(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

moo87 and moshi, JK's birthday is on 26 Oct. Worry_mum, thanks for sending the picture. I will ask Swee Heng again.

hi ky, ya mothers think alot

anyway for that pan, since it is so expensive .. then better not buy it yet. We may need to tighten our purse in near future. Thanks.

Serena and Worry_mum, will let you know asap if joining on 13 Oct. Anyway, found a website with many craft ideas for halloween : http://www.familycorner.com/dir/Family/Kids/Kids_Crafts/Holidays/Halloween/

By the way, my cousin who lives in pte estate in Woodlands near the American community told me that every year during halloween, the Americans will prepare loads and loads of candies for the kids. It seems that those in the know will drop by for the fun even if they don't live there.

Agree with ky that we should also take the occasion to introduce Hari Raya. Just find that it's a bit difficult to introduce something that we are unfamiliar with unlike our own festivals.
Maybe should have satay & ketupat for the gathering. Can also print this out for the kids to colour http://pbskids.org/arthur/holiday/coloring/eulf.html
or do some crafts http://www.theholidayspot.com/ramadan/crafts.htm and get someone to tell a story abt Ramadan (doubt the kids can concentrate though).

ky, let me see if I can incorporate something for WI.

more on National Geographic, there's Asia Geographic too! newly launched by SPH. now, i'm really interested in this!

sherlyn
the NG kids is nothing near simple. in fact chock-full of info for our kids! lots to do and heaps to digest;)

Halloween, Hari Raya or just Dress-up, kids will find a way to have fun, all the time, anywhere;)

serena, i will confirm my attendance soon, thanks;)

i like meilan's idea on satay n ketupat
, pity we dont have malay friends among us to tell Ramadan story in their traditional costume, what is it called? baju kurung? and the man's hat-songkok?

Hi sherlyn,

If you are interested in NG kids, try http://www.toysrus.com.sg/inside/starcard-offer.htm under Special Subscription Offers from National Geographic!!

Yeah, agree with moshimoshi. It's filled with tibits of interesting info but not simple stuff for 4 years old.

As for Halloween dress up, not necessary to be very scary. It can be "adorable spooky" for kids :p. In France where I used to stay, the younger ones will dress up for trick or treating in very sweet but spooky costumes. Think of Sabrina Witch (witches), Harry Potter (wizards), Scarecrow, pirates etc. It's a shame we are back here now. Otherwise, we will surely let the kids dress up and knock on neighbours' doors. Check out here http://www.buycostumes.com/Search_All_halloween/Category/129/results1.aspx

Kristin's mom, any plan for Bryan to lead Kristin around for trick or treating this year?

Hi Serena,WorryMom,
Sorry, I have to give party a miss.
It will be better for me if party is in the day.

Yeah, agree with Moshi. Whatever the party's theme, the kids will find their own fun. Have fun, girls!

ok, Serena and Worrymum, I can cfm my attendence. There will be no gym nex week.

Serena, i asked the person in charge abt adult classes on saturday, then she told me the adult sessions are on wednesday and friday (if I m not wrong) and there are also same time slots for the kids, which to me (hope i did not hear and interpret wrongly) means you and Adabel (sorry if I got the name wrong) can go the same time but attend different classes. However I think the adult class ends 30 minutes after the kid's class.

Hi moshi and serenade, I am hoping for a simpler version for my kids but I'll talk to dh abt this, cos I guess it is no harm knowing more.

Thanks for letting me know abt the offer.

I hv a question. If my gal is Dora, need she be dora the whole night (as in carry the backpack for the whole party ?)

Sherlyn, you sure?!! But for adult class, also gym or aerobics? Can you sms me the phone? Because I delete it when I thought I probably prefer to go with belle (and yes the name is spelled correctly).

Of course, she doesn't have to carry backpack the whole night. You're so cute!

Sherlyn, what brand of electric mixer are you using? Happy homebaker told me she use a brandless one and can beat the batter till ribbon like in 10mins. Mine took 45mins!! I seriously think it's my mixer. Do you have any idea why? When I want to make sponge cake, the time really kills me. That's what happen during the last gathering. It took 5 hours to make the cake that you saw in the share blog. If I have a good mixer, maybe it will only take me 3 hours including frosting.

