(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Saw the comments on the LR stuff. Thought I can share the lobang with you ladies. I saw a shop oppo Elm tree in suntec selling the LR stuff at a veri good price. For the learning rods it was going at 40plus ( I din buy from there are as I already owned almost the whole series) and the Gears Gears (motorized) range, which was going at 30 plus per set. That was like like a month ago so not too sure whether is there anymore stocks. Can check it out if you are keen.
If I remember correctly, the store also stocks puzzles from LR.

For the gears range, my kids stopped playing after using it a few times. The quality is quite good except for the non-motorized range (under the sea).The wheels seems to always get stuck.

For phonics learning, for moms who are keen, www.lakeshorelearning.com stocks very good teaching aid too. THey also have extensive range of sight words learning material. But they dun ship to singapore and the local agent sells it at exorbitant prices. So if you have friends in US who can ship it in for you, it is a wbesite worth looking at. The store has a habit of packing stuff into huge boxes so don't take the risk to ship it via vpost.

Thanks ashleyjames for the LR and phonics information

Serenade, I am so tempted to visit Sep21 tomorrow but quite unlikely hubby is around with me since we agree take leave together.

Catching PS I Love U tmr, anyone seen ? Heard it's a nice movie. The Leap Years is also not bad..I am quite moved by the movie & so happy to receive a limited notepad from my sales manager yesterday

Thanks Apricot for the effort of initiating this gathering, but my friend from HK is coming on thursday till following tuesday, so friday is out for me since i m not sure now when she is free to meet me.

so nice to hv dh take leave together with you on dates
enjoy yr show.

Serena,

Sorry I cant help answer your question cos he is not expose to "zhao ju" at home (he doesnt do any chinese worksheets at home besides writing of single words)and I am not sure if he does that in school.

anyway he is still very far back in academic as compared to the kids here cos he is still doing worksheets for nursery and now starting a little on k1.

Sherlyn, doing nursery worksheets now and alittle on K1 is not being far back in academic because they are only turning 5 this year. It's their level. So don't feel that way. My girl is also doing chinese worksheet nursery level but I don't feel she is underachieving. She is doing what her age group is suppose to be doing now. Ok, maybe not exactly at the same level but I hope one day she will and can catch up. Also, my girl is never exposed to enrichment till recently. So, I'll have to wait and see.

can i ask a hyperthetical question ... if say an accident has happened in your house, like your kid had an accident, fallen down or something heavy fell onto him. He's unconscious. What's the will you do? Call Ambulance? Examine him? Do you know what to examine? Look for sign of bleeding? But how to check for internal injury? Call your neighbour, hubby, GP for help? Got to hospital or nearest clinic yourself?

.ky.

Hi Ky,
If the child is unconscious, I will bring him down to A&E immediately. Will not hesitate to wait. And if it is during peak hour traffic, I will call an ambulance.

Hi serena,
my boy been doing some really simple zhaoju with helping words...mayb this is not zhaoju more like pre-zhaoju skills. like mama zai xiwan. i will mix up the order. ask him to read the words. then ask him to label the sequence on top of the words.

need some advice. Anyone tried doing spelling with your child? I find that even though my boy can read words but he does not seem to be able to spell except for simple words like "the, he and three or four letter words". Am I expecting too much at this stage.

Hi ky!

Let's just hope this will always remain an imaginary scenario.

If a kid is unconscious, make sure air passage is clear. Check for breathing and pulse rate. Then check for bleeding and stop bleeding if there's any. Then place the kid in the recovery position and call for an ambulance. I think that's as much as one could do by following simple first aid rules.

If something heavy fell on him, then you gotta make sure the object is removed and not further cause breathing problems.

I wouldn't know how to check for internal injury, but in this case I would be praying that it's not punctured lungs. And hope that the paramedics will arrive asap. In the meantime, still continue to check for breathing and pulse and perform CPR if necessary.

If a sharp object is pierced through the body, I would not recommend pulling it out. Because by pulling it out would mean causing the victim to bleed out even before help arrives. Oh man... what a terrible sight that would have been. Really, I hope we will never have to see that.

Depending on situations, sometimes it's not good to move the person injured without paramedics. I will not recommend one picks up the victim and transport him in own car, esp if you are all alone driving and the victim is in the backseat on his own.

