(2002) Any 2002 babies?

hmm... looks like mine will be the one have to exam till fri liao. suppose tomorrow the last paper but this afternoon gotten bad news from ds that they all need to re-test for maths. Bad... bad...
have not seen the notice given yet.

Last paper today for my gal. They just got back some of the paper. Was v happy that my gal got 97 marks for her Maths. An achievement for us both as Maths was her weakest subject last year. I have stubbornly resisted getting a tutor and promise hubby I'll turn her results around. During SA1 she got 87 marks and last year was ban 2, so this is a great improvement.

natellehcim,
retest for math??! wa...my boy said his class have cases of 'communication during exam' (kids throwing paper around); invigilator gave warning but no need to resit.
important to check papers. my boy had missing pages in one of his exam papers.

maisydaisy,
congrats on the good results.

so you gonna claim reward from your hubby. :D

Maisy, fz,
great job to your kiddos and pat on your shoulder for your good monitoring too.

Natellechim
Hope your son is well now. good luck to his science and maths retest ( hmm think on the bright side, he will be more careful and will fare better)

Hurray as my girl starts her MT paper now and boy 5 years old will have his chinese evaluation in childcare today.

Din want to think too much of the result till I see the paper and will leave for a short break from 11 - 13 Nov to Penang. keke

hi, ya he looked fine yesterday. thanks.
For the restest, it is not for his class but the whole level. read the notice yest saying that the papers was similar to the practise papers the kids had done before the exam, so is not fair and will void. What to do? The kids only will grumble, hahah, including my ds grumbling the whole night. Seeing his sister finished exam yesterday liao, he so envy. hahaha.

Thanks all. I'm still waiting for her other results. Hopefully she can maintain the grades for the rest of the subjects at band 1 and that will improve her position in the class. Hubby is very happy with her Maths. He was nagging me to start him on maths tuition but I have already outsource all 3 other subjects so prefer to hold on to Maths. Teaching own kid is also a way of bonding. Glad that results show so hubby won't nag at me anymore ; )

natellehcim,
oic. means setter did not get others to vet? or vetter did not realise.
my boy's CL compo was also similar to a practice before the exam (revision is Lost&Found wallet, exam is Lost&Found Watch); and for that practice, the teacher went through with the class the model essay before the exam; and my boy was sick that whole week, so he missed out on the revision! but luckily the topic is not so difficult and (according to what he told me), my boy managed to select an appropriate 'intro' and 'conclusion' from his memory bank (haha..i made him memorise certain standard intro/conclusion) for this essay. ^__^"

ya, that is my doubt too... didn't vetter vet through and how about the person who approve it? Wasn't the paper need approval before it can be 'launched' for exam? Just hope that the kids can do it well this 2nd time. If those kids who score high for the 1st paper but did badly for the 2nd then kind of unfair for them. Vice versa, those who did badly were give another chance. hahaha... anyway we don't know the 'real story' behind it. Believe the school should be able to strike a balance and know what is best for the kids bah.

This is the 1st time I've heard of such 're-test' thing happening.

My dear girl just called me. Update me with good and bad news.

Bad news, she did not get 90 n above for english but a band 1 secured.

Good news, her math effort paid off too at 94.5. Happy for her that she finally learnt that she will be rewarded with her effort

Finally, my dd's last paper ended yesterday. My hubby and i took half day leave to bring her out for lunch and ice cream as she was craving for ice-cream since her exam started.

Congrats to those who achieved improvements and good results. Seems like the kids have better result this year compared to last year.

1 student in my dd's class that was down with HFMD after the first paper but had since recovered and back to school yesterday. She had to sit for 2 papers yesterday and her last paper is today. I guess her parent must be very stressed...hope it will not affect her performance.

Result will only be released next week. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Aiyo, my dd's Chinese result tank again. Confirm Chinese going to drag down her overall marks. She's not particularly upset because she felt that she already tried her best. And I also don't have high expectation. She refused to read any Chinese storybooks, only learn what's in the syllabus, how to expect high marks?

