(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Haha... sher!

80% cook fresh means: mon-fri only and does not include take-aways... and also means, when I actually cook a meal. So sandwich... no cooking, right? Haha!

haha my boy will also spit out the crunchy cucumber
ya attempting .. but smtimes i think, when they grow up they will also eat those stuff .. so whats the point of trying to "keep" them healthy now hehe

My mother will scold me when she caught me eating those frozen nuggets and wings. she will say, i give birth to you, feed u right till you grow up and now u eat junk to destroy what i build up .. hehe

well it is really difficult to still eat homecooks on weekends. Maybe my nex qn to all is "how not to always eat out on weekends" haha

Sherlyn, my guess is you are not a cantonese ... I always have an impression that cantonese people are very into healthy eating, maybe bcos they are good soup cooks.

My hubby doesn't like to feed the kids processed food. out of those you've listed, only sausage (both chinese and western) and ham go on our list.... and it's only for breakfast and for "men" chicken. We usually eat out 50% of the time or less on weekends ... this was even before we have a helper. How? When you got 1 with a strong opinion and can-do attitude, then it'll sure to work.... n if u r guessing, ya, hubby's cantonese but I'm not.

Serena, not sure yet if we can make it to the party. and btw, thx for the idea for the fireman suit from raincoat. I tried that today, and it looks very good ... so I'm going to amend to size and add in accessories next

.ky.

ky,

I am a cantonese, but i m not a soup person. I also do not cook fantastic soups, just the usual pork ribs plus sweet corn or potato carrot or watercress or lotus roots or winter melon. Think thats abt all. I do not even cook them regularly even if i want to, cos usually needs 3 hrs to cook over stove and i hv no time slot to do the preparation.

I don't like to serve them processed food, but at times really no choice, cos if i m left alone and the kids dun sleep, i cant prepare meals in proper. Also my kids are fussy eater and always ask for ketchup, or mayo or sausages (after i first intro them
).

During weekend, we usually eat a meal outside usually lunch, but when we get home (ard 2 plus 3) the daddy sure nap. It will be fine if the kids nap, if the kids dun, then i usually dun get to prepare dinner cos i hv to do noise controlling. I sometimes wish my dh would be more participative in the weekends. He will not go duck tour wif the kids just like what your hubby does.

1) Serena's child - as an elf
2) Sherlyn's children - as Dora and ? (not confirm)
3) KY's child - as superman? (pls amend accordingly)
4) Joanne's children - spiderman and ?
5) jan's children - clown and pirate

Will need to look for the pirate's accessories. Got them somewhere...

Hi sherlyn / k's mom, hahaa my dd will gobble up the cucumber slices from your kids! She loves anything green, including parsley, brocolli, capsicum, etc. I call her a 'real goat' and thought most 2003 kids are same.

Jan, din c u on wednesday at yamaha. I m in studio 8. I will not start the guppies first since wil not be meeting apricot so soon. Her hubby has advised a size of length 9" breath 6". Your medium tank anywhere near?

Hi Sherlyn

For soup, I suggest u get a thermal pot. We used to do it over hotplate, and not stove before the thermol pot came along. It's quite handy and the preparation can be done within 1/2 hr early in the morning. I've also recently bought a Esiway pan, not sure if anyone has heard of it. It basically prevents oil from splashing all over and u need not even stir the veg... it's kinda difficult to explain how it works. But we got it to make cooking easier for us eventually.

.ky.

Hi sherlyn, I was in studio 21! No wonder didn't see you. Didn't know they have a few classes ongoing. How did it go? My kids enjoy though I was literally muted becoz lose my voice.

