(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

DeVeera, tell me when u figure out a way to make ur bb not to doze off during feed and not to nipple-nibble :p

och, my funnel does not have the label...maybe cos its a old batch (from my sis)... sayang ur gal.... hope she will be more comfortable soon...

kimi, think of it this way - the reason why men are not mothers is because if this kind of things happen to them, they will get even more depress cos even they themselves will not be able to handle it. Trust me. For ur bb, what I did sometimes (if she allows me) is to put one of her hands (eg, left hand if feeding ur right breast) kind of below ur armpit so that the hand cannot come up to scratch face. Then hold her other hand (her palm) with ur free hand that is not carrying her. But sometimes she will cry like that cos she felt restrained. You try and see if that helps. My hubby now don't want me to latch on cos he cannot handle bb starting to cry again in one hours' time! Can u imagine how ridiculous that is?

MBB, thanks!

Vanessa still waiting for ur sms if u r interested in my sis' pump.

Vanessa,

Not that I don't want to give the BM to my elder son. He just don't like. He will not drink his whole bottle of milk if I add any amount of BM into this bottle
I guess he had enough of my BM liao since I bf him till he was 20 months then

Hi Jen...

Cherish the personal time u hv wif yr bb in yr tummy...I dunno y...I miss the feelin of my bb in my tummy sooooooooo much...tat I cried...(mabbe itz the hormones)...I wil identify the vibrations which I felt in my tummy to be his legs...the knuckles to be his knees...then tears jus flow down...

When I hd red discharge...my gynae oso told me to call the emergency line oni if there r contractions or the burstin of the waterbag...

Hi Starluster...

Did u gif birth in ESH as well?...my bb was oso very well behaved in hospital...perhaps itz prob due to the fact tat I dun c him fussin in the nursery...I tink all bbs pee n poo while feedin...itz quite norm...my bb oso suckle for a while...dozes off...n so on...he seems to like fussin at nite too...same same pattern as when he was in my tummy...

Do u express yr BM...I dun monitor my flow AT ALL...cos I hv been doin total latchin since I was in hospital...as long as my bb pee n poo is ok...dun gif yrself too much stress on BM...

Hi Kimi...

My bb oso has heat rashes on his forehead n "pimples" on face...me oso very very "sim tiah"...I blamed it on the fact tat despite my protest...my MIL kept insistin tat we close the windows wif no aircon for bb...so stuffy...in the end...I flared up...n opened the windows...by then...my bb has developed heat rashes liao...

Hi Och...

My heart goes out to u...next time...jus turn yr back to the stupid adult starin at yr bb...

Hi galz...

I hv been hvg prob oso wif my "confinemt nanny"...my MIL...guess wat she asked me to eat for lunch jus now...bread wif milo...I told her straight tat I dun wanna eat...n she asked me if I wanna be "sheng xian"...#@%#!!!...yest I hd fried rice...win liao lor...n even tho I hd an episiotomy...she cooked eggs for me fm the day I was discharged...I refuse to let her carry or handle my bb...but she likes to add her 2 cents worth of comments on the way my hb n I change our bb soiled diapers...bathe our bb...the rm temp...etc. ...tat I cried coz of my fustration...

hi ladies!
Long time no pop in here. Congrats to all mommies who popped recently. I'm catching up on reading the posts and seems like many of us have same challenges.

I was also like starluster n MBB, bb seem so guai in hosp but come home liao cry so much! wah, quite stress!

Then i discovered my bb dun like to sleep in my room and i suspect its the aircon sound she sensitive to. First nite we bring her home, we on aircon, she cry and refuse to sleep. We didnt know wat happen. Subsequently, my MIL and Mum took turns to sleep with bb in bb room, they dun on aircon, bb slept so well. During weekend, hb and i took care of bb at nite and again she cry and wont sleep till we put her in her own room! Then, afternoon nap, she nap with us in our room cos we didnt on aircon! Haiz!

then, oso worry not enuf milk cos earlier pump only 10ml. Even now pump like 20-30ml nia.
Then, felt so guilty abt having to supplement with FM since day 2 of bb being home cos she dun latch properly, cry and cry. Plus, bb didnt poo or pee at all! Even got private Lactation Consultant come my home. She oso really stuff my nipple and aerola into bb mouth! I look at her oso dunno how to do it cos like really forcing lidat, plus the angle all wrong, plus, i dun hv 3 hands - 1 to hold bb, one to stop her hands blocking her face and another to force nipple in her mouth!

Was so stress first few days i cried.
Hb was so worried abt me that he told me dun worry abt TBF so much, FM is ok. So he told me to still let bb suckle, then after that, feed EBM, then feed formula (cos EBM not enuff), then after that I pump. I've been doing this since last Wed.

Im oso so zealous in pumping to ensure bb get some BM, my nipples hurt like mad...as i sit here and type, nipples oso throbbing...like deformed lidat, think got blisters.
This morning so angry wif bb cos she refused to drink the EBM from last nite. In the end i had to throw away.
each drop of EBM is really precious!

Thank God i have supportive families (in terms of Bfg) and hb, but sometimes, i still feel "alone", cos there are things that others can help so much with. And sometimes like so many ppl in the house, also tiring....Haiz.... I really look forward to weekends when my hb can be with me.

Sometimes, families can oso cause frustration and i wonder how they ever brought me up when i was bb? Ask my mum to check bb diaper, she said clean, next moment i check, bb poo all over!! I ask her how she check one??! Open the diaper and look lah! My mum can tell me many years never look after bb liao cannot remember! Aiyoh, check diaper oso cannot check properly!!! Then, my dad can say very boring nothing to do. Of cos when bb sleeping nothing to do la!! wah lau! All he does is get scientific abt things, want to put bb on a strict 3hr feeding schedule, ask me why she not on schedule (aiyoh, if bb cry and cry how to follow schedule???), then ask me why she is lighter than her birth weight, like i starving her lidat! I had to explain that it's bcos bb will lose some weight after a couple days (even the doctors said so cos her discharge weight drop a bit) and then he will tell me "i know, i know" like some know it all...if know then why ask me?? And cannot get angry with them cos they are sensitive! Then they (inclg my MIL) can try to give me their "expert" advise! If they can't even check bb diaper properly how to give me expert advise??!! Sigh!

