(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Oh dear, thats bad. I can understand your frustration and the fear in your boy. Anyway, we shall share more in the Endeavour thread. See you there.

Hi Cool,
Yeah I recalled seeing the eng worksheet on Farm Concert. Same here, my boy had to finish his worksheet of abt 5 pgs I think until almost 10.30pm.

What's happening at the sch...my boy is also supposed to have spelling today and I asked him juz now how he said no spelling asked him why he said dont know haiz...

Strange that the sch only gives you the CCA list today bec the deadline of submitting returns is tmr!! My boy wants to join table-tennis or sports but needs to go sch in the am for 3 times a week for table-tennis! I will juz submit our choices and check the tpt tmr. I doubt the bus driver will pick him up in the am bec there are only 3 students in our area the rest are in AMK. Dont know whether should get him to join CCAs or not. My hubby said no need lah but I thot it will be good for him to learn sth non academic..

I have already paid $14.80 for the yearly subscription of the Hao Peng You which is meant for P1 & P2 as mentioned by Caroline...

Hi cclyn, cool, wanwan,

My ds' english story book is also Farm concert. The spelling list seems to be from the book as the first 5 words are animals. So do you have to buy the book?

He just told me tonite that the teacher said must buy a blue colour book for English. Don't know what's that as it's not in the booklist, he said it's a textbook with children playing / running. Only one girl in the class has the book. Any idea?

Hi wanwan, if can settle the logistics, be good to join cca especially for some sport / activity that he enjoys. Haven't received any news about cca yet. My boy wants badminton and wushu.

He complained about school again today that the lessons he likes didn't happen. Supposed to have library, but "the owner is not there"!?! Apparently, they still don't follow the timetable or sometimes the teachers are not around, so it's relief teachers covering or parent volunteers, I suspect. The PE teacher was ill so no PE. Then the art teacher didn't come. sigh...

Oh, and just to share. My ds went for the school's dental checkup today and got his milk tooth extracted! I was shocked but he told me about the 'visit' very excitedly. Supposed that by signing the acknowledgement form for dental services during orientation, it covers extraction without consulting parents first.

Hi Fz , actually i dun quite familiar to use PM , but u can reach me at [email protected] , during woking hour u can reach me at [email protected]
My gal is in Sapphire Class, the chinese spelling list had been returned bcos e date was wrong,so far still hvn't received the updated copy yet.
Seeing some of the kids here already given hmwork & spelling list,well my gal still v.ry relaxed.About the english lesson i juz emailed & ask her form teacher.The teacer said nid 2 purchase one grammer book , then the Stellar programme will focus on the reading 1st.She asked me to let my gal read more.Then i ask abt e handbk , 2day then they received the handbook.I think hor , a bit slow la , parents nid to ask then knoe how the class going on.....;-(
nt being kiasu but a bit concern my gal's progress since i nvr send her for any enrichment class , & i m still considering coaching her personally or outsource to those gd enrichment or learning ctr.But during her K2 child care teacher did teach P1 syllabus , but child care teacher evr told me tat nid to improve her grammer , tats y i m more concerned abt her english.
Bsides the assessment bk which i bought for her , do any mommies use Astar software to coach yr kids? i would like to hear the comments.Abt the Kumon Maths , is it really gd as i heard juz repeatingly do the worksheet , which i understand can train them to think faster , but isn't it the same she practising using those asessment bks?repetition doesn't mean understanding the concept , only understand the question asking format...

Ling,

the grammer book is in the booklist.

Handbook? you mean the class diary? if so, my boy received it last week.

my boy also had difficulty explaining what is learnt during english lessons. for math, now they teaching basics...my boy commented so boring..:p

my boy's kindergarten was the PCF across the road, hardly any preparation on P1 stuff.

any of yr kids' sch is usin de Math bks below?
- My Pals Are Here! Enrichment Book 1A & 1B
- My Pals Are Here! Homework Book 1A & 1B
- Shaping Maths - Maths Builders
- Discovery Maths Test 1
- Noteworthy Questions by Hothouse Educational

these r de recommended supplementary materials 4 my gal's sch but i can't find them in popular.

jh
Yesterday we paid to teacher to get My Pals are Here test papers. There is a letter asking for money and that the book is not out yet, would be given to the class when available.

