Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

It's a pleasure, jessica

tamarind: put it this way lor,i help with with the finances by continuing to work, so he has to help me with the house. fair mah.. also his mum when she was alive always tells him must help me and not let me get over tired. in that sense she was quite a good MIL... in other cases.. arrghhh!! hehe btw, did you think zoophonics helped? am consideriing sending my dd there after her surgery

rainbow: my dd eat one small bite of strawberry, the area around her lips will immediately turn red. will look like a clown!

cowandchick: i do the same, but i use those air purifier thingys with a green cap... lavander and eucalyptus.. actually every night coz both hb and ihave post nasal drip

Rainbow,
When the fever is over 38 degrees, we give Nurofen. Then 3 hours later, then Panadol, another 3 hours later, take Nurofen, then after 3 hours Panadol again. One day not more than 3 times of each medicine. This works very well for both my kids.

My boy also gets sick very easily, so I understand how you feel. I will only let him start nursery when he is 4 years old.

Oh you asked me about the house rules in the other thread, will post on Monday. I need to go to Krabi now.

Patsy,
My MIL never teach my hubby in any way. My hubby said he was raised by servants, his parents never played with him even after they returned home from work. Now he will spend time playing with the kids after work, so at least not so bad. But cannot expect him to do housework.

Actually I prefer Montessori to Zoophonics. Personally I feel that Zoophonics is not too efficient in teaching phonics. But compared to GUG, it is about the same, so more value for money.

Tamarind

I hope I can catch you before you go...what if after you feed nurofen, three hours later, there is still no high temperature, do you still feed paracetomol....thanks

Tamarind: yah, a lot to do with upbringing. Don't think my inlaws played with hb and his bro too.. but at least his mum worked so she knew how tiring it was and made sure he did his share of housework. i think a lot has to do with the personality of the guy...

sleeping bbs
i still nurse my 6mth DS to sleep. how to prepare to wean him off later?? he has to learn to sleep on his own eventually.

MIL as the caretaker
DS just started on solid. i bought some rock melon (half) from supermarkt and ask MIL to feed him while i at work... cos when i knock off it's too late (already 7 plus 8). she suggested to steam the fruit b4 making it into a puree. i said not necessary to steam fruit, can give it as it is. then she showed me a chinese newspaper cutting and said that this said so. my interpretation of the article diff from hers leh.

no need to steam fruit b4 feeding bb rite??
any idea whether can give brocoli and cauliflower already??

wow, this thread is moving so fast!

Just returned from Genting last night. Our 5th time to Genting but 1st time during school break because my girl started her K1 this year. We decided never to go holiday during term break again. Everywhere was so crowded and we spent most of our time queuing.

my two girls were nearly caught in cross fire between 2 groups of boys. 1 group of boys cut queue and another group was not pleased. Some parents even instructed their kids to cut queue. Is that the right values to impart to the kids?

Rainbow
my mom said no porridge when having fever, I'm not sure what's the logic. But my kids fever didn't subside even if I fed them 'leng liang'. Once I stopped giving them porridge, their fever stopped. So my mom is right afterall, hehe!

Re: sewing
really envy all mommies who can sewed. I am quite clumsy with my fingers. Cannot draw, cannot sew. If a button drops, I ask my mom or hubby to sew. Men can sew because they all serve NS. my brother sewed a blanket using sewing machine

porridge and fever
first time hearing of this causal relationship! but, i continued to feed my boy wif porridge when he had fever, still recovered leh? is it what we put in porridge? i also feed my girl porridge when she has fever. how come ah? what ingredients to exclude, then next time i also will know.

fruits for bb
woofwoof: for soft fruits, i don't steam. but fruits like apples and pears, i steam b4 i puree them. steaming also makes fruits sweeter. when i steam apple for my boy, i make whole apple. use remainder as applesauce with ham. yummy!

hippo2002
welcome back! sorry to hear your trip wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. always like that during school hols. whole of singapore overseas! but your kids not schooling yet, can still go during term time. i remember taking trips during term time before my girl entered P1. we had so much fun without the crowds. now, no choice. our last trip to Melbourne last year, met so many Singaporeans there!

queue jumping? I even saw it here in Singapore (gasp!) on Tuesday when I brot my girl on the Duck Tour. Parents told the kids to "quick, hurry up, just go in front!" my girl was shocked!

