(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Jh,
Luckily my mother is around.
The reason being I have a tight project schedule that I need to fulfill.
Instead of working late, I just go to office early

Yen Ling: Can imagine how stress and tired u are.
Lucky my son only has SA2.

Jiayou!!! They will do well

Hi Jolene
Currently my girl is with Eunice 9026 4197 who comes to my mum place to teach. Very nice lady and my girl feels very comfortable with her. Her belief is to let kids enjoy the music first then go for the grades.

Jia you to all mummies who are coping with kids doing SA1.

For me ha ha a chinese show and tell of 30% is driving me nuts. My girl chose Artist for her ambition topic. Printed pictures for her and the rest is up to her for her creativity to complete her presentation on vanguard sheet.

Chicken Little: I will planning out with my son this weekend on his Chinese Show and Tell. Lucky the teacher gave a guideline and also the fixed introduction. His topic is My Pet.

CL,
correction : my gal's chinese show n tell is only 5%.

i'll scan my gal's teacher's tips as well. pls pm me if anyone needs. her topic is My favourite ________ .

noticed dat till date, my gal alredi had a couple of informal ie no marks given, show n tell eg. one for YOG n another for their Adventure Week project topic - fruits. tink their teachers wana give them more practices.

Good for you TitBitQueen, I have 2 more days to go. Ask my gal to read thru the text book (if any)and files, she said nothing much to read. Sigh...

Jolene
Sorry I have not replied you. She was with my friend for a year. Stopped for half a year and just restarted with Eunice for 3 months.

Titbitqueen lucky you. All the best for her result

Valerie
jia you jia you too. Counting down 2 days.

For me , finally my girl will have her Show and tell for My Ambition today. Hope she remember her own script.

She will have a English test paper tomorrow, final ting xie on Friday.

Next week they have hands on mania for Maths on Multiplication and Division

Then on the very last week Wed, they are are having Maths test.

Aiyo this is worse than SA1 , not straight forward and even right up to the last week. Poor thing

CL,
My gal same as yours leh ...next 2 weeks having a series of alternative assessment tests for English and Maths ... practical and paper sessions ...worst than SA1 ...don't even know how to prepare her & I can't resume baking until end May...sob sob ....

HiHi everyone,
chance upon this forum.. I have a P2 boy in Hong Wen and super stressed out

Avrilf,
u mean the Pixar event at Science Center is not worth it? was thinking of rewarding him by bringing him there after his exams...

cheers.

sigh teacher absent today and no show and tell. I assume postpone to tomorrow and she will have english test.

Cookiepie
ha ha i have not been baking since last Sep ha ha

My girl finished her last paper today...think she could relax tonight but she said tomorrow she will have Chinese and English spelling!! Nowadays, kids really have lesser time for play and other activities...sigh!

I've got a dd born in 2002 too

Wanted to ask if any mommies have any contact/info for Japanese language classes for kids?

got a quick glance thru the post.....

Hi Yen Ling,
OMG...You are really a SUPER mom!! "pei fu"
I'm lazy as compared to u la...with your tight schedule, u still can wake up to cook porridge for your kids! I'll long "peng san" liao

My girl also finished exam yesterday....on OTOT now. Happily watching TV/CDs the whole of yesterday night! Super LAZY....oops think my genes la :

Hi Jolene,
My girl has been her piano teacher since she literally turns 3 till now. However, she does not goes to students house...got to go to teacher's house at Paya Lebah instead. Interested? PM me for contact.

jh, signed up my son for the run too. Fun race category.

Hi mummies, finally tomorrow is the last paper chinese. I am tired not coz' of coaching, but of nagging. Need to ask him to study at night, but he keep playing with his toys..else stationaries. sigh.

I am rewarding myself instead haha.. going to DownTownEast & Zoo.

Lucky u mummies

mine no sa1 oso stress Le. This week english Test next week Chinese the final week still got maths. Drill till very last week

very xiong

Hi Yoshi,
I have no choice. But finally can releax a bit.

My son's exminations are over and he got back his results. To my surprise, this time round he improved his english but chinese not so well.

Anyone going to the popular book fair at the end of this month?

CL, i agreed with you, seems no SA1 is worst but just hang in there and it will so be over.

Yen ling, you have got his results, that's fast.

Last night's atmosphere at home was so relax, my girls get to do what they like and i resume my hongkong series..but told my girl that she has to resume doing assessments on Monday.

Hi Valerie,
I am also surprised that the teachers marked so fast.
Overall, except for chinese which I have not seen the paper yet, is still quite ok.

Now, planning to have a short trip

Do not know why but i am not as anxious as last year.
Any news for meet the parent session. Recently my girl said that she has loose interest in Chinese, reason being that she does not like her chinese teacher - complaining that she is always screaming in class. Any idea how i should approach the teacher?

Seems like most of your kids have SA1. Mine din.

Lynn: I dont think there is alot to see but some pple find it ok. Juz dont pin high hopes then I guess there wont be disappointment.

