(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi!! Long time never pop by. I'm so busy with my course. Killing!! How come no one in the west thinking of Henry Park Pri School? Anyone?? Bel will be heading there. At least I will have someone to share my prob if our kids are in the same school. Maybe school bus cheaper? KY how about you? You seem to be staying the nearest to me. Ha...

Hi ky,

Nope, missed it. That's why need to do more research now.

Great to hear that B is happy with his new school. For the moment, the school is still keeping my B happy. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi Periwinkle,

No incentive to go that far leh...

Meilan
I wish to go.. Cos like i said in my previous post, I would like to enrol my son there.. But There's this PAW Walk event held at Bishan and I had promised to meet a few mummies there.. Will you be going?? If you're going, can u pls update me on the school?? Sorry to trouble you..

2boys_mum
NanChiau - a very stressful school.. They focus on Chinese. Kids starting from Pri 1 Will have to read 三字经 & 第子规 for silent reading every moring.. Higher Chinese from P3 onwards. But they have alot of CCAs like chinese orchestra, and some CCAs that other school dun have. Some of the CCA we hv to pay, some dun need. But just to let everyone know that this is what i know a few yrs ago when my nephew was still in P1. Why not i go check it out from my sis and nephew and let u know again. And ya, I heard from my sister that the teacher's attitude some not good. They will give those f*** care attitude sometimes.. And the clerk there also dun-care-dun-care wan.

Sengkang
I think we have to wait for those mummies that go for the school tour to update us on the school. But i heard it's getting better.

Periwinkle & ky
May i know where is Beacon and Henry Park Pri??

KY & Moo87
Sorry that i missed ur post..
For the assessment thingy, actually I did brought my son to KK for the speech therapy before.. But it seems no help at all and it's quite costly. 1 session with normal specialist cost about $60+ if i didnt remember wrongly.. If you want better speech therapist, u hv to pay more.. And KY, where is the programme u send ur child to??

Hi periwinkle, good to hear from you! Me too, very busy with work and quite abit of travelling. Also very kancheong with P1 registration for boy. I considered Henry Park but they have closed the PV application when I enquired last year for 2002 kids. Are you or hubby alumni? GOod for bel.

Hi ky, my kids are in NTUC childcare and their teachers are great. Don't have good things to say about the principal but the teachers make the difference. I also like their program, not being too academic focused. Then again, they may 'suffer' when start P1.

Hi K's mom!

How was your trip to Provence? We didn't manage to go there. But I heard it is a nice place.

Yup, B is with Arise now. He greatly enjoys the physical activities - ball games, races etc. I'm surprised that the activities are conducted in Mandarin too. Yesterday, he kept repeating "yu1 bei4, kai1 shi3".

Have your started your packing yet? For us, we started about a month or 2 before the boxes were due to be shipped back to SG. Think it's a little tricky for you as you'll be leaving in winter. Starting to miss the place?

Hi Serenade!

You can view the photos on FB. Do you have one? Provence and Cote d'Azur are lovely:
Lavender - checked, sunflower - checked, cicada - checked!
Kids enjoyed loads of stuffs: perfume factory, lavender museum, wine cellar tour, dipping in river, the Mediterranean beach, picnics under the blue sky!

Oh packing, what packing? You mean unpacking from our road trip? I still have many loads of laundry to do.
And the packing for Sg? That will have to wait till the kids go back to school in autumn.

Missing this place? Not so soon... we still have another road trip in planning for August.
Also, we're squeezing in London in early October and Rome in the Thanksgiving weekend in November.

Gotta enjoy while it still lasts and leave the nostalgia for later when we are back in Sg for good.

huh ... k's mom, when are u coming back to Sg for good ... globetrotting so much that Sg seems a loooooonnnnng time before it'll happen. I'm superly green with envy!

Periwinkle ... henry park's toooo far for us. B's former gf (now he's got a NEW "love") may end up there .... mummy doesn't know if they are moving yet but henry park's one of the consideration. For us, even going to Bukit Batok is considerably far that I'm not considering hubby's alumni and trying very hard to stay within cck.

Isabella, u didn't go via the polyclinic route too KKH? It's more than 3 yrs ago that we tried that place and I don't remember the charges but I know for sure it's ex. Can't comment on how good coz I think we were there more for the ear checkup than the ST. The programme is at E&P (at Delfi Orchard) ...

btw, anyone has any good lobang/recommendation on cheap (under 1K) and light laptop???