My frens hv oso been supportive. Lately, I've found out that several of my frens oso didn't BF their bb (just FM only) or did wat I did (EBM + FM combi) cos they either hv no milk ss or very low ss. So, i feel a bit better abt using FM to supplement. Even my guy frens shared their wives' experience and told me not to be stressed as their bb is healthy even tho on FM.

Chang,
I know it's not easy your hb not in town for so long and leave u with your MIL. Hang it there. Can u ask your mum to drop by?

och,
i really feel for you. Will keep u in prayer.

Looks like many of us face similar challenges with bb, feedings, family. Let' hang in there together.

so glad i haf this forum. feel so much better after venting here n reading ur postings. in fact, tink i'm ok liao. just damn tired...

vanessa,

yah.... seems like everybody's going thru somewat e same problems... so we just confide here lor. i guess our hubbies din go thru it, so they really dun get e stress n tiredness tt comes w it. act. can't blame them.... i heard bt how tiring it'll b b4 tt, but when u act. start motherhood then u noe how demanding motherhood is.... so unless u've been thru it, i guess u won't b able to understand ever.... heh heh...

bloom,

yah... tt's y men dun haf milk. they're wired differently i guess so tehy cope w situations differently. somehow i tink they can't understand y women tend to cry.... heh heh...

MBB,

my mum oso like tt. she seems to want to call e shots. kept insisting tt we dunno wat to do. it's been like tt since pregy so we had to pre-empt n prevent her fr doing confinement 4 me. she'll ask who bathe e bb? i say we can. she'll say we can't. i say MIL can help, she say "she noes how meh?" then she'll always "ur hubby noes how to change diapers meh?" etc etc.... v starnge hor. i oso tot she'll be happy n proud tt her daughter can cope by herself n no need to depend on others. but she seems unhappy tt we dun need her help... well, i guess at their age, they just wanna feel useful again.... *shrugs* she oso dun like e idea o me being a SAHM. tink she tinks it's q useless o me nt to go outside n earn more money...

karen,

u change e mittens after every feed? how many pairs do u haf? currently i only haf 3 pairs lor so can't afford 2 do tt. hubby just went out 2 buy more... tt means u change e mittens 8 times a day? woah!

i did wipe her face clean. but her acne is mostly at her forehead n T-zone. read tt it's bcos o e mother's (aka me) hormones which had passed to her during birth. these acne usu starts ard 3-4 wks n wld coincide w e peak o bb's fussiness n mother's sleep deprivation! ha! how true.... sian.... just when she's gonna haf her full mth celebration...

vanessa,

4got to ask u. so r u excited bt being a SAHM??? u really gonna quit ur job zhun zhun at 3rd mth? heh heh...

just now went to hug hubby. he told me i've to b strong. i told him i will but he must support me n let me cry cos tt's how i release stress. everything's ok now.

like wat vanessa said, our bbs wld grow up!

now i more headache bt how i'd find time to clean up e house cos sat's bb's full mth celebration at our place. just cleaned e hood n door yesterday. wanted to clean e kitchen today but doubt i'll haf much energy... haiz... will go eat lunch now n c if there's time 4 a nap... take care ladies...

Choo,
I am also waiting like you : ) My EDD is this Sat, just came back from Eunice's clinic. Baby is now 3.4kg, quite a big one ya. She said she will see if we need to induce. Have you thought of going for induction?

doggiebb,
u got mother or mil to help up after the cl went off? sigh.. i also a kalah kapo mummy. imagine my hub carry my boi more expert than mi. he can pacify my boi to calm down when he cry till veri jialat. mi being a mummy so helpless.

mbb,
my hub see mi so pitiful. never touch any cold stuff during my confinement. so granted mi an ice-cream. heehee..
since u c-section, when are u starting ur massage wif mdm sadiah? she is a really nice lady wif good service. really miss her massage. keke..

Shihui,

Wau, U all always go and chk the BB jaundice level? Me didnt always go and chk (thus he didnt get to go phototherapy when he was at his highest)

We only sun him outside.

Jen,

U go hospital already? Good to get a towel, or a better one is a cardigan
When I went to hospital that time, I brought my cardigan coz I no buy nursing gown, etc, I took the cardigan thinking got buttons easy to breastfeed. Who know in the delivery suite cold cold and I use that to cover my neck, but the most useful is.. when contractions are very painful, the cardigan is a comfort (cos so soft), then can be used as a mask, coz I? was panting so hard scared got bad breath.. And the most most useful is that can throw the cardigan over the face to hide my ugly painful facial expression.

Starluster,

Yup, my boy still eat n poo at the same time occasionally. But just this hour, he changed 3 diapers within 1 hr

Kimi,

Me too cried often, be it because of BBs cryings, Hubbys insensitiveness, and mothers scoldings. My mum always tell me that I dont love BB, coz me bad temper ma.. when BB cried continueuos for no reason, I became very pek chek also, plus so hot!

Hai..

Waiting for the little one to be bigger..

Btw, I confirm will get someone to come my house to do a taimaobi for him liao. Just booked appt.

As for the full month, diff ppl got different practice..
Some only said must be earlier, some said earlier or later also can.
Some said boy must be actual day whereas girl no need to be actual day.
Some said its based on the lunar 1 mth calendar, eg: 5th day lunar 10 mths born will do on 5th day lunar 11 mth born.

For me, the cutting of hair Ill do on his lunar 1 mth later on the actual day. But the celebration will only be on that sat after his actual full mth (wanted to do it earlier, but the sat before the full month is 23 or 24th dec, to many ppl will not be free I guess..

