(2002) Any 2002 babies?

My son's composition writing exam will be on monday. Thus will be drilling him to practise for these 2 days as we are going to watch Lion King on Sun.

Wow...CL, your children are tall. Hope my son will be tall too

He has brought back the GEP round 2 letter yesterday.

CL,
Your gal is very thin. My gal is around 145cm but already 36 kg.

My gal also just got back her GEP round 2 letter yesterday. It's 8 person out of 36 people in her class going for GEP round 2 so it's 22%. Won't be doing any prep for her since we know for sure she won't make it past round 2. It's conducted over 2 half days during PSLE marking days when I already took leave to coach her for exams.

fz - hope he get well soon , ya think kids dont rly like eating pills yet , my eldest can take liquid type well but not pills de while my younger one totally reject medicine unless he's very sick and cannot tahan anymore .. lol

my eldest boy P3 is abt 25kg while the P1 is abt 18kg only ~.~

underweight for the P1 ? he eats alot at times but dont seems grow any fats .. lol

hi parents,
thanks for the well wishes. my boy is well recovering. he missed school for 3 days over the fever and had more rests than he ever had for a long long time. :D

RE GEP
not sure if the school has issued anything, but my boy's good friend said nope (when he sms-ed him). that boy is very talented in math, so i guessed the results may be out on monday.

my boy said the english GEP paper was kindof short so he had plenty of time (cos he said dunno means dunno ma...don't have to think too long -__-"), while time is tight for the Math paper. he managed to complete the paper though, and had time to go back to revisit those questions he circled for 're-doing'. i don't think he is gifted in math or english, just that he can be real lucky (or unlucky) at times (eg difficult questions that we been through before came out for exams he got advantage, or really easy questions and he thinks too much and got it wrong -__-"). so if he qualifies for GEP, i think I may get sleepless nights. round 1 is what we are looking out for, even if no, we are happy with his school performance. it proves to us and him that hard work also goes a long way in getting him where he is now.

congrats to those who has gone through round 1!

Congrats to Avrilf and Maisy Daisy for clearing round 1, all the best for second round! Jia you!

My gal has cleared her SA 2 so we can now rest and relax!

All the best to those who arebsitting for their SA2

Jolene: Wow, your girl has a very early SA2! Mine will be next week, so this weekend (and weekday nights next week) will be packed with revision. Somemore cannot take leave cos it is a busy time at work

Good luck to all who had cleared first round GEP! My daughter will be going to 2nd round too...but I am just taking it easy to see how it goes...

Congrats to those whose child is going for GEP round 2

Will not be doing any extra prep work since he has already alot to revise for his upcoming SA2. Plus oso dunno how to prepare for it :p

Yes, really no much time left: 2 days cca, 2 days supplementary class and need to attend enrichment classes, plus this week has eng n chi paper 1 exam.

Hi natellechim
This year her sch push the SA2 to be the same time table as PSLE it's kind of early but now can rest and relax already!

All the best to those who are taking their SA2 soon!

Jolene,
Envy that your gal SA2 was over and congrats on her good grades. Mine just started with oral this week...still a long long way to go. In 1 months time.

BTW mummies, needs help on preparing for Sci subject. I see his textbook so thin, not much information/content I wonder how to teach him for his science subject. Then today I went to Popular bookstore, *faint* so many guides available, ended up leave the store empty handed. Any recommendation on the guide.

Hi Jolene,
Your gal had done well.
Congrats.

Hi JustJazz,
I think if you would like to get a guide, if possible you can stick back to the same publisher as the science textbook that your son used.

For example, my son is using i-science and I have asked him to read up on the i-science guide.

It has been a while since I last came in..too busy to post..
My gals are having their English Paper 2 today..Science tomorrow, Chinese on Thurs and Maths will be on Friday - that spells the end of the SA2..

I do not like the exam schedules..too rush and tight..we were having quite a few sch holidays earlier on..and now teachers are all rushing to complete their teaching. Not enough time to practise..my gal told me Science teacher just asked her to write down the MCQ answer with no explanation cos they are rushing to complete the mock papers.

The sch will close on 11 Nov..I also dunno why such early closure. Next week, they need not attend school due to PSLE marking days and School Exam marking days. I told my kids - we will still have to continue revising, and complete the assessment books esp for P3 Science and Maths..My gal needs to have stronger foundation in those concepts before moving on to P4 topics..

