(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Think I've missed out alot on this forum. Was so busy with my two kiddos. Long story ... Weeks ago, dd1 was send back home from school as they found ulcer in her mouth. Goodness!!!Eeeee HFMD!!! So worrying ... then gotta quickly sterilize to prevent my dd2 from it. So many things to do.

In the end both my kiddos got fever and ulcer in
mouth. Really sian lor. But there's no blisters on their hands, feets and buttock lei.

Well, to cut the story short. Both of them do
not have HFMD, but they hv tongsilitis. Kept
at home for 2 weeks.

Hey Mummies,

I'm also trying to search for phonics enrichment class for Vicky. Cos she's still having problem in her reading. Yip, she knows all the alphabets sounds. I tried teaching her blending but seems like she's having problem retaining. Or maybe she doesn't have a flare for English???

Some mummies hv send their kids to Berries. I like their ways of teaching and Vicky is able to
pick up faster. Is there any Letterland Phonics class that has the similar teaching method like Berries?

Hi Meilan!

I was wondering where I was gonna find Joshua Prince's I saw an Ant on the Railroad Track...

Guess what? I found it at the book fair today and it was when Sterling was shouting "Free books to be given away!"

Amidst all the commotion and other 30 odd people in the booth there - my dh and i were hanging around there, conveniently, coz Harper Collins was opposite Sterling, I managed to dig deep and found the book you recommended! I was like, Yay, I saw an Ant on the Railroad Track, while the rest of the people didn't even quite understand English and were at the booth too salvaging books thrown on the ground to be given away!

Haha... Sterling made our day and Bryan came home reminding his dad about just how lucky he's been today with so many new books.

Read my blog for details... heehee!

HI Serena!

You really should go Shermay's Cooking School... coz you're so gonna enjoy making all the patisserie!

Your ice-cream cake looks so yummy and pretty!

Hi Worrymum
We have so much fun at the party, Hope Ben enjoyed himself too. The fun part I can still recalled was where we do the Telephone / grapevine game together. The balloon is round and turned out to be The balloon is yucky haha!!!

Hi Serena
No words to comment about your cakes, just look at those photos, it taste so good. I feel proud of u for having such an excellent skill. Thks for teaching the kids how to dcor the cupcakes; Claudia enjoyed squeezing all the cream out. Adabel is also very pretty with her green glamorous costume. Claudia also likes it very much. She is an intelligent girl can read and recognize the word Celebrations.

Hi Sherlyn
Think of Dora, she is so adorable and spotting. She can just do her catwalk very well. Next time can enroll her to modeling contest.

Hi Jan
Wow! can think of using towel to make a pig tail, very innovative.

Hi Joanne
R u the one who bluetooth the ringing tone to me or is Sheryln before i got it mix up. You both look quite alike. Claudia same as Bryan likes to play with balloons. Benny so cute dressed like an army boy.

Star
Ya, it's me who bluetooth you the ringing tone. Think you're a little mixed up. My elder spiderman is Benny and army boy is Bryan.. hehe

hi serenade,
friday's out for us, can only enroll c for weekend classes.

hi ky/kristin's mom,
cheer up, look at the glass as half full instead of half empty

hi serena,
wow your ice cream cake looks yummy, bet it tastes delicious :p

looks like all of you had a really good time last sat. quick, somebody post some photos!

Today 1st day@work was a breeze one becos I have read almost all emails at home and was awared of the pending issues. I miss my twins so much and have their photos as hp wallpaper and laptop wallpaper too

1019853.jpg

Hi worrymum, don't know the blk. It's from the kopitiam at BB East Ave 4. Yummy hor?

Star, err I've got a cat's and tiger's tail, not pig's leh?! heehe..
I'm the pig for the icecream cake though, which tastes as good as it looks! Bravo to Serena! slurp..For the cupcakes deco too. Your baking success is such an inspiration...I must start using my oven.

Thanks to Serena for suggesting this gathering and Worrymum for hosting it. I enjoyed myself tremendously .. and i stil think that evening time is not enough. How abt a full day event next ?

Serena : You have all the reason to be proud. The cake is so pretty decorated, taste so good and look so nice .. best liao lah. Wish i can do smthg like that. Thanks for the goodies too.