Kimi,
Envy u leh, still got hb to hug.... I don't have... yesterday I told him. Mon - Fri he belongs to his office one, cos come back after work, also tired liao don't dare to ask him to do too much, plus nite time cannot wake him up too due to work the next day, then Sat-Sun he belong to his family one, includ. my gals, his family will bring the gals out n he will go with them, so end up I also dun get his help, at nite, also don't bother to help me too.... sad hor.... just hope bb faster out grown this stage.... haiz... my dad is another problem too.... I just switch off the tv n he on it again, it will b on till tonite liao...siao... one day my tv will blow....

Hais... I really missed those days when I can sleep thru the nite man...

kimi,

congrats to u too.. end of confinement soon..
i really peifu u. 1st time mummy can handle bb alone wifout help.
i kalah kapo mummy. cant even pacify my boi when he cry veri jialat. my boi now has tis habit of crying veri pitiful when we wake him up when he fall asleep during feeding. i veri scared of him liao. dunno y he still cry when he bathing. we already follow wat Mrs Wong taught us when bathing bb. we sing song to him, hold both his hands so tat he will not scared. let his legs touch the corner of e bath tub. he still cry till veri jialat. i getting veri helpless sometimes. how i wish there is a machine able to read wat's bb is tinking.

hi bobianah
you are not alone. i oso dun have enough supply for my boi no matter how hard i try. i tried to pump every 2 hours, took lots of fluid, green papaya soup, eat fish, took the Motilium (supplement to boost supply) but dun seem of much use. my supply is still at 30ml for both breasts. i oso had the lactation consultant come to my house for proper guidance on correct latching on and it seems so simple. but when she left, i ga-lang-ga-bok again. really wish to have one more pair of hands.
and now, my boi seems to have the growth spurt and his demand has increased. i jus can't seem to catch up on his demand. sigh....

but nevermind, a little is still better than nothing. let's persevere together. jia you!

btw, ladies. anyone doing another 10 days of confinement after bb's full month? any idea if we have to follow exactly the same during the confinement period as in cannot bathe, cannot drink plain water, etc?

vanessa,

ur parents stay w u ar? or they come help during e day when ur hubby's nt ard?

ya lor, i count myself lucky lah. hubby's on hol. so we always say it's a blessing in disguise tt bb's born premature. like v bad hor?

i oso let my hunny sleep thru e nite altho sometimes he hear bb cry, he'll wake up a bit. in e day, he's continuously during laundry or preparing his notes for school reopen... b4 today, he even cooked for me 4 a few days cos my mil away on hol. we bathe bb 2gether oso n he'll try to take over burping once in a while... so i ut's v tiring 4 him oso... wat to do? only 2 o us.

just now, i caught him b4 he went out n just initiated a hug. cos i dun like to haf unhappiness b/w us 4 too long. seeing tt both o us haf calmed dn, go n make peace lor.

really pei fu u. can cope w newborn + 2 other gals. is e maid useful? dun feel like talking to ur hubby? i understand... so come here 'talk' 2 us lor!

bobianah,

vexing... vexing.... haf to deal w so many things at e same time eh? good tt u haf supportive frens. i guess we tend to get a bit more gan cheong cos we r e parents, esp 1st time mums. other ppl either been thru it tink it's nt such a big deal or haf nv experienced it so will nv understand. but it's q comforting to noe tt everywhere, new mums r experiencing e same prob eh? cheer up!

my mum oso v sensitive but luckily she's not doing confinement w me. she'll ask things n i'll ans to my best knowledge n she'll go "who say one?" in disbelief. i say books, internet etc,she'll snigger n say 'where got such things?" fed up, everything i oss say doc say one, hosp say one. she oso can go "hosp everything oso say can one lah! dun trust them." wah! professionals oso cannot trust, must trust her....

then she'll come to our place w/o giving notice n walk in like her hse like tt n ignore my hubby. my hubby so fed up w her he oso ignored her. nw dun even greet her liao. i can't b bothered. they dun like each other oso be it.... dun gif me trouble can liao.... i told my mum she can come but must tell us b4hand. tink she got v hurt n upset n nv come anymore... oso gd lah...

qianhui,

i suspect my hubby oso tink i dun love my gal enof. cos i'll complain to him bt her n i dun always speak 2 her lovingly n go play w her. but hor, they dun tink we spend at least 1+ hr each feeding w bb liao, where got energy to goo goo ga ga n play w her after tt? sometimes i dun c my bb i'll feel happier. just push her cot 2 e living rm n me n hubby lie on our bed n chat a while can relieve sooo much stress... nt tt i dun love bb..

oh, n i did try my best to socialise w bb when she's wakeful. so far, i've been reading a story to her everyday. she does pay attn leh. so cute. must read e same story over n over again.

LiL

Yah I'm still here..
sianz... raining cats and dogs so cannot go out, just now cooked instant noodles for lunch... then now cooking black chicken soup for dinner tonight...

wah I read the stories from all the ladies here... I think you girls are really strong... that's why they say mummies are the most noble one... hiaz... as I wait and wait to pop, I also scared if I can cope with baby... hiaz... what a dilemma..... and with my MIL from outer space... I really dun wan to think abt it!!
All the mummies here... you can do it!!! Jia you!!

gals,

my mil is back to help mi look after bb liao. hope tat she will not fall sick again.
i quite piss off wif wat she did. sometimes i dun let my boi latch on, i will pump out my milk. she told her sisters how little my milk supply is. currently my milk supply is around 70ml from both breast every 4hrly. she refuse to let mi pump my milk out. She told mi her sisters told her must let bb latch on to increase milk supply. if keep pumping out, my milk supply will b getting lesser n lesser. i dunno where they come out wif tis logic. i explain to her i must latch or pump out every 2 to 3hrs else my milk supply will get lesser. sometimes bb still sleeping, so i got to pump out mah. she refuse to take my explanation. i tink i going crazy soon. she has her ways to handle bb, i hav my ways based Mrs Wong antenatal class. she refuse to heed my advice when i corrected her. she told mi last time she also handle like tat when my hub was a bb. *faint* sometimes i wanna to tell her. last time policemen wore short shorts leh..

