IVF/ICSI Muslimah Support Group

hi rashal, sorry to hear bout that...but glad that ure feeling better n stronger now.

btw..do u tell ur companies that u guys going for ivf thus the long hl?

Ladies...

Gd news .. Done my ET... 2 beautiful sweethearts in me... I am so hepi n thrilled...

Rashal n tintedhopes: hope gerls r doing fine... Enjoy the weekend..;-)

as salam nadia...
tt's gd news! u hv 2 beautiful embbies in u already!
hope u will bfp this time ard aft 9yrs of trying..
may ur prayers be answered this time..insya' Allah'
tink positive and keep praying..update us again okie..wen is ur bt?

Salams all....

Been reading ur posts..
I've been referred by gynae from SGH to do IVF cos of my blocked right fallopian tube and at the time, a blood test was done on the 21st day after menses, i was not ovulating ord...Hubby did a check and his was due to low sperm count.

This Tues, 1st mar, i'm due for the counselling.. Can you ladies please explain briefly the procedure plus, the shortforms dat u use very ancient to me lah.

TQ :D

Salam Irah...

Welcome....Hmm since u r fro SGH...this protocol may differ...this is my earlier post for another sistas..but it's under KK...so cost wise and meds term is different..SGH cost may be higher than KK ...

Before the Stage 1, some may need to go to OCP..birth control pills popping...different body condition diff protocol...

For payment wise rite only in Stage 1 which is the Lucrin (Superfact - SGH term) stage u pay cash...Pay Lucrin jab abt $104.80 (1 bottle + syringe + alcohol swab) and then the scan + blood test (S$34.70)...(The price stated is for KK..so SGH may differ)

This Lucrin stage is suppression stage...to suppress hormones before u start injecting hormones to grow ur lining and follicles

Once u start Stage 2 - Puregon (GonalF - SGh terms) (Stimulation Stage) - Medisave kicks in...no payment needed for the purchase of Puregon + all scans...

Once in Stage 3- ER & ET, also the same no payment required...unless before ET they wan to do a blood test to see whether ur OHSS is severe or not...not all sistas go tru that..

Stage 4 - BHCG - Blood test to determine whether pregnant or not...

After all ur IVF complete.. they will sent u the bill...from there u will know whether any cash payment needed after they minus the cpf & govt grant...as long as ur Puregon dosage is low..it shld be covered under the scheme so no cash needed...

My whole bill is abt 6k+ so all covered under the scheme..;-)

Hope the above help...It seems you have join the other thread...good...the sistas there r very helpful too...

Before embark...best is to take supplements to prepare ur body for the IVF....Wish u all the best..;-)

nadia, rest well at home beb...
ur bt on 04/03. im going kk 03/03 for hubbo's sperm freezing and the couple injections thingy.

i wanna ask you guys....the HL, doctor wont state there IVF right? its just like normal HL kan? cause im in a middle of switching jobs right now(wrong timing i know, but opportunity da come knocking kan) and i dont intent to let my new workplace know ;)

Tintedhopes: nope it doesnt state IVF... If i remember it states reproductive something from Clinic D .. Just remember when u ask for HL.. Get till BT date...

Thanks dear... Next week will be the day..

Ur hubbie freezing sperm .. ic.. Oh the blood test for hiv n etc rite?

Wish u all the best when u embark...;-)

Just wanna check with u ladies...Wat was ur condition b4 you were referred to do IVF?

My mum wans me to try urut 1s, and see who knows but i'm a bit sceptical about going for urut.

Hi Irah...

I hv PCOS which was diagnosed in 2004.. Was on clomid for 6 mths... No ovulation... So not successful... Dr suggested IUI or SO IUI.. I didnt do it.. Tried so many things traditionally... I hv been married for 9 yrs... As age catch up.. I decided to try IVF last yr... I am glad I went to IVF as my egg shell r hard so conceiving naturally or via IUI or SO IUI will not help me to conceive...

U can try urut 1st it may help with ur blockage but for ur husband... He has to find alternative too..

U think n decide wats best for both of u...;-)

Nadia - what PCOS?

Irah - We seek medical advice after 1 year TTC. Dr sugested IVF cause hubby sperm count is low and its quite severe.

