(2015/12) Dec 2015 Mummies

Hi mommies, at which week do u take multivits? I'm at week 12, and my apptm w gynae is only at week 13. Shd I wait for the gynae to prescribe me the multivits or shd I start consuming those from outside?
And also, is buying from outside cheaper than from Thomson (TMC)? Thank you

My gynae wanted to prescribe multi-vit when I visited at end of week 7, but I told her I had been taking Blackmore's generic multi-vit (not specifically for pregnancy ones) for years, and she said to just continue with that then. So I guess you can start anytime.

The one I am taking isn't expensive, about $25 bucks for 120 tablets which will last 4 months.

I'm taking Blackmore's too but can you believe they used to be even bigger? Haha! Now new formula is slightly smaller. Those are not my biggest pills though, the calcium pills that my gynae prescribed are the biggest ^^; Actually my biggest problem is fish oil tablets, cos I end up burping fishy smell for hours after, really make me want to puke!

:eek: used to be even bigger? I'm really bad with swallowing pills. Haven't gotten around to taking fish oil yet. Sounds nasty but maybe I should too o_O

Have you at least been taking your folic acid? That's very important during first trimester, at least 450mcg daily. I'm not sure where is cheaper but sometimes outside pharmacy have offers and discounts.

Is it all right if i have days i just forgotten to take my folic acid?

Usually iron pills causes constipation leh. Maybe not related...?

Can't think of a reason why my big business frequency increases after iron pills intake. I can head to toilet at least 4 times a day and my stools are not like diarrhea and it's darkened due to iron (black). Sorry tmi. Guess i would have to call my dr.

Hi MTB,

Anyone see any changes to your body yet? I am now week 13+ and I can see a bit of tummy (not sure if it gas or it's the little one growing).... :)

Hello everyone! I am new to the forum :) Also a Dec mummy :) This is my first pregnancy and am pretty excited! Just want to ask if you guys booked your confinement lady yet? I tried calling quite a few... But they are all booked! :(

I'm taking DHA pills.. is it the same as fish oil pills?? What is the purpose of fish oil pills? I also haven't book CL, taking my oscar blood test result tmr. Hopefully everything is fine, then I start thinking abt CL lo...

Hey CNSH, I was told to book asap... Now i will have to go for confinement agency cos the rest of the contact I have are all not available.

This year a lot of SG50 babies?? Man... I was considering CL cos I don't think I can do my confinement on my own this time now that I have a toddler running around (yes I did by myself for #1. Just ordered confinement food catering. My mom thought I was nuts.) Looks like have to think of plan b...

I'm taking DHA pills.. is it the same as fish oil pills?? What is the purpose of fish oil pills? I also haven't book CL, taking my oscar blood test result tmr. Hopefully everything is fine, then I start thinking abt CL lo...

Yar DHA same as fish oil pills.

Its perfectly normal to experience morning sickness even at week 12. I actually had MS up till end of second trimester, although the frequency and intensity eased up after week 14. Not sure if this would be of any comfort to u, but gynae has attributed presence of strong ms to the well-being of the baby (i.e due to strong pregnancy hormones which means bb is doing well) so just manage whatever food u can take now and just rest more. Good luck!

I hope mine would go away soon...been surviving on sweet food like pancake & biscuits. :(

This year a lot of SG50 babies?? Man... I was considering CL cos I don't think I can do my confinement on my own this time now that I have a toddler running around (yes I did by myself for #1. Just ordered confinement food catering. My mom thought I was nuts.) Looks like have to think of plan b...

