1st Time...

the other time a few of the "april 07 mummies" plan for the bb gym thingy..i brought her along..my husband also there..she cry 3/4 of session..*faint*..

hmm...shauna maybe u send me the trial voucher thingy..see which date u all plan..I see if she can or not lor..but have to "warn" u all 1st..her alarm will go off one leh..

anyway, poppy, julia roberts is in hollywood.keke

graybecky- its good. i'm all for children who stick to their parents. when they turn 10, they may not wanna hold ur hand.when they turn teenagers, they may not even wanna tok to u.so there u go, stick to mama all u wan, sidney! and dun worry, jus take her along. we all have babies, we noe they get clingy and cranky. its perfectly ok for me.

anyway pm-ed u already.

graybecky,
dun worry about naomi. It's normal behaviour. Josh is also sticky glue..sometimes his daddy also won't do for him! but hey! It'll be fun! we'll all *faint* together over our clingy kids! hahaha...

just had a real cranky episode with Josh! his 3rd tooth is cutting thru!!! aiyo..this boy really suddenly started screaming for no reason...

Nellu,
Can check with you, you were saying EYS will have 20% discount when is that? My sister son also down with bad cough, just now lunch time when to check the lady say no on promotion leh. She say only birdnest will be on promotions. I ask her what about any roadshow or any other offer on other products, she say don't have wor. Can check from them when is the roadshow or promotion on since you are their member?

Shauna,
Too bad I can't bring my Nichole for the julia gabriel trial.
Do let me know if its good. As for the car seat graybecky got it at $300 plus at promotions, think if got baby fair coming also can look out, if not can consider the 2nd link which I send to you and Nellu which is a Brand New set.

Jasmine,
EYS 20% disc on Hou Ning will be on starting today for the whole month of Feb! The sales person blur!!!

i dunno abt roadshow. but they will send newsletter every quarter or something to let us know of promo.

Nellu,
So if go any of their branch sure have 20% discount without the members card is it. My sis going to tampines there to check it out tonite. Anyway thanks for the infro.

Oh mummies..I mentioned before I got a brand new comforter (quilt) & lightly used bb carrier I'm selling..can help me see anyone interested..?? My girl scared warm never use comforter..she dun like carrier prefer sarong..so these 2 items very "wasted"..& I staying with my mum..so dun want to make the house to messy..me selling cheap cheap..

Graybecky,
You can put up on Yahoo auction to sell it off.

Nellu,
Thanks I just ask around and my colleague is their member will borrow the card from her. My sis son also cough like hell & her son only recovered from flu only she so sian now. Spend so much medical fee on her 2 kids this month.

sgn,
ya it's for members only. you can go and buy still. you want my ic no for ref?

lemme know i'll sms u if u need

nellu
tks a lot, will msg u when going down. then i will be able to know ur age wahahah.

yesterday tried to sleep train sidney. like let him go to sleep by himself. (yes, we have braved a year of rocking and patting and u name it.)

he screamed and cried for about 30-45 min, with several reassurances from me. and then he dropped off to sleep.

read in books some toddlers can stop breathing and even faint when they have their tantrums. such an exciting path to toddlerhood. i'm really looking forward to it. (not the fainting part!)

Hello Shauna,
well seems like u were facing similar thing last nite..
we carried my girl to sleep since the day she arrived @ our home..till she's abt 6wks old..she 'suddenly' dun want us to carry her..we put her in the cot..pat her & she sleep..then abt 4mths old..she reverted back to wanting us to carry her..till now..(she's 9mths)..last nite not sure why..but i was super tired..no strength to carry..i put her in the cot..she made some noise..like mumbling to herself..then after 30mins - 45mins she shouted once..her daddy came in..pat her..in less than 5mins she sleep liao..

by the way..did u re-pm me abt the trial thingy..?

Shauna/ greybecky
u are trying to train bb to sleep by themselves?
i had been tought by my step mom to pat bb on the chest when putting my boy to sleep.
i usu put bb on the bed n sleep close to me n pad him on the arm or thigh to sleep.
he will to toss n turn, sometimes can by restless++ b4 he settle down n sleep. when bb really sleepy he dun even sturggle n just fall asleep.

graybecky- already pmed u.

gals, the 1st nite, he got up at abt 2 am and couldnt go back to sleep. i did controlled crying and in an hour he was aslp. by himself, yes.

afternoon nap, same thing, put him down roughly an hour before his due time and was sitting with him in the room, but strictly no carrying or patting or anything.just go to him every now n then n tell him mommy is here, i love u, now try n go to sleep, mommy will stay with u. and he was aslp in roughly abt an hour.

last nite, he got up in the middle of the nite and put himself back to sleep in 10-15 min.

i guess its ok to let them try n sleep by themselves coz u're watching them n have already made sure they are well fed, not too overtired dah dah. we used to think controlled crying is just too harsh on a tiny one like them. but it eventually worsens when we have to get up and rock or pat him for over an hour several times a nite. now both him and the parents are totally sleep deprived. and he's one, and i'm all alone taking care of bb 24/7, so u can really imagine how wasted i am.

ive only done it for 2 nights but i have to say he definitely slept better in these 2 nites. i will have to tell u gals how it goes..