Patsy
i used to use those purifiers too, but stopped because found out that the 'oils' used are actually 'fragrance oils', not pure essential oils. apparently they do not have the same therapeutic effects, and should not be used on the skin, like pure essential oils. so don't use your oils to sponge your bbs! also, 'fragrance oils' are artificially made from chemicals, and contain harmful VOCs, which can cause harm in long run - from sore throats, respiratory problems and cancer! scary!

When I heard that, I threw away my set, including the 'oils'. Now I only stick on to pure essential oils, and only organic ones for my kids. I use an electric burner, so no fear for the room catching fire!

I think its advice to steam the fruits as excessive vit c might trigger phlegms...that is what I heard from an old folk....

I am still thinking to feed my boy porridge or not...maybe more porridge water...Just heard two school of thoughts...rice is energy and give out more heat....next, its rice give too much energy and when do not use it, it stored as heat...

I am still pondering about it....

A girl friend just told me there is this thing known as brian that link to the fever cooling effect will thus easily catch fever that is hardly can come down easily...not sure how true it is...

For food for little one, I believe little bit is okay but not excessive....at least it does not do harm....

Maid
Many asked me to give up my present maid...but I keep her cos she loves my boy...other than that, attitude problem...I think she has forgotten who is paying her salary....

tamarind
berries at bukit batok? hvn't heard before. so far my fren's kids attended 'tian xia' at jr east entertainment ctr and commented gd.

hv u tried i can read? was told that it's gd - heard a couple of positive feedback and comment but the environment seems abit stern and serious so decided on zoophonics. however class pending to start on 22 apr upon enuf min. enrolment of 3 kids.

her diaper will be wet despite u wake her up to shh shh once after she slpt? hmm...sounds abit diff. if she will be upset when awoken but still i tink you have to try, maybe later.

rainbow
i was told to alternate paracetomol and nurofen also when my dd's high fever doesn't subside fully after taking paracetomol. doesn't hv to be interval of 3 hrs tho' for the 2 med. as long as the interval of the same med. is of 6 hrs then it's fine (otherwise overdose). that was the 1st time that i kw we can feed fever med. in this way. normali when fever is concerned, i will play safe and gv 1 more x fever med. even tho' no more fever. usu. will gv 1 more dose also if it's nite time before their slping time as temp. tends to rise at nite.

hv heard of old folk saying no porridge for toddler if they hv fever but i didn't follow.

woofwoof
usu. i dun steam the fruit b4 feeding. the fruit will be softer and easily for bb to digest i reckon but not sure whether the vitamin will be lost or not. normal i will just grate/grind the fruit before gving when my kids are younger

JasTan, cowandchick, Tamarind

my elder girl will definitely remember 7 out of 7. we already lower our expectation for my 3 years old.

my elder girl can piece 24 piece puzzles before she turned 2. my 3 years old can manage piece 6 piece now and we praise her like crazy. But it pissed my elder girl off sometimes, she doesn't understand what's the big deal, why are we getting more excited than her scoring full mark for her Kumon maths test

even though we always tell ourselves not to compare. We are threading on sensitive zone. So tough leh, with 2 very sensitive girls

JasTan,
what are your plans for him after withdrawing from MRC? switch to enrichments once a week? maybe they will be more receptive to refund you the deposit
Have you tried giving him vitamins C (100mg) and cod liver oil?

cowandchick
we sent my elder girl to childcare 1 month before my delivery. sometimes really no choice, but heart pained, she's only 2 years old then. Is your boy still crying? the first 3 months, my girl refused to change into her uniform