But then again, I need to thank Moshi. If not for her, no guts to share my cake with anyone outside my family. I need someone to egg me on.

Hi Moshi2

I didn't tag to PLU's blog, My id can only be seen on the dashboard. Yet to publish my post in PLU...

hi K's mom,
Thanks!! This is just a little hobby. Nothing serious.

hi Mommies,
The party sounds very interesting but I'm to exhusted to attend due to work (project aft project).... Enjoy yourselves!!

Sarah dear, you bake!!?? And you have been keeping quite?? And you want to invest in a $400+ KW mixer? Aiyo! You really spring a surprise on me. Ha...

These days I have been baking so much that I didn't bother to teach my girl anything new. Sigh!

Wow... seems like more bakers around here huh. So creative in baking cakes, biscuits, cupcakes and brownies. I know nothing abt these and not sure abt my skill cos never try baking before after sec school home econs class. Ever saw over HK TV serial show this week where someone bake a sponge cake over rice cooker. Anyone try this before ?

Hi Serenade!

I'm not sure if I'm gonna let the kids go trick and treating this Halloween.

We don't live within the American community. Gotta drive there. But might ask around if B's friends are going that evening. Might drop him off at a playdate and then pick him up after that. But K is really too young, I think. It's gonna be cold. But we'll see if the school has any plans.

Hi apricot!

One big motivation for me to learn to bake cupcakes is not to pay other people to bake cupcakes for my children's b'days. I've got a year to master my skill now since I missed their recent b'day. The recent ones had cakes ordered with a Jap chef. Yes, Jap baker in Germany. No doubt German cakes are nice, but they tend to be a little heavy for the kids.

So... grab your baking utensils and bake out your best for your little princes! A will love it when he gets to bake with you too.

Hi Serena!

Wow... you are now tempting me to move on from cupcakes to brownies...

I recently got this book on American desserts... brownies and blondies and pumpkin pies are alluring, not to mention cupcakes, donuts and muffins!

hi Mommies

Back track a little, saw postings on Penpal, was thinking why not by email? R wld once a blue moon write to my sister whom is not in Singapore. R wld use my email acct with subj title "Fr R". Recently sent up an gmail acct for both kids.

R wld only have to type words she knews or looked up in her books for spelling.

hey, those marshmallows given by apricot, they are v yummy on their own, i ate most of them!
from jap right?

serena dear
moi's not attending party, sorry to disappoint, if u need game ideas, i can contribute.
Dress-up themes:
1. Fairy tale characters OR
2. TV cartoon characters OR
3. Animals

Adopting a more focused theme will help in planning games revolving around the theme, neater this way, i guess

hey, brownies look yummy. bet they taste just as good.

Hi Serena

I'll be giving the party this sat a miss ... got a lot of things of my mind these days, and a lot of things to do ... have fun!

.ky.

Hi ky, sad that you can't join the gathering. Relax - you really sound like you have alot on your mind. About kids?? Stay cool...

Serena / Worrymum, my kids will be animals hor. Actually now my gal wants to be the pirate, which I originally planned for the korkor!

Hi Kristin's mom,
Bryan, you got strong hands! Aunty's hands get tired after the mixing la, especially with egg whites.

Hi Serena,
What brand of cocoa powder are you using?

Hi Apricot,
Yes, some rice cookers have the baking function. You can bake sponge, chiffon cakes.

hi Jan, tx. Not abt kids... kids that would be easy ... other stuff that I've no control beyond.

anyway, keeping busy with kids to keep my mind occupied, and reading abt the sweet creations here helps too :>

.ky.

hi Jan, tx. Not abt kids... kids that would be easy ... other stuff that I've no control beyond.

anyway, keeping busy with kids to keep my mind occupied, and reading abt the sweet creations here helps too :>

.ky.

Sarah, I buy my baking stuff mostly from Poon Huat. They have a web site which you can check it out too. The cocoa powder is their inhouse brand.