Avril - I remember yr son goes to Mindstretcher at Bishan for Science..how is the class? I asked my girl to sign up but she did not want..I find that she does not have exposure in answering the exam technique..fails to answer the correct/key concept..

JustJazz - I stick to Janet Sim. Quite easy to read. For extra reading material and good mapping concepts - I use EPH Science - Ultimate guide. It gives a very good summary at the end of the topic.

I agree that the School textbooks are useless - worse that Young Scientist mag..haha. I only use it when I need to find some pics reference cos it is colourful. My gal is using My Pal for her Science textbook. The sch does supply notes..but it find their notes very badly organised - n no highlights of key points.

I re-wrote the notes for my gals - so I must do my study as well...haha

bebe75,
your girl's school still supply notes.
the science notes that my boy brought home...can count using 1 hand.
he did a lot of copying in class on his nature study book.
i re-write/create notes on common mistakes for when boy was in lower primary. this year, getting lazy. let him do by himself...and he doesn't do any lor. i just flag for him to read through.

justjazz,
janet sim box set is thin and a quick revision for foundation - much more useful than the textbook. eph ultimate guide has more details but too overwhelming for kid to read by themselves for last minute refresher/revision. i find my pal PSLE guide (orange cover) to be a nice balance between the two.

RE EL compre
my boy is still borderline 5.5 or 6/10 for this section! help!!

bebe75, fz

dd's school zero notes given out. Science file incredibly thin. Spoke to science teacher, he said refer to i-Science, all the notes inside, faint! exam cannot start yet because haven't finish syllabus leh

Good morning bebe,

I agree with you that the exam schedule is too rush and tight. I don't understand why can't the school space-out the exam period - at least have a 1 day gap in between.

My dd's school have not even finish teaching all the topics in all the subjects and not mentioning her eng/math (form teacher) was on MC for almost 3 months. I can imagine that they must be rushing thru all the topics now.

Paper 1 will be this coming Thurs and Fri and the rest will start from 28 Oct and end 2 Nov.

For revision - how many hours do you set aside for your kids to do revision daily? Do you get your kids to revise on Sat/Sun?

valerie,
i know that some schools are testing CL until chapter 20. my kid's school is doing until chapter 18. next week 4 days no school and as of yesterday, they have not started the last chapter. i wonder how some schools manage to complete so many topics.

my kid's exam schedule is very spaced out. two weeks ago already started Oral. this week is compo. two weeks later is Paper 2. in between the paper 2, have break due to deepavali. so it is like 'stress for 1.5 mths'. but good side is have time for last minute revision.

there isn't much time to do revision on weekdays because school gives out past year revision papers. if no, it is like 2hrs daily. i get my kid to revise during saturday / sunday. past experiences are that nearer to exams, sometime crop up (eg he sick, i sick - i sick, he has to take care of his younger bro so that i can rest - playdate invitation, outings/shopping trips), so we try to cover as much revision as possible and then the exam week to gear down.

do your kids have tuition/enrichment both weekends? my husband that it is so poor thing that the kid have to study 7 days a week if we intend to space out 2 academic enrichment for 2 different days. i don't fancy having 2 in one day because very tiring for the kid.

Fz/YawnYawn - the school notes only 1 A4 page per topic..so u can see how brief it is. And different fonts and formats - really cut and paste kinds..no proper structure - my gal highlight the page with so many colors, until I ask her where is the key points/words??

This year, I do not really sit down and revise with her..She is pretty occupied with sch activities and homework and so we do not have much time together. For maths and english, I told her I am depending on the weekly mindstretcher tuition to revise her work. I only went through the worksheets with her if she needs guidance.
As for Chinese, she is attending the weekly enrichment class in school so I am also not helping out much in the revision. The only subject that do not have much guidance is Science..hiaz..so for this exam, we spent more time in Science - really last minutes' work.

I prefer to space out the exam dates - so that we can have time to catch up and do more revision, esp SA2!! The last SA1 schedule was so much better - 2 subjects per week.

FZ - my gal has her maths/English tuition on Saturday 9am - 1pm. I know the duration sounds very long but she already get use to it. I will ask her to do her tuition homework on weekday only after she finishes her sch work (inc spelling/dictation). As u can see, she does not have much time doing the assessment books that I bought for her. Saturday afternoon will be for her to rest/relax. She tries to complete her sch work by Friday evening.
Sunday morning she has music - and the rest of the day is family day..