Joanne : I always steam my things for the kids. Their meals are always very tasteless (but i serve them tomato ketchup and other sauces - not that good thou).. Thanks for the tasty wantan and agar agar.

Star : The princess dress is very nice and a colour that i like (instead of pink everytime) .. if my girl need a princess dress in the future, will she be able to borrow from you and claudia ? oh, plus the accessories too

Worrymum : Sorry to disturb u even while waiting for hubby hor. Very boring waiting there leh hahaha. Hope Ben finger is alright. I think you distributed some goodies too .. Thanks.

Jan : Thanks for the trouble and the fishtank. (ya apricot, i hv the fishtank ready for the fishes when the next gathering comes) Thanks for the eclair (cos i tabao one pack home). I hope my boy can look upon Jalen as a big brother role model. Jan, think your hubby distributed the pokemon cards .. my boy is now playing with the daddy and i think he loves it. Thanks too.

My gal Dora ? hmm if only she has those eyes.....

So how, next gathering? I told Serena that maybe the west side mummies can hv a monthly gathering and of cos, all other families from the north, east , south, and all other parts of singapore are also welcome to join.

hi girls, can anyone advise me how to go about "redeeming" the "birthday cake" from swensons ? My girl bday nex monday.

Jan,
How ur managed to get so many Pokemon cards? U work there? My uncles had a small stall.. and he was telling us that these cards nowadays are selling so good just like hotcakes!.

Sherlyn, Joannne, mummies.. Thanks, Benjamin's fingers is alright straight after the party.. hehe

Hi Joanne
Opps! Me getting old liao, sori mixed up with your 2 boys. Once again, thks for the ringing tone.

Hi Sherlyn
No problem, if you need the princess dress and accessories can borrow from me. No occasion for her to wear it too. Nowadays she likes to wear the earrings at home and even going downstairs. Today, some more want to wear it to sch. Headache!!! I don't know what to say about her.

Hi Jan
haha, my typo too fast tails became pig tail. Maybe u says u r pig for ice-cream cake that makes think of the word pig. Yesterday, I pass by a shop Claudia saw the pokemon card so happy cos she also have few. She asked me to buy some more for her. BTW, how to play this card?

Hi Apricot,

Your twins do look like kor kor!! Very adorable.

Hi Sarah,

Have a gd trip! So nice go Paris... I am impressed you are bringing H along too!! Very gd to travel as a family.

Hi Sherlyn, no problem for the fishtank at all. I can open an aquarium with hubby's barang, from small to big size tanks. Glad that it can be re-used!

Yes yes, monthly gathering is a good idea. I second that! We can take turns to host or have it at a park or somewhere in the west (heehehe). Imagine the west end kids playing and growing together. Can spot the future supermodel in the making = your gal "Dora" is such a doll!

Hi worrymum / sherlyn/ star, glad that your kids like the pokemon stuff. These pokemon 'collectibles' are neverending. First they have Kraks which come with shooters to play, then magnets called Staks and now these Funtabs. You can get them from 7-11 and some convenience stalls. It's a treat for the kids and we 'feed' them with it bcoz it works their memory. There are more than 300 funny names with their own characteristics. It's amazing how kids can store the info and details. Boys seem to like it more but of course, my gal follows korkor.

Hi Minnie,
They really look alike..Aston, Charlton & Royston. these photos are taken when all 3 are 2mths old..esp Aston & Charlton !
1021802.jpg
1021803.jpg
1021804.jpg

Sarah & Hannah
Have a nice trip, Bon Voyage!!

Jan,
Bryan doesn't really know how to play with the pokemon cards so end up all of them were taken by Benny. That night, after gathering.. he was holding on to the cards to sleep. I took them away from his hands and when he woke up, he's having them again. He took all the "powerful" cards and gave the "weak" cards to his brother so every time he's playing with Bryan, he'll sure win. Thanks for the cards again!!

Worrymum,
ya, the wanton were made by me. As there's minced pork inside, too much filling may charred the skin leaving the fillings uncooked. Shall make some for the next gathering since you like it so much.

