1st Time...

Jasmine,

just one question. By the time you put your girl into the cot, is she already drowsy? What is her bedtime routine like?

I still can't do that with Josh yet because he will play with ANYTHING, even the rails of the cot!! *roll eyes* i really dunno why my kid is like dat. So aft his milk, bedtime story, switch off lights, i have to carry him in a sling and walk around for a while before he actually look like he is sleepy. Den he'll be in the cot, turning around and pulling the bumpers down to see if we are there. but have not managed to fall asleep...everytime end up crying...

Thanks for the help nellu.

My girl will drink her 1st feed in her sleep at around 8+ in the morning and she will only wake up around 10+. After bathing, she'll take her porridge, then she'll take a short nap of around 20 min around 1+. After her milk, she'll take another nap at around 3+, which will range from 1 hr to 2hrs. After that, she will wake up n take her porridge again, then have her bath. Then she'll be so alert till around 8+, which she'll have to take a cat nap. Then she can be very energetic till 11+ or 12.

I'm so tired looking at her play. I'm so busy and my energy is all zapped out by work. And every nite, I juz sit down there in a daze late at nite, looking at my 'energiser bunny' play non-stop. It's quite frustrating at times, especially now hubby having reservist n I'm on my own for these few days. =(

I will try in the march hols to try to adjust her sleep when I have time. Now still hafta endure another week plus of late nites. Just a question, if your baby sleeps around 8+, then wat is his/her waking time the next morning?

Nellu,
My gal will nap around 6plus in the evening after shower for sure so that she would not be tired out so early. Coz if too tired they will be cranky to get to sleep too. Normally after she woke up around 7plus. She will take her porridge or rice sometimes. Then when we reach home around 8pm, after our shower we will spend time with her to play with her toys and also watch TV together. At 10pm I will change her diaper for the last round before she sleep, make her milk at 10.30pm let her drink, then I will let her lay beside me she will turn here and there hugging her 2 soft toy which she must have when she sleep, that will be like 15mins the she fall asleep. I will put sock on her and put her in her cot to sleep. When she sleep she will deeply asleep so even I put sock for her she will not reject hehe my gal don't like to put on sock coz she scared of warm. But no choice she sleep in air-con have to keep her feet warm. Hope Josh will soon get use to the routine. But try not to carry or rock him to sleep that is a bad habit that he have to break.

jasmine, im so looking forward to sidney finishing his jabs too coz there are so many and i tell u, i'm gettin very broke from all these jabs here n there.

one more thing abt routine, actually when he was younger, i used to really keep myself at home so that NOTHING comes in the way of his naps n feeds. but now older, abit more relaxed. but i still try to only bring him out after his naps, and given tat all his timings are fixed, planning is a breeze.

anyone taken baby for swim already? gonna take sidney on his 1st dive. keke..

nellu
hope josh just not sleepy today.
last nite ky slept from 10pm n wake up at 7am today.

jasmine
i always look at him n tell him go to sleep n mummy love u leh.
huh then maybe i will try no eye contact the next time errrr.... hope no next time.

Jasmine,
Thanks for sharing your experience with me. Yes carry + pat is the biggest and baddest habit that my dearest MiL had instilled. Not just carry+pat, pat until the boy sleep like log then willing to let go! Then ah, she can tell me somemore must train the boy to sleep on his own. I'm like "DUH! You the one not cooperative lor. how to train??!"

...Sorry. don't mind me. Talk abt the things that my MiL had done sometimes makes my blood boil. I'm not washing dirty linen here...just that got no avenue to release...

Anyway this thing abt sleep training, it has to be consistent. And i really think that whoever is helping us to take care of the baby, whether it is PIL, parents, nannies, maids, even our husbands, EVERYONE must agree and do the same thing. O/w it won't work at all.

