(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Caroline
I think i paid $345 one term. Homework usually only 1 sheet of paper.

Not stephanie. My girl's teacher is Catherine. Only 2 in the class. Conduct with games , saw a lot of worksheets done in class. You can pop by my place and I can show you.

oh...just let me kids to watch the clip....and my boy told me, he hve watch it b4 in his sch some time ago.....mm...he still the same leh.. still choose where & wat to eat....

any of ur kids get SA result back?? I'm still waiting...no news yet....

Amyamy, my dd told me yest that her teacher may return them their EL and Math SA papers today, depends on whether they behave themselves in school today? I'm kind of excited, haha...

hahaha, it seems that we parents are more excited..

btw, any idea what will they do in class the next 2 weeks before the June holidays?

My P1 gal is taking her CL paper today..I did not revise with her much..she was super tired after the EL paper on Tues and her Chinese Ting Xie on Wed. We did the a few sch exam papers which I have downloaded and was pleased with her results (abt 80-90 marks). I hope she did the same for her school papers (pray hard). Tonight when she comes home, I have to revise her maths again..101% sure that she has forgotten what was taught over the last weekend.

She is still having Chinese Ting Xie next Tues..I do not know how her school plan their stuff..sigh..

Talking abt the children weight and height..I think the kid will reach its growth spur around 3, 6, 9 yrs old..nope?? This is what I notice abt my gals..they surged their growth in weight and height when they were around 3 and 6 yrs old cos I kept having buy new shoes and clothes for them..ha ha..When I was in P3 (around 9 yrs old)..I was also around 40kg..I had been plump and meaty since young..until late 20s then I started to shrink. I think during that time, work and family stress helped me to shed those fats. Nowadays kids are quite well fed..I have seen some lower pri school kids who are bigger in size compared to their peers, or their petite maids.

Apart from diet, how often do yr kids exercise? Other than the PE, gym activities in school, my girl hardly exercises. I am thinking of sending her to swimming class during the holiday, but need to find suitable class slot, and to persuade her to attend. She is always very resistant to try new activities, esp those physical, outdoor activities.

ya..ya...tink we parents are more excited....than them....

talk about of Chinese Ting Xie....son told me on wed( which they r taking their last paper) also hve Spelling...so on Tues nite, rush for Maths revision and the spelling together....until want to give up liao....

till 2day,Spelling still nt done yet... really dn't know Y the teacher must sabo us like tat...'sob'..'sob'....

Hi Amyamy

I understand the anxiety of having ting xie and test together on the same day..really taxing on us..dunno which one to do first..told my hubby this reminds me of the old days when I had 2 exam papers on the same day..totally brain dead at the end of they day..He said he had not seen me being so jumpy and acted up for a long time..asked me to go chill out tomorrow night (the last day of paper)...Ya..I think I need one badly..ha ha..but for now..I need to go thru Maths with her tonight..the last hurdle..

My son has got back his english and maths paper today. Those top in his class are are girls. His results are ok, but I think he is more excited in the rewards that he get from the teacher. The teacher reward those who score well.

I had a hard time teaching my boy Eng & Chinese over and over again. Always cannot remember. However, maths is much easier for him to understand & me to teach. Tomorrow last paper - Maths. Sch gave 2 sets of mock per subject. He didin't do well as those were attempted before revision. I think he is also careless.

YEAH!!! SA1 is over liaoz!! Aiyohz... I feel as if I was the one taking the exams siah. I've never felt so stressed before... not even when I was working and had to manage events at the hotel back to back. hahahahahh....

<font color="ff0066"> Pediasure</font>
Both my #1 &amp; #2 are currently taking this. Both of them can finish 2 big 1.8kg cans in 1-mth. Tat costs me about $120+. *faintz* But I continue to give them cos my #2 is a very pciky eater and PD recommended to give her as a supplement. So far so good...

<font color="ff0066"> Eating</font>
#1 is not a fussy eater at all. In fact... she LOVES food. Always searching for snacks. Then at meal times can eat like adult. Her fav foods are anything with curry - Laksa, Nasi Lemak, Mee Rebus, Curry Chicken, Fish Head Curry, Buah Keluak, etc.... But my #2 is a fussy eater. Only likes to eat western or japanese foods. Not too keen on chinese cuisine. *faintz* Fortunately though... both of them love to eat vegs. Cos they're gals... I told them... eat vegs you will hv nice smooth and pink complexion. Bein vain, they will faster finish their vegs. hahahahaha...