Sherlyn,
Me agree on your suggestion too. I may not be able to handle both kids on my own to east area but west side should be fine. If gathering is held at Jan's or worrymum's place.. I can always help out as I don't have a place to host gathering. (provided they don't mind having 2 monkeys fooling around)

wow Apricot
Bravo mummy, if I'm you, I'll be so proud to show their photos around. must be tiring for you.. *pat pat* They really look alike. Without your explaination, I'll thought all three photos belong to the same baby. Ever had any problem telling who's who between twins?

hmm, looks like the few West mummies are quite alright with monthly gathering. ok, we shd try to hv it monthly then. So, lets start planning for the Nov one. hehe.

I also do not hv a place to offer for gathering. So if the mummies with function room do not mind, we can always host the gatherings there. No need for real fuss, parents just go and eat and talk, kids just go eat and play. Well we hv to plan for some games and crafts thou else the kids will really just run ard with the balloons, or we can bring along board games, and have a few stations.

Other then tat, we can gather in west coast park (i hv a 2-4 men tent), let them kick balls in the field, fly kites (i dun noe how to do that thou), play sand, or cycling (means parents hv to follow and thus do some exercise lor
).

Let us think abt the Nov one ("us" ok, so all west mummies, please think hehe). Other mummies, welcome too.

bye for now, hang laundry.

Sherlyn,
If u gals like my place, I have BBQ Pit area, the Karaoke room, and a reading room, also the area infront of the function room, if u gals dont mind.. that's all FREE, just need booking.. hehe..

Yea! I was going to suggest Nov becoz there's a public holiday on 08 Nov (Thurs). My place is open (function room or bbq pit) but no homecooked food - sorry! Definitely need potluck contributions and those yummy homecooked wings, CAKES, wanton, fishballs, jelly etc (hint hint!!
). Maybe we can alternate between outdoors and indoors for the gathering. West coast park or botanic gardens for the outdoors but parking is a problem unless we meet in the morning. Yep, let's plan....goody!

Worrymum and Jan
Thanks for offering your function room and bbq pits etc.. Guess the two of you will have to have a game of scissors paper stone to determine where our next gathering will be.. BBQ would be nice. We can either potluck (uncooked food) or we can cater BBQ food and share cost. Anything fine with me.

Haha.. Jan, noticed your cake is spelled in CAP. wonder if teacher did catch yr hint. hehe.

Maybe we'll reserve outdoor activities (West coast park/botanic gardens)to a later date. Weather has been unpredictable thou kids would love to jump and run in the rain.

Wonder what's wrong with the air. An hour ago, sky was blue and clear but suddenly it's turning hazy.

Joanne,
ahahaha.. LOL. Hey.. why the thread so quiet today??? what's wrong?? everyone follow sarah to Paris?

Joanne/Jan,
I am sure the teacher will get the HINT on CAKES!!! yippie..

Serena,
U know what the PIGS looking for?

Jan,
U also same age as me ah??

BOO!!! Happy Halloween!! Ha... 2 more weeks counting down..

I've got the BIG hint!! I seems to have a nickname now??!!

Girls, pls go ahead and plan the gathering but I can't join you girls in Nov cause I'm going Japan. Will join you when I'm back.

Apricot, your twins and Aston look so alike!!

I'm so dying to get my hands on a bread machine. Anyone knows hich brand is a good buy?

Hi Joanne,
Oh yes, I can tell who is who..cos Charlton is more fleshy than his didi. Thanks for feeling proud for me to show photos around.

West side gathering on Nov8, may not be able to join cos may go KTV with friends. Enjoy yourselves, gals and kiddos

Hi Serenade. Thanks for your response abt teaching phonics and Letterland. The key reason why I'm not sending JK for phonics classes is centred around logistics issues. I do not know of any credible phonics sch in the vicinity and don't have access to the car on weekdays if we have to travel further. Can't imagine having my helper and JC tag along on public transport and waiting around during the lesson yet do not feel comfortable leaving JC alone with the her at home. Weekends are reserved for fun and family so out as well.

ky, will appreciate if I could take a look at your Letterland stuff. Moshi, will sms you to see if can meet up this Sun to see yours as I will be at my mum's place in the afternoon.

Er, how come no response to the below? Can't believe only moshi and I keen on nature.

Fruit Trees Tour cum Lunch at Bottle Tree Park

Have called up Bottle Tree Park for more details. Adults and children pay the same for the tour which works out to abt $3.50 after taxes and free for kids below 3. I can also order lunch for our group. If we take the economy package, it starts from $3 per person and we can reserve seats. Child seats are also available.