Look at what this maid decided to do to this poor innocent little 2 mnth old baby (here in SGP) whilst his parents were out working.

There are 6 short clips. Video 2 shows the evil maid beating the boy's back. Video 4 shows her kicking the yaolan. Video 6 shows her hitting the baby's head and swinging the yaolan violently. Videos 1,3 & 5 shows how rough and irresponsible this animal is.

This maid deserves much more than what our legal system can dish out to her as punishment.

I stand by my belief that no child should be left in the sole care of a maid.

I absolutely could not bear to watch this. even if its someone else's child i do not know but the poor baby was left alone with this monster. I would be in devastation and i would not forgive myself had it been my baby.

This is why i sent my maid home 2 months after we hired her. The sheer thought of how she cannot even clean the pots properly sends shivers down my spine when i think of how she is to handle my bb alone(and thank god, she was never given a chance to do so.)

i count my blessings that i have since quit my job and realised how lucky i am to be a SAHM even if i had no help at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ot22xZqLMMI

Shauna
i only watch 2-3 video n can't continue why got such ppl on the earth!
poor bb.

nellu
is it possible to msg me ur IC cos tomorrow i will be going to EYS to get more hou ning.

or should i wait? pomotion till end of the month?

shauna,
i'm wondering abt the sleep training too.
I tried to do a lot of things with Josh but so far no success...
Josh is a resistant sleeper, meaning he sleeps v little, takes a long time to fall asleep.

this is why 'm nearly going mad!

ok this sleep training thing has been carried out for 3 days. last night he took half an hour to go to sleep, woke up once, put himself back to sleep in 5 min n slept thru till 7am and i had to wake him up myself.

anyways, i think its worked wonders on sidney. he's never slept better. and now i'm convinced that its coz we never allowed him to learn and that we were in fact depriving him of sleep by not lettin him learn how to go back to sleep himself.

he has since dropped his morning nap so he is sleepy enough to go to sleep himself at noon. so current sleeping pattern:

afternoon nap 12-2.30pm
bedtime 8pm-7am
(and the best part, he does not wake up at all in between, maybe once max,and he instantly drifts off to sleep by himself right after, for the past 3 days)

will continue to monitor n tell u gals the results.

nellu dun go mad, if it works, u may wish to try it. the 1st day is the hardest.

shauna,
had sidney been waking up frequently? did he take a long time to fall sleep?

my prob with Josh is that he takes a long time to fall sleep. Even if he has fallen asleep, he would sleep only abt 15-30mins and would wake up again and can't really fall back asleep...

sidney used to wake up several times a nite. it wasnt becoz he has an early bedtime coz we have tried adjusting the bedtime but the fine tuning had no effect on him.

we then attributed it to teething. on nites that get really bad, he can be up every hour or so n needs to be patted in the cot before he can get back to sleep. and sometimes he gets wide awake, n that isnt rare, n we have to carry him n pat him for an hour or so.

before the sleep training, he was always carried n patted to sleep, so he would take, i say abt 5 min or so when its his naptime or bedtime.

u may wish to try to sleep train him loh. the problem is tat they duno how to go to sleep themselves, i think, or so the books say. sidney struggles to go to sleep. he would be whining n screaming at times, but we're sittin beside him right after his bedtime stories, so we're now putting aside the worries. he's fine in the cot, n we keep telling ourselves that.

like i mentioned earlier, he took an hour the 1st nite, n just now when i sent him off to his afternoon nap, he took solely 10min. its all trial n error loh. so i mean, if u're really sleep deprived, just try for a few nights, it might work for u.
anyway its a sooner or later thing. my boy is more than 10kg, so u can imagine why we turned to this. josh will be 10kg in no time, u may wanna start early.

wow, sleep training! I can only hope that my girl can sleep earlier. Dun even dare to hope she can sleep by herself. Let us know the progress of ur training k Shuana.

The maid's really evil. I hope the law will punish her heavily! I got a shock when saw her kich the yao lan. And she just pull the baby's arms into carrying position when he was lying down. So scary. Baby only 2mths old, the arms n legs so fragile and she pulled so hard. So scary! Me n hubby both heave a sigh of relief that we decided to go maidless.