I wanted to spend individual time with my 2 kids. This year my younger child is not attending pre-nursery while my elder girl goes 4 hours session at PAP. Next year, I plan to send them to different sessions so I still have one-to-one time with them

Happy cos
I do not really understand concept of alternate as brufen is quite a strong medicine. What if upon three hours, brufen med due, but temp is around 37.6, do you still feed brufen, when this med is required only at 38.5?thanks

rainbow
hmm...tis is a tough qtn when the temp is ard 37.6... if i were u i prob. will wait for the next paracetomol med. (paracetomol is usu. prescribed to be taken 4-6 hrly).

however this is wat the PD prescribed the other time (to alternate these 2 med) when my dd seems to have persistently high fever so i supposed it shd be OK also?

Happy cow

I think I will not want to use too much of brufen unless necessary....I will use paracetomol with 4 - 6 hours range as guide line...of course with the temperature at that point of time...One tricky thing is that if feed paracetomol and in two hours still going sky high, then can be quite headache too...

Probably at night, I will use brufen as a safe bet...that is the last dose for the night and follow by paracetomol rather than the other way round....

See, am re learning after an eight years gap...forgot most of the do and don't

Now ,when he sleep also seems to have nasal back flow and start to get choke while sleeping...some friends say just leave it as it will go away...any advice?

rainbow
i am stil learning also

nasal backflow? sori, duno anythg abt this. would making him sleep on his side or on his tumi helps?

porriage n fever
I didn't know about cannot feed porriage when having fever. I still continue to do so but it will be those very liquid type form instead.

hippo2002
Yes, I plan to switch to weekend enrichment for him but might not be at the same centre. Now I am more concern about finding a nursery for him next year. Haven't give him any supplements yet, but intent to give him cod liver oil after he had fully recovered.

Jastan

When come to giving cod liver oil has to watch how the kid respond to it. I gave my son nautic nature cod liver oil and he ended up having diarrea. According to chinese sin seh, its heaty and not every kid is suitable.

My son is the heaty base type so little bit, he will be heaty and thus immunity not very good...

Lately, he also has hives on and off, am still trying to find out the cause...

Have watched closely to his food, but nothing new...

side track....just wonder, if during work life, you faced very unreasonable boss, got back step by colleagues, thus promotion got affected ....and you just feel injustice as there is no fault within u.... but there is no one can help...how would you bring yourself out of this situation..

Tamarind
727992.gif

Enjoy your trip to Krabi! how i wish i can go on a trip right now! instead, my hubby will be the one going on a biz trip next week and won't be around to help me in the evenings. sad...

Rainbow,

if it's me, i will probably complain to my family and friends to vent my frustrations. after cooling down, will try to transfer to another dept (if the co offers good benefits) or look around for another job. just my 2 cts.

Hope your son recovers soon!

JasTan

Did you attend SOKA open house? I was considering that school after reading favourable review about that kindergarten. Attended their open house on Mar 11 but decided not to send my girls. we felt that the curriculum is quite rojak, attempt to do too many things but only briefly. with the fees ($350 + school bus), I can send my girl to enrichment classes that specialised in that particular field, such as one for gymnastic, one for music & movements, one for Arts

Nevertheless, we are still impressed with the environment. It's a premium kindergarten. The classes are filling up very fast. in the morning itself, 1 nursery class was already full. If you are interested, need to decide quickly

Rainbow

I fed my girls Scott's Emulsion cod liver oil. Suggested by my pediatric because my younger girl used to be whizzy whenever she coughed before 1 year old. vitamins C is my own idea because I took vitamin C everyday myself. Seems to work well in building their immune system

At night, besides giving fever medicine, I will paste kodomo fever pad on kid's forehead, can last 8 hours. It's a great invention

Jessica
Thanks for concern, baby is getting better...Got scolded by my friends for bringing him to the beach as they told me that is the most dirty place....come to think of it, I do smell some urine smell when I was there

Good suggestions...but what if the person that involved is the quiet type, preferred to go through things silently ?Guess its even more painful....