Jan,
i think it's cos your girl is waking up too late! You might want to try adjusting her waking hour so that you can shift her routine upwards. Everyday wake her up 15mins earlier and see how. Also cos she has her long nap quite late in the aftnn. That's why she won't go to bed any earlier. This is how i adjust Josh's routine in the beginning, but i was more militant. I just decided myself "ok! tmr he'll wake up at 7am!" and i really make him wake up at 7!! hahaha

Josh now wakes up at abt 645-7am to have his first milk feed. Then he'll poop so I just give him a bath at that time. He'll have breakfast aft the bath which is usually between 730-8am. His morning nap is around 930-10am. He'll sleep only 30-40mins. Lunch is at 1130-1145. He'll go down for nap around 1245-1pm and will wake between 2-215pm. If he sleeps only 40-45mins for this nap, i'll make him nap 30mins at 4pm. then dinner at 530pm, followed by bath (cos he'll be SUPER messy!) at 6pm, last milk feed at 630-645pm followed by bedtime story, lights out at 7pm. BUT (!!) he won't fall asleep until abt 8pm.

I can TRULY understand your frustration. My hb travels a lot and for long periods. So you can imagine how bad it is for me, like the last 1.5weeks!

Sgn,
Josh's tooth 5 finally cut through today. Dat's why cranky! he went to sleep at 7pm today. still asleep! kekeke

Shauna,
the one and only time i brought Josh for 2 dips was at the hotel pool in Siem Reap, Cambodia. At that time i wasn't even properly equipped. I just took his inflatable bath tub and brought him to the pool. Put him inside and wade around with him. Then also held him and sat at the very shallow end of the pool.

Whr and when are you taking sidney for a swim? It's hard to find a quiet and clean pool.

Btw, did you buy swimsuit for him? I got Josh a swimming diaper but i'm not yet prepared to let him use it cos it's like swimming trunks and i'm worried he'll be too cold. Any idea whr i can get a swimsuit for him? I went to look at kiddy palace before but couldn't find.

anyone here already got a play yard for your kids? I need to set up one now but not sure whr to go and get it. Appreciate if you can share info. TIA!

nellu- im taking him to aqua ducks. got a wetsuit, surf shorts,disposable swim diapers and super sunblock for him( i hope thats all to it). hee. they do sell wetsuits in kiddy palace(ive seen it before, some are pretty cheap, abt 30 bucks) but i got mine from a swim shop in tanglin mall.

u can also try paragon, they have wetsuit tops and whole wetsuits for them.

i use a haenim play yard. its a 4 piece panel. i usually just spread it out to keep him off certain areas. but its very sturdy when u round it up.
playpen, i dun recommend coz ive heard kids can climb out of it and cna even topple the playpen when they get bigger.

nellu
where u get the swimming diaper for josh? had been looking for 1 but can't find.

what is the interval for each tooth? wonder when is ky's 3rd n 4th teeth coming.

btw dun intent to get play yard for ky cos now he is happy when i put him in the playpen trying to stand up n reach for something. 2nd no place for the play yard.

seems that u have found some new frinds in the may07 thread.

sgn,
i got the swimming diaper from Bumwear. They have a shop at united sq. If not i think can get from their website. It is like swimming trunks, only that it can hold the poop in..

Shauna has gotten disposable ones, maybe Shauna can share the info from whr she got those from?

i'll be shopping for a wetsuit/top for Josh. If not, he'll be cold in the water or getting out of the water.

ya, so coincidental that there are quite a few mommies who live near me in the may07 thread.

nellu
k will have a look out, cos 1 mummy from may07 told me they sell disposable ones in supermarket!
anyway no time to go check it out till wk after next.
did josh slept thru last night?