<font color="ff0066"> Milk Bottles</font>
Thks mommies for sharing with me. At least I know tat there are some mommies out there in same situation as me. *hiaks-hiaks*. Now I'm starting to cut down on their milk intake by minusing out their morning feeds. Once this is accomplished, I'll then work towards changing their night feeds from bottle to cup. Thks for all the advises.

bebe75,
ya..ya...we been through it, but now is tat we see our own kids going through...heart pain...'sob,sob'.....
all the best to ur girl last paper.....

dymples
I have also reminded my gals when they were young to eat veggies and fruits if they wanna nice complexion..and true lor..they wanna be "swee swee" and pretty and finish their portion of veggies..fast and willingly

caroline3sg
My gal is the opp of yr boy..she is terribly weak in maths (no numerical concept), English and chinese is manageable if she is not careless..later I will test her on the spelling from 1 to 20 and the ordinals. Need to ask her to watch if the questions required her to "write in words". Scare that she anyhow see the blanks and fill them in...Another thing when my hubby was going thru her worksheets last week..We realised she did not show working because she was afraid to dirty the papers..she will erase the workings every time...I wanna faint already..no wonder her teacher told me her work is always so pleasant to mark cos they are neat and tidy..of course lah, nothing to mark what..I dunno what was going thru my gal's mind..hiaz..

amyamy
Thanks..I wish I was the one taking the paper for her...hee hee...I had stopped asking her how she fare for her CL papers..she was very snappy in the evening when she came back from sch...must have been a tiring week for her...

By the way, are any of your kids here attending MPM maths..I am thinking of signing her up for those maths classes that trained in visualisation. She has problem understanding those bonding diagrams and models. Any courses to recommend?

Hee hee... i also tell my kids that if they want to have good complexion, they must eat vegetables. I tell them their ah-koo (my bro) didn't eat veges so that's why he had so many pimples :p

Goodness! The exams are going to be over soon. **phew** any idea where I can bring them over the weekend? I stay in Bishan... nothing interesting nearby. I've run out of places to go.

bebe, my son has swimming lessons once a week. It's good exercise for him. He'll be joining basketball cca next term... so i hope with that, he'll be able to slim down.

littleprincess, I also have 3 B-G-G(P1,3yrs,13mth)

Tinklebell
We are neighbours..hee..I stay at TPY but Bishan is like my 2nd home cos my in laws stay there. We have our dinner twice a week at Bishan on weekdays.

Our weekend are usually spent on classes - ballet and Chinese HYPY. We will go to my mum place for dinner (at the east) in the evening, if not, we usually go to the library.
Interesting things to do on weekend..hmm..have you tried out the Prawn fishing near the Sin Ming estate? We tried to go there once, but the carpark was full, and we dropped the ideas. Perhaps we will try to go there again. Another activity will be inline skating..I promise the gals to resume the activity when the exam is over.

Where does yr boy have his swimming lessons?

Bebe, u stay v near to me. I use to stay in TPY more than 10 yrs back. V convenient place. I go there once a week after church. My weekends are somewhat similar to yours. But we try to keep Sunday afternoons free just for the kids. We used to go to Botanic gardens, Marina Barrage etc... been there so many times until I got so sick of it.

Prawn fishing? Ha ha... is it opposite salvation army - where the golf driving range is? I went there once ..it's just opposite my home... but I feel so sorry for the prawns after that

My boy is taking lessons at Bishan swimming pool.

Littleprincess, which class is your girl in? Wow u 3 girls no need to worry about their schools liao since the first one got a place in!

Re kids' sizes, my P1 girl is still wearing the same clothes we bought for her 2-3 years ago. She only grows in one direction so all still can wear albeit long pants become 3/4 capris. Save alot of money haha.. And my 22mth old is still wearing her 6m+ clothes too, LOL.

Oh my girl got back her SA english papers yest but only copied down her marks, didnt bring back the papers. I was so happy when I added up her score, then later realised that the full marks is actually more than 100, haha...

mommies

You ever enrolled your kids in <font color="119911">inline skating</font> course? Which instructor is good? Please recommend. Thanks!

