(2008/03) March 2008

yasmin,
i did compare Beco and Ergo (only online) and found that the ergo will look good on a man. since i want it for my hubby to use not me, i still use baby bjorn. the beco look very charbor lor, what's with the butterfly design and all..kekeke..

abc,
i got the Fisherprice walker cum ride-on. i think its' better than the one you're displaying. take note, in walker mode, the wheel is so loose it's easy for them to fall forward while walking on to it. so you have to guide them and be around. i think best method to walk-train a baby is to let them cruise around furniture or bedside under parent's supervision of course.

A mother and my uncle said the same thing to me: Baby's concentration span is very short now. So when u actually read to them or u flash the cards at them most of the time, they wont see. Or they will just take a glance. But since the baby's brain have not mature, they are not only using one part of the brain. By flashing the card at high speed, u are actually training their right brain. So it's ok if they dun look very long or they dun look, cos as long as they got listen and take a glance, they will have the impression of the thing u show them. For intensive training, do it 3 times a day. That's what schichida method is all about. But of course, they have more materials.. My uncle enrol his son in the Schichida class for 2 terms. find it ok only

shirely
great idea ! we will order cupcakes with all the children's names on top, if 20 babies, only $50 for cakes, can keep to the budget of not more than $150 ..

so the cupcakes we leave to u ?

<font color="0000ff">Dear all, pls keep 4 April 2009 free..easy date to remember !</font>

melissa
i see. but i'll be the one mostly using it. true, the ergo design is more unisex. but i thought of getting a plain design rather than get butterflies! so my hubby also can use on and off.

bumper mat:
I brought the yellow bear, colour very radiant bb likes it, it’s big and gd cushioning. The only thing I dun like is the rubber smell. I tried airing it for afew days, till now the smell is still slightly there. Thinking of getting another one but no budget lah… yesterday I saw wantsons &amp; guardian selling yoga mat, cost $12.90 only. Am thinking if I shld just buy pieces of yoga mat to fill up the room for bb to crawl. Any mummies doing this?

Isabellali,

Ya, the course has lots of material. Either to make yrself or buy from them. My frd told me the materials r not cheap either. But she finds them quite worthwhile and she can see improvement in her son in long term. But she says the parent has to be v hardworking as well in teaching the child. I saw the materials and find them v interesting. I will still try it out and see how it's like.

Petrina,

Maybe when yr boy grows older, he will be a smiley boy too like wht Shirley says. But when I become kee siao, I forgot abt his smiley face. Too angry and tired to think abt it. haha!

yasmin, if u still bfing, ergo u can bf in it.. beco cannot becoz of the infant insert.

jerejoy, hopefully...

btw, juz a qn, anyone's baby's tongue is constantly sticking out? or slanting to 1 side? esp during playtime?

PETRINA,

my son does not...but its not consistently...today you might c him doing it frequently..next day you might not...not sure if it is because he is teething

bb pink

pls do let me the final venue for the one yr birthday celebration as i need to book 2 months in advance to have the function room.

cannot understand why every weekend it always booked from morning till nite !!

babypink

the cupcake and cake can be from the same person. We can do a small cake on top of the cupcake stand and with all the little cupcakes surrounding the stand. i dont mind ordering for the birthday party but we need to know the babies names to furnish to the baker, mong. Maybe other mummies have other suggestions for cupcakes/cakes?

pet

see my cheeky boy who doesnt smile at camera in the past! imagine him with his thick eyebrow and not smiling, like i owe him lots of money! haha
1800596.jpg

wow,
how can you girls get your babies to be so chubby like that. look at Lele! so chubby! my tricia must be one of the smallest one here liao. she's only 7kg at 7 months and just not so chubby lor.

clover
honestly, i didnt quite like the cake taste and with the icing outside, a bit too sweet for my liking cos i ordered the nutella flavour. but the cupcakes were very well received.
actually my friends find that barney look a bit like ninja turtle haha but overall still a nice looking cake

As for lele's hair, no more afro liao trying to grow her hair longer so that can tie up but hor, she perspire a lot so my mum keep cutting so dont think can tie so soon.

Melissa
Lele only look chubby on photo, she is abt 7kg at 6mths plus. but definitely more chubby than her bro. zac zac is a bottomless pit that will not grow fat,now he is only about 11.2kg whereas most tod around his age already 13/14kg.

shirley, the fondant is meant to be sweet. if the cake is not sweet, then supp to eat together with cake to complement each other. u can email to her and feedback. i am sure she will appreciate it. the cupcakes i ordered are well received too.