Nellu,
Talk about MIL, I tell I was so boil out by my MIL 2 days ago. Coz she is staying with me. My hubby is the only child so I got no choice but to tolerate her staying with us. Guess what she did, she control the amount of food my girl took. I was asking my maid why my Nichole took her dinner and still barking me for rice? My maid told me my MIL wouldn't allow her to let my gal finish her porridge, there she(MIL) telling me "Don't know why todays she like so hungry like that kept eating this and that, she say scared she over ate wait tummy pain and soooo on blurrrrr.... I told her she is getting bigger her intake should also be bigger mah. She just refused to listen and kept quiet. On my way to the clinic when I told my hubby about it, I told him do we have to buy a scale to measure how much my gal have to eat each day?? And my hubby will always say aiyah she is old liao so don't blame her, oh my god so I have to tolerate what she do to my girl lah. MIL also don't like seeing me or my maid giving bread lah, fruits like apple, banana etc. to my gal, she think those fruits eat already will have wind lah too cooling lah so on and so for. OH MY GOD!! Really pissed me out. My hubby only know how to listen to me complain about his mum. I told him anyway its useless even he go and tell his mum not to do this and that, she still will not listen 1 lah. Stubborn old lady, sorry to say that, but I just can't take it when she control my girl diet like that. How would my gal be getting what she suppose to eat that way. Sigh...

Shauna,
I actually also thinking to bring my gal for a swim. I brought a pretty bikini her her keke...But stil haven't hv chance to bring her to the pool. Also scare it might be to cool for her.

Sgn,
About teeth interval. I think each child is different I guess. Coz my gal 1st 2 tooth came out when she is 7 mths and the 3rd & 4th only came out when she is 10mths plus. I also didn't use play yard coz no place to put it. Day time she will want to walk here and there and will play with my maid on the bed which is extra bed we use to let her play on. Anyway even she is the playpen she will not be alone so its still ok.

sgn, nellu- u can get disposables at toys r'us, cold storage. i dun use the re usables coz i figured the disposables which cost less than 20 bucks can last me for a long long time. they may outgrow the reusables but more enviro frenly lah. i'm a tree killer!

play yard get from cheong choon, i lost the no, just google it.but be warned, after some time(when they get older), they will refuse to stay inside..

jasmine- yah yah, bikini so funny rite? they wil look so cute in it. dils n mils are always at war. all mothers wan to bring up the child THEIR way. sometimes they forget who's the mother. a gentle reminder doesnt always work. if all else fails,SHOUT. haha

Jasmine,
my MiL is direct opposite. The first time i intro porridge to my boy, she got so excited that she fed him porridge whole day, den didn't give him his milk. Not only that put spinach in the porridge, didn't blanch before giving. Luckily nothing happened to Josh. I was really angry with her at that time.

my parents are like your MiL, always telling me dun feed to much later will get tummy ache..Aiyo but the boy is growing and is hungry lor!..aiya...my parents sometimes also strange one lah,,everything also cannot one..

Nellu & Shauna,
Sometimes I really cannot take it lor. I rise my voice and talk to her I don't care lor. Anyway we don't talk much at home so is fine with me. As long she don't come and mess up what I have told my maid to do mah. Especially related to my gal. I also know she cares for my girl but have to be realistic mah. Everything also cannot how am my girl going to grow. She now only 9.8kg and she already 15mths, still within the range but on the light side lor. And my mum only see her once a month and she will ask me why she so "san"(skinny) hah? I say what to do ppl say this cannot eat and that cannot eat.

*hugs. aiyah, all these mils are very mah fan. i can totally understd , but luckily i dun stay with mine!! phew!

they ALWAYS have their 2 cts advice for EVERYTHING. n even the ah soh on the road has some fabulous old wives tale she wans to impart to me (no thanks!haha.) just dun care abt her.

my mil used to tell me to toilet train my boy at 2 mths old n i'm the firm believer of all ang moh books, so i would just pretend never hear n she will just say until sian then she will stop.

Shauna,
I do hope Im like you can choose not to stay with IL but I can't sigh... do ignore her sometimes when she start talking like last time what and what I pretend didn't hear anything. Hah!! How to toilet train at 2mths?? I still thinking when should I start to toilet train my gal.

my MIL also stressed me to toilet train bb when he was 4-5 months old, i din want to stress myself n bb so only traning bb after 6 months. after all i appreciate her reminder but sometimes i dun agrees with her advice i just tell her the book or pd says this n i'm following.

