(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Valerie, I also do not have a cane at home.Lucky he is afraid of me, so most of the time a stern stare will be enough. Thus scold him only when required.

At times I will use emotion tactics on my son to make him feel guilty.

haha....

Ya never sit by their side or even near them. Like CL said, even those simple character or words will still ask you how to read, how to do.. seems like buying time. My dd always bargain with me on how many assessment she would do for the day.

TV is definitely a big distraction not only for her but me too.. hee..hee.. so will switch off TV from 7.30 p.m. to 9.00 p.m.

i have to on the tv for ds2 cos if not, ds2 will come and disturb us. so usually ds1 will go to the kitchen to do his work as that is the furthest room away from the living room. :p

Ya yday I can see she is losing focus. So I tell her if I give her 10 question of addition and subtraction correct then she can stop.

Since I already identify her weakness so just focus on that one. Ha ha initially she do 2 then third one is wrong, so I reset, because need 10 consecutively to close shop. Later she knows I mean it , she finally buck up and finished 10 with no mistake

For me yes yes I love dramas too. If no interesting drama on TV I can switch off. Now have to catch all my dramas on www.ku6.com or www.mysoju.com in wee wee hours after they sleep

Fz
same as you lor. I need the TV for my younger son because daddy's eyes glue to computer and is no help in distracting the no. 2 from me.

I need to close door to the small room and lower the volume. She cannot hear the sound from TV , but already "xin li bu ping heng"

I only watch dramas during weekends cos these days after work, I will be busy checking his homework given by me.

I strike a deal with him recently.That is he will not be allowed to play WII or computer games till his examinations are over, he will be allowed to play an hour a day and unlimited on weekend for 1 week. After which, it will resume back to only playing on weekend.

Guess what. It is not stated when my gal will have her maths test this week. My fren says it is today. But my gal says today no test. So my agony continues today!!!!! sob sob

OMG! Lucky u did some revision with her yesterday.

My son's teacher gave revision test out of the blue so you can never prepare for it.

another bomb now.

Teacher just emailed me "I have asked the children to revise the following topics for Maths: Mass, Length, Whole Numbers, Addition and Subtraction"

But no mention it is for test.

Just read another class blog that the test is postponed and more topics will be added.

This is just delaying the "death sentence"

OMG! Guess you will be busy revising with her from tonite onwards.

At least her teacher emailed u. Mine never send me any emails. Thus I will never know whether there will be any test.

oh I got updates from the teacher - same one who is teaching english and maths. what she return, what she need them to bring and what to revise. But will never tell you when is test date ha ha

If it is next week, I will give her and myself 1 day break. This pm she got Maths enrichment liao, dun want her to be overloaded with maths and detest it. So today break. Ha ha more for myself before I go bonkers

CL,
Your situation is still better than mine ... dd is having a series of mini maths & eng tests over these 2wks ...the aggregated score of these mini tests for each subject will be the CA2 result ...so it's 2wks torture for me....

My gal told me last evening that there would be surprise tests..but dunno which date or what topics..I only revised Maths problem sum with her recently - hope she can put in her best shot.

I have stopped their TV time since last week. They are only allowed to watch TV on Friday. Luckily I can survive without TV...Without TV, they will come up with silly excuses...like what CL had mentioned "say dunno which part itchy, want to drink water, need to do this do that"..ha ha...

During our time, I do not think we need revision for tests/exam, did we??

Re composition, I supposed the sch has taught them to write short paragraph (8-10 lines). However, her sentence structures have no connectivity..and very limited descriptive words. I bought a few model composition book for her to read, but I guess the model standards are too high, and she did not really like it. Now I encourage her to keep a journal and try to pen her thoughts or any events happened in the day.
I tried not to correct the grammar/spelling in her journals..just want to train her to write in a smooth flowing manner.

my boy came home today and said they have a 30min test for eng and math.
i only worry about careless mistakes.
am revising chinese tingxie for the whole of last sem and this term's cos he seems to have already forgotten certain words!!
good thing is that CA2 not counted in overall end of the year computation.

mine no CA lah just waiting to "die" during SA2 only. sigh.

This morning she was just telling me. Bluff one lor. They say P1 P2 no exam. Where got

Hi Valerie,

I am 100% with you that parents shd avoid tutor their own children..it can really strain the relationship..

bebe75, everyday i will tell myself to be nice to my dd, but the moment when i ask her to revise, i just can't keep my cool... Really hope she will understand that whatever we are doing now are for their good sake...

Mine no CAs also, just SA1 & SA2 for P1 & P2.

Mummies, just want to check whether did your dd/ds make use of the chinese character cards in school? So far, my dd's teacher has not ask for it? And the year is ending already...

I'm teaching my girl all 3 subjects. Planning to stop her only enrichment

Buy assessment books so much cheaper than engaging tutors mah

fz

My English not that fantastic. I learn at the same time as her. Peep at the answers before coaching her. Lower primary should still be manageable

My gal had eng & chinese surprise test yesterday...today maths...hope she don't make careless mistakes...now not too bad not so stress...wait till SA2 worst lor..

To have more than 1 kids also have a blessing lar. My DS is quite lonely as times as no one to play with him.

My DS "Zi Bao Bao" just lying around at home in the cupboard. Do not understand why if the school not using, why still ask us to purchase.

My DS sch, no exam this year...so luck for me. Only on and off quizes which is unknown to me, hence cannot "prepare" him also.

Wonder also does your kids share with you all what's happening in school? My son doesn't wonder if it is common among kids.

ohohjazz, that is also the reason why i have a 2nd one. But now instead of playing together, they often quarrel with each other.

