(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

JKJT
My ds #2 also have brochitis den to pneumonia before he turned 2 yo. That period of time, I often cry and wonder why must he suffer so much at such a young age.. When the kids are sick, it's the parents and people around that have the hardest time..

Hi JKJT,

Ya, he had cradle cap during infancy. So it's usually the same area that is v dry. Been using baby oil b4 bath to moisturise it.

Hi Isabella,
Here's an article abt it fr my fav baby site
:

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/health/cradlecap/

Hi Ky,
I did not go to Bras Basah book stores for long long time. Do u know if they have kites books there ? Those that Priscilla mentioned a mth ago.

Hi Meilan,
Did you consider Mee Toh at Punggol ? Unsure if your area is near there. We just started the PV yesterday and DH helped on their sports day. He told me fun but tiring.

For mummies who r staying near Sengkang, have u checked out the new SK swimming complex? Parking is still free for now.

I was there earlier this week & intend to bring the boys for a dip when hubby is on leave next Thurs.

Wow! I LOVE the indoor pool!!
No need to worry abt getting more freckles & chao4 da1 liao. Also can swim at my convenience instead of looking at Mr Sun's.
It has a jacuzzi too. So shiok to feel the strong jets of water on my back & legs after my swim.
The pools v empty during weekdays, i count <20 pax ard. I can even swim backstroke throughout the entire length of indoor pool w/o bumping into any1. hahahaa...

I wish it has more mirrors in its 2 changing areas tho. Might not have enough seats when it is crowded too. So do bring ur own vanity mirror &amp; beach chair during weekends!
kekekeke... :b

My friend's blog has some good pix:
http://www.post1.net/biow/entry/sengkang_swimming_complex_or_sengkang_sports_and_recreation_centre

Vamiga
SK swimming pool is really nice.. Thanks for sharing with us.. I show my ds #1 &amp; #2 and they really like the place so much.. Will bring them there one of these days.. But is it very crowded during weekends???

Hi Isabella,
Y a string of # as ur new nick?

I'm not sure abt weekends bcos I'll go only on weekdays. The pix in the blog taken during the opening weekends seems crowded tho.

Most likely it will be even more crowded after the lunar 7th mth.

Hi Apricot,

Meetoh very hot within Pungol. PV chances is high? I'm having a headache after hearing my fren's comment on St Andrew. Her BIL is teaching there and told me it's not a good school afterall.

Vamiga
Lol~ The song title of one of my fav song.. Just for fun.. Nothing else..

Think I'll be going there this coming Friday to try out first before bringing my son over this weekend..

hihi...
i went for the PV for rivervale primary too!! fun...first time to step into a school after so many years...
how bout the sengkang primary school?

Hi Apricot ... didn't go to bras basah but happened to see the shop putting on a temp store at Beauty World couple of weeks ago, and yes, they do have Kites Readers, at $1.90 each. Cond is good, and I've managed to find another one for B.

.ky.

Finally have the internet up. We just moved into our own apartment yesterday, so everything is in a mess.

Need to do all the packing within this week and start on doing my work for PV as fast as I can. Have found Kai a school about 15-20 minutes walk from our place and our place is facing the nature reserve and there is alot of bird-watching to be done.

Hi Prisneo,

DOnt mind me asking, I am a little confused. I thought if you are staying within 2km, you can get into the schools under a certain phase? SO no need to do PV already right? No?

co1lectionz, the school of our choice is a highly sought after school and they do promise me that my boy will have a place after my pv since they are very selective over their pv parents. I went through 2 rounds of interviews and a couple of sessions with the HOD that I am helping out with what I am doing and thankfully I would submit all my work through the net.

moo87, thanks. Finally all the stress of sourcing for apartment and moving in are over. It is still winter over here, minus away the snow.

Oh Prisneo... so you have relocated. GOod for you!
At least you can be rest assured on your child's guarantee in his future school!

Do you know that if one is under the clan phase (ie: 2B) and not staying within 2km, do I still need to do PV?

Hi Pris, Glad to know that you've settled down. Are you updated with the recent rally by PM Lee? Few of my MOE frens have voiced that they actually want to quit teaching. Its too stressful of teaching in Spore. If teachers are stressed, the kids are stressed as well!

Any mummies keen to have a ladies nite? Its time we do some catching up!

moo87, in fact, alot of my batch has resigned.

