Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

our BB's health
had read alot about bb falling sick in this thread. do mummies feel that breastfed bb are healthier? or it still boil down to the genes of the bb themselves?

active lifestyle and weight control
do envy mummies with active lifestyles. i am pretty active myself. but somehow feel that active lifestyle can only control weight. if need to lose those 'bye bye' arms, little extra flesh bulging everywhere- more drastic moves are needed. e body needs to be 'shocked' into losing weight.

precious gem, i used to live in woodlands before moving to AMK. salute to u for the courage to have 3 kids despite age. i am still contemplating on whether to have the 2nd one. i am 33 this yr and DH is 37. both of us think that we a little too old to have one more kid.
everytime we look at our DS, we will start to think- how nice it would be if he has a brother or sister to play with.

precious_gem,
Oh dear it must be so tiring for you, hope your kids are well now.

Ref: nurofen
What is the side effect of nurofen ? Like hippo2002, I have been told by a few PDs that it is OK to feed once the fever is over 38.5 degrees, just not more than 3 times a day. Don't need to try panadol a few times first leh. I don't see any side effects on my kids.

Ref: Travel
Wow you are so much more adventurous than me. My girl is almost 4 years old and this is the first time I brought her to stay at a beach resort overseas.

Ref: Maths
Do you know when does the school start teaching addition and subtraction ? Is it in K1 ?

Ref: BB health
My colleague's son was exclusively breastfed, but he falls sick very frequently, much more than my kids who grew up on formula milk. Personally I feel that it is 90% genes, 10% milk. Breastmilk doesn't really make a big difference, especially if the baby's immunity is weak in the first place.

tamarind

I think simple add and minus in K1 but more so on moulding the concepts...Once they get the visual concept right, they will be able to get a long way....

Any recommendation for a fun Maths programme for 3 years old?

my girl doesn't seem interested in counting. Hope to entice her in Maths

Thanks in advance :eek:)

Tamarind

saw my girl's PAP K1 Maths workbook
end of term 2 they start teaching additions & subtraction

woofwoof

no lah, never too old

my mom gave birth to my youngest brother when she was 38 years old. I'm 11 years older than my youngest brother. Super cute baby brother

my auntie got married at 40 years old and gave birth to a healthy baby boy at 44 years old

precious gem

my hubby also very lazy. Ask him to go gym (his company provide free gym membership) but he never even go once. Unfortunately not transferable to spouse, I will definitely utilise that fringe benefit

the only consolation is he is almost 30kg heavier than me, so can't complain I'm fat. He's always assuring me I'm not fat. Of course lah, compare to him :eek:)

But he is very keen to take up in-line skating. I'm scared of falling leh. hmm...ask my elder girl to accompany him, maybe can prompt him to exercise. wow, my elder girl super busy

Hi girls... wah, this thread so active!

Went for a spa session, heaven!!!!

hippo, my cousin too got married at 40, and gave birht to a healthy baby boy at 44!

Re: breastmilk vs formula - breastmilk is supposedly higher in antibodies that help prevent children from getting sick, thus the thrust of most milk companies to try to mimic the composition of breast milk. They now add GOS, ARA/SA (brain/eye development) and DHA. I work in nutrition so i kinda have an inside track on these things... breastmilk is still best, but as tamarind says, a lot has to do with the nutrition of the mum also.

predicament of a WOHM on BF
thks patsy for the reassurance that BM is still the best. it had been 4mths since i return to work. i am still expressing BM for DS... about twice during office hrs. most offices are not friendly to BF mummies. it is really a hassle to continue BFding. Back home- BF is taking up a lot of my time as i latch DS on. i am mentally and physically exhausted. DH keeps asking me to stop. but i dun have the heart to... want to give DS the best nutrition. really in a dilemma...

giving birth beyond 40yr old
i really cannot imagine. 38yr old is the oldest i would get. i cannot imagine the financial stress and physical strenght needed to care for a child at that age.

Breastmilk
FYI, I'm still breastfeeding my 1 yr old boy and I breastfed my 4.5y/o daughter til she was 27mths! I noticed that my daughter did not fall sick for the first year and very rarely until she go to childcare when she was 36mths old. I had to pull her out after six months cuz my parents and hubby were concern abt her health. When she returned to caregiver, she stop falling sick!

Though I'm still breastfeeding my 1 yr old son, I don't understand why he falls sick quite frequently. In fact I voiced my concern to the PD but she told me that there's really no guarrantee. She did remind me to watch what I eat, make sure the food I take is of high nutritional value. Btw, since birth, my son seems a little "fragile" compare to his elder sister though he was born heavier than her, @3.5kg. He was also born with a hole in the heart and his condition is being monitored every 6 mths by the cardiac unit @KKH. My mom thinks perhaps due to his heart condition that he is prone to fall sick.

