(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serenade!

Huh... you read my post already?
Well, I read some reviews on the book on amazon.

You can catch a glimpse of the book on Krystina Castella's website here:
http://www.crazyaboutcupcakes.com/

And sample some of her recipes...

Main thing is:
I was tempted by the over 300 recipes the book boasts of. And also it's really ex in Sg!

I know the Sterling Publishing NY is gonna be in Hall 8 this week at the Book Fair. Gonna see if there are more cookbooks!

Let B help. He'll be more than happy to help beat, whisk, frost, and eat the cupcakes!

Hi K's mom,

I usually follow the recipe as close as possible. I also test using chopstick (haha big ugly hole there), so time up, cooked, i take out.

Ya i do preheat oven too. Sponge cake need to separate the eggs too ? Anyway i m still blur in differentiating butter cake , sponge cake, and chiffon cake, just like muffin and cupcakes haha. But my mother tell me smthg like same amt of flour, sugar and butter = butter cake , and so different amt of flour, sugar and butter will tell wat kind of cake is it. I think i need to source the info out and make it available on that website hahaha

So nice to have a hubby who is able to share similar interest. After staying at home and not touching IT, me and dh dun hv anythg in common besides the kids hehe

Moshi and K's mom, kuidaore literally means eat till you drop. Kui is eat and taore is fall (t is changed to d when combined with another verb in front). The term is likely derived from kuidaore ningyo - a mascot in downtown Osaka of a man with glasses dressed as a clown hitting on the drum hanging over his neck. Those of you who have been to Osaka's food street must have seen him before.

Year end sch hols - I am in touch with the coordinator from Pasir Ris Park to see if there is anything suitable for pre-schoolers. Would recommend you all to join the Garden Kitchen tour in Pasir Ris Park which will make a comeback. Read my post in our shared blog.

K's mom, JK and I have been reading "I saw an ant on the railroad track" by Joshua Prince. JK really enjoyed the rhymes and made me read and re-read. I thought B might like it since he likes rhymes too.

Pls share your recent readings too

Sherlyn & ky, I let JK try out the gym at Bishan Stadium and will sign him up from this week. It's more ex than the Hwa Chong one but the time and petrol saved will be worthwhile. Plus I can shop at Junction 8 during the 2 hours "time-off". Hubby and I are fighting to be in charge for once.

Meilan, can you share more about the Gym in Bishan Stadium. Not sure whether we are going to stay at my in-laws' or my mum's yet. Still lots of uncertainties whether we will be relocating to another location, all depending on Dh's interviews and also the offers that he gets from the different institute.

Apricot, I will check that out, think one of my dh's ex-colleague is working there as she put her two children there. I check out one church based Kindergarten and they also run alot of enrichments program for children so I am waiting for their reply too.

K's mum, must share with us more about the bookfairs, think the canadians do not read as much . Kai has won for himself a summer reading bug medal for reading alot of books during the summer.

Sheryln, for Sponge Cake, you have to use cake flour or top flour and only very little flour is required so that it is not dense and heavy. And it is important to separate the yolk from the white to ensure that it will rise.

hi serenade,
c will be going to the bukit batok one too
which class are the children in? i wanted the 1045am lesson on sat but it's full
prob we'll take the 315pm class instead.

on JG, quick pick up the phone and call them today. this week's the 5th week, deadline to pull out so that you dont forfeit your deposit. i've informed & submitted a form last week (since this week has no lesson) for tentative withdrawal, they allow me to confirm withdrawal by 7th week.

looks like we have the cards club going!
let's exchange address via email!

ok serena, u can mail me a postcard from hokkaido with pictures of blooming lavender! haha. u are still going to hok right. can help pick up brochures or maps or whatever touristy handouts u can grab hold of. arigato gozaimasu!

abt sentosa, let's wait for jan to come back from her weekend escapade and hear some feedback;) Rasa's definitely out, cut throat prices for tourists only.

hi meilan
JK gets to attend the yr end concert? how nice, i think the nursery kids in mel's sch are not attending.

thanks for the link on the garden, it's one place i am sure to visit soon.

kuidaore = eat till you drop, i see, now the blog and its title make sense. arigato, sensei!
wish i can get a 'shop till i drop' blog going.keke hey, do u have JLPT 4 or above?

helen,

got this fr the web:

From Dunearn Road - At the Dunearn-Kheam Hock Road junction, turn right to enter NUS Bukit Timah Campus. Turn right into Jacob Ballas Children's Garden after car park gantry.

