(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Moshimoshi,
Suggest you can let Mel watch chinese programs to get her interested on this language. I have one set of 52 vcds on story telling teaching children learn chinese words. If you like to see, I will bring on 11Feb when we meet at Sarah's house

Apricot,
my boys watched Cars too. But they tend to get distracted halfway thru the show. For Wallace, they'll sit thru the whole show. Hope Aston will enjoy the show like they did.

Joanne,
PV is a choice for us if u really want to let our kids to that Pri sch. It is more so needed if the sch is outside 2km and need PV to increase the chance. But well, PV is not guranteed cos sometimes need balloting. Then all efforts are wasted.

hi Joanne
Ben should be applauded for his courage, he is one brave fellow!
It does seem a bit early to discuss abt the P1 thing but i guess most of us here are just exploring options and gathering info for better decisions.

Apricot!
yep, won;t mind viewing those VCDs, local production? hey, u wana try some of my aunt's pineapple tarts? i am bringing some for sarah. SMS for details.

Mommies
Don;t miss today's Mind Your Body, several pages on raising healthy kids.

Where have your kids gone for sch excursions? Mel has one in feb, gee, i wana tag along man!

The schoolbag we made out of a brown bag and stiff paper

663316.jpg

663317.jpg

Throw in the supplies and ur kid is ready for school, hee hee

Hey Joanne,
Good to hear from you. Benny is indeed very brave. Keep us posted.

Apricot,
Can I buy the cough powder off the shelf without consulting their sinseh? My mom swears by Chinese med too when comes to cough. In fact, I'm also still coughing.

Fish fillet sounds yummy!

Moshi,
Good idea on the school bag! Hannah's CC going for the play 'I think I can' by SRT in Feb. I'm going too. Costs me $44 for 2 of us. Super ex, I thought?

Hi Sarah,
Yes, you can buy from the shelf and there are cough powder for dry cough or wet cough.

Hi Moshimoshi,
The VCDs are from China la. Aston is also going for a Mar excursion to Labrador Park Tunnel. Going to check too if parents can tag along.

Hi moshi2!

Thanks for the links. Will look into them when I've got time this afternoon...

actually rather rare nowadays. It seems that Kristin wants me to be around for her to fall asleep for her afternoon nap... sigh... hopefully it's a phase thing.

Hi Serenade!

Had a quick glance at your blog yesterday until you know who's crying. Kristin's been very fragile these days.

Just wanna say I admire your patience and love for your children... I can't help but to blow my top sometimes when the kids stress me out too much. I have to keep reminding myself not to flip esp after having read an article on mothers who are psychologically ill.

Wow... your kids are really smart and teachable... Kristin's almost 1.5 years and she's not even shown interest in the alphabet yet, though recently she's been pulling out books and asked to be read to.

how do you teach Brandon to read actually?

No sign of snow yet in Frankfurt although I heard on the radio that it's snowing so badly that many expressways have traffic jams up to 15 kms! and Some train lines near Stuttgart are affected. I'm hoping it to snow... temp was minus 7 last night... today it's not gonna be more than 2 deg!!! Yeah... finally winter's here! I hope that will give the plants some time to rest coz I still have capsicums and tomatoes on my balcony plants!

gtg... picking Bryan up soon...

I shall take you as inspiration and remember ky's words for her new year's resolution, I shall try very hard to enjoy my children today.

Hi all. The forum is moving very fast again. I have also just woken up to the reality of P1 registration when some of my friends with 2003 babies started discussing over X'mas how they have started taking action. I never had issues with neighbourhood schs but in Sengkang where there are so many kids, balloting seems to be everywhere except the few really infamous schools, it seems.

I heard some schs screen parents before accepting them as PV so it's not like you can just join as a PV as you like. Also, some schs do not accept PV if your child is not due for enrolment yet as they have too much to cope with the current batch of PV already. I agree with the view that other than increasing the chances of enrolment, PV should be seen with the benefit of knowing the sch more. For all you know, you may not want to join the branded schs if you uncover something you do not like.

