1st Trimester - First Pregnancy

hi gilbert. ectopic preg is an emerg and should be seen by a doctor at once. it may lead to death in the mother and uncontrollable bleeding, and if the mother survives, possibly infertility. but ectopic preg is rare.

Hmm.. for mine, i could see a dot of about 4mm when i was 5w1d, the beanie shape of my baby of abt 1.7cm when i was 8w. :) More or less should be around this size. And heartbeat could be seen at 8w.

princessxiaomei,

u mean d bean shape of d bb, can u see d head n tail?

when u said 8 weeks, is it from d date of ur LMP?

Me too, 1st pregnancy, 1st trimester..
still lost like sotong

Scouting for gynae like many...
Anyone know Dr Lien from Mt E???
Was recommended by some friends but cant seems to find him in this forum :<

I've been having cramp feeling these few days, my gastric and heartburn also getting more frequent.. and have been feeling giddy and nausea.. duno if they are symtoms of pregnant leh.. coz I have history of gastric one.

Had a Clearblue pregnancy test kit, but realised it has expired on Nov 08! Alamak...duno can still use anot..haha..

Btw, any of u with gastric prob, what med did the gynae prescribe you ah? Coz now even though I've not tested yet, I dun really dare to anyhow take gastric med.... :S

sunflower,

u better use clearblue to test for pregnancy, my wife test +ve, then she dares not tk even panadol, altho we hv not see gynae to confirm pregnancy yet. better tk precaution fr now on.

hi gilbert
panadol is ok. paracetamol is safe for preganancy, and my doctor told me to buy panadol for my fever. but of course, try to avoid if possible, coz

hi sunflower, you can check with your gp. usually they should be aware of what is safe and what's not. For example, when i first went to my gp for flu, he gave me pregnancy safe medicine.

just go and buy quickly and test!

Hi gilbert and glass,

I used the expired test kit on sat...its negative!
Already bought a new Clearblue test kit... but i think I'll only test it when my menses still not here by next week...

Hi Angelina Lee (sportyangel) ,
I'm on my 7th week, and I get hungry very easily too of late. Especially when I'm about to go to bed. I just sleep with a grumbling stomach.

All, will it be bad for the baby? or i should munch something and go to bed?

lydiagal

mayb u eat late dinner, so that go to bed w full stomach. my wife does, n after dinner she oso eat fruit b4 sleep.

I actually sleep very well at night, every single night now. Perhaps it's the Utrogestan that my Gynae prescribed me that makes me sleep so well? Cos my gynae did told me that after i took this med and feel sleepy, it's alright one.

And I also have been feeling sooooo cold so easily now. I'd wrap myself in thick blanket everynight, and my hubby would suffer cos he had been sweating due to no air-cond haha..

I also feel very hungry esp at night before bedtime.. and so so so thirsty all the time! btw, i'm only at about 5weeks+ preggy now

clumsy babe,

my wife also around 5-6 weeks. she cant sleep well at nite. always nausea d moment she lie on d bed. must apply medicated oil every nite.

hv u seen a gynae? got see d bb? we r seeing one nx week.

hey gilbert,

ya i've went to the gynae last Sat, but can't see the baby yet. Gynae commented my uterus lining has thickened, which is a good sign, and that maybe it's too early to see it.

Hi sunflower,
I do have a very bad gastric bad during my 3 times of pregnancy. You can take Antacid tables - Trisil, recommended for pregancy woman or non pregnant also can take. - to release gas in stomach.

But is better you check to confirm pregnancy 1st. For my case, i do check gastric doctor thought it was gastric pain till I got scope done, not worse the money. Then later, it cfm pregnacy.

Hope it helps.

I am 7 weeks pregnant too, alway feel hungry too. If dont eat, feeling very pain on stomach, somethime is like killing me, sometime is that food cant digested inside and feel vomiting. At night, seldom eat and will sleep till my son wake me up or go toilet.

Hope to hear from you for your other check up report. My doctor- Dr K T Tan from KKH - less word, at time i dont know my condition also. but she is patience and responsible person lah, that's why i go back to her again.

happyface,

in which week has u first seen ur bb in d scan? my wife will b going for her first consultation this fri, dunno if can see anythg. this wk will b her 6th weeks.

my wife same as u, must eat n eat non stop or got MS, but after eat she said she can digest n feel bad again. so, she is not sure whether to eat or not.

some mummies here recommend eat crackers when feeling MS, told her. she tried, but she said the moment she eats it, no MS, but after a while MS will come bk again.

wats ur way to tackle MS?

gilbert, keep munching on crackers. no joke. that's what I did.

I know your post was to happyface, but thought I'd share my experience. I saw my bb's sac at 4+weeks. Actual baby was seen at week 8.