Actually it's good for all adults to attend basic first aid course. Hmmm... maybe among this thread, you ladies can arrange to attend a course together. I strongly recommend you do it if you haven't done anything like this before.

Btw, you might wanna check this out:
http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=...PFH3cFjAt_kcke7P5fOKV45Uc&hl=en#PPA691,M1

hi ashleyjames,

my son is still far from reading other than some words that i've taught him using onsets/rimes method.

but recently we've been playing some spelling games... hee, like the cheerleader style, and i found that he could do pretty well. e.g. the three letter words that he knows and i combine them together, bat + man = batman. And believe me, children love spelling out their superheroes.

So we went from batman, to spiderman, superman etc. And we tried Robin, thus Robot (longer words)

It's kind of fun if you try combining 3- and 4-letters words together to make new words first and build on his knowledge and by no time he should like spelling longer words, esp in Sg now.

Don't kindergarten teachers dish out spelling lists? Anyhow, I'm under the impression that kids in Sg kindergarten are very advance in literacy. oh believe me, if he can spell most/all 3- and 4-letters words, he can definitely spell.

Hi Serenade!

Give me feedbacks on the motorised G,G,Gears set. I asked a mom to order this for me last week:
http://www.amazon.com/Gears-Super-Set-150-Piece/dp/B00000JGWY/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3?ie=UTF8&s=toys-and-games&qid=1204880221&sr=8-3

Hope she did it sooner than amazon changed the price. It was still 31.92 USD last week.

Hi Pris!
I thought amazon.com had better deals last week. Hmmm, maybe I'm wrong... Knowing that amazon.com had changed the prices, am wondering if I should quickly place an order of The Electric Company DVDs asap.

Hi ashleyjames,

Thanks for sharing the info on the LR stuffs.

Your sons just turned 4yo last dec, right? Though development varies from individual to individual, I feel it's nothing to worry about at such young age. Care to share your concerns abt spelling at this age?

As far as I know, some uses spelling to teach reading. A friend of mine uses phonics and spelling to teach her 5yo son (Jan03 kid) reading. So far, they have covered a few hundred words in spelling.

For myself, I think the ability to use words in the right context is more crucial than learning to spell difficult words. Thus, I don't have a spelling list for my kid. Rather, I encourage him to write sentences and work through the harder words with him. Reason being it was meaningless for us to do spelling. He took less than 5 minutes to learn to spell "marvellous" but couldn't recall the word instantaneously few weeks later. But he can spell words like hospital, ambulance etc... without having to learn to spell them.

Hi k's mom,

Not all Kindergartens believe in spelling at this stage. But some kindergartens do. One mother shared that her gal's pcf is already spelling difficult words such as brilliant etc. I pressume it's the teacher's style of teaching the kids to read.

Hi Serena,

I "tested" my boy on ZhaoJu. Told him to make a sentence with "Chi1 Fan4" (literally translate to eat rice). He came up with "wo3 zai4 chi1 fan4" (translate to "I am eating rice"). So does it means he knows how to ZhaoJu?

Asleyjames, this rearranging of words to form the proper sentence is something like "Cong2 Zu3 Ju4 Zi3" ?

May I find out if it is ok to use the metal cookie cutters as egg moulds in frying an egg in the cookie cutter to get the shape?

I have not tried out spelling on A. He's learning Phonics for 6mths and we are glad to see that he learn to read out the word thru phonics sounds. Last night, he read this word fantastic using that way & I think it's really fantastic way he learn phonics and displaying his reading skills. Hope he will sustain and improved as he goes along.
He can also read some chinese words in his weekly reader organise by school and we are unsure if he really recognise the words or he memorise them already. Well this can happen if the words appear many many times or what people says high frequency words.

Hi Apricot,

Aston has done you proud! I believe once they can blend sounds, kids can also easily segment the sounds and spell words too. That's how it works for my kids. But then again, not all words are phonetic, so there are still words that they have to learn by memorising. But through frequent usage, they will tend to pick words up easily.

On Chinese characters recognition, Popular is selling word cards for P1. It consists of the words that a P1 student should learn for the year. There are also some websites from MOE regarding learning chinese. Can try searching the MOE website for those interested about what's being covered in P1.

Hi Serenade,
Thanks for the advice on Chinese characters recognition. Since you mentioned abt P1, I will like to share this. Heard that now P1 has to write out the HanYuPinYin under the chinese words they are learning. It turns out the same from a neighbourhood and a SAP school. So stressful on the kids and I fear mine will get confused with phonics when he reached P1. Will check with his teachers how to overcome this and offer a good solution. Will share with you gals soon.

