(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi Fz and Yawn Yawn,
I get what you meant.

I am also afraid that If I don't send them, they(including me) might not be able to cope.

Time really flies.
It's time to go back to school.

Really don't know if I can manage to wake up early to send my kids to school on time.

I miss the school holidays....

first day of sch went smoothly...
no lessons until thursday for my boy.

Hi mummies, my gal has been sick since last weekend. She has tonsillitis and was running high fever. Fever managed to come down today..prob will let her go to sch tomorrow if she has no more fever by then. She is very eager to go back to school as she wants to know who are her new classmates n teachers.

Jolene,
my boy still honeymoon mood leh. only 1-2 easy piece of homework to do.

hothotmum,
hope your girl is not seriously hurt.

bebe75,
wish your girl speedy recovery.

Jolene: So fast has hw liao??? Mine still have not started teaching yet. Think will start today.

hothotmum: Is your gal ok?

bebe75: you must have been stressed. Hope she will fully recovered soon

fz & avrilf : Thanks. she is slightly better than the first day but a bit limping when walking.
Part of the reason she told me abt the fall, becos of the laptop she brought to sch. so poor thing.

FZ / Avrilf - She is much much better today..no more fever and regaining her appetite. We suspect that the nasty tonsil infection was cos of her finger biting habits. My gal kept biting her nails and we were so anguish when she refused to stop the habit even when we threatened to picture her nails on Facebook. Now, she learnt her lesson and promised not to bite her nails again. I hope she meant it. Hubby said he will keep the bottles of the antibiotic to remind her since she has phobia of taking antibiotics now.

Today is her her first day at school and she said her English spelling/dictation will start next Monday!

Hothotmum - glad to kn that yr gal is ok. She needs to bring laptop to sch?

Happy New Year to All!! Haven't logged on for a lo..ng. How's everybody doing? Our kids r in P4 liao! So scary... soon they will be facing that big 'hurdle' in their school life

My younger girl just started nursery this year, so now I hv 3-4 hours of 'me time' every morning - I'm loving every minute of it

Haven't hv time to catch up with the posts, but read that bebe75 and hothotmum's kiddo is sick/injured?

bebe,
didn't know finger biting can cause such infection. My dd also started her nail biting habit sometime last year. I nagged, scolded, threatened, cajoled.... all to no avail. Tried looking for that "bitter" nail polish but was told by the pharmacist that the item is banned for sale liao. It's so frustrating to see her 'ugly' nails. She is now banned from watching any TV until her nail grows. But its been a year, and she is still biting. Which also means she has not watched any TV at all for the past 1 year.

hothotmum,
I dun remember seeing your name previously. So a quick 'hi' to u. I've joined this thread for a while liao, but only logged in once a while. Mummies here are a friendly bunch, and very kind in sharing their experiences. I've learned heaps from them.

Yawn,
Where r u? How are your girls in their new school? U still send/fetch them personally, or have you put them on the school bus?

Mummies, I have 2 questions to seek your advice/opinions:

1. Tuition
What kind of tuition are your kids receiving? how do you decide whether to send them to tuition or not? if based on grades, what's the cut-off b4 u would embark them on tuition?

2. Higher chinese
Can a child who does not take higher chinese at PSLE apply to a SAP Secondary school (assuming that COP of the SAP sec sch. is met)?

Thanks again for your advice.

aly_nat: my son is having English and Science classes @ Mindstretcher. He is poor in writing composition that is why I put him there. As for Science, he is the one who requested though I dont think he need to.

He is also attending Chinese @ Hua cos chinese was his weakest subject in the past. He has shown improvement since attending their classes. Now I am hoping they can brush his chinese composition writing

Halo Mummies,

My son is sick thus he did not attend school today. Emailed to his Chinese teacher to ask if there is any homework he needs to do as there are 4 period of Chinese lesson today.

He replied he has taught up to 第四课核心单元所有的词语. Tonight we have alot to catch up before tomorrow class.

Starting to feel the pressure!

Avrilf,
Thanks for your sharing. I'm contemplating to sign up my dd for Chinese creative writing which is organized by her school with an external vendor. Trouble with these vendor is, I dunno if they are any good. dd is very resistant to any form of enrichment lessons. Very bo chup attitude, preferring to do 'just enough'. I'm more kan cheong than her.

Only 2nd week into the new academic year, and your son's teacher is already at 第四课!! So scary!

avrilf - yr son is already doing 4th chapter? Did the teacher skip the initial chapters though it is unlikely..

