SingaporeMotherhood | Family Fun

August 2019

National Day 2019 Events: Family-friendly Celebrations beyond the Padang

It’s that time of year again. No, not Christmas, silly. It’s Singapore’s 54th birthday! And since we’re also marking our Bicentennial, you know that it’s gonna be a super big bash. So if you haven’t already, it’s time to go shopping and get all decked out in red-and-white as a family. Then head to the most happening National Day 2019 events where you can participate in all manner of fun themed activities. We tell you where it all happens, outside of the Padang.

(See also: The Ultimate Guide to National Day 2019 Fireworks, Feasts and Family Fun!)

Participate in National Day 2019 Events

1. Celebrate National Day at Changi Airport

National-Day-2019-Changi-Airport

No tickets to the big event at the Padang? Now you can admire an impressive 5m tall by 6m wide replica of it at Changi Airport’s Terminal 3! More photo ops include various horticultural displays, such as a beautiful archway featuring the Vanda Miss Joaquim. While these will be on display till 31 August, you can also catch a live screening of NDP 2019 at the ST3PS on Basement 2. More live family entertainment on 9 August includes balloon sculpting, magic and music performances and movie screenings.

(See also: Crowne Plaza Changi Airport — Stay, Shop, Play! Package is Staycation Perfection (Review))

2. Sports Hub National Day Fiesta 2019

National-Day-2019-Sports-Hub

Head to OCBC Square on 9 August for an active Singapore-themed family day out. Participate in the nostalgic OHANA Games as a family, then sweat it out with Sports Hub Workout Lah! There’ll also be an inflatable playground, carnival games, face painting and more fun activities all day long. The Sports Hub National Day Fiesta culminates in the first-ever dual screen NDP 2019 live telecast and family picnic. Collect your free picnic mats and goodie bag, while stocks last!

3. I AM CITIZEN at The Former St Andrew’s Mission Hospital

National-Day-2019-I-AM-CITIZEN

The Local People and the Singapore Land Authority present I AM CITIZEN, an alternative cultural celebration of National Day. To be held at the State Property next to Maxwell Food Centre on 9 August, the historic Former St Andrew’s Mission Hospital will host art installations, a live interactive show, an art market and craft workshops. Its rooftop will also be live-streaming NDP 2019, complete with a view of the fireworks!

4. KidZania Go! to Our Tampines Hub

National-Day-2019-KidZania

Join KidZania Go! for fun-filled National Day celebrations at Our Tampines Hub from 8 to 12 August. Highlights at the popular roadshow include exclusive promotions and exciting stage performances, with prizes to be won. Kids can also look forward to the experiential role-play activities KidZania is known for – for free! For more KidZania fun, head to KidZania Singapore and commemorate Singapore’s 54th birthday through fun sporting and craft activities.

(See also: 23 Annual Family Passes Worth Buying – Save Money and Cure “What to Do This Weekend” Headaches at the Same Time)

5. Follow NDP 2019 to the Heartlands

National Day 2019 Mobile Column route
Image: National Day Parade 2019 Executive Committee

NDP 2019 doesn’t end on 9 August. The impressive mobile column will be travelling to Bishan, Geylang Serai, Jurong East, Punggol and Woodlands the next day. There will also be celebratory carnivals at the five heartland sites, culminating in dazzling fireworks displays you won’t wanna miss.

6. “Our SingaPop” Edition at Gardens by the Bay

Garden Rhapsody National Day

Local pop legend Dick Lee lends his creative touch to this year’s Orchid Extravaganza – “Our SingaPop” Edition floral display. Then Live! Performance: Legends of Singapore brings two fables to life with live music, actors and puppets. Home-grown artistes including Kit Chan and Dick Lee also perform at the Gardens by the Bay and Mediacorp National Day Concert on 10 and 11 August. And don’t miss the Bicentennial Garden Rhapsody: Songs of Singapore nightly at the Supertree Grove.

7. National Gallery Singapore Celebrates National Day

National-Day-2019-National-Gallery-Singapore

As a venue partner to NDP 2019 at the Padang, National Gallery Singapore is closed from 8 to 10 August. Its programmes will be going to the heartlands instead! These include kids’ storytelling sessions at the Central and Yishun public libraries, and family art workshops at the Central and Serangoon public libraries. Also, excepting those dates, visitors to National Gallery Singapore enjoy free admission to all exhibitions till 12 August, as well as 50% off ticket prices from 13 to 31 August.

(See also: Gallery Children’s Biennale 2019: Play by a river, explore a kampung, go underwater, and more!)

8. National Day Open House at the National Museum of Singapore

National Museum of Singapore

Don your reds-and-whites and head to the National Museum on 9 and 10 August for fun activities featuring Singapore’s icons. Friendly Museum Hosts will also be on hand to direct you to various exciting performances, movie screenings and art installations. You can also enjoy a live telecast of NDP 2019 under the iconic banyan tree. Bring your picnic mats and food, or purchase from the on-site food trucks.

9. Heritage Hurray! at Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall

National-Day-2019-Heritage-Hurray

Get ready for a slew of free cultural programmes from 9 to 10 August at Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall. To mark National Day 2019, Heritage Hurray! will include a community art market, Balestier heritage trails, and storytelling sessions by local authors. You can also get hands-on a series of thematic craft workshops. Participants even stand to receive a National Day Fun Pack!