Maths
Yeah they do start teaching addition & subtraction at K1. The main thing is focus on the language cuz this will help them understand the concept better & help them to solve problem sums. For eg. words like; more, less, altogether, how many left, how many more, the difference. And u can introduce addition & subtraction using this language base approach thru play, or chores eg. when u r playing legos, blocks, doing beading, or doing dishes & counting chopsticks or doing laundry counting socks or also when u want to give them something like sweets, nuts, raisins etc. Ur kids won't feel so stress cuz they r not aware that they r having math lessons. Sharing equally, put them in groups or sets etc are terms associated with division or multiplication. It's a good introduction.

Patsy,
Wow I love spa. I still have abt $700 worth of spa services with Body Wellness. I didn't have much time to go to spa since baby was born and with breastfeeding, there's a few treatments that I can't do esp ginseng steam bath & most other steam bath. They told me that it might affect the quality of my breastmilk.

I do manage to get massages every 3-4 mths though I still yet to find a massage therapist to my liking. I used to have this old lady from Bedok that give great massages & do house calls but that was several years ago & I lost touch with her. Btw, I do consider myself a good massage therapist
kao_embarrassed.gif
though I'm only doing it freelance, usually to my family members & friends. I have a portable masage table/bed & sauna.

precious gem
Kudos to you! Three kids, and you can do sooooo much! You are one really dedicated mum. Your kids are really lucky to have you. Your hubby too!
about this tonsilitis, is it something contagious? How does one know if they have it? Did you have yours removed? I hope your kids are better now. Nothing more stressful than having sick bb at home. Worse, 3 sick kids!

Having Kids
woofwoof, I had my boy, #2, when I was 40! Old enuf for you? Aiyah, wait so long never come, once come so happy, where got think so much? But was initially worried about the pregnancy, because had 2 miscarriages b4 that. Some more so old, gynae more careful. Even hubby more caring. My first pregnancy, I go gynae alone. My second, he goes with me on every visit! Even my gynae surprised. Or maybe bec bb was boy?!

Maths
children can only pick up maths concepts when they are ready. Just because a child can add numbers when he was only 3, does not mean all kids can. But sooner or later, all of them will.

Have you ever wondered why formal schooling around the world starts when the child is about 7 years old?
Educational psychologists' study noted that by this age, the child would have developed quite well, mentally, and would be able to take in abstract concepts, like those in Maths. So, your child may not add very well at age 5, or even 6. Don't worry, they will at 7.

Singapore pre-schools are very stressful. They try to teach so much, even though the child may not be ready. Then the parents so stressed, think their child not clever. Actually, what your child is learning at K1 and K2, will be taught again in P1.
Term 1 and 2 maths in P1 is basically counting up to 10, and 20, and simple addition and subtraction up to 10 and 20.

Don't fret if your child can't do all this yet. And don't let the teacher put you down, making it sound as if your child so stupid! and don't stress your child, or force them to do it, if they can't. They really can't. If you force them, they will begin to hate the subject, then you'll have bigger problems later on!

My girl couldn't count beyond 20 when she was in K1, and the teacher made it seem as if she's the only kid who couldn't in class! I just told my girl, 'forget it, we count another day'. I told the teacher my child isn't ready. A few months later, she could count all the way to 100! Then she became the "smartest" in her class!

Have to be very careful when teaching Maths. You can kill the subject for your child if you put too much pressure. make if fun and enjoyable, and if they are not ready, try again another day.

precious gem
my facial package is with bodywellness too! yours are for massages? which branch did you go? mine at Winsland house. love their facial ! Agreed hard to find your personally favourite, I'm glad I found my preferred beautician.

thanks mommies for the advice!
maybe I too 'kan cheong' when I don't see my girl responding to Maths

preciousgem: my daughter also has a congenital heart problem, sever TOF, she's actually due for valve replacement surgery on the 10th of April! Kids with holes in the heart tend to be more susceptible to fall sick, as long as his PD and cardio says he's ok, don't think you should worry so much.

woof: i also breastfed my daughter till she was one, express in teh office was a hassle, but specially when i had to travel! i took everything along, including a cooler box to keep the BM in! keep up the good work!!!

C&C: totally agree about singapore school system stressing out kids too much! If i could afford it i'd like to send my DD to an international school but don't think locals can study there too...

patsy
locals can go international schools, with permission from MOE. You need a very good reason not to place your child in local school. Which is sooooo difficult.
Anyway, international schools way too expensive. Was considering that, when i couldn't find local school that caters to visually impaired, for my girl. Can't afford the fees and lots 'extras' at the various international schools! no choice, put her in mainstream school, and coach her myself at home too.

There is also a downside to international schools. I feel our kids won't know about their own culture (i don't mean Chinese, I mean being a Singaporean) in that kind of environment. Also, not all interanational school are good. Need to find a programme that is suitable for your child. And some of these schools have rather poor discipline routines. You'll need to visit the schools and check them out first!

