(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Yawnx2
Re craftwork homework
I agree that such work are taking up too much time. I teach my boy to do such in a shorycut manner eg paste colored paper instead of colouring backgrd etc to save time.

Re silver
I only know diff btwn bronze n silver is latter has timing. We find it good exercise as my boy is generally quite nua type of person. But being realistic, if he can't attain silver by end of year, we will stop his lessons cos things like timing is not impt if he can swim already.

Juzzelle
I give my gals daily allowance of $2 (coins). They have a $2 note for emergency use. For my P3 gal, she has another wallet hidden in the school bag just incase she loses her pocket money or wallet get stolen in school. For P2 gal, I have not given her the "hidden wallet" yet as she is very forgetful and absent minded. I hv told her if she loses her wallet, she has to go to the General office to see her teacher and call me.

My P3 gal refused to eat during recess unless she is super hungry. She also cited long queue, dunno what to eat and always pestered me to prepare snackbox for her.

Yr son eats a lot during recess..maybe he is on growth spurt? I remember when I was abt P3 or P4, I ate a lot too..ha ha. I also find that their PE lessons tend to be more intensive than before..more jogging on the track rather than playing in the field.

I note that my P3 gal has grown taller over the last holiday..her head is now reaching my ear liao..whenever we go out, pple will think that I am her sister. Cannot treat her like little gal, she prefers to wear pre-teen clothes rather than princess dresses liao..

Tiger mummy
Maisy - I did not read the articles..but I believe I am also a Tiger mummy..cos Daddy is very nua and playful type. I think my upbringing also plays a part..my parents were very strict with us, in particular in our study. PILs are more relax and therefore they always think that I am kiasu, always nagging my gals to do assessment books, and sending them to classes. I told them, I already very moderate liao..only sent the kids to Nursery at 4yrs old, and enrichment classes are only when they are 5-6 yrs old. They shd see those enrichment banners - registration begins for baby at 18 mth!! When I told them, that I will scout nursery/playgroup for my boy next year when he is 18mth old...they said i very kua chang. I told hubby if he wishes to see that his boy has a better footing in P1..and we can hv a easier life thereafter..he shd support me. Furthermore, his son will be entering his alma mater, quite competitive and stressful..dunwan history to repeat itself like my eldest gal.

Cookiepie - Yr approach is the way to go...apply different parenting techniques for different kids. Some kids need to be pushed..some can strive on their own. As kids grow, we must also adapt our parenting approach accordingly.

CNY
Juz me - yes I have gotten 3 dresses liao last weekend. Actually I mean to buy a top and go with jeans as this year theme for us will be casual - jeans. But MIL bought a set of traditional CNY clothings for my boy..cannot fit into our denim jeans theme. Hence, I have to get cheong sam for my gals.

Goodies - bak kwa and love letters are definitely a must for us..we do not stay at home during CNY..so we dun stock up much goodies. This year, I do not even bother to decorate the house since this is just a rental apartment. Hence no CNY mood at home. But when I go outside..everywhere I go, I can hear the Dong Dong chang..new year song..make me wanna shop and shop..ha ha
Anyone can recommend bak kwa this year? I dunwan queue for Lim Chee Guan..and BCH quality tends to compromise during peak period. Fragrance is defintely out - got from them last year but it turned moudly before we got to eat them.

Next week CNY and long wekend..all the spelling and ting xie all being pushed forward..so now I gotta nagged my kids to study them.

Swimming
FZ - I also consider stopping swimming if their schoolwork is compromised. My gals just started swimming last holiday..yet to take any exam. Currently, they can swim the basic styles but not good enough for exam. I know it is very tiring for them to attend swimming lessons on weekday..but so far they do enjoy the lessons. However, if they cannot cope with their schoolwork, swimming classes will be the first to go.

Thank Thanks mummies for the inputs on extra $$ for sch for emergency. I think I will have this extra placed in the Sch bag instead of inside the wallet from now on.

CNY Clothings:
this year, DS requested for long sleeve shirts, hence got his 2 pieces already with causual khaki coloured pants.