Btw, quite surprised that several of your kids seem to have problems with Mandarin. Do all of you speak only English to your children? My hubby feels strongly about speaking Mandarin at home as he believes that the kids will pick up English naturally in sch like we did. My cousin's kids spoke mostly Mandarin till they enrolled in Kinderland and after 3 years, they refused to speak a word of Mandarin since everyone spoke mostly English in sch. Things only got better now that the boys are in Ai Tong. Talking of which, I was told Ai Tong does not have homework so my cousin has to find activities for her boys to avoid their boredom at home.

For me, I realised that JK was not picking up English well as his form teacher in his previous cc was a Chinese teacher. Hence I only started to speak more English with him last year. It's actually harder to correct his Mandarin which has become quite colloqial by now as many of us speak the language too carelessly. Makes us sit up to watch te way we speak regardless of English or Mandarin.

I see some interest in Japanese among some mummies here. Anyone game for accepting homestay or sending your kids for one at some stage? If you speak the language or have Japanese friends, you probably have your own lobang. If not, you may want to check out http://micefamily.org/index.asp. My senpei started this non-profit initiative
to introduce non-Japanese speakers to Japan.

Gathering on 11 Feb, please count me in and will be happy to bring a dish if it's going to be potluck. Won't mind outdoors if it becomes too crowded for Sarah to host. But if outdoors, I prefer evening after 5pm. In fact, there are many interesting parks other than Botanic Gardens.

Are any of the kids here left-handed? JK is apparently one and I'm wondering if I need to do anything to help ease him into a world made for right-handers. My mum asked me to train him to use his right hand from young but I believe in nature taking its course.

Hi sarah,

How's Hannah today? Fever is the one that I dread most. The A&E doc must be joking! 40 degrees indeed. He/She's definitely doesn't have kids. By any chance, is the doc from KKH A&E?

Hi moshimoshi,
You are too modest! Nothing to blog about? How abt sharing those things that Mel has said? You know, like the twenty-ba? I love reading the things kids say. They are so innocent.

Have you signed up for a google account and accept my invitation? Only upon doing so, then would you be able to access my blog. Didn't know it was this troublesome too. hehe...

I'm thinking of putting some CNY decor. Can recommend some simple crafts?

Hi Joanne,
I gathered from your posts that Ben is feeling much better. That's really great.

Hi Meilan,
Thanks for the recommendation. Unfortunately, I doubt my Jap will allow me to make simple conversations with the Jap students.

Brandon is a left-hander. For a start, I would suggest getting JK a pair of scissors for left-handers. With that, he will find cutting paper an easier task. Actually, I have two pairs of scissors for Brandon, - left & right handed scissors. Other than that, we have not encountered any difficulty so far.

hi sarah

do check carefully ... sometimes with high fever, certain TCM medication can't be consume. not sure the EYS cough medicine that Apricot is saying if or not ... there's this "hao zao san" from EYS (retailing at $45+ for a tiny bottle) - it's for phlegm and cough but not suitable when the kid's having a fever.

Depending on which doct u go to ... my PD told me 38 - mild fever, 39 - moderate fever, 40 - fever or something like that ... guess he's too used to seeing parents kancheong with feverish kids. Keith was running a 4-day fever (40 for 2 days) ... really tired me out coz was busying sponging in the nights ... so right now, I'm taking a breather ... even my blog's late, hopefully can get it updated within this or next.

gathering on 11 Feb, I'll have to see how things go, coz maid off that day (btw, she's staying put .... yippee) ... with birthday and CNY and trying not to pack too many activities into weekends, I may give it a miss ... no one keen to go to Chinatown? It's been one of my must-do thing, even if it's a short one in the late afternoon.

I'm a left-handler. But I've been trained by my mom to write with my right hand when I'm around 6-7. Sometimes I forgot when I teach Ben coz he's right-handler ... oh, I use the usual kind of scissors. so far nothing I used is specially for left-handler.