We need a min group size of 20 for the tour but otherwise, we can have a gathering there without the tour. If you surf their website, you'll find that they have enough things to keep the kids busy.

I'll start the ball rolling here by proposing a date and time:

Date: 19 Nov (Mon)
Time: 9.30am (while it is not too hot)
Venue: Bottle Tree Park at Khatib
http://www.bottletree.com.sg/index_files/Page1187.htm

1) Meilan (2A 2C)
2) Moshi able to join in Nov or only Dec? (1A 1C)

Meilan,

19 Nov is a monday, not sure if i can get dh to send us there (still too far to tell his schedule).

I will tentatively reserve a place for 1A 2C. Thanks for organising.

p/s : I think the forum is pretty quiet these few days.

Worrymum : I certainly like your place, cos my dh is familar, is not far, i can visit my friend (my friend will also be v happy) ... but I m also fine with any others as long as not too far (must see driver face color mah). Thanks for offering your place. Do you mean it is really FOC or u already absorbed the booking fee?

Jan : Thanks for offering your place too. Will certainly go for fuss free - ie catering (no BBQ thou) or potluck. My dh suggest i provide drinks the next round hehe. How abt buying sushi off the counter from Giant (i think sakae might be too expensive) or all on dim sum or KFC or Mac or pizza

Good suggestion to leave the outdoor to later dates... think yr end = rainy season anyway. If outdoor at West Coast park, mayb no parking problem (if not weekends) and it is free parking there. So we shall settle the venue first. Worrymum and Jan, choose your pokemon card and compare the scissor, paper, stone pic bah. :)

oh ya, teacher going japan hor.. When will you be back? We have to wait for you then! Suggested the public holiday as weekends schedule is usually packed - speaking for myself.

Anyone has got winter wear that I can borrow for my girl? I heard Hokkaido is 4d.C in November. How do you keep a 4 year old kid warm? Any idea?
Is it long john(pure wool) then layer with a sweater and finally annorak. Is that warm enough? It's been a while. Can't remember how to go about keeping warm??!!!!

As for the gathering in Nov, can't join. Please go ahead. 2 weekends already gone when I'm back and the next 2 weekends will be occupied by A's year end concert and make up lessons she missed when we were away.

Worrymum, you rem wrongly, did u ? I do not work in color centre la cos I am not processing pics le..no no, no lobang for free prints.

Hi Apricot, her concert is on the 25th Nov. Frankly, I'm not so excited as compared to last year. Also, I don't like the school's always getting the children to dance only. So boring... wished they could put up a play or something. What will Aston be doing? Dancing? Singing?

Hi Serena!

I would not recommend thermal underwear, esp those pure wool sort as first layer to the skin. It's too prickly and children tend to run around a lot and sweat, even in winter. And wool can't really absorb the sweat.

I think without much winter wear, layering is very important for you.

You can start her with a long-sleeved t-shirt. A cotton vest over it is a pretty good idea. And then a fleece cardigan (get one, it's really useful.) And then the outer layer, a wind-breaker type of jacket. I would recommend a quilted one with wind and waterproof material on the outside and cottony, preferrably wooly material(like fleece) on the inside. Since it's 4 deg C during the day, I suspect night time temp would be zero or dip below.

And then play by ear and see how cold it is... Depending on how hot or cold it gets, I usually play around with the middle layer. Too hot, cottony sweater, quite cold then a sweat shirt, very cold then fleece.

Usually legs are quite ok... My children wear outdoor pants here when it gets too cold in winter. Again, water- and wind-proof material outside and fleece inside. But if you don't have them, you can try cotton tights under a pair of jeans.

Hmmm... a wooly cap will keep her head and ears warm. And don't forget water-proof gloves if there's gonna be mountain and snow.

Shoes... just make sure they have good grip. Coz it can get frosty at night or in early morning and we don't want the kids to slip and fall.

And don't forget to get your whole family flu jabs now. It's always good if you're going to a temperate country in winter.

don't forget your body oil, cream and lip balm and sunblock for little A's face. Sometimes wind can be so strong and that it causes the kids to have really dry and cracked lips or even cheeks.

I think Serenade and chloe's mom would have more ideas... or even Jazzie (haven't seen her on the forum lately though). Of course, over at Vancouver, there's Pris to advise you too.