Hippo2002

Think SOKA is not too bad a school.During my gal time, quite a number of kids were there and they instill team work and encorage confidence building, fees is reasonable too.....Am not too sure about the curriculum...Heard of NAFA kindergarten, heard its quite okay.

Good to learn that your gal is taking well for the cod liver oil.Ya, agreed that fever plaster is good but my son will shove it away,the only place that I can stick is probably at the knee joint while he is sleeping....

Tamarind
Enjoy your trip....who is taking care of your prince and princess...how I wish I can leave the two behind and go holidays....but my heart cannot bear to do it...so, probably has to wait till the little one is more ready then will consider travelling again.....

Holiday
Oh yes, how do you mum managed your toddler's nap when you are on trip?Mine will topsy turvey and drives me nuts cos too much distraction and cannot nap and end up cranky...thus a cranky mummy....holiday with him is a torture to me.....

Weekends
What are you mummy doing over the weekend?Am bringing gal to RTC cos its the end of her one week holidays.

Maid
Just wanna check with mum that has maid, how much lead time do we need to plan for when we are in the process of sending back the existing maid and getting a new one in....as in to apply for new maid to sending off the old one...thanks

Tamarind
Enjoy yourself at Krabi. Taking kids with you? Tell us about your trip when you return.

Enrichment
Seems like there's so much out there, and it's kinda hard to decide which is right for our kid. Keep up the discussion, so that I can get info and ideas! thanks to all here!

Brufen
What is 'not so good' about brufen, rainbow? the last time my boy had fever, somebody said to get something like this, i think. we never got to coz his fever subsided. but now that it's mentioned here, please let me know a bit more about this medicine. Also, i've never heard about alternating the medication. is it recommended? by PD?

Holidays
I've never been anywhere out of singapore without my 2 kids. I'll miss them terribly, how to enjoy? Anyway, can't get anyone to jaga them while away.
Rainbow - we simply throw the schedules, naps and all to the wind. We take it as it comes. Funnily, both my kids take this erratic timings very well. They sleep when the can, and we had lots of fun. But we never take packaged tours, only self-drive tours. So we can take it easy, and there's no rush. We stop when we feel the kids are tired, and wait for them to recharge. They nap between destinations!

Weekends
My weekends are always reserved for the family. It's the only time when hubby not at work, so we spend saturday afternoons together. Sometimes just staying home, enjoying each others' company. sundays are always at my mum's where my sis and bro and my aunts and uncles gather. i find the huge extended family gathering good for my kids. Not only are they able to keep themselves entertained, and leave me in peace, they learn how to play with others, and know their cousins and relatives as well. for me, it's a good time to catch up with my siblings!

childcare
If i had the choice, i won't send my boy to childcare, at least not so soon. but i really need the time to help my girl. sigh. anyway, yesterday the teacher said he's not crying so much, and looked happier. i hope he can adjust quickly enough.

Enrichment is my favourite topic. Always on the lookout for interesting classes :eek:)

My 3 years old is not attending pre-nursery, I only send her to MRC Chinese once a week. My 5 years old is in PAP K1, and attending Kumon thrice a week. She's also taking Arts, Speech & Drama, Chinese Dance at community centers. Will start both of them on Gymnastic once my elder girl finishes her Speech & Drama term. Otherwise too tiring for me.
Oh, my kids enjoyed their once a week trip to library story time.

Cowandchick
Good to know that your boy is adapting so well to the childcare.Like you,I will not send my boy to it unless got no choice.

Regarding enrichment class, indeed there are many out there and really has to find something that is good.

For my boy, will not start him so young as I personally find that you will make money very worth when they are attending at around 4 years. My gal went to berries enrichment class.Starts her piano class at around k2.No hurry to start her early as she might not be matured enough to do the theory part of the piano as some part of it needs the understanding of fraction.She is happier.
For ballet, I did not let her learn cos I find that piano already keep her busy....
Next to take up is probably swimming....
For the rest of the subject,I teach her myself.Do not want her whole school life revolving tuition.
Just yesterday, a gal friend of mine, her daughter is having tuition non stop from one subject to another.....