By the way girls, Happy Chinese New Year! I'm looking forward to the long wkend. Jarienne has so many new clothes that she can wear new stuff complete with new accessories from 1st day of new yr to the last day, but mummy only bought a new top for nian chu yi! hehehe...

the maid ill treat the bb is in the news!

my boy last nite suddenly cried very loud n for lasted 10 mins at 1am, the whole family woke up by him, wonder what happened at nanny's hse yesterday that traumtise him.
today woke up he ok ler, but poor me not enough sleep cos the whole nite i hug him to sleep n i never sleep well cos keep waking up to
check on him n made sure i dun roll over him.

sgn,
maybe KY played a lot yday... or perhaps it's teething pain?

yday Josh was sort of on a hunger strike, din want to eat much until at nite he was so hungry he couldn't sleep. In the end, he slept only at 1130pm thru to 645am. Sigh...dunno why the boy always must wait until super tired then will be willing to sleep...

this morning made him wake up at 7am. He got tired by 9. tried to put him to sleep but he refused so i move on with the routine and will let him nap later at 1230pm...sigh...

Dear all, the sleep training couldnt get any better. we have had the longest possible good sleep(10pm-7am everyday!) in the past 4 days. we wake up smiling every morning.

sidney's struggle to sleep has diminished in time. last nite he took 20 min (1st nite an hour, 2nd nite 30min)of rolling ard and whinging after his bedtime story. woke up once for abt 15-20 min and put himself right back to sleep, all the way till 7am. its amazing. STRICTLY no patting or carrying or anything. just reassuring talk.

i'm in favour of early bedtime coz it really gives me some time to do some things or go to bed early but its also becoz im not working now so its ok for me to let my bb go to bed at 8pm.

this is what we do, dinner served to sidney at 5pm, goes down for a walk till 7pm,bathe at 7pm 7.30 drink milk and bedtime story, 7.45pm lights out.

toddlers, ive read will fight sleep more when they get older. they can play n play till the wee hours.

nellu are u doin gina ford also? there is another author who is less stringent with the routine timings but follows more of a structured routine -tracy hoggs, the baby whisperer. u may wanna read that. they are sorta similar but she's not as militarian as gina.

sgn- yes! i heard it was on the news. how horrible rite? nothing meted out to her can compensate the mother. aiyah, they are horrible, inhumane pple and i hate maids!! urghs.

sgn, jan- do u wanna go for JG trial on weekday?

anyway, if u gals have collected ur copy of my baby journal from the library, there is also a gymboree free trial coupon at the back.

shauna,
yes i'm trying gina ford, cos Josh's routine so far is quite close to Gina Ford's suggestions. Her tone is very militant but I just take it with a pinch of salt and adjust along the way.

I heard abt tracy hoggs. Is she any good?

I'm kinda tempted to retry controlled crying again cos so far nothing else works. Josh is a good sleep fighter. Really pushes the limits. We can carry and pat him for 1hr and he still wouldn't sleep! So you can imagine how tired i am..day and night it is the same. It used to be that he could fall asleep easily at night and wakes only 2-3 times between 9pm-7am, but now it's so difficult. My mum says it's cos he's so playful, which in a way is true...and I'm so AH Q to think that maybe my son is a genius and hence wants to learn abt the world a lot?!?! HAHAHAH self consolation....

persevere! when i 1st started, i would think my day is all ruined wenever he strays off the routine. but things get better and now we're all hooked! haha.

i din use tracy hoggs coz i did wan to instil a rigid sleeping and eating routine and gina ford is very clear on which naps to drop n the signs and exactly how much they need to sleep. i din run into any problems with her recommended naptimes so i din use tracy at all. her methods are good for babies who cant stick to a time but follows more of EASY aka E-eat, A-activity, S-sleep,Y-your time in the above sequence.however i find her ways of reading babies' cries pretty insightful.

toddlers of about 1 year old need 14 hours of sleep, but i guess if josh is doin ok everydya, then there's no need to change anything unless u're feeling the strain. u're not being ah Q. some babies are indeed more hyper and need lotsa coaxing to go to their beds.

we parents get SO desperate trying to get them to sleep. sleep, eat, the 2 most crucial and mind boggling factors in this whole affair of child rearing.*bangs head

anyway, 10 min to drift off to sleep just now again. Hmm.. i REALLY like this sleep training thing.

ya shauna. wat i like abt GF is that she's really clear!

