(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2nat,
Breaking toys..very common. Most of the time, I worry that my boys will hit or spoil other people's toy. My son told me if you don't help me, I also won't help you to do anything!

Talking about emotionally disturbed, I think Zachary is the one who is emotionally disturbed. He has been complaining that I don't love him anymore each time he does not get thingshis way. He has not been going to school for the past few days as he was down with influenza A. Everyday throw tantrums until I buay tahan.

Even told me he wouldn't lend me the iPad (but it's mine!!!)

As for imitation, it is there. That's why we must be good role models!!! Sometimes when I nag too much in class the same thing over and over again, the sentences will find its way into their compositions!!!

Blackbatz
My fren's kid got influenza B... Got diff? So these few days u puling ur hair with 3 fellas ard!

She say "Elliot has emotional issues he can't resolve himself!" Sounds profound! She thinks her kids and kids she know dun say things like tat. And Elliot is unhappy. Hmmm... I always tot it is a phase. But my kids were indeed not v happy that day. During the gathering, most of the kids were playing... Not together, but with their iPads and iPhones. Elliot snuggled up to pple to kaypo, then pple shoo him or dun let him c, he will say mean things or hit pple. I heard he poked someone's eye. I can't deny E v mischievous and itchy finger, 讲不听.

Actually I dun like kids to play iPads at outings! So end up I am a mean mommy who refused to let them play with my gadgets. At the end of the day, they say they like to go to this house, cos got 1 pc, 2 iPads and 2 laptops! All for the wrong reasons!

Mom2nat, er, 'dun friend you' is so common. I said it when I was young and my pri school classmates. RA said it last yr too cos she imitated some classmate. I don't think I am emotionally disturbed lor. Of course, it doesn't sound nice lar but no need to see dr lar. Your friend a bit "kuachang" leh.

Just teach Elliot to say something more positive since he won't like it if his friend says it to him.

RA likes to say 不好吃. Very embarassing when it is someone else's cooking and I also get upset if she says my home cooked food 不好吃. So, I taught her to say 我不喜欢吃. Don't say 不好吃 because whether something tastes nice or not is subjective. You don't like it doesn't mean it is not nice. When you say 不好吃, it hurts the other person's feelings. Scared too cheem for her so I gave her example. She loves to eat Tic Tac (Mango flavour) and I told her if you offer your tic tac to Mummy and Mummy say 不好吃, you don't feel good right? But if I say 我不喜欢吃糖, you feel better right? So now, at least she makes a effort to change.

Blackbatz, RA said she won't lend me the iphone when I need it and she wants to play. But it's mine, I always remind her... -_-

Mom2nat, shopping? You going to Isetan Private Sale tomorrow?

Mom2nat,
Pulling my hair is an understatement. Luckily hubby took 1 days off to help me and elder one is in school. So it was just enduring #2's nonsense.

Don't even have time to pack for my Bali trip. Like I mentioned in FB, I am going there to sleep through the night...

re: ipad/iphone
I don't allow C to use ipad/iphone when we go out with friends already. Rarely have the chance to go out and socialise and there would be times, C would rather play iphone than play with her cousins or friends!

There was once we were out with hubby's family, C die die don't want to return me my iphone when her cousins came. I asked her to return and go play with her cousns but she said she didn't want to. Wah, I flare up and she kena from me in the restaurant. From then onwards, I told her I wasn't going to let her use my iphone outside anymore since she could not control herself.

Now also makesure thatshe doesnt know the password so that she cannotuse with my permission :p

my iPhone is totally out of bounds to Lexie. n we dun bring the iPad out. she only gets to use the iPad at home n only when she ask permission

B gets to play with my iphone at a fixed time ie. after he bathes and changes at night. Usually just for 15-20 mins then he will return to me. He never asks for it and I don't let him play when we're outside. Only exception is when we go to my mom's place on sundays, there are too many iphones and ipads around and he will request for one to play with.

mom2nat,
B dun say such things but 1 girl from his school always says it...to anyone who passes by. She'll scream 'I dun friend you, you are not my friend!". I guess it's all imitation and they learn it from one another in school. Just explain to them that it's not nice to say such things lor...nothing serious bah.

mom2nat,
my daughter also says 'I am not your friend', 'i dun like you' when she's not happy.
learned it from friends in school.
i find it's very normal.

a joke to share (C is my daughter):
C: I am not your friend.
Dad: Yes, of course. You are not my friend. I am your daddy.
C: I am not your daddy.
Dad: Yes, of course. You are not my daddy.
C: ......