Hi Serenade,
Rem the word fan (風扇)..phonic teacher of A pronounced it as fan (煩). We are still trying to get ourselves "agree" when we are so used to remember it's pronounced as fan. Now something interesting happen this afternoon when I ask A to flip the word fun and he gave me fan. I cannot say it's wrong becos he rem what he is being taught. Ok, this interesting thing must ask the phonic teacher to explain and convince us the right pronounciation of fan and fun.

Another thing to share on P1 school. It turns out that SAP school has different types on homework for the children. Just on Maths alone, one child actually have to complete 29 problem sums within one day or I shld say a few hrs on that night and the mummy feel so stressful for the kid and kind of regret send the child there. The mummy also later on find out other P1 class in the same school give out different kind of homework.

Hi Apricot

Try these websites for the pronounciation of fan and fun (American English though) http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fan
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fun

On P1 doing different quality and quantity of work, it's not something surprising or new. Even neighbourhood schools have such practice. Usually, students in the top 2 classes will be given extra workload. The neighbourhood school I have in mind has been streaming kids even before they start P1, meaning they have to take an entrance test for class placement.

hi ky

K's mom is right. Take up first aid but still need a refresher course. Mine has expired.
For the west, it will be St John at Jurong Central.

Hi ashleyjames,
Really thankful for the tip on GearsGearsGears! We managed to grab a set today and the kids are having great fun

Hi K's mom
We got this set http://www.learningresources.com/product/under+the+sea+gears.do?search=basic&keyword=gears&sortby=best&asc=true&page=1 today. Easy to handle and snapping the parts together is a breeze.

We tried fixing the M.Gears too. It's much more challenging than the other set. The parts are much smaller and require good motor skills (and strength) to fix them together. Patience is definitely a pre-requisite. Our first job is only half done.

Will be posting some video clips of both sets on my blog soon.

Hi Serenade!

Thanks for the feedback on G,G,Gears! It sure looks fun, esp watching the sea animals bobbing up and down, do they?

I was looking at this set too:
http://www.learningresources.com/product/parents/shop+by+category/early+skill+development/discovery+-+exploration/gears%21+gears%21+gears%21-reg-+dizzy+fun+land--8482-+motorized+gears+set.do?search=basic&keyword=gears&sortby=best&asc=true&page=1

Perhaps Ashleyjames will be able to give us feedback on this one.

But our set hasn't arrived yet. So gotta wait and see how the kids react.

Oh, so not all kindergarten teachers in Sg are crazy about spelling? Great... coz I think we're gonna be in for a major catching up when we go back to Sg. Well for the Chinese language to say the very least. Unlike you and Pris, we don't do much work at home. Any type of learning happens very much by chance with us, and it's all down to this Mommy's whim. And that only happens rarely... So far, I think I can count such occasions with both hands! :D

Hi K's mom,
That set you have in mind will certain hold the kids' undivided attention! Great choice!

I'm wondering if I should continue to get GGG or try this http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00000J048/ref=ord_cart_shr?%5Fencoding=UTF8&m=A3GZ73S7H82VNW&v=glance. Have you come across it? Intend to consider that for future purchase

For spelling, only a handful is starting in K1. But most kindies will have spelling tests in K2. My k2 nephew was learning to spell kitchen, living room etc last week. But be prepared for 听写, the kindies start from k2 too.

As for 造句,a kindy principal told me the kids will be started on that in K2.

Personally, I think you are doing a fabulous job with the kids. Perhaps we think each is doing a better job (funny notion, isn't it?) but in fact, everybody is doing just as great!

Ok, PLEASE quit making me feel guilty more than I already am! Guess what? We had zero school days and minimal reading last week. Time to buckle down!

Hi apricot,

Relax! For kids who have been attending preschools and enrichment classes, they are more than well prepared for P1.
The real challenge comes when they reach P3 or P4. So, cherish the moment now!

Just in case you wonder about my primary school knowledge - sigh, I have 6 nephews and nieces in primary schools, ranging from P1 to P4. Hard to shut out anything about schooling.

Hi ashleyjames, K's mom & Jpooh, thx for the advices ... I'm definitely putting CPR #1 on my list now. There's a CPR session at my place this weekend; hubby has gone for this and he's taught me. But I think this should be reviewed periodically now that JPooh said it.