Collectionz, under clan is 2b also, as we have two choice to go to ACS or the choice school I am pvin, all will be under 2b.

Priscilla Neo (prisneo)
Then for those that stay within 2KM also under 2B?? Very confused by all the phrases.. the phrases make my head big just by thinking of them..

Called up Rivervale Primary School to check on their admission requirement. The ladies who answered my call, one of them name Fiona, are very courteous and warmth.. Unlike Nan Chiau.. I am currently staying at AMK and will be moving to SK, near Rivervale Plaza in 2010. So called and ask if next yr I were to use my new house add to register for my son's P1 admission, can I or not. they say can, but I have to move in by 2010 yr end. Fair enough.. But too bad, I am not within 1km, but is still within 2km.. They told me that for the last 9 yrs, even within 1km will have to ballot.. So i think I can just drop the idea of enrolling my son to that school.. Guess will enrol him into Jing Shan instead since my MIL add is within 1km range..

Checked out Jingshan's webby yesterday and find that they have exchange programmes with other schools from other countries.. And they also will organize something like tour to other country. They went to Japan in 2007. And they also have quite alot of CCA like chinese orchestra... I like the programmes the offer..

Vamiga
Saw it in the news that many ppl actually went out to have a feel of the wind when the station report the signal to be at #8.. Did you go out too???

Hi Isabella,

We were not as adventurous w young kids ard.

Just stand near the main exit of MTR station to feel the wind.
Some of the plants on our apt's roof terrace were overturned too.

We did go via covered walkways to the nearby malls for window shopping (literally, as 99% of the shops were closed), as it was difficult to coop the kids in the apt whole day.
Many pple were out too, to eat or watch movies etc.
However, only good, old Mac was left opened by 2pm when the signal went from #8 to #9.

Right now is just light drizzle at #1, so we will b going out 4 lunch &amp; some shopping soon.

Would like to check with you for skin dermatologist. I have fungus on my feet and I need to see a Doctor.. Can I just go normal GP or I should go to specialist??

vamiga
hi, my son has sensitive air passage. So he wheezes very easily whenever he coughs.
Doc told us can try Singulair or Keotifen.
SIngulair is very ex. I rmb her saying it will be abt $100 for a month or 3 month supply.
I was ok as long as it improves Kai's health.
Anyway, she suggested I go for Ketotifen(which is much much cheaper) instead.
So far, it seems rather effective.
Plus the fact that Kai is underweight and that Ketotifen is supposedly good at improving his appetite so i'm hapy with it.
In fact, he's been eating well and he takes more milk now. Not sure abt his weight though...

Hi Catherine

Ketotifen is not supposed to take for more than 2 bottles if I am not wrong. My boy Kai used to has sensitive air passage too when he was young and I did suggest to his PD about Ketotifen but his advise was to let my boy take a bottle will do and I also started him for tuina. Tuina has helped him about and now he has stronger immunity.

Vamiga

I was told that HK's typhoon also has colour code since my good friend is working there.

We have only experienced a snowstorm that bring the traffic to a standstill in Vancouver and blackout as well.

pris

really? my doc told me to let Kai that for 3mth then see how.
Now he's halfway thru 1st bottle.
Better check with doc.
Tuina helps?
Someone recommended that too.
u do it for him at home?
My sis used to bring nephew to TCM before she does it at home.
Ur Kai is same age as Ning? '03?

hey, do u still bake?
I rmb u used to.
I mean ya, i joined this thread when Kai was abt 10mth n kena HFMD...

Has anyone tried this ? Good? worth going?

http://wildsingaporehappenings.blogspot.com/2008/08/31-aug-sun-free-chek-jawa-boardwalk.html

Sherlyn ... u went for the walk at Sentosa? how was it? pls pls update...

apricot ... went to the shop in BBC last weekend. don't go if u r looking for kites or any decent readers. The good ones are out in the store. they are at beauty world this week I hear, and after that, somewhere in rivervale plaza (or perhaps they were there 2 wks ago)

.ky.

Hi Catherine,

Our PD charges $28 for 14 tablets of Singulair. Half a tablet every nite. Jx been taking it for past 3 months. We hope can stop it soon since he seems better these days.

Hi Pris,
Guess ur friend meant colour code for the rain storm (red, black). Typhoon signals r #1,3,8,9 &amp; 10.