even though so sleepy, i must log in here. it's the only way to preserve my sanity.

brought bb to polyclinic for jaundice review just now. so pissed off with the pd we were seeing. everytime go and see her, never weigh bb, never listen to heart, never measure. only go dab dab at the belly button, put some powder then say, "wah, quite yellow, quick go TMC to test blood" then so mafan ,we must drive from toa payoh where her clinic is to TMC to test blood. and for doing that. she charged $64 each time.

today go polyclinic, can do blood test there also, only cost a few dollars. if the pd was more professional, we wouldn't have minded continue going to see her, but hor, think she really not that good.

anyway, bb jaundice level is still high at 209. 2 days later must go back and test again. SIGH! then dunno why, i suddenly now and then will cough. hope i am not falling sick

vanessa

check with you hor. if after bb feed, she will sleep for 2 to 2.5 hrs, can i assume that she is drinking enuff?

i already tried to make sure that her mouth is open big big before shoving my breast in, but still pain pain. but the pain is the first few seconds, then after that, like immuned already. could it be my nipples already injured before hand and now, even tho i latched properly, will still hurt?

bobianah

nice to see you! guess all of us are facing the same challenges. but i don't know how you can cope with some many pple in the house. at least, i don't have to put up with any comments with anyone. if not, think i will really lose it!

och

my heart broke when i read what you posted. made what i am going through seem so small in comparison. Hang in there! will keep you and your little one in prayers!

dear all mommies, this is just for our sanity!

<font color="ff0000">"If Men Got Pregnant..."

Maternity leave would last two years... with full pay.

There would be a cure for stretch marks.

Natural childbirth would become obsolete.

Morning sickness would rank as the nation's #1 health problem.

All methods of birth control would be 100% effective.

Children would be kept in the hospital until toilet trained.

Men would be eager to talk about commitment.

They wouldn't think twins were so cute.

Sons would have to be home from dates by 10:00 PM

Briefcases would be used as diaper bags.

Paternity suits would be a fashion line of clothes.

They'd stay in bed during the entire pregnancy.

Restaurants would include ice cream and pickles as main entrees.

Women would rule the world!!

Author unknown</font>

oh i just sms-ed doremi. she said she is also facing challenges in bfing and her family but she can't log in cos her mum's place got no internet access and she missed us all!

Serene

You MIL sounds like mine... also keep saying last time this last time that. Worse thing is that she believed 100% in everything her mum does, cos she lived till a ripe old age of 95 (and she's from china). I haven't even delivered yet, she already start to tell me that last time in china they did this they did that...they're babies all very chubby and cute one.... I think I'm worse than you lor... I told her straight in the face, "last time infant death rate in China also very high" :p Cannot imagine wat would happen when I pop...

hope every1 is doing well.
Now pumping out my milk.. going to take a nap after this. Last nite, my bb has been crying/ fussing after feeding n changing diaper. Dun know why. Maybe she wants our attention. She is esp more active during middle of nite.. how we wish she can sleep throughout the nite. Anyone can advise good solution for this?

Sharing pic of my b (20th day old)

618391.jpg

Dora
So funnie...u dare tell ur MIL off like dat!!

Sigh...my mum oso same lah wif her superstitions n stuff. Told me no veg for the first 2 wks, n cannot drink plain water during confinement. Siao rite. Already got episiotomy, wanna poo oso scared, if no eat fibre how to poo. Also to increase breastmilk experts say shd drink more water, how can not drink any plain water thru out the mth. I dun care, already told my hb to sneak fruits/water into my room during conf. Already coping wif newborn is so stressful, these stupid chinese believes really double/triple the stress.

LiL

Cos my MIL will go on and on one... she is firm believer of those old traditions... cos she say her mum can live up till 95 years old w/o any major illnesses, now all these advanced medical age, so many pple got so many illness... wah lao... I kept telling her, last time their food is 100% fresh, no pollution, no stress... of cos can live to ripe old age lah... now city life different mah...
She champion one lor... sick dun wan to see GP, until very very sick then go A&amp;E, fever and cough also go see A&amp;E leh... then doc prescribe antibiotics dun wan to eat, say eat antibiotics no good... then I told my hubby she go A&amp;E wait 4 hours for wat if she dun want to eat the medications?? Then everytime cough want to go A&amp;E and insist the doc x-ray her chest... for some reason she thinks x-ray is very safe... Then tat time her eyes infected, doc gave antibiotics eye drops, supposed to be 4 times a day, she ownself cut down to 3 times a day... say antibiotics no good.... you say faint or not? I also no too much no good... but it's a necessary evil mah...
Your mum also same as my MIL, say no veg and fruits during confinement.... I dun care I will eat... even if we're willing to die of constipation....we're breastfeeding leh... must have balanced diet if not baby won't get balanced diet also mah.

Aiyah... my MIL hor... talk abt her... no end one lah... tat's why I want bb to come out soon... but yet I really dread confinement and everything else after tat... cos my mum passed away liao, so if next time I need a babysitter, she'll be the one lor... you say I will die or not? :p

Dora,
Hang in there...ur bb will come soon.
Heehee, ur post abt "last time infant death rate in China also very high" made me laugh, cos I oso said the same thing to (i think) my parents/MIL before. :p Nvm, we all can come in here and vent together.

ftmtb,
Thanks for your encouragement. Yes, I oso same same. Took papaya fish soup, take this, take that, oso lidat. Then some relatives who were successful at BFg, some are understanding but others keep telling me "take this, take that" I said all take liao! Worse some aunties can say, "huh? breast not small no milk ah?? So wasted" Wah Lau EH! I'm like "thanks for making me feel "better" man!"

