1st Time...

nellu- JG doesnt keep reservations for trial babies. so we gota ring when its closer to that date. and i got it mixed up. chickenpox jab is not on 21 feb but on 27 feb. so are we still doin gymboree?

Shauna/ nellu/ jasmine
tks for ur encouragement.
mil n nanny keep stressing not to bath bb, so dity, anyway when he poo poo i quickly bring him for i quick bath hee hee.
sooo tired n menses came last night make me feel more lousy.

today ky better, milk intake increased but still whine n cries to be carried.

ahaha...I just realised that my brain must be deteriorating!! I actually asked Shauna if she had "ringed" JG!!! aiyo...so embarrassing...of course i meant 'rang'..

anyway, shauna, yes i can do gymboree on 21. If i want to use the trial coupon i have to call up first or..??

sgn,
hehehe...must give KY bath lah...even when Josh was having chicken pox, our mothers also said cannot bathe but ok for top and tail...but then in the end we also gave bath cos bath/shower, less dangerous to the pox breaking...keke...but in the end, josh still had some scars..bo pian..

KY should be getting better now. usually the first few days are the worst. after that should be ok liao. keep it up...

sigh...my hb going to be away for 1.5 weeks. I think i'll be so wasted by the end of it...single parent again...

nellu
aiyo, ever since preg to give birth my brain already deteriorated.....ha ha ha

how i wished to join u all for the gymboree on 21, but looks like ky's rashes wouldn't go off so soon.
still debating should bring him to my grandma's birthday this thur, cos his rashes have not subside n dun want to expose him as he just get well.

well the oldies dun think so lor, even dr advice must bath to keep hygiene but they keep stressing that can't chiu fong. if not rashes will come back again.

dun worry Josh will behave himself n u can come in there and chat with us when hb not around.

sgn- yah yah, i hate this no bathing thing. too late cannot bathe, sick cannot bathe, cold cannot bathe, everything cannot bathe. not just for babies, i spent my entire confinement hiding in the toilet to wash myself from head to toe everyday!

nellu- u mean gymboree class on 21feb? ok ok... i tot just the play gym. i havent rang gymboree to arrange for the class. ok then we ring to c if they have class for tmr ok?

shauna,
i dun mind play gym. It's fine with me either ways..

hahaha shauna, i did the same thing during my confinement...and even threatened my hubby...

sgn,
think you better not bring KY out for a while. his immunity is still low. wait it out...i'm sure your grandma will understand...

wahahah,
gals me too! during confinement i bath every other day cos i stay at my own hse.

Hey guess we all same same. Me too shower once a day but hair only can wash alternate days. Coz both my MIL and mum in the house. I shower everyday they already like staring at me every time I come out of my bathroom. Actually wanted to get a confinement lady but she was booked and my mum insist to do it for me so no choice. Luckily I gave bath near year end so its cool, if not it will be worse.

Sgn,
Dn't bring him out yet until he is fully recovered.

hello sgn,
sorry to hear abt ur son. Mebbe u can just sponge him down?

Ooh confinement bath stories!
I bathed everyday too, but had to use the special herbs MIL bought. And becuase she has a hair salon in her hse, she wld wash my hair after my bath, but she refused to turn on the air con and then she blew it dry after that. By then, I perspeired like mad cos the room was enclosed. I wondered why I bothered to bathe at all!
Plus she wld stand outside the bathroom sometimes and nag at me to quickly get out otherwise "wind" wld go in. I was so darn irritated!

hi isabelle,

yes i'm catholic. Ya i do nfp and also a strong proponent for it. Cos I got preggie quite easily twice. 1st time i conceived was only 4mths aft trying. But 1st pregnancy did not go thru..miscarried at 8 weeks. 2nd conception was also 4mths later.

btw, which parish are you from? I go to St Mary of the Angels which is just 5mins away from my plc.

hey shauna,

thanks for calling Gymboree. Just when i thought Josh is on track for his routine, i was thrown a curve ball again. His naptime is a bit haywire again but at least feeding time is still ok. Wake up and bedtime still ok..in fact bedtime had improved tremendously.