I visited a few, and was a bit taken aback actually. Maybe not suited to our asian values and culture! Was a culture shock!

Talking about schooling, anyone knows about home-schooling? Seems to be getting quite popular recently.

C&C: I know what you mean... both have their pros and cons, my expat friends and colleagues send their kids to the internatiinal school and tell me all sorts of horror stories bout how misbehaved the kids there! But on the other hand, having been raised in an american style school with little exams, etc, I don't like the streaming/PSLE mind set in local school.. aiya dilema specially since my first and foremost criteria is that the school must be a Christian school!

JasTan,
Actually I've heard abt homeschooling awhile back but never got any resources. I know u can order a homeschooling kit from the US but it will be based on the american education curriculum/system. I did stumble on a website about it awhile back. Just try search homeschooling on the web.

Anyway, that's one of the reasons why I'm on this forum. I'm trying to find like-minded mommies who would like to get together once in-awhile at first & perhaps more regularly later on to form like a playgroup. We could get together with our kids to go for a picnic & plan a few fun-filled yet educational activities for kids eg. sand play, ball games, telematch/relay games or even art & craft! At the same time we could exchange & share tips on child rearing etc. We could also include the daddies if you like. We could start with a simple activity like going to the library ... to listen to a story telling session or we could take turns among us to be the story teller to the kids. Then we could grab lunch or have a little picnic at a nearby park/playground.

We could discuss first on this forum on where & when, what type of activities, focussing on which area of child development etc. We could integrate alot of learning concepts and skills in these activities. I totally believe in holistic learning/teaching. So how?

Just a thot ....

my view is we should try to help the child to adapt to whatever system, even if it appears to be stressful
when they grew up, adult life & working life is stressful too, then how to adapt?

I always tell my girls 'nothing is difficult, everything can be learnt!' then cite some relevant examples of tasks they have achieved
such as 'a few months ago, you didn't know how to do colouring, now you can coloured so well because you have learnt how to do it'.
the point is they should not simply give up readily if they deem the task to be too difficult.

As parents, as long we are there to encourage/assist & not add to their stress, kids are suprisingly very adaptable

Of course, some kids are more adaptable than the others. my younger child tends to give up easily so I'm still trying to tatoo that 'nothing is difficult' concept into her head.

re: home school
whenever my 3 years old asked me why isn't she attending school like sister, I will reply her mommy is your teacher. You are homeschooled.
hehe, she didn't seem impressed but still obliged me lah :eek:)

I'm not using any formal home schooling kit. I am using material from schools my elder girl attended before to teach my younger one. It's overwhelming, I have heaps of workbooks and reading material at home. Enough to keep me busy. I just do bit by bit with her everyday. One to one attention is still better than attending pre-school with another 15 kids, right?

just to add

the advantage of homeschool is that the child will have less opportunity to pick up undesirable habits from other kids. I used to do corrective actions with my elder girl when she was attending child care.

for social interaction, just sent for enrichments once a week

But I think my girls have plenty of interactions with each other everyday.
My elder girl is very shy probably because she is the first child, no other kids to play along with her for the first 2 years. She became more bubbly when her younger sis is old enough to play with her

Re: Maths
Oh I see they only start to teach addition and subtraction in K1. I am asking because my girl who will be 4 years old in April, is able to do additions and subtractions up to 20 now. We didn't push her at all, she actually enjoy doing it and ask my mother to let her do maths. I am thinking of when to advance to multiplication and division ? Do they teach this in P1 or P2 ?

I believe in teaching the right things at the right time. And the right time is different for every child. For example, my girl can count very well at 2 years old, but my younger boy who is 2 years old now, can only reliably count up to 3. That is perfectly fine with me. I will not try to make my boy learn more things than he is capable of now, but since my girl is more advanced, I will teach her what she is capable of.

I have read an article in a magazine, about a mommy who stresses out herself as well as her son, because her son wasn't doing well in kindergarten. She blames herself for not working hard enough to make her son study, and punishes her son for not doing well. In my case, if my son doesn't do well, I will only blame myself for not giving him good enough genes, no point punishing him.

cowandchick,
I totally agree with you that Singapore pre-schools are very stressful. I heard from another forum, about a mommy who has a girl attending nursery. The girl was not good at coloring and Chinese, so the teacher ask the mommy to send her to enrichment class to learn coloring and Chinese ! The girl is only 3 or 4 years old ! Don't know what kind of nursery is that, so high stress.

Last Saturday when I brought my girl to Montessori phonics class, there was this other girl who kept crying and refused to go into the class. But her maid carried her and forced her to go into the class. I wonder how many other classes this girl was going to ? How can she learn anything if she is unhappy ? I kept asking my girl whether she likes the class, and whether she wants to go again. She is always happy to go. If she is unhappy, I will immediately withdraw her, don't want to waste any money.