for those mummies whose children are still without homework, mine yesterday came back with stapled worksheet comprises of
1) Proper & Common Nouns - circle common nouns from a list of both
2) From a list of nouns, classify into people, place and things
3) compo - 3 MCQ, 2 OE but with partial sentence given.
4) vocab cloze on pronouns
Total 7 pages, didn't manage to finish all.

caroline3sg,
I think no one will believe that your boy is in neighbourhood school. :p
My boy commented about boredom in class (probably cos they are doing basics now). But when i mentioned about stopping coaching at home so that he'll learn straight from the teachers, he go 'NOOOOOO....if like that, I won't be able to answer questions in class!!!'
lolz.

caroline,
my gal's bklist had a My Pals Are Here! Maths Tests 1 - 2nd Edition maths bk dat she needed 2 buy. wonder if it's de same as de 1 u've mentioned. wonder where can buy de Enrichment & Homework bks ...

my gal brought back a few days' ago a set of worksheets fm her stellar prog story bk. she insisted on finishin all de 10 pages n slept late dat nite, even though i told her dun tink de teacher wanted her 2 complete. de next day, she said de teacher only wanted her 2 finish 2 pages! LOL

fz,
when u say coachin, do u mean u teach ahead of de teacher? do u use yr son's textbk 2 coach or u use other bks?

jh,
er...i can't really relate to the textbook and didn't want to confuse my boy as the teacher will go through it. I also want the textbook to remain 'refreshing' for my boy else he'll be even more bored!

for english, we are doing P1 assessment books. I go through what ever he does not know. I didn't follow any syllabus. we started around 3rd Q of last year and as we speak english at home, generally he is ok, except for Compre. For CW, i am only getting him used to come up with 5 sentences relating to the pic regardless of sentence structure (which i am not confident of my own sentence structure skills) or spelling.

for math, i refer to P1 assessment book's content structure too (eg addition within 40, picture graphs etc). we started mid last year. he is using New Syllabus Maths, which i believe is very much simpler than My Pals are Here.

for chinese, we have berries, which teaches higher chinese (while his school uses normal chinese).

regardless of how much he knows, he still succumbs to careless mistakes! Arghh!!!!

how about you?

fz
based on the volume of eng/maths homework, I really wonder what they do in class, whether teacher teach what, how she teach.

Is it spend time teaching and all homework done at home?

jh
I think same. For those you can't find in a particular popular, you can ask which branch has or when coming. If not, how about sch bookshop? Or if you know which publisher, call them.

jan
my boy last night told me today need to go dental. Last night one of his top front milk teeth very shaky, so I pucked it out.

His bottom 2 front teeth are new ones. His top front teeth one more not yet shaky.

I took the opportunity to tell him sch has injection. He very smart ask me don't sign the form loh, ha ha ha. I told him no form to sign yes or no. Then he say he would cry. I said cry loh, whole class cry together, never mind one (my tone not sacastic tone)

BTW have all ur P1 kids milk teeth started to drop yet? Is there any order which teeth will drop first(similiar to the trend of the emergence of new milk teeth when young)? My girl has been complaining of shaky teeth for quite some time liao but so far all havent drop yet..

And yes caroline, I told my girl the same thing too, if she wants to cry during injection then just cry lor, LOL

So far these are the 3 books that are used by my ds sch under the Stella prog:

- Farm concert
- Mrs Wishy Washy
- Dan, The Flying Man

Jan - we have not been told to buy any books yet. And just checked with the sch bus driver said not fetching students for CCAs in the am bec most parents will fetch the children there in the am...still thinking of how to settle the tpt.

Maths
my ds is using MyPals and it gives me a good idea on the method to be used by the teacher. The textbk is very pictorial & illustrative. It even attracts my K2 ds.

caroline,
tink whole popular dun have cos i've checked online. i've juz written 2 pacific bk store. c if they have.

fz,
last yr i din teach; left it 2 cc teacher. even assessment bks @ home also dun mark.
only answer if she asks. dat's y wana buck up dis yr so ask u how u do it.

luanee
1 of my gal teeth has been shaking for quite sometime finally 1 of her lower milk teeth drop after having her food in sch and she told us her teeth drop in the basin and he dun dare to pick up. LOL

fz
i think kids tend to lost this lost that after they went to sch. My gal nearly lost her PE suit after she changed but forgot to bring the same day.

fz, maybe he left the chinese textbook in school? I found that the books in my girl's bag have been getting lesser and lesser as they leave some books in class everyday.

