1st Time...

yes yes Shauna...i'm going dizzy!! i keep asking everyone around me to tell me it's NOT fluke!! hahaha...

how's ur weekend been? Today was quite a great day. Josh and mum met up with mum's friends whom she had not seen for a year. He's such a cutie and din fuss at all!

...still need to work on his naps...

nellu
wow Josh can follow the routine huh.
me now waiting for ky to wake up for his last feed.

for ky i think hard to train him to sleep by his own every time got to make him sleep by 'pressing him down' on the bed telling him to sleep. eventually he will sleep after 15 mns of westling n patting.

sgn,
i still cannot 'press Josh down' yet for the initial bit. Aft he's fallen asleep and woke up, hen can.

I'm still carrying and patting the 8+kg ( i suspect it's 9kg now!!) load for 15-20mins.

since sidney has learnt to sit, he would sit down in his cot or crawl everywhere as well. we just leave him. after a while of looking and fumbling with his bolster n rolling, he drops off to sleep. i noe how hard it is to pat a heavy weight. u're almost there, babes.

went to catch the dim sum dollies yest. hilarious!

nellu
i understand how is it like to carry a 9kg bb to sleep.
my aunty from indonesia tought me to pat bb on the chest n butt while lying on the bed. usu i will let him lie next to my chest n pat.
maybe u can try that to lessen ur load.

hi shauna
login so early? good morning!

hello mums.

few things to ask you gals.

1. do your kids crawl or sit up or stand up in their sleep? Noticed that Josh was doing abit of that, then suddenly he'll wake up and cry.

2. What do you feed your kids for breakfast, esp if they refuse to eat cereal or oats? Josh just did that to me this morning. I got nothing else in the hse for him. so ended up giving him some wholemeal bread...sigh...

3. If you feed them yoghurt, do you homemake it or buy plain yoghurt from supermarket?

rise and shine to sgn n nellu! yep, was catching some mail while hubby preparing to go to work.

1. shuffles in his sleep. rolls ard and sometimes sits, but will return to sleep on his own even if he makes loud noises. the less u mess with sidney, the more likely he is to return to dream land by himself.

2. all sorts of bread and cake, yoghurt, baos. whatever is on the menu for us! now that he is one.

3. cold storage stores baby yoplait but it has once been recalled so i dun use tat anymore. also, its for younger infants who just began solids. u may try petit miam, its not as sweet as adult yoghurt but it comes in many flavours. never tried plain ones for sidney. meiji has the teeny ones for little kids but its sweet like i duno what. personally prefers less sweet things for my boy.

Nellu

2. Me gives mashed ripe banana with oats to sweeten it naturally. And I throw in some raisins too. I also give pancake but honey not recommended if ur child is below one i think. Cld cause botulism.
Bread with butter/soy nut butter/goat's cheese

3. Used to buy the Horizon organic baby yoghurt for my girl. But later stopped. Find it quite sweet and v expensive...
There's another organic yoghurt I used to buy. Forgot the brand though. It's just a round little transparent bottle with a blue cap. Has pic of a baby on it.

Forgot, i also give egg (fired/hard boiled) for breakfast. But not sure if josh is old enough for that.
The yoghurt which I forgot the brand, it's a bit sour cos it's natural but my girl likes sour stuff.

nellu
i usu give bread, cake, plain chwee kueh, or bao for breakfast. whatever we eat just give him a bit.

thanks for sharing the info with me. seems like we are a health freak family compared to you guys...

breakfast we only eat wholemeal bread or rolled oats. For Josh, he has been eating oatmeal cereal with mashed fruit. Occasionally some soft boiled egg yolk. Only recently i let him try the bread. I think he got hooked! But i think it's cos he can feed himself so he is terribly thrilled.

For other meals, we eat brown rice. before marriage i'm a white rice eater. only after marriage i got 'converted'. Now I eat white rice i feel weird...Anyway, so Josh's porridge is also brown rice but not fully. His is mixed with some white rice cos he gets constipated eating brown rice so must mix.