There is alot of SG50 babies now worried about Primary school enrollment liao. LOL
I was looking at Natal Essentials for confinement food. Seemed not too bad?

hello all mummies to be!
Finally i can leave message here!!! i have been following this thread but got problem with my account so couldn't reply...

i have a few questions...
1. my last visit was one month ago. the gynae said the bean is too small to determine my EDD... so i only know the first day of my last period is 20 march. is there any mummies-to-be here having the same day as me?
2. does anyone know dr. beh st at thomson? i am thinking to change my gynae for this second pregnancy and i have no idea who to go to... or is there a good gynae in the east?
3. can anyone add me in fb group? my email is [email protected].

thanks! very happy to know you all. :)

anybody pregnant before while taking exams? my final paper is mid nov n m so worried that it will affect the baby or studies.

Hi qitti123. I just took my exams in May. Hoping I dont have to resit any pprs since its my last semester. If I have to resit, Im planning to defer one semester.

I read some facial products are not safe to use during pregnancy. Just realised the facial wipes ive been using contains salicylic acid. Do you have anything to recommend? Im starting to break out at my forehead and nose.

Yeah my skin got more sensitive n pain during facial. Subsequently i noticed breakouts on forehead too. :( Oh! Didnt actually know some facial wipes are not good. I only know non-water base nail polish no good.

I'm new here too. EDD keep changing from 25th to 23rd to 29th. Seeing gynae for week 12 scan + verify next wed. Will be able to know gender soon !

Like some of mummies here, I lost appetite, totally not interested in eating or drinking. MS is so-so. Maybe once a day kind.. Thing is, my tummy is totally flat.. I'm always so concerned and my gynae always assure me with bb's heart beat. Been visiting gynae since week 5 or so.. Am on progesterone and baby aspirin... Praying that 1st trim quickly end coz on 2 mths MC !!! Can't wait to get out of bed. Lol.

hello all mummies to be!
Finally i can leave message here!!! i have been following this thread but got problem with my account so couldn't reply...

1. my last visit was one month ago. the gynae said the bean is too small to determine my EDD... so i only know the first day of my last period is 20 march. is there any mummies-to-be here having the same day as me?
2. does anyone know dr. beh st at thomson? i am thinking to change my gynae for this second pregnancy and i have no idea who to go to... or is there a good gynae in the east?

My first day of last menses is also 18-20 March. Not sure when's the EDD still.. Guess gotta check size of our bean to be sure.. Gonna check next wed.

I'm a first time mummy (thou not v v young). Am opting for mount E since its newer. ;)

There is alot of SG50 babies now worried about Primary school enrollment liao. LOL
I was looking at Natal Essentials for confinement food. Seemed not too bad?

Get a trial meal to try (but after 1st tri, cos the food is heaty not good for us so early on). I took Natal Essentials for my #1 but that was 3years ago.... I heard their standard dropped since then.

My #1 is dragon year lor... If this year also baby boom maybe I should just give up and home school lol!

hello all mummies to be!

There are many EDD calculators out there! :) just Google. Can adjust results based on your cycle length. But based on last period not accurate unless you have regular cycles and know exactly when you ovulated.

I'm new to this forum. Testing positive on 1 May and I'm into my 11th week and EDD ard 25th. My gynae is Dr Esther Ng from Tanjong Katong. Anyone using the same Gynae? I had my blood test taken on the 9th week and was arranged to go NHU for a fetal scan next week. Not sure if this is the norm and not sure what to expect. Hope all will be well.

I was prescribed with the Sunpad Health's Baby Smart DHA supplement along with the usual folic, iron and vits.. As many mummies to be had written here, swallowing these supplements when you don't feel like putting anything in your mouth, are pretty torturous!

Get a trial meal to try (but after 1st tri, cos the food is heaty not good for us so early on). I took Natal Essentials for my #1 but that was 3years ago.... I heard their standard dropped since then.

My #1 is dragon year lor... If this year also baby boom maybe I should just give up and home school lol!

My #1 is also dragon but born Jan 2013. Also worrying about enrolment for both.

hello all mummies to be!

Hello, i'm 12wk6days. According to my gynae LMP was 16/3, EDD is 14/12. Our EDD should be quite near :)

Last Friday went for down syndrome test and the nx day Dr Ben Choey sms inform the risk is very low <1:1000. Now waiting for Antenantal blood results.