I have also heard of mommies who think they have gifted kids, and go so far as to have their kids tested by specialists. They wanted to provide an accelerated learning environment if their kid is proven to be gifted. But in my case, if my kid is gifted, I will still let them go to normal schools. If they finish their homework very fast, then just let them go relax and play

re: Home school
My 2.5 year old boy is also home schooled
It is rare because many kids nowadays go to school at 18 months old. My boy has enough social interaction with his elder sister, and we are teaching him the basics of alphabets, letters, counting at home. I also feel it is better for him since it is 1 to 1 attention, rather than 1 teacher to 15 kids in playgroups. I think I will only let him go to daily school when he is 4 years old.

hippo2002,
Your girl go to kumon class, right ? Are these the workbook she is using ?

http://www.kumonbooks.com/catalog/catalog_firststeps.aspx

I bought some of these books from popular bookshop, and my kids love to do it ! But I cannot find the complete range at popular, still looking around for other books.

Tonsilitis
As far as I know, it is not contagious but when I asked, the PD did told me that since my baby is small and not that strong, he may get the bacteria from his sis but it did not give him tonsilitis, just ulcers on the throat. So far, after numerous times asking, none of the Docs I see knows how one gets tonsilitis, could be hereditary. In fact in the US, most parents remove their kids tonsils at a certain age even though they don't have tonsilitis! There's no cure except removing them but after learning from the specialist how the bacteria works, I manage to prevent any major attacks for the last 6 years! You see, for suferers of tonsilitis, the bacteria are in their tonsils and will attack when the body is vulnerable, meaning u always have to maintain high immune system or avoid getting really sick (esp fever). At one point, the attacks were so severe, I just c my Doc, get a referal letter & get myself admitted to hospital cuz only by penicilin drip, it'll work. The only lozenges that works for me is Diflam (& gargle). The fever can get to 40-41 & ur whole body is weak & it hurts so bad, u can't swallow ur own saliva & worst once, even every breadth I took hurts my ears. The pain will affect ur throat, mouth & ears! My first major attack happened while I was backpacking in Malaysia & I was in this remote village in Cherating. I was staying at a guesthouse run by a family. They had one small fridge so when my fever was soaring high, I couldn't get much ice to sponge myself & by the third day, the owner got worried & drive me to the next town (a couple of hrs drive) to a clinic as they have no clinic in that village! I thot I was going to die then.

Btw, thanks everyone for the compliments ... it's just that I like to live life to the fullest. I was very active before my kids came along; backpacking, trekking, canoeing, camping, rafting, sailing, jet-skiing, para-sailing .... and now I want to do white water rafting and maybe even sky diving one day. When we were in Thailand the last time (June 2005), we manage to do abit of river rafting, elephant trekking (Kanchanaburi & Chiang Mai) and even trekking on foot to one of the hill (Mon) tribes village in Chiang Mai. That, I have to give the credit to my hubby cuz I don't even know how he manage to carry my then 3 yr old daughter while climbing a steep slippery slope. I remember going on all fours climbing up and almost miss a step if not for another trekker below me who caught my foot! The rest of the way wasn't easy either, since it was drizzling and had been raining the day before.

Actually in that 21 days of backpacking we covered quite alot of places; we start by flying in to Bangkok, then travel by train to Ayuthaya and stay for a few days with a Thai family that we met at the railway station. We visit the famous ancient Wat/temple ruins on elephant. We then took the train to Lopburi, make famous in Amazing race, the temple ruins & city that r surrounded by macaqs(monkeys). Then again by train to Kancahnaburi where we stayed on the river rafthouse ... awesome. We did elephant trekking up the hills and bamboo rafting down the river and had lunch at a hill tribes village, the Mon I think, from Myammar. We also went to the hellfire pass (awesome!), took the train on river kwai, death railway museum, the WWII memorial, night market. We took the train back to Bangkok then catch a flight to Chiang Mai where we did more elephant trekking, river rafting & hill(foot) trekking. Then we make our way up to Chiang Rai where we took a boat with a guide to cross the golden triangle and then cross over to Laos & visit a cultural village market for only a few hrs (paid a few dollars to enter & I don't think it's legal!) We then reach Thailand most northern town (I forgot the name)where we could see Myammar. We wanted to cross over Myammar but was advised against it by our guide. Then we went back to Chiang Mai and rent a motorbike (with three of us on it) to get around the city, the old & new, ruins. Chiang Mai has a great Night Bazaar and cheap but great massages & reflexology! We also went to this famous temple on a mountain (can't remember the name) & later rent 4WD & drive to Sukotai. We then took a night train back to Bangkok, stayed a couple of days then went off to Ko Samet (nice beaches), an island off Pattaya and there, under the bright moonlight, my son was conceived.

