Zoophonics

cc2, i guess so too. cos in KM, my ger oso ran about then the last term we attended, she can sit and listen when is halo time and masage time.

i saw ur blog, wa ur ger did so many crafts already.. so nice!

OK, shall contiune with ZP and c how. hopefully my ger would talk (still babytalk, xian..) and learn something, just don't waste $$$, HAHAHA... :0

tamarind, MMI is ok lah... I like their toys, concepts but I find the new teacher not very gd in teaching young kids.

cc2, sama sama lah... i can predict my ger crafts wld be my work too.. haha..

blog fm the vmummy, 9/12bins thread lor.. heehee..
the bins gd to use ah.. like so little bins and bins so small lei..

giggler, i oso interested in MMI class. which branch u attended? is the teachers mostly malays?

hoho03,

oh i c. ok, i like the bins leh and is getting another one. can dump all toys there and and she can pick the toys she wants to play herself and keep after playing.

hoho03,
Thanks for the review. I am busy at work, so didn't manage to go for trial yesterday. I will probably go next Sunday. I predict my boy will be running around also.

Tamarind, Giggler,
I was @JW branch for the trial on Sunday from 12-1pm. Although the timing is wierd, but it is the only time slot. Anyway, I signed up for a term and see how it goes.

My friend's daughter was there too (coincident). I am the only daddy inside cos wife is pregnant so she sat outside reading newspaper.

I just checked with my colleague on the first 5 animals' names. Hehehe, me old liao, so forget.
A-Ally the Alligator
B-Barber the Bear
C- Catina the Cat
D- Dee Dee the Deer
E- Ellie the Elephant

Alicia's Daddy,
Nice to know that you have signed up for zoophonics too
Let me know if you have any comments. I think I will only be going to try 2 weeks later.

Alicia's daddy!
i know who u are!!

alicia is very clever, can say the col and shape correctly!

TAmarind,
UR trial is delaying in weeks!!
kao_angry.gif

hoho03,
Opps, are you in the class too?
I am sorry that I did not get your name if you are there. I got to know that Sarah is my friend's daughter after the class when I saw her daddy. Alicia is 2.3years old, so she may know more things than the other little ones :)

What is you kiddy's name?

alicia's daddy (AD),
my ger is PHOEBE!! the one playing hide n seek with u!

she is only going 18mths this sunday.. SO very active, her bum got thorns that she cannot sit down! FAINT!

she had not really start talking, only baby talk lots.. ahah, papa, duck, recently only mum-mum.. i wait until my neck long long liao, she still don't want to open her golden mouth.. xian..

think sarah and phoebe can hold hands.. haha

actually i am having 2nd thous whether my ger is still too young to join such class...hmm..

btw, did alicia join any other school before?
she is very discipline and guai
i like!hehe

hi all, m fairly new to forum
my 4 yr old is attending inny inch class at ZP beauty world centre. only 2mths but not too bad, can do some simply blending "a" (ahhh) + "n" (ner...) => "an". she now picks up some 2-letter words in story books and read them out loud.

saw a youngster abt same age as my girl but attended class fr beginning of yr and can read sentences in bks on her own.

think it's a gd investmt for the kids

hoho3, Im attending the MMI at Jurong West branch. No, the teacher is Chinese.

Alicias daddy, did the teacher sing the whole zoophonics song with the action? Or they just sing the 5 alphabets?

hoho03,
Ohhh, you are Phoebe's mom.
Phoebe very adorable leh, I think she likes to play "peep-a-boo" with me.

Every child is special, and develop their speech differently. Be patience.

IMHO, 18mths can start absorbing many things liao. I believe in exposure. Although not necessary that a kid can apply immediately, but the exposure can make things easier when the kid is ready when the time comes.

We sent Alicia to music and movement when she was 18mths old. Attended for a term, and she already know the actions of Humpty Dumpty, london bridge is falling down, row your boat etc.

When Alicia was at 18mths, she is also like Phoebe and Sarah, running around. I think at ths age, they like to explore, and attention span is short. Alicia is already 2.3 years, so naturally, her attention span is longer now.

