Endometriosis

Hi Yvonne
you mean can see the endo deposits on scan?

When I went for my check up, my gynae said there is no new cyst but my ovaries still seems polycystic to me.

I don't want the jabs because of the side effects. Even taking the birth control pill already make me feel depress. don't know how I can cope with the side effect of the jab. especially with the mood swings.

Now I just let my menses come, just use protection everyday & try to cope with the bleeding & cramps.

That's why I feel so confuse. Don't know if i should try taking evening primrose oil pills or not. some say can, some say cannot.

Also since returning to work after my op, i seem to be getting sick with the flu/cold every other week.

hey anggie,

u shld take some chinese herbs and tonic to "bu" ur qi after the surgery.
Post op, i was very weak too and lost a lot of weight, but my mum brew alot of those chinese herbal, tonic soups and they help to heal the internal wound and makes u feel better.
If unsure what to take, maybe u like to go to a TMC doc for advise.

Hi Ishlynn
I don't really like the taste of chinese herbs.

I actually lost abit of weight during my stay at the hospital. Was so happy. but after I got home, i started to put on weight again. so sad.

Heard some chinese herbs can help with menses problem but will also cause endo. so confusing. What tpye of chinese herbs & tonic soup did you take? btw when did you had your op? was yours serious?

Hi Yvonne07,

I have my apprehension about taking jabs to stop mense if i were to take ivf route in sep. Now i feel that it is really another sacrifice to stop mense and pain to have another sets of problem. Can i check how do u manage those days of jabs.

Hi Anggie,

I suggest that u go to a trained tcm practioner specialise in gynae cases for proper treatment on endo prob. If self-medicate, it may cause recurrence or worsen the endo condition. I was a victim of self medication before i went for laparoscopy. Then after my op i went to a proper tcm lady to treat me now. It does help to bu your body and womb properly.

er..sorry...what is EPO?

Hi Yuki,

I went to Eu Yang San at their headquarters, South Bridge Road. My doctor is a lady from China, Dr He Qiuling who has treated ladies in gynae areas.

I have been with her since may 2007 and seen some improvement in my mense cramp. My PMS is better controlled and i have better skin with laterally no breakout. Usually i will have breakouts often around my chin, mouth area and i have big mood swings 2 weeks before mense. Now my moods are controlled, i feel at peace and happier and did not burst out as often as i did before i seen any tcm doctor.

I am seeing her to bu my womb and to try conceiving naturally. If the natural conception is not possible, i shall try ivf. She told me that i need at least 3 to 6 months before i see improvement in my mense with medication and healthy diet. So i am testing diff foods at diff periods to see how sensitive i am to food and pain.

Hi Simp

Thanks. I'm seeing her too... It was by chance, I didn't noe that she's specialised in gynae areas. I'm seeing her after my hormone treatment... and I think it helps with my hot flashes... I just hope that eventually, my cyst will not grow any bigger or better still disappear...
Otherwise, it will be my 3rd op...

Hi Yuki,

That's good, u r in safe hands.

I didnt know one can go for repeated operation for cysts. Is yours laparoscopy or open surgery? My gynae told me that i wont be going for another laparoscopy now that my endo is diagnosed to be severe, if i do, it will be an open surgery to remove my womb.

Hi Simp

I had 1 lap... the 2nd time, was supposed to be lap also but when the gynae realised that the condition was bad, she decide to do an open surgery for me... only need to remove 1 ovary.. not the whole womb leh..

Hi Anggie,

My gynae says te shadow on the scan will tell whether whether there are traces of endo.

When I return to work after the op, my body resistance weakens. I had gastric flu follow by backache then bouts of high fever every few weeks. It does affect my work. It takes some time for you to recover from the op. Try taking shen yu jing and bird nest.

The jab has got lots of side effects. I can't cope with it too. I have very bad mood swing and signs of depression. Experience bad hot flushes and almost fainted a few times. When I feel hot, I start to feel giddy.
It's frustrating because when I feel hot, I on the fun and air-con. Few mins later, I feel very cold and shiver. Hate that feeling. The hot flushes lead to insomnia. Have not got proper sleep for the last 2 weeks.