josh isn't even sleeping anywhere near 12hrs in every 24h! dat is why I am so super obsessed with his sleeping patterns! He is feeding fine and has a fixed time for feeds but not sleep. And he always end up getting tired and very cranky by 7pm YET refuses to sleep.

you are right abt us being so obsessed abt sleeping and eating..sigh i wonder when that will ever stop..

very cranky by 7pm and refuses to sleep? and u pat him for an hour and still not sleeping? did u try putting him in a quiet room, n lowering the lights n tv in ALL rooms in the house.. and take about half an hour, if not, 45 min to do his bath, quiet play n story.. must keep stimulation to minimum also.

anyway i think u may wanna try n keep josh in the nursery or in his cot from 7/8pm onwards so he will find out soon enough theres no play from that time. that may help. suffer for a few days n c if he gets the picture everyone is gonna drop if he continues his stint till wee hours again loh.

sidney starts gettin a little cranky ard 5pm but then he's usually re-energised after his meal and he looks forward to his evening walk. so its smooth journey until he drops off to sleep.

shauna,
done it all... i think sometimes my hubby is the one who spoils the plan...sigh...

today isn't such a bad day so far but still need to finetune his naptimes..

Shauna
weekday is ok with me but i'm feeling tired maybe after CNY bah.

nellu
my boy also a very good sleep fighter, today morning nap 1hr, afternoon 1/2 in the stroller (went bugis meet my aunty). got to go inside the nursery to pad n bf him to sleep after 5-10 mins of sturggle manage to made him sleep! then reach home at 5pm n make him nap again 45 min n wakes up at 6pm for dinner.

speaking of minial stimulation, Josh is so capable of looking for things to play with, even when i pat him in a dark room to sleep, he'll play with his own fingers and jab them repeatedly into my collar bone...how's that for a super playful kid?!

sgn,
maybe all May babies are like dat?!? might be something to do with the shi2 chen2...

hahahahahaha

nellu
ha ha ha, my boy same lar, turn here turn there reaching for everything on the bed grab my glasses, poke my mouth n nose, trying to run
away from my arms, at times i felt like westling with him on the bed.

happy new year! keke.

ok must keep perservering when it comes to routine. i'm very strict until i go nuts. but it does somehow work out finally. so thank god. maybe it is the may babies syndrome indeed.

yup all baby trial classes scheduled for after cny. long weekend, hope its good.

Shauna
ok let me know when is the class or should i let u know my off day when my roster is out?
my next wkday off is 21 feb.

<font color="ff0000"> Wishing All Mummies and Babies A Happy n Properous Chinese New Year!</font>

happy new year gals!!

JG trial: which day are we thinking of? i'm ok for 21 feb...some more i'll get the car...haha...i'm going to follow my hubby to some exotic plc at the end of the month. so week of 25 feb is out for me. if we cant do feb we do march??

ref routine, maybe josh is fitted for 8am-8pm...he has a real hard time getting up at 7am!! see how, i'll try to fine tune it...

did u just get a new car? coz i did! for me n bb. keke. coz yesterdya COE announced mah.

21 feb can be arranged. i will call JG but we gota print one more voucher for sgn. i will ring up let u gals know.

yup if he sleeps past 7am, dun wake him up. liek u say, fine tune it from 8-8pm. sidney doesnt do 7-7pm. his routine is from 7am-8pm.

shauna,
no new car
i wish my hubby will get me one tho...hb will be away by then so i get to use the car...hehe...

hello everyone busy with visiting huh, no time to login.
KY went visiting with us n fell from the bed while having a nap at relatives hse. lucky now
he's ok.

tomorrow got to work lo, so sad. spend qulity time with bb n hb hee hee.

HAPPY NEW YEAR &amp; GONG XI FA CAI to all mummies...
So tired after few days of visiting today also start work liao. My girl enjoy the traveling part. But don't know why, she cried when we reach our my mum's place and my relatives place, maybe shy and see too many people with eyes looking at her. Lucky after she warm up she is ok. She so funny like to dress up and know what is being pretty let me put on hair clip for her and also wanted to see herself in the mirror.

HENG HENG to all. haha.

yes new year was pretty thrilling. sidney was happily carrying the mandrain oranges ard and in his little chinaman outfit which tickled mommy greatly.

the little frens and relatives he had were delighted to have him and all were sitting ard to play with him. he was a little apprehensive at 1st too, jasmine, but soon warmed up to his cheery smiles.

i didnt have many outfits for him tho. just two and it was quickly recycled after a wash. keke.

Happy to see all of u back here n enjoined ur new yr.

hai... hb suffer from allergy after eating albalone again. now he is on MC and i still got to work. poor hb eyes swelling ++ can't see well on the way to clinic.