CNY gooides:
I think I am a terrible mummy who loves to snack, hence got quite a fair amount for my own consumption - Bak Kwa, pineapple tarts (DIY-finished alread), seaweed rolls, love letters (made by mum), kueh bangkit, kueh bulu .. I have yet to buy the melon seeds still. Everything buy a bit here and there, then got festival mood mah.

hi mummies, can i ask...

in the midst of completing their assessments, if they encounter challenging qns, what would they do? Would they come and ask u and u guide them through OR would they attempt the qns first and then you mark for them later and they do their corrections?

I am just wondering which is a more effective method to ensure that the child learns better...

mom,

i don't have the time to entertain his questions as and when he has them, so i told him to attempt all questions and circle those in doubt. after i marked them, i will get him to try again after i explain to him. don't like him to come running to me for each and every difficult questions without trying.

Hi fz,
that is what i do too but my dd is just not motivated to try first...my guess is she is too lazy to do corrections if she attempted wrongly...so how should i motivate her to try challenging qns on her own first without coming to me? *scratch head*

hi mom,
i am the tiger mom in this sense. i dunno how to motivate my boy to do his work or try. it is his duty. i will not mark his work unless he try. even if he does not know, he must still put an answer and give a reason for that selection. else i will not mark and his 'in-tray' will pile up and (according to him) my volcano will erupt. however, when he tried, i will praise him for the effort. his dad's praise works wonders to his motivation.

Hello, mummies! Good morning!

Wow, so many, many posts. Haven't got time to go through all. Sound like all our P3 kids going through transition time - more homework.

CCA - my dd's school has their CCA planned into the curriculum time, on Fridays. Only those participating in school teams need to stay after school hours for additional practice. I like this, but sometimes wonder how the school manage this, especially other schools operating within the same hours seem to cramp lots of academic stuff within the academic hours. But her school not very strong academically lah.

My gal opt for handbells, but don't think she can get in leh
. She's really keen, and I'm wondering how to help her get over the disappointment if she did not get selected. Any advice?

CNY clothes - dd is now into pre teens clothes. Very fussy, don't want anything "kiddy". All she wants is clothes from OP kids and the likes - skorts/ denim skirts with t-shirts, or simple designed dresses. Mummies with 8/9 years' old gals, where do u buy their CNY clothes from? Can share? I don't enjoy shopping, and am at a loss where else to look for suitable clothes with simple designs.

Fx,
I like your advice regarding short-cut in doing craftwork. My gal also spend a lot of "unnecessary" time in her craft work. So I told her to do her other homework first before she start on her art n craft homework.

Yawn,
Is your dd preparing for silver level swimming exams? Do u hv any idea how the new exam model is conducted? My dd's swimming instructress is not keen to be the first few in the market to arrange for exams leh. She said the certification process is still very "unsettled". It is no longer certified by any swimming bodies.

Bebe,
My gal also don't want to buy from canteen, citing lame excuses. She has bread for both breakfast n recess. Sometimes I wonder if she really did finish her bread in school

Ya, I have bad experience with Fragrance bak kwa, too. And it was not even during CNY time. Their bak kwa turn moldy after a few days!! They are much cheaper then most other known brands.

alynat,
Same for my dd. She outgrew those sweet frilly dresses. She condemned jeans and pants (cos 'jeans are for boys') unless it comes with flower embroideries that looks obviously for gals. I like to buy from overseas spree (Gap, ON, gymboree has nice simple girls clothes in summer/spring collection) and FOX (during sales, it's cheap and good). I buy the skirt-shorts, yoga pants, tights/leggings, dresses and t-shirt. And my dd is very tall (137cm) so I've to buy teen clothes for 10-11 yr old. The kids department in S'pore either doesn't have her size (too short) or it looks too kiddish for her.

Aly-Nat
ha ha my girl just walked into BloomB and chose all her dresses from there.for few years , we have been buying her dresses from there.

Mine too try to go by easy way out and circle on her book that she dunno without trying. So she jsut kenna from the Tigeress mummy to finish up even though I have to stay up till midnight with her.

Challenging questions
Like FZ, I will ask my gals to attempt all questions. For those questions which they dunno how to do, I will go through with them separately.