Bingo! That's the exact measurement for the medium tank. I've got bottle of guppy feed for you as well. Err, you want me to pass 'startup kit' to you next Sat? Is Apricot giving you the guppies? My bro-in-law just got a flask of guppy fry! He got this nice tank with overhead light and water plants with guppies, shrimps and tetra.

thermal ? smthg like pressure cooker ?
but i hv run out of cupboard space (mine is a "floating" bottom and top kitchen cabinet)
not a real good reason i noe, but i really dun want a messy kitchen.

the pan sounds good .. where to check it out?

wah studio 21, sounds very far from me and mine, yamaha is so big meh?

both me and my boy enjoyed it (well at least he say he did and would want to continue). I even tapped my feet with the music, so catchy. I cant sing thou, too much shouting over kids and has affected my voice quite permanently .. that starting song is so high .

the startup kit, anytime, i can always keep it first but not taking from Apricot so soon since we dun meet up. Wat is guppy fry ? Since yr bil is into guppy, y dun u pass the feed to him? y didnt u want the tank too ?

Hi sherlyn, told my dh I'm tone deaf, can't feel the beat while my kids seem to be able to feel. Will look out for you next time!

Guppy babies! I had it one round before but high mortality rate since they are so small. Didn't know he was interested until went to his place last week and saw the new tank. Can't remember when my dh bot the tanks. Probably for our 2 turtles previously. Now they have grown too big and are housed in a basin like a mini pool.

Hi worrymum, told my kids abt next sat and they are excited to go benjamin's plce. My gal esp becoz 'they are 4 yrs old like me!'

Can someone please help me fine tune the games? Find it not "halloween" enough. I guess Moshi or Serenade can help. Kristin mom too. How to incorporate pumpkin into the games? Carve them abit tricky and dangerous for the kids?

Kristin mom, I'm not sure of the brand but they do sell ready to use frosting. There is also a shop near newton called "Bake it yourself" that sells these plus all sorts of cake stand and moulds for rental. Incase you run of storage space, just rent from them. Btw, love the blog. And you should be receiving the parcel soon, we must trust Singapore Post.

Ky, ah so it's fire-fighter and not superman. Make a mistake there. If can wear then shouldn't be a problem.

Jan, pirate hmm... how about one eye-jack? looks more convincing?

wow, so many posts!

re mom's nite out, shall give it a miss. it's a crazy week for me, full day training and played host to my overseas colleagues who flew in. every night i only reached home at 10pm, just in time to tuck my girls in bed
and hubby's away, luckily got mom to help...

re halloween gathering, where's guilin view? not the xiao guilin garden right? cos i'm a little concerned about the mozzies.

Would like to list down all the "characters" coming on Sat

3) KY's child - as Fire-Fighter?
5) jan's children - clown and pirate
6) Worry Mum's Child - Spiderman (sorry no other outfit leh)

Chloe's mum,
Guilin View is somewhere opp Little Guilin @ Bt Batok St 52. Dengue hotspot is 3 streets away.. @ St 31-34. Perhaps the one that you mention is Good View Garden (Blk 385+) Though pretty near, Thanks GOD, so far, no dengue case found here..

This thread moves simply too fast!!

Sarah,

J didnt ask to stay cos he knows he has to attend a dinner. But he did ask if he could come and swim someday though... Heh.

Hi serena, haha yep wanted to use an eye patch or draw for the pirate getup. But there were objections to my suggestions. So changed, subject to mood of 'divas' next sat!

3) KY's child - as superman? (pls amend accordingly)
5) jan's children - cat and tiger

Hi Sherlyn, if u remember the meehoon at the bbq we had, it was in a thermal pot... the pan u r keen is more than 2x more ex than the thermal pot. i don't see the pan outside (or rather I don't shop so i don't know); the distributor's at toh guan. if u r keen, i can give u the contact # n u can ask them where they've got roadshows; u've got to see to believe.