Hi ky,
Was meant to clean up chek jawa w hubby's company in July but was stucked at Ubin Jetty bcos of heavy rain. Heard they might organise another 1 in nov/dec.
hahaahaa...

Hi ky,

Thanks for the link. Not sure if it's good but I think it's worth going. We have heard so much abt Chek Jawa. Great that they have guides. Will let you know if we can make it this Sunday.

Catherine, my kai is 03 baby. I used to bring him for Tuina and then the chinese physician taught me to do it for him when we first relocate to Vancouver. Kai's pd is our personal friend so we heed alot of his advise.

In fact, my friend who recommended ketotifen to me, her girl who take it first and her daughter is now P1. But while she was taking it when she was younger still develop bronchitis and being hospitalised for that twice or three times that I can't quite remember.

I still bake now with Kai's help.

KY &amp; Serenade, The Chek Jawa walk is worth it, need to go on a low-tide day and best to wear boating boots as one will get wet.

Hi KY,

the sentosa walk is definitely great for us adults. The kids, or rather my kids, they are ok, fascinated by the real creatures.

the chek jawa one, is not FOC so we will not be gog since it is quite costly for all the 4 of us to go when my kids may not be very much interested ... so we wait till they are older. This walk is held often, like monthly, but the sentosa walk is not. I believe you and your family will love the sentosa walk.

shoes will be wet, unless u really choose to walk slowly by avoiding the water and contented with missing looking at some finds (sea creatures).

HTHs .. anyway i really love the walk.

tx for the feedback on Chek Jawa; a playgroup that we are on have been trying to put it together but I think everyone's been real busy ... I think we'll do it one day, hopefully by this year.

.ky.

Hi, I need to have recommendation on patient dentist wif kids. My children need to see one badly and its their 1st time.

isabellali, the 2nd hand book store you mean? it's on bras basah first level, nearer the library end. name of shop is evergreen. the "move-about" store is now at beauty world and will be there for another week. I managed to find the 2 KITES books that I was looking for there, at $1.90 each. And for those who koow the chinese readers that novum is selling, it's $1/book.

Sherlyn ... the Sentosa event is once a year if I'm not wrong. U've asked them on the fees on Chek Jawa? hm, how much? Can't we go barefoot?

.ky.

Sorry ky, must hv scared u .. i think i remember wrongly .. the one that requires payment is the ubin one .. this chek jawa free. you can see more info on the http://nakedhermitcrabs.blogspot.com/ web, cos the naked hermit crab group are the one bringing u guys around.

as for sentosa .. you can ask them (the naked hermit crabs too) to inform you when they have another round. They email me this time round cos i miss the previous time which is last yr oct. Perhaps they hv another one in oct this yr too?

HTHs and sorry for the wrong info earlier.

Hi Jeng,

I have been bringing my son to Epi Smile at Thomson Plaza since he was 2.5yo. The dentists there r v patient &amp; kid-friendly.
Tel:65540552

Hi Vamiga, thanks. I saw another link earlier and brought my kids to Bright Smile @ Tiong Bahru. It was a great experience for them. The dentist was patient. My son had so many cavities and we didn't even realise it. Gosh!

Hi jeng,
How old r ur kids?
My 2 boys r 5yo &amp; 1yo.

It's important to take good care of their teeth from the v beginning. My friend's 2yo+ daughter had to undergo GA to remove 2 of hers. It was such an ordeal for all parties.

Jeng
Kids as young as 4yo also have cavities?? I didn't know it.. Guess I have to bring them to the dentist soon..

Vamiga
How much does the dentist at thomson plaza charge?? Is it expensive??

This is what I have learnt from day1, use a glaze to clean their gum and develop the habit. Once there are better, no problem for brushing teeth.

Avoid too much sweets, sugary stuff and sticky stuff. Get them to rinise mouth after eating all these.

Once first teeth appear, can start going to dentist.

My boy went before turning 2 and after that it is bi-yearly for checking and cleaning.

Hi Isabella,

EpiSmile's charges r similar to the other dentist that I used to go to in Sengkang but I prefer its dentists' "light-handedness" when cleansing my teeth. Think for kids, it's abt $20+ if i rem correctly.

For 1st few times, it's just mini-checks for him &amp; only this recent visit, the dentist really clean his teeth as Jx is able to understand what is going on. He loves the spaceship (dentist chair) &amp; e sunglasses.