(2002) Any 2002 babies?

caroline3sg,
oh i see.

i haven't done problem sums yet. i think english plays a very important part here.

Chua Yen Ling,
Tks for sharing the washing and ironing tips. I will try it out. I just gave dd money this morning to buy a new t-shirt. Can't imagine the no. of t-shirts I need to buy over the next few yrs ..... the only consolation is that her pinaform is in dark blue, can't see stains but difficult to iron though .....

HI ladies,

can share how you prepare your kids for SA2 esp revision for topics already tested in SA1?

I let my girl do assessment books but not sure if that will be too tedious for her to do the questions all over again! Must start preparing for the last leg of P1...time flies!

Hi littleprincesses,

my ds sch does not have SA1. They only have SA2. Not sure if my ds can finish his exam within the time limit.

Now I can understand why some of my colleagues are so stressed when the kids are having exam.

I've never quite ventured here... glad to chance upon this thread. My #1 was born in 02 & I'm struggling with settling her into school routine. Hope to learn more here...

Hi Little Princess,

I set a daily routine that From 8 to 9pm is my children study time...so my p1 gal will either do her sch homework or assessment....towards nearer to exam I also give her some past year paper tp practise.

Little Princess
My plan is to let her revise what is being taught on weekday. Weekend will start revision.

Then 1 month before the exam, just do test papers.

HiHi,

So long din login here already. busy coaching my elder DD for her coming PSLE.

No timetable for my P1 DD yet. Should be after the 4 days marking day ba.

Hi Juz me,
my youngest DS in K2 also bedwet everynite. he still need to put on dryper. haiz...My mil said wake him up in the middle of the nite and get him to pee and go bk to sleep again. but I hv problem to wake up in the nite then how to wake him up leh. :p If really no choice then I got to use her method liao.

Hi..

Earlier on..I wrote abt CHIJ retaining P1 students shd they fail their P1 exam. It was clarified that the gal is promoted to P2..but she stayed in sch the whole day - from morning (P2 is AM session) till evening when the P1 is released. She could not go home as there is no one at home to take care of her in the day.
There is no student care within the school, quite poor thing, it is very tiring to stay in the school for almost close to 12 hours. My gal already started complaining about tiredness when she is only half day in school (with no extra lessons or ECA).

Wondering for those in student care, what will be the routine like? Can the students nap or bath?

Regarding CA2..seemed that there is none for my gal, but she told me that she had a surprise Maths test last Friday..and she did not know how to do? Seemed like she had forgotten what was being thought in term 1 and 2. I have to go back and let her practice on the SA1 papers again.

Check with you mummies..how do you revise Chinese? In their current chinese 1B textbooks, for each lesson - there are 2 parts, the first part is easier, and the second one is tougher. So far for Chinese Spelling, the sch tested them on the first part. I am just using the word list at the back of the textbook to teach, dunno if that is sufficient.

Hi bebe75,

Usually for chinese, I will ask my ds to do the chinese assessment books I bought as each topic follows according to his chinese textbook chapter so it is easier. Usually for the comprehension, I will make sure he reads the story to me 1st before doing it. This way I will be able to know where his std is.

avrif,
which chinese assessment book will you recommend?
i am still getting my boy to do the SA1 papers to ensure that he still recognises the chinese characters. for Sem2's chinese, mainly only revise Tingxie. not much revision.

My girl in St Margret's primary( single session). They have YMCA after school care in the school, so my girl with stay there after school. She'll take her lunch, bath, nap( for about 1hr),tea-break and do her home work(guided by the YMCA's teachers) in the after school care. The school bus will leave the school at 6pm, so she'll reach home at around 6.30pm, just nice to meet me after my work. : >

For Chinese, I think beside doing assessment, it is important to read chinese story book. My girl start rejecting it as english is much easiler for her to read. So, for chinese, I need to read with her... : <

fz,
I am currently using 小学华文每课练习 by 彭桂花 (Score in Chinese - New Syllabus)printed by EPH and Higher CHinese Comprehensive Exercuses For Pri 1 printed by Victoria Publication. I like the first one better.

Avrilf and chicken little - thanks for sharing.
I reckon i can let her try test papers just before the exams,esp Maths. She makes alot of mistakes when doing assessment books..so must keep pushing her to practice n practice..