My gal..hiaz..dunno what to say..getting very picky abt food. Not sure if it is due to the recent sickness that make her loose her appetite..she eats very little, and worse still..start to fuss abt the veg. Ask her what she ate in sch, as she is staying back twice a week in sch - her replies, "harsh brown, seaweed chicken, fishball.." All these are finger food mah..

I kept telling her that she is growing..and soon will reach puberty..she needs to understand the importance of health diet..already skipping milk n cheese and I have to force her to drink soya n take yoghurt.

I am so fed up cooking for her..yesterday brought her to eat MOS burger..torturing to see her nibbling on the hamburger and struggling to finish it *faint*..

Hope kids who are down speedy recovery , get well fast to enjoy the CNY which is coming and it is a short short 2 days break but both my kids has a extra day.

Avrilf
Which school is your son in now ? Wow he is teaching so fast. My girl just finished first chapter only.

By the way, I am looking at bringing a new Chinese tutor recommended by my girl's enrichment teacher in nursery. She prefers to have a minimum of 2 to start in a group rather than 1-1. Anyone staying near Hillview and keen to do Chinese class ? Looking at evening timing on Wed 6 pm or Thur 7.30

Bebe75 & Chicken Little: That is what the Chinese teacher has replied. I was shocked too. Not sure if the reason is cos he is taking Higher Chinese. Feeling the stress

Chicken Little: He is in Rosyth now.

Bebe75: Think is the love for junk food moments for your gal.

Guess what!My son went to ask the Chinese teacher today. Apparently the teacher only completed 第一课 and only starting to teach 第二课.Thus the teacher realized his reply to me was incorrect.

一 and 四 hanyu pinyin is so different.Moreover our email correspondences were written in Chinese.

my boy received notice of chinese supplementary class already. the notice clearly stated what will be covered in the supplementary class (they are going to do extra reading from selected books followed by activities). so kind of relief that it is not a cover for slow syllabus teaching. luckily it is alternate week and not weekly.
and ends at 3pm only. so within walking distance, he'll reach home by 3.10pm, so not so bad.

fz
my dd will be staying back twice a week for extra lessons. I heard may be up to 3 times for certain weeks. Wow, p4 really becoming busier hor. I doubt I will sign her up for any CCA, otherwise she will be in school almost everyday, glee!

avrilf
dd's teacher still at 第一课, not finished yet
your ds teacher's hanyu pinyin cannot swim leh, haha!

aly nat

Not taking school bus because morning pick up time is ridiculously early & the round about takes way too long. So morning dh send, mid day I drop off dd2 & hang around abit to wait for dd1, evening another trip to fetch dd2. Gosh, need make so many trips in one day. Now I begin to appreciate their previous school, walking distance is really so much more convenient

regarding tuition, it's a 'must' for me regardless of grades. Just nagging my dd to complete school homework on time is already a big project for me. She's a very dreamy person so you can imagine my frustration. Impossible to get her to any 'extra' at home. Hence, I prefer to send her for tuition than to idle her time away at home. However, one important criteria when choosing tuition is 'no tuition homework', I'm not so dumb to sabo myself further, haha!

surprisingly dd's school actually recommended Chinese tuition, especially for potatoes like my dd. So I'm starting her on Chinese tuition this year. At a nearby RC with a native teacher. Not a popular center so class size is pretty small. I'm not sure how good is the standard. Just trying out. But fees is really cheap lor, only half of Berries. Let her try first, if her Chinese result still tank then I will consider stretching my wallet later

She's also continuing her Maths at another nearby RC. For English, the timing I want do not have sufficient students to form a class, so still considering what to do. But I definitely want her to attend some sort of English enrichment since my English totally cannot swim. I told her not to ask me anything relating to English in case I 越教越乱, hehe

Yawn
yes. Walking distance is really very convenient. My nephew's sch is sheltered all the way to his blk. Rain also no worries.

Maybe cos your girl in some olympaid training or what. That's why so many staybacks. I only know next yr in p5 will be worse. Our times no such thing one right?

Avrilf,
mindstretcher science good?

hands up whose kids have only 1 academic enrichment . Is it possible? Mine started with1 at p1, has 2 at p3. Signed him up for science recently to brush up on a particular topic. So Now 3 at p4. Not sure if wanna continue for psle purpose cos with second kid going p1, money no enough to go for enrichment for both.