I also face the same problem as you all, my gal keeps forgetting/losing her things.

My gal has very minimal homework till now. Every day come back, she will watch TV. I can't help worrying for her.....

caroline3sg,
since he lost his pencil case in class (he found out when he is in class and already informed the teacher), i am surprised that no one saw it. my worries is that some kids choose to keep it as the stationary are brand new. and call me paranoid, but as my boy is teacher's 'little helper' for this term, i am concerned that he may have stepped on the toes of fellow classmates when reporting of misbehaviour (my boy is very 'straight' type of person).

you plucked your boy's tooth? so brave! both of you! :p
my boy's bottom front teeth all adult teeth. Top lost 2 teeth liao, but only grow out one.

luanee,
i thought so too. but when i asked my boy if he left it in class, he said he can't remember. How can? then he offered that maybe his partner kept it. Then i told him that he should ensure that he keeps all his relevant text in his bag after every lesson.

fz
kids so young know how to sabotage already ah? scary leh.

All my girl's baby teeth are plucked by me. Of course they must be very shaky ones.

Hi carol, we were not informed that the dental checkup was yesterday. My ds' extraction was for the lower front tooth - the permanent tooth grew from behind so the milk tooth was still very intact. That happened for his other lower front tooth. Brought him to the dentist who advocates extraction not necessary as it will drop on its own and move forward naturally to take the space. It did though took a looong time, nearly a month I think! When it was really shaky, I tried to pull it out but couldn't. Then the next day, it just dropped when he was drinking water.

Thought the form was agreement to dental services, such as general checking and cleaning but would think that parents be consulted before extraction is done. At least we can prepare mentally for it mah. hahhaa prepare mummy; the child is cool!!

Hi luanee, there's a rough guide which age starts to drop which tooth and according to my dentist, generally follows the sequence of when the milk teeth are out. But there are the molars at the back which do not replace any milk teeth that will come out first.

I bought a tooth album each to store my kids' milk teeth when my ds first permanent tooth came out. Think it's a nice keepsake together to record the dates

jan
ya, regarding extraction, I also think should let parents know first. I remembered my time, nurse told me which one to extract, go home tell mother first then come back again for extraction.

My son one, after I pucked out, I saw his new tooth. The old milk tooth has moved forward some time already. So new tooth takes the position.

Last time, I washed all my girl's milk teeth and put into a red packet. On and off, she would take out to see. Now don't know put where already.

I had 2 milk teeth of my boy's at home. One he threw away when in kindergarten during sch time.

caroline3sg,
i'm not sure...maybe i'm just paranoid (when i was in K1, my classmate drew onto my book cos i refused to give her a sweet :p). :p

now faced with another problem. my boy said that he shared his crackers with his classmate today. then in return, his classmate shared his drink with him. then i ask him if they use separate straw, he said no straw. then i advise him not to share drinks cos unhygenic then my boy said he only wanted a sip. haiz.

something new everyday....headache yet amusing. :p

jan,
tooth album? where can i get? i just slot the teeth into the photo album. :p

wan wan
Same here..no spelling becos the bookshop vendor runs out of the exercise book! couldn't believe my ears when my boy told me too. In the end they were just asked to says the letters of the words together as a class,
I also have logistic problem for the CCA. The bus driver also confirmed no early pick up..asked me to call the company directly. Called so many times, but nobody answer, today is the deadline, so spoke to my ds and told him tat we will have to postpone it till he's in primary 3...haiz...hopefully, we can find a house nearby soon..otherwise how?

jan,
did de nurse return u yr kid's extracted tooth?
does de album identify which tooth for which compartment? dis album thg is new 2 me; i only noe of de container thingy ...

for those whose kids have alredi dropped their milk teeth, wat do u tell them? do u tell them de tooth fairy story?

my gal watched de tooth fairy musical last yr; wonder if i shd remind her of de story when her 1st tooth drop.

hi jh,
my son already has dropped 6 milk teeth, including 2 front teeth..i let him keep all his milk teeth in a small glass container =D Just told that that every time the milk teeth drop means he is a bigger boy now..haha..no fantasies. I have brought them to the Tooth fairy show, somehow it helps to emphasis the importance of teeth brushing. One day, my younger one saw his brother slept without brushing teeth, he asked if the with will come and take the teeth,,haha

Dd has no spelling/tingxie list till now. The only homework was her Pensmanship which she failed to complete in class. Seems that my dd is extremely talkative and inattentive...will need to work on her concentration.