For chinese, my hubby will go thru with her the text book on daily basis. On top of that, she has homework (mainly writing reading and assessment book) from her tuition teacher.

Hi Jasmine,

Thanks for your reply. He pees before he sleeps at 8.30pm. We usually wakes him up at 10.30 to pee. Sometimes, he already pee before we wake him up. Or sometimes he still pee when we wake him up to get ready to go to school.

Btw, we already reduce his intake of water and cut off his nite milk....

any recommendations for creative writing classes?

After consideration, I intend to stop my dd1's English enrichment. Initially wanted to continue because I've not found a replacement English enrichment for her. But after speaking to teacher, she commented my dd space out in class because the pace was too slow for her, so I guess no point lor, waste my money, especially I've not seen substantial improvement in her creative writing after almost 2 years in the programme. I think I should focus on searching for a creative writing enrichment

thanks in advance

yawn yawn - try learning point? heard of good feedback for this ctr. from what i know, for p1 generally most ctrs do not focus solely on creative writing but a good mix of grammer, vocab, comprehension etc in their prog. Can other mums verify?

I think for sem2 chinese, it is better to concentrate on comprehension. My son had so called a practice paper and I find that he is very weak in chinese comprehension.

I can see this in his encrichment class too. He had a surprise test last saturday and he failed the test. The chinese standard in the enrichment class is very high. SO I think must really forced him to do chinese comprehension more.

Yen Ling,
My son cannot read alot of words in the comprehsion ..I can't expect much from him. Apparently his chinese tuition just started on this..but i did not see any of his school homework on comprehesion..abit worry.

DD developed fever yesterday evening ...gave her paracetamol and flu med ... fever came down and hopefully the fever stays away ...today is her maths ca2 ...sigh, sigh...what a time to fall sick......virus, virus stay away..little children have test to "play" ....

chuayl,
I tried your tips on ironing ...really useful .... thanks. As for the stains on her white t-shirt ... it's still there ...I suspect it's paint ... my mum suggested using thinner/kerosene .... I will try and update again ....

CL,
Have you thrown away your DD's uniform? If not, can try cleaning using thinner/kerosene.

cookiepie
ya already thrown away. will try on the other 2 skirts which has a bit of marker as well.

Hope your gal will be fine soon.

Hi mummies, when comes to Comprehension, be it chinese or english, my dd has a bad habit, she will go straight to the questions without even reading the passage and try to find the answers. And she finds it a drag to write the full sentence, so many times her answer is to the point only. Composition is sentence by sentence no connective term like but, however, etc. 1 picture, 1 sentence type. Should i buy those composition essage book for her to read, does it help?

cookiepie, hows your dd. Hope she's feeling better now. Take care.

hi val,

my dd also the same when comes to English and Chinese comprehension. She lose marks in the comprehension part. At times, she just copy the whole junk down. Really need help to brush her up in this areas.

Cookiepie, Hope ur DD is ok now. Take good care yourself too.

Re: Composition
my son even worst. If the teacher say write 5-8 sentences. He will simply just write 5 sentenses.
and also his carelessness..i really cannot take it anymore. Last night, i saw his school revision 18-8=18.
I lost my cool when i saw it.

CL, Valerie, hothotmum,
My dd is better now, thanks.

I think our kids are still adapting to answer/write in proper sentences. My dd also lazy to write ....

BP, understand your frustration, when i see such silly mistake can really make me go jumping to the roof. But then maybe when i was young i behave the same way too.. well its too long ago, cannot remember much.

My gal has got maths test this week. But I only knew it on sunday late night. Ha ha imagine she enjoyed her break so much during the PSLE oral days but she totally forgotten she has maths test this week.

Monday we spent the night after work to revise the 2 topics Comparing numbers zero to 100 and addition and subtraction within 100.

Yday. I let her do addition and subtraction with renaming within 100. Ha ha I almost strangled myself to death. ha ha When she do addition, her answer can be subtraction or vice versa. Then when she carry the tens to ones to do subtraction, she can add a 1 tens instead of taking away. I faint. This test , I " no eyes to see"

During revision, she yawn few times so I think she needs sleep. The moment I say stop, alamak, her eyes has never been so shiny and bright before. Kids are really kids, no sense of urgency for mine.