..so it seems Josh also dun have much food choices if he eats what we eat...hahaha..in fact, everyday i wake up early to make breakfast for him, not even hubby...hahaha

btw, his tooth 5 cut today..a bit fussy..

isabelle,

how do you make the pancakes for your girl? Do you make from scratch or use the pre-mix?

I think Josh will like pancakes...

nellu
i bought my boy for mac's breakfast during CNY, he ok with the pancakes. i'm a lazy mom no time to cook for him.

nellu
in the past when she was younger i would buy a healthy pre-mix and add in buttermilk, then the whole family would also have it for breakfast.

Now that she's older, and I have morn sickness, I have lost interest in food and also what she's eating, so I buy those add water premix...
Mebbe Josh can also have it with mashed banana to sweeten it(I fried it a bit first to prevent oxidation) since honey may not be suitable.

Oh yes, now that sgn mentions, on weekends I also give her chwee kueh (with the topping only when she got older) and also chee cheong fun, and the bao skin.
But she was a bit allergic to the tau hwey cos I think they add some powder to coagulate the thing. Was surprised cos I thot soy bean pdts shld have been fine. Had bit of rashes but now she's ok with tau hwey.

sgn,
you not lazy mom lah...cos you are FTWM and somemore work shifts so can understand it is difficult to cook. Last time even when i was working 5 day week, 9-6, i also find it difficult to do all this...

now also no better cos got no maid...

nellu
then u got to be more hard working by bring josh to supermarket to buy his food lor.
well i was reading 1st food, they recommded mee sua for bb from 9-12months maybe u can try cook some mee sua soup for urself n josh for lunch then settle for both meal.

hee.. u are all hardworking moms. i cant cook to save my life so my best bet is my good old slow cooker which makes everything. oh, u can make mee sua for them in tat too. we also make stews and macaroni off n on but his staple is porridge.

we do pancakes but with ready mixes. i'm officially the laziest mommy ard! keke. but no choice lah.

sgn, shauna,
yup. i'm a supermarket/wet market junkie now...Really very auntie, even the fishmonger recognise me ok!

I'm still trying to adapt to SAHM life lor...so tough...plus josh so energetic...

sgn,
let us know when's ur off day. we plan an outing for the boys.

its ok lah. its worth it. we wun have another chance when they grow up and wanna hide in their rooms with their playstations and blast loud music. who wans to hold mommy's hands then? so well, i'm enjoying my ah soh days while it lasts.

my leave has been approved AGAIN! keke.

shauna
How long is ur leave? No pay i assume. Enjoy ur time at home with baby!

Nellu
fishmonger recognises u is gd! Then next time u can bargain more, or ask him to reserve nice slabs of fish for u! hee hee...

sgn
yeah, my maid does the pancakes, not me! FTWM very hard to have the time! And energy too.
I actually like cooking and baking a lot but it is just not possible when I'm working.

One weekend, I decided to cook a western dinner for my girl. Had mashed potatoes with cheese sauce, peas, julienned carrots and meat patties I had painstakingly marinated n moulded into tiny balls and sticks to entice her, just the right size for her little fingers.
But guess what? All she wanted were the peas! I was so pissed I ate up all the meat patties myself! Hmphh...

nellu/ shauna
sure next 2 wks i'm having wk end off so will be enjoining hb at home. kiv 13 march off, requested by nanny as she need to go for medical check up.
i very much wanted to bring ky to gymboree leh.

isabella
ha ha ur gal still too young to appreciate ya.

hi so long never post here..

sgn, i'm bring my boy to gymboree on the 16 march with other mummies in july thread u wanna join us?

isabelle,
hahah yes in fact the fishmonger gives me good discounts and very fresh fish!

hi peck,
where have you been? maybe shauna and i can join you guys too?

shauna,
that is fantastic news! Your boss/co is very nice! i wish i can have that!