Her supporters put their hopes on her Science mark that's yet to be announced, hoping she can salvage her class ranking. For some reason, her classmates dislike the other classmate who shared the same class position as my dd & they wish that my dd gets ahead of that classmate. Haha, they're more concerned than my dd, busy calculating their marks difference. Arh, kids ??

Yawn yawn, my dd's form teacher was the one comparing their results with the next class. I reckon that it is a tactic that she used to get her class to perform better for each subject than the next class result.

Yawn Yawn,
The kids are so mature, they even know how to strategize and calculate marks? Is your gal concern about class ranking? My gal seems quite happy go lucky. Although she has strong competitors, she is taking it in stride.

I'm also putting hopes on my gal's science, hoping she can improve from SA1 and score at least 90. Chinese and English paper 2 she did so-so but hope that compo she won't lost too much marks. We are all hoping she could improve her class rating by 1 notch and it will depends on her science marks.

Yipee.... finally ds finished his maths re-test and can enjoy liao. So far did not bring back any marks or papers, but only the maths paper that was void. Hopefully he will not score lower than the void papers. (finger-crossed)... hee..hee.....

Ya nowadays kids really smart hor? Able to plan and strategies the marks. My ds is also bochap... roughly know what marks his 'nearby' friends are scoring but also 'argah-argah' type... precise ones is only the highest when teacher annouces to the class. I heard 1 parent told me his child 'largi' good... will write down the marks of all he can gather.

Nat, congrats can relax liao...

My dd, will only offer to tell me who has the lowest marks. Whereas for me, i will be satisfied as long as her result is not too far away from the top 10 students.

Her class is quite competitive as every half mark counts. Their mark difference between the top few students is actually very small.

Valerie
Your girl in RGPS right. That is the case and I personally experience that when I was in NYPS myself.

But I do not have the feel of the class ranking in NYPS becoz they only have top 5 achiever award each year and no class ranking which I appreciate it

CL, I wish she is but she is in Endeavour PS which is only established for 3 years only.

For me, i prefer the class ranking as i can estimate her standard in the class.

Valerie
Sometimes I feel class ranking does not help. it is the average , median that will gauge on school overall result.

I am always scoring 98 or full in school when I was young but sometimes I do not top the level.

Chicken Little,
scoring 98 is very good already, don't have to top the level ah. :D
there are 3 students in my boy's class scoring 100 for math, but only 1 is going to take the math prize cos of SA1's performance. for science, the boy who topped the science paper will also not be getting the science award as lose out to the other boy by 1mark after adding in SA1 science.

ya i agree. I will prefer the school to give me a 'score-sheet' of the top & lowest marks of class and level. At least I can guage where my child is, whether he/she is coping in the class and whether he/she is within the average ones. My kids school never give any class or level ranking in report books at all.

Am not to keen for class ranking, because a child can be top in class ranking but when comes to level ranking is not that fantastic.

Natellehcim
Ya lor mine also does not come in report book but will be shared during meet parent session which is a powerpoint presentation.

Fz
ha ha that is during my time lah, when I was young I was wondering ha ha how they rank by decimal points ???because so many pple can get 98 or 100 mah

My son juz got back his English P2 and Maths results back. Both have dropped

Maths still managed to maintain in Band 1 while English P2 is in band 2. Does not pin hope on his composition results.

Now pending for his Science and Chinese P2 results. Hopefully it will not dip

His school shows the overall level results of his class and school in the report book. Thus will be able to gauge his std agst his own classmates and his level.

Yawn Yawn: Heard some school had given out the GEP round 2 results liao. So far I did not hear from my son's school. We did not pin any hopes plus he could not complete his Maths paper.

GEP round 2? oh that is fast. Tot will be out end Nov :p Mummies, if your child is selected, will you send them to the GEP school?

nat,
i asked my husband before, and he said no.
then after getting kid's results (not counting the careless mistakes in math, kid managed to maintain english, improve CL by 1mark and improve Science), my husband now said see first.

personally, while i am not keen, it is really an avenue to get into these very popular schools.

haha... think nowadays parents think so too. even have friends or relatives who are teachers, also say will opt out if their kids were chosen. But if it happens to me, then i will be in difficult position. 1 side will say NO, why send the kid to 'suffer' and get eliminated out if he can't cope along the way... eventually will dampen his self-esteem. The other side will say if you do not give the child a try, how you know he/she is not able to make it... ????

think GEP subjects really tough & stressed hor?