From Bukit Timah Road - At the Bukit Timah-Kheam Hock Road junction, turn left to enter NUS Bukit Timah Campus. Turn right into Jacob Ballas Children's Garden after car park gantry.

Parking is available at Jacob Ballas Children's Garden Car Park and NUS Bukit Timah Campus.

Hi Worry_mum/Chloe or anyone who can advise,

Anyone knows a simple afternoon playgroup that's catered for the smaller kids, 2 yrs or abt. afternoon session. within CCK, or better Yew Tee area. I've got one and now looking around for other options. tx.

.ky.

hi moshi,
thanks. hopefully the weather holds up on saturday morning

re sentosa, i thought there are some new and nice chalets (i think) near the beach. maybe can check those out....

hi ky,
hmmm...not that i know of. the current one's not working out?

chloe, there's no current one to talk abt, unless u r referring to the one at home :> ... and ya, u can consider that not working out 100% well
.ky.

Hi Pris. Was missing your food pics but still can't get into your blog. I think I am laden with technical problems - on my hp, my laptop, my modem, my passwords - everything is turning agst me. My husband said it's me

JK will be attending the gym run by a company called Win-Win (so obiang right?) The person in charge is Mr Foo (I will PM you his hp if you are keen), a coach who has worked for 40 years! He claimed to have help set up the Hwa Chong gym etc etc. The first trial is free.

Moshi, actually I already have JLPT 1 but my level has fallen way below that now that I hardly use it, so sad. So will be happy to help you all as a form of practice.

ky, so the playgroup you started didn't well as planned? Mine also, so my friend and I have decided to go ahead even if it's just 2 kids.

Not sure how true this is, just sharing..I was told that supplements, both adults and kids, are best taken at night, at least 1/2hour before sleep. If taken during day, the absorption and effectiveness not as good becoz it gets 'mixed' with all the food, water consumed.

hi meilan
wow, u are effectively 'trilingual'! more jap-related questions coming you way;)
hey, i know the win-win gym, my MIL's neighbour's kids go there, they love it and want to go 3 times a week. I was keen for a while until i saw the timetable, all night classes and weekends afternoons, dont like the timing at all;( which slot is JK in?

Sarah, that is strange cos for pregnancy supplements eg folic acid, gynae will always advise to take in the morning.

Moshi, JK will be going for Sun classes: 2-4pm. The night classes end too late until 9.30pm!

Letterland phonics workshop for parents on 17 Nov

Wonder if this is worth attending since the fee is $60! Can mommies here who are familiar with Letterland comment? I have zero knowledge abt phonics but like to introduce to it JK since his sch does not have any good phonics programme. BUt I have no idea where to start at all and all the materials do not seem cheap.

http://www.letterland.com.sg/

Hi Meilan!

Thanks for enlightening us on "kuidaore". I knew you are the person to go to when Jap is concerned.

Thanks for thinking of B and the book recommendation too!

Well, I haven't been reading much to the kids since this summer and Daddy took over much of the reading requests from the kids. But Daddy hasn't been very consistent. And now B is more addicted to UNO than anything else. Though he thirsts for more and will certainly give anything to do "work", read, doodle and do craft, I am not prepared to give him all my time. I tell you kids are just sucking whatever energy we have, be it physical or mental energy.

E.g. he wanted mac and cheese for dinner last night... so i toiled in the kitchen for an hour and a half, only to have two very difficult children to feed at the dinner table. well, ok for him it wasn't so bad coz he still ate. Just lazy and had to be fed. For my girl, it was a torture for the adult feeding her. She's now at a stage even if you try feeding her she would snatch your spoon, toss out the meat/veg from it and then sccop out only the starchy carbo. Sigh... how to let them eat on their own?