Well,

I am actually resting at home this two weeks and every 2 hours eating small amount of salad, photo, cheese, to keep away from hungry or pain in the stomach. Medication is helping me to stop my MS. Eat and drink only.

I see doctor at 6 weeks for baby heartbeat and that is my 1st scan in KKH. I do see private gynane at my 5 weeks confirm pregnant.

I am neither sad or happy with this pregnancy as My husband want an abortion...I am still struggling and waiting for the down syndrown check.

Your wife has a good HB like you. Care for her. Mine too care for my health and age for birth but in silent mode. less comms.

Cactus - I like the way your advises, I am very comfortable to the wording you have said in here or other pages.

I hope after this pregnant, i can lost weight like you do . I never lost any since my 1st and 2 or 3rd one. as my weight is the same as the normal weight.
The only different by 5kg only.

thanks for your comment, happyface. I'm just trying to help other mummies (and daddies) out with their queries. I'm not an experienced mom compared to other ladies on this forum though. I only have 1 child - a 8 month old boy.

happyface n cactus

in which weeks did u tell people u were pregnant?

happyface, so u mean my wife need to keep eating non stop? will she get fat easily?

thank you all for all answering all my questions. i am a first time daddy, n becoz we hvnt tell other people my wife is expecting, thus we can only turn to this forum to gain more knowledge abt pregnancy.

gilbert, about week 8. I was a suspected etopic pregnancy case, so held back telling people until my 1st checkup which inculded a scan that eliminatedstopic pregnancy. I realised I was preggie when about 5 weeks. took me 8 weeks before I saw a specialist.

Gilbert, it's okay to eat nonstop during 1st trimester. She will definately put on weight. It's normal. I was 48kg before preggie. was 68.5kg before delivery. but lost weight very quickly. now am 46kg (was 44kg some time back!). The trick is to eat very healthy foods like plain crackers, low fat milk/yoghurt, load up on fruit (like apples, pear) - high in fiber too!, and take lean meats and lots of fish. avoid sugary oily foods/sweets. I strongly believe the weight you put on if you eat a pack of french fries is harder to lose compared to the weight you put on if you eat 5 apples or carrot sticks. Also, if your wife breastfeeds, she will lose weight very quickly. My SIL didn't nurse. she took 12 months plus lots of massages to lose her weight. I nursed, and didn't have massages or go to gym. I lost bulk of my weight by 6 weeks.

cactus,

its really amazing u lose ur weight in such a short time!! salute!

u mean plain crackers, i checked ntuc out, saw mostly r crackers w/ oats, or wheat. r they d same?

btw, my wife tried yoghurt d first time n she loves it!! good for her coz she cant drink milk which coz her laosai immed.

wat kind of fish did u eat? my wife not so into fish, how to substitute fish?

gilbert, plain crackers mean just crackers without cream or anything like that. it's okay to have crackers with oats or wheat. they are healthy. It's a good thing that your wife likes yoghurt. If she has a sensitive tummy to milk, ask her to try HL milk. I have sensitive tummy too but this milk is okay. I ate alot of salmon and cod. if your wife doesn't like fish, then get a doctor to recommend fish oils. It's important to choose a good safe brand cos there may be brans out there which have high mercury content which is bad for bb's brain development. purpose for fish oils is for a smarter bb due to high DHA content.

thanks cactus,

will get doc to prescibe her some fish oils. we went for our first consultation last week, doc gv some folic acid n iron supplements only.

I juz went to the GP. Confirmed that I'm pregnant. Any advice what should I do next? I was told by my aunt to arrange an appt with polyclinic for bloodtest.

Hi Sherine, what you do next depends on what type of care you want during your pregnancy and where you plan to deliver your baby.

If you are ok going to polyclinic for antenatal check ups (some polyclinics ahve this service), you just contact the polyclinic directly. they will arrange for the necessary lab tests to be done for you. the scanning will have to be at a hosptial though.

if you prefer to go govt hospital, then make an appointment with the O&amp;G centre of a hospital.

the last option is to contact a private O&amp;G doctor at his/her private clinic. They will advise you further.

Usually first antenatal check is about 5 weeks to see the scan, or 8 weeks to hear the heart beat. there is a triple screen test for downs syndrome at between 11 to 13 weeks, and another abnormaly detailed scan between 19 to 22 weeks. the growth scan is the last important scan at 32 weeks. after 36 weeks, if your doctor thinks you may be going overdue, you may be asked to go for scans to estimate the liquor volume (the amniontic fluid level) post 36 weeks up to delivery. Blood will be taken during normal pregnancy by 13 weeks (for the triple screen test + other tests like HIV, blood type, etc). If normal pregnancy, usually only 2 detailed scannings and 1 time blood taking.

hi gilbert, yes my did gave me a scan photo at every visit! I was sent to ultrasound suite at SGH O&amp;C centre for the detailed scans, and I was able to get nice photos from them FOC too. 3D scan also.

hi gilbert, I don't know the cost of a 3D scan cos I got it FOC from the sonographer at the ultrasound suite. My doctor does scans for me at every visit and gives me pictures of those scans, but he doesn't do the very detailed ones. instead, he sends me to the ultrasound suite for the sonographers to scan me. they will scan and also give me FOC pictures. 3D scans are not necessary but they are fun to do - cos you get to see the bb's features!