We then went back to Bangkok, stayed another couple of nights before flying back to Singapore. I booked AirAsia online & where accomodation is concerned , we just check around what is available & within our shoestring budget!

Anyway, we didn't get to do any white water rafting while in Thailand cuz nobody to look after our girl, it's too dangerous for her.

So since I have my 2nd girl, I'm kinda grounded. My girl is pretty tough compared to my boy, like I said, he seems "fragile", though he's quite active too.

re: Tonsilitis
I also used to have recurring tonsilitis. The worst was when I was backpacking alone in Switzerland ! I was running a high fever and terrible sore throat, went to look in the mirror, and my throat was so swollen there was only a small hole left in the middle. I asked the staff at the hostel where the nearest clinic was. The staff said seeing doctor was very expensive, want to help me save money and asked me to go to a pharmacy to get some medication. Fortunately I took some panadol and it was better the next few days.

Doctors always give me serrazyme, which is not very good. Recently I went to a doctor who prescibed piroxicam which is fantastic !!! Works immediately and the pain totally goes away.

Actually tonsilitis can be prevented, simply by having enough sleep, drinking a lot water and fresh fruit/juices.

Re: backpacking
I backpack with my hubby to Malaysia and Thailand before, taking coaches all the way to Bangkok, stopping along penang, phuket, koh samui.

I also backpack alone to Switzerland, Italy, Austria, Germany, and that was really fun. I dream of bring my kids with me when they are old enough.

precious_gem,
I really admire you for bringing your little girl to travel everywhere. I think I will bringing my kids only when they don't need to drink from milk bottles, and don't need to wear diapers !

Tamarind,
Yep that's why, the first couple of years, we only travel around Malaysia & batam for 3-4 days cuz we don't want to drag along diapers & baby food. So that's why we went to Thailand for 21 days when she's 3 cuz she's not using any diaper & she is eating normal food and can drink packet full cream milk. Though I did brought her supply of formula milk. I would like to take my family to Cambodia, Vietnam & Laos & am trying to figure out how long I may need for this trip, perhaps 4 -6 weeks but I'm not sure if the we could cope with two kids .....

Well 3:30pm .... going back, hubby is here. c u ladies tomorrow.

Tamarind

I saw at Popular bookshop too. Kumon only teach 3 subjects. the workbooks at Popular covered more, like colouring & folding.
Maths looked quite similar to her daily worksheets though

precious gem

you are so brave!
i tried white water rafting at Austria. Scared out of my wits leh, I can't swim & didn't expect the river to be so rapid. Was thrown into the water at minus 3 degree because everyone need to dip in the river before starting out. curse & swear. My first and definitely the last!

also attempt to climb the glazier at New Zealand but I only reach the bottom of the glazier. Too slippery and steep for me to climb to the top of the glazier. In fact the bush walking before we reached the glazier is tough enough for me, with so many sharp rocks, I was so worried I will break my neck

really too city girl to try anything adventurous

my idea of a perfect holiday is look pretty, pose & took pictures, haha!

The most adventurous thing I ever done is to go on a 2 months trip to Europe & Russia, alone !
my folks and hubby (boyfriend then) were so worried. See, they really have low opinion of me surviving on my own. I did it lah, didn't even get lost once

homeschooling
you can purchase homeschooling curriculum from the states. But I didn't really go for it because it is rather restrictive, and the curriculum not quite suitable for locals here. These curriculum are quite religious based - mainly Christianity, so maybe some of you may want to try. It is not cheap, mind you. And, being so far away from the States, I also find it hard to get support from other parents on the same programme.

Homeschool in its very general sense means teaching the child at home, and compared to a formal institutional setting like a school. But true homeschooling entails a planned curriculum and syllabus, and usually applies only to formal education, ie. from 7 onwards.

There are some parents homeschooling their kids here in Singapore. Not surprisingly, most are from Christian background, and bought their programme from the States.

MOE allows homeschooling provided you can do the following:
1. provide them a detailed curriculum and syllabus
2. details on how you intend to teach and implement your programme
3. you must also include local content in your syllabus, and especially on the subject of National Education and history

Once you satisfy these basic criteria, you may be given a go ahead, but this is subject to interviews and visits by the education officer to your homes.

I was looking at homeschooling initially, and that's how i got the info. I doubt if much has changed through the years. At least No. 3 above still stands!

Now, i feel that while the school may not be an ideal place, it is nonetheless a local setting, and I believe kids should get to know all sorts, the good and the bad. I have a friend who homeschooled her kids (she's from the UK), and after 5 years, gave up because her kids could not integrate into the local society. They couldn't understand that there are good and bad characters around, and lack the skills of being 'street-wise'.

I find that an alternative to total homeschooling, is partial. That is, my child goes to school, but I follow very closely what she does at school, especially social-wise. I teach her about right and wrong, and that there are all sorts of people in the world.