Have a great weekend.

Hippo2002
You may try Yamaha.I think parent has to sit in. I skip this as my gal school has this kindermusic within the curriculum.

cownchick
Brufen is quite strong as it brings down high fever and it works like suppository.Yap, alternate medicine is recommended by PD....But, upon recalling, I used the other method and that is used only panadol and monitor the temperature between 4 to 6 Hours,and if fever bounce back, will feed at 4hourly if not will drag and see how it goes....

While going thr the past message, learned that your gal is visually impaired....how is she coping with her work?I marvel your determination in getting your master...I stopped after a degree.....

I have got a friend who has a son that has hearing dispaired...and she has another son but its fine. For the sake of her older son, she moved to manchester for his education and she is doing her master there too....Hubby based in singapore. With two kids, foreign land and I think she is wonderful and a tough mummy......

Happy cow
Tien xia is more like revising the school text and more mechanically. Berries opened up a child language skill.There is one brannch in woodland near mrt station.

I CAN READ ....You may want to go for alternative like teaching your kid how to read by investing in lady bird series...Its boring but children learn to read through repetitive words.

rainbow
Oh so not every kid is suitable to take cod liver oil ah??? My boy used to take Scott orange cod liver oil and he seems okay. Was intenting to switch him to the nautic nature cod liver oil.

hippo2002
Nope didn't attend SOKA kinder open house. This is not one of my choice and is a distance from my mum's place and my mum don't like such young kid take school bus.

My boy just refuse to have the fever plaster on his forehead. I can only use cold towel instead.

Need to check with you, is the PAP nursery circulum good? Some of my friends said okay not too bad but some was telling me not good.

Need advise on any recommend on weekend enrichement class. Was wondering what sort of enrichment class is suitable for my boy since he had stopped his daily programme. Actually I was thinking to get him into music, but at the same time was thinking to get him to learn chinese and phonics but wondering will it be too much for him. My boy don't really like to read books. Also by the way, is montessori good, my boy is quite shy and more of introvert nature. He still can't adopt to classroom environment very well.

tamarind
Enjoy your holiday...

rainbow
dd just started ballet - she simply loves ballet! i tink it's cool to know how to play piano, perhaps later if time and financial allows.

oh, i hv been reading to her but not alot tho' now compared to when we just started and i do hv a handful of the lady bird series books at home
she can recognise words and read some of the books herself. the purpose of me sending her to i can read or zoophonics is to learn phonics and hopefuli improve her pronounication (sometimes she mumbles).

thks for the info for tian xia... will remmbr the recommendation from u and tamarind - berries. tink bukit batok branch nearer to me.

ds just started to go tumbletots (45mins)... dd used to be with them from 2-3yr old for playphonics.. more physical and actuali nothing much but main purpose is for him to hv fun and opportunity to socialise with other kids and meeting strangers (he's more sticky compared to my dd)...

however feel ourselves so busy revolving around enrichment classes for the kids during wkends - no choice since they enjoy going...

Happy cow
I did not send my gal to I CAN READ but she is reading fine.I save this money for music.

Jastan
If overtime, your boy is taking well on cod liver oil and has good immunity since then, you may want to carry on....For my son, he is teething and thus more heaty ,so not suitable to take cod liver oil for the time being....

happy cow

is your girl in tots ballet? where is she attending her ballet?
I was considering ballet for my 3 years old previously but having 2nd thoughts, seems really long term with graded exam. I don't like exam because I think I will be more stressed than her, haha!
now prefer gymnastics for both my girls, no exam, and seems so hip to be able to flip & do somersaults, hehe!

searching for a music school for my 3 years old. just wanted her to learn to read notes, can play nursery rhymes on keyboard, not necessary to go for exam, just have fun playing keyboard is sufficient