hi nellu, both of u can come on that day? Great.. i'll contact u once i need the info ya.. btw need to pay $20 for the trial.. normal price is $34.. and timing is 4 to 445pm

hmm... i'm busy with work before and after cny la, as my colleague 90% malaysian.. they all on leave during that period so i like work for 5 to 6 people's load!!

so envious to see you girls can meet up. I'm uber busy nowadays with work. No time to breathe at all. Plus hubby now reservist. Outfield for so many days until never come back at all. The moment i reach home in the evening, my daughter will be stuck to me like a plaster all the way till she sleeps at 11+pm. Then I will do my work till the wee hours, give her last feed, then quickly sleep. Wake up next morning at 7 to feed her morning feed and then wash up to get ready for work. I'm dying from exhaustion. Can't wait for hubby to come back and share the load. =(

By the way, is my girl sleeping very late? Everyone I talk to seems to think she's sleeping very late. She normally sleeps around 11+, sometimes even 12. Very hard to get her to sleep, she prefers to play. Haiz... Even when she dun sleep alot in the day, she also sleeps around this timing. How to change her to sleep earlier? Any gd advice?

sgn- u confirm when u get 13th off. then we c where to bring the boys.. i was thinking a picnic at jacab ballas children's garden..

what say u, nellu?

good morning..
jan, your girl is having nap on the evening? mine will slp at 7pm to 8+ then sleep again on 11+ to 12+ very late too.. but now i try to put him to bed around 930 to 10pm.. sometime it work sometime not... i will off the light and ignore him after awhile he will drift to sleep.. u wanna try that?

yah build up a sleep routine. bathe, quiet play, bedtime story, lights out. sidney sleeps at 8pm-7am. ive learnt it the hard way that the less u entertain them, the easier it is to get thru the nites.

read somewhere children dun just sleep becoz they are tired, they also fall aslp due to boredom. haha.

hi Jan,

poor you...it's only term 1 and got so many things to do!

Lemme share with you my experience ref to sleep. I think Shauna and SGN really knows that Josh is a total energiser battery and a sleep RESISTOR.

A mth ago when the stupid maid incident happened to me, my boy was still sleeping around 1030pm. Sometimes only at midnite! this is even though he does not nap much during the day...by the way he's a catnapper! Was hell for me. So started to put him on a strict routine throughout the day. Now he goes to bed at 730-8pm. Still wakes up at night a few times, but at least i can get some things done earlier in the night and go to bed earlier myself.

Perhaps you need to check what your girl is doing during the day. Also how her feeds are like. Sometimes if they dun eat enough during the day, they dun sleep well. How about her naps? I recall that your mum is helping you to take care of your girl while you are at work? Is it possible to get your mum to help you instill a routine for your girl? Also maybe you can try to get your mum to let your girl have quieter activities in the afternoon so that she doesn't get so hyper in the evening and can wind down easily.

I made a lot of mistakes with my boy now that i reflect on the past nine months. Last time, my MiL would NOT let my boy sleep at 5-6pm cos she thought that if he slept that time he won't sleep till very late. I tell you it's wrong ok! Now i understood why my boy was always SO cranky in the evening when i came back from work. We were so stupid as to agree with my MiL's thinking. Very very wrong.

The other wrong things that I did was

1.to let my MiL carry, pat and pace up and down to put my boy to sleep. Bad habit up till now still cannot break..now it's really either my arms or back break or i put Josh to some suffering for a couple of nights to fix it.

2. let my boy suckle to sleep. Thankfully he doesn't do it anymore

3. did not swaddle him to sleep in the initial months. so he did not sleep well at all for many many months. now it is an improvement.

4. did not instill a routine for him in his earlier days. in fact, did not INSIST on instilling the routine.

