(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi hi mommies,

Coming in here to de-stress!!...Ever since comimg back from Japan during the June hols, my dd's mind still in holiday mood.... worse is that we received a call from her teacher to says that her attitude has changed. Very careless n defiant!

Just received another call from her teacher!! Aiyoh...while doing some magnetic experiment, (they were given a box of several items) she lit up a match and burn another gal's finger
.....Spoke to teacher n my gal over the phone. She was crying quite badly. Teacher wanted to know Y she lighted the match. Could only tell teacher that she's mischievous lor. Told her to apologised to teacher n her classmate. Called up her classmate mom to apologised too. Haiz.... She's really getting out of hand....

Thought that by being SAHM now, I have more time to monitor her...We have tried the hard (caning, scolding) n soft approach but its not working. Wonder if its early rebellious stage....more to come during her teens...Faint!!

I notice my dd has changed in her behavior and learning attitude as compared to P1. She used to write very neatly but not now; she is very impatient with things if she is not interested; when I scolded her for not being obedient she talked back; she appears to have difficulty in waking up in the morning now but it never happened when she was in P1!
Recently, she kept asking me for spectacles saying her vision is poor. Brought her to optician but he said her eye sight is still acceptable. She has been asking me for permission to have facebook account as her friend told her it is very fun there. Since last week, she is asking me to buy her iPhone if she obtained good result at yearend!
Asking her why she kept asking for spectacles, facebook account and iPhone, she said her friend have all the items but she had none.
How should I handle her? Very worry when she grows older...sigh...

yoshi

I think your dd is just mischievous, didn't mean to cause any harm. Did you ask her what happen?

horse

my dd1 talked back to me since she was 5yo, if that's any consolation to you

as to learning attitude, I noticed she's rather slag since beginning of P2. In fact she hardly prepared for her SA1 & then got stressed over her less than satisfactory results. I hope she learnt her lesson the hard way

She hasn't ask for handphone yet. I'm still using a nokia from 4 years ago! If gonna buy iphone, I think I should get one for myself first

Hi Yawn Yawn,

I went to pick her up from school today so that I can see her classmate's finger. Luckily, there were no burnt mark. That girl did not even cry. It was my daughter crying her heart out. Must be feeling very guilty n bad

I discuss with hubby b4 picking her up from school. We agreed not to scold her as she was already feeling very sad and tired from her crying. So hubby asked his usual question "how was school today?" Usually she'll says "great or good". Today, she replied "so so".

When her teacher called me, I was more worried for the classmate whose finger was burnt. As I mentioned in my earlier post, the teacher asked me y my daughter would light up the match! Complain that her handwriting getting worse, more careless mistakes in her work for this term....I have my queries which I did not ask the teacher as she asked my daughter to speak to me on the phone.

Queries such as if its a magnetic experiment, y do they need a filled match stick box? Wouldn't a empty one make do? By giving the students filled match boxes, weren't they be tempted to lit one and see what happens? My daughter has never come across a match stick b4. Guess she was very curious. After discussing with hubby, we realised that she might have copied what Sid in Toy Story 1 did when he lit up the match, wanting to light the rocket launcher attached to Buzz lightyear. (She watched the DVD many times)

Hi Horse,
Hubby n I also discussed that we wouldn't want to raise a robotic child today. We wouldn't want her to do everything that everybody says to do. She ought to question and seek answer for herself. After today's incidence, I hope she will still like her school. My daughter has also been taking back to us since very young. Sometimes, when I'm tired and she talks back non stop, I'll ask her to "Shut Up" I know it's very bad...but it gets on my nerves.

She has a sony hp when she goes P1. Her dear daddy worried that his precious dd got urgent matters that need to contact us....She wanted a facebook account too but I refused to budge. Warn her of the dangers lurking at social website. Told her her details are to be kept private for safety reason as we won't know if there are any predators around! The only games sites i allow her to go is playhouse disney (which she outgrows) & Moshi Monsters. She will also sometimes surf youtube.

I've been very tied up with work since school re-opened last month. Hope to post here more often. Would like to share that mph at parco millennia is have 30% off for all children books, quite a good bargain if you're considering getting story books for your kids.

My gal also getting more defiant ...can see the attitude change as compared to P1. Has the teenage rebellious stage been brought forward???

My dd has been asking for a mobile phone. Asked her why she needs it, her reply : so that she can play games. Then i told her that mummy only has a hp when i was 28, so she has 20 years more to go...hee..hee..

Whenever i said no to her requests, she will complaint : What i want also cannot... and forgeting about all those request that were being fulfilled.
kao_sad2.gif

Valerie
My dd argue with me. She said I have handphone at 25 doesn't mean she has to follow me. She quoted me saying that we should seek to improve ourselves and not compare with others. Er... So having hp is considered an "improvement"?!