Serenade knows what a torture there. It's not that I haven't tried starving them. My kids would just not eat when they weren't told to. And then they would get all crabby and who gets the brunt of the whole matter?

ANyway, back to the mac & cheese story. SO after all the cooking for dinner, cleaning up the kitchen, preparing fruits for dessert, and wiping down the dining area, what's there left of me after dinner in the evening? Read to the kids while the Daddy takes his after meal nap on the couch? I'm poofed and it's not fair that I still have to read after all the "ordeals" of the day.

Hopefully, I'll be out of this lethargic and wallowing-in-self-pity phase soon and give the children more reading time... I really got to be in the gym working out more often. it gives energy!

By the way, B is enjoying The Magic Tree HOuse Series when his Daddy remembers to read to him.

hi meilan
is that the bottletree park at khatib? i went to the one at sembawang a few times and we got sick of the food, heard there's a lot more to do at the one in khatib, fishing included?

the fruits tree tour sounds good, count me in if it's gona be a weekday thing, thanks!

letterland workshop? u got the handout fr JK's sch? i have it too. wanted to let u know abt it but i find having to pay $60 ridiculous. dont need to attend workshop la, everything is self explanatory in the workbooks.
lemme know if u want to look at them;)

k's mom
my shoudlers ache like hell and mel's also giving me hell, refuse to nap cos' of the roaring thunder, refuse to pee cos' she cant walk to the bathroom cos' of the thunder. refuse to tuck her cat into bed cos of the thunder. so i had to do it. talk abt zapping energy, my patience's all zapped out too.
okie, i have to detox now, cant resist checking this page.

Hi to all mummies attending tomorrow. I told bel about it and she's so excited to meet you gals and your kids! My ice-cream cake is almost 80% done. Can't wait to meet you girls tomorrow. See ya!!!!!!!

Have great night and don't forget the pictures! Can't wait to see all the kids in their lovely costumes.

Haiz, I am beginning to think my kids have something agst gatherings. Just realised that they tend to fall sick when there's a gathering... Brandon's having throat inflammation. Hopefully the antibiotics will clear it up soon.

Hi Chloe2003,
Thanks for reminding me that this is the 5th week. Sent JG an email this morning and confirmed the termination at end of term.

B is attending the Friday class together with 4chongchong's gal and friend. Possible for Chloe to join the same slot? Would be fun if all can attend together. Let me know how the trial goes.

Not intending to enrol the kids for hols programme. Think my hubby would like more family time before his course starts next year. He's expecting a hetic schedule after the current course.

Hi Kristin's mom,
With your baking skills, the kids will be "fattened" up in no time
(I know I definitely will :p)

As long as the kids don't dislike Chinese, there shouldn't be any problem in learning it. Hey, you are the language teacher. Have faith in yourself and your kids!

Have a great (or should I say agony?) time browsing and choosing books!

Hi Meilan,

If you are interested in getting Letterland materials, try www.letterland.co.uk. Prices might be more affordable if you get direct from UK itself.

How is JK doing with phonics? What are you intending to teach JK, basic letter sounds, advanced phonics, blending? Perhaps, I may be able to share more with you if I know what your requirements are.

Hi K's mom. I can fully identify with your frustration - esp abt the feeding and daddy's laid back attitude after work. That is the biggest issue between hubby and me right now and I just got so tired of our quarrels on this.

As for frustration with the kids and the chores, frankly the presence of a helper has made a lot of difference for me. I'm not as stressed up as before and if you have noticed, have started doing more fun things than rushing to get the chores and cooking done like before. It could also be that I have crossed the adaptation period of becoming a SAHM. In June, I was still whining abt the woes as a SAHM but since that, things seem to be getting better and better and I'm finally begin to really enjoy having the children with me all day.

Or maybe it's really cyclical and I'll be back to share more woes soon but at least for now I feel positive being a SAHM for the first time. You were one of those who have helped kept me going, so hope to hear a more cheerful note from you at your next posting ;)

Hi K's mom,
Thanks for the compliments abt Aston's blog. I find myself not updating enough & while I am still so free in Sep, I updated as much as I can and also been looking ways to beautify his blog. I like colors so u will see that his blog are full of pics. Am still trying ways to make it much more nicer ie chose a nice blogskin. He being our 1st son has all our attention so we took many many pics for him almost every mth so that explains those pics on the growing up. His name on the cup of coffee is cool, ya I agree and I am so happy to find it. U can do it too by clicking on that coffee and it will bring you to the web and u can do the same for anything you wan. Oh ya, I love the song that I found for him too and training him to sing very soon.

hi moshi!

