(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Chicken Little: I will go home check tonite.

ohohjazz: I am thinking of signing my son up for Lorna Whinston's creative writing class. Am waiting for their school holidays' schedule.

Have signed up for Cook Up Your Singapore Flavour and Design Future Fashions from Past Styles on 5 Dec 2009 at National Museum for my son.

Oh I roamed around into their residential neighburhood parks, whereby they have playground in it.... those type we saw in their HK series. Also went to Shatin shopping centers, on top has a snoopy world, a snall playground with that theme.
Even ocean parks also have playgrounds.

ohohjazz
I diy. I need to dig out as we drive all the way. most places my sis who is there booked for me. And it was a holiday with very young kids at 2 years coming 3. So ha ha it is a super relax bo chup trip. Every place we eat comes with a big playground so we can eat in peace. Till my husband cannot stand us, saying you mean singapore dun have playground meh

avrilf

Jolene/Chuayl
Congrats! For yr kids good results.

Bebe75
Congrats to your #3. May you have a smooth pregnancy.

Maisy Daisy
Ive booked Rasa Sentosa on 27 Nov for 2 nites stay.

Hi CL
This is my 2nd time staying at Rasa Sentosa. I had some reserves for the other 2 hotels (i.e. The Sentosa Resort & Spa & Amara) coz no pool/sea view, only garden view! The last time when i was at Rasa Sentosa, l had only 1 choice, last minute booking so left with hillview!. To my horror, lots of wild monkeys walking around the balcony area and guests are not encouraged to open the balcony doors at all times. This time i managed to book seaview and i wld say its value for $ coz includes breakfast & dinner.

avrilf,
Wow gg to Tokyo Disney? So envy you. I cant go coz my son just turned 1yr old. Hubby says hes too young to travel so far & its very cold in Japan this season:-(

Ive booked the family package at $396/room/night. Inclusive of buffet bf & dinner. Use of Toots club limit to children age 5 to 12yrs. 3 compli swings on Flying Trapeze,Free Sentosa Express Tickets, Compli use of water sports facilities, 10% disc on ala-carte treatments at Rasa Spa. Compli Shuttle Service from Harbr front to Rasa Sentosa.

Joanne
realli ah. so far i all stay seaview lah. Very nice and we had fun in the balcony. Stayed during my son and hb birthday in Jan, they even prepare a mini cake for us. Very nice.

avrilf
missed that you are going Tokyo Disney. I think it is very fun too. went there twice with my 2002 gal. Once before welcoming didi and once 2 years ago when I was there for work.

She likes the place a lot and but just cannot tahan the language since she dun understand. Be prepared to pay a lot for their food. My gal eats adult portion while she was in Japan.

While I was at work, my husband oso brought her to the Sanrio Puroland. I would love to go again with my son and bring him to Thomas land at Fujikyu

For Sentosa Attractions, since ive my co's Association of Spore Attractions (ASA) Family Card, free admission to Sentosa, Images of Spore, Fort Siloso, Merlion Tower and underwater world and butterfuly park.

Wow Joanne, so lucky, you have free admission to so many attractions.

Is it true that Rasa Sentosa's room and facility are very old?

Hi Jolene,
Thank you for your advice. I only revise work with my son, but never really know what his weak point is. Will start to keep track on that.

Today, my son got back his English paper2. He did not do very well, but I still encourage him. I told him it's ok as long as he put in effort.

TOmorrow is the last paper. Hopefully, he can do it well. But I don't stress him anymore. Just let him stay relax.

I will be binging my kids to genting too, with another family.(One of my son's classmates).

Really enjoy this thread. It makes me so knowlegable after getting from all the advices.

avrilf,
Maybe you should try to get to Hokkaido(You can see snow only in Hokkaido in december) and you can just buy the JR pass at takashiyama.

I went to Japan twice last year(in march and in December). Really love going there.

Hi Jolene,
When are you going genting?