5. think that if he's not tired then he won't sleep. WRONG! Kids need routine. This is an improvement i must share with you all. Now that Josh is a bit mobile and he would go and play in whichever corner of the hse he pleases sometimes (hence ignore me! hahah), he would now COME to me when it is nap time!! Just now it happened again! I'm so happy...so i must say a routine does work.

so so so Jan, do try to fix your girl's sleeping habits while she is till young cos if you wait till she's older like my boy, it's very tough!

you can start doing it during the March sch hols lor. so not so stress mah...

oh Jan, other mummies too,

i'm very scientific about this. I have a sleep log to check Josh's sleeping pattern. Attach here for you gals to take a look at the template. You can use it if you want. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
sleep logs
Sleep Logs.xlsx (14.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

SLEEPING
wow nellu, u even have a sleep log! My SIL passed me a book on how to get babies to sleep but in the end I din read. It also suggested sleep log I think.

When I was in confinement, I wld not speak to her at nite, just switch on the lamp, do the necessary and hum to her, even when she was wide awake.
After 1 mth, she didn't stay wide awake at nite anymore.
Didn't pat either cos my mum told me I was a pat to sleep baby and I remember even at three yrs I still wanted to be patted to sleep! So i definitely did not do that for my girl!

Later on, I resorted to letting her suckle to sleep cos I had to work the next day, and anything to let her sleep.
But I made consious effort to put her to bed around 9pm.

Stopped letting her suckle to sleep once she got more teeth. I would nurse her, tell her no more milk until morning. Then brush teeth and sleep. At first she cried in middle of night cos we co-sleep and she's so used to nursing as and when she likes. But after a week or so, she knew.

Now every night I go thru the std procedure b4 I nurse her:
Me: After this can u have any more milk?
She: No
Me: Until when?
She: Morning
Me: GOod girl!

nellu
HELP! now my boy seems to be out of his routine today. he just refused to take his morning nap n milk today.
went ntuc n mil help to take care his so 'hon sim' that he never take his nap at all until now!
now? i tried to made him sleep but i think over his nap time liao so he dun want nap liao.

sgn,
dun panic...our boys ah, this age sure VERY hong sim one..
is it just today he's off his routine? Did you check if he is teething? Maybe he not used to your MiL putting him to sleep? Or maybe just maybe your MiL did not do the right thing to put him to sleep?? Just questioning ah...

Anyway it could be that he is dropping his nap to 2 naps in a day. If he doesn't want to nap now, just move on with the day lor...wat to do? The next nap let him nap longer to catch up.

observe him a few days see how

isabelle,
sleep log came abt because my hubby din believe that we have a sleep problem...hahaha cos everytime he asks me "did the boy sleep well last night?" I'm too tired to even remember how many times my son woke up. so he took it that everything is a-ok lah...

so documenting it makes it easier for me to give him the answer and also convince him on some of the parenting decisions we need to take. hahahaha

haha. convincing others is the difficult part isnt it?

they will eventually turn in later n later as they grow older. consistency is the key. u call the shots. dun let ur baby tell u what time he shld sleep. carry on with ur routine, lights off, n end of story. but then again, i'm the army major type of mommy.
hmm..

yes shauna. totally agree. the kids do look to us for directions. if we dun set the tone then they learn very soon that they can have their way. by the time the parents realise it..usu when kids are in their teens, it's pt of no return!!

nellu
tks hopefully boy just not used to my mil.
i need my boy to sleep so that i can do my hsechores n prepare for work.

sgn,
can perfectly understand your anxiety. I remember when i fired my maid, i was very stressed also. Cos at that time, Josh got no routine! Then somemore won't sleep. My hse was very messy at that time!

btw, are your PIL the helpful type? Since you need to take care of the chores, can they help to take care of KY for that period? Or would they be able to do the chores while you handle KY?

Anyway, you have to be prepared that sleeping patterns will change. KY may start to cut naps. I think Shauna mentioned to me before that Sidney also did that. No choice lor. As parents we really have to go with the flow.

Wow, few day didn't come into the thread working late for the pass few days, so much things going on. Try to catch up.