My dd is not competitive against her classmates. She is very willing to share her knowledge. I guess that's why she's rather popular in her class. Her classmates dislke the other classmate because they found that classmate proud

My dd did well for all subjects except Chinese. Chinese result drag everything down. That's why her classmates concerned she might lose out to the other classmate.

However my dd is not particularly concerned, quite bochap in comparing. She's more interested whether she improves or not. She set her own target against herself, benchmark her SA1 against last year results and now benchmark SA2 against her SA1.

I've been telling her since young 天外有天,人外有人 so don't bother comparing to others. She gets it.

No GEP news from dd's school yet

natellehcim

Not up to me to choose. My dd already decided which school she's going to IF she gets chosen.
I tried to cushion her about the pros of staying in same school. Don't want her to get her hopes too high.

Congrats to those who did well... I hv collected my gal's report card,6th position in class, she scored 355/400 hope she can maintain her consistency next year

yawnyawn,
your girl is very motivated! good for you!

jolene,
congrats on the good results!
report card so soon! we have to wait until next week before we even know the full marks for Chinese and ENglish.

Congrats to all kids who had done well. ANd mummies, your effort had paid off.

TO those kids who did not do well, Just keep on trying. You will be there someday and mummies just keep enouraging them.

My son did not do well for English and heard that the whole class result dropped.

Luckily, he managed to secure a 90+ for maths, science same as SA1 and chinese is the only suject that shows improvement.

The main concern for us now is which class will he be posted to next year.

Congrats for kids who had gotten good results..and for those whose results are not ideal..can use the coming holiday to catch up.I am gonna work out a timetable to brush up my gals' weak subject ;P)

Science assessment books
Anyone has good recommendation for OE questions? Or rather those experimental/scenario types of questions? My gal is rather weak on that area.

Hihi everyone!

I am a noob to this thread. My son was a 12/5/02 baby and is in Kheng Cheng School. As he enters the Pre-teen/ tween stage, I am hoping to find fellow mummies with 9yo kids whom I can share this new "stage" in his life.

Congrats to all kids who have done well, keep it up.

My son has gotten back his report book, he has achieved top in level. We received the invitation letter for joining gep next year. Good luck to all who have not received the GEP results

Congrats to the kids who and done well keep it up. Meantime, my DS only received his written papers except chinese, which i presume will be today. Overall, science dropped too drastically as compared to SA1. The rest minor dropped.. heng.

bebe75,
My DS also have problem in this area. looses 1/2 - 1 marks here and there for not writting the complete answer.

Geri,
Welcome to the group.

April,
congrats to ur DS for accepting by the GEP programme. So is ur kid changing his sch?

April: Will you let him join GEP?

My son's form teacher juz smsed that my son has been selected for GEP. I am not sure if to let him proceed.

Natellehcim: My thinking is similar to yours.

Let the father and son attend this sat talk held at NUS High before they decide since I will be away on holidays with my gf.

Congrats April. So happy for you.

Welcome Geri, you have find the right group, mummies here are really very supportive and encouraging.

My dd told me that she had achieved low band 1 for Chinese, Math and English but did not bring back any of the papers. Still pending for Science result. Having meet the parent session next week, report book should be released then too.

What do you normally ask when meeting the teachers?

congrats Avrilf and April. Should you kids go to GEP, hope you can continue to provide the group with supports and advice.

My ds still have not gotten back the papers and marks, believe will be done so today. Tomorrow will be a holiday for them for it was declared as their marking day. I joked with him that I dreamt that he got bad grades for the exam, but he told me he dreamt that he passed with flying colors. Hope he can give me good news then. Haha...