Wow Maisy Daisy, you dd is really very worldy leh.. She has the quality of a debater, can mould her to be one. Whereas mine, still abit blur blur.. Something i wonder which is better.

I personally dislike children taking back and i am afraid when she does, i do not know how to handle it..Sigh, being parent nowadays is really not easy..

Thought children are not allowed to bring hp to school so how do your children get to know so much? My son still does not know abt iphone.

However I gave my old sony ericsson hp to him for emergency use.

Do you think these days children are easily affected by peer pressure?

Hi Maisy Daisy,

Maybe to her, a hp is an improvement to her quality of school lifestyle esp when most of gd friends are talking abt the latest gadgets they have.

It is not easy to teach our child not to compare what others have and they dont. Like us, they will only compare what they like.

avrilf

I think peer pressure is a big thing to kids! I guess only if the child has stellar self confidence or personality bo-chap type then possible to avoid being overly influnced by peers

I've been tatooing into my dd's mind NOT to follow her friends, like it became a bad behaviour to her lor

Hence, she doesn't really bother about what other children have although she would tell who has which type of school bag, not implying she wanted to buy one too, just sharing of info if we happen to discuss which school bag to buy

The only time she asked for something is Geronimos books because everyone in her class have a few books except her

Luckily my dd has requested for things like hp but she will not insist or kick up big fuss. After grumbling a bit, she will forget. Basically she is happy go lucky. V different from my son. If I scold him the night before, he will remember and want to talk about the issue till it's resolved.

Can ask which school will stream and band the students based on results at P2? My friend was telling me a few schools like Temasek pri and St anthony do that.

That's good to know.

By the way I have gone to Mindchamps free workshop. Dont find it impressive. At this stage they only concentrate on English and strengthening their memory skills. It is also not cheap. You have to pay $3k for the full course either in full or by free installment plan.

Maisy Daisy,

My son's school does not stream at this stage. Not sure if they will stream at p4 level.

Currently @ P2 they are identifying the child's strength and place the child in either IT, Music, Art, Sports or Social Action class.

My dd's school has streaming this year based on results. At end of P4, there will be another round of streaming to drop higher Chinese if students didn't reach the required marks.

Maisy
NYPS has streaming this year too. So my girl and her friends are praying hard that their results are close to be in same class.

Handphone
Hb just gave my girl one 2 months ago. More for me to contact her since she started her CCA. It is switched off during lesson and she will only switch it on when she is being released after her CCA. We did not give her the iphone but just a normal phone as we know she will surf youtube etc.
She is only allowed to bring on days of CCA.

Talking Back
I already cannot remember when she started talking back but I suffered it long long time ago. Once she talked back, I just say it is not suitable for us to continue conversation since we will both be emotionally affected. Then after we both cool down, I will tell her it is not right then she will come up with her reasoning but usually I will just let her know why I not allowing her to do something and she is showing me no respect for talking back etc. She usually will accept in the end but it will occur again. Sigh.

Anyone going for a short trip in Sep holiday ? Hb needs to clear leave before project starts so thinking of planning somewhere any suggestion ?

CL,
Try Bali? Or Shanghai for Expo and shopping? Heard that bali is nice but sept too rush for me to plan a trip. Will go to nearby Msia for few days shopping and makan. Probably nov or dec then plan for longer hol.

Talking Back
my son talked back/give opposite answers ever so often and whenever i get angry, he said he was just joking and fooling around. haiz!

Thanks Maisy Daisy, Caroline
Just booked the tickets to Hong Kong. Our last trip there was 3 years ago.

Going to catch Buzz from Toy Story in the Parade since my son is crazy over Buzz now

have not login to these thread for so long..
btw, my son will not have CA1, CA2 and SA1 but he will definately have his SA2..abit worries since the last time he had his exam was last year..not much experience.
I am trying to get him to be ready for his SA2.aiyo..this boy is simply lazy (lazy horse)...everytime got to press the button then he will move.

www.misskoh.com - no updates for the latest SA paper anymore.
anyone got good website (free download SA papers) to recomend.

I'm quite worried about Science too. So far just reading young scientists magazines, not sure sufficient ground work

Got p1 prep class for K2 kids but how come no p3 science prep class for P2 kids hor?

Yawn yawn
My friend sent his son to Science Buddies. My kids plates are so full already. Duno how to squeeze out time for 1 more enrichment! I think I will just wait n see how her results is b4 deciding on science enrichment.

Yawn yawn,

Mind stretchers has science class for P2. I came across their advertisement in the new POPClub magazine.

You might want to check it out

Hi Yawn Yawn,
FYI: My son has been attending creative writing cum science in Lewin.

My son enjoys a lot and even persuade me to let him continue next year.

The fees are also reasonable.

RE: Natas
Planning to go for a look as thought of going for holiday in December.