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">Crystal,

Congrats. Hope you have straighten yr thoughts and things are looking well for you. Rest well</font>

<font color="aa00aa"><u>Bumper mat</u>,

I personally feel is a great investment. I bot the world map for my #1. It's 2 yrs plus now &amp; condition is still gd. My girl learnt different country names &amp; their costume from e mat. Josiah loves the bright colour &amp; it's cooling enough for him to nap there in the afternoon. He learnt his crawl/flip etc all on e mat</font>

<font color="0000ff"><u>DIY Flashcard</u>

Here's some for those mummy who wants to DIY their own Flashcard. Josiah responds pretty well to e cards. Try to stick to not more than 20 sec per session but can flash a few times throughout e day, w reasonable gap time. I will go dig up other if anyone is keen.

http://www.babybumblebee.com/company/freebies.cfm

attachment_icon.gif

dotcard - Front.rar (49.6 k)</td></tr></table></center></font>

<font color="0000ff">mikael,

Where did u bring yr #1 for pony ride? I wana bring my girl too</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mummylian,

wow U hv 4 kiddo... tt's our aim too though we are not very sure if I can cope *hahaha* Mus learn a trick or 2 from U.

I'm a FTWM to 3yrs 4 wks old Janelle &amp; 8mths 5 days old Josiah</font></font>

Celia
i understand, tat's y we urged all mummies to confirm their attendance and tt $30 to Clover by end oct 08, then u can go and book the fnx rm if all r agreeable
fnx rm is free rite ?

Shirley

<font color="0000ff">Working Committee

<table border=1><tr><td>Roles</TD><TD>In-charge </TD></TR><TR><TD>Treasurer</TD><TD>Clover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Budgeting &amp; Lobang finding</TD><TD>bbpink </TD></TR><TR><TD>Banner</TD><TD>bbpink </TD></TR><TR><TD>Function Rm </TD><TD>celia or ivy or abc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cake</TD><TD>Clover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cupcakes</TD><TD>Shirley </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mickey Mouse/Minnie Mouse Agar Agar </TD><TD>abc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Halal Buffet</TD><TD>tbc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Turning Up ( VERY IMPT)</TD><TD>March thread mummies
</TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Clover
Wat details r needed for march bb? Cant get access to the info :p

1st BD Party
BBpink, can i put down the names later as i cant commit now till nearer the date subject to hb' leave approval from his sup. If i come, only Shevon and I will attend. Let me know.

Simp

not details, just tt the $ to Clover and she will update lah

does not matter, it is $30 per family ( up to 3 adults)

if ur hb cannot make it, bring the grandparents !

dear fellow working committee members :p

do ask for receipt for the purchases, then can claim $ fr treasurer
do share with us the costings too

hello mummies!
did anyone post something abt a kindermusik trial class coming up? cos i am interested in it but can't seem to be able to find the thread..

Just placed my order for the Ergo baby carrier at mummysmilk.com. Thanks Pet and Melissa for the comments. Chose the Ergo over the Beco as they have a pouch to keep stuff. I like to travel light so a natural choice. But the Beco has more funky designs.

Botanic Gardens
I'm in. Can't find the list though. It has been overtaken by babypink's brilliant idea of a birthday bash

Birthday Bash
Would love to come but can only confirm later.

Clover
To set the ball rolling, I have already tt $30 to ur POSB 096224818

Regarding Confirmation

Hope every mummy can confirm and tt to clover by end Oct..then we can start to source and confirm our orders b4 any price rise..:p

<font color="0000ff">Issues to be voted

buffet - ladies to suggest halal good caterer ..value for $, 10-15 per head kind with a lot of food :p

<font color="0000ff">CAKE</font>

how abt a No. 1 cake for the babies ?

went to do some research also..so got some options

1. Prima deli - $57 ( 1.5kg min)http://www.primadeli.com/shopatprimadeli/category.asp?CaID=19

B. Four Leaves - $65 (20cm x 30cm)
http://www.fourleaves.com.sg/webtop/cakes/wedding.html#occasions

C. Bengawan solo - $90 (2.5kg min)
http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/prod_kids.aspx?id=60

D. Polar - min 3 kg - $100.80
http://www.polarpuffs-cakes.com/
( quotation i called centrept polar, cannot find on site)

<font color="0000ff">Cupcakes- heard are cheap and taste good
24 for $39.80, less than $2 each

http://www.primadeli.com/shopatprimadeli/category.asp?CaID=35

<font color="0000ff">Clover, Shirley, maybe can share ur quotation also

simp, just need to tell me how many pax is attending.

bbpink, think need to get a v spacious function room? u wan me to check on the pine garden cake? how many kg??

beco vs ergo
i'm a strong fans of ergo.been using tat for #1 n nw #2. can nvr leave hm without it.