Really pity the kids - they spent so much time in sch and yet things learnt in school are not sufficient for them to score or even pass the exam. If I only rely on their textbooks/workbook - I do not think she will pass PSLE. For school worksheets, it depends on the teacher. Those good one will go through with them..but with a class of 30+ students, it can be quite a challenge to make sure all understand.

hmm... i'm not too sure if my ds sch had completed the syllabus... for maths i think finished all the chapters... for science, understand that they did not teach Systems (think will teach in P4), instead they will be tested on Magnets. Thus those past yrs papers don't seem able to help him with revision because most of them covers Systems which he did not know a single thing about them. :p

fz, my 2 girls go to Tien Hsia on Saturday and Lorna Whiston on Sunday morning. They drag going to TH but enjoyed LW - I really have no idea whether it helps them but they enjoy going there since K1.

Seems like everyone is gearing up for SA2. I have outsourced Dd's Science and Ds' Maths to tutor. So now I am only in charge of Maths for Dd, and nearer to exam, throw them some English / exam chinese papers to do.

Next year, I intend to sign both of them up for more intensive tuition / enrichments. Wed pm - English + Science enrichment 4 hours. Sun pm - 3 hours Chinese. Fri night - Piano. One of the Weekday - Maths tuition for DS. Only Dd's Maths I'll still hold on to be her tutor. Not sure what I do with them is sufficient but working full time and teaching both kids really very tiring. Even if I want to teach, I will be struggling with the syllabus. Hopefully SA2, they will at least maintain their results.

maisy

English + Science at same center?
Classes back to back is good, save time, travel once. But can be more tiring

Chinese got 3 hours classes? Seems quite long.
I only know Jiang Education conducting 3 hours lesson. The rest usually 1.5 to 2 hours

bebe75, valerie,
i am now looking at EL enrichment for my boy. the better/popular ones are either fullhouse, weekday slots (which we try to avoid) or clashes with his Cl enrichment. my boy refuses to change his Cl enrichment slot because he said he likes the familiarity (maybe to students). the current EL enrichment that my boy is currently attending is nothing fantastic. teacher does not teach much nor very knowledgeable. i asked my boy if he wants to drop it until we find something better, he said no because he finds that the school EL lessons teach even less and wants to hold onto this EL enrichment for the time being. my husband said that i am overly concerned as son is still in band1, but i don't want to be in a situation that i start to panic when he drops to band 2. by then (upper pri), have $$ also cannot find vacancies in 'premium' EL centres. so now, my boy promises me that he will try to 'fill in the teaching gaps' by working harder and being more proactive to seek answers from his sch teacher and EL enrichment teacher. hope he remembers what he said.

yawnyawn
berries is 3hrs for P5 and above. so for long term, i cannot schedule back-to-back lessons with CL enrichment.

FZ - same, Systems and matters are not included..so I have to remove these questions when I get her to do past yr papers.

How long has yr son been with this EL enrichment? My gal also same..the only improvement I see, is her compo..at least she can get 11-12 out of 20. Compre is still her weak area..hiaz
I am like you, dare not give up her current timing slot..the weekend classes are very popular. It is also not easy to find back to back lessons..so I am holding on.

I am thinking if I need to get a private tutor to coach her in Science..but her daddy said then might as well get a tutor to come to our house and coach her in all the 3 subjects..but I like the maths worksheet from Mindstretcher. Presently, she is coping alright with maths (band 2) and I do not wanna make any changes in the plan lest it affects and jeopardise her results..

Thanks Bebe75, YanLing and Fz for sharing with me on the science guide. Will pop by popular to take a look again.

Actually I am clueless what has been taught to me son on Science in sch for he does not bring anything back home to do and those worksheets will only return 1 week before exam. I only know now he is on the topic of cycle now. Once i did the diversity subject with him on Living and non-living thing for his test.. only upon the received of his test paper then I realised that parts of the animals are taught too. But there is no sch stuffs in the textbook. Urgh...

Bebe, u are indeed hardwork to do up science notes for your kid. Keep it up!

