apologies for the late reply. got something on for sat, wont be joining the fancy dress party. but it's such a cool idea, my girls would love to dress up as princesses...sigh anyways, have fuN!
Sarah,
My Kukup trip.. was great! Had the seafood too. Hmm..we go fishing, makan, mahjong, karaoke.. hehe, is simply too relax over there, but if you dont play mahjong, karaoke.. hmm not really worth the price. BTW, we are so lucky that we fish a "real" star fish, Will upload the photos once is ready..
Phoon Huat is household name but its things are mainly for bulk purchases. You can also check out the brand Bake King which you can find in supermarkets. It's a housebrand by Gim Hin Lee. They have a shop in Haig Road, probably too far away from you girls.
But its things caters for home bakes.
The craze these days is using silicon stuffs. Check them out at Bake-It-Yourself or Pantry Magic. I love Pantry Magic! Can really make you go broke!
Gathering
Theme - Fancy Dress party
Date: Sat, 13 Oct (it's this Sat!!)
Time: 5pm - 10pm
Venue: Bt Panjang or Bt Gombak - GuiLin View (to be confirmed again)
Hi kristin's mom,
Thanks for the recipes and tips!
I'm not ready to splurge money on baking accessories. Thinking of "borrowing" from my mom first. Will let you know if I'm really bitten by the baking bug. You know what, baking sure looks fun. But it's the aftermath that I'm dreading. Been helping my mom with the washing since young. Er, not really an enjoyable experience washing those whisks and buttery trays...
dreading the cleaning up? hee, all the more you should bake on weekends, so that dh can help you to clean up!
yep... go grab whatever utensils you need from your mom first. it's really ex to buy up all sorts of baking utensils. if the muffin tin hadn't just cost 2.49 USD, i wouldn't have found myself baking to start with.
I would have definitely signed up for the class, had I been in Sg now! Go for it, woman!
Cookies are quite simple. Coz you don't need to have batter beaten to ribbon-like.
Besides the baking time is shorter, 5-10 mins depending on thickness of cookies. Also kids have lots of fun cutting the cookies out with moulds and decorating baked cookies. Just surf around the net for an easy recipe.
Me too, one of the frequent contributors in Sep cos on maternity leave mah..
next monday going back to work..now having work syndrome and hopefully no work phobia..
everyday this week passes very fast for me...i dun like it..
hi apricot,
i truly understand how you feel. But dont worry so much, i'm sure your bosses & collegues will give you some time to get your momentum back
hi kristin's mom,
yeah, will explore baking cookies soon i'm limited to using a convection microwave oven, dont think can bake a decent cake, so cookies may be a good option.
Hi Sarah,
You really read my mind well! Yeah, I'm going to my mom's place to do baking soon. And there's a helper at her place too. So, no washing for me, hehe... But don't think my mom can do cupcakes. Not the in-thing during her time.
Hey, you seem to know quite a number of who's who's...
Hi kristin's mom,
The cupcakes simply look heavenly. Certainly adds more cheers to the season! Will let you know if I'm attending the class.
Mil cautioned me to know how to cook cos I have 4 boys (includ DH..) to take care their meals. She adv me to take up cooking classes to learn cook new dishes asa I can but I am more interested to bake esp biscuits & cookies now. You girls have influenced me so much and I have "strayed"..ha ha..I aim to give Aston's teachers Xmas cookies and biscuits..wonder if I can make this wish come true..
Hi Sarah,
DH says baking biscuits shld be easy & he says he will help me out but I really doubt he have time on this. Will u teach me bake biscuits ? Time is running short for me cos Xmas is jus 2 mths later & a slow student like me may not master them and present them to A's teachers. Sounded serious matter but this is really a serious thing I aim to achieve. I am hoping to bake the Xmas stockings biscuits
Hi Worrymum,
I have been to Kukup many many yrs ago and I can only rem I fish and eat seafood & prob it's day tour so no mahjong & ktv. Do you play mj & sing ktv ? Ktv is me & DH favourite past-time during courtship days and now it's our timeout activity. DH is very skillful in mj..
ha..if u play, perhaps can exchange skills with him ..