Aly nat
Now, I get my P3 gal’s clothings from Fox, OP, cotton ON, Zara, GAP and Mango (XS size). Their Daddy will also shop for their clothings in US as it is a lot cheaper there. Sometimes I bought via Spree.

aly_nat,
are there any other 'similar' cca to handbells? my boy is very interested in robotics cca in his school which requires audition. i told him to take a look at infocomm which deals with computers. just want to divert his attention in case he can't get in his first choice cca.

RE Recess
my boy has been having bread for recess since P1! lolz. he only weighs 22kg..... but is otherwise healthy.

RE CNY clothes.
luckily mine are boys. we still shop at Giordano.

Challenging sums: my gal will give up easily when she encounter more challenging sums! She will even break down and cry! I always tell her she must try no matter whether the answer is right or wrong! I always emphasis to her that all humans are not born to be smart but we learn thru our mistakes and don't repeat it again!

challenging sums
I asked dd to peek at the answer sheet at the back of assessment if she's unsure & see if model answer makes sense to her. It's either she peeks or I peek. My Maths so-so nia hence I always refer to answer sheets

fz, aly nat
Not sure about the new silver test leh. I stopped her swimming lessons after she passed bronze in P1. She was in afternoon session the last 2 years so very rushed to make it to evening lessons. I'm contemplating whether to kickstart her lessons again since she's now in morning session. dd is keen to continue learning

fz
I agreed with you, as long can swim, timing not as important. That's why am half-hearted whether to continue with silver. I need at least 2 hours to & fro even though lesson is 1 hour, it's a 20 minutes walking trip to swimming pool one way, I feel tired just thinking about it, haha!

chicken little
our dds around same height. Experiencing growth sprout

yawnyawn,
i use answer sheet to mark all my boy's work. he knows about it and used to complain that he puts in effort but i do not. then i told him that i had had my psle and he had not, so i am not obligated to go through it again. then he kept quiet. :D

Re swimming
my boy just passed his bronze, although i have not got his cert yet. since the swimming pool is just across the road from my place - 10min walk, we kept the lessons as a form of alternative exercising during weekend.

re bedtime
my boy now sleeps at 10pm! haiz. last year was 8.30pm.

Yawn Yawn/ Chicken little - yr gals are very tall leh!! My gal is only 133cm but weigh 30kg. She has put on some weight during the holiday, esp after taking swimming lessons.

Thanks, mummies, for sharing on clothes for gals. I find it hard to buy clothes for dd locally. I like to stock up from Australia. Just that for 1st 2 days of CNY, I prefer something more dressy than just the usual jeans n t-shirt lor

fz,
dd's school requests that student indicate 2 choices. Her next favorite is art n craft club. 2 different type of cca lor. think she's thrilled by the sound of handbells.

fz/yawn,
Did your boy takes his swimming tests under the new scheme? under the new scheme, is it true that your instructor just appoints a fellow instructor to conduct the tests? How much did you pay for the test?

My dd cleared her bronze last April under the old scheme. I stopped her swimming class since last Nov. This year, her school has compulsory swimming during PE lessons, but only a Certificate of Participation will be given at the end of the year. No test. So now I'm thinking whether to continue her private lessons or not. Like fz, Im also thinking of letting her continue as a form of alternative exercise. 1 stone kill 2 birds

my dd is 140cm, weighs ard 26kg. She's got very good appetite, but still look like a stick. However, I'm thankful that she is healthy.

For some strange and unknown reasons, I just found out today, that my dd is put in the higher chinese class. Her CL written work is ok, but her oral is very weak. She manage a low band 1 in P2. Im thinking of opting her out of the higher chinese class. What do you mummies reckon? Can I, and should I? Thanks in advance.

aly nat

Which sch is yr dd in? My gals' sch has handbells..not easy as in they hv lots of training after sch hours. My P2 gal told me she has been selected to join the gym CCA. Not compulsory but recommended. I am not sure if I wanna let her go, as I know that gym is also another time demanding CCA. I hv seen gals staying back in sch till late in the evening for training.

Ytdy after my gals came back from swimming, I had to hurry them to finish their homework, esp P3 gal. Dunno if she was tired or she did not understand her work, spotted many mistakes after she had completed.

yawnyawn, hi5
my son just turn 5 is about 125 cm. ha ha i am only 160 so i will soon be the shortest at home. they follow daddy's genes who is at 180 cm.