Alicia is like other terrible 2 at home (little devil). I think this was her first day there, so must behave a bit loh. Wait till you see her for another few weeks....hehehehe..

Nat&nic,
Thanks for the re-assurance.

Giggler,
No song yet leh. As in my Maybb thread, only <3mins introduction to the A-E characters lor.

A's dad,
YEAH! its me! heehee

so paishey, keeping shouting Phoebe to came back to the table, like ah soh in the mrkt.. heehee

How old is Sarah? Same as P?

U very gd lei, willing to accompany ur ger to class.. i used to send P to Kindermusik, ask my hb to go in, he say he 'shy'.. faint!

yesterdy, i m thinking the whole morning, shuld i cont ZP, or join Hess ($390 for 10wks,2hrs,include mandarian).
But after the post of Nat&amp;nic, hmm decided i should let P get used to such learning system before going to any expensive school... heehee

SO ZP is the most affordable 1 for testing testing..

Oh btw, will you buy the their phonics starter kit $95?

Giggler,
What is the program for MMI?
I heard fm some mummies fm ZP that, MMI is more to independent mindset ie, how to wear socks lah, button ur shirt lah..
Is it like that?

The course fee is about the same as ZP. Was thinking of giving it a trial.

Japancraze,
Have u sign up for a trial? Join us lah.. :p

To share, I signed my girl up for ZP bcoz I want to give her a head start in english and to enjoy books. Whatever one would say abt China being the land of opportunity for the next generation, the kids have to first survive formal schooling in Singapore. And the main teaching language is still english. Even lower primary school maths pblm sums read like a short english comprehension Qs these days

But alas, I m also a lazy &amp; procrasinating mommy. That's why, despite my lofty aims for the kids, only sent her to ZP this year despite knowing the "golden time" for languages is abt 3 yrs old. Then again, better late than never!

Abt Montessori (dunno how to spell) teachings, heard from colleagues that the pure form is more suitable for kids that are sociable in nature coz the structure emphasizes on independent work. But nowadays, there are schools that uses mix techniques balancing both social and indept skills.

Hi hoho03
Oh yes, I'm attending the trial class at JW branch this Sunday - 12pm to 1pm.. U also in that class? Heard there are only 4 kids in the time slot.. Hope my girl will not be cranky as 12plus is her naptime.. Haha..she is 18 mths but only know how to baby talk..she is like ur girl.. cannot sit still kind.. not even for 5 mins..

Hi Alicia's daddy,
Which school did you send ur girl to for the music &amp; movement. Somewhere in the west? I can't seem to find one music school in the west area leh..

Hoho3,
It's ok lah. It's fun to see the kiddies running around.
I think Sarah slightly older than Phoebe. I guess maybe 1-2mths differences.
You tell your hb I am around, so he will not feel shy loh.

What is Hess?
I got advise from many ppl not to buy the starter kit, so not buying.

I posted my view of MMI earlier:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/494527.html?1156122841

Although MMI also has phonics at later stage of their cirriculum, I think ZP is more focus on this particular area (niche).

Nat&amp;Nic,
Education cannot never be too late, it is about getting the opportunity. Kids today is really fortunate. I can only learn phonics by watching Sesame Street on television when I was a kid.

hoho3, MMI JW has a theme every mth and they try to talk on the topic for tat mth. eg, for Aug, it's Human Body. So every week the teacher will focus on this topic. Every lesson they'll be music &amp; movement, phonics on one letter, the topic of the mth, art&amp;craft. What I like most abt MMI is the toys lor. All the toys are educational and can really teach them real life skills.

Japancraze,
I sent her KRTC in JP (5th floor). They have the multimedia enrichment program for Townforkids, which they learn the songs and actions for the songs.

The four kids are Sarah, Phoebe, Alicia, and one more (forget the name). I think Alicia is the oldest there. Kids at 18mths is like tat one, must go around to explore..:)

wa! thread alive again!

Japancraze,
Ya only 4 kids! 2 of their parents are in this thread.. HAHAHA...
My ger oso 18mths (this sunday!)
cannot sit still ah, then join me in the ah soh shouting class.. heehee

Ya tt time slot not very gd, but no choice other time are too early, 9.30am! faint

A's dad,
WA! i like to read ur post, so informative.. hmm so MMI is another diff. aspect.