I ordered mickey mouse agar agar cake for Andrae 's bb shower. let me dig out d pic to show u all.

push walker
I saw toyrus hving sales for d little tikes push walker.I like it cos wheels has 5 adjustable speend.Andrae is trying to hold on to it to stand n attempting to walk. $39.95. A very gd investment . both kids love d toys tat comes with it too.

clover
hehe, the min wt required by PG lor

cake is to eat a little bit and for pic taking only :p

is the tt successful ?

abc
i think we can order both mickey mouse and minnie mouse
then can have pictures of all teh boys with mickey agar
and all gals with minnie agar

and of cos all babies with both

how much is it..i think must place order early also..in case they too busy and cannot take our order..remember i tried last year and they said something like tis

<font color="0000ff">Halal Caterers</font>

http://www.cateringonline.sg/caterer/halal/

<table border=1><tr><td>Halal Caterers</TD><TD>Sites </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>http://www.chilliapi.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>http://www.delihub.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>http://www.fourseasons.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>http://www.intl.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>http://www.kckfood.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>http://www.kedaikuekue.com/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>http://www.ohsfarm.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>http://www.sakunthala.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>http://www.stamfordcs.com.sg/index.html </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>http://www.yelianghow.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>http://www.eatzi.com.sg/ </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Ye Liang How is recommended by a colleague..i noe the name is obiang and kind of spoils the image..but she said the food is yummy..

Price is reasonable also..

i think a few mummies here used chillipadi for their baby's full mth celebration. their feedbacks were gd. muz ask them again. i think kais n lingyee. nt very sure though.

<font color="0000ff">The Proposal</font>

think bbies get cranky in the afternoon ? so was thinking of this..let the majority decide

<table border=1><tr><td>Event </TD><TD>March 2008 Thread 1st Birthday Bash </TD></TR><TR><TD>Date</TD><TD>4-Apr-09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11am-3pm</TD><TD>Book Fnx Rm </TD></TR><TR><TD>11:30 AM</TD><TD>Cakecutting &amp; Agar Agar Cutting </TD></TR><TR><TD>11:30 AM</TD><TD>Phototaking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Noon </TD><TD>Lunch </TD></TR><TR><TD>1pm</TD><TD>Lucky Draw ( Vtech toys ?) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>*</TD><TD>Toys to buy during sales </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

aly, clover

for buffet, food must taste good, price cheap and food quantity a lot

meaning i order for 30 pax..quantity can serve 50 :p

r those 2 ok in these aspects ?

i remember kais saying chilli padi not a lot of food, did i remember correctly..pls correct me if i m wrong :p

Halal Caterer
I personally would recommend these 3. Food's not bad, service professional and servings generous.
From your list I've onyl eaten sakunthala's. Their food is nice. But if you're looking at Indian Buffet menu there's a whole other list. I sugget Asian Buffet or local favourites so that there is a variety.
Eatz Catering - http://www.eatzcatering.com/
ISS - http://iss-catering.com/
Elsie's Kitchen - www.elsiekitchen.com.sg/

Babypink
Events line ah,same here. Was doing events and functions during my stint at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
I love it. But like what Reena said, not sure if I am willing to burn my weekends now.

ya i understand. I actually used to fly a lot too as I organised trips overseas. It used to be so tiring and at one point in time I was living out of my suitcase.

Birthday Celebration,
m keen to join but date cannot confirm leh.

Playmat,
good invsm i feel. A place for bb to activity area for play more safely. Now he is learning how to walk with the support of the sofa. Can feel a bit safer if he were to fall on the mat. Plus, my son likes to swing backwards even when sitting down. Its stil painful when he does tat on the playmat ( cos me n my hubby tried to swing back oso ).
We bot the yoga mat as well, not so cushioned. In fact, its very thin. Aly, if wanna try both can come to my place.

Anyone tried potatoes for your bb? I cut n steam then mash it. But it turned out to be like glue. Added milk n water but stil very 'gluey'. Any advice, Mummies? Maybe I should blend it.

mummies, how to thaw food fr baby cube? do I just place the cube in the food warmer? I hv never use my food warmer (fr the pigeon 3-in-1 series) n not sure whether the cube will melt.

clover
yes just place the baby cube in warmer. The baby cube can be sterilise too and microwaved.

YT
What kind of potato did u get? Different types of potato will give u different texture. Anyway safer to blend as mash will still have some lumps present. The 'glue' is due to the starch present.

babypink
i advise to rent a bumpermat or perhaps anyone who bought the bumper mat can lend us? That's what the feb mummies did. Whenever they hv playdates mummies who have the bumper mat (and of cos driving) will bring the bumper mat for the playdate.

agar agar cake
No need to order tat early. Prob one mth in advance. I will email them for the quote first. Keep u guys updated

abc, thanks~

xmas party
we had the xmas party at kais last yr when we were all still preg. it will be fun to throw another one with our kiddos in tow. anyone staying in condo with function room still available? 13 or 20 dec. :>

hey, i am keen for e bday celebratn. but like abc, my dd wil be 13mths plus liao lah...haha cos mine thk is e eldest in tis thread. borned 15 feb 08. :p