Kristin mom, oops I thought you were the one who drop the comment at her blog. Here's homebaker blog link :http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/
Btw, brownies and muffins are the easiest to make. Just dump all ingredients and stir. Pour in pan and put in oven. Children can help because whatever way or method you stir, you won't spoil the brownie or the muffin. No electric mixer is required. Get the recipe from Happy homebaker blog. piece of cake lah!

The hardest cake to make is sponge cake and chiffon cake. Not forgetting bread too. I threw away my sponge cake 2 times before I succeeded. Imagine the amount of flour and eggs I wasted. I find baking more fun than cooking.

Hi Serena!

Agree with you that brownies and cupcakes/muffins are easy dough. Just like cookies too. That's why a novice baker like me starts with such recipes.

Yep, I think my worst score in baking is probably the chiffon cake. That I will have to depend on my dh... the ultimate baker at home!

I love baking bread though. In fact this was the one thing I could pride myself in when it came to baking not too long ago. But in the land of yummy bread, I don't find many opportunities to hone my bread making skills. It's in Sg that I start baking bread when I can't find yummy bread. With all due respect for individual's taste and liking, the soft fluffy and sweet tasting type of bread found in Sg is not what I define as yummy bread - of course, to my taste buds only.

wow.. so many postings.. I have to spend so much time to catch up with all the happening news..

well.. have been very very very busy.. since my first maid left me last month...

I was lucky to have my second maid, she is good and can follow my instructions to cook and on her own the third day she was with me. I was very happy with her performance and her efforts put in to play with my girl. However.. something " terrible " happpened on her 2 nd Sat with me.. her relatives came to my house to break the bad news, my maid's only son died of heart attack and he's only 11 years old!! The relatives didn't want to tell her the truth, so we only told her that her son is very very sick so she must go home immediately.

Poor girl, when my hubby dropped her at the airport, she told my hubby she wants to buy some choc for her son because that's his favourite! It really broke my heart when I heard that..

she called me last Thursday when she arrived home... she just cried and cried over the phone.. so poor thing..

now i am back to no maid again... sigh...

I will be taking 3 months no pay leave to try out " stay at home" mum....
so hopefully you will see me more often here... hehe...

Hi 4chongchong!

That's indeed very tragic for your maid. So sorry to hear that.

A boy in my church here has recently passed on too. He's only 5. I really don't know what to say to his mommy.

hi serena!

no lah... didn't even know of this blog until a moment ago. Great blog. Have added it to our PLU's site.

So mommies, another great place to go and drool at everyday!

Hi Serena,

I think it is gym, cos i enquired abt gym. Am thinking of doing some exercise too and the things the kids did, made me want to join them, imagine bouncing up and down a big trampoline ?(not sure if right spelling)

Heres the contact : The Junior Gymnastic Training Centre. URL : www.juniorgymclub.com, Tel :Ms Helene Lim @ 81210859.

Sorry for the late response.

Hi 4chongchong,
Seems like you are destined to be a "SAHM" afterall? :p

Hi mommies who bake,
How often do you bake? I was reading the baking blog when this question pops up in my mind - isn't there a lot of sugar, eggs etc in the baking? Do your kids finish all your creations? Kristin's mom, I am impressed by your cupcakes but who finished them all? Fine to take so much sugar, cream etc?

Hi Serenade!

I still owe you a recipe. One recipe coming your way soon...

Regarding cupcakes with frosting... haha! Remember, my children only like plain white rice and plain white porridge. So they will eat plain cupcakes sans frosting. I usually down play the sugar amount given on the recipe coz I'm gonna frost it anyway.

My dh had quite a few of the last two batches. But the best of all is that I got him to bring most of them to his office! So his colleagues helped to share the calories. ;)

Out of 12 each time, I think I have at most a couple, over 3-5 days. Gotta be watching my weight. Have put on 5 kgs since my stomach flu in spring!

Last week I baked twice. This week, I intend to bake on Wednesday coz it's dh's colleague's b'day. Occasion to celebrate! But will leave a couple for the kids with no frosting.

Sorry for the late response again.