My son is very weak in his comphension area esp chinese, he tends to answer in short sentence. Once he was asked about his views if the boy is obedient or not, and why.. guess what his answer is "Yes. The story said so." *faint*

I wanted to send my son for CL class, but he does not want to.

bebe75,
my boy is with this enrichment for 4months. class size is 1:10. it is just an enrichment portion of the usual student care ie their forte is in student care services. i actually see a drop in results as the level goes up (from P2 to P3). my boy said he is willing to drop only if i take over to teach him. i don't think i am good enough to teach language. the most i can is go through his mistakes so for the time being, depend on the materials that the centre gives (although we would prefer a better teacher or a smaller class size). his compre is weak too.

weekend classes are very popular. it seems like only those who signed up early gets to keep the slot as the kids progresses to higher levels.

it is not easy to get good tutors. and also tutor's materials, how up to date? my nephew's tutor uses off-the-shelf assessment books and past year papers. i am not about to pay 1-to-1 tuition for this kind of materials.

I just realised System is included in the exam topics..so confusing...Human System and Plant System will be tested this round.

Energy, Interaction and Matters (Cycles) are for P4..

FZ - the drop in results - could it be that the questions are getting more difficult than P2? The cloze questions are trickier. The compre passage for P3 are definitely tougher than P2..more of inferential questions.

Agree with you that it is not easy to find good tutors..and yes, it is hard to find good timing slot for P4-P6 classes, esp good tuition center.

congrats Jolene for your gal's good result.which school is she in ? with affiliated sec school so holiday will start 1 week earlier too ?

Just Jazz
For science, my gal's school recommended EPH Lower Block Ulimate Science Guide https://www.popular.com.sg/jsp/product/product_detail.jsp?vca001=265&vpd001=96619

The other one I bought is Renee Choong Science Companion box set also under EPH

Yen Ling
I have the iscience guide too but I never use it at all.

Maisy
I also keen to find out which enrichment you can have Science and Math at 1 go.

Bebe75
Right now is a good time to find the better tutors as PSLE student release them liao. My daughter very good lor, "sacked" her tutor last week and simply refused to cooperate.

I was lucky to get a replacement and the agency told me to keep this tutor all the way till PSLE. She is quite a lively teacher and my daughter enjoys her teaching.

Sigh, now we still have to talk about chemistry between the kid and teacher

chicken little

Haha! My dd2 also 'sacked' her EL enrichment teacher, citing reasons like teacher too fierce, class too early can't wake up. I must say she is really scared of teacher. Once we forgot to bring a storybook to class and we were already running late. Yet dd dragged me home from carpark to pick up the storybook because being scolded by mommy is better than being scolded by teacher

I'm back to hunting for another new English enrichment teacher

yawn yawn
ha ha my girl is a super take it easy attitude one. Never bring or never do she will handle it herself in school. It is me who is kan cheong and will follow up with the teacher

hi bebe, my ds was not taught Human System and Plant System yet. Instead he had covered Interactions (on magnets). That's why i find it quite confusing for most schools covers certain topics in P3 while my ds sch will bring it to next year.

for science guide, ds is reading EPH Lower Block Ulimate Science Guide, and he find it very informative.

Anyone have any good EL tutors to recommend? intend to find 1 for my dd.

natellehcim
Mine i saw her having human system and now they are revisiting on materials

see if u want to try the tutor agent Pauline at 9678 7819. My colleagues got a few good tutors from her. Better to call now to get those good tutors pple keep all the way to PSLE and just released now

actually i have the intention to change sch for my ds but looking at his science topics taught, worry he will 'suffer' in P4. Thus held back my intention.

Chicken little, thanks for the recommendation, will check it out with her.

Natellehcim
gear him up for this holiday to get ready to new school ? from which school to which school you are considering ? If it is for his own good, the next 3 years does play a big part of the primary school education.

By the way, in case anyone still need reference for oral
Monday - EL oral : my girl got a scene in food court ( think in mconline have something similar)

Tue - CL oral : it is in shopping centre and someone playing on the escalator

CL,
The enrichment is English + science (in the east). One after another. 2+ 2 hours, starts at 3.30 - 7.30pm so after school, they have time to bath and eat a leisure lunch. I'm a bit worry if it's too xiong for the kids but decide to try it out first. If they cannot cope, then I drop out one of the subjects. The problem is if I do not send them for the enrichments (while I work), they will end up 'nua' at home, watch TV and very often, FIGHT. At least weekend, if I've time, I just need to revise with them what the enrichment centre has done.

Chinese - I find it difficult to teach myself. 2 hr is actually qt short to cover everything from compo to oral, especially at upp pri. The kids went for a 3-hr trial class last week and enjoy it. My gal's chinese foundation is good (she tops the class for Chinese) so if she attends 3 hr class, then I no need to revise with her Chinese anymore. Ds Chinese standard is so-so but teaching him give me headache so I rather outsource.

my dd (P2) is with Just Education for 2hrs which combines eng and maths. But for next yr onwards, the 2 subjects got to be split, thus becoming 4hrs. Not sure will it be too taxing if the child have to have both continuously, back to back.