For CPR, I thought it's to do so if there's no breathing. I too have thot of not moving the kid as it may worsen the situation, but if it's in a situation that can't be helped? btw, to check for punctured lungs or internal injuries, the first sign is for difficulty in breathing.

Anyone knows if SGH has a kid's A&E dept? KKH and NUH has ... anywhere else? Any idea how long the wait would be at SGH? I hear KKH has a horribly long wait at A&E

.ky.

Hi ky,
We watched Little Red Hen show last Sat. I did not see activity book and it's due to I am alone minding A as he is running around after the show. I bot the paperpack storybook and realise the story is written quite differently from the lady bird series that I have.

Hi ky,
My ratings :
funny - 70% cos there are two characters that make us roll and laugh

slow moving - 10%. Just the right speed. lots of music and singing by the actors and actresses & they sang quite well. you can consider buy its cd after the show

interesting and educating - 80%. they speak good english so it's easy for childen to follow. they ask questions related to the story that involves children participation. they let the child understand the values of the story ie must be helpful & cannot be selfish. this is what I ask A after the show so I feel he understand the show better in this way as compared he read the story book. Looking forward to the Emperor's new clothes we are going to watch next mth on Apr19 !!

Oh this happen last sat and I overlook. Not really serious but jus want share ie to make sure our children pass urine before the show starts. It's one hr show and towards the last 5mins, he hurried to the toilet and ask me to pause the show. Luckily, we returned back to our seats and complete the last 1-2 mins show.

Hi Apricot! I don't quite understand the fun and fan that you were talking about earlier on. Isn't fun pronc as it is? Like gun or nun? Fan like tan, man?

The other word that we were so used to saying is Red. We were taught in the past to pronc as "raid" when it should have been past tense of read, "read".

Hi Serena, sorry to confuse you. I jus got to know to check with the phonic how many phonic sound each letter may have. He could prob teach the children the 3rd sound of letter A. My friend told me this : Letter A has 3 sounds…1) long eh ( not “ah” that I mentioned earlier) 2) a as in the alphabet own sound 3) “ah” as in “after”. So that's how Fan is pronounce as 煩.

Hi Serenade!

Wow... the Georello Kaleidogears look fun. Unless you're thinking of starting a collection with GGG, maybe you should give a try next time. After all a variety of toys is definitely better. And with 2 sets of GGG, the kids should be able to build many other things too with it.

Other things to look at would be Magnetix and K'Nex. That comes from a recommendation of a mom with 4 boys! Her older boys become real handymen at home, so much so that one even "saved" the brother when the other got locked in the bathroom. Guess all these engineering toys do encourage kids to even dismantle a door knob!! Hahaha... life skills right?

You're definitely modest about what you do with the your children, I'm sure the rest of the mommies here agree. But no offence to the rest of the mommies, I think we all too struggle to give our kids the best, in whatever ways we put it together.

Yep, with HS is always flexible. You can always choose what you wanna do when fatigue gets the better of everyone. Right now, I'm secretly hoping for a break from school too. The morning rush and the pick up in the afternoon plus playdates on some afternoons, it's draining off energy from me too. I suddenly remember how my mom used to say that she would grit her teeth while we were in school then and hope for a school break every ten weeks. My mom used to wake up really early in the morning and prepared wonderful breakfasts for my brother and myself from primary school to JC. And that to me was the most fantastic way to start the day every morning!

Hee, am pretty thankful that right now my kids aren't really breakfast people. But I guess they will be once primary school starts for them. Right now they wake up at 8am and drink their milk. And snack time in school is at 10am. So anything in between will be too much for them - hee, convenient excuse for me not to serve breakfast. Besides, they get lunch at 12.15pm. So I'm really not surprised that my kids don't finish their lunch.

HS is definitely flexi. Even meal times can be well taken care of. I think of those days in summer when we could take our time to start our day.

Hi Serena!
Yep, red rhymes with bed. We've been playing rhyming words during meal times. And this was an example that B gave me last night. I can certainly see that phonics lessons that the teacher did with him last year is slowly unfolding right now.