You are right, a little BM is better than nothing. We will persevere together!

kimi, doggiebb
Ever since i came home with bb, my house is like a public place. My parents come everynite on weeknites, come anytime they want. My MIL supposed to help me with confinement, so she is also here. My SIL oso comes everynite to see her one and only niece. I get visitors (relatives) all the time from evenings onwards, sometimes only give 10mins notice and they are at my door! I'm really not used to it. Not that i dun like ppl visiting, but i wish ppl more considerate and come another time when we are more settled. It is quite tiring.

Yes, my MIL and parents take turns to stay with me during the day. Sometimes i appreciate their help, other times i really just want my own time and be left alone.

I tell you ladies, even when i BF, there is no privacy. My mum will come and look (she never see before lidat cos she nvr BF me), my dad will oso look for a while if my mum is around. My MIL oso will come and look. Even though I am not very self conscious (think cos exposed to western culture too much? I am quite comfortable with my body), but then hor, all the time i BF got ppl come and stare at my bb sucking can get on my nerves too. I dun lock my door cos they help me prepare formula to feed and pass to me after i latch bb on 15mins (so milk dun get cold). Sigh...sometimes i just wish they'd give me time alone with bb to feed instead of staring on commenting how bb is suckling, not suckling, that she is so cute, that she is sleepy, lazy drinker, etc etc... HAIZ!

Mummies, dun have time to read every post in detail. Quickly browse thru,looks like alot of us have been crying. Me also cried today till eye red, swollen and itchy, quarrelled with hubby. So sad that despite what i went through for pregnancy and delivery, he seem not very understanding and sensitive towards me
Think he too overwhelmed with all the housework and bb too.

Btw, mummies who latch on/pump only after 5 or 6 hours, do you all end up having block ducts and lumps?

Vanessa, how long do you usually take or your hubby take to remove the lumps for you? Dunno why for first bb, dun seem to have lumps at all but this time i have them once i exceed 4 hours din latch on or pump. Last friday i went to my company D&amp;D (end up a boring affair and won nothing) and i only pump after 6 hours. There are so many lumps and after 2 hours, still din manage to massage away all the lumps and my hands already aching like mad.

Kimi, envy you, still got time to read story everyday for bb. Think most of us hardly have time to rest. Today i started using the yao lan (sarong) for bb but she seem din really like also..jiat lat.

LiL, vegs can lah but not all types. I have been eating vegs since day 1. Drank some plain water on and off also for previous and current confinement.

Och, hang in there.

It really feels good to know I am not alone in facing the problems wif not having enuf BM for my boy n feeling guilty of having to supplement FM n disagreeing on the stuff my MIL does. On top of that, my hb suddenly doesn't have a mind of his own and heed everything his mum says. Already have countless quarrel over the ways to handle the baby. Hiaz...

Lil, Dora
Think we shd eat veg and fruits. I had episiotomy, pee on day 2 (in hosp) and poo only when i got home like on day 5 and no problem since. I told my gynae i will not force it but let it come naturally. Dun be worried cos pooing won't hurt episiotomy. I kept telling myself "mind over matter".

I oso drank plain water (too thirsty). I think all the soups and stuff make us more "stinky" cos i notice i hv some BO! yucks! I oso drink cold milk in the morning, even tho my mum try to be expert and say cannot take cold milk and glared at me...(honestly, she nvr follow confinement during her time herself, she just listen to other pple now), i just glared back at her and ignore her.

What really amazes me abt my mom and MIL is that they both never follow confinement practices during their time, now they listen to others and want to tell me what to do. Buay tahan! My mum can even ask my MIL if i can eat baked salmon. I'm like, of cos can, what's wrong with that? As if my MIL knows any better since they both just as blur abt what i can or cannot eat! I still remember, when i was pregnant, both of them keep giving me the look when i refuse to touch partially cooked beef/chicken etc. like i was soooo picky abt wat i eat. Till one day i ask them if they want their grandchild to kena illness cos i eat undercooked food! Was so mad with them then.

Bobianah

Thanks for your encouragement. Wah your case also very stressful.. can't imagine with all the disturbances... think sometimes have to tell them not convenient to visit.... bo bian have to be a bit rude for our own sanity I think... You holding full month party? Tell them to come visit only during full month?

ftmb,
I'm following another 10 days, but can shower n drink plain water liao, I just continue to eat pu things n no shell fish 4 me until 100 days lor...

Kimi,
They come during the day only... else at nite I can die, my gals n hb will die with me, cos my mum sure tell me no fan for sleeping...siao rite?

Bobianah,
Confirm it's due to the aircon, my 1st nite home also on aircon n bb doesn't seems to sleep well, keep crying, then the next day we didn't on the aircon, n bb managed to sleep better.

doggiebb,
Is she's contended after feed n managed to sleep thru, she shld b getting enuf... u can also judge by the no. of urine per day. She shld hav abt 6-7 wet nappies per day....

My nipple will also sore abit, but after latching no pain liao. Jus got to take care lor, apply bm after feeding / pumping n air dry lor. I find this method most effective.

Bobianah
Ya lor. Surely must eat fruits n veg rite. My mum also told me cannot drink cold milk but I dun care, will ask my hb to sneak in 4 me. All these will help increase milk ss mah.

Aiyo how u tahan, u like side show freak like tat, everybody come n look c look c when u bf. My mum also never bf b4 hope she wun b too curious like ur family

My mum also listen to all her frens n say they advice me to drink lots of DOM. Must finish 2 bottles. I said DOM alcohol content 40% leh...I bfing so the alcohol will enter milk n affect bb. Told her I wun be drinking uncooked DOM or brandy. She said her fren last time give birth to 3 kids also drink alot of DOM n all her children r fine. Who cares...juz bcos other pple do I must do meh. Better be safe than sorry. I said I wun risk killing my bb's brain cells juz bcos her fren says is ok. Sometimes really cannot tahan...