We used to away let C use iphone during dinner time so that she wont disturb us. Now realised is a hugeeee mistake. I forbid hubby to bring ipad out too.. I try to set good exampl too. no iphoning outside while waiting for food. Hehe...

So difficult being a parent :p

iphone and iPad are totally not allowed during our dinner time too. in fact, at home, the kids are required to sit down n finish their meal before they can stand up from their seats. When we are out, they are supposed to wait until everyone finish dinner before they can stand up and play.
However, my parents n BIL like to spoilt my rules. My parents love to give my kids iPhone, while my BIL love to bring them to see fish, etc. while the food are not here yet or let me kids play with iPhone.

blackbatz,
I went Bali to recharge last year with my hb. but within a week of coming back, my battery is all drained up by the kids again..hehhe..then again, i love the idea where i don't need to wake up at night for night feed and can sleep through the nights for the 4 days when i am there..

shannonbaby,
So nice to get a break from the kids. We went to Bali for the 1st time last year and we loved it! But we bring B along for all our holidays. It feels weird if he isn't around, we don't know what to do with ourselves...LOL.

Today my cousin brought her 5 kids over to do the scout cub's cleaning week(forgot the name)... 5 leh!!! she homeschools all, and no maid. They played with my girl, watever toys available. No ipad iphone watever... I prefer like tat lor.

kitsune
LIke how you teach your girl to say in a nicer way, sometimes we are so tired of repeating or saying and saying liao. I will end up being v curt and snap at them... I might even say go away!

Last week Elliot used the bathtub to bathe, Nat wanted, then hb say no time, cannot today. She replied "Then you better give me tomorrow".. HB so pissed. Actually hor, she sounded really demanding and rude, but dun think she meant it tat way. Cos we always say" You better eat or else... you better quickly .... " Sigh... sometimes is our own fault for not watching our lingo.

Sorry I din reply abt isetan sale. I was v busy on thur and fri cos I din let E go to sch. Today I hear his class has 1 more hfmd case leh!! Sigh ah... total 4 liao. Think if I keep him at home somemore.. might as well dun go liao.

Blackbatz
Ay, you shiok shiok soaking in villa now ah?

Mcfluffy
SCGS, not st nicks

Mcfluffy / grumpus
See hor, my fren's reasoning is only Saturdays they get to use ipad and iphone, but no leh, sch hols we meet they always using. Then I become like the bad person dun give. I bot the ipad for the kids to play, but it is a BIG mistake!!!! always fighting who gets to use, who this who tat.

Xiaoyun
Ha, I use tat too!! I say I dun wan to be frens too, cos I AM MOMMY!!! opps...

Yvonne
Elliot like to disturb pple oso leh, like push pple, or poke them or hit them, lightly but you can tell he fed up, venting his anger. I oso dunno how, tell him, time out... hopefully this phase goes off soon or else i am gg crazy.

shannonbaby
My nephews bring PSP... no need to communicate. All just press press, the kids sit ard him hoping to see and play too. DUnno isit I am too strict or wat. Or am I depriving them to LEARN from those softwares?

mom2nat
I can imagine the fighting! already my 2 are fighting over the iPad. only Lexie knows how to use but aly will lean over n wanna see then the hand anyhow smack. then Lexie scream 'mummy she disturb me!'
haiz when aly knows how to use the iPad will be more jia lat. I treat it as a good opportunity to teach them to share.