Nellu
how's Josh's progress today?
ky slept 1.5hr this morning n only nap later at 5pm for 1hr. now he KO already. hee hee
tomolo bringing him for hair cut cos it's getting hot n he sweat alot.

hahah Talk abt toilet training, my own mother is the one stressing me out over this, keep asking me to train Josh.

yes Shauna, i use the same tactic with my MiL as well. But My MiL is a bit more angmoh-fied so it's not so bad. My own mum's the one with all the old wives tales. Why i listen very little to neither of them? Well cos they were FTWMs and they hardly took care of my hubby and myself when we were babies. Hubby was looked aft by granny and i was at a nanny. So enuf said rt?

Sgn,
Josh isn't that bad today. A bit excited in the aftnn cos Daddy came home!! Finally! but the poor boy had a hard time trying to remember who he is...

Josh is still as botak as ever.....

nellu
great daddy is back to help u. well bb very clever it takes them few sec to warm up.
today when bring ky back from nanny's hse my PIL took long time to open the door n ky was golding on the gate when i ask him where's gong gong n mah mah. seems they start to aware of their surroundings.
btw i never see josh b4 except ur hp photo.

jasmine, havent yet lah. can wait until they can communicate their needs. i think it causes less fustration for both parents n bb.

its never easy whether they were FTWM or SAHM. i mean, its just not easy being a mother. in modern times, we have the choice to not work. it might have been a different story for them before.but the thing is the elders, (n i fear one day we would turn to be like this) often forget we will not listen to them loh. haha. esp abt baby.

everything abt bb is very emotional to ur moms. i take it very personally whenever my mil or mom starts to tell me what i shld do.

shauna
ur MIL asked u to toilet train ur kid at 2 mths? is she MAD??? They got no bowel control then, how to train???

I also ignore my mum and MIL when they ask me to toilet train my girl. Now she is already 21 mths. Now I have a potty and she knows what it's for. Previously did attempt to train but not ready cannot force.
I feel that I will know when she's ready. And anyway, I can't imagine having to take her out and she has to sit on those dirty toilet bowls!!! Yucks! SO I dun mind training later!

jasmine
poor you. I know how it's like having to listen to all that 'wind' stuff. I dun mind when my MIL asks me not to feed her stuff when my girl isn't well.
But what's wrong with banana and apple on a normal day? It's not like she's eating five bananas and ten apples right? Can sense how deeply irritated u must be.

isabella,
Thats why I am so boil up everytime she comments so much when I ask my maid to give her fruits. Coz my girl tend to have hard stool. When she have fruits intake her motion will be normal. And my girl loves to take fruits.
So how is your condition now, is baby stable yet? Do you need jab or medicine to stable the baby? Hope everything goes well for you and baby.

isabell, yah yah she's MAD. haha. im lurving it... this thing abt MILs.

its good for children to take fruits. sidney takes a whole fruit after every meal. and he eats like 4oz of food. thats a huge bowl of porridge each meal. he's happy and i'm lagi happy!haha.

Hey,
I'm back..these 2 wks have been crazy..my gal wakes up crying @ nite..she gets up abt 3am++ crying..fall back asleep abt 5am++..*faint*..

Isabelle,
I'm currently a SAHM..