I might be going to sentosa too, to celebrate my kids' birthday, this weekend. Both of them happened to be born in the same month.

my gal's overall Chinese results is 95/100 and dis is cos she has tuition. sigh ... mummy's not a good teacher cos she only got 52.5/60 for her English Paper 2. went thru de paper wif her n she had 5 careless mistakes! i can help her if i know her weak areas but careless mistakes ... i wonder how to help her ...

her sch has marking day dis Wed so after dat, may b all de overall results will b announced. hope my gal's oral, poetry recitation n show & tell can help pull her overall English results up.

no plans for overseas trip dis dec cos last yr went hk/shenzhen/macau n sep went phuket. juz utilising 2 free hotel nights stay in s'pore cos expiring end of de yr. hubby wans to bring de gals to cameron highland though. has anyone been there?

Cool so many posting.

CL, thanks. Do share with me your perth iternary if u able to dig out. Many thanks in advance.

HK i brought DS there twice once, he likes the disney there, but we are there during summer time. Hence quite HOT.

I enjoyed going to Genting due to the cool weather, but this year been there 2 times already so no more genting hubby said.

Jh, i too thought of cameron, but advice by my friends is to avoid the rainy season.

Avrilf, i am also checking out for holiday creative writing class for DS. Thanks for sharing "Lorna Whinston's creative writing class". Where can I get more info? Online?!?
Just contacted "I CanRead" today, going for their trial test next week to see which is my son weak point. Actually he does not bad for tests just careless lor. Looking at Pro-teach & EduFarm. Any feedback from these 2?

So far I am teaching or rather eye power my son in his sch work. lol lor ..hubby busy so I need to double up a tutor.

Joanne, Thanks for the encouragement. I would workhard towards it. Hope I will have my wish come true soon. Age catching up.

Hi Valerie, may I get the holiday schedule on the LW creative writing class from you?

Anyone intending to get P2 assessment books soon? Any recommendation?

P2 Assessments
i got myself some 2nd hand P2 math some time back, so probably be using those.
my boy's P1 english still has half a book left, probably will still use them.
am thinking of getting only compre (eng and chinese) but is it worth it since they only make up a small portion of the wholepaper? what do you mummies think about assessment books? for english to get those specialised one (eg specialised in cloze passage, in compre etc), or those SA/CA papers type one?
dunno how different will P2 be from P1....

Chicken Little: The book is called 'The Singapore Model Method for Learning Mathematics'.

Chicken Little,Joanne & Chualy:

Originally I plan to go Macau but it is quite expensive if I wanna to stay @ the Venetain Macau. My hubby prefers Japan if we are to spend abt $2k-3k in Macau. Lucky there was a JAL air tkt promo in Sept, I paid abt $3k for 9D8N inclusive of flights and hotel. Last yr I paid $5k+ for the same number of days.

This will be my 3rd family trip to japan. The last 2 rounds we went for their autumm.Missed the change of leaf colour the 1st time so last yr I aimed nicely. It was so nice. Love their autumm weather.

Will be purely staying in Tokyo. Dont think I have time to go Hokkaido cos I will only be there for 8 days and catching a morning flight on the 9th day.

Will be staying nearby Disneyland for 2 nites. Plan to spend 2-3 days @ Disney

1 day will be going to Gotemba for their outlets.
1 day @ Kamakura cos my son loves to wash money there :p

Hoping to get the tkts to Ghibli Museum cos I took miss it the last round as I mixed up the dates.

Since my son's exam is over, I can sit down and plan my itinerary for the trip. My hubby has been chasing me.

Chicken Little: Thomasland @ Fujikyu is just a small area so dont expect too much. If the weather is clear, you will be able to see Mt Fuji.

Sanrio has opened an outdoor Harmonyland @ Kyushu. Hope to go there one of these days :p

ohohjazz: which ICR are you going? Heard from my gf, it depends on the teacher. Her son (K2) is attending at the one located in AMK. They are given 50 words to learn each week for spelling and would only be tested on 10. My friend is so stressed cos u do not know what words will be given during the spelling test. Now she spots word for her son instead of learning all of them.

avrilf
thanks for checking the title. hee hee for me Japan I been too many times due to school exchange program, visiting my host family and work. So my next purpose to go only for my son's first trip to Japan and hokkaido which I have not tried.