Hi BP,
http://www.orlesson.org/orp/EnglishExam.html.
I can't remember who posted this before and It's great. You can check if you can dowload the papers that you want.

Chuayl,
Where is lewin?

Pin,
It's my friend who send to Science buddies so not v sure whether good or not. But I guess it's always good to nurture the interest.

Seems like a lot of our P2 children are talking back - mine too! I just take it that adolescence comes early. But if she is too rude, I will tell her off, and she would usually feel guilty.

I booked a 3d2n trip to Bintan during Sept holidays. But I just received her SA2 schedule 2 weeks ago. Stressed! Need to start revising now! Sigh. And CA2 was just over somemore...

Hi juz me, jh,
Did your child drink plenty of water before sleeping time? Should try not to drink too much after 8pm. Or at least no intake of water 1hour before sleeping time.
Also, must ensure that your child urinate before sleeping.

jh
has your kid stopped wetting and suddenly happening again ? can it be something bothering or stress at school ?

Linette
I am leaving from 3 to 8 Sep for Hong Kong so the whole 1 week holiday would have been gone and not for revision. We are taking 1 day leave from last day of school on friday. Her maths and English teacher have passed her the holiday homework.

Ha ha I just made her finished them last night.

She just had a maths test on monday and Chinese test tomorrow. So using them as part of the revision for SA2 too.

just to share what my daughter did when I selected some questions from other school papers as preparation for her maths test. Just for laugh but of course this question is simple just that she refuse to use her "coconut" and try to get away:

4439246.jpg

Ha..ha.. CL, your dd's drawing reminds me of my own dd. She also do this to me sometimes.

Went HK during Sep before and it was suppper hottt.. ended up with sun burn on the trip to Disneyland but it was an enjoyable trip, must stay for the fireworks ok. Are you joining a tour and Free&Easy? Can catch the ending of their summer sale (good discount). Enjoy your holiday..

Valerie

this drawing of hers is so hilarious that it set my colleague laughing out loud in a quiet office.

I thot summer sale ended yesterday. ok will pamper myself with some shopping.

Was it super hot ? sigh here also very hot. Last time we went Taipei during this time also hot.

Not joining tour, we went 3 years ago, this round squeezing in a trip before daddy's project start and leave will be freezed. Going for my son's sake to catch Buzz in the parade.

Hey, last year when you went also sep holiday ? big crowds of mainland china pple ? My colleague went last week had a very unpleasant experience in disney.

CL, the drawing kind of lightened my heart but i controlled my laughters or else she will draw this more often...

I went HK in 2008 to give my dd a treat before she starts her P1 and it was her first overseas trip.

Disneyland was not that crowded... only find it crowded during dinner time... Short short Qs for all the rides..can play twice..

We had lunch at a Chinese restaurant (quite a nice place) and dinner in Disney restaurant near the entrance.

So you are bringing 2 kids.. have to keep a watch out, heard bad news about kids being kidnapped leh.. how old is your son? I was there with a 6 and 2 yrs old then... Very tiring...

I have come across two holiday programs, ie, Power Speech Workshop and Power Oral Skills Workshop to be held on 8 Sep and 9th Sep respectively.

In case you are interested to send your child, the website link for your further reference... http://power-speech.com/?page_id=47

But I am not sure how effective it will be for our P2 kids...

Chicken Little: Your daughter is so cute.

I am feeling abit guilty towards my son cos I am going to Korea with my gf. Thus I might not be around either during his exam preparation wk or exam wk.

Hence I have to start his SA2 preparation as I have not been coaching much this yr.

horse,

Just like jh - He pees before he sleeps and we even wake him up after he slept for 2 hours to pee. Some days, he does bedwet, some days, he does not. Haiz...

JH
Does your kid bedwet very often?

Chicken little,
haha...very interesting drawing.

the other day, when i asked my boy to do a past year math paper, he pasted a blank sheet across the answer sheet and wrote a note to tell me not to be lazy and to use my brain to solve the maths questions instead of relying on the answer given! faintz....

mommies

brought my kids to watch a play '<font color="0000ff">Momotaro - The Peach Boy</font>' yesterday. I thought they wouldn't appreciate but surprisingly they enjoyed immensely, giggled throughout

in case you are interested to bring your kids during school holiday, show details here

DATE 4-19 Sep 2010
Tue - Fri &amp; Sun, 10.00am &amp; 2.30pm
Sat, 10.00am, 2.30pm &amp; 5.00pm

Anybody besides Joanne and Chicken Little have tried Teacher Er? Need some feedback if you have tried her?

I am considering whether to be waitlisted on her tutition as she is currently rather full.

If not convenient to discuss here, can email me at [email protected]. Thanks in advance!

Yawn yawn,
No. I didn't see any Icas results. In fact, I didn't even know which day she had it .. Blur mommy. Do you know what is the purpose of Icas?