Avrilf,
another GEP mama! congrats. :D

April, Avrilf, (did i miss out anyone?)
do share...do you think your kids are especially passionate about Eng or Math? i think that makes majority of GEPpers. my boy is non. he is only concern about doing well for exams...ie study what is required within curriculum! :p

Valerie,
compo results out so soon? ours usually is math science results out 1-2 days after exam and overall eng/chin results only know when we collect report book.
not sure if i wanna go for meet the parents, cos exam over already, what to ask? normally queue so long, only spend 5min with teacher, tongue-tied. :p

for my ds sch, we will never know how many marks gotten for oral and compo for both language since P1 till now. So far, only eng marks known last week and my ds was so happy that he managed to get BAND 1 (just 0.5 above B1 lah). He said it's his 1st Band 1 for English this entitle year. hahaha... He (actually also includes me lah) is quite concern if he made any improvement for his compo this time since we never know the grades for it, only can 'estimate' from the remaining marks after minus out LC and Paper 2. Personally I felt that his compo seems written out of point leh....
He said he will listen to teacher's comments about their oral today, from there will roughly guage how many marks he can get for oral ler. Not sure how true. :p

fz,
Science was their last paper and i think for section B the teacher may need sometime to go thru. As for the Eng/Chin compo, the school has never return the papers (wonder why?) Well, i hope my dd told me her result correctly.

MTP Session - totally agree with you.

Congrats Avrilf and April for kiddo getting into GEP.

My girl was upset with her chinese she got a Band 2 though she thought she will get band 1. Anyway all comments reserved till I see her paper

for GEP is it all schools given the results? I heard my ds told me he overheard his classmate asked about the results and the VP told him not given yet.... think this boy must be enthusiatics about his selection. But he is really good and we anticipated he sure get in.

Thanks JustJazz, fz, Valerie, Avrilf, natellehcim and CL.
My son will take up the offer. Hope my son will be posted to his elder sister's school.

Avrilf,
Congrats to your ds

You should let him take up the offer. There are lots of advantages of joining gep. My dd is in gep (P6), the curriculum is challenging and she has learnt lots of things that are not available in the mainstream. When it comes to P6, you will know the greatest advantage - it is easier to dsa into top secondary schools. My dd is offered a place at RGS, NYGH and NUS High, if kids do not perform too badly in his or her studies, they usually have at least one dsa offer. The other considerable advantage is the edusave scholarship in secondary.

fz,
My boy love to read story books since young. To him, he loves English more than Maths. Although Maths is easier to learn, (he usually learns faster n effortlessly), just he does not have attitude and passion when come to challenging maths olympiad questions. On the other hand, I think my dd was selected based on Maths ability, she was one of the prize winner on major Maths Olympiad competitions like NMOS, RI primay world Maths contest and SMOPS.    

WOW April, your kids are so good... so lucky and envy you.
Yup, if the kids are keen, no harm giving it a try. If it happen to my ds, he will say no way to transfer school loh... Just gotten some good and bad news from my ds about his results. His Maths re-test had helped him to secure higher marks. As for science there is a drop in his marks. Hope he can buck up next time then. But overall I believe it's still not bad lah. He also attending maths olympia as an 'enrichment' course in his school, just a couple of lessons only.

Thanks April, Natellehcim, Chickenlittle and Fz.

April,

Your children are so smart.

My son said he wanted to take up the offer as his 3 other classmates are also taking up. 1 of them suggested that the 4 should stick together and go to the same school. 4 boys omg!!!

Yup I agree that the greatest adv of GEP is DSA cos all GEP students will be doing same exam papers from P4 onwards. Thus if they does well, they will have higher chances of DSA to the school they want.

fz,
Like April's son, my boy also loves to read story books. He prefers English to Maths though he can learn Maths quite fast. He juz too careless when he does Maths.

He loves Science the most and can study on his own.

His Maths and Chinese results remain in Band 1 but there is a slight drop in marks. He has slight improvement in Chinese composition writing so I am quite happy.

Fz and Valerie,

Usually for MTP, I will ask the teacher on the areas that I need to monitor or work on. I will also ask the teacher for suggestions on how to go about improving these areas. Actually I like my son's current teacher, he is quite devoted and helpful.