.ky.

Hi kristins_mom,

Thanks for your compliments! I really feel flattered.

Glad to know that I'm not the only one to lose my temper at my kids
Tell the truth, whenever I'm at my wit's end, thoughts of sending to childcare crossed my mind. In fact, this is what I told them nowadays when they misbehaved badly. Of course, they didn't know I was just threatening them and it did the trick, hehe.

Other than those rare occassions, I always choose to think of them in the positive light. Not that my kids are angels, but I strive to remain calm and think of a way to get them to understand why they were misbehaving. From experience, I realise that kids pick up most bad stuff from parents (at least in my case). At one point in time, when Brandon questioned why he needed to do certain task, I would shoot back "b'cos I say so". No prize for guessing what happened next. He was using the same phrase on us soon. From then onwards, I try to be a better model for them. Not b'cos I'm patient by nature but rather I want to make my life easier. Try arguing with a 3.5 yr old why he needs to pee before sleeping when he thinks otherwise. Guess that's how my patience was slowly "cultivated".

Haha, contrary to what my hubby claimed, Cheryl still needs some polishing in letter recognition. But I'm not rushing her. In fact, I haven't been doing very much with her. You may not believe it, but it was never my intention to drill them academic stuff at such young age. (Rather, I have no idea how). The only thing I ever have in mind is to cultivate their love for reading and to learn through play. So, what we do is just introducing them everything in daily life and somehow they just pick things up. Guess kids learn well when there's no stress to do so. Though I would like to share your views that my kids are smart, their father often reminds me that other kids are just as smart too. :p

Speaking of inspiration, I think all the mommies here inspire me in one way or another. Just reading your posts alone inspires me to adopt a more cheerful disposition daily.
And of course, moshimoshi's pics often remind me that I should do more crafts with my kids. Not forgetting that Pris's cooking pics has encouraged me to make more effort in cooking too :p

As ky has blogged it, let's try very hard to enjoy our children

Hi ky,

How's Keith doing now? Have you tried the fever pads? Sometimes, when my kids feel feverish, I would use the fever pads on their foreheads, esp in the nights. It helps to cool them down.

hi Serenade ... thanks for asking, yes, Keith's fever went down on Tue. we tried everything, fever strips, water bag to sleep on, sponging, insets, nerofen. The insets works the best but would last at most 6 hrs and depending on how much we've put in, we can only use it every 8 - 12 hrs ... so even when he's running around at 38++, we still can't do anything much except monitoring. And now that his fever has subsided, I don't see any signs of sickness ... think he's teething (probably the molar) but it couldn't be as high as 40 ... so we are still wondering why so.

.ky.

Refresh on 11 feb:
Sarah's cosy bay:
1. sarah
2. apricot
3. meilan
4. mh
5. moshi
6. ky?

i decided not to trouble my mom for food, what wld u girls like? i go tabao lah, haha

Meilan
mel doesn;t have a predominant hand yet, she will pick up things with both hands but strangely most of the time, left hand 1st. Then again, she's not quite a left hander cos her right hand is the stronger one. I read that 'changing' the natural hand of the kid can cause speech problems like stuttering.

I believe most of your kids are already writing and have good pencil control skill, mel is still figuring it out, she doesn't apply equal pressure with the tripod grip and gets tired after holding it for a while. so i decided that she's not ready and am not forcing it on her. she does mostly big picture coloring, no writing yet.

serenade
u can try making small lanterns with angbao or chinese scrolls. check out the link i gave to k's mom, some cool ideas there. i am also doing something for valentines day to give to family n mel;s close friends, show u guys when it's ready.

u are right abt cultivating the love for reading from young, i am proud to say that mel is quite a reader, in fact, these days, she doesnt want me to read, she will tuck herself at a cosy corner, pick up her berenstain bear and silent read, and if i volunteer to read to her, she says 'don;t disturb me." kids!