Hi ky!
Yep, those that you mentioned are definitely signs for punctured lungs (diffculties in breathing or very immense pain experienced in the chest area or with eveyr breath taken in). But still, we wouldn't know much to confirm until the appropriate medical help is there. That's why it's paramount to check for breathing and pulse all time while waiting for ambulance to arrive. Yep, perform CPR when there's no breathing. The good thing is when the case is rushed in with the ambulance, the paramedics' assessment will warrant a more prompt medical attention at A&E.

I would have reacted very much as you did too in that situation, esp with all those shattered glass all over. Yes, ascertaining consciousness is important. Once the victim regains consciousness, keep talking to the vic and do NOT give anything (fluid/food) at all.

Yes, like Judy mentioned, do a 1st Aid Course and get your license renewed every three years... just a check that you can perform the Heimlich Maneuver and CPR in the correct manner.

HI ladies,

Good morning ladies. Dun know why has got so much energy today. Cannot seem to able to sleep. Perhaps nesting instinct! I am delivering my no.3 this week.

For spelling,
Thanks for all the mommies for the advice. My boy's kindy has no homework, let alone spelling. He can read phonetically and thru sightwords (he is currently doing level 5 using ladybird Peter and JAne series). But somehow when i ask him to write sentence, he will give me words that is phonetically correct but wrong spelling. E.g words like "because" he will spell it as becos. So i tot is it good time to do spelling with him OR writing comes naturally after achieving "fluent" reader status. Any advice from mommies here?

Hi apricot,
THe teacher prnonounce "fan" in that way is it because she teaches letter sound "a" as "ah". If i am not wrong that is americanway of pronouncing "a" as compared to british phonics system.

For the GEars, I have three sets."underwater" which is the non-motorized set, "dizzy land" as well as "train" both as motorized set. For my boy, he prefers to train set as the train can move. For the dizzy land, I find that it is more complicated and thus have to sit beside him with the manual to set it up. The dizzy land set also has many parts and you will not reallysee the carnival if one dun set up the whole set.
Another questions for mommies here, can your child fix up things like Lego or Gears on their own according to the manual. Mine will onli fix up if I sit with him. If not, he will create stuff on his own. Like he made a pet dog using the motorized gear set and started saying that he is bringing his pet dog for a walk.

Apricot, think you should really check with the phonics teacher on the word again. To teach the 3rd sound of letter A, he could have use "father" or "arm" why fan? It's gonna confuse the kid further. No offence, it's just that I personally don't like teachers who are not well prepared.

Hi Serena,

I will check with A's teacher if I see him this week. Am real sorry...really. Pls ignore what I mentioned earlier on letter A has 3 sounds.

Hey apricot, don't be sorry lah!! I should be minding my p's and q's but can't help it. Don't get my intention wrong,ok? It's purely to make sure Aston don't learn the wrong thing. Anyway, it's just me. I normally try to correct the teacher if I know I'm right.

Kristin mom, I can't leave my comment in your blog so here I am leaving one here for you. How are you gonna bring all the games back to s'pore? You're gonna need a big house here!! Btw, they're gonna build a huge auditorium near One North. It's half own by the Rock and Capital Land. This means there will be a shopping mall there soon. Wished I can buy a house near there. It's also near to Henry Park Primary. I think you're sitting on gold mine!!

I'm new here and a very new SAHM. I think its all the rain out there and the shock of suddenly having no adult company that's making me cruise the internet for mummy chat rooms :). My son is 5. I wanted to address ashleyjames' question on spelling.

My son reads well (he reads Geronimo Stilton). I started and finished teaching him phonics rather quickly last year, and his uptake on reading was astonishing (to me). Up till then, he was a very good sight word reader but he couldn't read new words if I hadn't introduced it to him before. I also suspected (still do) he was a borderline dyslexic, and a veteran mom told me the only was to cure that really is through phoneme training.

The spelling I do has a specific purpose - it isn't memorization; rather, it's understanding and reproduction of phonics rules. Spelling provides a chance for me to run through the phonics rules with him as I breakdown the list of 10 words before he begins his spelling. Then I test him. I will repeat the word phonetically and reinforce if it's slightly off from the norm (like "bread is spelt with two letters that make it sound like ea in eat"). If he still gets it wrong, I will show him the word so that he keeps a picture of the correct spelling in mind. Everything has to be kept in an atmosphere of zero stress and loads of fun (we have fun with misspellings) so that he is willing to do it again the next day.