<font color="119911">jasmine</font>
nanny already brought him to market.
anyway we bought him out for dinner just now.
today rashes all gone n he is back to normal.

my CL was very open she allow me to bath with herbs n she cook very well i like her food. she made pan cakes for breakfast. I missed those days that i was being served.

<font color="aa00aa">isabelle</font>
my boy recovered from the measles today.

ha ha ha ur MIL so gd washed ur hair huh.
i deliver my boy during May, which was very hot n i keep blowing fan during the day n at night on air con to sleep.
btw whats nfp?

nellu- glad to hear the routine is ok.sure would be a load off esp when ur hubby isnt ard. sidney has been sleeping on his own for i duno 2 weeks? almost i think. hmm.. ok he has been WONDERFUL since we began sleep training. we do not get up in the nites to do all sorts of things to coax him back into sleeping anymore.

i tried calling gymboree yest but no one was at the end of the line so i'm gonna do tat today again.

gals,confinement was terrible for me. my house was undergoin renovation at the point so hubby wasnt always by my side, and the old maid just irritated the nerves outta me, constantly walking in n out of my room without knocking. (my mom led her astray..)*complaints complaints..

nellu- no classes for 21 feb(the lady says no one attending the class..keke). ive booked for 2 March for myself on a sunday. So if u wan, we can do the class together.but duno josh n sidney goin same class anot. sidney is level 3. hmm..

shauna,
in this case you still wanna hit the play gym tmr? I'm fine with it. I will try to call them up later in the aftnn to check on classes.

hubby's leaving later today for Abu Dhabi...am bracing myself for the worst...

btw, i got hold of tracy hogg's book. Like you said the chapter abt the baby's cries and temprements was really insightful. After reading it i had a better understanding of Josh... hahaha as for sleep training Josh, we still had not started yet...cos hubby and i still not quite on the same page. It irritates the hell out of me cos everytime i discuss these parenting things with him, all he can say is "up to you. whatever you decide i'll support you." Alamak! Wat kind of commitment is that right? Anyway all this while i've been the one waking up at nite to attend to Josh when he wakes up. My hubby just snores thru everything until i get real fed up and kick him (LITERALLY!!)

Now I only manage to get him to promise that he'll do the sleep training with me after he comes back from Abu Dhabi. Hopefully it isn't too late. Cos there are 2 things we need to fix ref to Josh. 1. Habitual waking at nite -- he wakes up at the same time every nite and i know it's not cos of hunger.
2. Sleep on his own and in his own bed -- Josh had so far been 'tricked' into sleeping in his own cot. I really want to break this habit cos it will be for his own good as he gets older.

..do wish me luck man...i assume that the first week of March will be a tough one.

sgn,
ref your question to NFP, which stands for Natural Family Planning. It is a family planning method which is commonly used by Catholics, as we are not allowed by our religion to use any form of contraception. This form of family planning uses our monthly cycle to alert us of our fertility to make decisions whether to achieve or to space out pregnancy. It is also known as the Billings Ovulation Method.It is just a simple awareness of the changing mucus and the application of this knowledge. And all this information is charted on a daily basis.

I've included the local NFP website for your info. Sorry that it is "religion-slanted" (in a way) but i think it's cos in Singapore this method is very much promoted by the catholic church and not so much other people or not even doctors.

http://www.catholic.org.sg/nfp/intro.htm

hope this answers your question in a quick way. if you have any other questions abt it, do feel free to ask.

nellu
oic, sua ku me.

dun know why my boy wake so many time at nite.
he dun want milk just give him pacifier n he sleep again hai.... last night wake up 3 times 1plus, 3 plus n 5 plus to latch.

nellu- lets do gymboree play gym this friday at 3pm instead. is that ok with u?

whoa, if josh is only waking once a nite,
its way better than what sidney used to be. he used to get up like 4-5 times a nite and needed like big time help from us to pat him back to sleep. but now, of course hes a changed MAN, oops, i mean boy. haha.