I still thinking which hospital to go for deliver? TMC for MT A?
Any advice? I not particular about the hospital service as long as my baby is safe.

I want single bedder but heard Mount A runs out of single bedder often. Btw which gynae you using~?
I gave birth in mount a in may 2014. I stayed in super delux single room in our lady ward. Room is good and clean. What i didn't like are the nurses in that ward. In the 5 days i stayed, i think only 1 was nice. But the second time i was admitted to mount a again in st. Gabriel ward, nurses are older but much more professional and caring.

I am thinking to deliver in mount e for my second one...

Hey CNSH, I was told to book asap... Now i will have to go for confinement agency cos the rest of the contact I have are all not available.
Hi mummy, you may try to call the lady at 92217257, I used the nanny recommended by her and we were happy with her services.
you may want to try your luck.

I gave birth in Mt A in 2012, can't remember which ward but I took double room. Actually quite ok just that hubby cannot stay overnight. But the nurses were lovely and the general atmosphere of the place was nice. The LCs I got were not very good but on the last day before I checked out I got a good one.

I just missed my menses and tested that I am pregnant already. How to choose gynae? Is there any recommendations which gynae is good and packages/consultation etc is reasonable?
I have more or less decided to deliver at Mt Alvernia

depends on how convenient you wan it to be. im staying in west and am seeing Dr Tho Chin Keong. He delivers at Mt A and Thomson. I think Momo Mum is also seeing him . I had a surgery performed by him 3 weeks ago and his stitching is good . He has a poker face..but somehow it makes me and my hubby have faith in him .

first time is always more ex . but subsequently i think it's $70 for consultation. The scan is separate charges. package wise i think we'll be offer this sat (turning 12 weeks) but i saw it on his cost board at the counter. If i'm not wrong, i think it's $900.

Feeling v emo today n cried. Not sure if it's the hormones, work stress or mere tiredness from the pregnancy that i'm feeling so down n negative abt working. Feel like quitting my job and forgo the maternity leave. Anyone hv such feeling?

I go to Dr Chen at Healthcare for Women. She has clinic at Novena Specialist Ctr and Punggol. How about u?
I am current at serangoon Thomson women clinic but will probably change gynae as she will be on leave for 3weeks around my EDD. Considering Dr poon kingfu or Dr Douglas Ong cos they are both natural.

Feeling v emo today n cried. Not sure if it's the hormones, work stress or mere tiredness from the pregnancy that i'm feeling so down n negative abt working. Feel like quitting my job and forgo the maternity leave. Anyone hv such feeling?
I get more emo during the pregnancy. Guess is normal. Juz stay positive and dont let thinGS affect u. Stay focus of the final goal!

depends on how convenient you wan it to be. im staying in west and am seeing Dr Tho Chin Keong. He delivers at Mt A and Thomson. I think Momo Mum is also seeing him . I had a surgery performed by him 3 weeks ago and his stitching is good . He has a poker face..but somehow it makes me and my hubby have faith in him .

first time is always more ex . but subsequently i think it's $70 for consultation. The scan is separate charges. package wise i think we'll be offer this sat (turning 12 weeks) but i saw it on his cost board at the counter. If i'm not wrong, i think it's $900.

Ive seen Doctor Tho when I had pain at 6 weeks. Very nice and assuring doctor. The package price I got from the counter is $950 from 20 weeks.

Hi ladies anyone seeing Dr Manisha Mathur at Kk? how is she? she s the gynae rexommended by kk bt like no reviews on her.
I was set on Dr Han but my doc said he is vvv busy and best to get a gynae who can spend more time on me which i agree

*hugs*

Will feel more emo during pregnancy, that's normal. Bringing up a kid in sg is expensive though. If financially ok then quit, don't make rash decisions.