(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serena. I can help you book the hotels. Just PM me or email to [email protected]. What is your itinerary like? As long as travel of food-related, I'm very interested to know leh. Maybe I can suggest something too

Thanks for remembering JK's birthday is in Oct. Frankly I've never been to Bt Panjang so needs to see if my driver agrees. If not, I dread another drive alone to that part of Singapore. Till now JK still remembers how I went round and round Woodlands and took so long to get to ky's place.

Hi Ky,
food is the last thing you should worry about when you're in my house. There will be

1) Japanese croquette
2) fried bee hoon
3) mixed vegetables
4) honey baked wings
5) sausages and fish balls
5) ice-cream cake

All you need to do is come and eat and lead the children in the games. Haha... Btw is one empty room enough space for leading the kids in games? Sorry, think you've got more experience in that.

Come to think of it. Outdoor also sounds fun. We can have feedback from the floor. I don't have any problem if the mummies want to change it outdoors.

Apricot, didn't know your dH birthday also on 13th. No worries, if you change your mind, you're welcome.

Meilan, what you need is a good map then you won't be lost. It was also my first time to Sarah's house during the last gathering. I was almost lost too. But luckily, Sarah gives very clear directions. I'll learn from her and show the directions. Do come because you can also help lead the children with KY. As you know I might be busy with the food. I would also like to record a video of the event.
Thanks for helping me with the booking. I'll reach Sapporo on the 4th Nov. sending you an email shortly.

By the way, just wondering if the children here have all upgraded to a booster seat yet. I'm now looking for a pre-owned 0-4yr old child seat in good condition, preferably reclined enough for a newborn. If you are letting go of yours, please PM me with more details and price. Thanks!

Serena, you've got mail. Your travel plan really got me excited

Moshi, you've got mail too.

Worry-mum, I went to 2 Swee Heng nearby but both don't do Bob the Builder cakes
Their other cartoon designs also don't look as authentic as Benjamin's birthday cake.

Meilan..
Ops .. sorry... u have to provide a print out copy of BOB picture for them to print it on the cake. Any picture u find in the web.. will do too. I will PM u the picture that I found.

Hi serena
wow, what a spread! i already have plans with friends on that day but if there's any last minute changes, will text u.

hi meilan
when's JK's bday?

hey K's mom
where r u?

Hi Catherine,
How's your son now?

Were you the one who mentioned abt catching caterpillars? Any idea where I can catch some? Been looking around my place but unable to find any.

Any mommies happen to know?

Hi Serena,
Unable to confirm now cos we might have something on that day. Actually, was hoping someone could provide a place for Halloween :p It would be ultra fun for the kids to dress up "ugly", keke

Hi worrymum,
My friend brought us a banana cake from Swee Heng yesterday. The kids simply love it. Kept asking for more. Can I have the nearest address of Swee Heng? TIA!

Hi Apricot,

I've got the Xiao Tian Cai IQ set but the box was a bit damaged. No alternative as supplier has NIL stock and shipment will be in next mth.

Z has started the first basic book and he can do some by his own. He does not want my help. Only allow me to sit next to him and watch him doing it. He gets CHEERS from me if he got it right. I will invest in the Logico Chinese set later (mayb as a xmas present from mummy).

Any mummies keen on Xiao Tian Cai or Logico set can pm me so that I can arrange for a bulk purchase within here.

Hi Star,

To share with you, I find the IQ set worth it.

Hi Serena,
would love to meet up wif all of you again. I cant make it on 13th. We are booked for a family gathering.

Hi Meilan,

Remembered JK and Z are Oct bbs. Z is so excited on his upcoming bday. He requested a cake to celebrate wif his frens @ PCF. I've ordered the Barney jelly cake since they sing Barney song everyday.

Hi serena, wow you are a great chef! Thanks for the invite, I would like to join. Outdoors is good idea then may need to use your shower facilities. Still need a room as plan B for unpredictable weather. If there's space, we can have a telematch outdoors and tug of war. But may get rowdy and loud - will we disturb your neighbours?? And since it's Hari Raya, a quiet activity is for the kids to do some craft work and make 'ketupat'?

Gathering
Date: Sat, 13 Oct (it's next Sat!!)
Time: 6pm
Venue: Bukit Panjang

Attendees :
1. Serena (2A 1C)
2. worry mum (1A 1C)
3. Joanne (1A 2C)
4. Sherlyn (1A 2C)
5. jan (2A 2C)

worrymum / Joanne, would like to give you a lift but can't pack all in. Maybe I can drive one to and the other one back? You decide and let me know.

Hi mommies!

Posting on behalf of Serena cos she can't access the internet.

Serena has decided to theme the party Halloween! Hurray, you are such a darling!

