-be are required to sit for a test. The top 30 or so students will be placed in a class with tougher curriculum. Hmm, I like the idea that the teachers are working hard to stretch the kids. But I'm also an ordinary mother - hope to put my kids in a "prestigious" school :p Like you say, it's really mind boggling

Hey, when's your blog coming up?

Hi Ky,
Thanks for the info. We should be enroling Brandon the school at Bt Timah. Well, that is if we can get the morning session.

If you are interested in my blog, please PM me your addy. Btw, it's a dreadfully boring blog :p

Hi kristins_mom,

How's the weather over your side? Snowing FINALLY? Well, it's snowing in Bordeaux this week. Temp will be around -1 degree today. Haiz, the winter has finally arrived.

About shows, have you tried any other shows beside Harry Potter? I remembered Brandon didn't really enjoy the show initially too. Perhaps can try shows like Narnia? Sometimes it depends on the type of shows. Brandon can sit through something like "Yours, Mine and Ours" but not "Home Alone". Funny, isn't it?

Hi Serenade,
You just give me another reason to spend money. Heehee...Actually I don't remember watching the movie too. Going to check out the video shops this weekend.

Ran through your blog and watched some videos. Cheryl is so cute trying to imitate brother. And yes, you are so right abt fever alert. One A&amp;E doc told me not to worry as long as the kid's fever does not hit 40. He must be joking!

Hannah has been out of school for past 2 days and today too. She's still coughing and nose still 'running' and fever on and off since Sun. Good thing she is still alert.

Hiyee serenade
nope, me not blogging, too lazy to upkeep it plus nothing really exciting here.

Hiyee sarah
hope hannah is better today, almost every other kid in mel's class is coughing, that's school i guess. can;t wait to visit u, how about i pass the tarts to u then, would it be too late?

running late today, gotta pick her now, catch u guys ltr.

Hi Sarah,

Yeah !! Thanks for opening ur home for CNY 11Feb gathering. Am ok with lunch. Around wat time we meet ? We will cook fish fillet with celery

Hi all, brought Benny for nuclear imaging on thyroid yesterday. Initial arrangement was to put him on fast for sedation, luckily doc gave that a miss as he's very cooperative and can manage to remain still throughout the scanning. (act he fell asleep) His result will only be known when we meet his doc on 2nd Feb. When they insert IV plug, I was outside the room while grandpa kept him company.

Movie - anyone watched Wallace and Gromit? It's a very nice show and both Ben and Bryan has watched it over 20 times and still enjoying the show.

P1 - I don't have time to read thru archive n previous post but are you all searching for Primary School now? So early? Is that necessary?

Hi Sarah,
Did you try EU YAN Seng cough powder on Hannah ?
It's quite effective and as you know, chinese med takes longer time to see the effects. Somehow I jus feel better to let aston take chinese med. We will usually let him take western med and then switch to chinese med to balance his body systems. Ha ha.. sounded like we are very professional docs...

Hi Joanne,
Bravo for Ben !! He is very brave !

Thanks for the recommendation on Wallace and Gromit movie. Is it still showing in movie theatre ? Consider to bring Aston watch.