Agree that Japan is a better choice than Macau. I went Macau on a couple trip with hb and friends. realli not suitable for kids.

Pin
I am going with friends and during the Natas fair there was a 1 for 1 free. So we max our kids combi like a below 4 match below 4 so 2 kids pay $200 over then above 4 match above 4 so 2 kids pay like 500 plus 600. Then of course 1 adult for 1 adult, so mine has got the cheapest possible combi of $1583. Thanks to a friend who has went thru great trouble to do all the matching. Hence for me my price of $1583 everything inclusive from accommodation to food to activity for 5 days 4 nights for a family of 4 is super deal man

Holidays
I am still cracking heads over the holiday plans..dunno if we shd skip it this year. Hubby will be on working trip frequently in Dec holidays..so he said if we wanna go, it will be a short getaway.
We went Japan last year...had a great time at Disney's. It will be too expensive to go there for consecutively 2 years...ha ha.
We have been to Bintan...quite bored at night. Hubby suggested Sentosa...I also find it boring. Actually the gals just wanna soaked themselves in the hotel room bathtub and do bubble bath....hiaz....

Exam results
Yesterday my gal told me she did badly for her chinese..esp on the part rearranging the words for proper sentence structure. I told her it is okay so long as she avoid careless mistakes. She then exclaimed "But I have lots of careless mistakes..how??" *Faint*
I asked when she will know the actual results...she said dunno, but she thinks she will get 18 upon 23 for Maths...HUH???? This girl hor..going to P2 soon and yet still dunno what is exam results????? Alamak!!

Assessments books and holiday classes
I went to popular last weekend and was contemplating if I shd start buying P2 assessment books...a bit KS hor..hee hee. But after this year..I realised it is good to expose the kids to the concepts earlier...so that we will not feel so stressful during the sch terms.
I will prob wait for the Popular Bookfest and see if I can grab some good finds.

I am still looking for writing courses for my gals..but most of the fiming or locations do not fit. For the time being, I am asking her to read a book and write a book review twice a month. Also I will continue teaching her problem sums using maths model .I scared that she will forget all those techniques once sch reopens.

Schoolbags
Anyone knows where to get good and affordable ergonomics bag? I am trying to get one for my younger gal who is going p1 next year. dd1 is currently using Deuter igenius. Very durable but I still find it heavy..after loading with books, lunchbox, waterbottles and stationery...the whole bag is about 5 kg - too heavy for mymy younger gal as she is rather petite compared to her elder sister.

TTC
Ohohjazz - yeah dun give up...life is full of surprises...take it easy and you never know when the baby dusts will land on you.

envy envy..all of you already starting talking abt holidays while i am still worried for my son's exam today..Today is the last exam which i worried the most. Most that he get less careless mistakes.
He been telling me that English and Math exams are easy...and it was so much easier than those exam papers that i printed for him from Miss Koh website.

chicken little,
Any lobang or bps for school bags this yr? I got the princess bag thru' your bp last yr, quite durable but very old and dirty looking now. Intend to get a new bag for p2, heehee....another excuse to spend $$$$ to de-stress...

BP,
Same same, I was still struggling with my dd yesterday. Teaching her maths made me age 10yrs. She has no maths concept ...when the qn asks A has how many more than B or B has how many less than A, she is lost..... I still have to revise chinese with her tonite.....

cookiepie
I think the teacher bring in she waiting for me to do the BP for her after my gal's exam. So i should be doing. Update you soon.

My son only get 45/55 for paper2. Actually, he scored about the same for SA1.

He, himself is very disappointed with the results.

Well, I told him to study harder for next year.

Yesterday, he had his maths examinations and he mentioned that it is easy. But I don't have high expectations as he always makes careless mistakes.

Hi Jolene,
I am going on 10thDec to 12thdec.