I know wat u mean abt being rude. Lexie also always say I told u I need to go toilet or I told u I'm still hungry. I'm always correcting her telling her to ask nicely. but I realise it's also cos I say tat to her
like 'i told u if u eat too many sweets u'll get a cough'

grumpus
Yah, this will say jie jie this, mei mei tat...
Precisely, I realise they speak like us. Elliot will tell my maid "I told you how many times to cut my bread into smaller pieces"... bcos I always say "how many times you need me to tell you to wash your hands... blah blah"
Coming back at me strongly liao...

hi mommies!

long time no "see"! What is this chat thingy that u all are talking about?

anyway, jus popping by to say hello and to say that i'm going back Sg for a short trip from 29mar to 4apr. It's for ching ming, going to pay respect and first time bringing Rylee to the cemetery to baibai my father. A little worried if she's gonna run around! Has anyone brought their kids to the cemetery during ching ming? Is she too young?

I'm flying back solo with her cos hubby needs to work.

Anyone wants to meet up? Would love to

mylife
we're all using LINE app to chat on phone. very happening. haha. u ask pixie add u or u pm me yr hp I add u

let's arrange a meet up! haven't seen u in so long

mylife, hey, download LINE and join us in the chat!

hope to catch up with u. yea shaun went to cemetery in aus before to pay respect to my hubby's uncle, last December.

i can only catch up with you on weekends!

LINE? i got leh, jus not updated only. Cos when i first bought iPhone and downloading apps, i stupidly registered as SG, then now chg to HK, so lots of apps i bought with my SG cant be updated! Very ma huan.

everyone still talking online ah?

grumpus
when ru free? i'm on for a meetup gathering!

tongtong
sat i'm going to pay respect to my dad's grave for ching ming. Sun i'm free.

mylife
i'm free weekdays between 830am to 10.30am then I hv to pick lexie from sch. after tat i'm free for lunch
weekends usually available too!
y dun u pm me n we arrange something through email or whatsapp

Wah, didn't know you all still talking here. I didn't receive e-mail notification, thought no one post here liao.

Blackbatz and shannonbaby and Yvonne not LINE-ing yet. Wanna to be added :)

MYLIFE - I left you message LINE but you have left the chat. Would you prefer 31st March or 1st April? FTWM can only do weekends meet up.

Hi, Naf, LINE is an iphone application. A lot of us chatting online now. I still come in to check from time to time but looks like most prefer to chat through LINE cos hp more convenient. haha.

Naf, Kam introduced us to LINE. There is no restriction on the number of people in the chat. ;) I am still not very good in this app though. But it is more convenient lar, cos I can post even when trying to put my kids to sleep. haha.

How are your kids btw?

Super angry with my stupid sis in law. She only sayang my no. 1, want to buy her those heelys but later my no. 2 will fuss... Told her dun buy but she still keep insisting then later 2 gals fighting and give me problems...

She think like my no. 1 is like hers. Always interfere my teaching for my child!!! I

She can even comments that I dun noe how to teach my child!!!! Super furious!!!

This type of stupid idiots who think they can help u and they can take over completely.

Kellie, oic, maybe ask her nicely to buy 2 pairs, if not dun buy. Nowadays, I tell my bro that when he buys something for no. 1 only ESP snacks. By the way, r u in LINE?

Tongtong, haha, thanks, no one else posts here hor? Think my specs power is getting higher from squinting at the iphone 's LINE though. Downloaded the app to Ipad but it doesn't work in two devices. haha.

Thanks Pauline, kids r fine...#1 settling down in Pri 1 and #2 getting better in K1...but both still drive me to wall at times! Bb girl now 17months fun to play with but very sticky probably becuz lookin aft her day n night.

Naf, oh you have 3 kids? Peifu peifu. I think in our thread, only blackbatz, mom2nat, you and most recently Janice have 3 kids. But at least the age gap between your no. 2 and no. 3 is 4 yrs.

I just wanna check and get advise from all of you... cos I busy till I forget all about TT's doc appt at her PD ..... is it ok to miss?

thanks in advance