Many people give advices to us. Some ask hubby to go urut. Haha, but he's reluctant lah to urut his 'thing'. Some people ask to try some kind of jamu. I bought but havent try. Some gave recipe to make thinks to improve sperm quality. Also havent tried.

Hi Nadia & Tintedhopes...

Thanks for the replies..

Tintedhopes: ya..same case, low sperm count and hubby pun not keen to do the urut thingy. Now i'm looking out on the net, what kind of foods to help him improve.

Tintedhopes: PCOS - polycystic ovatian syndrome... Which means we hv quite a no. of eggs but all aligned to then left (i tink) ... We dun hv regular menses n we dun ovulate either so to conceive we need help... Its not dangerous.. But there is no cure... They say if it effect obese pple unfortunately for me I was skinny when I was diagnose with it...

Hmm for hubbies its nvr easy for them to go for treatments..but they must be supportive at all times.. When I went accu during my fresh.. My hubbie did go accu.. It does help with the sperm count n mortility...

There are food that they can eat to improve it as well...;-)

Salam ladies! Truly happy that i cum across this thread as least ade juga kaum wanita melayu going thru this path n at least i can seek an advice from the ladies here. Im not at the stage of IVF yet, but probably might need to if no choice..Im currently on clomid n from there my gynae will advice whether clomid is working on me or not, then she suggest for IUI or IVF if not responding to clomid. Me oso hv PCOS.

Hi Irah! May i know which gynae u seeing from SGH? Im current with Dr Yong from SGH..2 of my frens were on IVF at KKH and both were successully during the 1st try and not only that, they r really lucky as they are blessed with twins of 1 gal n 1 boy..so initially i wanted KKH too, but then becuz of the long queue..guess gonna stick to SGH.

Salam to all ladies..glad that i bumped into this thread..hope that i can share my experience and learn something from u babes..am also diagnosed with PCOS in 2004. i have been experiencing irregular menses for quite a bit then so decided to see a specialist in 2004 since i was planning to get married in 2005.(to be well prepared..)Gone thru clomid,metformin, ovarian drilling surgery and finally IVF..1stcylce that did not complete due to high fever and admitted for a week. (btw am with Dr Roland Chieng from CARE in SGH- he is now in pvt practice in Parkway East) then following year did another round..this time a full complete cyle..but no positive results..it was a really depressing moment during and after the 2ww..i go on with life and decided to go for the FET..the 3rd cycle..all was ok..womb was alright blah blah blah.. and i was anticipating what to expect for the 2ww..but it was worst than what i expected.It was the day of the ET.. the nurse called..hubby was having his shower and i was all prepared to go to hospital for ET..then my cell phone rang..it's CARE..i thought the nurse called to check if i am coming.But no!! Nurse told me "Riz u don't have to come.. am sorry ur 3 embies did not survive the thawing process"
Imagine how heart wrenching it is..since that process i do not have my menses..miraculously i had my menses naturally just a week before my 2weeks holiday trip in January 2011 (after eons and ages like finally..am so ecstatic for the fact that AF came naturally,no provera and what's not!!hokay) but now February no menses..
am seeing Dr Yu in SGH this coming Monday..i dunno why i decide to see a gynae again..i dun wanna sit down and wait for nothing to happen.. i know how sad my hubby is..(his 34yrs old)but hey am much more sad than anyone else..am 28..

on top of that am also sad that my parents who are dad67 and mom59 respectively still do not have a grandchildren to call their own..

~sad,hopeful rizzy~

Wa'alaikumsalam riz and sue...
i am so happy that a lot more muslimah ladies hav joined this thread..at least we now know that there are many muslim ladies out there who are in this journey..