Hi Kristin's mom,
I have brought my twin 1 see Dr Toh last Fri & due for review tomorrow. He has stomach discomfort and is recovering after taking med. Dr Toh showered alot of care and concern on him and make me feel so touched. She's really a good PD !
Yep... Shermay's might be ex... but I would love to at least attend one of Jocelyn's classes.
Besides, with her connections, she's got pretty good cooking instructors/instructresses there.
Hey... why wait for me to come back?
There are enough moms and children around now for a group baking session come this year end school hols. So start planning now and ask if some of the places like biy or poon huat would be willing to organise for you guys.
Then all of you would have a Christmas gatherings with homebaked cookies! Mmmhh, delightful!
do u mean the ready to use icing is the one in tube form like toothpaste selling in biy? ooo then i shall visit that shop soon .. now that the kids go to the school for gym along bukit timah road. I hope dh will not scream over the prices.
Hey Moshi,
You are right in my own home I do not have oven, but there is one , i think the conventional one in inlaw place.
Maybe we can consider learn cooking at one of the community centre around our area. Learning alone can be boring..
that reminds me, apricot, maybe i should go to my mom's place for such messy jobs, haha, i have a feeling i am not welcomed though.
While some have green fingers, i have 'butter' fingers! esp in the kitchen. i cant even handle raw meat properly, they just slipped off my hands when i wash them, argh..
hi kristin's mom/sarah,
yeah shermay's pretty ex huh, compared to phoon huat
hi serenade,
there is a jg's concert on 17 nov. are you going? tu lao shi mentioned that the kids will be putting up a performance. i'm looking forward to it. is b enjoying the class so far?
c only remembers 2 names in that class, of course one of which is b
No complaints from him so far. He manages to wake up ard 8+ to attend the lesson. Guess that's an indication of how much he enjoys it. C is certainly better than B. Think he knows only C. Seldom talks about the other kids, unlike the English Edudrama class.
Hi Sherlyn, this is the Orange chiffon cake I've made. I didn't use any tube pan. It still works and the texture is soft like cotton. I think I have succeeded. I thought the top was abit plain. So, I had used some pandan paste to add some texture to the top before I put it in the oven.
Ya moshi, i hv a hobby blog (cos i hv lots of other hobbies that i haven really started, so might as well a general blog haha). Its is linked up in PLU liao. Thank you K's mom.
Anyway the blog is nothing fantastic, just a place for my baking notes and recipe sorter. But just got to know from Priscilla that i cant anyhow post recipes without getting other owners' permission (i always try other pp's recipe cos not capable to do up my own), so i will not be adding recipes inside.
Serena ... *hiaz* my sponge cake still fail leh. This time it is a recipe of the famous cup cake from crystal jade, the paper cup shape one u know. Just cake flour, egg, sugar and sponge stabliser beat till ribbon stage, blend in the melt butter (but i forget to add the milk), and it still sinks when its cooling. Already has stabliser still sink!
Your chiffon is so pretty even without frosting. I think i will hv to get the sponge cake up before i can show u anythg hahaha. But I probably decorate wif choco wafer stick haha.
btw, with my mixer, today's batter is ribbon stage (at least to me) after 5 mins. Shocked me too, maybe got the sponge stabliser? The other time i tried is a different recipe. That ribbon stage took me quite a while and that one has a texture like that of those cakes sold outside.
this failed spoonge cake, taste like "ji dan gao" cos got 4 eggs inside with 100g flour only. Thou it sunk and is packed,but it is smooth texture. So my kids still eat it.
Sherlyn,
Think.. someone mentioned abt the Road Safety Park before.. Sure! u arrange for us?.. hehe.. but pls dont arrange on 1-5 and 15-20 of the mth. pay day lah. hehe.. Thanks..