They are both slim not like round round mummy.

Bebe
my kids after swimming will be very tired so my Sat is a rest day for them. They can sleep for hours after swimming

aly_nat,
i'm not sure about the scheme. my boy's swimming 'centre' do have their own inhouse 'testing' at the end of every term before the bronze testing. they have yet to give me the bronze cert, so i am not sure if he really took the bronze test. i was not told to pay any fees.

RE Higher CL
My boy's oral and compre is also quite weak although he can do written work through practices. he is already spending more time than what he is spending on other subjects, doing CL work. But, he enjoys his CL class lessons very much - i guess it's because he likes the teacher. If he can do higher CL, i may let him go ahead and then decide again at P5 if it is worth the time.

Bebe, Chickenlittle,
my boy's swimming is on Sat evening. very relaxing. after swimming we usually go out to eat or grandparents visiting. no stress at all. i always like the weekends. weekdays are too hectic with all the late dismissals, spellings and homework.

Wah all your kids so tall. My gal was 137cm last year and she is the tallest in class. Maybe now have grown taller since everyone has grown to ~1.4m. Nowadays the kids are shooting up.

alynat,
I think you should let her have a go at Higher Chinese. If want to drop out, can opt out by P4/5. Meanwhile, treat it as extra tuition to boast up her foundation. My kids are in SAP school and so far they manage HC well. I guess kids will somehow adjust themselves to maintain the standard. The chinese teacher say, starting P3, there will be no more Zao Ju in Paper 2. Not sure if more weightage given to Compo.

Mummies with gals:
Do your gals wear singlets and shorts under their school uniform? I bought for my gal but she refused to wear ; ( She say very hot and nobody in her school wear. Stubborn fella.

Chickenlittle,
Where's BloomB?

maisy

my dd wears shorts under her skirt. Either PE pants or gai-gai shorts.
She refuses to wear sport bra type of tube top though, said too hot

Hi maisy

I buy those boxer panties for my gal! I let her wear singlet starting from this year but she comment it's hot but I still insist that she wears it!

Hi maisy,
I bought sports bra for my gal but she refused to wear too ...complain it makes her hot & itchy .... I'm at my wits end.

RE: SHOES
For mummies with gals, where do you usually get their gai-gai shoes? I used to buy from OG but she hits the max kid size 24 last year. She's now wearing adult size 6 (really big foot) considering I'm only size 7!!!! I have no choice but to get adults shoes for her. Then she complain adult shoes not cute ....

Higher Chinese
Agreed with FZ and maisy daisy - if yr child is given a chance to do it, then let him/her try out. If really cannot cope, it is still not too late to drop at P5/P6. My gal is attending extra classes in sch to supplement her higher chinese..I take it as free tuition for her cos I do not know how to teach language subject at home.

My gal has no problem in reading Chinese..her main weakness is written and oral. The school only starts Zhao ju (sentence making) this year. And P3 has chinese compo..so it is a big jump for us.

Maisy - My gal only wears the boxer panties. She has a pinafold over the top blouse so it will be very hot for her to wear another singlet. But I have prepared her that she might need to wear singlets soon..esp P4/P5.

Cookie pie -Yr gals hitting size 6 for her shoes? Mine is adult size 3 or size 4 (smaller cutting). Not easy to get shoes for their ages. I usu get from cotton ON or those shophouses at HDB central. Sometimes I see those adult ballet flat pumps at departmental stores..I will ask her to try. Adult shoes are much cheaper than kids' shoes//

FZ - I am also trying to looking for weekend swimming class. Unfortunately, my gals only wanna stick with the current coach and his weekend classes timing and venue do not suit us..

Thanks all for your advice. I bought the boxer shorts panties but she refuses to wear. I must use my TLC to psycho her again. sigh....

re: Shoes
My gal wears only crocs shoes + Nike track shoe. She also has a pair of flat pink adidas shoe (not track shoe) that I bought from Queensway shopping centre. But she still prefers her crocs as it's more comfortable and easy to wear. She's wearing around adult size 4 ~ 5. I can't expect her to have small feet as mine is size 9!

Bebe,
Which Cotton On do you usually goes to? Haven't check them out before.

