(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Yen Ling,
you are right about the progress. and also, i can sense if my elder is lying just by studying his behaviour. and just yesterday, my MIL scolded my younger boy for hitting the brother and told him to apologise. instead of apologising, my younger cried even louder. i then had the hunch that there must be something that lead to the hitting and found out that it was the elder one who hog the younger boy's toy which provoked the latter to hit him.
it is easier to manage their behaviour when we are around.

aly nat

Not every child goes playgroup at 18 months lah. My younger one didn't go play group. In fact, I only started her kindergarten at K1. Before K1, she only attended those once a week type of enrichments. I prefer to keep her at home for bonding.

My elder one also skipped nursery. I kept her at home after withdrawing her from childcare. She started her kindergarten at K1 too.

alynat,
My dd1 attended neighborhood 2 hr play group at 2 yo but ds2 started nursery at 3 plus. But they didn't attend the branded schools like shichida. I believe it depends on different children. Dd1 is sociable outgoing so she was very bored at home. I sent Ds2 later because he is independent and plays on his own easily. Besides, he had enough socialization with his sister and neighbors so I didn't find the necessity to send him off to school early. Agree with you the cost is high, especially in single income family. Since you are home, you can bring her out more often. I believe learning can be done anywhere - in the parks, playground and library. Not necessary in expensive preschools. My friend ever told me, education is a lifelong process. They will get minimum 12-15 years education, so we shouldn't get too stress up so early. The journey is very long.

Yenling,
Freestyle is usually a more difficult stroke to learn compared to breaststroke. Because freestyle needs a lot of body coordination and movement. Because children has shorter arms, they find it difficult to twist their neck, sway their arm up and breathe from the surface at the same time. That's from my own observation and own experience as I was in the school team in secondary school. My gal could swim breaststroke but when she swims freestyle, she will sway from left to right i.e. looks unbalanced. So if your son can do freestyle, he should have no problem with breast stroke. Maybe the coach wants him to learn all the strokes before taking any medal. Freestyle is a physically streneous stroke to swim for continuously 8 laps. So it is advisable for him to know breaststroke before attempting exam. My coach is very focused on passing exams, so he will make sure do the bare minimal well(breaststroke only), go for exam. Then when they target for silver / gold, then he teach the other strokes.

alynat,
my ds1 attended playgroup for a short while cos he was bored at home and i thought we will be losing out if he did not start school early. :p then he went on to regular pcf - he is a very outspoken child. for ds2, we sent him to PreN at 2.5yo as although i am a sahm, i spent lesser time teaching him stuff cos my time is occupied with coaching ds1 in his P1 work. so ds2 gets his learning mainly from school. if not he'll probably spend that 3hrs in front of the tv anyway.

Swimming
my boy is better at freestyle cos he learnt that prior to breaststroke. his legwork for breaststroke is very weak - it took him a long time to get it correct. finally after 2 yrs, he is getting his 'pyjamas' next term!

Thanks for your input. I feel assured after reading your posts. I was a FTWM when my dd1 was growing up. Now that I am a SAHM, I really should plan n organise my time, so as to coach my dd2 at home - a good opportunity for bonding, too. dd2 will get her weekly dose of socialising in Sunday school.

aly_nat,

My son attended a neighbourhood playgroup when he was 3 yrs old.

When he was 4+, he attended a chinese speech abd drama cos his PCF teacher commented his weakness in Chinese.

I have a tricky maths sum.
I have asked my son to use model to solve this question.
The problem is the number to divide is more than what they have learnt in school.

Please advice me how mummies will teach their kids to solve the following question.

Sam has 68 fewer marbles than Simon.
Hansel has 276 more marbles than Simon.
If the three boys have 1162 marbles, how many marbles does Simon have?

Yen Ling
If you draw the model, you would be able to get:
1162 - 276 - 68 - 68 = 750
750 / 3 = 250

(the no. to divide is less than 1000 which is within their P2 syllabus. But my son is not ready yet for this type of problems).

hence,
Sam = 250
Simon = 250 + 68 = 318
Hansel = 250 + 68 + 276 = 594

aly_nat,

They are the same. PAP Community Foundation (PCF)

I cant rmb if they teach. I used Jolly Phonics to teach my son through singing.

Hi caroline3sg,
Yes, my son also followed what you did. But he told me 750/3 is not within their syballus.

He still get the answer without my help.

Thank you for enlighting me. In this case, I will know that I am teaching him the correct way and he is folllowing fine.

Hi Maisy,
I just break the 750 into 2 parts 600 and 150.
It is because 600/3 is eaily divdied into 200.
For 150, my son just told me the asnwer will be 50 if divided into 3 parts.