Hess - www.hess.com.sg, just like childcare center but they do hv weekends class.

Hmm.. i thou the starter kit is gd??!!

Oh have u seen the Leapfrog phonics dvd, VERY gd! thumbs up! i too learn phonics fm this 'frog'..

Hmm, so this sunday, gt new kid coming aboard!YEAH!

Hi hoho03, you bought the Leapfrog DVD set? There are 5 DVDs right? which one is the best? am thinking to get 1 DVD for testing.. Please advise..

hoho03
Haha.. So if I see another girl running around then must be Phoebe .
Actually, I got interested in zoo-phonics from the BP CC2 is organizing.. If not, still mountain tortoise.. Haha

Alicia's daddy,
Thanks for the information. Shall check in out. I'm staying near JP.. Withing walking distance

worry mum,
the phonics 1... erm think its letter factory, for 2-3yrs.. really gd!
my ger can finish her lunch within that dvd time. heehee

Japancraze, ic!
i bought the set fm another mum in WTS thread. collecting later..
But need to get them laminate..

BUT A's dad gt advise not to buy lei.

erm smetime i think i super duper kiasu lei, my ger hv not even open her golden mouth n i keep buying books lah, phonics cardslah, send her to classes lah.. haiz.. :p

Hoho03,
Thanks for the link to hess.
I heard good comments on Leapfrog, but has not actually seen one yet. I have another VCD on phonics at home which Alicia learnt her A-Z from. I forget the title. Maybe I should go and check out leapfrog. Does Kiddy Palace or Toy'RUS has it?

Since you have already bought the kit, might as well make full use of it :)

IHMO, I think most parents are kiasu. I am too.. hehehe, but most importantly, avoid putting pressure on the kids. We provide them with the opportunities, but we must learn to let them learn at their own pace, and enjoying the process.

Japancraze,
The teacher I liked in KRTC has left the centre. In fact, after she left, a few of us (parents) chose to leave as the class can be a bit bored. Nevertheless, it could be different now, so no harm checking it out.

Joleena,
Consider coming to the West? :p hahaha...

A's dad,
no lah, i hv not bought the starter kit, only bought the A4 prints out. Am considering to buy the kits.

Oh, as far as i know, that LF dvds is not sold in spore. I gt mine when there is a bp of this dvd fm amazon.

that LF little touch leappad is gd as well. P's fav, can sit n play on her own when she din c me.

hmm.. maybe u can ask worrymum, where is she getting fm.

btw, what is KRTC?

Joleena,
Ya, came JW lah!

wow JW very far leh hee....

u all bought the Leapfrog DVD? is it really good?

Do you all think the kits better or just the A4 print outs better?

hoho03, my gal got the little touch leappad for her bday gift. But she doesnt really like to play with it. How much did you pay for the zoophonics print out?

Hi hoho03, thanks for your advise.

Hi Alicia's Daddy, RE: LEAPFROG DVD => I have checked with the local supplier, and they agreed to bring in the DVD for us if we could org a BP for 25pcs Leapfrog DVD (no need to purchase as set), per DVD at the price of $19.80. However, I do not have internet banking, and will be difficult for me to trace payment, so unable to org it.

Hi Parents, interested to share this BP: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?449156/499015

Hi CC2,
have you closed the BP for the zoophonics materials?
ya different day and timing hee...

hi worry mum
do you mean the local supplier who handles the leapfrog products?
maybe i can organise..am interested to buy the leapfrog DVD...
anyone interested?

Hi Joleena, yes.. they have one condition.. min order 25pcs DVD any topics from the set, and they only delivered to one location for every 25pcs.

If u r organising, Yes, i am interested to get 1 pc of the letter factory, dont dare to invest for the whole set yet..

hoho03,
KRTC is Kent Ridge Training Centre. It is in JP level 5. They have assorted enrichment classes there.

Worry Mum,
Thanks for helping to check. I am new to this Leapfrog thing. How many titles are in a set?