I try not to focus too much on just school work alone, and try to introduce her to things outside the school curriculum. We do more of such 'other' things especially during the school holidays. This March hols, I took my girl on the 'Duck Tour', and we also did a Singapore River walk together, all in the name of fun!

I think precious gem has a good idea. Maybe what we can do, is swap ideas on what to do with our kids, and how best to do it. We can also meet occasionally for social interaction, and to give each other support. As for total homeschooling, don't think I'll go ahead with it.

Sometimes, parents add to the faults of our school system. We must be 'brave' enough not to fall into the trap. It is easier when our kids are not yet in school. The real test comes (for us) when they start Pri 1 and everyone starts comparing. Can you live with it, if your child doesn't perform as well as the neighbour's or friend's or relative's etc....

I used to think I won't be affected, but i was. took me a while to get back my senses, and see things in perspective. Maybe we can help each other along?

if you want your child to re-enter mainstream schools, yes, you'll need to take PSLE. And yes,, as private candidate.

Forgot to say, the MOE will require your kids take exams, i think at end of each year, to ensure that your kid has attained the required 'level' stipulated by MOE. So, whatever you do, you will still need to design your programme round MOE syllabus!

Btw, the papers and documents submitted to MOE, must also include a weekly timetable for your kids' programme!

hippo2002,
Which 3 subjects ? Is it only English, Maths, Chinese ?

cowandchick,
If I were the government, I would ban exams hehehe I hate exams and don't see how it is beneficial to us when we enter the workforce. When we work, it is how we perform daily that matters. We work on projects, and if it doesn't work well, we still can change, and we can refer to books or other people for help. Unlike exams where we are given 3 hours and it is do or die. Sometimes I had panic attacks during an exam, and even though I studied very hard, I got so nervous, I could not think or write anything, needless to say I did badly for that exam.

precious_gem,
My girl is almost 4 years old, don't need to wear diapers during the day, she still need to wear diapers to sleep at night !

I want to go to Siem Reap to see the Angkor Wat ! But I would think twice about bringing the kids because the hygiene standard there is low.

Tamarind
yes, English/Maths/Chinese

same here! I don't like exam either
kids will have plenty of opportunities for exam once they start primary school. Now I only choose fun enrichments for my kids, no exam type

yah, exams a real killer. I hate them too! always freak out during exams, and so always do badly. sigh. I'm better with projects and term papers.

So i try not to put too much emphasis on exams with my girl now. It's only normal that they feel stressed and perhaps don't perform as well as they should. As long as I know she understands the topic and concepts, I don't really bother about her grades. For now, at least, she's not very concerned about exams, and doesn't feel that stressed. It won't be long, coz everyone's comparing, including her classmates. I told her to just believe in herself, and as long as mummy knows she is good, that's ok. don't know how long this will last tho!

let the kids enjoy before the exam craze start!

Hello mommies,
Good Morning! Just got out of a meeting. Have to work this weekend cuz got an event.

Will try to get my kids involved though kinda tough for baby. Problem is, my baby boy, once he sees me, he tends to be clingy. Can't even leave him for a sec, even to go to the toilet!

Exams
Yep exams a real killer alright. But I guess if we don't pressure our kids too much they won't be too stressful right? I mean tell them that the exams are just like doing their normal worksheets except that they can't ask for any help with the questions, that they have to do their best. I guess it's easier for me to say cuz I'm not there yet. Yep I guess like what cowandchick said is right, we'll only "feel the pressure" once our kids in primary school, then the real "test" for us mommies will begin. Actually being Malay, I wanted my girl to take Mandarin @P1 but I was afraid she might be stressful as either me nor my hubby will be able to help her out. Then I found out from a friend that her son did very well in Malay that in Sec 1, he was able to take higher Malay and then a 3rd lang which he took Mandarin. So I thot maybe I shud do that, make sure my girl is strong in her own mother tongue before taking a 3rd lang like Mandarin. Of course her English has to be good too before she will be allowed to take a third lang.

I think like waht cowandchick said is true, it's important that our kids know that we think they are good and that they should know that they are good too, that what really should matters. They shouldn't be bother much about what others say. They need their self-esteem and self-confidence in order to excel and reassuring them by giving them the support & motivation should be more important than comparing them to others & giving them alot of work & stress them out. It's only OK if they enjoy doing the work.

Now I just want my girl to enjoy her childhood and expose to various things ... I know I did & that's why I love life and able to take almost everything at stride. That's why I also I focus more on physical activities for her like gymnastic, swimming & hopefully martial arts cuz kids her age are very active & they r kinestetic learner. She is also so energetic and I want her to put all her enrgy in the right place and of course I asked her first before enrolling her into any class. She has been asking to do gymnastic again but I couldn't find a class nearby, the last one she attended was at Tanglin CC. Her swimming is at Chua Chu Kang Swimming pool near my office & her sch & her Art & Craft is at Fuchun CC near our home in Woodlands. The Martial Arts class is just at our void deck conducted by the RC. I'm also thinking on getting my family to join the briskwalking club at my RC(void deck). It'll be a good Sunday morning activity for the family & also a good social interactions with other families in the neighbourhood.