So from there he told me the answer will be 200+50=250.

At first I thought of using the conventional method. But my son keep insisting that his teacher has not taught him yet. I think it will be taught in second half of the year.

need some clarifications:-
In 803,
1. the value of digit 8 is __800___ - is this correct?
2. the place value of digit 8 is ___hundreds__ - is this correct?
3. the value of digit 0 is ______?
4. the place value of the digit 0 is ___tens__- is this correct?

TIA.

juz asking for infor. Does anybody know of any schools that has native english-speaking teachers that teaches phonics?

avrilf,
thanks. I always thot they r 2 different schools. piah sey. Think I'll skip playgroup/pre nursery/enrichment classes for my #2 for the time being.

anybody interested to meet up over morning coffee at Compass Point? Not sure if u gals have met each other, but I'm definately new n dunno anybody by face. Would like to expand my social circle with ladies who share common concerns - our kiddos (n maybe other interests).

anybody interested, pls PM me.

caroline3sg,
i break it up into parts.
eg for ba2 (pull out), i will say a 'hand' side plus a peng you de you(3) with a dian3. etc etc.
eg for wu1 (house), i will say, the top of a wei3 (tail) minus the mao3 plus the left side of a dao4(reach) etc.
cos my boy's basic simple character recognition is ok, so i use this method.

fz
breaking down of words, I also do. Their sch subscribe to litespeed where teaching of chinese characters is 字型画 (word derived from picture used by olden people), etc

The problem is cannot remember the next day. And can confuse with similar stokes words (耳 vs 身)

hothotmum

pros
1) sch homework taken care of
2) other sch's exam papers to practise
3) socialise with other kids
4) if nearby sch, can bring/fetch daily & even for CCA.

cons
1) cannot nap
2) no dinner (if taken care by nanny, can negotiate)
3) food may not be of home standard.

hi Caroline and other mummies,

Thanks for the info.But how to we choose the better one when we come to select which Student care is good or suitable?

TQ

hothotmum

criteria for choosing student care:
1) proximity to house & school
2) fees per month
3) physical environment (airy, clean, spacious)
4) programmes during sch hols (some centres like Pro Teach have outings).

Food, teachers*, management style, terms & conditions - know only when you are in it. There is no way to tell exactly before hand. But you can shortlist a few and try your luck to go down and talk to parents / students to get a feel of it.

*teachers - some centres' teachers are not teachers but caregivers/admin clerk where they cook & ensure law & order.

I am not sure if no. of students is an issue/concern. Too few & too many also no good.

caroline3sg

My younger gal (currently P1) also tends to confuse herself with chinese characters of similar stroke..I have to succumb to write/paste those characters (and pics) on the walls of my house to remind her the difference..耳 vs 身 vs 有

Partly my fault, as I hardly expose her to chinese words..and now it is harder to get her to read chinese books..she gets easily frustrated when she has to pause reading frequently to ask us to read to her the phrase and explain its meaning..

mommies

Are your kids taking part in ICAS writing & Science? or English & Maths only?

Yet to receive any circulars regarding ICAS

yawnyawn..
my kid's sch only has ICAS for computer! to me, i would prefer if it is academic based like writing or science etc. i guess cos they are niche in robotics, so they intend to use the result as one of the gauges in selecting kids who are really interested in computers.
sianz.

anyone with dd in PL MGS or anyone with comments/experiences with the school? Appreciate your feedback.

Looking for art class for my younger girl which is 4 now. Any recommendation, did any of you send your kid to global art, any feedback. Tks

The thread has been quiet. Preparing for mid year exam? My girls have been having a series of topical tests. Maths is getting more difficult with multiplication, division + model. Sometimes she gets confused. So need to practice more.

avrilf,
can check out ICAS at www.eaa.unsw.du.au. my gal's sch only chose Maths. not sure if parents can go to website n sign up on your own if de sch din offer.

pin,
my gals go to NAFA for art class. last year, my older gal did poster colour, chinese brush (started dis yr), pencil n permanent marker n outdoor paintin, wire bendin figurines, n crafts wif recycled materials etc. n their drawings r not restricted to only A4 or B3 sizes. headache tinkin where to store their work. heard of usin old luggages to store, or takin digital pictures n throw de work away. any mummies have other suggestions?

my gal did a Chinese Language survey in sch last term n b4 de sch hols, her teacher passed her a survey for me fm de MOE. it's a survey on Teaching and Learning of Mother Tongue Languages 2010 (Primary Level). any mummies receive dis as well?

jh

Didn't receive any survey form

ICAS can only sign up through school. Still haven't receive any circulars. Are we suppose to sign a consent form for ICAS?