As u hv read from my earlier posts, I had failed my 1st IVF too at kk..well i somehow felt it will not be successful coz i hv only 3 eggs retrieved and 2 fertilised..i dun even hv enough for storage.. Considering that I am 29 yrs old this yr and hubby is 33, we r quite disappointed. I do nt have any PCOS,my cycle is regular so therefore I was wondering why is it that my eggs r so few..
The Dr at KK did not really explain to me why my follicles are low aft injecting the puregon(a follicle stimulating injection)..what they said were just simply to modify the protocol the next time we try..my younger brother who got married 2 yrs later than me have a baby too last yr so u can imagine hw i felt at tt time..

my hubby has low sperm count too but like wat u ladies hv encounterd,i dun tink he wanna go to urut his 'thing'..i hv tried urut once and the makcik simply say my left side is a bit tight that's all thou i dunno what she meant by tt..i hv been trying to conceive(ttc) since 2006..
been on clomid,IUI,all sorts of test at kk..dr aziz clinic,raffles and at one pt i went to sgh dr yu but i felt that sgh is too far for me and i mayb tired from all the travelling so did nt continue..nw started with kkivf with dr loh s f in Dec 2010

those who got lucky for the first time round are blessed by Allah and mayb we, the ones who are nt successful, Allah may want to test our faith further..

Pls do not despair riz coz you are not alone here..i am also thinking whether i should go for a 2nd cycle or go for traditional urut and jamu..
we shall all support each other in this journey to be a mother..
so if u hv any gd 'makciks' tt can help us get pregnant or any jamu to help in our womb,do share..
btw, i will be attending a 'healthier womb for a healthier you' workshop tomorrow so if i hv any gd news to share,i will update here..

sis nadia, thx for the link! Itz very useful but my hubby tk suka spinach..nk suruh makan sayur biasa da susah..mayb i will try omega 3 or buy blackmores multi performance for men..

Hi Sue Ann & Riz...

Welcome.... Hmm each of us has our set of stories n difficulties... But one thing we must be proud of we r not giving up to complete our family... Some conceive easily n some dont... We have to be strong n have the faith with lots of patience our time will come soon..;-)

Insya-allah HE will answer our prayers soon...

Riz... Do go for the gynae appt n c wat other protocol dr can decide for u...

For any of u who is keen to seek treatments to boosts fertility for hubbie n wife... Do consider TCM.. I n hubbie did try TCM n it did shows some different...

Nvr give up wat u start... Persevere n endure all obstacle... Nvr stop till our body n mind says so... I am alreadi abve 35 n trying till I am 40...;-)

Hepi weekend to all...

Hi Sue-ann,

I'm with Dr Yu Su Ling at Care (SGH)...same as Riz...Tmrw i got the IVF counselling so hopefully, my worries will be answered.

Btw, my mum is against doing IVF at this stage so she suggested i go for homeopathy..(Bio Homeopathy Concept) in Jurong. Prob, to satisfy her, i'll also do that tmrw evening..

My case of blocked fallopian tube is against this makcik(nenek actually-aged 90), a very experienced nenek urut as she said it could do a further blockage..

Irah...

Me n hubbie went to this homeopathy clinic before... For almost a yr but no news.. Gd dr... Without touching.. He can tell wat sickness u hv.. U can give it a try...

Hmm seems nenek urut she is very experience.. Hv u gone to take HSG to determine whether its really blocked?

Nadia,

I will try it today after IVF counselling, just to satisfy my mum dat I went for an alternative treatment..

Yes, at SGH its' called TCS and i saw it myself it's blocked...

Ya, the nenek urut seems very experience but she kind of expensive...

Takpe, after today will keep u all updated

Hi babes...

Pening kepala..At SGH (& i guess, its te protocol at all hospitals), I have to do a series of blood test for me & hubby and that will cost us $1500 (pay cash, no medisave involvd)...then standby for any medication abt 2k-5k

Now me & hubby are thinking of getting a 2nd opinion by going to KK..Wat do u ladies tink? Shd i stick to SGH or go to KK?

Wat are the various bloodtests that I have to go thru? Do you think I can do it at a cheaper price at polyclinics?

Sorry to ask so much, i'm really lost now

Irah: hmm SGH has diff protocol.. Its a little more ex... Med will only kicks in from 2nd Stage of IVF...

Get the blood test result 1st then decide.. The meds can be for your hormones before u start IVF which may be good afterall...

Dun worry for now.. Wait for the blood test result

How much does nenek urut charge?

And how was ur visit to the homeopathy dr?

Nadia,

Can i do a blood test at poly? so it will be cheaper? cos they just need at least 6mth validity to go thru the IVF...

the nenek urut charges abt 100plus

Homeopathy dr..ok lah cuma i tak yakin sgt lah...maybe i pro IVF ord.