Hi Gilbert, my doctor was Dr Devendra from SGH. I saw him as a private patient. It is standard rate for restructured hospital. There is a package which starts from 16 weeks (if I recall correctly), but I paid per visit. I forget how much it cost per visit cos my hb paid for it through deduction from his salary (he is SGH employee). He is a Consultant. most expensive in SGH is a Senior Consultant. I delivered at SGH too, stayed in A ward for 6 days/5 nights.Total bill for me came up to about $8k. I was in labour ward for about 8 hours. ended up emergency c-section (under GA - epidural is cheaper) after office hours. Hb stayed with me every night. I believe these are reasons for the high cost.

I dont have time to follow up here. My condition is much better now, every thing has to be very slow and steady. No vomit now. but feeling is a little bit.

How's your wife condition? Is she now date 8 weeks?

Oh, Gilbert, my first visit to Dr Dev cost me $400 in total. it concluded consultation, triple screen test and blood test for HIV, anaemia, etc and folic acid.

cactus,

my wife first visit at 7 weeks, doc only did ultrascan n urine test. dunno if more will b done in 2nd visit at 11 weeks.

happyface,

r u talking to me? my wife in her 7-8 weeks now. she also hv MS, always giddy, nausea n feel like vomitting, but actual vomit only happened few Xs (crossed fingers)

how many weeks r u now?

I've just got myself tested positive at the GP but have yet seen a gynae for appointment of my pregnancy .. it seems soo confusing about the packages and which hospital is better as well haiz ..
not to mention .. just now as I was browsing through the forum, I suddenly feels so much like puking but there was nothing to puke .. is it normal .. my flu came back to me again haiz ..

hi ladies my first time here. i discovered i was preg using a home preg test. went to the gynae earlier. according to my lmp i should be about 5 weeks and 2 days. however, dr said he could not see my preg sac when he did the scan. i also had light spotting. i am very worried

he also gave me a jab today and asked me to take duphaston. i am to return back on thursday to take a second blood test.

am very afraid it's ectopic
this is my first preg

I'm now in my 4wks 5d. Did 3 BTs wit my gyane.

1st reading:
Progesterone: 382.4
hCG: 274.2

2nd reading:
Progesterone: 534.2
hCG: 569.0

3rd reading:
Progesterone: 486.4
hCG: 1800.0

So my ques, is it a concern with dipping progesterone?

ting
I guess my gynae kiasu...haha
I did my 1st BT to cfm my pregnancy. Then 2 days later I was asked to do BT again to see if the pregnancy has stabilised.
The 3rd one was done to see if I'm ready for scan next week. Coz Nurse said after hCG hits 5000, ready for scan.

devilina,

aishay~ your gynae good! mine, at 5th wk, did a v-ultra sound to cfm the pregnancy, saw the sac. the scan is very ex! Total i paid $200+!!!

BT must be cheaper!

where is ur gynae btw? i haven found a gynae i wanna stick with yet.

hi all, just learnt about my pregnancy last week... Probably into my 4 wks.... Anything that i should look out for and do??? Maybe will be going to gynae this weekend....

Not sure if you all experience tummy aches? I have bad constipation and sometimes my tummy will have slight pain....

ting
haha guess my gynae wanna be extra careful lor.
I'm with Dr Fong Yang.

Claire
I'm in my 5th wk ...do experience mild cramps which goes on &amp; off. So I guess it shld be ok.

oh.... okok.. so think i worry too much.... I got very bad constipation problem man... So xin ku....

Actually when is the best time to go see gynae?

claire
my gynae said if the cramping is very bad or have some spotting, muz inform them immediately.

U can go to gynae for confirmation. But to scan will be 5th wks onwards.

errm... not till so bad... like those tummy pain cant poo that pain lo.... no spotting...

But im worried once i go to this gynae then i need to stick to either him/her???

claire
then u shld be alrite.
Nope you dun have to sign up any packages wit the gynae till u're in 2nd trimester

oh... Thanks thanks.... so i can still jump gynae if im not comfortable?

Actually something is puzzling me... To choose between guy or girl gynae... Actually, whats the difference hur?

Oh ya.. Is it normal to fart??? hahaha... I tend to fart alot now leh.....