Nellu, Jan &amp; Sgn,
yeah as they grow their napping time will cut down. My girl now coming to 15 months plus, her nap time also become less nap at 11am-12pm, 3-4pm after shower at 6pm she will nap 6.30-7.30pm all the way till 11pm she will sleep through the night till 8am. Everyday the routine is around the same time. But of coz sometimes she do refuse to take her nap or cut short her nap time like maybe 45mins.

Isabelle,
Last night brought her to take her MMR jab, doctor say for this jab if were to have fever will be 1 week later, thought if gt fever will be 2nd or 3rd day, is that normal since your girl already 20mths can you remember when she took her MMR, fever will be 1 week later meh? Nichole started crying when the doctor wanted to do her assignmentshe just don't like to be touch by the doc, havn't even jab her she cried the whole clinic can heard her from outside I guess. Faint**
Wow sound like you're a good cook. I still havn't have time to think on how to cook some nice food like western or fun looking food for my gal. NO TIME after working so tired out. Weekends can only think of what to cook for dinner only.

nellu
u know what! nanny says ky only sleep 1hr for thw whole day. oh my god wonder what will happen tomorrow. my PIL ok lah, but MIL got back prob n FIL not very good will kids so when i need them to look after while i can express milk n bath.

jasmine
even now my boy nap once in the morning, early afternoon n evening range from 30 mins to 1hrs only. can see he was tired n rubbed his eyes today but he just refused to sleep where his mom is going to die due to lack of sleep.

sidney started with 3 naps, 9-10am, 12-2pm and then 4-5pm, bedtime 8pm. when he got to abt 8 months old, he cut out the late afternoon nap. at 12 months he dropped the morning nap. u will actually hope they dun drop the naps coz u ahve less time for urself. haha. but well u get used to it in awhile.

gals, u must believe u can do it. coz i dun have the easiest baby. sidney used to sleep poorly too. waking up several times a nite (and sometimes even hourly), all the way until we sleep trained him(and as most of u know, i oni started 3-4 weeks ago). they CAN be taught and trained. and ive had the best sleep in a year and still wondering why i didnt do it earlier.

sgn- try puttin him in his nursery at the same times everyday. no questions asked. wanna sleep dun sleep just stay there.u cna stay with him (i sit and literally watch sidney go to sleep everyday, it takes a bare 5 min now) n dun tok to him, no eye contact. n then keep the sleeping environment quiet and dark. sometimes they dun sleep well due to overtiredness. strange but true.

sgn,

take shauna's suggestion. I do the same with Josh as well but josh takes a LONG time...but at least now when it's near nap time, he'll come to me and ask me to carry him....he knows leh!! i'm already quite happy with this progress...

jia you!!

nellu/ shauna
heng today he woke up at 7 n nap at 9.30am woke up at 1015am. at least nap for 45mins. milk also back to his normal intake. now happily playing next to me while i expressing.

hahaha sgn,

today my turn. Josh didn't want to nap. I think it's cos of his tooth...he was slightly warm as well..aiya...just get on with the day.

jasmine
i din take her for MMR cos she was not well for previous jabs and kept delaying. Now her immunization jabs r behind schedule.

But it's a gd thing for me cos I remembered then that i din want her to take MMR cos it is linked to autism, altho i think nothing will happen to most kids. But I did some research and the study that claims there's no evidence to this link was not well controlled.
So I think I will take her for separate mumps, measles n rubella jabs.

And no lah, like to cook doesn't mean good cook! These are two diff things! hee...

Isabelle,
OIC so your gal till now haven't took her MMR. Every time I bring my gal for jab, only afraid she will have fever. Her next jab will be on 18mths which the doctor say is the last jab and can have her certificate of taking all jab keke...

Sgn,
Shauna is right no eye contact no talking to them just put them in their cot even if they play or turn about they will drop to sleep very fast. My gal have the habit of it since she is 10mths onwards till now. She will turn abit here and there than fall asleep within 10-15mins.