Hi Tinklebell

Botanical garden used to be one of our Sunday hideout..but since the gals signed up for HYPY class, we hardly went there..
Marina Barrage seemed interesting..maybe I will bring my gals with their cousins during June Holiday...
Re the prawn fishing..I have seen pple BBQ them live..very cruel..I told hubby - I would not dare to BBQ them live..probably release them back to the pond after catching..
I am trying hard to persuade my gal to go for swimming class..she doesn't like public pool cos of the chlorine, we are allergy to the chlorine and will break out into hive if we stay in the pool for too long. But my hubby think this is an important life skill that one must have..probably need to wait for the school to send her there..then she has no choice but to follow the school.

Yawn Yawn
My gals joined skateline class in Bishan in Mar09 holiday. They picked up the basic techniques within 3 days and enjoyed themselves thoroughly. The instructors were quite fun loving, and good with kids. They are having another 3 days (2hrs per day ie. 9am to 11am) camp in June holiday, you may consider them if you are keen.

Hi Bebe,
Could you provide more info on the skateline class as I m interested to bring my boys for the camp in Jun. Do your gals know how to skate after the camp or they only learn the basic steps? Could you post the link of the coy organising the camp as I wld like to check out the details. Thanks.

Hi wanwan

The coy is skateline..you can find more details here http://www.skateline.com.sg/article/view/Holiday-Skate-Camp-for-Juniors-2009-June-20090507.rails

During the camp, they would break the kids into 3 groups, the basic, intermediate and advance group. We were in the basic as we had no exposure to skating before. I even had difficulty figuring out how to put on those gears for my gals, but the coaches were kind and helpful to guide me. Eg For younger or thinner kids like my k2 gals, they teach me how to harness the gear differently to make it more secured. Within the 3 days, the gals picked up the basic skills such as how to fall, how to stand, how to slow down and how to stop..of course no stunts lah, my gals has inherited my kia see genes..everything do slow slow...but at least they hv learnt how to skate. If your kids are daring, or able to pick up fast, they will "promote" you to the next level..otherwise you can stay within the same group, anyway at the end of the day, the coaches will combine the 3 groups to let them mingle around and play games together (on their skates). During the last camp, the age group ranged from 3.5 yrs old to 14 yrs old.

Hi Tinklebell

I can share yr joy..what a relief..
I treated my gal with Happy Meal before she went to school for her maths paper today.
As for me, i can relax and start to sing que sera sera ...going to take a break before worrying abt the results later

luanee- my girl is in 1h, how abt yours?
my girl also got her EL marks, thot all added to 100? 55 for main paper, 10 for spelling, Listening 10,compo 10 n oral 15?

tinkerbell - mind sharing how you handle the 2 younger kids when u need to guide your boy with his homework/studies?
my day is full with the 2 older girls activities. Both of them are in different session.my poor baby is on the road with me most of the time.
It's a nightmare after 6.30pm when all 3 are at home. My maid is not good with children so I can't get her to help. Doing school work with my girl is a struggle sometimes.

littleprincess,
my hubby doesnt work on certain weekdays so he coaches my boy.
when my hub is not ard, when it's be my turn to coach him. My maid will look after the youngest one. My hub's focus is on the theory and academic whereas for me, I'll coach him more on oral.

My maid is q good. She has worked for our family for 13 yrs on and off. Hiaz my maid's contract is expiring and her hub doesnt want her to continue... i forsee i'll be having serious headache soon

Tinkerbell -*salute* to ur hubby. My hubby only help her with Chinese.

Hard to find maids who are committed to the family nowadays. My maid requested to go home this yr ( her 3rd year wif us). My neighbour's maid has been with them for 10 years + as well.

littleprincess - aiyo - my hub is q a perfectionist when it comes to studies ... my boy always kenna scoldings fr him! Sometimes i pity my boy so much that i take over fr him.

Chicken Little:
Your girl’s breasts are also swelling huh? Mine too. She even told me at times they are painful! Hmm…time passes so fast! Soon, they will be in puberty!

Amyamy:
Thanks for the video clip. Very touching indeed. But when I showed to my girl, she said how come the kids are so dirty, want to eat food in the dustbin? Faintz. I think they really do not know the concept of poverty, living such good life here.

Dymples/Tinklebell:
Congrats on the end of SA1! Really can relax liow. For this entire week, I had never felt so relaxed! Never touching ANY books at all! Haha, I wonder when I will have the impetus to start revision for my girl, cos I also feel so lazy, heh.