QSG,
I will need to massage n pump, massage n pump a few times to really clear the ducts. Depends on how stubborn ur ducts are, if u can take it, then massage till the lump disappear lor, else Jus massage n pump a few times n buay tahan liao, then stop and do it again later when u feel the pain lor....

bobianah,
I think most of us got BO liao... not due to the soup or stuffs... imagine some many days no shower with all the sweat and dirt, sure got BO one... me also got BO.... So once in awhile will tell my mum I want to shower, then she will prepare the water for me liao... how to tahan for not showering for 1 whole month...siao, think hair will have lices and body will stink worst than the beggars outside...

Lil &amp; Dora,
I am reporting here.

Havent go labour yet. Just now went KKH delivery ward to check. the CB lady doc soooo rough one leh did cervical check machiam i offended her lidat digged all the way in sooo pain. Then i of cos "ouch" loud lar.. Ask her be4 checking &amp; she told me is part &amp; parcel of pregnnacy. Of cos i knw lar. then after that say if i gg for labour there will be more checks done to me. reali CB &amp; NB leh. cant tahan dun scold her vulgar. So scare go back tonight or tomolo still her on duty then i must be vulgar to her also liao. Must rem her name also . Discharge liao write feedback form let her DIE ar.

My contraction pain comes in almost 10mins or less but still bearable. Just now checked was oni 1cm dilate. OMG. so i opted to go home with hb &amp; wait lor. Cos duno how long more to suffer there if the doc keep coming to check on me.

Yday also keep poo-ing leh. Poo-ed 5times leh. then MN also whole nite cant slp cos of contraction. 1130pm - 130am until called KKH ward to check if i nid to admit. My hb let me disturb until scare say bring me to hosp liao. then i go bathe then his turn to bath then he everything done liao i tell him go back slp lar. i also want to slp leh. so decide to wait until 6am then see how. but also no admit until 10+am when the pain come in more intense but still bearable type. the pain is like menses cramp. But when pain comes in i nid to chg position when i m lying then i am alrite again but hv to "aiyo aiyo" moan lor. then few sec i got better. Worst thing is the backache ar. is KILLER ar. reali bad leh. until i now use hot pack apply on my back when i taking nap now.

Talked to my gal ask her coperate dun let me suffer but she dun listen leh. So i hv to continue suffer until she happi then come out lor.

I think must be i always tell my gal i love her inside me.. best is full term then come out come sure sure all organs fully &amp; nicely developed. Now she is happpily dancing inside lor. Win liao. I cant fight with her.Come out must beat her butt for letting me suffer so much...

I most scare bb disturb me when i am sleeping one.Cos i love to slp dun wish to be disturb by her reporting to me. haha always tell her gal, pls slp with mommy. anything tomolo morning then we discuss hor. hahah

Kimi,
glad to know tat you are loving loving with hb leh

i still haven got chance to read my bb story but have been singing to her alot.
i agree tat the entertaining bb part is also very tiring.

Bobianah,
frens have been trying to dropby for visits. so far, i still can turn them down but looks like next week, will hv to open hse liao.
sometimes, dun now why ppl dun understand.
we need to take time to settled down mah

i already told them tat bb shower is on the 7th and they are invited. yet still wanna come visit

yesterday, i forced my parents to go out shopping.
i really needed time alone to keep myself sane.

Serene,
i called Mdm. Sadiah and she asked me to get clearence fr my gynea first. gynea said one mth but i will get her to start after 3 wks if tomolo during checkup, my wound heals well.

how many session did you have?

haiz....my mom come and bother me again.
ask me to buy cotton to bathe bb instead of the bb sponge tat i had.
how to use cotton to bathe bb????

she had been nagging me to start using disposable nappy. i din want to coz the last few days, all of us were like lost in space.
today, i started and guess what? the second nappy change, she decided tat it's too much work. she prefer disposable.
win liao lah!!

kimi &amp; bloom,
when u both go KKH isit go to observation ward 1st? hubby cant enter with u all ? then got doc to come &amp; check on u?

Dora, Lil, MBB
yah, everybody like want to see the bb NOW... cannot wait till full mth lidat. I guess some (esp relatives) think it is only proper for them to visit asap, thats why they all want to come now. Haiz.

Lil,
yah lor...i BF bb like a public show lidat!
I'm not taking DOM, but if they insist, I understand that u just make sure either it is cooked with food or only take after u BF so that by next feeding, it has been absorbed in ur body and bb wont take so much in ur BM.

Vanessa,
I was surprised bb dun like aircon cos hosp got aircon...but i guess it's different...maybe she can hear something from the aircon that we can't. So i was joking that my ger prefers her own room to sleeping with her parents! :p
I bathe...but still stink...:p

Later I'm going to gynae to check stiches of episiotomy...i was joking with my hb, "wonder what gynae will say if we tell him - you took her (bb) out, can you pls put her back in??" Hahahahaha!

ok, need to feed bb...

Thanks all ladies wishing me smoth delivery.. I am sooo touched but after seeing what u all going thru confinement with CL, BM, MIL etc also makes me scare leh. Now my contraction pain can makes me kisiao. Pain until sit &amp; stand &amp; walk also got pblm lidat. Dunno when i can be ful dilate. Somemore drive to KKH also nid abt 30mins i pain in the car also no one can help me share the burden of pain ar. So miserable.