10. A Journey to Remember at ION Art

National-Day-2019-ION-Art

This August, ION Art gallery showcases two exhibitions in tribute to Singapore’s rich history via varying art techniques and interpretations. Singapore Bicentennial 2019 Exhibition (2 to 13 August) encapsulates the essence of Singapore’s identity through calligraphies, acrylics, mixed media and more. SG54 Art Exhibitions is a two-parter featuring Khaw Sia’s Orchid Garden (16 to 21 August) and My Story with Singapore (22 to 25 August).

(See also: National Day 2018: Best Fireworks Views + Fun Family Activities)

Shop till You Drop, Singaporean-style

11. 54 Fab Deals at City Square Mall

National-Day-2019-City-Square-Mall

Celebrate with 54 fabulous deals to shop, dine and relax at City Square Mall from now till 18 August. Enjoy promotions at $5.40, $54 or discounts of 54% and more across a wide range of shops, restaurants and services. Redeem a $5 City Square Mall voucher with $150 spent ($200 if inclusive of NTUC FairPrice receipts). Charge your spending fully to Citibank credit cards to receive an additional $10 voucher.

12. Commemorate Singapore’s Bicentennial at COMO Dempsey

National-Day-2019-COMO-Dempsey

Take a trip down memory lane with made traditional Eurasian bakes such as Pang Susi at Culina at COMO Dempsey. You’ll also find a range of artisanal made-in-Singapore products to help you elevate your home cooking. Over at Kids21, try silk screen printing National Day-themed t-shirts with EYEYAH! – you and your kids can create matching tees. Complete the day with a Straits-Chinese family banquet at Candlenut, the world’s first Michelin-star Peranakan restaurant.

13. Jalan Jalan with Disney’s Mickey Mouse & Friends at the Malls of Frasers Property

National-Day-2019-Frasers-Malls

Over five magical weekends from 6 August to 8 September, join Disney’s Mickey Mouse & Friends as they explore our Little Red Dot. Meet them at Anchorpoint, Bedok Point, Causeway Point, Changi City Point, Northpoint City, The Centrepoint, Waterway Point and YewTee Point. Hop into a Mickey-inspired trishaw, stroll through a garden with Donald and Daisy, and ride a cable car with Minnie. You also stand to snag a unique Mickey Go Singapore pouch!

14. Go Local with Millenia Walk

Millenia Walk Loves Local

A market fair featuring homegrown brands sprouts up at Millenia Walk’s The Great Hall from 15 July to 18 August. Look forward to a curation of local delights from food and fashion to craft and even ‘live’ performances. The mall is also partnering with Food Bank Singapore to spark joy for the underprivileged. Do your part by dropping off non-perishable food items.

(See also: The Bicentennial Experience – A 700-year Journey that Families Must See!)

15. The Local Edit from Collins Debden

Collins & Debden SIA notebook

Looking for a classy gift or practical souvenir that speaks of Singapore? Collins Debden, the maker of quality stationery, has curated a series of elegant notebooks perfect for such an occasion. Be impressed with the Legacy notebook in a fiery red, or the Metropolitan Singapore notebook in yellow, navy and mink. Available online and at selected Kinokuniya, NBC and Times outlets. Or go for the elegant limited-edition SIA Batik Journal By Collins, exclusively available on SQ flights and at KrisShop.

16. Paint the Town Red and White with DEAN & DELUCA Singapore

Dean & Deluca merlion tote

Gourmet food retailer and deli DEAN & DELUCA has launched a stylish Merlion-inspired tote bag we all want. With a tessellation of our mythical icon’s scales in red and white, the bag will match your #OOTD to perfection! Get it at the DEAN & DELUCA e-shop or Far East Square and HillV2 outlets.

17. Shop Museum Label in the Name of Patriotism

Museum Label

It’s time to get out our red t-shirts and sing along to our favourite National Day tunes. Museum Label has a selection of uniquely Singaporean merchandise that celebrates our quirks and favourite Singaporean things. We love the Nasi Lemak keychain, National Day tote bag and Superstition dice!

18. UTme! #UTWearYourSingapore at UNIQLO

Uniqlo #UTWearYourSingapore

Express your love for Singapore this August with UNIQLO with the UTme! #UTWearYourSingapore collection. Using tablets in-store, you will be able to paint, write and add themed stickers to create one-of-a-kind t-shirts. Also, to celebrate UNIQLO’s 10th year of calling Singapore home, it is partnering with local artists such as Ewejin Tee. Bring back the kampung spirit by dressing the whole family in the #UTWearYourHood series this National Day!

Of course, no Singaporean should celebrate National Day without a feast or two, complete with fireworks to boot. Head over to our Ultimate Guide to National Day 2019 Fireworks and Family Feasts for all those and more. Have a wonderful National Day long weekend, everyone!

All content from this article, including images, cannot be reproduced without credits or written permission from SingaporeMotherhood.

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Telegram for the latest article and promotion updates.

National Day 2019 at National Museum Singapore

National Day 2019 Events: Family-friendly Celebrations beyond the Padang