i stopped giving sidney nite feeds since he was 5 months old(once he began solids), but that didnt stop him from gettin up then. but now it certainly makes things easier coz he noes i'm not gonna carry him in the nites and he falls back to sleep without expecting milk.

another thing with this cot thing, ive never allowed him to sleep anywhere else other than his cots (and he has 2, one for naps and one for bedtime) except the one time he was unwell n got to sleep with/ or i shld say, ON me.

it would be good to train him to sleep in his own cot. if not, they will always wanna snuggles up even when they get older, i suspect. bad idea esp if u're hoping to get no.2 now. haha.

sleep training i ve read on some sites do not always work on all babies. fortunately we didnt have much problem puttin it into practice and it all fell into place within days. i hope ur hubby is on the same page as u coz it really takes more than just u to make it work. i couldnt put sleep training to use until now coz hubby was very insistent tat we do not let him cry it out (which really wasnt that bad when we ended up doing it). good luck.

now where in vivo shld i meet u on friday? (i dunno where the gymboree is leh.)

shauna,
I'm ok with the time. I'll PM you my no so we can arrange again or call each other in case we can't find each other.

hehe...i also dunno where gymboree is. According to the add on the coupon, it's at HabourFront Centre #03-60/62. It says "access by Lift Lobby D at Harbourfront or behind Planet Fitness at Vivo" How?

ref to Josh's sleeping, he wakes up abt every 40-45mins before 9pm. Aft that he wakes once between 11pm-1am, then once around 3-4am, then 5-6am. It is enough to drive me nuts, cos he is very resistant and takes a long time to sleep back.

I had always wanted Josh to sleep in his own cot but i broke my own rules when i went back to work. It's tiring to feed him at nite and then return him to the cot. and after that pick him up for the next feed and return again. If i wasn't working it would not have been an issue, but i needed my sleep esp for my line of work. If i wanted to be at work on time and leave on time with all the work done, i needed the energy and the concentration.

Also in the early days, my MiL always carried and pat Josh to sleep, even as he was getting very heavy! so it became a BAD habit.

suddenly i feel so alone now that hubs just took off. It used to be that the moment he's on the plane i fee so free...kekeke...now i just wish it isn't so long...sigh...

i understand. the nites just never end. n u start losing ur patience with each other.

yes the folks always carry baby n pat, sleep also pat, nothing to do also pat. mine would simply say he needs to sleep ALL the time until i would stick a huge piece of paper in my living room stating clearly his naptimes. until now, she hasnt a clue how he drops off to sleep right on the dot for all his sleeping hours, she thinks babies just miraculously go to bed at 8pm, sleep at the same time everyday and routines are totally flexible. sigh im really losing it with her.

Josh is asleep!! at 8PM...just dropped off after patting him for 5mins!!!

heheh Shauna, Is Sidney the first grandchild/grandson for both sides of the family? It must be that's why the folks are so "hands-on". Hahaha

sigh...you know abt the folks, Sometimes i'm upset and angry with the things that my MiL had done, but sometimes i'm really grateful to her because she held out with cranky Josh for a good 4 months, thru chicken pox and teething. comparing my MiL with my own parents, i'm really grateful to her even though her ways were not the best. at least she tried to help.

My own parents (i feel so sad and embarrassed to say this sometimes) just like to give loads of 'well-meaning' advice without ever thinking if it was viable. Like yours, they think that the kid will just go to sleep by himself..and also the routine, their response is always "aiya how to do? so small??" And then they like to drop in or ask me to go over when it is naptime or feeding time...how to right??

Just now my mum just came over to bring me dinner. she just saw for herself how i instilled Josh's bedtime routine and she was amazed that he was not the cranky kid she knew 1 month ago...when we sacked the maid, there were few days that Josh was really cranky and would sleep only at midnite!

nellu
ky just knock off too, he also sleeps around 8-9pm.
ky sleeping pattern:

7-8am - wakes up

10-11am - nap for 1 hr.