Halloween party ... sorry don't mind me saying this. This mother thinks a lot (in fact all mothers think a lot :>) ... isn't it weird to have a Halloween party on Hari Raya Puasa? The group has chosen to celebrate a western festival rather than a local one, how does that portray to the kids? Perhaps it's coz we don't know much nor able to leverage much on Hari Raya to make it a happening party, but it's easier to do with Halloween ... but can we do sthg abt it like a rojak party then? Also, like to suggest little focus on gifts or no prizes ... sorry, I'm getting concern on how kids are having expectations on materialistics gains these days, esp when they are at a very easily influenced stage. Having said that, I still can't confirm if I'm coming; might have another commitment. Pardon me if I'm too forthcoming with my opinions.

.ky.

Hi chloe, come lah! Didn't get to talk to you the last time. MY address is the actual hotspot but no cases yet (cross fingers and toes!). The clusters are one street away. And the cases are going down..

hi ML, re the infant carseat ... u might want to consider taking from known sources. I tend to think it's better to be more cautious for newborns. I borrowed from my brother, and he's already let it go ...

.ky.

hi k's mom
are u better today? mel's throat a little sore too and we brought her to the doc after hearing the incessant coughing last night.

yes, please, my halloween sweater for K to reach u soon!

judy's store, yes, we know a judy, that's jpooh.
jpooh, could u confirm your online store is tagged to our blog? thanks;)

hi serenade
moi got the kids mag yesterday, there's a feature on halloween, havent got a chance to go through it. u should expect your copy soon.

Halloween - Trick or Treat Bags
Ask a parent for an old pillow case or one of those big brown paper carrier bags (the ones with the handles) that sit in the cupboard and never get used. Make it part of your costume by decorating it yourself! If you're a mummy, mummify your bag with toilet paper. If you're a princess or something girlie, cover it with sparkly sequins and glitter. If you're a superhero, paint your super hero symbol onto the bag. Let your imagination run wild!

serena, fancy baking these?

Witches Fingers - Make a batch of shortbread cookie dough. Take small chunks of the dough and roll them out into long cylinders (the shape of a finger!). You're also going to need blanched whole almonds and some red cake gel. Flatten a small spot at the end of your finger-shaped cookie and squeeze some of the cake gel onto it. Now press half an almond into the gel, rounded half facing up. Draw a few lines through your cookie before baking with a fork for the knuckle. Ta da! You have an instant witch's finger.

On costumes:
maybe all can dress in black, add some 'glow in the dark' stars, moon on the clothes for that eerie night effect.

not scary enough? have a lights out dance with the witches, ghosts and others chasing each other in the room. and playing some eerie music will raise the spookiness by a few notches;)

ok, nightmares-free nights not guaranteed!

serena
to decorate your brownies, u can use cut-out paper baby ghosts.
food wise, anything white and black should do the trick too. kids can mould out rice in the shape of ghosts, add raisins for the eyes.
for drinks, prune juice served in white cups.

and for those with no costumes, just come in black with the ugliness face mask u can make.
mommies should not have problems with black clothe, a staple in our wardrobe.

and for those with no costumes, fret not, just go in black clothes with the ugliness face mask u can make.
mommies should not have problems with black clothe, a staple in our wardrobe. don't forget the kohl eyeliner lined at least twice. heehee

Hi moshimoshi,
Haha, how can we do without you?

Hi Ky,
Guess it never strikes us abt Hari Raya Puasa. Great that you mentioned it.

Serena, Worrymom and other mommies,
Any vote for changing to nearer the actual date? Or do you prefer to stick to 13 Oct?

Hi Serena,
Hehe, so far, I only have a web (that glows in the night) to spare. No problem, I can always help with the decor if you don't mind 2 other small helpers messing around

Hi moshi2!

Thanks for clarifying...
So it's jpooh! Oh I see! Silly me! It's really difficult for me to put things together especially with the forum's nicks.

Me... throat ok, still a little sore. But stuffy feeling is still there.