Nellu,
There were times when my girl turn on her tummy & try to crawl - while sleeping - but after one or two movements she fall back asleep..we caught her sitting up once or twice @ nite..we quickly give her the bolster & lie her back..pat her & she'll sleep again..

nellu
something to share with u. today ky taken 3nap altogether since morning range from 30 to 45mins. milk intake seems to increase but he refused to latch this morning so gave he bottle 3oz x 4 times n later last feed usu 5oz.
so happy he taken his nap cos yesterday he never nap from 2+pm till 8.30pm!

hallo ladies,
how was your weekend? mine was just too fast.

anyway, got Josh's routine going quite nicely but i think the return of the Daddy sort of spoiled it...haiz...start over again...

my MiL will be coming this weekend..sianz..really sianz...cos she's a very very untidy woman. Now got no maid to clean up the aftermath, i really cannot imagine how it will be...

btw, just wondering if your hubbies do this ref to your kids.
1. Are they on the same side as you when it comes to parenting decisions, e.g. what to feed, how to put to sleep, how the routine should be, toys, clothes...?

2. do they tell your kids "mummy says you have to do this/mummy says you cannot do.." basically everything is "mummy says"?

3. everytime the bb wakes up in the middle of the nite he'll say "he's hungry lah!", and throw the baby to you?

4. When you tell him, "shall we do .... for the baby?", his answer is always, "anything. you decide lor. I'll support you."

Just wondering if my hubby is the only father that does this. Sometimes it really drives me up the wall, esp when I'm busy trying to attend to cranky Josh, our lunch was half cooked, fire still on and going to be burnt (!!) and he just sits in the living to read newspaper???!?!

how, man?

Some more...
1. shall we get a play yard?
Ans: ok lor, but let's wait till the sale.
AHH! Sale?? by then Josh won't need the blardy playyard!!!

2. Shall we bring Josh to gymboree?
ANS: ok lor...when?
When would you be free?
ANS: ...you have to tell me..
Wahlao...he's the one with all the things going on, colleague's weddings, classes, ofc functions,...and ask me to tell him when he's free??????

dun mind me...just ranting....

graybecky,
that's fast! 8 tooth already!

i can understand how you feel. My boy also like perpetually teething. now 5th tooth...

hmm. my hubby is supportive of the things i instil for the kid, and he appreciates the fact that i choose to stay at home for the boy. basically, all parenting issues are dealt with by me, since i'm the one who's doing all the reading. anyway i prefer it to be this way. but yes, u do get upset with them off n on.

finally taking sidney on car rides. he's terribly good in his car seat, not a hint of noise even when i drove from one end of the island to the other.

i think this teething thing wun stop till they have all their milk teeth.

nellu i did gymboree class, i m not impressed. all the hoo haa abt how good these classes are is really starting to make me wonder. but i shldnt start labelling baby enrichment classes since there are more to try. anyway, u shld just go for urs and have a look.

Shauna,

good to hear that Sidney is adapting well to the car seat. Did you get a Britax? Fr whr and how much did you pay? We are STILL looking even tho Josh has actually outgrown his infant seat..cos hubby is waiting for the SALE *roll eyes*...sometimes some things cannot wait one lor!

Gymboree - which class did you do? Just the level 3 is it? Sure i'll go for the trial..once i can read my hubby's invisible schedule...I'm not that keen to go on my own when i don't have the car..hard to cab around with Josh sometimes now that he is very 'hands on'. And in any case, i need the hubs to go so that he can decide whether or not we want to do more since he'll be paying...

see..the problem with being single income....sigh...

and our lunch really got burnt on saturday...

nellu
send u a pte msg to share with u.

BTW Taka bb fair is coming next wk 9th i think.
can get ur car seat there. i'm ready for the sales boom boom! here i come can't wait to spent $$$ ha ha ha. i love shopping!
i still have not put ky on the car seat yet cos keep forgetting to take it out from the store rm.

tell ur hb to look after Josh n u cook lah if not tell him to go n buy if he wants to eat.
u can't be the one doing all the chores n looking after bb 24hrs. u need a break too.

nellu- we didnt get a britax. coz we read some article from the states abt car seats who actually flopped some crash tests. amongst them, was one of the britax infant car seats. they didnt do any reviews on convertibles tho but we googled abit and decided the maxi cosi shld be ok. the car seat cost us 360bucks

eh, dun get upset with ur hubby lah. men are not as kan cheong abt bb as us. yah i did level 3 gymboree.its more play n songs, and jst like the fine lines says "music and movement".