To cope with the effects, you need support from your family and friends. Those people around you must be very patient.

Hi Yvonne
oic. my doc never mention anything about seeing shadow on the scan. he was focusing on the ovaries for cysts. even before i had the op, he did not say anything about any shadow. only saw a cyst on my ovary.

Still having cramps, although my bleeding have stop for quite a few days now. also been feeling hot. don't know if it is just the weather or is it hot flushes.

after taking the Yasmin pill for about 8 days & becoming depress, my doc say to stop taking. understand that Yasmin contain 2 hormones, i wonder if it's possible to take these 2 hormone pills seperately. I find that doc always give birth control pills (combine estrogen & progesterone) or just progesterone pills. They don't give estrogen pills & progesterone pills (seperately). I think I prefer if they give both pills. sounds stupid rite?

I feel like i have so many questions (most of which seems like stupid/crazy questions) that are impossible to answer (even by doctors).

few years back after having a polyp remove, my gynae gave me estrogen pills. after taking it for some time, my menses seems better for a while. strange.

Hi Anggie,

Don't be afraid to ask question even if they are stupid questions. I asked my gynae lots of questons too. Basically I want answers to my questions. At times, their answers confuse me too.

Some times, I read articles and books to find out more info and also gather a list of questons to obtain clarifications with my gynae.

Although I'm afraid to know more but I think I need to do that so as to answer my doubts.

Hi Simp,

When I have hot flushes, I read lots of water and on the fan. I try not to go to crowded places. When I feel hot, I will put some medicated oil as I will always feel giddy. I tried to control my emotions because I have bad mood swings. I become very temperamental. I also experience bad headaches. There are lots of other side effects but subject to individual's condition.
In order to manage with these effects, you also need strong family support.

Hi yvonne
yes i too feel very confuse with all the info & answers i'm getting. sometimes i also feel that my questions are not answered or there are no definite answers. most of the questions I have I'm not sure how to ask the doctor (don't know how to phase it).

Hi Yvonne,

Seems like jab is not easy to cope on top of managing endo pain. I suspected jab will have the side effects u mentioned as i took birth control pills for abt 5 months. They made me easily depressed, low mood, knee pain, headache etc.

It's so tough being a woman!

Hi Yvonne

I had the same response as u... at first was perspiring in hot flushes... after switching on both fan and air-con... suddenly felt cold... and had insomnia for 3 months now... my eye bags and dark circles are really bad...
but no choice... at least, i hear good news that the cyst has diminished in size... hopefully, it will disappear...

hi yvonne
did your doc really say taking evening primrose oil pills and dang gui will cause endo recurrence?? i thought these herbs helps to regulate menses & the symptoms?

hi yuki
thanks. i tot these herbs are useful for regulating menses. also these bak foong pills, was under the impression it help with menses problems. didn't know they cause endo... so confuse...

Hi Yuki,
The doctor gave me some piils to counter-effect the side effects. I have not been sleeping well for the last few weeks. I took the pills for the last 2 days and I feel better. For the last 2 weeks, when I perspire in hot flushes, I started to feel giddy. Feel so lousy.

Hi Anggie,
Yuki is right. I also took a lot of dang gui thinking it's good. Apparently, we are wrong.

hi yvonne
thanks. i actually check with those herb shops & dang gui is usually taken with other herbs as well, not taken alone. all to 'bu' blood & brain. i seem to have hot flushes too. actually not very sure if it is hot flushes or just the weather. I just feel so warm.

Hi Yvonne,
I also suffer hot flashes after the jab. Was on 4 montly jab and last one was end Jun. There is a pill that the doc give me to counter the effect. But i still feel it and somemore end up with intense headache and frozen shoulder. Then gp say blood pressure also went up.....i going back to gp next week to check if blood pressure gone down or not.

I was also advise by doc not to eat dang gui, EPO, bai feng wan, yomeishu and DOM. Cos all got female hormone which will trigger endo. If you have read the ebook on endo, which i think some of you had, food that have high hormone content shd also be avoided.