Hi Moshimoshi,
This means Mel recognise the words and read. So cool of her..!! How did you train her do that ? Pls share with me.

Hi Meilan,
Aston is a very Chinese speaking boy since young. Me as the mummy is just so worried that he cannot speak English very well and affect his English studies when he in Pri sch. But DH says he will pick up English in school and assured me not to worry so much. Still, I am worried cos now he speaks to us only in Mandarin.

Hi Serenade,
We are the living examples for kids to follow & it's sometimes amusing or "frustrating" see them use the same method we used on them. I have a fave gesture where I point my finger to Aston whenever I say no means no. He used back to me one day too when I told him to tidy his toys before he can sleep. Oh gosh, I nearly fainted and I can see my DH going to chuckle when he sees Aston "cute" reply. He told me children are just naive. So I told myself must be careful in the choice of words and gestures from that day onwards. If I dun correct myself and he follows, next time he will be ill mannered..

Hi Sarah,
Sorry forgot to update must check if the EYS cough powder can take if have fever. What Aston's been taking is when he does not have fever...purely cough or phlemy cough. He's not taking the 'hao zao san". It's other powdered form med for cough only. Suggest you check with the shop people to help u.

Hey Apricot,
No problem. Will check with shop assistants.

Hi Ky,
Thanks for the reminders. I'm on high alert whenever Hannah down with fever. She was previously suspected of Kawasaki's disease, and since then I tend to get paranoid easily. Good to hear that your helper staying put, take time off to rest.

Hi Meilan,
Like Apricot, I speak Mandarin to Hannah since young. But hb focus on English. And yes, I also noticed slight hesitance towards Mandarin since school started. It makes me more determined to get her to speak Mandarin, sing Mandarin songs. Told her it's special to speak Mandarin, and dialect too.

Serenade,Moshi,
How do you teach your kids to recognize words and read? I can't wait for Hannah to read on her own. Can share?

CNY outing:
1. sarah (2A1C)
2. moshi (2A1C)
3. apricot (2A1C) - fish fillet with celery
4. mh (2A2C)
5. meilan (2A1C)
6. ky - tba

venue: sarah's plc
date: sun, 11feb
time: 11am

Potluck ok with everybody? Will PM you my address.

Ai yo, apricot, wish i could do some decent dish like fish celery, cracking my head on what to potluck! Mommies, what do u like??? will u kill me if i just bring a cake???

Hey Aston speaks eng pretty ok, i heard a few good sentences from him when when we last met, mel can;t even handle a decent chinese sentence! the longest i heard from her is "Kan xie ye shu" thank u jesus!
Here's the joke:
Every snack time, the kids have to say grace, so they go 'thank u thank u jesus thank u thank u jesus..." just yesterday, i asked if she said grace in sch, her reply :"No but i said kan xie ye shu (off key pronunciation, took me a few seconds to decipher what she said.) !!!

Abt reading, it kind of happened naturally, we read a lot, i also used ladybird peter n jane series when she was 1.5yrs. they have simple repetitive pronouns like you, I, etc and the readers are graded and progression very careful and gradual. From then, things just happen, initially i thought it was memory work, but no, she could really read! Well, she is a step ahead in this but she kind of 'regress' in writing, like what some say, progression in one area but regression in another, kids are talented in their own way! and anyway, they will all eventually know how to read ;)

Sarah
think u set it right by speaking to hannah in mandarin while daddy uses eng. pity we didn;t persevere in that.

Fever - my PD told me, 37.5 onwards considered fever, 38.5 high fever and 40.0 red alert. My in laws used to wrap DS when they're running high fever and was told by PD nurse not to as it will only increase body temperature and I was relieved when they highlighted this to my ILs. Sponge bathing is very impt to aid in bringing temp down.