Kids have been home since Tuesday afternoon, everyday! No respite! ha, at least weekend is drawing near.

yep... counting on parcel to arrive soon... haven't thought of halloween costumes for the kids yet.

hi mommies!

regarding halloween, we've been warned every year from the preschool director to water down the scary part of the dressing up for halloween, lest the little kids get nightmares. guess we all are wary of them waking up at night and complaining that they can't sleep coz of ghoulies figures. hmm, so that's a thought on how scary you mommies might want things to become.

it's always healthy to get them to dress up as firefighters, nurses, doctors, postman etc, professions with a uniform. i do know kids go to school with superheroes costumes too. and B has since learnt about his superhero characters.

hmmm, the actual trick or treat will be tough since the kids can't go from door to door. maybe just a goodie bag? or hmm, maybe you moms can set up stations?

oh... carving out a jack-o-latern! That's really beyond me. I've never tried before.
I think Serenade has experience carving out one last year. But you could tell the story of Jack-o-latern. run a search on the internet or wikipedia, I'm sure you can find something interesting to tell the kids.

hee... with all the cupcake craze, you can also bake cupcakes with a halloween theme! right, chloe's mom?

Hi serenade, I face objections from my prima donnas for the dressup. And can't be too spooky leh. My kids' school halloween theme party 2 years ago was included in the year's VCD and when played it on tv, my kids say music very scary and don't want to watch that part showing one of the teachers draped in a black cloth with a giant fork poking at another tcher 'screaming' in mock horror.

ky's observations are very valid. But don't know how? For me, will stick to the date for the gathering since it's public hol. Unless we change the theme?

Hmm,

I guess if the kids are not ready for something spooky, maybe we can change the theme to cartoon character dressing up? How about that? Just simple gathering and allowing the kids to dress up? I feel if we are not going for something more spooky, then it would be better to shelve the idea, lest the kids have wrong ideas about Halloween

KY,
Thanks for "enlighting" us, we almost "lost" in halloween theme..haha

Hmm.. me too will choose to stick to 13/10, cos dont need to work for me.

Gathering
Theme - Dressing up party
Date: Sat, 13 Oct (it's next Sat!!)
Time: 5pm - 10pm
Venue: <strike>Bukit Panjang</strike> Bt Gombak - GuiLin View

Attendees :
1. Serena (3A 1C)
2. worry mum (2A 1C)
3. Joanne (1A 2C)
4. Sherlyn (1A 2C)
5. Jan (2A 2C)
6. Serenade (2A 2C)
7. 4Chongchong (?A1C)
8. KY?
9. Chloe?
10. CMT?
11. JPooh?
12. Jazzie?

As for food wise, sorry mummies, Serena and me think of catering instead. (lesser headache for everyone) Hmm.. btw, any food ok? any special request? am looking at those nasi lemak kind..something like this ok for everyone? http://www.leeweebrothers.com/beehon2.html but min order 20pax (adults) or perhaps will get those side orders here: http://www.leeweebrothers.com/order_form.php all feedbacks are welcomed.

Hi worry mum, catering is fine, no special order for me so long as got food for kids esp. Thanks! Please let us know the costs to split. And I would like to contribute mini choc eclairs. Share the calories! yummy.

It seems to me the response coming mostly from west side mummies. How about the east side? Meilan, Sarah, Moshi? Think you can confirm by next Tuesday? Because worry mum need to order the food and because it's Hari Raya, caterer may need 3 days advance booking.

Worry mum, my girl can't take spicy food. Any non-spicy food in the menu? you can also try this www.thecateringbusiness.com.sg they serve party pack for 10. I don't think we need to count in all the kids. I think 5 kids can make one adult pax? What do you think?

We should probably re-name the gathering to Fancy Dress Party. Then, how should we dress up the room?!! Serenade, any ideas? Actually we chose 13th Oct because it's a public holiday and this means more mummies can attend. Nothing special. Halloween theme because Serenade suggested it and everyone thought it was a fantastic idea. Anyhow, we can always tweak it. Agree with Serenade if we are not going to make it more spooky, we should just shelf the idea.

Moshi, great ideas! But I can't bake the witch "fingers". Sounds fun though. Now we probably need ideas on fancy dress party. You must try to come and can lead the kids with me.