Anyway, I think our schools are getting better, believe me. Though they are exams oriented but the kids are also doing pojects and other hands-on activities. Most primary schools also have a "special class" to help those who are not on par with their peers (at P1) perhaps who did not attend preschools or Dyslexia or even very mild autism or just plain slow learner. This class is small in children:teacher ratio & the kids only attend this class for the subjects that they are weak in. I found this out cuz a several years ago, I manage to join a group visiting the primary schools in the Teck Whye neighbourhood and I must say I was quite impressed. And that was several years ago! The whole environment concept, the activities they offered and lots of projects for the kids to do ... the whole thing was so much better than when I was in school. How I wish I was back in school and I think I would have done better!

Yes, i agree that the school environment on the whole, has improved for our kids. but be wary, coz not all schools do that. Some, only for a while. It isn't really their fault, the schools too are strapped for resources.

Like the small classes for those with dyslexia and mild autism, only certain schools offer that. So, precious gem, you must have visited one of those schools that have that programme. The reason being, we do not as yet have enuf teachers trained to teach these children in a mainstream setting.

As for the rest of the children, a lot depends on the teacher. There are really excellent ones who make learning fun for the kids. While there are good ones, there are also the less interested ones, i guess. Sometimes i wonder why they continue teaching (torturing the kids)!

Anyway, as parents, we can always help to make sure our kids enjoy learning. Before they start formal schooling, let them enjoy themselves while learning. And in school, try not to stress them further over results and grades!

Wow, looks like you've got your girl involved in a lot of activities! How do you find time to take her here and there for her activities? I feel so exhausted already, reading about it from you. Can't imagine how you do it! Amazing! Any secret tips?

precious gem: where do you get all the energy to take your daughter to all those activities???? like C&C am getting tired just reading!

Hey, Good Morning Ladies! Hope everybody got a good rest last night. Another challenging day awaits us today. Went for my first lesson for my "conversational mandarin" class yesterday evening with hubby. Gosh I'm glad it was "conversational" cuz the writing was confusing!

C&C, Patsy,

It is tiring & tedious that's why I make sure I get the support from hubby & that's why I make sure I enrol her in classes that is within my means.
kao_dizzy.gif

For example, like I said, my daughter is with me after her school, so after work, we will go together to the swimming pool as it is about a few bus stops away from my office. I will also swim while she has her lesson so I get abit of workout for myself. That will take 1hr, then after her lesson, I'll spend another 1 hr with her at the pool, going down the tube slide, splashing around and we end the day by soaking ourself in the jacuzzi there. The worst part is on the way back cuz by this time she'll be so exausted that she just doze off and I couldn't afford to carry her especially with the heavy loads of wet swimming suits & towels etc, this is where I need my hubby to fetch us from the pool, even though sometimes we have to wait at the bus stop for half an hr! Then we will pick up baby from caregiver before going home.

As for the Art & Craft class, it's at a neighbourhood CC on a Saturday afternoon so usually we will go for a quick family outing/activity in the morning, then after that, send my girl for her Art class which is 2 hrs & during that time we could spend some 1 on 1 time with baby.

For her martial art class which I have not enrolled her yet, it'll just be at the 'link house' next to our void deck on Sunday evenings.

As u can see, I don't really enrol her in academic kinda of classes cuz I want to expose her to different things/skills, I mean she attends kindergarten and at the same time I try to do what I can at home, which I know may not be much. I'd like to enrol her in abacus class though but it's hard to find a class for her level in English, usually it's conducted in Chinese.

Anyway, I hope these classes are fun activities for her.

Btw, I noticed if I don't move around so much, I get lazy and restless and end up a couch potatoe, which is not good for my weight. I may not lose weight at the moment but I did not gain either

Good to see this thread, and would like to join the crowd.
I called myself Mo2 as I am Mother of Two boys.
I am 36 years old, both of my boys are going to 5 and 1 year old next month.

precious gem
your girl is 2002 child? same as mine

same same! really need to exercise, bones getting stiffer everyday!

similarly, I enrol my girl for enrichments nearby. She's attending Arts and Chinese Dance at CC. 3 minutes walk from my house. Kumon is 3 bus stops away.
The only far away enrichments is gymnastic in Bukit Timah, that's why we are dropping her from Speech & Drama (in Kembangan) before commencing Gymnastics.
Despites that, our weekends still resolve around enrichment class leh.