Survey
JH - I also did not receive any survey form from MOE.

Mid year exam
My gal will be having her Oral paper end Apr..and then early May..she will have the written exams for each subject.
Maisy - My gal just started on multiplication problem sum but not division yet. And ya..it needs a lot of practice to incorporate the models into the working. Currently, I asked my gals to do 3 problems sum (with model) on alternate days for revision.

ICAS
My gal's school circulated the application form before the term 1 break. I think they open up all subjects including science to their students. However, I only get my gal to sign up for English. I actually wanted her to include Spelling but she refused. I think the exam will be held somewhere in Aug??

Young Scientist Mag
I have just received the subscription mag..3 issues. My younger gal seemed to enjoy it more than my elder one. My elder one is still hooked to "storybox" mag at the moment..thought that is way behind her standard. But so long she is reading, I just let her be.

Creative writing class
My elder gal started her first lesson last weekend with Morris Allen..too early to assess but she is definitely enjoying herself. There are only 3 in the class (though the teacher said she is expecting another 3 more students).

JH - I have emailed to my son's school to check if they are participating. Apparently they are. However we have not been informed about it

bebe75 - ICAS English is on 20 July 2010.

Young scientist
My son also juz received his copies. He simply loves them. He has finished reading it within 1 day *faint*

By the way, I am attending the Strategies for Teaching Writing by Lorna. I think one of the games is quite interesting.

There is one which I think can improve and help them to rmb their tenses.

This will be good if u have 2 or more pple to play. It is like tic-tac-toe + bingo.

List down simple present tenses and ask the child to choose 9 words and changed them to past tenses.

Draw a box of 3 x 3 (juz like tic-tac-toe)and ask them to fill the words into boxes.

Then you randomly say any word from the list. If the child has the word, she is to spell it out in past tense.

The 1st one who completes by matching 3 words in a line will win.

Our thread has been so quiet. Guess everyone muz be busy coaching the children.

Did you bring your kid/s to the Pixar exhibtiion @ Science Centre? I think it was overpriced

Now Popular card has discounts for the entry tkt, I saw it last weekend when I was at Popular.

avrilf,
my boy is not having SA1, so i am still in holiday mood. has been asking him to do reading instead of the usual coaching.
ya, his shoes that i bought end of Jan now has the front part peeled off and looks very worn. haiz.

Maisy Daisy: His CCA is swimming. Thus I cant understand

fz: I wonder how they wear the shoes. During my time, the shoes lasted for a long time.

I am oso in holiday mood. Din coach much too. Instead I am planning for June holidays trip :p

My gal is having SA1, but I can't rem if the marks will be incl for her Yr end assessment. In any case, I am more lax now compared to last year. I think now my gal is catching up, though slowly but I am just contented that she is showing improvement. I have been constantly revising with her on her weekly basis..hopefully she maintains her standard for this SA1.
Today and tomorrow she will have Eng and Chinese Oral...next week, English writing papers...and the following week (first week of May), the rest of the subject.

Shoes
I got 2 pairs of shoes for her..she wears them on alternate weeks..they still look alright..except the front part which have been peeled off. Prob got to change another set for her for next term...as she has been complaining that one of the pair is a bit tight. Kids outgrow their shoes very fast.
During our time, we usu run on the field or the basket ball court..now they run on the track..can't be helped that their shoes tend to wear out faster..and given that the quality of the current shoes are not as good as those in our era. ..no choice gotta spend $$$

Hi, my girl's SA1 will start from 29/4 spreading to 13 May with Oral, Compo, Listening Compre and the main papers of Eng, Chinese & Math. The school is giving them tests for this 2 weeks.

Same here, felt that i am very lax compared to last year. However, she still do past year assessment papers.

By the way, do you revise those text books and files that the kids brought back from school, if so, can share how to do it.

As for school shoes, the front part peeled off even before the first term break and she has been complaining about it being too tight.

Any idea where to get good black school socks?

Wow, really envy those mothers with kids without SA1 examinations. I am really stressed out. Wth my work load, I am still need to rush back home to coach my kids. This year need to teach both my kids(1 in P1 and the other in P2), instead of one.

Everyday, get up at 4:30am, preparing breakfast for my kids(cooking brown rice mixed with milk powder and let them drink from milk bottle as they are still sleeping) and rush to office and reach around 6:15am.

Then stop work at 6pm and rush to pick them up from school. AT night, start revising their work at 8 till 11pm. But there is breack in between. It's really a challenge to coach 2 kids at the same time.

Hopefully, with my and their hard work, they can do well in this SA1.