I know it's Saturday now but do hope that you still read the forum.

Now I'm anxious to get you to pm me your address so that we can make a trip down to the post office tomorrow with B.

We just completed a card for Mel and he's all excited to get it posted tomorrow.
It took him half an hour to stick and write "happy halloween" on the card and another hour to complete writing his first penpal letter. Arrrgh... I was dying of gastric pain while sitting next to him to guide him to write, while daddy was all full of distraction for B with sounds of movie coming from a laptop!!!

The next letter, it will be daddy guiding him to write. And I shall go to the couch and take an after meal nap!

HI meilan!

Yeah... am in the downcycle now... but will definitely cheer up soon.

The issue isn't about being a SAHM only. It's more about sharing parental duties. An on-off thing that we are still trying to reach a balance and I guess we're still learning to cope as parents ourselves.

Thks serena! You are a gem...and u know who are the piggies now hor.

My kids have been asking during the week - are we going to Benjamin's house today? Got their tails ready!

hI jAN!!! sEE SOMETHING'S wrong with me!! It's because of my ice-cream cake!!! It's beautiful!!!!!! Yeah!!!! BEAUTIFUL!!!! I'm so elated. Pardon me. First try and I'm so pleased with it. I haven't taste it though.. Beautiful!!!! Am I allowed to be boastful here? Pardon me but just got so excited that I need to share with someone.

I didn't know I can get so excited over a cake! I hope you mummies don't think I must have nothing to do. Ha...it's just a cake!! Sorry about it.

Hi Serena,
Drooling over your icecream, you know. Feel so proud of you to make ice creaam cake. Post pics in blog soon soon or now now now !

Serena, you are making me regret for not bringing my kids to join you this evening. You have every right to be proud. Just by looking at the pics of the stuff you could make, I really think you should start thinking abt a career change

Thanks Serenande. Moshi did ask me to approach you for advice but I also don't know where to start. I have never been trained in phonics so really not qualified to teach JK. But JK's sch does not have a proper phonics programme and I think they only teach the sounds as they introduce the letter (moshi, it was not thro the sch that I got to know abt the workshop). I personally feel that reading can be achieved without exposure to phonics (like myself) but phonics will help in building one's lifelong proper pronunciation. Even now I get stumped when I come across words I have never seen and feel very embarrassed as I tend to pronounce such wrongly. Please correct me if I'm wrong abt phonics but that's why I would like my kids to learn phonics.

Having said that, I really don't know where to start and to be honest, if I have to learn a lot of things before I can impart to him, then I'd rather send him to a class because I'm not really interested in this area. I just want to seek an easy way out, eg if Letterland or some other programme have quick-fixes that I can easily transfer to JK. Not sure if you understand why I'm babbling abt :p

Fruit Trees Tour cum Lunch at Bottle Tree Park

Have called up Bottle Tree Park for more details. Adults and children pay the same for the tour which works out to abt $3.50 after taxes and free for kids below 3. I can also order lunch for our group. If we take the economy package, it starts from $3 per person and we can reserve seats. Child seats are also available.

We need a min group size of 20 for the tour but otherwise, we can have a gathering there without the tour. If you surf their website, you'll find that they have enough things to keep the kids busy.

I'll start the ball rolling here by proposing a date and time:

Date: 19 Nov (Mon)
Time: 9.30am (while it is not too hot)
Venue: Bottle Tree Park at Khatib
http://www.bottletree.com.sg/index_files/Page1187.htm

1) Meilan (2A 2C)
2) Moshi? (1A 1C)

Worry mum
We had a great time. Is your spiderman's fingers ok? Can splash web out or not? Btw, how much did you pay for the "xiao tian cai"? I'm determined to search for one online.

Jan
I forgot to take pics of your children with their "tail"! It's so nicely done..