.ky.

Howcome everyone knows I change my nick hah??? Ha...

Isabella, Henry Park is near Pandan Valley. Beacon not sure must ask Serenade. Henry Park my Alumni. I don't have time to PV and lazy to go for open house. So just settle for a school that I know for sure has no problem getting in.

Ky/Serenade, Henry Park not so far. About 20mins drive? Moshi also pick AiTong which is also like 20mins drive from place. Not far not far..you mummies drive right? Oh! Now that I think back maybe not so good for both of you because you still need to take care of no.2 Sigh! I'll be alone then..

Ky, I just bought Asus lap top for $780. It's the size of a portable VCD player. When I use it outside, alot of people would go "Whoa!! Wa!! so compact!! So small!" Ha...you get the picture. I love it because it's so light that I simply just slip it into my tote bag for work.

Jan, so nice to hear from you too. Henry PArk my alumni. Didn't know they had closed for PV. Isn't it alittle early to close for PV? I'll buy coffee when I'm near your office, ok?

Hi ky!

Lilian just bought a new tiny notebook from Acer. Check out her blog. She's the queen of comparison!

still haven't any idea which school to put my son in.
We thought of SJI Jr. But they haven't got back to us after my hubby has written in.
It would be our third gen of SJI boys.

periwinkle ... hey, I'm eyeing the Asus too ... hm hm, got a big stack of printout to go thru'.. oh, my #2 can go jalan with me. yes, I drive but u provide the wheels for me, can? how u driving B to school if u r working?

K's mom, will check out lilian's blog. btw, she's based in sg?

.ky.

Hi periwinkle, we are smart mummies here! hahaa..

Yah, thought I was early but for the popular schools, must apply to be PV at least 2 years from year of registration. sure, waiting for your coffee!

We are almost done with packing. Just in case, I do not have time to drop by here, we are leaving on 27 July. Probably will come in here once we have moved into our apartment in Sydney and more settled down then.

KY, I have decided not to buy the kites books as I find that they are not worth the money since there are much better books from Usborne and other which is better quality even my friend who brought sample from Level 4 to Level 22 to show me and Kai could even read from Level 9 which she told me to invest in chapter books for Kai.

Sherlyn, as for blueberry, I usually wash them before keep them in the freeze for winter, if not I will do home-made jam.

Wow, all the talk about registration for P1, Kai will be going to Nan Hua since I PV there. If not, we will send him to ACS.

Jan, yes, PV must be completed at least 6 months before registration.

hi baby lee
welcome... !!
this sat. there is a PV gathering session at Rivervale ... anyone attending?

is NAN CHIU a single session school? i know rivervale is not.

sorry, gone missing for a long while. Now back to 80% work.

I have an Asus too bought a few mths ago for S$570 and the last time I saw, it had come down to S$399 Ahhh.................

We had a National Day party last year, will we have one this year too? Look forward to another gathering.

Hi. More sharing abt schs in Sengkang. I was rather disappointed about Compassvale after the sch tour and esp after comparing with the earlier impression of Da Qiao. I was esp put off by the VP who seemed to highlight only the academic side of things and the fact that every year, there were limited places left and parents had to ballot. During the sch tour, we were brought round to view the facilities instead of being properly briefed about any special features of the programme offered by the sch. Anyway, I think they also offer the same English programme like Da Qiao and they also do not have exams till Oct but these were not highlighted as selling points. I also don't like the fact that CCA is not offered till P3. So in terms of marketing, I don't walk away being impressed.

Nan Chiau - my hubby called up to ask about an open house and they told him they didn't think it's necessary since they were so popular. Hubby immediately gave them a piece of his mind and I think the person on the receiving end got a shock. Still, he was not granted access to speak with the principal and was asked to write in to a general email. Hubby also asked if we could volunteer a few hours just to get a feel of the sch but they really didn't know what to do since people only PV to get priority and they have no other means to accommodate parents who only want to get to know the sch better.

Conclusion - I'm very xian about the schs in my vicinity already.

Isabella, I think you and your hubby are very young. I belong to a different era, even my younger brother is older than your hubby.