JasTan

I don't really like PAP, think the kids didn't learn much, they teached really simple textbook stuff, didn't see any attempt to encourage problem solving.
My elder girl told me she watched cartoon in school. Not educational DVD.
She is doing primary level at Kumon, so I close one eye even though PAP is so-so. I wanted to give her a classroom environment as she didn't attend formal kindergarten last year. She seems to enjoy going to PAP so didn't want to upset her by changing school. Not sending my younger girl to PAP nursery

rainbow
hmmm...becos i heard gd comment and feedback abt i can read/phonic classes lor so i tot let her try it out lor. the activities sound fun and i am sure she will love it.

Rainbow

Which school is your girl attending that incorporate kindermusic within the curriculum?
That will be good, no need to attend separate lessons.
Do you know music too? I find it tough to practice with the child daily and very stressful if I have to nag. that's why I gave up when my elder girl didn't show interest after attending private lessons for 1 year

JasTan

Montessori is good. My elder girl was in a Montessori childcare for almost 2 years. She is also quite shy and more of introvert nature. She clam up in new environment. That's why we have been exposing her to enrichments like Speech & Drama and Chinese Dance, in the hope to 'open' her up.

hippo2002
my gal is attending ballet at dancepointe, taman jurong cc. i didn't reali tink of the exam tho' and i am prepared to stop anytime if she wishes. my objective of sending them to courses is they must enjoy and hopefuli at the same time, benefit somethg out of it. like u, i dun like graded exam and dun expect her to become a professional dancer in future. when my fren told me that they may hv to go ballet twice a wk when they got upgraded, i was like 'is it?'???

gymnastics sounds fun... didn't kw got such courses...

your elder gal k1 attending kumon? u mean she didn't attend nursery last year? sori no offend, i heard kumon is thrilling but seems like yr elder is enjoying the classes huh?

JasTan
i heard PAP is more structured and more academic. i sent my dd to church nursery becos of the timing. PAP starts at 745am (3 hours for nursery and 4 hours for k1 and k2) whereas church starts at 830am (3 hours, nursery thru' k2). understand church school more relax hee hee.

happy cow

my elder girl started Kumon since she was 2 years 11 months old.
Currently, she is doing Primary 2 equivalent for her Maths and Primary 1 equivalent for her English.
Just started her on Kumon Chinese this month.
She's very challenged to pursue higher level and love going to Kumon school. So I guess Kumon suits her competitive nature

(don't think my younger child suits Kumon though. That's why send her to MRC Chinese. more relaxed & no homework)

Yeah, my elder girl skipped nursery when she was 4 because we plan to move house so didn't enrol her for nursery nearby. We only send her for enrichment classes like Phonics, Hanyu Pin, Arts in neaby CC as well as the ongoing Kumon
When she was 2 to 3 years old, she attended nursery in a montessori childcare

Personally I don't find it necessary to attend pre-school until K2, just to expose to classroom environment before entering P1. But it's still more convenient to send one to school so I can spend time with another

wow, then u reali can relax liao or rather concentrate more on yr no. 2. ya, tink her personality is of a more competitive nature and seems to take structured teaching v.well.

i guess attending pre-school is more like a preparation ground for them to expose them to this kind of schooling environment. i saw kids crying on the 1st day of nursery and my 1st assumption is that the kids prob. didn't attend any playgroup etc and hv never been 'separated' from the mother.... or perhaps it's the kid's character ya?

cannot relax leh.
my elder girl isn't exactly an easy child to handle. Too headstrong & stubborn & temperament. I have been through the stage of quarrelling with her many times a day. So much so I totally lost confident & feel that I have no control over her. I am enduring it although I have learnt to handle it slightly better by adjusting my attitude towards her (since I can't change hers) and show her I really love her and learnt to look at her other strengths.