Hi Rest Relax,

The pill that you have could be the same as mine. I do not have the same responses. I try not to take it if I can as I'm not too sure what are the side effects of taking this pill.

Please send the ebook to [email protected]

i'm also suffering from endo. Im confuse with the hot flush u all were saying was after the hormone pills or before also? Cos I oftn feel hot too. i gonna for keyhole surgery in two weeks time.

did doc advice anyone of u about hw long then can try bb? I read from some said 6 mth but my do say after a mth can try already. did anyone have experience diff in conceiving? i thought my mense was qt regular not extremely pain but my cyst was 8cm wn discovered... i had a miscarriage then found out... sob sob... it came as a double shock & heartpain. i had wanted my bb badly. the day i found out i was pregnant i lose my bb.. i heard from doc, endo patient higher chance to miscarriage. did anyone of u heard this also? i really like to hav bb but now like very scary.. i really dun wanna go thru this again. does recurrence happen to everyone?

the hormone pills u all were saying was to prevent it from growing again right? does it reduce chance of pregnancy? i read alot report says that endo reduce fertile. Is that becos at least an ovary is block or the nature of endo makes it so? now on top of worrying it will come back, worry infertility, worry ectopic pregnancy.. worry it burst inside.. worry for my ovary.. oh god it's really nt quite life threatening but really a big torture! nw that i read so much it's like a long term disease nt as simple as just remove... and i really find it pain to tell my hubby to read up all this fact. he's very busy.. but i keep feeling very tired, backpain. and afraid. to other people it's like i didnt slp well or too sensitive. do u all have very bad backache? Cant keep complaining they dun understand..

so how often do we have to go back for review?
relax relax can u share w me where to get the ebook too?
my colleague's sis have it too and her ovary was damage as well.. dun understand is it not pain or the person endured the pain? i had my last scan 4 wks ago still gotta wait another two weeks i so worry if the few weeks wait will do any damage. sigh.. i'm really depressed. dunno who i can confide. and then does it means we have much higher chance of ovary cancer as well? Im quite scare

Hi Yvonne,
I just email the ebook. sorri for being late, i forgot about it.

Endoseekhelp, creatjoy - can give me your email so i can email the book to you. pls.

creatjoy
i understand how you feel. When i first heard i got endo, i was full of fear and confusion. But no choice, have to accept the condition and do our best. The hot flashes results from the hormone jabs (GnRH). i think the endo treatment was to prevent endo growth and not to reduce chance of pregnancy. In fact, i had a block right tube discovered during key hole but after the hormone treatment, it turn out that the tube was cleared.

Also, i have bad ache for 2-3 years and i do not know why. Till i had my lap, the doc removed some blood clots (result from endo) near the nerve endings. From then on, my backache was cured entirely. Look on the bright side and talk and trust your doc. it's something that we cannot control.

And we are all here to support each other.

Hi relax relax, i just PM U. Thks!

hi gals pls advise so r we suppose to tk jab or hormone pill or both? is it expensive?

hi gals i'm seeing my doc at nuh. can u all advise whether it is necessary to see a reg doc? cos by taking a reg doc means no subsidize... very ex right...? hw much u all spend per mth aft lapro? i'm thinking whether i shd switch from b2 to b1 in order to stick to 1 doc... i didnt know it is so serious till now... so scary...

hi ronniemini, i think if you look at the archive of this thread there are some who give birth successfully after lap. I'm also interested to know any one with endo, miscg more than once...?

Hi ronniemini,

I just conceived last month after my lap in mar 07. I still have existing adenomya (5cm growth) in my uterus currently. There is possibility to conceive if one has endo.

Maybe it is good to tiao your body with tcm? What did your gynae suggest abt your ttc?

sorry gals, what is ttc? so do u all choose to fix see a doctor with no subsidy? is it necessary to see a fix doc...? how much on avg u all pay per mth for medi n see doc?