Chicken Little: Go b4 he hits 6 yrs old and all his train rides are free :p

I oso wanna go to Hokkaido for the flower blooming period which is mid-june to sept depending on the flowers. Too bad son already starts primary school if not I can go anytime.

Bebe75: I am also thinking of buying P2 assessment books for him thus waiting for Popular storewide 20% discount :p
Since he still has unfinished assessment books, I am asking him to do some every day.

yeh! today is last paper for my son. Hopefully he can be careful. His chinese stroke is always so horrible, and if I am the teacher, I will surely mark wrong.

Yesterday asked him about his maths papers, he say a little difficult. I said "Huh! That means I am expecting many mistakes and wrongs lo?" He replied, "Actually I know how to do most of the questions lah. But cannot say paper is easy. Teacher ever said before, if say paper easy means need to score 100 marks. I scare I am not able to get it, so better to say a little difficult lah!" *faint*

mummytiffany, last night my 2nd dd spilled water on the holiday schedule and my hubby had thrown it away. So sorry i don't have a copy now.

valerie
Rasa Sentosa facilities not tat old if you compared to the new hotels around e.g. Sentosa Resort & Amara. But i like their services and pools for kids.

last nite my son told me..MCQ 1,2,3 and 4...their teacher told them that one of them had put 5 as an answer.....
I am afraid he was the one...hahahha

mommies

Anyone of you own a kawai piano? Can share the model number, age of piano when you bought it & how much to pay? first time sourcing for a piano, super blur lah. Thanks in advance

mummytiffany, fz, bebe

I bought all sort of assessment books during bookfest last year. Because first time mah, blur blur just grab anything that looked useful. MCQ, topic by topic, revision type with topics all jumbled up, etc. However my girl doesn't like to do those types, so end up waste money, just gathering dust

Now I learnt from experience, only buy comprehension. At least she likes to read the stories inside, can double up as storybooks. Prologue had a 2 days sale over the weekends so I bought 2 comprehension books for her leisure reading. I don't expect her to finish those 2 books during school holiday.

In fact she has lots of unfinished assessment books so I pass to my younger one to doodle. My dd2 getting lots of thrill flipping assessment books, make her feel all grown up I guess

Mine didn't do so well for English. Lost marks in every section - oral, listening comprehension, compo. I don't expect very high marks for compo but must at least score better in listening comprehension & oral. Disappointing....

jasmine, I PM you

Congrats Yen Ling and yawn yawn don't despair lets hope for the better.

Share a joke here, i thought my dd last paper which is today is Math but instead is Chinese, "sotong me" luckily she said yesterday math was easy. Keeping my finger crossed.

avrilf, that's good a deal you got. I must look out for the deal next sept 10. :p Can share your plan with us when you are done with it. Thanks.
For ICR, i just booked a date next week for an assessment test @ AMK, think i would not sign up with them as I asked my son if he want to attend enrichment class, he does not want to. So maybe just go and take a look afterall hubby mentioned quite ex when i told him the quote i was given. If changed in mind not to go will then give them a call. My a gf of mine does give quite good feedback on ICR @ CiviCentre branch in Woodlands.

BP, don't worry too much about your son chinese paper. Think other kids would think likewise too.

Nate, I guess boys hand writing are like that. My son one looks terrible too.

I too still got some assessments left/untouch by my son, me very lazy so not much discipline in this area lor as I come back home 8pm+ already, by the time dinner 9pm+ and soon I am tired for bed. While my son sch is in afternoon seesion, i find alot of time wastage also. Anyway, I hope to get him to clear some each day this dec, else waste my money. Keeping fingers cross. So i learnt the lesson for P2 I am not going to buy too many and keep in the bookshelf. 1 for each subject will do. Also waiting for the popular 20% discount thing.

Jolene and Valerie,
Thank you for your encouragement.

TOday, my son got back his chinese result.
After adding up(except oral), he scored 69/75.
Make a few careless mistake, but happy for his compo. He scored 5/6.

To all mummies,
Let's all enjoy this holiday and work hard for next years.

for english, my boy get mark deducted for illegible handwriting....

nag already also like that. luckily only penalised for one word only.