2 enrichments on Sat and 2 on Sun. Can't even go for weekends getaway holiday

I just enrolled my 2 girls for 2008 kindergarten.
So suprised to see a queue outside the kindergarten. My hubby saw the queue on his way to sending my girl to PAP.

haha! we haven't got use to the idea of queuing for pre-school. Thought sure have vacancies, always take my own sweet time. That's why this year didn't manage to get a vacancy for my 3 years old so let her skip pre-nursery. My mom has been ticking me off the last few months, for being slow motioned leh

We were planning to go for breakfast, quickly change our mind & join the queue instead. Luckily there are still vacancies left otherwise my mom will tick me off again

Hi MO2
glad to have you with us!

So nice some of you have kids in same age group. Can share notes.

Anyone with kids 10 years and 23 months?!

i need to exercise too! Just went for my very first swim after years of no exercise. Could hear my joints clicking and popping in the water. I wonder if the other swimmers heard them too! After 2 laps, almost died! rested and managed to do another 6 before giving up. Dragging myself to the shower and changing room is also a challenge after that!

I hope to get my girl to do more physical activities too. At moment she's so packed already, but will try to squeeze time for at least a swim every week.

precious gem, I am still amazed at how you manage to do all that!

hippo: what enrichment classes do you send your daughter to on sat/sun? after her surgery i hope to get my DD to start attending sunday school in church, hopefully that's enough stimulation for now... maybe enrichment classes when she's 2...

exercise? haha been a foreign word in our house for a while now! maybe should get started walking at night after dinner.

hippo2002,
You mean queuing for PAP kindergarten is it ? You mean they started already ? I am also going to enrol my girl in kindergarten and my boy in nursery for next year, but registration starts next tuesday leh. I also start to kan cheong now.

My older is a girl,coming 8 years, in p2.Younger one is a boy, just turned 20mths two days ago.

She is coping fine in school, very happy every day. I guess her pre school foundation is there and thus she enjoy school very much....No homework, only mummy at home will make her to do MY work.

Patsy
You might want to consider Shichida?
My elder girl did Shichida for 5 terms, started at 21 months. My younger girl did Shichida for 7 terms, started at 17 months.
Choices are more limited at this young age. Once they are old enough for other enrichments, I withdraw them.
I felt that benefits are diminishing the longer we are with Shichida. 5 terms seems quite ideal. Don't see much result for my younger girl even though she attended 2 more terms than her sis.

Sat: (1) Kumon, (2) Speech & Drama
Sun: (1)Chinese Dance, (2) my younger girl's Chinese enrichment

Tamarind
Not PAP, it's a church kindergarten. PAP is quite a few blocks away from my house, we are exposed to the scrotching hot sun at 12 noon daily! very concerned about the harmful UV adding freckles to my cheek leh. I so auntie, carried an umbrella everyday to fetch my elder girl. new kindergarten has a sheltered linkway. this mommy also very vain :eek:)
PAP enrolment in your area starts so early? my girl's PAP enrolments starts around May period.

Rainbow
Glad to hear your girl coping so well. The teachers do not assign homework to your girl? Read on another thread 15 pages homework !

I'm a little worried about primary school, hope I don't have to do spelling with my girl or plough through homework everyday, became my chore leh, scary

homework
bliss or bane, it depends. When my girl came home without much homework for quite a while, i was so happy. I thot the school allowed them to complete everything at school so they have more time to play at home.
I was horrified when i realised no homework also means not much teaching!!! In the 2 weeks before exams, the teachers bash through 2 or even 3 chapters. We nearly freaked out. So now, I always check wif my girl. no homework, then i give homework.

Then of course, there's the other extreme, like hippo pointed out! So scary hor!

hippo2002,
OIC. Yah must protect our skin at this age hehehe
My girl is existing PAP student, so the enrolment is earlier. I still kan cheong because there are many kids in our area. There is a newly opened PAP kindergarten, which includes enrichment class, it costs $180, which is more than the usual $85. I thought more expensive then most be better hehehe So I am aiming for this one. But the class size is small, so I think I will go early that day in case there is a queue.

Homework
15 pages of homework is outrageous !
My girl actually like to do homework. Her Montessori phonics class will have one page of homework for her, once a week. And she keeps asking to do it.
But I know a lot of parents will buy many additional assessment books for kids, right ? Any mommies doing so ?

cowandchick, Rainbow,
I heard that from P1 to P3, the kids only learn Hanyu Pinyin, and do not learn any Chinese characters. Is this true ?
If it is true then I am very sad, how can learn Chinese without learning how to write the characters ?

hippo: what does Shichida do? i don't want her in a classroom environment so early..... would prefer one where they learn while they play...

freckles!! arrghh am getting them too and i'm tan! am main target for those girls in the beauty section of a dept store when i walk by... mrs.. maybe you want to try something to get rid of your AGE SPOTS !!!!!