Anyway, my children are all year-end kids from 2003, 2005 and 2007. Should meet up with you and 2boys_mum someday

wah...meilan
ur children's yr gap is very well-planned lei...you intend to stop already?...

abt the schools,
yeah,all the comments heard abt NAN CHIU is that the staff there is "heck care" attitude,yaya. I still half-hearted to get my child there. Basically,just know base on perception it is a very traditional school with emphasis on Chinese.That's all.My HB is v impressed with this school though just because he feels that the moral education and character building might be strong.

as for rivervale, i am very excited with the curriculum activities based on the banners they hang outside.but other than these,waiting for more on this coming PV gathering. think rivervale also needs balloting for within 1km right?

Meilan
Seems like you really like the activities at Daqiao alot.. If that's the case, guess I should look up more on that school. Anyway, thanks for the info on the other schools~

2boys_mum, Nan Chiau is under Hokkien Huay Kuan. I remember when I was in school there, most of my classmates' parents are from Hokkien Huay Kuan or old girls of the school and during my time, primary school was co-ed.

All the time, Nan Chiau has been a single session school.
It is too far from me, if not I would have put my boy there since I have a wonderful time there. The teachers are very caring and firm during my time, not sure about it now.

K's mum, your girl is so sweet in all your photos and your boy is so charming.

Do worry too much about potty-training, when they are ready, they will be more than please to take off the diapers.

sorry to barge in... i happen to stay within 1km of NCPS.
2boys_mum,
NCPS is definitely a dual session school. The whole place is jammed up in the afternoons. I oso dun really like NCPS. Somehow they give the feeling that their are proud. Affilated with Hokkien Association, bound to be well to do in finances, so got a bit of attitude problem.

Anyone has feedback abt Anchor Green. It is a very new school. Dun seems to have much CCAs going on.

Hi Pris!

Thanks for the compliment.
Well, thing with my girl is that she's able to do it, but she's either too lazy or too fussy about the toilet-cleaniness (i.e. when we are out, she won't do it if she feels that the toilet isn't up to her standard of hygiene). Or so I observed over the week now. She's more than capable of telling me that she needs to use the potty. Just don't understand why she won't do it 100% since it's getting hotter again. I think for her it's a matter of discipline... she's a stubborn mule in many ways.

Hi mommies here!
Anyone here with experience with digi SLR?
Any good recommendation?
e.g. quick start-up, instant click response, and low end one for a beginner like me? budget between 1000 - 2000 S$?

2boys_mum you don't accept PM. Can you please PM me to share your views abt Rivervale after Sat meeting?

k's mom, hubby is using Nikon D70. But just a word of warning. Unless you don't mind lugging along another bag on top of the kids' stuff, you will find it a white elephant. To be honest, the sheer bulkiness of it all means that we don't take as many pictures as we should be as we always have reasons to leave it behind

hi meilan ... ah, forgot ur hubby into such tech like mine, but ur hubby much better than mine. I always see him with his camera almost everytime during outings/gatherings. the SLR has become my toy ... in fact, all types of cameras/video cams are now my toys since he really doesn't like to bring too many things ard ...

.ky.

Mind if i join in?

I'm a SAHM w 2 boys born in July 2003 & 2007.

We stayed in SK too & most likely will try Nan Chiau, as it is the nearest. 2nd choice will be Anchor Green but it will be a v hot walk in the afternoon.

Don't bother abt PV in Nan Chiau, my friend sent in her application for half a yr & have been calling them, & still no news.

I think Rivervale made the headlines when 1 of it's teacher bully a student. Can't rem the details, but something like force him to eat paper or something. TV news blurred the sch's name but mommies in another forum staying nearby recognised the light blue gate & covered walkway.
heheehee...

My older boy is also Power Ranger fan, always play fighting. Sigh~

Also always dilly-dally when doing work/eating etc. Usually, I'll limit his mealtime to 30min & threaten to throw away his unfinished food. This helps to speed him up abit.

need your advice

i have a son born in Aug 2003.

He expereinced pain on the back of his calf after wakeing up from his afternoon nap yesterday and again this morning.
keep telling me he can't walk.... i'm so scare and worried.

the pain goes away after almost 20~30mins but somehow he is scare and keep saying his leg pain and walk like a "duck". However he still can run when he is playing

ANyone of you have the same expereince? Doctor told me its growing pain... how to prevent? He is a fussy eater so i have problem getting him to eat good food!