Dressing up is definitely IT! Witch, monster, scarecrow etc. No need to get special costumes. Just face painting and a bit more imaginative dressing would be more than enough. And for once, the kids have the "license" to be a bit more rowdy! Hehe...

Some of the ideas we came up with - dressing the room, googy food and drinks, making Jack o' lanterns. More suggestions are highly recommended.

moshimoshi, enough to entice you to join the fun?

Oh, I'm feeling so excited by the idea :p

Gathering
Theme - Halloween
Time: 6pm
Venue: Bukit Panjang

Attendees :
1. Serena (2A 1C)
2. worry mum (1A 1C)
3. Joanne (1A 2C)
4. Sherlyn (1A 2C)
5. jan (2A 2C)
6. Serenade (2A 2C)

Gathering
Theme - Halloween
Time: 5pm - 10pm
Venue: <strike>Bukit Panjang</strike> <font color="0000ff">Bt Gombak - GuiLin View</font>

Attendees :
1. Serena (3A 1C)
2. worry mum (2A 1C)
3. Joanne (1A 2C)
4. Sherlyn (1A 2C)
5. Jan (2A 2C)
6. Serenade (2A 2C)
7. KY?
8. Chloe?
9. CMT?
10. JPooh?
11. 4Chongchong?
12. Jazzie?
Any other "east" mummies??? All are welcome...

Joanne & Jan.. whole family must come.. cos too near for u both.

Serenade... mummies, sorry, change of venue.

Hi worrymum, great! After rousing from afternoon nap, just cross the road and you have zombies, dun need dressup heehee!

Can I contribute mini choc eclairs? Don't know how scary can that get though...

Thanks ky, for the link. But can't access - will check it out at home. Or get 'physical demo' from worrymum next sat.

KY, Jan
haha.. Jan, great idea.. for the zombies.. me still cracking head how to dress up.. haha.. KY, as long as u r dressed..
hehe..

Hi Ky,

I know of speed reading materials from Shichida. If you happen to know mummies with children study there, can ask them for the information. The last I knew it that the sch use books from EDventure (but dunno which range), makes them into cards and produce audio CD. Hope this helps.

Hi moo87,
Let me know if you need help to organise the BP for XTC & logico chinese sets. I knew the supplier pretty well. Moshi and Serenade, rem ? you also buy some pdts like My 1st chinese word books and logico from her.

Hi Apricot!

Anything major, we'll still bring the kids back to Dr Toh. She's really great with kids.

But you're right. Raffles Hospital really is kind of out of the way for us.

Hmmm... I thought they have longer working hours now, e.g. longer Thursday evenings? Not sure but you've gotta check. She's really popular. Appts are always fully booked.

Hi kristin's mom,
Finally get to hear your chirping voice again! Everybody's been wondering where you have been. Great to have you back!

Hi K's mom,
The clinic opening hrs are not extended after 6pm. If real urgent case, we can go to 24hr emergency but we won't be able to get Dr Toh to see our kids.

Thanks serenade and worry mum for the posting.
I thought of some games for the gathering.

1) brownie muffin decorating - little chefs at work. Adults must supervise hygiene. crawlies candies, rainbow sprinklers, etc

2) best costume award - mummies to contribute a $5 present each just like before. children must guess what they are supposed to be and then adults vote.

3) Pin the donkey tail - child is blindfold and place tail on donkey. All winners will have prizes.

4) body tattoo time - all children get to do body tattoo and hena. Optional some children may have sensitive skin.

5) treasure hunt - search as many treasures as you can and win prizes.

I'll be getting black and orange balloons. Serenade need to borrow your decorations for the room too. Oops, this means you must come early?

Mummies, do give me your feedback. You girls like the games segment? can always change or add in.

Hi star, I would love to share my travel plans with you. However I have not finalize yet. Dear Meilan is helping me out because it's a free and easy one for us. Will let you know very soon.

Would like to list down all the "characters" coming on Sat.

1) Serena's child - as an elf
2) Sherlyn's children - as Dora and ? (not confirm)
3) KY's child - as superman? (pls amend accordingly)

Meilan, I will line the ice cream cake with kit kat at the sides and strawberries on top. Sinfully rich!!! sounds good??

Anymore Oct babies? Can celebrate together.

okay Sherlyn, for choc bar I get from Poon Huat. They have a few outlets not sure if Clementi has one. But NTUC sells it too. Nestle brand. What I do is I mix with normal semi sweet choc and taste is fantastic. Try to use a good brand like Lindt. Can't go wrong. But Poon Huat sells penguin choc bar which is retailing only at $2.50. It also come in white choc.
And yes baking soda is bicabornate of soda. This one is tricky right? Hope this info suffice.