Mandarin Speaking - Benny and Bryan are excellent in speaking Mandarin. Last yr when Ben went for N1, he knew nothing abt English but now, he's begining to scold his little brother in Eng and I'm quite impressed with his learning speed.. all thanks to his teachers and nursery rhymes.. Bryan can now recite a few rhymes in Eng..

gtg.. been busy setting up my online store for bags. got to get my website done asap.. sorry that i'm a little out of track.

Hi mommies!

Just wanna share on fever.

I was doing all that I could when Kristin ran a fever last Oct when my husband and parents weren't around. And of course our usual PD was also on hols. I did everything from giving a wipe down on temperature, giving gripe water, giving a massage with body lotion to bring down the temp, cutting down on solids and only giving fluids and of course all the paracetamol plus fever pads. I forgot the most important thing: a suppository for fever.

Just stick it in and it will last at least 10 hours and I wouldn't have to wake up to check on her temp all the while. Remember a fever is usually a general increase of whole body temp. So sponging does cool the child a little (remember the armpits, neck and groin area), but the most effective way to bring down a temp as high as 40 deg is still a suppository. It might quite a trauma for the parents to insert it in though if this is never done before. It shouldn't hurt the child when it's suffiently lubricated with cream.

I;m definitely gonna remember this the next time if a viral fever strikes.

Hi mommies!

On speaking Mandarin:

Bryan spoke a lot more Mandarin when we were back in Sg last December. Though far from being perfect, my hubby and I were glad that he's doing it naturally. So the environment plays a great role.

Also, while we were back in Sg this time, I discovered a VCD: I can speak Mandarin from Xu Bing (the TCS newscaster). It's quite nice with a kindergarten setting and all little children speak Mandarin. Bryan will sit in front of it for the whole hour and then ask for more. And when he does, it's all quiet and you can tell he's learning coz we hear phrases now and then.

We've been back for about two weeks now. And he's back to his ENg mode again. Not a word of Mandarin anymore, not even when my parents called and talked to him on the phone.

You see, he's been learning about the Solar System in school and all his acquired vocab is in Eng. There's no way he could tell his grandparents what he did in school if he had to answer their question on "How's school today for you?" in Mandarin.

Sometimes I do know that he makes an effort to speak. But the vocab is missing. So he quickly switches mode coz the need to be understood quickly supercedes his effort in trying. Just natural, I guess.

Hi Moshimoshi,
Abt my fish fillet dish, ha...I decided to cook this dish cos you say you will bring fried rice. So our dish may change depending on wat others potluck. Also, it's cooked by DH and not me

Like to offer a reminder on fever - our PD always assure us that as long as the cause of a fever is known, the exact temp doesn't really matter cos you just need to wait out while the body fights the virus. On supppository, both times JK pooed after insertion, so efforts were wasted!

ky, could Keith be having an ear infection? The other time JK had one, he seemed perfectly fine except the fever. He could already talked but he didn't even complain abt pain in his ear. You may just want to get Keith checked.

Moshi, it amazes me how you never seem to run out of resources. Do you surf the net for art and craft ideas a lot? Mel is very lucky to have you as a mother. I second Apricot's suggestion but maybe you should freelance in running workshops to teach parents!

JK has been humming a couple of Christian songs since he started lessons at his church sch. Sometimes he would sing halfway and asks me to help him. Maybe can seek help from Mel next time.

Apricot, I can fully identify with you. I tend to wave my finger when I scold JK and use a lot of commands. Now he does it back to me which is very embarrassing in public. Was telling ky how his bad manners were sometimes a reflection of my poor handling and she gave me a gd reminder abt watching out how our individual parenting style would result from certain habits of doing things.

Any avid readers of Today here? I strongly recommend the tiny section "Focus on the Family" which offers a daily dose of insightful parenting advice. Today's dose is abt how persistent yelling can kill the spirit of a child. My heart ached when I thought if how many times I have shouted down at JK and his sometimes dazed look. I made a resolution to cut down on shouting from now on.