FZ - Yr academic enrichment = tuition??
my gal has 2 since P1 (Maths and Eng)..wanting to add Science. Her Science foundation is not strong and I feel that the sch textbook only cover the basic. Looking at the exam papers, I think Science needs more enrichment than the other subjects. But she does not want..I also dunwan to stress her.

Enrichment is costly...so must do selectively. My #2 can cope on her own so I did not sign up any academic classes for her. She did tell me that she wanted to to Maths but Mindstretcher has long waiting list for weekend classes. I am recycling my dd1 Mindstretcher worksheets for her to do..esp the Mindstretcher maths problem sum..certainly much better than her sch worksheets. For English, I kept those useful compo writing notes eg compo, vocab, phrases and let both my gals use it as reference.

avrilf - Last night I talked to my picky dd1 and showed her pics of those people with malnutrition - falling hairs, unhealthy skin etc and then she told me she had shaky tooth which make it hard for her to chew. Alamak1!!

Anyway, I am keeping track of her dental development..as our dentist mentioned that she has to wear braces soon. Her school dental nurse suggested to wait till she reaches P5/P6 or when her remaining baby tooth fallen out. I think she has left abt 7-8 baby tooth to go..

bebe
my dd1 dropped all her baby tooth last year. The final one was extracted because new tooth came out but baby tooth refused to drop out. Dentist said she needs braces because of biting gap between her upper and lower teeth. However my dd already decided no braces because too scary to extract 4 teeth! She said she can chew wah, chomp chomp chomp till so chubby, haha! I agreed with her lah. I had braces only in my mid 20s. So I guess I shall wait till she's ready

fz
No maths olympiad yet. I think will only start in p5 for selected students. She's staying back for computer, art, etc those non core subjects. Somehow cannot squeeze into school hours. So everyone stays. It's not remedial lessons. For remedial, probably another separate day. My friend's ds who used to attend same school stayed back everyday! That's why I hope can skip CCA. She has absolutely no time management skills so cannot take on too many things, otherwise sure cannot complete school homework

bebe, fz
Understand your concern. Me too, got 2 kids so must consider carefully. Problem with RC tuition is they keep changing teachers. Last year teacher was good, a current school teacher. Value for money hor. But he's not teaching this year. Change teacher again, sian. Don't know new teacher's explanation clear or not

bebe, hi5!
I also recycle notes for my dd2. So hopefully no need to send her for as many tuition. She's quite on, want to 'win' her sister lor
However, for English, not sure how much she's absorbing even though got notes. English is not easy to self study

bebe75,
ya...academic enrichment includes tuition too. my ds2's 'rate of learning' is not as fast as ds1 and since ds1 only has English enrichment in P3, ds2 has no additional notes to refer to when he goes to P1 next year. thinking of signing him up for English too as Language is the core of most subjects. my ds1 resist adding science enrichment to his schedule as he claims he can self study, but i insisted on the Science one as it is for 1 term only for that particular topic. that 1 lesson showed him that there is much more he can learn from 'professionals' at a shorter time taken. while i encourage him to self study, but he takes up more time than if he is taught by someone who already knows.

Yawnyawn,
we are not impressed with CC's standard, so is RC any different? because the abilities of the student intake is very varied, difficult for CC's teacher to teach advance stuff. math can do cramping and science can memorise keywords, but languages i feel cannot easily be studied overnight, so english enrichment/tuition seems like a must. but strange that he needs CL and EL enrichment...i always joked with him,'your CL not good, EL also not good ah? how come?' :p

last year i spent about $200/mth for 2 tuition/enrichment for this boy. this year, changed English 'vendor' (centre) so up to $280/mth for 2 subjects. for this term only which includes science, it amounts to $400 a month. that is for 1 kid only. i still have a preschooler with 2 enrichment (1 non-academic) at $500 a month (include preschool and schbus fees).

Talking about academic/enrichment. I just changed new job and may work late, have completely outsourced all subjects except for Maths. My kids say they're v stressed with so many enrichment but it's necessary because I noticed when I didn't monitor them, they will watch TV for hours after school till I reach home. They also wait for me to come back before they do their homework. Sigh... so it's better they go for enrichment than idle away at home loh.

Cost:
In Dec, I sign them up for chinese, english and science. Cost me $3k for 2 of them. When my hubby told me how much he paid, I almost fell off my chair. And the $3k hasn't include their piano, badminton, speech & drama class. Burn a big hole in my pocket. I told hubby I change job, the pay increment has gone towards their enrichment!