Caroline, with regards to your question as to whether the homework should be just completed in school or done at home. Of course if there's no homework, it'll be good for the child....but my worry is how to keep up to date on their syllabus in this case. Will they bring home their completed worksheets? I'm clueless currently.

My dd just received her hanyu pinyin spelling list. 10 words for next Wed!

Anyway, for her school, the textbooks are all in class, so they dun bring the textbooks home…so I am wondering how to look through what she had learned!

Shawny17:
Yeah, we received the promotional leaflet for the Maths venture too. Think I will subscribe for fun…!
What do you usually pack for her recess? I have those Hello Kitty and cookie cutter moulds, and I always make her bread and butter moulded into shapes for her packed food. But no other variety. I have friends who pack fantastic bento sets for their kids, super impressive!

Yawn yawn:
CCAs: My dd has been accepted into Ballet and Tennis. These are continuations of her external enrichments outside.

Qdee:
You are right, I am enjoying this honeymoon period of no homework. Her school did give out some Maths activity book and she was instructed to do 3-4 pages a day..but seems like the teacher does not mark!

Pin:
Which class is ur girl in? Mine is in 1.1. Yeah, just received the hanyu pinyin spelling list for this term, and she also brought back some hanyu pinyin homework. There is also the Maths Test book that the teacher asked them to do 3-4 pages a day but never mark! You going to the P1 picnic?

Jh:
My dd is also using My Pals Are Here for her Maths.

Linette

hi my girl in 1.4. My girl never told me need to do the Maths Test book, even 1st 2 page is blank. Yeah i going to the picnic, what are you going to bring as no idea wat to bring yet.

shawny17
Actually I am expecting that activity books be competed in class after teacher has taught. Then bring back end of week for parents to see. Worksheets can be brought back as homework.

In this way, parents have some free time in between to revise or go forward, rather than everyday do activity books at home.

Hi mommies here , last fri juz received english & chinese spelling list , english each time test 10 words , chinese ard 6 words.
Wonder any mommies frm Malaysia here? as my husband stay at Alor Setar , which is almost NOrthest part of the M'sia , normally we will go back there during CNY for longer period.Tis time actually we plan to stay there ard 1 week.But understand schl start from 3rd day of CNY , & actually e english spelling is on Fri , i ever asked my colleague she said normally e schl can grant the leave but nid 2 write letter.
will the 3days leave too long for my gal to catch up?

Ling,
You should be able to gauge from your girl's learning ability as to whether she can catch up anot. The pace for P1 work in school shouldn't be too fast at this moment (my opinion).

Jan,
thanks! it certainly is something new. :D

Hi jh, yep the tooth was kept nicely in a little bag - those used to put tablets.

Hi cool, wow that's fast. This is only my ds's 2nd one. There's another shaky one. Same as you, just tell him that he's a big guy now. Come to think of it, most of his K2 friends started dropping their milk teeth earlier...

Hi shawny, think most of the kids still settling down. Just have to keep reminding do not talk when teacher is conducting lessons. My ds got his art token (whatever that is) confiscated becoz he talked during art lesson. It's very different from childcare where there's more interaction throughout the day. Now, they can't talk during class, only recess.

jan,
my boy's teacher will confiscate their pencils (or what ever stuff) if they play with pencils (or that whatever they are playing). If they talk, the teacher will ask them to sit alone at a separate table.

Hi ling

My in-laws stay in Malaysia. They stay in Seremban. And we are going back during chinese new year. We plan to go back next Friday and come back on 3rd day of chinese new year. I'm also worried whether my boy can catch up for being away for 2 days.