Ya thats what i think also, why ask us to buy when not use in the syllabus.

So lucky, at least you can rest and relax for this year.

My Ds do not share much, unless some one makes her unhappy... Sigh, girls are more petty, i think.

Hi Chicken Little,

Yesterday we were just talking abt test.At nite when I reached home, my son told me they have had a surprise revision test for chinese.

On wed, they just had their surprise revision maths and english test. Lucky he has done well for his maths test. He told me according to his teacher quite a number of his classmates got this question wrong 82+4 = 80+??? some put 86!

Valerie, my son used the cards in class at times.

My son will share when I asked him. But I realised he seldom eats with his friends during recess. Thus asking him to eat more often with them.

hi avriff,
my ds also had some tests last week. Same, many kids had gotten wrong for such kind of qn you had stated. 82+4 = 80+??? they simply add up 82+4 without looking at the '=' sign.

Hi natellehcim, Just hope ours will not make such careless mistakes during their SA.

I am teaching my son to double check his work if there is time. Quite diff...haiz

ya hope they don't do the same mistake again... Ashamed to say that ever since Jun hols, i hardly revise with my son.. :p Had seen that lately his teachers had prepared the class with all sorts of practice worksheets on all subjects, from mental sums, previous years papers to comprehension to cloze passages... especially these 2-3 wks, stacks of worksheets seen.

Re Siblings
yes, nowadays i am more 'free', cos both kids will entertain themselves. on good days, if the elder gives in to the younger, peace. on bad days, quarrel will erupt every few minutes.

Re Careless mistake
i feel headache whenever seeing my boy's very obvious careless mistake, eg when the question asked for '-', he actually jump into doing '+' straightaway without checking. or if it is choose the words in the box and fill in the blanks, he can spell wrongly and for chinese, copy in the wrong tonation!

Because of my 6 yrs old son, I have personally spending times exploring 3G Abacus & Traditional Abacus.

After completing the 3G ABACUS instructor course, I have applied the methods to teach my son. It is very simple & easy to understand. As such, he has shown more interest in mathematics than before.

I am planning to let him take part in the INTERNATIONAL Grading Exam this coming DEC 09. If possible, I will let him take part in year 2009 competition.

Currently, I am teaching kids & parents the 3G Abacus.
If you are interested in 3G ABACUS, please email me.

Prob majority of the kids are the same. When i asked my girl to do her homework/revision, she wld say she needs to go the loo, needs to drink water...blah blah blah...But when i say to take 10mins break, dont noe how come got so much energy to play wif my nephew!!!! I agree wif some mummies tat if we tutor our kids we tend to flare/shout at them for being careless & not paying attention!

hahaha..at least now i know my son is normal..i tot he is the only one here with lots of excuses...heehehe..
last friday, he brought back his math test paper..OMG..he did not even tell me that he got math tests in school...lucky the results still ok..but a few careless mistakes as usual.

Hi Joanne,

My gal also got the problem when come to Comprehension section. She simply read the question and answer straight away. She didnt seem to read the whole passage at all. OMG!!!

That's how she do for her English and Chinese Comprehension. FAINT!!!

That why her recent test score very badly in this area.All her marks just gone.

Joanne,

I heard good feedback on KipMcgrath...but once again it depends on whether the teacher is good & most important they must be able to motivate them...ever thought of getting a tutor?

My gal also, Comprehension for English and Chinese, problem sums for Math. score very badly. She has very short concentration.. when teaching her.. she will look here and there, really test my patient! When ask her to do Assessment, she will do it in front of the television when I am not around. Sigh!

Hi Sherlyn,

U might want to consider sitting together with her when she is doing her homework & definetly not in front of the TV. What I did was everday 8-9pm I make it as study time for my children in my bedroom wih myself & hubby to guide them. If she has Homework I will let her finish first & if got spare time then let her do some assessment.

Hi Joanne,

Alternatively u can buy assessment book focus on comprehension or problem sums to let her practise..u can buy EPB its quite gd For math problem sums u can get the book written by Fabian Ng

For comprehension section, usually I will make sure my son reads the story to me before answering the questions. Thus it has become a habit for him to read before answering the questions.

For comprehension..I make my gal to read the passage at least 3 times..
First time - to let her grasp a brief idea of the passage.
Second time - she must able to picture the passage in her brain..
Third time - let her read the the questions and then read the passage again. I must remind her to look out for the key words, esp the tenses (present or past tenses) cos she is very careless..always forgot to answer the question in the correct tenses.

As for maths..I agree Fabian Ng is a good book to use. His books are very structural, step by step..easy to follow.
I am also using another book by Simon Eio "Step-by-step Maths Problem solving using Models"..quite easy to follow. I noted that when she did problem sum in the past, she also never read the questions, just plunge straight and write out the equations without analsying the problem. With modeling, she is being "forced" to go through the problems, and break them into pictorial form. At least she paused and tried to understand the problem, before attempting.

hi Jolene,
I have tried sitting with her, but when I am with her, she will depend on me to answers all the questions for her. Like what other mummies said.. even those simple question will still ask you how to do.. seems like buying time. She always bargain with me on how many assessment she would do for the day when I told she must do 2-3 comprehension a day before I go to work.

Hi Sherlyn,

For me I always ask my gal to try on her own & reassure her that its ok to make mistakes...and right now she is able to do her work independently.

May I join? My dd is 2002 and ds is 2003. Both kids will be pri 1 and pri 2 next year in the same school. I saw your discussion on maths. Have your school started multiplication and division. I went through few times with my gal but her maths scored badly this exam. Think I gotta buck up and not be complacent. Cos last term she did well so I left her alone.