Yawn,
Totally understand the school bus going round n round issue. Dh drops off dd1 in the morning, 15 minutes ride. Afternoon, school bus takes 50 minutes to send her home. If stay back, the bus takes 1.5hrs going ard before dd1 gets dropped off. So I've decided that on such days, she will take public transport on her own - 30 min.

Fz,
My dd takes Maths tuition with Just Ed. @$100/mth. As we r a single income household, I gotta think very hard about signing up for tuition. Hence the question of "how to decide when to outsource".

Hiaz.... Sign up - money no enough. Don't sign - worry whether dd up to standard or not

Aly - yr gal taking public tpt on her own?

MaisyD - $3k a month is a lot leh!! That's the thing abt FTWM, I m worried that if I go back working, kids will slack at home behind my back, or I hv to plan logistic arrangement to send them to classes after sch. Headache!

My dd1 is doing Maths n science $250 per month if I remember correctly. Amt is still affordable.

FZ - If yr ds2 foundation is weak, it is better to send him to enrichment class now.. At p1,p2 still got time to pick up n catch up.

My todder #3 is attending playgroup twice a week n his fee is more ex than his sisters $760+ for 2 month. But I find that he is benefitting from it so will continue unless I can find a cheaper alternative.

maisy
wow, $3k is a lot!!!

I'm spending $1k/mth for both kids, including music lessons. Already dropped their arts & drama classes, no time to send/fetch

fz
I feel that CC & RC standard can be quite good too. But must really try out lor. I've tried many lousy ones too, so quickly quit after 1 term. Unless I'm super convinced by a particular center, I'm usually quite reluctant to pay high fees

Surprisingly 'cheap' ones can be good too. dd1 used to attend CC creative writing before switching over to RC, because I want the paper 2 component to included too. dd2 is still with that CC writing class. That creative writing teacher used to teach in a branded center

aly nat
wow, your dd is very brave to take public transport. My dd said she is scared, hiyo!

Bebe75/ Yawn,
Yes, on her own.

I started planting the idea into her head since the Dec school hols. The idea has 'sinked in' n she's somewhat scared and yet excited about it. The extra lessons will start from Week 5. So I hv a few more weeks to prepare her mentally. But when the moment arrived n she backed out, I won't push it. After all, she's only turned 9 this last Dec

fz: My son likes Mindstretcher Science class. Throughout P3, his marks have been maintain at high of Band 1. If you want to see the notes, I can scan some for you

Yawn Yawn: We spend abt $400 per month for 3 subjects (English, Chinese and Science)

hihi mummies... been quite awhile last chatted in this thread. This year, kids in a new sch premise, due to PRIME prog. quite a distance from school, far not too far, near not to near, thus more headache. Morning dh will ferry them to sch but returning will try to make them take public bus, need an adult to oversee. Reason is because only 1 bus service at their school. Hard to get into bus with so many kids lo because most kids are staying around my area where the old school was. Plus there's a secondary school 1 bus stop away, those sec kids will have hard time getting onto the bus too....

had stopped Chinese compo writing for both kids this year, due to timing not 'gum'. So now ds only has enrichment on eng and maths. Dd (P3) will have all her eng, maths in Just Ed. and Sci with another center.

aly_nat,
we are single income too, so the additional science enrichment is stretching us abit there. hope we can resist and stop the programme once the course ends for this term (but my boy seems keen...).

for once every alternate week, my boy will have to walk home by himself as his dismissal time coincides with my younger one's dismissal time. my concern is that he'll have to walk pass 2 gates of the neighbouring sch, where there may be traffic. he did not want to take the longer route which has no gates, cos it is a bit deserted.

bebe75,
intend to rely on preschool for ds2's learning for now as no time to chauffeur ds2 to weekend classes cos busy chauffeuring ds1 (unless they are having class at same location eg Chinese). unfair hor? haiz...

avrilf,
if it is no trouble for you to try to scan, i'll pm you my email in a short while. thanks! does the Mindstetcher has different class for different syllabus since different schools teaching different topics?

yes...$400 per month for 3 subjects is about what i paid for too. but before we started science this year, my boy has Band 1 for science last year, so my husband questioning if there is a need to continue after this term. :p

natellehcim,
if your kids have friends staying at the same estate, they can go home together. you should remind them to stand away from the road kerb cos i find it dangerous for students to stand near there with many of them shoving and pushing. if the bus-stop before their sch is not too far, it may be less stressful to walk a bit so can get a seat or at least some standing room on the bus.

it is difficult to find enrichment/tuition class we like that has the slot we like. makes it more difficult to accomodate schedule of more than 1 kid!