Really need all of your advice!

Welcome Vamiga. Any chance your son is from SKMCC cos it;s near Nan Chiau and Anchor Green?

Bullying case at Rivervale? When was that?

JKJT
Is it because of the way he run or has he just changed a new pair of shoes?? Sometimes shoes maybe the cause of it.. Maybe u would like to check.. Just curious which day was ur son born?? Cos my boy also Aug 03.. He was born on the 24. And coincidentally, he have the same birthday as my mum~

thanks for your advice and yes, he is having GROWING PAIN coz he is in no pain during day time. feel so relieve now!

hi isabella
my son is also a 24-Aug 03 baby and share the same birthday as his "gugu" (auntie)

are ur children down with fever/flu frequently? mine yes lor, keep coughing every now n then....and keep complaining about stomach pain coz he swallow all his phelgm

Alamak! Really got such things as GROWING PAIN!!
Learn something new today.

Hi Meilan,
My son is in Blk 303 PCF. What abt urs?
Think the Rivervale Pri case was at least 2-3yrs ago. That's y can't rem much details.

Hi JKJT,

My 5yo has sensitive nose & enlarged anenoids since 2yo when he went into full day childcare.

So used to cough v often due to heavy post-nasal drips. Sick 3 weeks, ok 3 weeks type.
ENT actually recommended to remove the anenoids surgically under GA when he was 4yo but we can't bear to do it.

So been taking a chinese herbal mixture on-off to strengthen his lungs for past 1.5 year whenever he coughed. Sinseh actually say ok to take daily but hubby dont want him to take too much chinese medicine lor.

Do have some improvement, as in recover much much faster if any cough. Usually the cough can reduce immediately after 1st dose then recover within a week if take the mixture. It was such a relief not to hear him cough at nite. Even my scientific hubby was convinced, that's y still can take it on-off.

But he still had lots of mucus everyday, so now we r actively managing his allergies by giving him singulair for the past 2.5 months on top of
daily nasal spray+avoid certain fruits & peanuts. Mucus is lesser now but not fully recovered yet. No cough though. Still monitoring.

Hi vamiga
thanks for your advice.
We started chinese medicine but it takes a while for it to take effect right? i hope chinese medicine can help coz its really not easy and the western medicine he took is making him drowsy!

We tried Singulair (powder type) 2 years ago but not really effective on him but we are still using the inhaler whenever he has bad cough.

PEANUTS! hmm, he loves peanut butter
maybe i should stop him from taking peanut butter!

Really helpless and heartpain.... sometimes i blame myself for not taking enough tonics during my pregnancy!

Hi JKJT,

Don't blame yourself lah. Who wants this to happen to any kid? Allergy v cham 1.
I get rashes easily & hubby has sensitive nose, so my older 1 has sensitive skin AND nose. Sigh! Think my baby's skin also quite sensitive. Always have scaly dry patch on his scalp even tho they r using all these v ex Sebamed Shampoo, Celaphil Body wash & lotions & cream. It's just genes. There's 50% chance the kid will get the allergy if both parents r allergic.

Not sure if anything to do w tonics but i used to have lots of herbal black chix soup & bird nest alternate weeks during 1st pregnancy, so i minimize peanuts (sometimes can't resist rojak tho) & bird nest during 2nd pregnancy. Hopefully will reduce chances of baby's allergies.

Erm, my son's cough mixture (sinseh emphasized that it is for strengthening lungs but we find it effective in stopping cough lor) works v fast. Cough cough cough, after 1st dose will lessen, esp during the night. My son used to cough till vomit on his bed almost every nite when sick. V v cham.

His Singulair is tablet form. Half a tablet per night. V ex tho. Luckily can claim w DH's company.

I die die also refused to let my son take any peanut-related stuff these days after I lapsed once & he was itching all over immediately after taking half a peanut mee chiam kuey.

Hi Vamiga
ya, very cham when parents has allergy, it goes down to the children. I have ezema and sinus but hubby is as fit as a fiddle... both my children has senesitive lungs. they contracted bronchitis when they were few mths old.

Is your baby having cradle cap? Olive oil might help.

thanks alot for all your advice! really appreciate. Hopefully, our children grow healthier as they grow