Irah: u can try in poly.. Cos to wat I know the test is not only to check on hiv.. Rubella.. Its also to check on FSH, E2 levels n etc etc... Dun know whether poly can accomodate that...u can try gg to them...

Wow 100 mahal jugak...

Well to ease ur mum... U can continue to go to him....

hi rashal,

sorry for the late reply,
doctor wants to freeze his sperm just in case it might not be enough later during the ivf process. cause his sperm count is very very very very very very low =)

Nadia: hw was ur bt? did u bfp? I am anxious abt ur news n hopefully itz gd news *wink*

Tinted: i see..guess our dh got low sperm count..but mine dun need to freeze..

I went for the talk abt womb the other day n it provided gd tips..1 such tip is hw to massage our womb using warm ginger juice everyday..another tip is eating jamu n chinese herbs tho i dunno wer to get..rustic nirvana spa is doing wimb massage too so if u wanna try,can go there coz they combine jamu n chinese herbs to become qimu..i gt the 1st trial at $48 so may go there sumwer end of e mth..hopefully it will do gd for my womb..

Hi all...

I have been a memeber of the IVF thread for a while now. I am glad to see this thread here. Just wanna share a little bit of my story. Hope it can be a positive note for all...

I have been married since Sept 2004. We have tried TTC since then. But to no avail. So in 2007, we started on IUI. 2 cycles and thousands of dollars spent and we are not even close to seeing that positive sign on a HPT. Maybe a little update about myself... I am 29 this year, hub is 34. I have been diagnosed with endometriosis and fibroids as well. So after the 2 failed IUIs, we decided to try IVF since hub was also diagnosed with low sperm counts. So off to KKH we went. Before we started on the journey, Dr sadhana told me that I needed to do laproscopy to remove my endometriosis as it was huge but the side effect is it might affect my egg counts.

After the laproscopy, we went thru the IVF cycle. We were excited at the possibility. But on both occassions I only have 6 eggs extracted and at transfer we only have 2 embryos. N sad to say on both occassions our IVF failed. My menses came before my BT date. Dr said that she cant explained for our failures. BUt she did mention that with every failed IVF, chances of us getting pregnant naturally is almost zero.

So we took a break... I was planning to go for my final cycle in June 2011 but then in January 2011... My menses was late for the first time ever since we got married... N guess what? After 7 years of sweats, tears and fights, I am currently 15 weeks pregnant...

For all just wanna say, PLEASE DO NOT GIVE UP! Do believe in the higher powers. Nothing is impossible if He has decided that it is gonna happen (Kun Fa Ya Kun). Insya Allah, dengan ketekunan dan kesabaran dan kepercayaan padaNya, we will all one day succeed. I know I have a long way more to go. Everyday is a battle for me. Every cramps and twinges brings fears to my heart but I am loving the little one every growing day. May all of us succeed to be parents one day. Insya Allah.

ros, your message make me more stronger. It make me think more positive now. Im 32 this year and been married since 2008. As age is catching up, so if possible would like to conceive as soon as possibel. Married at quite late age. Been diagnosed with small fibroids and when i did ivf last year, was told my egg quality not so good. Been trying to eat jamu and supplements and also urut, but no chances yet. My hubby also been diagnosed with low sperm count and diabetis. He scared of pills but recently forced him to drink man jamu. Hope it helps. So now we just continue praying that hopefully Allah hear our prayer to have at least one kid.

Hi Lubna....

Glad my message has given you some positive hope... Pls don't give up. Since you are trying the jamu and all perhaps you can ask anyone who is going for umrah/haj to purchase for you this special tea powder (but the taste and smell of the tea after mixed with water is really bad) specially for couples with difficulty conceiving. My parents who went to Haj last year bought it for us. I took it for one cycle after my menses in December and Alhamdulillah, I conceived. So do take heart... we are all here to support each other in the journey. :)

Ros,

Is the powder white colour? Coz my sis who also came back from haj did gave me a white powder and mix with water to drink. After that i got rashes and i stop drinking it. Can ask your parents where they buy and what is the name as i will be going umrah this year with mu hubby. Insyaalah.