Hi Simp, congrats!

i have my lap in jan tis yr, then followed by the 3mths jabs. now trying to conceive...did u conceive thru the natural way or?thanks.

btw, gynae said that my endo quite severe, that's y went on the 3mths jab.

Hi ronniemini,

I conceived naturally and yes like u i am a severe endo case. If i did not succeed by this month, i would need to take ivf and it requires me to take jab between 3 and 6 months.

Hi createjoy, ttc is trying to conceive. normally for cases like ours, we go to specialist so there is really no subsidy unless u mean go to kkh for operation and opt for bed b1 class. The bill size really depends on the doc u r seeing.

Hi Simp,

Congrats again!this is indeed an encouragement for me!hope that i would be lucky to see bfp this mth!
btw,y is it that if u will to take ivf,u need to jab bet 3 to 6 mths?

Hi Simp,

Thanks for replying. congrats too! so becos u ttc last time so haven take jab or hormone pill is it? hw abt ronniemini? r u tking any jab or medi? u got any subsidy? how much avg a mth. i going lap next next wk still haven decide whether i wan opt for b1 (no subsidy, nw i am tentatively taking b2 with subsidy no fix doc aft lap) follow a fix doc. he's a registar, charge same as senior consultant. i worry future follow up n medi be v ex.

Simp did doc tell u how serious u r or u ask or u think u r severe? my doc didnt tell me... but i think i'm v severe if not i wouldnt have lose my bb & beside 1 blood cyst still have a 8cm blood compartment behind. have very bad backache few two week. really very worried if it will hurt other part while waiting for my lap. too bad my doc only give me pain killer didnt bring forward the lap.

what make me worry most was this compartment.. don't know if it is what u all call polycystic. i worry if i dont fix doc, not in goods hands. every appointment change a doc who are gynae but not expert in endo n fail to deliver the kind of advice that a specialist can give. i don't earn much, really very concern if the future medi will cost a bomb without subsidy. Simp how come u have a timing to conceive by this mth?i tot u u lap in mar. sorry for being blunt becos of the adenomya? hw soon did u have that aft ur lap? that means it is best that after lap we must get preg within 3 - 6 mth??

sorry i'm really very new to endo. so after giving birth our endo will get better is it for most cases? can anyone share with me, how much we have to cough out avg a mth? is there any encouraging case that anyone do not suffer any relapse after giving birth?

Btw Simp, did ur sinseh from Eu Yan Sang giv any advice on what chinese herb we can't eat? the archive thread mention dang gui & bai foong pill. hw about dong cong cao? i heard it help if tcc.

Hi createjoy,

after my lap,i was put on the 3mths jab to stop my menses from coming.each jab costs abt 500, including medication(a pill a day).actually u can check online on endo.it will tells u more abt endo.
now,i'm not taking any medication.

Dear ronniemini,

The ivf specialist referred by my kkh gynae told me that if i were to start ivf, it would be better if i take jab to curb the growth/size of adenomya so that i have higher chance of pregnancy when i go thr the ivf procedure. I am glad that things went smoothly so far and hope this would encourage other sufferers that we have chance.

Dear createjoy,
Ya, i have not taken any hormone jab yets. I think b1 class has little subsidy but u have a fixed doc which i think it's impt. You can use medisave and medishield/ to cover much of your expense inhouse. Do your employer has hospital and surgical insurance for u? The company insurance will help a lot as well. Or do u have your personal hospital plan? All these will help to lighten your medical expenses greatly. I remembered my medisave and healthshield from aia under cpf helped. My company and personal insurance also helped. In the end, i only ended up bearing abt $500 to $800 in cash. But prior to admission, u need to settle by cash then reimburse by the above modes within 3 months. The est cost was abt $6k, think the act cost was less than $5k.Compared to pte hospital, charge is abt $8k to $10k. Post hopital consulation may be exp but the prescription is not exp unless it's jab. Gynae will prob see u one time after lap and schedule the next visit in 1 year' time. My 2nd visit after my op will be next year march. I spent avg less than $200 on consultaion and painkiller. This is only for endo, for fertitilty visit, then it's a diff gynae for me.