Avrilf - I am keen to look at Mindstretcher Science note, can you email me as well?..been wanting to get my gal to sign up but she refused. Last year, I hv to sit down with her and went thru 2-3 science guides to come up with her own science notes. Her sch science notes are too brief and dis-organised. This year, she has to spend more time in sch due to CCA..I doubt she can spare time to do up her own science notes..

$250 is only for the 2 academic subjects..if I were to include her swimming/music..it shd be around $400 per mth for dd1.

FZ/natellehcim - agree with you that timing of the classes is also a crucial factor. We try to keep weekend noon/evening free..so Sat and Sun morning, we are sending our gals back to back for their tuitions/dance/guitar classes..sometimes my #2 will have extra dancing lessons during the exam or performance periods..it can be quite disruptive to the established routine.

Planning to drop their swimming lessons once they clear the next stage..it is quite tiring for us to rush to the pool after school. And also to free up more time for them to revise their work at home.

bebe75.
wow..your girl did science notes since last year? we did not do any science notes; i got my boy to read and highlight key points in 2-3 science guides. this science teacher got them to write some notes.
this year should be doing the same too. got him a note book to do science note taking in class, and it is pretty messy!

Ya when u sit down and start counting the amount we spent is alot for enrichment. That is why I still choose to work since I cannot teach my girl who will fight big time with me

Mon : Chinese enrichment $500/term
: Piano Daughter $155 / mth
Piano Son $120 / Mth
Fri : Swimming $90/ month each kid x 2
Sat : Math - K2 son ( $400 / term)
Phonics - K2 son ( $234/ term)
Tuition Daughter ($440/ mth)
Sun : Math - Daughter ($500/ term)

Monthly for 2 kids : $1155

On top of the above, I still have to pay student care for DD and childcare expenses for my K2 son

So expensive and so competitive and demanding to raise a kid in Singapore

Avril,
Do you mind send the science notes to me as well? I'll send you my email later. Where else does your ds go for his English and Chinese?

The problem is my 2 kids age group is close (1 year apart), so all the tuition expenses come in at the same time. Sigh....

read about the news of a P4 boy who got killed (road accident) outside the school gate. Can feel the pain of the parents
Makes me wonder if I should change my mind about letting dd come back by public transport on those days when she has to stay back. Perhaps I should just let her take the school bus.......

Do u think a 9/10 year old is too young to be taking public transport on their own?

Aly_nat
It depends on how independent your kid is. Mine has been so pampered and sheltered , she confirm not ready.

Even for the chinese enrichment she has outside the school , I got the bus driver to send her out and stop her along the road.

aly_nat
my boy took public transport twice last year once when i was sick and could not fetch him and the other time when his brother was sick and i could not fetch him. that 20min that i was waiting at home was pretty nerve-wrecking. if you have someone to wait for your dd at the bus-stop, maybe it'll be better?

i remembered last year, at the junction of a secondary school near my house, a taxi ramped into a tree just beside the traffic light. had to remind my boy not to stand too near to the road when waiting for traffic light to turn green.

hi mummies, I've always wanted my kids to take their own bus back to home after school but after this incident, my family members are against my initial plan. Current school is a temp place due to original sch under reno. Since day 1 this year, they will want an adult to oversee the kids to bus when home... thus my dh and a friend are working on 'shift' to help fetching our kids from school by bus.

Hi nat, any idea which school was the boy from as stated in the paper that is in Sembawang?

As for my dd, i observed her when we are crossing the road, she simply have no idea which direction to look and not aware of her surrounding. That's why my dh insisted that she take the school bus.

Is your son still taking Sakamoto math? Can the method be used in school?

hi Valerie,
the press already stated is Semb Pri at their current holding place, nearby your dd's sch. Ya my son is still taking Saka math w the same center. I think the method should be able too. Heard from my son, recently he applied the method in one of his test but he didn't get the papers back so not sure if it is accepted.

Oh dear, no wonder my dd said she over heard that some of the P5 boys from her school witness the incident and i thought cannot be as there is no school near hers leh. Blur me... Do you know which part is it.

So fast has math test liao... stress leh. I still have not start stressing on her since CNY is coming, told her to start her regular assessment at home wef 1 Feb 2012. Hope my plan will materialised.

valerie,
my boy will be having a poem recital this week..goes towards CA1 computation. i think after CNY, the engine will go full speed already.