sorry to hear abt the burnt lunch. my hubs does the cooking on wkends, on weekdays we order catering.

sgn- taka good to buy combi and pigeon stuff. but i tell u i'm always so amazed by the apricas. i can stand there n stare n stare at the price tags. very sua ku hor?haha.

hi gray becky!

nellu
men r like that. Esp since u're at home now. He prob thinks he can dump everything to you!

shauna,
ur sidney is such an angel. I have to keep entertaining my kid when she's in the car. U mean b4 this u din have car seat and now sidney just adapts to it so fast? Wow!
Mine is maxi cosi too. But not the tobi cos far too ex. It's the ex priori

isabelle- yes we used it on the day we bought it, and he was so happy in it, tat he cried when we took him out when we reached home! he has a wild time looking out and sleeps in it quite abit. i didnt take the tobi, mine is XP.

its such a relief coz i get so distracted by little things when i drive. anyway, u goin for the gathering? i'm gonna c u there.

is ur gal;s name isabelle? and urs too? *confused

isabelle/ shauna
mine also maxi cosi ley. bought also most 1/2 yr but never put up for bb yet.

nellu, dun be so upset with ur hubby. Mine's the luckiest, he hasn't change any diapers since birth and also never bathe her before. All he can do is to make and feed her milk and sometimes, coax her to sleep. But sometimes, he not much patience and will end up scolding her loudly or beating her when bay throws a tantrum. So to avoid my darling girl getting nitemares at nite, I'll put Jarienne to sleep most of the time. Was very annoyed when he did such things. Why scold baby? Not as if she understands. Wonder if it's most men are like that or just my hubby... =(

Wow, bb fair coming? time to get car seat. Any gd and affordable recommendations? Maxi cosi sounds good, but seems quite ex rite?

jan
wow not just ur hb lor, mine also never change any diaper for my boy lor.
but last wk hb feed my boy n him managed to make him finishes his milk!
he does help to look after bb while i do my hsework eg play with my boy. hb sometimes help to pad bb to sleep too cos my boy very hard to make him sleep.

sgn- if buy already, better take out n use. anyway good to train since young.

my hubby also kena "trained" by me. he would help when it comes to baby n house. coz its down to the two of us, we have no one at all to help us, and we are really hoping we dun have to employ a helper if we can manage coz i think we really dun like them.

jan-there are a few good brands ard. most pple invest in a britax or maxi cosi. graco is not bad too and looks very very comfy. (i almost got a graco junior!)these cost abit more but i think in the long run its really value for money, esp if u plan to have no.2.

anyway gettin a car seat is really dependent on your budget n requiremts. i mean all these talk abt the car seat passing crash tests, who noes rite? and really i dun wanna find out. its all just to buy a peace of mind.

jasmine
thx!
Me much better now and ms starting to taper off. Will resume work next week!

shauna
u mean tmr at cher's place. yes. Gg unless my ms suddenly acts up real bad, cos I won't be able to handle my girl then.
My girl's name is isabelle and my online nick is her name!

jan/sgn/shauna
me is a stickler for car seat. Trained her since birth. Cos i'm afraid if i din, she wld not be used to it and refuse to sit in it. She cried non-stop a few times when she was 2 mths old, but we ignored and she knew after that she had to sit in it from then on. Hard hearted hor?
Still, even now, gotta entertain her in the car...