My gal finishes her paper on Wed...and these few days have been R&R for her..I think the teachers are going thru the papers correction with them in sch as she told me she did badly for her English compre.

Valerie - I am also quite lax this year..dunno why ha ha..the weekend before the exam, I told my hubby, I am going to let her be..not pushing her too much..whatever she can do, she will try her best to do. Whatever she can't do, we will have to spend the June holiday to buck up.

I am prepared to see poorer result for English and Chinese as I did not spend time with her on these 2 subjects. We spent most of our time doing maths assessments.

Any ideas how to improve on Chinese and English written comprehension?

Popular bookfair s held on 28May - 1 Jun.. I was contemplating if I shd go down to stock up English/chinese assessment books....not sure if I will be in labour by then. Prob will drop by Popular this weekend and check out the assessment books..

mine too have problems in compre for both languages.

bebe75
I asked my girl's enrichment teacher to recommend me books to get to revise. She tell me in market dun have good books. She says just print those past year papers and go thru with them.

I am in a dilema, lower primary actually you can just lift the answer from passage. But mine like to write in own words which is a plus in upper primary. one hand i need her to know that lifting is good enuff for now yet I do not want her to lose that "skill" of writing in her own words. headache headache.

Yenling
i have the same problem as you. Mine is for maths. She was doing fine last year till she starts to not pay attention and forget about homework for this subject. Checked with other parents they all say theirs dun like too. For mine is extreme that she hates the subject. So now with Joanne's recommendation, I got a tuition teacher to coach her and she seems to like the subject a bit better and occasionally update me that she could do a few difficult quiz by the teachers in class. I guess you need to find ways to create that interest in the subject again.

CL
- yr gal is opposite of my gal, who has the tendency to copy word for word from the compre passage. I told if she wants to copy, she has to copy smartly..checking tenses and conjunction etc, and not copy blindly. And when come to those inferential kind of question, she will have difficulty finding the answer in the passage.

oh.. envy you mummies whose kids SA1 completed. Mine just started english main paper and listening compreh today. still have Chinese and maths next wk...

My dd threw tantrum when she came home yesterday evening. She was disappointed with her SA results, lost numerous easy marks due to carelessness. This morning she's feeling alright after a good night sleep, can laugh candidly about her silly mistakes, not that touchy like last night

Overall, her results slipped compared to last year

Hi Yen Ling,
My dd too. Got back her results already! Was so disapointed with her results. However got to keep my cool cos din have the time to coach her
Planning to be SAHM, so that at least i'll have some time for her.

Just crossing my fingers that she'll at least pass her Chinese paper...my gal is super weak in Mandarin
Can't carry a simple conversation in mandarin too even though she's having tuition since K2. Guilty parents as we don't converse in mandarin at home too

Hi jh & ohohjazz,
I've signed up my dd for the cold storage run on 23rd May too!

Hi CL,
Actually, I like the Challenging Matematics by Andrew Er. The assessment book is mainly on problem sums. But I am not sure whether if it is out of print.

For my son, now he finally change his opionion on chinese and even promised to put in more effort for SA2.

Something to ponder
Do all mummies feel that if your kids mingle around with those high acheiver kids, they will also slowly catching up as well?

I had also this feeling since last year when my son is in P1. The boys that he mixed are all high acheiver and he tends to make himself competitive too.

This year my girl is also in P1. She is those happy go lucky girl never bothers about marks and always feels that it is ok to fail in spelling. But this year, she mingles with some high acheiver girls and her attitude change totally. She tends to study more and learn faster.

Hi hi mummies, long long time no post.

Happy holidays to those whose exams r over. To the others, hang in there, it'll be over soon.

Mummies, I need your opinions/advices: what's your take on being a " big fish in small pond" n "small fish in big pond"?? Reason being, my dd is now in a neighbourhood sch., but she has been on a waitlist for transfer to another school. Note that the other school is not an "elite" sch either, maybe just a little bit higher in standard (my own assumption) than her current one. It's a mission school that emphasis on character development, and has a very very long history. Now the school has given us a verbal indication that they can take her in at P3, next year, pending her final exams results.

This SA1, she surprises me with her results, including chinese - her weakest, least interested subject. Not that I have no confidence in my own dd, but it also make me think harder abt the standard of her current sch. I can't help it but wonder how will she fare in the national standard. I think I'm a kiasu mum, but not the extreme kind

Now the million dollar question is: should I stay or should go??

Thanks for your advice.

aly nat

I'm also on waitlist for both my kids. In a bigger pond.
I will transfer them if a vacancy arises for either of my kids. A vacany is like 'gold' in that school, so hard to get a transfer

Hi aly nat and yawn yawn,
I had also thinking of transferring my kids because of a lot of factors. But considering that they might be left out by the rest as they are the new students, they have to readust themselves all over again.