Qianhui,
U are sooo cute saying urself bring cardigan to cover ur face &amp; expresion &amp; even scare got bad breath. haha.. aiyooo If i meet the bad doc who poke my cervix who makes me pain again i sure open my mouth big &amp; "HOR" at her to let her faint for bullying me.
She even commented another bed mommy while examining her say "U shld use water to wash below &amp; not use dry tissue to wipe.. Got smell &amp; she mention Eeeeeee" leh.Soooo malu.

was supposed to go nap nap...then bb woke up liao. fed again...took me 1.5hr...sigh...sneak in here to look see look see before going for a short nap before dinner.

on most days, i feel cheery and look forward to holding bb and bfing her, yet sometimes i feel so lousy to revolve my life round her feeding schedule. then will start to entertain thoughts of just feeding her FM, viola, just make the milk, shove the bottle in and we are done!
BAD MUMMY!

Vanessa,
ya lor. Soo rude &amp; malu leh. Not everywhere also got wash one mah. Last time my mom hse also dun hv this spray gun one leh. Is my own hse then i install one leh. My ofc also dun hv. then how to wash??? Here not malaysia where alot of public toilet have the hose mah..... Even KKH also dun install the spray for us to wash what.

Fizz,
yah, i delivered at East Shore. How do u find the service there? they didnt serve confinement food as mentioned in the brochure! overall experience ok except one auntie nurse who sortof wanna 'trick' me into giving formula.

since my bb on the small side, pd say not stable n need to do glucose test, if below 2.2, must supplement with fm. then i didnt hear from the nurses abt it, so thot all is fine. then past midnite, this auntie nurse come n tell me that i dont have enuf milk n the test results shows its 2.5, so do i want to consider fm? i was still in blur state (morphine + drip) n had to ask her to repeat a few times.. but luckily still managed to deduce that 2.5 is higher than 2.2 wat... so what is she talkin abt? so i brush her off lor. didnt see her after tat incident, mayb she avoided me.

och,
read your post very heart ache for u n bb.

doggiebb,
hehe.. thanks for sharing the poem.

Jlim,
wahh... throw away bm? me every drop oso try to salvage leh.

DeVeera,
sounds like u describing my bb lei.. hehe..

vanessa,
yah,. my bb mouth doesnt cover my whole areola. could that be the possible cause of the sore nips? the LC saw this and commented that bb mouth is so small and since cannot cover the whole areola, at least must let the lower lips cover all the areola. so that is what i haf been doing lor... the lower lips cover all the areola, but the top doesnt. does it mean i will suffer from sore nips till her mouth is bigger??

bobianah,
my mum oso doing confinement for me.. so far ok. only sometimes when we have different method of doing things for bb, then she will comment like.. i did the same for all 3 of u oso, no problem now what. haiz.. times has changed mahh...

Jen,

Erh, I brought the cardigan supposed to use for breast feeding coz the cardigan got buttons. But end up use in the delivery suite, even before i go to the ward. Coz it's getting cold.

Then because me went to the hospital around 5AM, even though got brush teeth, wait few hours no eat anything, no drink much, got bad breath will be so malu rite?

Then hubby also woke early and no eat, he trying to pant with me I can also smell his bad breath, so also must cover lah.

Plus the pain is so bad, pain til eyes wanna popped out, the face machiam all screwed up.. of coz must cover lah.

Bobianah,

Me shower every single day, wash hair everyday also will hv BO wan leh.

Dora,

same lah.. My MIL keeps saying I so lucky can bath everyday, I told her I need to breastfeed leh (even though I only expressing, never latch)

She still say she also ma.. etc.. Last time the global warming where got so jialak!

My mum also said cannot drink plain water. But she say say only lah, I drink she also never say anything..

So thirsty at times ma..

U can try drinking the ANMUM brestfeeding milk also ah.. maybe can increase your supply?
Me drink Anmum, Milo, Holick...

thanks vanessa. how abt household chores? i guess we have to do it ourselves if no confinement lady nor maid. wat other things do we need to take note of during these 10 days? we have to eat confinement food? can blow fan directly? can bathe more than once and wash hair daily?

Hi mommies, didn't manage to logon since morning as the pain is just unbearable. Hv to keep lying down to ease the pressure. Called Gynae and she ask me to see her tomorrow. Hope she can give me something to relieve it.

I'm still coping on reading and replying on forum. Please bear with me.

Trying to get a CL recommend by a friend to come over to my home this week to teach me how to latch on properly. Hopefully that works. Got a 2nd hand pump (ameda) donno how to use yet so my friend coming tonight to show me. I haven't get a hang of BF &amp; donno how to use the pump don't dare to leave the house at all.

Bloom - i read a book, it says unwrap the baby so that they are not comfortable, sayang the head, rub rub the hands, etc. to wake them up. I hvn't tried that though. The pain is overwhelming that I can sit for look to BF, so just put her down to sleep lor.

Och - do continue to hang on and be strong.

Kimi - I hv bn following your post. You are a very strong woman and I'm sure you will continue to be one.

Wishing everyone an easy BF night and baby sleep well after each feed!

Hi Bobianah,
I also quite upset with my Mum in law, regards to celebrating bb 'man yue'. One moment said might not be able to do early coz 'pang tang' and my brother in law cannot come because 'cheong'. On the actual day, say its a weekday, wait one of the aunty cannot come. Aiyo, really angry with all the silly superstitious thingy and that aunty, if don't come don't come lah. Make me want to cry. Now its me celebrating my daugther's man yue, if they can't come, their problem. My hubby make a stand said do on actual day. Haiz....