Boys are much easier. Just t-shirt and pants. And even if the tee or pants are worn or torn also never mind - cos looks more rugged and 'shuai qi'... haha. I always buy big big t-shirt so he can wear for a few years - from loose fit to just nice. My hubby say I 'pian xin' always buy clothes and accessories for my dd but not my ds. I told him all the boys clothes same leh, only different colour, not very 'enticing'. My gal got so much hair band and clips alone, storing them alone need 1 small carton.

Re higher Chinese
Thanks mummies for your advice. Hb also feel that we should let her hv a go. Guess I'll see how she progress and do in her SA 1, then decide. Dd did express her desire not to do, citing more ting xie words to learn. Hmmm, that's not a valid reason, hor
. For me, I feel bad when I see her struggling with the language. And I'm not disciplined enough to communicate in mandarin with her.

Also, I think dd may hv mistaken the infor. She was the one who told me that Lao shi said their class in taking HC. But last night, when I check her CL textbook, it is not 高级华文 leh. Maybe Lao shi just make them do more ting xie words, that's all.

Maisy, how do u prepare your kids in Chinese? SAP school Chinese very cheem, right.

Yawn, your girls also SAP school, right? how do u teach Chinese to your girls?

School shorts
My gal also wear those boxer panties under her pinafold. Hv not ask her to wear those tube top bra cos her school uniform also comes in a pinafold. Think 2 layers is sufficient to provide modesty cover for now. Mummies, how to decide when our girls should wear junior bra (or the likes) ah? These day, I make sure dd's tops are not too thin, cos she has not start wearing singlets or junior bra. My dd very "chor lor" kind. Always hv to remind her to sit properly, especially when in public and/or wearing skirts.

Shoes
My dd wear adult size 35. Think that's size 3/4, right? Very difficult to find shoes for her. Like her clothes, now she don't want "kiddy" shoes. Also don't like her Converse sneakers anymore. she's now into ballet flats.

Recently, DMK had a sales range of adult ballet flats that comes with a strap over the front. Very soft material, $16.90. Quite nice. Smallest size is 35. A little big for dd, but the strap hold the shoe to her feet nicely. The other place is Colette at Vivocity. Sales price $19.90, I think. Biggest size 35.

Bebe,
Cotton on shoes comfy or not? Dd very fussy with shoes. If it cuts or bites, she will refuse to wear them
waste my $$.

Maisy - I usu go CottonON kid at united square. Sometimes will also patronise their sale outlet at Anchor Point.

Aly nat

Cotton On shoes are so-so..not really comfy but for that price..good enough for casual wearing. Kids outgrow their shoes size very fast..dun wan spend too much $$ on them.

bebe75,
Yah, my gal is wearing adult size 6. She currently wearing size 37 for her school shoes. She is either close to 140 or over 140cm (haven't measure her height for a while) & weighs 35-36kg. Very "big size".

maisy daisy,
Where do you usually get your shoes? My good friend is a size 9 & she has problems buying shoes in spore. So whenever she comes across a design that she likes & has her size, she buys a pair of each colour!

aly_nat,
I will keep a lookout for DMK sales.

cookiepie,
For my gal, I used to buy from OG, Crocs (most often) and Royal sporting house / Queensway shopping centre (sports shoes/sporty walking shoes). For myself (size 9), can get from most shoe shops but some designs (pointed toe) doesn't fit me because my feet is wide. I like to buy from Raffles place shoe shops and CK Tangs. Casual shoes - I wear crocs or sandals so still can fit in.

re: Chinese
My kids didn't complain and can cope. Maybe because right from the start they learn HC. I send them to Berries. At home, my hubby go through with them daily work and I read chinese stories for them. Once in a while, I ask them to read Hao Peng You aloud to hone their oral skills.

aly nat

Nothing intensive leh, I revise spelling list with her and ask her to do assessment book if there's spare time. This year yet to start any Chinese assessment books. Her school gave plenty of worksheets, I feel that it's sufficient practice

I did more hand holding when she was in kindy, because she cannot recognise Chinese characters. By P1 seems ok, catch up liao. Her vocab is confined to MOE syllabus only & she's still a potato, never speak Mandarin or read any Chinese books. Surprisingly, her kind of standard can get band 1 in exam so I think HCL is not very tough yet at this level. Maybe at P5 P6 will see true colour.