1-2pm - nap again 1 hr

4-5pm - nap again (sometimes)

7.30pm - nap again

8.30-9.30pm - wakes up for his last feed n sleep.

do u consider this as routine? cos sometimes he does not take any nap at 4pm so by 8 he super sleepy n sleeps at 8pm.

sgn,
KY is quite a sleeper leh. but he is not showing any signs of consolidating his nap times? Josh used to nap like KY also be had dropped off some naps and is down to 2 only now.

Josh's pattern is like this.
7-8am wake up
Nap for 30-40mins (anytime between 945-1015)
Lunch at 1130-1145
Nap for 30-40mins (anytime between 1230-1330)
(on good days will sleep up to 1-1.5h)
Dinner at 530pm
prepare for bed around 630-7pm...knocks off by abt 8-9pm.

NOTE: It takes us sometimes up to an hr to get Josh to sleep. This is despite him being tired already.

i spend A LOT of my time getting him to sleep. drives me nuts!

nellu
no ley i dun think he is a gd sleeper.
sometimes got hard times to make him take his nap too.

for afternoon naps need to westling with him on the bed lor cos sarong can't keep him still any more, n he likes to put his head up n strangle himself with the sarong.

well our babies almost the same sleeping timing n meals timing.
ky's lunch also 11.30am-12pm n dinner 5-6pm.
night bath at 7pm.

what does Josh do from 2-5pm?

nellu- josh does seem to sleep little compared to sidney. sidney is 1st grandson on both sides. my mom is more traditional and my mil, despite the fact that she is a staff nurse, is oblivious to my efforts to instil good foundations to his sleeping n eating habits. i shldnt elaborate.

if josh takes an hour to get to sleep maybe he's overtired. i noe its crazy. theres just so many things, they are tired, oevr tired, over stimulated dah dah dah. i went crazy for a while too to find the perfect solutions to conquer all these. maybe tweak his bedtime to a littel earlier. i get frightened that sidney will get up in the nites when i let him sleep earlier sometimes but he gets thru all the same. so maybe fine tune until he's cooperative. it must be hard work, chasing after josh for a whole day!

sgn- strangle himself with teh sarong? i had this image and it was disturbingly funny. haha. is he up n better and has completely dispelled the illness?

sgn,
ya..this image of KY strangling himself with the sarong is kinda farnie yet dangerous as well.

seems like we are all facing the same prob with their sleeping.

I suspect Josh is going through a growth spurt. The last 3 nites he kept waking up at various times aft midnite. And he was crying with HUNGER! Each time i latch him on and he went on and on for a good 1/2 hr!

Shauna,
i'm still trying to find the ideal naptime for josh. His bedtime seems to be at 8pm which had been working quite fine for him.

I too get super stressed abt the waking up.

And yes it's DAMN tiring chasing aft him all day and trying to find things to occupy him..hence no time for hse chores...sigh...

nellu
b4 marriage me from holy cross.
Now i go to immaculate heart or risen christ
Wah u seem to be a very "on" Catholic!

Sgn
glad ur boy is better now!

On waking up at nite
My girl is 20 mths old and still wakes up once at night to latch on.

Up to a few mths ago, i had to wean her off waking up as and when she liked to latch on altho I din really mind as she sleeps beside me in her cot. And it's wasn't really disruptive to my sleep either as I lie down to nurse her.

In case anyone is wondering what a mummy with a 20 mth old is doing in the 2007 thread, it's cos I'm on extended hospitalisation leave now for unstable pregnancy.
As my activities r limited n home bound, I surfed this forum and chanced upon this thread n saw nellu's post on breastfeeding and nfp!

isabelle,
have to go with the flow when you married into an "on" Catholic family right?
my hubby always say if left to my own devices, i'll probably end up in limbo somewhere... hahahaha

how far along are you in your pregnancy? I remember how my gynae put me on long mc when i was 30 weeks pregnant. Wah...damn boring...for an up and about workaholic person like me, it was hell staying home and facing a somewhat mentally unstable maid...

nellu
me is a convert. My family n hubby not Catholics so I am really left to my own devices!!! Haha

Me is 12 weeks exactly today. Just saw gynae yest. My baby's crown rump length is 5.17cm and was very happy to see bb so actively moving abt during the scan yest

U a SAHM now?