When she's not throwing tantrums, she is a responsible child and very caring towards her sister. But she will go through this spout of dramatic outbreak on & off, every few days.
For instance, she lost her temper & yell at me for a whole month everyday after school and disturbed her sister everyday when she started her k1 in a new school (that's why I dare not change school otherwise I may have to endure another month of abuse). sometimes it's their way of expressing their frustration though it's definitely not the right way to do it.

For some weird reasons, she is only doing that to us. In school & enrichment classes, she is well loved by teachers and get along with her classmates. my hubby thinks I should be more stern with her, don't let her climb over my head. But I hate to quarrel with her over every incidents, so tough!

It's very hard to love a difficult child but I'm trying my best. my younger child is so much easier to get along, completely different from her sister. Probably that's why she is my favourite child even though she's not as academically inclined as her sister

Does any mommy have the same problem?
I'm reading a book on siblings rivalry. sigh....

hippo2002
I used to teach music but stopped because of my bb. from experience, I find it better that younger children do more music and movement than purely note reading and playing the keyboard.

The Dalcroze Eurythmics is probably the best around because it is applicable to not only the little ones, but also to mature and professional musicians. It trains the internalisation of music, which is very important in music learning, whatever the instrument. Actually, sports people also benefit from this programme.

My experience with this programme is mainly with children with disabilities. I ran the programme for 12 weeks with visually impaired children, autistic children as well as those who are mentally disabled. They responded very well to the programme.

If you can't get a school or teacher that does music and movement, at least get one that is able to incorporate it into your child's lesson, so that learning music is not something technical or even mechanical. It should come from within the child!

ballet
my girl did ballet for about 4 years before stopping last year. I think ballet is good for her because it helps in posture and poise, so important for young girls. Now i regret letting her drop it coz she's starting to slouch!
If you don't want to, need not take exams. Still can proceed. My girl didn't take all the grade exams. She's at Gr 4 when she stopped.
Ballet also helps in music learning, where they learn how to listen and respond. It is actually a good complement to music learning, especially when the child is very young.

hippo2002
i tink you reali hv to handle yr elder properly before it's too late. besides being academically inclined, she will be perfect if she has a nice character/attitude. try to talk to her nicely and assure her of your love. was her character always been like this or changed after the arrival of the younger?

when in good mood, my gal will be v.nice but on certain days she will be provoking me and testing my patience whole day until end of the day i boey tahan hv to use ruler to beat her palm.

cow&chick
thanks for yr assurance that exam is not compulsory for ballet

I'm back ! We brought Chloe only, my mother helped to look after Jerome at home. I felt that the trip will be too tough for a 2 year old boy, because we had to take a small boat out to the islands. Will bring him when he is older.

Share some photos here from Krabi.

Chloe feeding fishes on the beach at Hong Island. It's amazing !

731259.jpg

Tamarind
Your gal sure looks like she enjoys her trip veri much.How I wish I can be like you leave the younger one at home....

Hippo2002
My gal attended kinderland at marine parade.One draw back about that place is that air con too strong...

Rainbow,
I feed Nurofen only if the temperature is over 38 degrees. It is very effective in lowering the temperature. But I can only feed again 6 hours later. So if 3 hours later the temperature goes above 37.5, I give panadol.

A few PDs told me that it is OK to use Nurofen leh, but not more than 3 times a day.

I have actually been on holiday on my own a couple of times after the kids are born. I am lucky that my mother helps to take care of them.

Are your kids very sticky to you ? When I am at home, my younger boy can become so sticky to me, he will cry if I go to the toilet. Cannot tahan leh, that's why need a break.

hippo2002,
Chloe was quite like your elder girl, especially when she was younger. She likes to throw terrible tantrums to get what she wants. It's a way to test our will power. I tried very hard not to give in to her, and now at almost 4 years old, things are much better. She is well behaved most of the time. At times when she wants something and cannot get it, I can usually stop her tantrums by explaining to her, sometimes need to bluff her a bit.

My younger boy has always been very sweet natured and easier to control, like your younger one.