RE: Leapfrog DVD
I will check with my colleagues in US if they can find this in their local DVD stores, and the price in US (unless only exclusive to Amazon)

I may also have a couple of US business trips coming up in Oct - Dec, so can order from Amazon, and send to my hotel room..hehehe..

If the mommies here can wait, I will let you know if I have an arrangement.

A's Dad,
Go GO GO US!!!
Please let me know i want 2 get the other dvds title.

Giggler,
Hmm, initally, my ger oso don't like to play or touch, she STEP on it! faint..
but everyday, i will on the system and let her touch, smething like she don't play, me, hb n sis play..
while we r playing, she disturb, then slowly, i will explore the various objects in the book, press n let her hear.
so now, she is very interested. she know where is that object n will sway or make funny action with the sound.
Hmm, thinking of getting more cart. books but no one selling lei.

japancraze,
i only have the letter factory and talking words factory.
the letter factory is all about phonics. a gd start!
talking words is about forming of words. hmm a little too difficult for our little ones..

u read each dvd sypnosis from here: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_d/002-4644808-5096863?url=search-alias%3Ddvd&amp;field-keywords=leapfrog&amp;Go.x=12&amp;Go.y=7

even my hb commented that it is the best dvd in the hse, erm i bought lots hor..

so i ask him to sponsor the rest of the titles. heehee

Hoho03,
Will let you know when my schedule is firm up.
I may skip my Oct trip because my #2 popping around end Sept, so will be either in Nov or Dec.

hoho3, what cart book do u have? My gal is very fortunate cos my bros bot abt 5 books for her.

Alicia's daddy, pls keep me inform as I'm interested in the Leapfrog DVD since it got so much rave reviews.

Hi A's daddy, m interested in the dvd pak too.

BuT of course being with mrs is most impt
Let us know your schedule when confirmed.

By the way, I'm moving to JW St 42 next month so there's another parenthood parent staying there.

A's dad,
THKS! keep us inform.
Oh and congrats!

Btw, now i m bargaining with a mum to buy over the dvds set.heehee
BUT, i might want to buy the little touch cart bks..
JUST inform us OK..thks!

Giggler,
I only gt 3 cart bks- animal dance, A-Z adventure n 1 bear in the bedrm.
Tt time i stupid, should get all the cart bks during the bp...haiz.
btw, i browse thru ebay, there are more interesting bks! so tempting to bid..
those sold in sg, very standard, those few titles.xian..

Hello A's dad,
keep me in the loop too..i am interested to get the dvds as well
thanks for the help and sorry about the trouble

Hoho03, Giggler, Joleena, Nat&amp;Nic,
Will keep you posted when my trip is firm up.
One question: Just curious, these DVD are in code 1, but Singapore is designated for code 3. Can your DVD player play code 1 DVD?

hoho03,
Aiyo, you ah soh still failed bargaining. Looks like the seller even more ah soh...hahaha...just kidding :p

Understand it will be Sarah's dad to join in the class this week, so we will have 2 daddies. Ask your hb to join in lah.

A's dad,
u r rite about the dvd thingy.
mine can play... heehee...hoho...
i think unless ur player super old then cannot..

yalor, what to do, i m not the higestbidder :p anyway save $$ heehee

just now hb called me say sun gto work fm 7am-10am. i can c the face black black liao...

u befriend him lah.. then ask him in lah..

hoho03,
I have 2 players at home. The expensive one cannot even play the $2 Barney VCD properly. I bought a new one (only $59) this year for Alicia to watch her Barney, Hi-5 etc, and works even better than the expensive one. Maybe the cheap one can play code 1.

Your hb work on Sunday too? Wow, must be tough on him. You introduce your hb to me loh.

So those who wants to buy the dvds, please check the player code carefully!!

A's dad,
i think my player show code 3, can play very well. but my mil, don't knw what code, really cannot play, even pirated also cannot..OOPS.. :p

Will intro of cos, please set a gd example for him 2 follow. hahaha.. he is shy lah..
think when we reach there he would ran off jalan then 1pm came pick us up.. faint!

This assignment is last min 1. What to do, his ofc gt 3-4 preggy ladies, so as a MAN, he gto work double hard lor. heehee