I suspected my endo to be bad but i never expected it to be so bad after the lap when my gynae told me. Prior to lap, my tubes r fine, after lap, gynae told me my rt tube is blocked and distorted even though they cleared it. I have many endo deposits with many adhesions and they cannot take out adenomya, but they also discovered a cyst and removed that in womb. So i was broken emotionally after learning the state of my condition. Gynae can only make estimation on your condition based on your information of endo but they can only tell u your condition after lap when they do investigation and clearing during the op.

My gynae told me that it is very slim to conceive on my case so he immediately referred me to kkh ivf expert. The ivf expert was present during my lap with my gynae to ascertain if i needed fertility assistance. He told me that after lap, our womb is cleaner meaning they clear the deposits and growths from the body so one can have higher chance of conception within the 6 months after op. That's why when i saw my ivf doc, i told him that i want to rest and recuperature and try naturally for 6 months before i start the ivf. Hence after lap, i went to tcm doc to help improve the womb condition and eat healthily. Think the body improved slowly with good care but i still have mense cramp for 3 days, migraine and nausea feeling even after lap. I took abt 2 months to rest my body and ttc on my 3rd and 4th month. Managed to conceive on my fourth month in august this year. I am thankful that i dont have to go thr ivf. It is not easy to take this route.

I am also hoping in faith that my endo pain will go away when i deliver my bb if not reduced the level of pain monthly.

Hope u have a better understanding on coping the disease. On lighter note, i feel we are more in tune with my body and pain than other ladies so in a sense we are made to be stronger each time we fight the disease.

Hi Ronniemini & Simp,

Thanks for sharing so much with me! I was pondering whether to take the fixed doc becos i worry for the medi cost after discharge.. hmm i think ya probably i should take the fix doc hopefully he can give better advice. $200 a mth if no jab.. i think should be affordable...

If i wanna conceive asap must i still take jab? wow the jab so ex!! so we have to take jab after give birth.. except wn we ttc n till we menopause.. urrgghh... i'm so worry. my last apptm show my cyst grown 0.75cm.. now 6.75cm n some blood deposit beside the womb 8cm..

Simp u like that say mean i might be diagnose worse off after lap.. oh no!! i was too optimistic.. my case seems worse off. i shouldn't have wait for the 7th mth to be over then do lap.. sigh now i feeling more pain than before.. very worried what else might be hurt..

actually i dun feel very painful mense leh so..i was still very unconvince that this is happening... sigh.. thanks so much gals... feel better after communicating with you gals.. my hubby just don't understand..

Dear createjoy,

My kkh gynae didnt tell me to take jab after my lap but he did tell me to try very hard for family planning for the next few years. Other than that i just have to bear with the mense cramp and other symptons or take painkiller. Instead i try tcm to cope with the pain. Can be quite an effort using tcm and diet. Tcm takes a longer time to tiao the body like 3 to 6 months but i do see results month by month in my body. Hopefully when we give birth, endo problem can reside or remain dormant.

Jab may not be the only alternative. It is good to hear another opinion from gynae.

It is tough for hubby to really understand the plight we r going through. Some girls dun understand as well. Only those who have this disease can support one another.

In the meantime, prepare yourself mentally and rest well once u go for the lap. It will take abt 2 months for your body to be ok through rest, healthy meal and proper tiao.

Oh yes, please do not take bak foong wan, dang gui, red liver, red dates and wolfberry as all these bu xue, only gd for ladies with no condition. For us it is a no no, it will worsen the condition or grow the fibroid or adenomya. If you r in doubt always check with tcm doctor. Codycepys and lingzhi are good to tiao at diff times of the month. Thin codycepys is ok after mense. However if u r trying for baby maybe lingzhi dun take unless u know when to take as it is huo xue. Always buy the type for boiling or brewing type as they r better for absorption. Dun buy the pill type, not as effective.

If u r keen, i can email the endo recipe book for you to read and be aware so that after your lap, u can take proper food good for your condition.