Vanessa,
Ya loh, think i abit stressed up about jaundice thingy. Tried to express out every 2 or 3 hrly, sometimes 20 - 40ML, sometimes in the morning, only 1hr difference i got 60ML, haiz, wonder how much am i producing.

jen,

tt's wat happened to me. they brought me to change n lie down in this triage rm where they strapped me to e CTG monitor... dunno if they need a longer reading so basically, i's just strapped there n ignored 4 e next half hr or so... until i so fed up. at 1st v pain i oso keep quiet. then wait so long until i start to grunt n make lotsa noise so they'd notice me. tink hubby can't go in, they asked him to go register.

hopefully i din reply too late... maybe u aredy in KK liao? heh heh.. all e best!

doggiebb,

heh heh... agree w e poem.kinda cheered me up a bit
agree tt altho sleep deprived till must come here chat or else wld really lose sanity!!!!

thx 4 updating bt doremi. was also tinking bt her these days... but i nt so oo sim, go sms her..oops...

gan,

ur bb looks v matured leh! like so sensible.
this sounds weird but i tink she looks like u tho i've nv seen u b4. i imagined u to look sthg like tt... am i rite?

diveera,

me ar? me crybaby lah... little thing oso cy, where got strong? then so easily get depressed. come here n read others' postings then realised my problems r so trivial. me is e kind can stand physical pain cannot stand emotional pain one... so v xin ku nvm, but v xin ku but loved ones nt understanding or insensitive then i'l crumble liao... heh heh...

ur wish hor is wat i wish 4 everynite b4 i turn off my bedside lamp. i'll lie on my bed n make tt exact wish n cross my fingers... sometimes, just wished nia bb cry liao....haiz...

bloom,

neo garden's food is nt too bad. pretty homecooked n din taste unhealthy. their serving for 3 can feed 4 pple. however supposed to come at 4+ but came at 6. called e person, she said mayeb raining so delivery man delayed...

MBB,

singing ar? singing is gd. but sometimes so tired hor still must sing in hi pitch happy tone! ha ha... this morn felt like shouting at bb but still geng a v loving voice n sayang her... heh heh... well, dun want her to feel my vibes n get upset too.. wat to do?

act they say BFing is bonding time blah blah..must haf eye contact etc etc...where got? like war like tt... bb bz suking, eyes closed, fist clenched... eye contact?????

QSG,

story reading only takes up like 5-10mins lor. v rare she's alert. so if she is, i'll try 2 squeeze in a story lor. anyway, by e time i do some chores or eat etc after feeding, usu there's nt much time 4 a gd nap anyway. i'll wait until i've at least 1hr to nap bf napping.

RE: BO

u ladies so funny... talk bt BO... act e 1st few days i had. imagine i din bathe like 48hrs b4 i gave birth... then on bedrest all e fluid ard me so dirty...oso nv wash up... by e time bb came out, i stink like shit man.... come bk din bathe immed too..after 4 days, i bathe everyday liao... started washing hair on 3rd day...

now i dun care. insist i must haf my life bk. so wld apply cream... bathe nice nice, apply moistuiser... dun haf time to facial yet tho... then must read papers everyday, listen to my hifi... these 2 days busier w hsechores so no time 4 other entertainment yet. everynite must oso 'snuggle' w hubby. it's our ritual. must spend some couple time..

it's NIGHT TIME AGAIN!! like diveera, wish all ladies here n myself a good nite.

Hi Starluster...

There IS confinemt food...itz on another yellow menu...not bad...the midwives n nurses whom I met were very nice...esp the Indian snr midwife at the labor ward...n Im one of those who pressed the bell many times :p

Hi Galz...

I m hvg involuntary contractions in my anus...anyone encountered tis???...I can poo 3 times a day...

Geri,
Morning usually have the most production, I also pumped the most in the morning after bb feed.

ftmtb,
Actually nothing much, it's only we can pu for another 10 more days, after that, our body cannot take the heatiness liao... mayb still cannot carry heavy stuffs lah, but the rest of the things are almost back to normal liao... but then hor, my mum will still advise me not to shower every day too.

Starluster,
Then u should be latching her correctly. My gal also got small mouth n I just ensure her lower lips is grasping most of my aerola. Mayb the pain is due to ur tender skin, our skin, especially 1st time mother, the skin around that area is still tender, so get sore easily. Mine already toughen up liao, but still sore, just that not as sore as last time... just continue with what u r doing and soon the pain will be over... Hang in there!

Ladies.
Night falls again... our nightmare are starting soon...let's just remember that u r not the only one having sleepless nite, we are all facing the same problem, hence Hang On there and we will soon pass this phrase of bb growing up! Good Nitez!!

bohbiahah, my bb is like that too! fuss-free in hospital and latching no problem..but back at home..eheheh.. maybe the hospital got some fengshui set up..ehehehe To those relatives that say ur breast not small but wasted, tell them in their face that at least ur hubby have more fun :p

kimi, forget to add, the stress we encounter at work is different from the stress we encounter at home due to bb.... btw, when is ur next appt for mandy at kkh? mine is this friday and i am wondering how long it will take... i think 8 pairs not enuf... i have like 10+? :p :p :p all hand-me-downs from my sis luckily... so how is neo garden? har, u mean now must goo goo gaa gaa with bb already? i thot now bb only eat sleep shit? bf not bonding lah..just letting bb associate mommy with food only...ehehehe

doggiebb, who is ur pd so unprofessional one?

Lil, must eat veg..else constipation very bad!

Diveera, yeah... do all those and a 15 min bf will turn into 1 hr cos of all the misc :p Currently I am bf-ing in the computer room cos bb room got CL and master bedroom got (who else) master sleeping..sigh! where got place to unwrap bb?

Night time, raining somemore..perfect night to sleep and not to pump...sighh...

starluster

oh! the lower lips cover the aerola is more impt than the upper lips cover? i never knew that, maybe that's why i am so sore also. can see the top lips easily, so easy to make sure but the lower lips how to see? aiyo!

bloom

that pd is Dr Heng from Toa Payoh's Children Clinic

yeah lor! night time liao! *shiver* now i waiting for bb to wake up. she drank at 8pm so now should be about time to wake up liao, dunno why no sound leh. while i sit here sweaty sweaty waiting for her to wake up.

kimi

"snuggle" huh?
just now also managed to watch TV with hubby...for a while, it seem like life is back to normal, doggie sleeping at our feet, we watching TV after dinner...but the sore nipples bring me back to reality instantly...