I think what holds my son back from reading (sometimes) is lack of vocabulary or context, and ease of reading. My primary goal is for him to read effortlessly so that he can enjoy the subject matter throughly without bothering with the mechanics. Spelling (in my definition) allows me to explain each word to him and to repeat each phonic rule in a different context each day. I truly think it has worked for him.

I hope it works for you too!

Hi Adeline!
Welcome!
Read that your son is born in Gleneagles too. Maybe they were delivered by the same doctor!

I suppose you do a regular list of spelling with your son then. Is that how you try to increase his vocabulary too? Or do you employ other word building methods?

Hi ashleyjames!
Nope, my son does not follow the Lego manuals too. So far, it's been free play for him. Of late, he does like to construct craft or vessel-like structures and places his animals there to pretend it's Noah'a Ark. Or he makes his own robots or rockets. I'm actually quite pleased that he doesn't follow the book for that kind of imaginative play.

Anyhow, there will always be different types of people when it comes to instruction manuals. There are those who would read the instructions first before they touch their new electronic gadget, while there are those who would play with their gadget first and read the instruction manuals only when they encounter problems. And boys do tend to be a little more hands-on. Maybe that explains their engineering inclinations.

I think what your son does with his "pet dog" is far greater than fixing the parts up according to the book. After all, we do hope for them to be creative with their toys, don't we?

Hi Serena!
Yep, we knew about those developments even before our son was born. Pssssssst, couldn't spill the secret then. But too bad for us, we didn't have the money then and we still don't have any now to get anything near One North.

Anyhow, what gave you the impression that I live nearby? I used to... but not anymore. Now my home is in the Tiong Bahru area.

Btw, do you get this message on top of the screen after you enter a comment: Your comment has been saved and will be visible after blog owner approval?
Still can't figure out why you can't leave a comment. You signed in alright to read my blog right?

Hee... the game table... we'll try to make space for that. Maybe we won't have a dining table. Anyway, my children don't like to eat, haha!

So GGG has motorised train set, dog, etc. Is there a motorised car set?

Mummies who went to the shop in suntec that sells LR stuffs, does the shop carry alot of GGG set?

Really got me interested, but if i really buy, will my kids' interest in lego drop? *sigh*

oh, i finally found it. GGG does hv remote controlled car, somemore one of them now selling at $16 plus only! But its for 7 - 12 of age. The different sets for different age group has different size of the "gears" ? Is it 4-6 age group has bigger pieces while 7 - 12 small pieces?

He has always wanted a remote control car .. this one seems kill two birds, learn to build and its remote control car! Furthermore, this able to suffer knocks right? if knocked, car goes apart, refix, won't spoil isn't it? Does it work this way? Anyone can advise?

Hi Sherlyn,

Selling at $16+? In Sing dollar? Or are you refering to the one on the LR website?

Indeed the age range does indicate a difference. The underwater world set (ages 4+) comes in bigger pieces while the motorised gear set (ages 7+) has much smaller pieces. Our model is still under construction, can't tell you how well it can take knocks yet

Have you taken a look at those by Lego? Lego does carry the motorised range too.

Hi ashleyjames,

In the past, B does free play only. But beginning this year, he has taken an interest to create models by following the manual instructions. At the moment, he's building his M.gear model by reading the instructions himself. I am fine by both ways of play. Free play allows him room to get wild with imagination, while following the manual allows him to observe symmetry and how things can work in complicated ways.

Hi K's mom,

No Magnetix here but I do have a few sets (Geomag) similar to it. Will let you know how it went with my kids

Kristin mom, don't know why I always think you're Buona Vista girl?!! Btw, didn't see that message about saving and seeking approval from blog author. The problem must be with me then. Ok, will look into it once again.

Adeline, I like Geronimo Stilton books. They have colourful pictures and notice how the pictures related to the story are printed on the same page. Kids don't have to flip to the next page to look at the picture. Your son is a 2003 boy? If he can read these books, he must be a fluent reader.

One thing I have always wanted to ask esp for moms with 2 kids or more. Do you have a favourite one? Is it possible to love all your kids equally? It must be an honest reply.

Hi Serena,

What an interesting question. Before I had 2 kids, I felt there's bound to be some kind of favoritism. But after having 2 kids of my own, I realised I love both of them equally, as in I don't know who to save first IF (touchwood) both fell into water.

However, it's always a struggle to spend equal amount of time & attention on both of them, hence the children themselves or an outsider may have the perception that you love one more than the other.