Serena
bravo for your ice cream cake. It really taste great.

Sherlyn
great idea for steamed fishball. I usually cook it in soup but realised that my children love it steamed. Thou they didn't eat any during the gathering, they finished all the "ta pao" fishball. Think your dora has the potential to be the next S'pore's top model. hehe.. will always remember her phrase "to bring gorgor to Yamaha".

star
Your princess looks so pretty. How I wish I have a daughter like yours, can always doll her up and yes, I love her little tiara.

Serena/Worrymum
Thanks for hosting this Hari Raya cum fancy dress party. Mummies had great time eating/chating while kids play and run.

Thanks Apricot for drooling, I mean over the cake. And Yes Meilan, I'm proud of my cake. However, I'll never sell my bakes because if that happens, baking will never be a pleasure to me anymore.

Anyhow, here's my ice cream cake. It's topped with organic raspberry. Sandwiched with chopped strawberries and almonds.

1016988.jpg

I made another batch of pandan chiffon cupcakes for the kids to decorate.
1016989.jpg

We have much fun at the gathering and this was one of the best creation and it came from Jan's son. Very creative!! Good job!
1016990.jpg

The kids enjoy themselves!!

Irene, we had a great time and hope Ben's mood is better. Anyway, he should be sleeping now!

Joanne, so glad to see Benny again and little one is so cuteeee....

Sherlyn, your Dora make me laugh so much. She's so cute. I was in tears!! Fancy still smiling to myself while typing this. She really change the rule of the game!! ha...

Jan! me too! Forgot to take picture of your kids in their tails. You're so creative!!!

Star, Claudia is so pretty in the princess gown, tiara, earrings and necklace!! She should be the next Star Search Contestant!

Hi Meilan,
I'm not trained in phonics either. It's just an area I'm interested and believed strongly in. But I must say that phonics may not be suitable for every kid.

Have yet to come across any quick fix phonics programs. Perhaps other mommies can recommend or comment on this. How about picking up some phonics instruction books and assess for yourself if it's too much work?

JK knows his a-z letter sounds, why don't you start by teaching him to blend simple words? e,g c-a-t = cat? Otherwise, try Cindy's method of teaching word families. Ky, any comments? Remembered reading your blog on teaching Ben phonics.

What's holding you back from sending JK to phonics enrichment programs? Pardon me for saying this but I think this would be the best way out if you have no interest in phonics.

Letterland is a fun phonics program. There are stories behind each letter and they do provide interesting explanations for the digraphs etc. E.g. Letterland has stories to explain why sh makes the "sh" sound. It supposedly helps the kid learn the sounds faster.

Thks worrymum for hosting and all mummies and kids for the lovely fun, food and games!

It was a great fun party that tho it's past bedtime, Jalen still insisted 'I want another game!'. His bedtime story last night was the games that we played, and he whispered 'mummy, the teacher who baked the cake laughed until she cried.'

Thanks mummies whom attended the party, esp Star, despite the distance.. phew.. *salute

Jan, hehe.. where's is the blk that selling the curry puff ah?

Star, agreed with the rest.. Claudia is so pretty.

Serena, Thanks for your yummy cakes. Adebel dress is very nice too.

Sherlyn, next time can we just call ur girl. Dora.. hehe.. she really very supportive throughout.

Joanne,
U made the Wanton urself? hmm... yummy leh. Though the filling is not many, but I like it! Thanks. Ur Bryan really enjoyed the balloons.

When is our next gathering??? must start planning lor.

hi K's mum ... take it easy. I'm kinda like u right now, in a low state... I'm probably not going to spend as much time as before to share knowledge and post as much... and yes, I agree abt sharing parental duties. thoughy my dh tries very hard, I sometimes and I foresee I'll run into more problems there. hence, u notice I write a positive blog recently to motivate myself.

ML, I've got a letterland book somewhere. forgot to pass to u today. pls remind me the next time n I can show u or lend u coz B's not on letterland. u know why i'm going to start having a lot of things on my mind.

abt any future gatherings, I'll probably be on an impromptu state to join... will try my best but do forgive me if i can't join

.ky.