But if it is really a good school, it's worth considering.

yawn yawn,
glad I'm not the only one. was advised against the transfer by some becos of need to re adjust -as per Yen Ling's concern.
Do u think there is a so-called logical cut off grade for transfer? Like maybe not advisable if they are already in P4? I was telling myself P3 transfer would be latest that I would go for. When we discuss this issue with my dd at the end of P1, she was quite game for it. Now, she didn't seem as keen.

Yen Ling,
that's the dilema. I cannot be entirely sure it is a "good" school. To me, a "good" school is not necessary an elite school by academic standard, which can be measured by past results. I also have no confidence that she can "make it" in an elite school. I know a pair of siblings who were successfully transfered to Rosyth at P4 n P3 respectively. The younger sibling thrived in the school (accordingly to mum, she's the kiasu n kiasi sort). but the other sibling is almost "drowning" (the bo chap kind).

I feel so sorry for the struggling one

aly nat, yen ling

GEP kids transferred at P4. If MOE set the transfer at P4, I suppose P4 can be the last level to consider a transfer without affecting the child's emotion too drastically

For me, I feel that P3 is the ideal year to transfer. There will be streaming my dd's school next year so her classmates will change anyway. P1 and P2 they are in the same class, no streaming. I've been hard selling that big pond school to my kids eg. nicer uniforms, near shopping mall

Fz - affiliated sec sch can be good or bad too..my gals' affiliated sec sch is so-so..though long history but the behavior of these older gals is "no eyes see"..the so-called values instilled in the primary school did not move along with them when they enter secondary schools.

Of course, these may be the black sheep, but if my kids results are so-so, good enough to go to those average sec schools (need not be top..but hopefully not bottom)..I will gladly send them to other sec sch.

yawn yawn,
your reasoning sounds logical. R your kids receptive of your plans?

fz,
yah. the school has affiliation. but just like bebe, I hope my dd will do well enough in PSLE to qualify for a better school than the one she (hopefully) will be affiliated to. Then again, I must stay focus and remember the reason for transfer in the first place. I'll worry about her secondary school 3/4 years down the road.

bebe,
I know what u mean. I was from another mission school, and would have like to send my dd there. Unfortunately, the school is too far from our place. My ex-classmate, who lived in Hougang, sent her dd to our old school in central S'pore. And she said it was alright. I may be bias, but in my opinion, our old school (both primary n secondary) is a good school, sans the black sheep
. I made the decision not to send my dd there due to distance, and sometimes wonder if I hv made the right decision.

while there are creative writing classes to help in composition writing, are there any enrichment centres that offers zhuo wen classes? My dd's chinese is weak, and I often "catch no ball" with her zao ju. Her sentence construction is all messed up, and she tend to translate her thoughts in English. I cannot imagine how she's gonna cope with zhuo wen when the time comes.

Any mummies with experience or advice? When will they be expected to do zhuo wen?

Hi aly nat

At P2, school is training them to "contruct sentences from the picture" (看图写段落). This is to train and build them from writing compo.

To be good at it, our children need to know as many words (词汇) as possible so they could use it in the compo. Personally I think reading books is still the most effective way of building the foundation of compo writing. On top of it, speaking Mandarine regularly will also help.

I know Tien Hsia has compo writing for P2. However, I will still prefer to build the basic then just zoom in to compo writing only.

Just my personal opinion.

aly nat

Oh yes, they are receptive

The only problem is no news from big pond school

fz, bebe, aly nat

Both the big pond school and my dd's current school do have have any affliation to secondary schools.
Anyway my dd sets her eyes on NUS High!
To me, any IP school is fine, as long can squeeze in. Ambitious goal hor

Hi Jolene,
No problem. U're welcome

Topic on transferring school.....Hmmm have this plan too. My dd curently in mission school. Like aly_nat, I was also from mission school but distance too far to fetch to and fro even though FIL offered.

All along, I tot her school got an affliliated sec school. I only found out begining of this year that the sec school was defunct since 2008!! Me really big "Sotong"! Haiz....

The school that i'm targeting dun accept wait list. Simply tell us to come back for apptitude test when my gal got her final year results. Wanted to transfer cos of various reasons. Main factor being that I have another gal going to P1 in another few years.

My gal absolutely detest Chinese! Had a meltdown last saturday in front of all my immediate family cos we're celebrating my mom's Bday!! She had lots of "mountains" backing her that's y. What causes it was becos she had chinese tuition the next day and has not even learn her spelling yet. I smacked her thigh....Haiz...super stressed with her recently. Think its her behaviour and attitude that needs correcting.
She had a stress free childhood whereby we din scold or hit her... but now that she has enter primary school, can't help not to nag, scold or even sometimes lay my hands on her

I think I got to chant my mantra everyday " do not lose my cool, do not hit her"...

Sorry mommies...for the long post ya.

yawnyawn,
how did your girl learn about NUS High?
i told my son that if he can get into RVH, i will be very very happy. that is until i learnt that RVH is Chinese Oriented (SAP??). I target BPGH then. :p

Yoshi,
actually no waiting list better. school letting kids go through Aptitude test before transferring means your chance is higher. waiting list dunno wait until when....JMO.