Now only if the car is over crowded then I let her sit on my lap, but no moving ard from person to person or standing up nonsense. (Cos i can;t ask the 'extra person' which happens to be MIL, FIL, SIL, BIL etc to go take a cab just so i can put in the car seat rite? That'd be rather mean)

yep yep agree with shauna. Britax or maxi cosi. But apparently, britax does not meet australian stds so they produced the safe-n-sound range for australia. Really weird that it meets eurtopean stds but not australian. So in the end i just bought maxi cosi XP, cos it looks nicer also! More designs than britax though i really like the Maxi cosi tobi.

hallo all,

car seat - there is a graco car seat on sale at robinsons, for newborn up to 4 yrs. Sale starting this weekend as well. Worth to check out. i've also heard recommendations for maxi-cosi and i also see a lot of angmohs using it.
i'm also stickler for car seat. Josh came home from the hospital at 3 days old in his car seat. he's still sitting in it, but these days he's getting grouchy at times cos he's outgrowing it at an alarming rate and he's irritated that he can't see what's going on at the front.

hb - had a trashing out last nite. Thank goodness we can do this because Josh is now sleeping early and staying asleep!! it's been many many moons since hb and I really had time to sit down and have a heart to heart.
I guess some of the issues that we have here has to do with the sudden need for me to adapt to life as SAHM. It's really hard for a person like me who had been working non-stop since the day i left uni (in fact i was working already before grad!); a workaholic and career minded woman at heart. Suddenly thrown into the deep end of having to run a household and manage a kid with no extra help and no support...it's tough...and i think the older you are the harder it is for you to adapt. the longer you are as a working person, the harder it is for you to 'retire'
So, conclusion, we'll be in search for a maid. I definitely can't go on facing a dirty house, skipping lunches, not cooking proper meals, and not spending enough time with Josh. That was what i quit my job for but i'm not even doing any of it...
all other parenting matters, i'll take lead and he'll just follow. no more "you think you can do this?"

isabelle,
good to hear that you get to go back to work soon. ...sigh i have to psycho myself everyday not to think abt going to work and the joys of it....sad...

oh i tot they just wanted to give it a differnt name in some other place, like hungry jacks vs BK. *slaps forehead. haha.

the tobi looks so much more comfy rite, its the price tag that makes me a little giddy tho. haha.

oh Shauna,
good that your hubby cooks. Thought i'd share a farnie story with you abt men cooking.

my hubby claims quite confidently that he can cook stuff like chicken rice and fish head curry. So one fine day he offered to do dinner, this was a couple of years ago when it was just the two of us. So what was on the menu? Fish head curry. ok..sounds good...left him to do all the work himself..

when it's time for dinner, guess what happened? I thought the fish tasted farnie. I flipped open the fish head and guess what i saw?? the fish gills and all other fishy innards are still intact! was grossed out. asked hubby how come didn't clean the fish? And the answer was: "I thought it was cleaned." HUH?? Too much assumption there hor...he went on to explain "In London they do that wat" Hallo sir, sini Singapura...not London lah...see my good fren only started to cook when he was studying in London. and in places like dat everything is all so nice and processed even at the markets!

not just fish, chicken also the same thing...this is the reason why i don't let him cook, except for rice and boil water...

nellu
hee hee. Dun think u ate much of the curry then!

My hubby also. When we were dating i said i wld cook bee hoon. He insisted he cld cook better than me and we shld have a competition. I said fine. So he cooked bee hoon soup and I fried bee hoon.
Guess what? His bee hoon soup was just dump in bee hoon, some veg and fish then add tap water and boil! I was like u call this soup??!! I laughed at him and he din believe me until he tasted his creation. Then he tasted the bee hoon I fried and claimed that since it was a competition, we had to eat what the other had cooked. Of course i refused! Told him to eat his own food up since he had claimed his was delicious! Male ego...

shauna
yep. Tobi has a head rest that prevents the head from flopping or crashing to the sides in case of accident and it's much easier to strap the kid in. Wld have bought that if hubby hadn't insisted it was too ex. Sigh...