Bebe75:
My girl had the same problem as your girl when doing Math. She will not indicate any workings. And for the questions on length, she will write down the numbers then erase all of them again. So, just before the exams, I told her she should leave all these down and show the teacher she knows more things. And she may get bonus marks. It worked! Haha.

Yawn Yawn:
I think East Coast has some pretty good inline skating instructors too. For my daughter’s school, after exams, they organized all the P1 girls to learn inline skating. We only need to pay $15 for 3 lessons. And just today, it is a games day organized by the parents so that teachers can key in scores into their report cards. So, us parents look after the girls the entire day. I was in charge of organizing games for the class for 1.5 hours and after that, in charge of helping the girls go through some Amazing Race competition. I tell you, I nearly passed out when I reached home. I had never felt so tired in a long long time!

Tinklebell - heeh, just realize I hv been typing yr nick as ' tinkerbell'... So sorry about that.
Guess, someone has to play the ' disciplinarian' role at home.
You are fortunate to play the ' sayang' sayang' role

To the rest of the mummies, time to take a break before the next wave of mugging, nagging n sweating

Linette,
my girl too...asked Y they take food for the bin??? Ha..ha..mayb she still dn't understand wat's happening...

Wow...tink all kids exams over....finally can enjoy over the wkend....ye...ye...

littleprincess,
Yes, for sure we will relax for a few weeks at least! Hee hee...

amyamy,
Yeah, I think they could not imagine living without enough food, esp after the way we kept pushing food to them, haha.

Enjoy the weekend, mummies!

bebe75,
Should I email to you the SA papers?
Do I need to balco the answers too?
My son has returned his English and Mathematics Paper and I am not sure when they will get it back. I can only email to you the Chinese paper.
Is that OK?

Littleprincess, haha now strike 4D second time liao!! My girl same class as urs too! Shall PM u to avoid boring the rest.

Hi YenLing
Yes..u may remove the answer and email the paper to [email protected].

My gal will get her result on 21 May..though the marks are not counted towards the SA2..but still can't help feeling abit worried.

There will be no marking day..but the school has some "life skill" prog to keep their students occupied. For the P1, they will be taught how to fold their clothes, put on their attire etc. And P2 gals will be taught how to do up their hair. I will be attending the prog as PV..I think I am more excited than my gal..ha ha..

For the parent meeting event, I suppose there will be no sch on that day as I was told that kids need not attend the session. I intend to bring my gal to catch a movie on the day, depending on what time the session ends.

Really envy everyone here. My son still got two papers left, Maths and Mother Tongue. I am more kan cheong than him.

He is just so careless, can literally leave the whole page blank, or some questions blank. When I ask him, he said...... oops, never see. *Faint*

The pediasure is not free leh. It cost me $13 per tin, used to be $12 last year. But the price is lowest already.

My son's pd used to be able to give sample at times but somehow, not anymore.

Tuition centre?
I personally quite like Just Education. Their teachers are all NIE trained teacher, with at least 3 years of teaching experience.

Hi Imummy,
I heard from one of my son's classmate mother that Just Education teachers are only NIE trained. In other words, they never teach in the schools before.

Hi bebe75,
I will try to send to you as soon as I can.

chua yen ling,
i thought NIE teachers have to undergo a bond when they graduate? you cannot go to NIE to study without MOE's approval. and to get MOE's approval, you have to sign a bond.
correct me if i am wrong...

bebe, I have sent you my son's maths and eng papers. Do let me know if u have not recieved.Oh yah, can pls send me copy of other sch's sa paper? I'm intending to let my son do it during the june holiday to brush up his eng. He almost fail!! Thank yah

Hi Milo - Thanks. I have received yr emails..so far I only have the following (including yr contribution)
-Aitong HCL Mock SA1
-Catholic High HCL Mock SA1
- Hougang Primary MAths SA1
- Hougang Primary English SA1

I believe most sch have yet to return the papers to the students. I will forward them to you once I have compiled them

Hi fz,
I am not really sure what she meant. It is because when I told her my son's tution centre teachers had experience teaching in primary schools, she just popped out that Just Education teachers are only NIE trained.

I will confirm with her again.

Hi Bebe75,
I am sorry to tell you that I can only scan the Chinese paper into different pages.

Hope that you don't mind.