Is everyone on this thread a SAHM?

Hi Isabelle Welcome,
No not all of us are SAHM. Im FTWM. My girl Nichole now is 15&amp;half months now. Last night she just free her hand to walk by herself keke.... so happy to see her finally walk by herself, actually she knows how to walk for a well just that dare not free her hand till last night, we're full of joy looking her with smiling face think she is happy that she could walk by herself too. Are you a SAHM too? So you're 4mths preggy hah, is it your 1st child, congrate?

Isabelle,
When I was preggy in the 1 trimester I also unstable need to go for jab and on off on MC have to stay at home to rest till Im ok with baby stable than can go to work. Do you have morning sickness? I have evening sickness instead of morning sickness.

jasmine
u must be so pleased to see ur girl walking! I was v pleased too, till i realised that she can now CHOOSE to run around and refuse to let me hold her hand... Haha

I'm just into 3 mths preg. It's my second child. I have bad morn sickness. Or shld i say "whole day" sickness. Have been throwing up 5 to 6 times on bad days...
Finally me is FTWM on long long MC.

hi isabelle, welcome. we are happy to house anyone from any year n time n place! ")

nellu- wondering if my pm is on. (i'm a blardy technie dinosaur) so ive pm-ed u my no. drop me an sms.

<font color="ff0000">GD morning mummies, it's fri again!</font>

isabelle
i also look forward for long long leave ha ha ha.
i also very scare to have no2 cos my morning sickness also very bad. i dun vomit but always endure and that makes me look very sick when i go to work my colleagues always ask me 'r u ok?'.

nellu
busy with Josh? hb not around must be driving u crazy with hse work n taking care of Josh.

sgn,
haha yes...crazy...growth spurt, likely tooth 5 cutting thru...

now my PT cleaner is here and he is entirely entertained by her presence...He's talking to her now...kekeke...

how's KY?

nellu
ky ok.
trying to think of a way to wahes his hair with out him fussing.
cos now whenever i put him lying down position for washing hair he will scream.
think tomolo will let him sit in the tub n wash hair.

sgn,
shauna+sidney, me+Josh went to Gymboree today @Harbourfront.

Next time we go together again? It was quite fun.

sgn-voted for KY. glad he's all smiles now.
we didnt join as member. just did free play. when we hit gymboree, it was dead quiet, but we had more baby company in a while.

josh is a cheerful smiley boy. its actually the 1st time sidney has shown more interest in another baby aka mr-not-sleepy-josh. suprise suprise.

nellu-we went home to do more bubbles. the boy was thrilled but the father was not as happy, with all the foam on his head and everywhere in the bathroom. keke.

shauna,
sidney's a real sweet kid. you've really done well! keep up the good work!

Josh fell asleep in the car the moment we are out of vivo's carpark. Since it was a short drive home, I took a detour and allowed him extra 10mins of zzz...keke..aft that he slept quite promptly by 815pm or so..din really wake till abt 2-3am..

he's really getting the hang of the routine now..i just have to keep at it..

sgn,
din join member cos not sure if we'll fully utilise it. wait for hubs to come back to see if he wants to bring Josh more often...

nellu
well Josh seems to be tired out by the gym.
my boy kon off after the gym that day even it's just 15mins of the gym (cos 1/2hr late).

mums!
tell me it's not fluke! Josh, my dear royal crankiness Josh, went to bed at 8pm sharp for the last few days. Woke a couple of times before 830-9pm. After 9pm slept like a log till 1-2am, stirred and went back to sleep aft me patting for less than 5 mins. Didn't wake till 6am, hungry for milk.

tonight he's gone to bed at 8pm and had not woken...

tell me it's not FLUKE!! =) i really hope it isn't and that this great pattern will continue so that I can start to train him to go to sleep on his own..

what a pleasent piece of news , nellu! it is the one thing a parent can ask for in a baby. i hope josh learns to sleep thru the nite so mommy gets some good rest to keep up with his boundless energy in the day.