Hi Serena!

Nope... no sign of the parcels yet...

But hoping they'll arrive soon, sooner enough for the Halloween dress up in school and soon enough for Kristin to still don the winter outfit.

Hi Serenade!

Hee... I miss all you ladies too!!!

Ermmm, reasons are various for not posting much lately. Actually I've been reading, but not "talking" that's all!

Thanks to the mommies here like Sara, Serena, Sherlyn and Helen, I've recently discovered cupcakes and frosting them! Haha... having some fun in the kitchen and busy adding a few more pounds myself!

Then, the new seasons of everything has started! So it's CSI, Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice, Boston Legal etc online streaming... gee... really gotta limit myself, I'm seriously getting hooked to my laptop all day!

Of course, too much sweets and sugar is not good right??? So I've taken ill again for the past few days... and walking around with a huge headache and my screaming children just aren't giving me a break.

Then... ermm, busy shopping away in the hope that my cold will go away??? haha! Just gearing up for the winter and getting a couple more stuff for baking and frosting - new hobby!

And lastly, the kids have been home since Tues. Yesterday was a PH here and today and tomorrow, school's closed for a short autumn break. So all of a sudden I'm stuck with the kids again, 24/7!

But I'll still be reading posts... errm, just that my throat is tad too sore for me to "speak" much now. ;)

Hi Serena!

Just checking with you.

Does Pooh Huat have baking stuff from Schwartau or Dr Oetker from Germany?

Schwartau has the simplest frosting, ready to go. It's even cheaper than getting choc bars to melt them. And Schwartau also has all the nice choc cream packed in piping bag ready to go with different nozzles at affordable prices.

If they can't be found in Singapore, I shall remember to ship lots of them back to Sg when we go back for good when my dh's posting ends.

Halloween.. Scounds fun!! I don't even have to run over after nap. Just normal me alone will be identical to zombie, esp my dark eye ring.

1) Serena's child - as an elf
2) Sherlyn's children - as Dora and ? (not confirm)
3) KY's child - as superman? (pls amend accordingly)
4) Joanne's children - spiderman and ?

Thought of drawing on Bryan's face but don't think he'll like it. He'll be screaming away untill I clean his face up.

Hi moshi2 and Serenade!

Pardon my ignorance, who is this Judys Motherhood Store on our blog?

Any moms among us running an online store?

I have not settle a costume for my boy yet .. dun hv anythg near for Bob builder accept a hammer haha ..

dun draw on face, but can put on a mask (thats for spiderman oni

K's mom,

The ready to use icing sounds fantastic. Not sure if there is anythg near in SG. I have read in a blog (family stationed in US) that they have ready icing pen. Will you be able to take order from me when u come bak for good? How abt starting a business selling that in sg?

btw, not serenade nor moshi, but judys motherhood store is jpooh's online store.

Hi Sherlyn!

I saw those ready to go icing pens from the American base when a friend took me there a couple of weeks ago. I'm so gonna buy them when I get to the base the next time.

And when I think about the prices, it's really not that ex coz you can save them up and use them the next time. So no waste there. Making the icing from scratch can cost quite a bit too...

Hee, so what I do now is I make the base icing, and use the ready-to-go ones as toppings.

Yep... next time I'm coming back, will let you know and take orders! Or when my parents are going back, next Feb.

Start business... hee, now I've gotta go and talk to Schwartau. But I'm sure they should have agents in Sg already.

Want to chk wif you mummies .. is it alright to serve our kids canned spag sauce, mayo, canned food like tuna, cream soup, processed meat like ham, sausages etc often?

thanks K's mom for the links .. i hv been very busy reading food blogs so that also explains y i post less, but definitely reading

Hi Sher... can I call you that for short???

I also serve processed food like sausages, cheese, frozen fish, tuna etc.

I think in moderation is good. And usually, when I use these processed food, I'll definitely drop salt. Coz there's already so much of it in them.

But of course, I would say 80% we cook fresh! ;)

haha, i just found this costume - dressing up as a ghost. Just a white sheet, cut 2 holes for eyes and 2 for the arms ... but i noe my boy wouldnt like it .. any takers ?

K's mom, yes you can call me anythg u wish, or not at all (i really dun mind), as long as i noe u are "talking" to me

wao 80% fresh .. now i m not sure if i am doing that .. my boy has a liking in ham and cheese sandwich, and that is the breakfast that he can finish sooner then anythg else .. so sometimes i count on this breakfast hahaha

Ham and cheese sandwich is healthy!

Hmmm... add in thin slices of cucumber?
But if he's anything like my children, he'll spit it right out.

Anyway, attempting to serve healthy food so that we won't feel guilt-stricken, right? ;)