As salam all...
I m juz back fr laparascopy..
It seems tt i am suffering from endometriosis
Wic dr said was quite severe and could b one if e reasons if infertility..nw dr has stopped menses for me temp till aug
And insya' Allah if everything goes well i will b starting my ivf in aug again..i wud nvr hv imagined tt i suffered fr this endo
But if this is wat it takes for me n hubby to hv a child on our own then we will go on..may all our prayers be answered, insya 'Allah

Hi Rashal..

Nice to hear from u...Oh u went for op for ur endo...Hopefully u r doing fine now...and who noes Insya-allah can conceive naturally...

Do take care....hope to hear from u soon..Insya-allah all our prayers will be answered...Amin.

Salam to all ladies. I'm really very new in this forum. Just realised there's this group for Muslimah. so glad to know this group exist! i'm currently going thru IVF at SGH CARE. very excited and scared at the same time as this is my first time. i hope to read and share more experiences here.

Hi Gum...

Nice to hear from u... Best of luck in your journey.... Eat n exercise healthily during ur process.. Stay away from stress is important too.... Tak care... N always remember to take 1 step at a time during the process too..;-)

As salam ladies,

It is nice to get this support group for IVF

My fraternal twins are the end result of my 2nd IVF

Gum - I did both cycle of IVF @ SGH under Doc Yong TT. It is normal to feel excited and scared at the same time but insya allah you will do just fine

Hi ZLM,

Nice to hear u hv twins after ur 2nd IVF...Great news as I will be gg for 2nd IVF this year Aug...;-)

Nadia - Yes, I was distraught after my 1st IVF tapi what hubby says boast up my courage to try again 7mos later ... he said "mungkin tuhan ada rancangan yg lebih baik buat kita, the babies are just not meant to be ours but insya allah we will have one soon and true enuf, we had twins for the 2nd IVF ... so dun give up yah

As salam nadia and tintedhopes,
Hw r u all doing?
I m starting my 2nd ivf n today is my first injection of menopur n puregon..been in lucrin depot since apr aft laparascopy therefore skipped e lucrin injection n pregnyl jab altogether..
I m juz gg with e flow so tt i wun b too disappointed of e aftermath..

Nonetheless,the words of encouragement fr this thread is juz awesome n give me e strength to go on..

ZJM: yup not giving up n gg strong...

Rashal: Hi nice to hear from u again... Great to hear that u hv started ur IVF... Diff protocol from ur 1st... I hvnt started mine yet... Now on hormones jab... On 3rd mth of jab then my IVF will kicks... Most likely it will be in mid aug I tink... Wish u all the best... Do come in n update us.. Wonder whether tintedhopes has started hers..;-)

Salams Ladies
I am new to this group.
How is everyone here? I am going to start my SOIUI in my next cycle. Waiting for my menses. has anyone went for that treatment before?
I am at NUH women clinic

As salam alim girl,
I hv done iui before at thomson but performed by Raffles Hospital Dr. The procedure is quite fast..it will take 5min for dr to place hubby's soldier in e fallopian tube so tt it will meet e egg..but sadly for me, the procedure failed n i gt my menses 2wks later..e dr then advised me to go for ivf straightaway n nt to wait therefore my hubby n i decided to go for kkh ivf..it cld b diff for u thou..hopefully ur soiui will b fruitful =)

Nadia,gd to hear u will b starting in Aug..insya' Allah we will preggy together n who knows hv e same EDD or dr..lets keep praying for us n e rest of e ladies here..
Btw,i heard spirulina is gd during our stint of ivf so if u r interested pm me ok..Nw at kk to check my follicle growth

Assa'alam everyone here,
I'm planning on doing my FET in Aug this year, but it's during ramadhan.
Does anyone know if it's ok to do so?
I'm not really comfortable asking anyone I know abt it.

Hi Alim & Shaz...Welcome...;-)

Shaz for ur enquiry during Ramadahn whether can or not..I am not
sure..i know there are some who did ER & ET during Ramadhan...I tink u
better ask Ustazah whom u r comfortable with it..cos ET got to do some
insertion rite...So not sure whether that's k with the
fasting...unless u dun fast and pay back later...

Rashal: best of luck for ur scan...Hope all ur eggs r growing
well..update us k...