If can opt out, I may opt out, need to see her result then

Yawn,
Same same. I didn't do much for chinese (except 10 min bedtime reading everyday) and they both manage to get band 1. This year onwards can see the difference cos they supposed to write 1.5 page compo. Yday she came back with her chinese compo. Surprisingly, she could write out a decent compo and score quite well.

Maisy Daisy

I also have broad feet, and my right foot is broader than left foot very ma fan to buy shoes..in btween size 6.5 to 7.5. But I am a sucker for pointed covered 3 inch heels..will go crazy over ALDO and Ninewest shoes. Now I am not working, I wear opened toes sandals, esp fitflop sandal which are quite comfy.
This year CNY, as I am carrying my baby, I dare not wear heels..can only settle for flat pumps. Hiaz..

YawnYawn
My P2 gal is also a potato..cannot speak chinese..she speaks "piece by piece" and has difficulty remembering those chinese characters. Now she has to attend chinese remedial class in school. Tell her if no improvement by SA1, I will have to get her a tutor liao. I bought 2 P1 Chinese assessment books last week..I think she needs to up her Chinese foundation right from P1 books..simple chinese words like 写字, 校长 she cannot read. Really gek sim.

I must learn from Maisy Daisy to get her to read chinese book nightly before bed.

My P3 gal just did her first Chinese compo. I saw her using 成语 like 小心翼翼, 感激不尽 was quite impressed leh..but when I read the whole compo, it does not sound too right..the structure is there..but the flow seems not there. I will hv to wait for her teachers to mark and see their standard..

bebe,
Wah, your gal can use cheng yu for compo. Good leh. Is she taking HC? I bought the Cheng Yu comics for my gal but she didn't seem interested. Heard that using cheng yu in chinese compo will get extra marks.

I would like to know whether any of your children are using electronic dictionary (English and Chinese)? Can you please recommend the model that is suitable for primary school children? Most of the girls in my gal's class bring it to school for English and Chinese classes.

Happy CNY to all Chinese Mummies and Happy Holidays to those not celebrating this event!
Let's rest well so we can catch up with our kids' hectic schedule for the remaining of the year!
Huat Ah!

Happy Lunar New Year to all...hope this yr will be a yr filled with happiness, health, prosperity n luck for u n yr families..

Happy CNY to all of u
Gong Xi Fa Cai.
Wishing all our kids to do well in studies and all their other activities.

Time files when in festival mood. We are now so-called back to start our engine again.

Have anyone tried Sakamoto method before?

I am thinking whether to attend their Chargeable Parents Workshop on 26/3/2011 Saturday.

Time : 3pm-630pm

Course Fee : $75 ( Refreshments will be provided)

Avrilf,
I visited their Simei branch before. I didn't like the service.

May I know if you allow your kids to watch tv on weekdays? If yes, how often / how many hours? My ds keeps asking me to turn on Tv for him. He says he is bored in the morning.

maisydaisy,
my boy only watches 'Tricky' TV on wednesday. that's all; there is nothing much at Okto and we don't subscribe to cable. I asked him to choose between half hour PC time or TV time daily and he chose PC time for other weekdays except wednesday. if he finishes his school (and my work) satisfactorily way before bedtime, i'll 'reward' him with extra PC time. :p

avrilf
yeah, my dd attended for around 9 months. Already withdrawn. Not very satisfied with that center

maisy
weekdays morning very busy leh, no time to watch tv. I allow them to watch doramon on weekends

Ds can sit in front of the TV for hours in the morning and again when he is back at home after school in the evening. He will claim that he is bored and has nothing to do in the morning (he's in pm session). He also complain that I send him to English enrichment on 1 weekday morning and so he has no time to himself (to watch tv, not read / do homework!!). Sigh... Must control him to be more discipline.

Mine too can sit in front of TV for hours.I am trying to cut down too.

Sigh just got a chinese test on 1 Feb and my girl is having a second chinese test on 17 Feb. On Yuan Xiao, cannot enjoy CNY fully, mummy still on holiday mood man