My mum and maid always have trouble with the XP straps . Either entangle, take very long to strap her in or strap her too loosely. All these reduce the safety of the car seat. I feel so irritated whenever it happens. Think I will look for an excuse to buy the tobi in future since no. 2 is on the way!

isabelle- yah must pull the straps tight. i'm the person who straps him in. so no issue. yah yah, i'm already thinking of what funky baby things i can get for no.2... now on my wish list is the maclaren volo..*drools

oh oh, i saw something very interesting at kids mall. its a baby carrier AND a pram at the same time but duno what funny brand. hmm..

if i make bee hoon(or anything for the matter), it will taste even worse than ur hubby's!

nellu-glad u have had a good tok with him. its hard not to have some form of help. it was never in my plan to be a sahm, but its funny how things turn out in the end. tahan abit more then u can go back to work.

shauna,
is that the bugaboo thingy??

isabelle, shauna,
abt working..yes i LOVE to work. crazy but true. when i was on maternity, i could not wait to return to work. It was to me the only time that i could have my own time! I guess it's cos the conditions at work for me are real good that's why it is so difficult to part with it.

To be honest, i believe i am well paid, in terms of monthly and bonuses. I believe that my company has a good balance of everything (except for leave days!); my bosses are good, my colleagues are civil (believe me, i've gone thru many plcs and many colleagues, the last group are the best of the lot!); i have plenty of opportunities to shine at my job. I was also good at what i do. I got a promotion along with my confirmation at the company all within 6mths. If not for the fact that i had to be on maternity for 12 weeks and if i stayed on, i'll be looking at another in June!

given such conditions, i think most of us would miss it terribly.

btw, i was in financial public relations. It's tough to do a job like this and bring up a kid with no help. Cos you need to spend time out there to entertain sometimes, to keep the relations going. Also you need to keep up to date with how the economy goes and how the stock market and the financial market works. From the look of things, i doubt i can go back to work anymore in this line...perhaps only to do backend work like writing..which is the least exciting bit of it all..

and yes isabelle, i quit cos i had no choice. mum din want to help, mil din want to help. can't leave the kid with the dumb maid.

Nellu,
Think most men are like that lah, you ask them anything they will say orh ok fine anything... I will always tell my hubby if his answer is anything then might as well don't answer me, no point asking that wouldn't help. The cooking part is funny hehe... My hubby only know how to cook instant noodles and cook rice only. Im the only person who cook during weekends, only let my maid prepare and clean, coz I can't stand the way she stir the food. So always she prepare I do the cooking than she wash up.

isabelle,
Good to hear that you're going back to work soon. Which line are you working in? Me in advertising line for about 17 years since I started working. My girl really got mild fever for the pass few days, yesterday was told by maid that she refuse to take her milk in the afternoon but did eat some cereal and at night also refuse her dinner and last feed, no choice have to give her bread, guess what she finished the whole bun. Better than not eating anything lor... Last few night wore up few times crying. Sigh... me didn't get to sleep much. Thats what Im afraid every time she have her jab.
My colleague pass me MAXI COSI coz she got too many given to her as a gift and she's moving house.

Sgn,
Baby fair is it start from this Fri to Sun? Thinking of going too. If it start on Fri I might go down during lunch, coz weekend very crowded.

nellu
wow u sound like a really high flyer! Must be a BIG change now that u suddenly have to sit at home.
Yep, even these two mths on leave, I feel that I lack intellectual stimulation. Not that I dun appreciate the rest, but in this state i cannot do the normal things i wld have done had I really been a SAHM, like cooking, baking, taking her to swim, going out etc etc. Mebbe I wld love to be a SAHM if I cld do all these, but I really dunno... These two mths are a lousy gauge, with morn sickness and all.
But to leave with maid alone is really terrible. U never know what they do behind ur back. At least if ur kid is older, they can kinda be ur 'spy' and report to you. I have a maid too, but my mum is there is keep an eye, so it's different.

jasmine
ooh u have been working for 17 years??? Gosh listening to u and nellu I feel so small... Have only worked for four years plus...
Wah ur colleague so good. Too many maxi cosi? Ask her donate one to me too! Hee hee

shauna
#2? R u preggie again too?
Me has e maclaren techno xt. Cos I like that the sunshield can be pulled down all the way!