I think long hours is depending on individual kids. Some really enjoy being in class with their peers and learning together so the long hours will not affect them

For me my girl cannot focus so sitting around for such long hours will kill her interest.

Even at home when I do revision with her. I will actually give her lots of breaks in between.She will have that little motivation to work for her breaks

natellehcim,
i have the intention to change school for my boy too. and also very concern about the science topics. they did diversity and magnets this year while most schools already either done cycles or systems.
but that was last time la. even if now have vacancies next year as some students moved out to gep, my boy said he wants to stay put at his current school.

chickenlittle,
not sure if changing my elder's school is for his own good. but definitely for me good as the desired school is just 5min walk away, while the current school we need to take transport. and also if we transfer him, his younger bro stand to enjoy phase 1 registration, if not, i have to ballot for this school. but since he already open his golden mouth to confirm that he wants to stay put, he had promised me again that he will work hard - he said he feel that the new school should be good since i intend to register his brother, but at the same time, did not want to transfer. i cannot be unfair to him by forcing him to transfer for the benefit of the younger one, but i cannot be unfair to the younger one by tagging him on phase 1 of the elder's school without giving the nearer school a shot at balloting.

bebe75,
yes, P3 tricker compre and cloze. but if the marks drop that much from P2 to P3, how to last until P6? and also foundations for languages have to be established early.

maisydaisy,
my boy's CL enrichment is on weekends and we do try to arrange for make up classes on weekdays when we have activities on weekends. then i can see students still in school uniform, waiting outside the centre for lesson to start. my boy said some occasions, can see classmates dozing off in class. must be very tired for them.

for CL, i don't think the tutor or centre will cover compo every lessons. or do they?? :D

nat,
is justeducation good? is the class size too big? for EL, is your girl in Advance class? do they have compre and compo every lesson? TQ.

chickenlittle,
for home revision, i don't revise with my boy anymore. can vomit blood cos he likes to chat with me and fool around. i rather he only ask me when he faces problems. if i give him lots of breaks, it is difficult to get him to back to study mode after the breaks. but without breaks, myopic bites back. haiz.

hi fz, my ds covers the same topics as your child.... and also he wants to stay put with current sch knowing I intend to transfer him out.

For Just Ed, like their worksheets for they are 'manageable' for her, not too chim for her, unlike Mind Stretcher, think their worksheets are quite chim. My girl is just borderline average type, thus cannot stretch her too much. As for class size, think it all depends on locations. My girl's in Yishun branch and class size is not that big, currently think not more than 10. She is not in the advance level, put her in combine because she started the same timing and combination from K2 till now. Another reason is I can't make it to their other time slots for individual subjects, I can only bring her for lessons over weekends, for she is in PM session now and i work.

I'm consolidating dd's non academic enrichments. Plan to drop at least 2 to free up her time for next year.

Academic enrichment likely to reshuffle as many as possible to weekends. Now too many classes on weekdays. I want to spend more time with her on weekdays afternoon to bond 1 to 1 while dd2 is still in afternoon session.

I feel that kids are growing up fast. Although at this age they're still quite obedient & listen to parents. I'm not sure whether is there such a phrase called 'terror-teens' like the 'terror-2' we've all been through.
In any case, better race again time to 'brainwash' them with the right values and behaviour. Once they're in teens, harder to influence

yawn yawn
ha ha looks like yours are still manegeable.

Mine already talk back, negotiate and argue for rights.

so I cannot imagine when she reaches teen

chicken little

My dd is very argumentative & stubborn. She has been like this since toddler. Really drive me up the wall. We clash a lot at home. Although overall I would say she's reasonably obedient and still under my influence.

Now she's actually better behave compared to the prior few years. I hope to 'improve' further before she reaches teen.

natellechim, can share Yishun with branch for JustEducation? I am also thinking of outsourcing the teaching to others as I can hardly "control" my son these days to sit down and do revision work. What's the difference in the advance level?

Re:Science
Thanks for the recommendation mummies, I will go for the EPH ultimate guide then.

My son sch does diversity, magnets and now doing cycle.

Re:behaviour
My son is an angel in the eyes of the public and sch but at home is a terrible monster which I need to use cane.