I m using one from philips, cost ard $70 I think (just bought this yr). I cant fork out that much for a kitchenaid or KW. But frankly, i dun quite like the current one either .. sometimes the bowl just dun rotate and human intervention is required. But after finding out that my bowl has scratches, i do not try to intervene anymore. *that is the reason y i dare not bake for you guys too*. Also not too long ago, when using, it will produce very loud noises. I still cant figure out what is wrong, thou it is still working.

Whisking to ribbon stage took ard or more then 15 minutes i think (only time once but forgot abt it) but definitely not till 45 minutes. I think taking 5 hrs to bake a cake is really too timeconsuming.. maybe u shd invest in one KW or Kitchenaid, since u bake so well and quite frequent.

I hv stopped using the mixer for quite a while cos lazy to wash. Imagine mine is kept inside cupboard, so take out, clean, use, wash, dry, air, keep .. so troublesome! Nowadays, i try those that can use hand cream (like egg tart) or hand rub butter or any no mixer recipes. I hv failed the "using food processor to create bread crumbs" method. *sigh*

Same here. I hv not let anyone other then my family members tried any of my bakes. But i desperately need more helpers to finish my stuff so that i can try my hands on more recipes (AND I cant get any heavier leh). Even my kids dun eat my bakes, so what do u think?

Anyway failure or success, most of them are documented in my newly created hobby blog. If you hv the time, can drop by to chk out my "jobs" and ugly "products".

Its at www.lyns-hobbies.blogspot.com .

Serena,

I also very guilty leh, cos spending so much time on baking, or reading baking recipes that i also did not spend anytime teaching them (not tat i already doing that previously thou).

I comfort myself that they are happily playing together, siblings bonding time. hahahaha

Hi Serenade!

While waiting for me to finish typing out the recipe, you gotta in the mean time get ready your utensils:

1) muffin tin (I swear by it coz I don't want messy cupcakes.)
2) paper cups (coz I don't want to grease the muffin tin)
3) electronic whisks/beater (got it already?)
4) basic ingredients like flour, butter or neutral-tasting oil, sugar, baking powder and eggs.

Thing is you won't get enough of baking after the 1st batch.
Like my dh says, baking is always an experimenting process. You've gotta go all the way through and then taste the product last and then when you want to add/change something, you need to repeat the whole procedure. That's why I ended up baking twice last week.

Hmmm... choose Friday to bake. Coz
1) you'll be visiting your ILs or parents over the weekend and so will many of your siblings. Good occasion to spread the joy of eating!

2) relaxing mood with dh hanging around in the kitchen, can't wait to sample haha...
3) whole family can have fun frosting together. It's really art and craft session.

O yes... try and shop at Poon Huat - as recommended by many moms here. Look out for candies at candy stores. Don't forget your food colouring for the frosting.

If you're anything like me, you'd probably shop a couple of times for baking ingredients, research and compare a few recipes and then drool at many food blogs on cupcakes before even embarking on the baking journey.

Apricot,

I hv heard of baking cake using rice cooker, but am not sure if it is a special rice cooker or in any rice cooker.

U may want to go shopping in Best, Harvey norman

Serenade,

I try to bake twice a week, cos there is no one to share my bakes. My kids are rather choosey. So far they only ate the egg tarts, and left my brownie, chocolate cookies (ya even chocolate ones) untouch!

There is indeed alot of eggs and sugar, but i try to cut down on sugar (but the kids will complain not sweet and wouldnt eat again). Anyway my kids really do not eat alot, and i hv to space out my baking sessions else i will hv too many food at home since it is just me and dh eating.

So dun be surprise when u see me nex time at any gathering. Like a kid, I grow daily too.

K's mom,

I m fine with that. A bit paiseh to broadcast those failures thou. But I guess, life is not just abt nice things and success stories .. , sure must hv "not so clever" people to achieve an equilibrium. haha. Somemore, i m a newbie in baking and blogging (lots of excuses for mistakes).. so i guess ok bah ...

so for all of you, just bear with my broken english and singlish.

Anyway the blog also serves as my recipe sorter.