(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Oh dear, thats bad. I can understand your frustration and the fear in your boy. Anyway, we shall share more in the Endeavour thread. See you there.

Hi Cool,
Yeah I recalled seeing the eng worksheet on Farm Concert. Same here, my boy had to finish his worksheet of abt 5 pgs I think until almost 10.30pm.

What's happening at the sch...my boy is also supposed to have spelling today and I asked him juz now how he said no spelling asked him why he said dont know haiz...

Strange that the sch only gives you the CCA list today bec the deadline of submitting returns is tmr!! My boy wants to join table-tennis or sports but needs to go sch in the am for 3 times a week for table-tennis! I will juz submit our choices and check the tpt tmr. I doubt the bus driver will pick him up in the am bec there are only 3 students in our area the rest are in AMK. Dont know whether should get him to join CCAs or not. My hubby said no need lah but I thot it will be good for him to learn sth non academic..

I have already paid $14.80 for the yearly subscription of the Hao Peng You which is meant for P1 & P2 as mentioned by Caroline...

Hi cclyn, cool, wanwan,

My ds' english story book is also Farm concert. The spelling list seems to be from the book as the first 5 words are animals. So do you have to buy the book?

He just told me tonite that the teacher said must buy a blue colour book for English. Don't know what's that as it's not in the booklist, he said it's a textbook with children playing / running. Only one girl in the class has the book. Any idea?

Hi wanwan, if can settle the logistics, be good to join cca especially for some sport / activity that he enjoys. Haven't received any news about cca yet. My boy wants badminton and wushu.

He complained about school again today that the lessons he likes didn't happen. Supposed to have library, but "the owner is not there"!?! Apparently, they still don't follow the timetable or sometimes the teachers are not around, so it's relief teachers covering or parent volunteers, I suspect. The PE teacher was ill so no PE. Then the art teacher didn't come. sigh...

Oh, and just to share. My ds went for the school's dental checkup today and got his milk tooth extracted! I was shocked but he told me about the 'visit' very excitedly. Supposed that by signing the acknowledgement form for dental services during orientation, it covers extraction without consulting parents first.

Hi Fz , actually i dun quite familiar to use PM , but u can reach me at [email protected] , during woking hour u can reach me at [email protected]
My gal is in Sapphire Class, the chinese spelling list had been returned bcos e date was wrong,so far still hvn't received the updated copy yet.
Seeing some of the kids here already given hmwork & spelling list,well my gal still v.ry relaxed.About the english lesson i juz emailed & ask her form teacher.The teacer said nid 2 purchase one grammer book , then the Stellar programme will focus on the reading 1st.She asked me to let my gal read more.Then i ask abt e handbk , 2day then they received the handbook.I think hor , a bit slow la , parents nid to ask then knoe how the class going on.....;-(
nt being kiasu but a bit concern my gal's progress since i nvr send her for any enrichment class , & i m still considering coaching her personally or outsource to those gd enrichment or learning ctr.But during her K2 child care teacher did teach P1 syllabus , but child care teacher evr told me tat nid to improve her grammer , tats y i m more concerned abt her english.
Bsides the assessment bk which i bought for her , do any mommies use Astar software to coach yr kids? i would like to hear the comments.Abt the Kumon Maths , is it really gd as i heard juz repeatingly do the worksheet , which i understand can train them to think faster , but isn't it the same she practising using those asessment bks?repetition doesn't mean understanding the concept , only understand the question asking format...

Ling,

the grammer book is in the booklist.

Handbook? you mean the class diary? if so, my boy received it last week.

my boy also had difficulty explaining what is learnt during english lessons. for math, now they teaching basics...my boy commented so boring..:p

my boy's kindergarten was the PCF across the road, hardly any preparation on P1 stuff.

any of yr kids' sch is usin de Math bks below?
- My Pals Are Here! Enrichment Book 1A & 1B
- My Pals Are Here! Homework Book 1A & 1B
- Shaping Maths - Maths Builders
- Discovery Maths Test 1
- Noteworthy Questions by Hothouse Educational

these r de recommended supplementary materials 4 my gal's sch but i can't find them in popular.

jh
Yesterday we paid to teacher to get My Pals are Here test papers. There is a letter asking for money and that the book is not out yet, would be given to the class when available.

for those mummies whose children are still without homework, mine yesterday came back with stapled worksheet comprises of
1) Proper & Common Nouns - circle common nouns from a list of both
2) From a list of nouns, classify into people, place and things
3) compo - 3 MCQ, 2 OE but with partial sentence given.
4) vocab cloze on pronouns
Total 7 pages, didn't manage to finish all.

caroline3sg,
I think no one will believe that your boy is in neighbourhood school. :p
My boy commented about boredom in class (probably cos they are doing basics now). But when i mentioned about stopping coaching at home so that he'll learn straight from the teachers, he go 'NOOOOOO....if like that, I won't be able to answer questions in class!!!'
lolz.

caroline,
my gal's bklist had a My Pals Are Here! Maths Tests 1 - 2nd Edition maths bk dat she needed 2 buy. wonder if it's de same as de 1 u've mentioned. wonder where can buy de Enrichment & Homework bks ...

my gal brought back a few days' ago a set of worksheets fm her stellar prog story bk. she insisted on finishin all de 10 pages n slept late dat nite, even though i told her dun tink de teacher wanted her 2 complete. de next day, she said de teacher only wanted her 2 finish 2 pages! LOL

fz,
when u say coachin, do u mean u teach ahead of de teacher? do u use yr son's textbk 2 coach or u use other bks?