I wonder if this is typical of first born and second born children ?

Tamarind: your girls so big now!!! cute bikini too
seems she had a great time!! can't wait till my DD is big and healthy enough so we can bring her overseas more.

re: first born vs second child... i was the first born, but my sister who came after me 4 years later was the one who would throw tantrums, etc, one time when she was about 1.5 she was so mad the nanny wasn't there when she woke up she pulled out a whole chunk of hair till she had a bald spot!! i think it has a lot to do with whether the child can accept they are not the centre of the universe.. but i think in most cases, the first one will always be the opposite of the second one.

hippo, maybe your daughter is acting up out of jealousy? were you able to explain to her that even tho she has a sibling you will still love her just as much?? Maybe you can try to have some one on one time with her alone. am just thinking that if you do not try to mend your relationship with your eldest, it may be too late once she has her own interests and own friends. just a thought...

kinda glad now i won't be put in the situation where i have to balance two kids! i can pour out all my love to my sabie

happy cow, Patsy
I suspect it's jealousy too, even though I always assure her I love her. She's very competitive and wants to win in everything, including mommy's love. Because I'm her favourite person, she cannot tolerate her sister sharing my attention and the outlet is through her tantrum.
When she's not picking a fight, she's really a charming girl and very presentable.

Tamarind
your girl listens to reasons. My girl will listen only after she cools down from her tantrum, not before. Her terror 2 is over extended. Do you sense siblings rivalry between your kids?
Krabi beach looked very tempting :eek:)

Cowandchick
Thanks for your advice. I think will let my younger girl trial for tots ballet. my chubby girl in leotards will look very cute leh

Patsy,
I love that bikini too
Yes it is better to bring your DD when she is older. I brought Chloe to Bangkok when she was 2 years old, and it was super tiring. This time she is bigger and it is so relaxing.

Oh dear your sister really have a bad temper.

My girl used to think that she is the centre of the universe before her baby brother is born.

hippo2002,
My kids like to compete for my attention. But they don't compete with each other. Their abilities are too far apart and cannot be compared. They will fight sometimes and I will always make sure they hug and kiss and say sorry. I tell my girl that I will love her very much if she loves her brother, and she understands that.

Does your elder girl bully your younger girl ? Do they compete with each other ?

not sure whether this is bullying?
one example: my elder girl will rush to sit on the potty whenever her younger sister says she wants to use the potty. Then my younger girl will start crying. She just like to disturb her younger sis to make her cry

But my younger one adores her elder sister, think she is extremely clever and look up to her elder sister. they sleep together. Even my elder girl commented mei mei loves her no. 1

I tried to tatoo the 'love your siblings' concept into their brains since they are young. They play together everyday, best playmates. Any disagreements they usually resolve among thmeselves, I don't interfer until they start screaming at each other.
She is also very protective of her younger sister when they are outside.

Hippo, am sure she will outgrow this stage, just try to be closer to her, not to late to explain that your heart big enough to love them both lor

tamarind: yah, we've only ever taken her back home to my mum's place but that's ok coz got a few maids and lots of cousins/aunties to help look after her. HB was saying we bring her to the Europe while her plane fare still cheap i told him can, as long as he does all the packing, planning ,etc! my daughter is allergic to tomatoes, strawberries, kiwi, oranges and becasue of her heart condition eats no salt, so it's very hard to feed her outside food for now. so no trips for a while for her!! and also i travel so much for work going on an airplane scares me, haha!

was watchiing discovery home and health the other day and this couple had a 2nd child, they made sure everyone brought presents for the elder child also, and gave her a toy and said it was from their baby bro.. mabye to show her that even if got baby bro, everyone still loves her!

hippo, it's normal sibling competition i would think. quite normal. one thing you shouldn't do is drum into your eldest that she should always give in to her sister, coz that's what my mum did with me, specially coz my 2nd sister was very hard to manage, so at one time, i really resented my 2nd sister, coz always have to give in.