Hi chicken little, what you have described about your gal is sooo.. similar to mine. My girl math is very pathetic and i thought she is the only one behaving like that when comes to revision.
Today she is have Chinese class test and for the past few nights, she was really "killing me softly"... ha.. ha.. ha.. hope the situation will not get worst.. SA2 coming soon...

ha ha I am so glad that we have this channel to "pour our sorrow" hee hee

Ya man imagine my gal only has topical test and a few topics already I am going "la la" imagine when it comes to SA2 it is the whole year stuff and over 3 consecutive days

As this is my elder child and "my first time" coaching, sometimes i am very lost. The more i think, the more i am worried. So must ventilate in this thread and share with all the kind listeners here.. hee.hee.

CL &amp; Valerie,

My gal same same as yours .... the ways she does maths and keeps yawning while studying. the moment i declare bedtime, she "wakes" up and start reading storybooks earnestly...really no eye to see ...

sometimes I am thinking is it better with just 1 child. Not only can just focus on 1. But she will not have comparison.

Like why didi can watch TV I need to revise. Why didi can be carried I need to walk. Why I have to do this but he don't

She will never remember at that age, she also enjoy the same mah

cookiepie, my dd also like that, will read story books once she wakes up and before she sleeps. If she can treat school works this way.. that would be so stressless for me...

CL, your dd and my dd can really shake hand leh, even ask the same questions .. thats why i kept reminding her that she was being treated the same when she was at the same age as her mei mei.. But she said she do not remember anything at all and wanted to be treated the same now.
Sigh... sometimes i find myself explain too much leh...

Hi CL/Valerie/Cookiepie - my gal can join yr kids when come to revision...lack of concentration..When I tried to explain the questions to her..her eyes wandering here and there, start yawning, playing with erasers/pencils or doodling on the working papers....really testing my limits. But when I declared 10 min break...viola...suddenly got lots of energy to play =and talk with her sis, go and read books..SIGH..
Told her daddy that I will be the one (not my gal) breaking apart before the exam is here!!

bebe75, sometimes i wonder maybe parent should not be coaching or else it may strain our relationship with them when we loose our cool... but for now, no choice.. till i feel that she is able to revise on her own..

BP, hee hee same... my boy will only write 5 sentences when the instructions says 5-8. He says the more he writes, the more mistakes he gets.. faint!

Chickenlittle, my son went through the addition and subtraction in the first semester... it was q a torture for me to teach that.. so I can understand how u'r feeling. He also had problem with understanding sentences containing before and after Eg the number before 89 is __ &amp; 89 is before __. He will think the answer is 88.

Ya agree. Maybe we should form a neighbourhood group. You teach my gal and I teach yours.

Mine during revision will say dunno which part itchy, want to drink water, need to do this do that

Valerie &amp; CL,
Aiyoh, my dd also asks the same qns ... why meimei can play toys while she has to study ....worst when I try to coach dd, the meimei always come to disturb e.g. snatch the books, pencils, ask for milk, read story to her etc ... it's so chaotic at home during study time ...like that how to concentrate ....

cookiepie
ya my son oso will come disturb. The moment I sit down with jie jie, he will come and say want this want that, have to sit with me, etc

HA..HA..HA.. reading the above few posts about our kids really makes me laugh aloud.. CL, mine also leh.
Cookiepie, my younger dd also seek for attention when i am teaching or even just talking to her jie.jie..

what to do?? We are the mothers of this century!!! No choice.. Never hear my mum complaint about all these before...

ha ha what is wrong ? The milk, the food the kids eating now ? We too lenient ?

Ha ha last time we where got bargain ? give excuse ? side track ? or defy orders ?

Ya.. i am definitely guilty of leniency. No cane at home. All i do is scolding and nagging. So sad.. i used to talk much less when no kids. Now find scolding and nagging a chore to me. I was definitely the "gong gong" type when i was a kid.

When my son is doing his assessment books, nobody is allowed to on the TV as it will distract him for sure.

I used to sit by his side as he did his worrk but realised the method was not effective. My son would end up dunno anything and expect me to guide and teach him how to do it.

Now I will teach him using the book examples before asking him to do on his own. I will only mark and correct after he has completed the topic. This method seems to work well on him though there is still a couple of careless mistakes.