On language, agree with k's mom abt the envrionment factor. I guess we just have to create the platform for the kids to polish up whatever is their deficent language. As for foreign language, I feel instilling the initial interest is very impt. I made an effort to speak a few words of Japanese to JK and he really hated it till some Japanese friends visited. Now he no longer objects if I rattle something to him. But I'm focusing to get his English on track and amend his fluent but broken Mandarin first before anything else.

Serenade, the Japanese keen on exchange programmes tend to know some English and sometimes it's the exposure to another culture that is more valuable. A very thick face also helps. I remember resorting to the dictionary during my 1st homestay in Hiroshima many years ago but my host family and I were so interested in sharing our respective cultures that we still "talked" into the night every night during the 2 weeks I was there. Homestays are really enriching experiences for both the host and the visitor.

hi meilan
i was looking at the pix of the japanese visiting singapore, gee, i must say they don't look like the usual LV buying touristy japs but very local, esp the shot at the hawker centre, and they were mostly elderly?
'senpei' wa nan desu ka.
really envious of ur opp to live in jap, always been my dream, maybe i shall help myself fulfil it when mel gets older!
abt the art n craft resources, i do occasionally surf for ideas, crafting is a great time killer and we have a 'line' in our home to clip on her work, we change the display 'seasonally'. say xmas crafts then cny crafts and so on
Actually there's a lot to do, but i am not organised and i don;t have a plan, it's all ad hoc based on what she/i feel like doing.

does anyone have a plan to follow weekly.monthly?
i need some structure!

catch u guys ltr!

k's mom
thanks for the vcd recommendation, will check it out. think she can relate to the classroom setting since now she;s schooling.

abt the suppository, i have not personally done it on mel, the doc did it once, appears traumatising but with skill, it's actually not painful. but i understand that it's more for stubborn high fever, help to quickly bring down the temp.

meilan
indeed, 'today' is a good read, pity they don;t deliver to my place, i usu browse at my mom's. focus on family has good tips yeh? i also like budget tai tai column, she's one funny lady that i can identify with.

mommies
are u throwing out old stuff and spring cleaning, we just gave away some furniture and toys, feels so good now, more space less clutter. i pasted some colored paper on the floor for indoor hopscotch. for beanbag, just fill a sock with rice. mel doesn;t hop on 1 leg yet, she's doing her own version of hopscotch heehee

trying to find time to update my wardrobe, anyone keen to check out far east plaza, haven;t been there for ages, i like the tops my galfren got from the shops there, pretty and 'in'.

hi Meilan

how do I go about getting the check if it's ear infection? don't wish to go to PD, prob would cause bomb. can do at GP? Or at poly if no choice??

a good resource book I've used is "Slow and Steady Get Me Ready : A Parents' handbook for children from Birth to Age 5". It contains weekly activities so you don't find it stressful.... can borrow from library. Anyone doing Montessori btw with their child? I was quite on when Ben's 2yrs+ but since Keith came along, I became more slack

moshi2, I do do spring cleaning, but no one to give stuff too and most of the toy stuff have to wait till keith outgrow before I can do anything abt the ... ben also can't do hopscotch properly ... he'll do little hops on on leg and then switch leg to hop on the other leg... I'm stuck to nursing tops for a while more so no new clothes for me this CNY

.ky.

Thanks ky, will check out the book @ library.

Got a letter today that the nursery kids will be going to Science centre for some exhibits to tie in with the theme Me & My Body. Anyone knows what it's like? Gotta pay $14 for admission, transport and Mcdonalds meal, and parents are not allowed i think, there was no mention if we could go or if they need helpers. although i very much would like to go, i think i shouldn;t, mel will stick to me like a leech, defeats the purpose of the trip. i.e. learning to have fun without mommy!

sarah, compared to the play, mine is much cheaper hee hee.

I have an idea!
Shall we let the kids decorate plain heart shaped cookies since V's day is just 3 days from 11 feb???
Question is, where to get them?