Gathering
Theme - Fancy Dress party
Date: Sat, 13 Oct (it's next Sat!!)
Time: 5pm - 10pm
Venue: Bukit Panjang Bt Gombak - GuiLin View

Attendees :
1. Serena (2A 1C)
2. worry mum (2A 1C)
3. Joanne (1A 2C)
4. Sherlyn (1A 2C)
5. Jan (2A 2C)
6. Serenade (2A 2C)
7. 4Chongchong (?A1C)

Great that 4chongchong is coming, haven't seen her before.

Joanne, you stay so near, your husband not coming?

Sherlyn, I think Dora needs a backpack too.

I've been thinking for quite some time. If we meet on a more regular basis, can get the kids to perform a short play for Christmas! Alas, if time permits!

Hi Jan,
On the contrary, my little ones were running amok with ideas of spooky dressing up since I told them :p B even suggested dressing up as a "ghost"... hahha

Hi Serena,
Will let you know if we are attending by next Tuesday. As mentioned earlier to you, we have a prior engagement with my mil. Also don't want to disappoint my kids since we are not having Halloween. Yeah, told them yesterday and now he would probably ask me why there is no more Halloween.

Hi Kristin's mom,

You still remember my "Jack O' Lantern"? Haha, yes, I'm looking forward to it this year. Not an easy job to carve one then. Hopefully, we can do it better this year. I am already looking for pumpkins

Hi moshimoshi,
Yup, finally got my kids magazine yesterday. The one thing that catches his eyes is the maze. Even requested me to make copy of it. :p

Read some good and creative ideas on Halloween. Will probably try some of them with modifications.

Hi Sheryln,
Didn't want to comment on the National Geog kids' mag earlier on cos I have no idea how the mag is. Just received my first copy yesterday. Quite fun, with pictures and tibits of info. If you are still interested, PM me.

Envious!

The NG Kids' online people never got back to us. We couldn't fill up the "sickening" electronic form online which doesn't accept our subscription coz we don't have an address in the States. Gee, how do they deal with overseas orders? Actually, there's a price for overseas orders, just no electronic forms...

Hi Serenade!

Happy carving!

Pumpkins are out for grabs everywhere. In two weeks' time, we're gonna visit a pumpkin patch together with B's class. Oohh... first time to a pumpkin patch - I'm a big country bumpkin here haha!

Dh and I are thinking of getting the kids to go pick apples tomorrow... gotta do this first before we hit the pumpkin patch... actually, hmmm, we could visit the pumpkin patch tomorrow too...

Hi Serenade,I also hv the Toys R Us card .. I am just not sure how well can the info from the kids mag be digested by my kids. The NG mag for 3-6 yr old looks very simple, but when i enquire if they do allow subsciption from Asia HQ, they send me a form for the states (or smthg like that) and i hv not look at it since. Maybe when i go bookshop, i will source out the mag to see if the contents alright for my kiddos. But you are certainly tempting me
. Thanks for keeping me in mind. Anyway usually things i m not sure of, i will also not comment.

Serena, we happened to buy a Dora haversack for our girl from OG not too long ago, but wasnt a very well done piece and the loop (most haversack has this) on top is torn by my kids recently. So I think this haversack will be the backpack. She just short of the bracelet, the shoe and socks and of cos the adorable face with the big round eyes.

Worrymum, i m fine with catering as long as there are food for the kids. But i might be feeding them light dinner prior to going if i can find the time since they usually dun eat when there is fun. I just recv a mailer from this catering service www.neogarden.com.sg . The hv bento sets at $10 per set, min 10 pax, just not sure if it applys for dinner on a public holiday.

Will hv to stick to 13th oct, cos other days will hv gym class. Must Halloween be all spooky ? When mickey mouse clubhouse is showing the halloween theme episode, mickey is dress as a magician, and one other is a knight .. are these 2 characters spooky related?