Actually a cut is inevitable. Like what @towkayneo said, you won't feel it if under epi. The wound oso healed quite fast if you are diligent in taking Vit C. Shld be ok de.
Ya ya, nothing to be afraid of the tear once you wee wee and poo poo for the 1st time after birth. The next pain after labour is breast engorgement

My fren endure and she said pain till she tore the bedsheet n shitted on the spot. Luckily still in time for Epi.
Ladies if U think U can't endure better opt for it before 5cm. Once after 5cm dr cannot give U Epi le.
Wa did the nurses shift her to a new bed or left her in her own mess?

I'm at week 8 now.. Still very early days.. Saw my Sch during my week 5 scan and then I spotted for two days (mainly brown crinone discharge and when I wipe)... Gynae just asked me to rest. When I see him at week 7, he said my Sch became smaller and he is not so concerned now.

I googled this Sch thing got no med to stop or help one.. Only choice is to bed rest and hope it goes away.. And the location of the Sch determines how critical it can be.

I think your gynae should know his stuff and think it's not a big concern hence he didn't see u so often, but just that we all super kan cheong which I can totally understand. I contacted my gynae every day when I was spotting also.

By the way I'm on weekly progesterone jabs and 2 crinones a day plus duphaston and progynova. So I think there's no further support my gynae can provide me anymore.

Hopefully your Sch will be absorbed and disappear soon! Jiayou!

Who's your gynae? I think it's very good to give max support... At least you know you really are doing EVERYTHING to help bb. Haha I agree ivf mothers likely more kan cheong. We all really went through so much to conceive precious bb.

Just to rant, I was so angry with my colleague that day when he said that he does not want to cover my work anymore even though he is fully aware of my condition (3 weeks HL due to this SCH). As if I'm not stressed enough seeing toilet bowl of brown blood for a few days and spotting every other day. Next week I will see gynae again. Hope better prognosis

Glad for you that your sch has resolved. Hope mine will too and i can set my mind at ease. Rest well and first trimester will be over soon!

Who's your gynae? I think it's very good to give max support... At least you know you really are doing EVERYTHING to help bb. Haha I agree ivf mothers likely more kan cheong. We all really went through so much to conceive precious bb.

Just to rant, I was so angry with my colleague that day when he said that he does not want to cover my work anymore even though he is fully aware of my condition (3 weeks HL due to this SCH). As if I'm not stressed enough seeing toilet bowl of brown blood for a few days and spotting every other day. Next week I will see gynae again. Hope better prognosis

Glad for you that your sch has resolved. Hope mine will too and i can set my mind at ease. Rest well and first trimester will be over soon!

Your colleague is so mean. Rest more and don't care them. Now bb more impt

My gynae is Dr Yeong from Tow Yung Clinic.... He initially started me with 4 crinones a day.. But I find it super pricey and actual asked if can reduce the dosage! He did reduce after seeing the fetal heartbeat. I feel very assured with him cos he is always contactable and he usually take the kiasu approach.. For ivf mums who finally conceive after many failed attempts, his approach suits me very well.

Your male colleague is really an idiot and a super mean person. You are in such a stressful stage now and he is still adding stress to you. Just write him off and ignore him. Try not to let him affect your mood k. Cos stress will also alter our hormones also.

Anyway you have passed your first tri liao, don't worry too much in matters you cannot control! Be positive and hope your Sch goes away when u see the doc next week! Keep us posted! :)

Use up ALL your HL leave for this year plus the maternity leave. Your workmate need a chance to get use to the new economy style, which is one pax suppose to do 2 to even 3 pax worth of workload.

Jia you.

Use up ALL your HL leave for this year plus the maternity leave. Your workmate need a chance to get use to the new economy style, which is one pax suppose to do 2 to even 3 pax worth of workload.

Jia you.
Talking about maternity leave, it seems tough to really utilize the full straight 16 weeks. Employers will want you to come back after 2-3 months and then flexi work arrangements after that. Can understand that it's tough to have current colleagues or temp staff to cover your duties cos it means loss of productivity, in a sense.

On top of that, the government is contemplating to have a mandatory 8 week flexi-work arrangement on top of the 16 weeks maternity leave. Good news for us, definitely.

Seriously, wonder if we have "market" in the near future.

Talking about maternity leave, it seems tough to really utilize the full straight 16 weeks. Employers will want you to come back after 2-3 months and then flexi work arrangements after that. Can understand that it's tough to have current colleagues or temp staff to cover your duties cos it means loss of productivity, in a sense.

On top of that, the government is contemplating to have a mandatory 8 week flexi-work arrangement on top of the 16 weeks maternity leave. Good news for us, definitely.

Yup, actually it depends, some company prefer mummy to take the 4 mth straight, they find that it is less disruptive. Really depend on the company situation, best to sit down to discuss it with your boss, of cos if you have certain preference, make sure you state it outright so that the discussion can be hopefully guided towards your preferred arrangement.

But to implement takes time. By then we would have given birth already

Haha! I went to the prenatal class and they taught me on the breathing techniques. For me, it's useless. The laughing gas has no effect too. I was feeling damn mad & helpless and in great pain (yes, 3cm! And that anesthetist took her own sweet time to hook me up to the epidural machine) scary but exciting at the same time cos it's one of life's most exciting affair

The laughing gas is supposed to do what? Wah.. ok now I'm scared.
:-/ It's scary but exciting right! Everybody keep asking me if I'm excited! And ppl at work are asking me when I'm taking my maternity. I tell them that I won't take in advance. I ask them to look out for my screams in the office. :p
I'm full term in 6 weeks! *shudders*

:-/ It's scary but exciting right! Everybody keep asking me if I'm excited! And ppl at work are asking me when I'm taking my maternity. I tell them that I won't take in advance. I ask them to look out for my screams in the office. :p
Laughing gas is supposedly to make you feel less painful during labour, if you opt out of epidural. Time flies!! Get ready for the SHOW!

Hello, laughing gases suppose to make you luff, feel high so that you are distracted from the pain.

For 2nd mummies like me:

#1: Starting To Show During your first pregnancy, you probably spent hours agonising in the mirror over when your bump was going to make an appearance. You may have even managed to get nearly halfway through the pregnancy before being offered a seat on the train. That was all thanks to your stomach muscles.
With a second pregnancy, those muscles are long gone. You’ll probably look about six months pregnant before you’ve even peed on that stick. In fact, there’s no need to buy a pregnancy test in the first place. Your belly will not so discretely let you in on the secret pretty early on. You won’t be able to keep the pregnancy a secret for the first 12 weeks because your newly acquired gargantuan bump will be announcing it to everyone you see. And good luck getting to week 17 without strangers commenting “Oooh, you can’t have long to go, when are you due?” Er, in five months. Thanks.

#2: Due Date – Ha! You probably spent your entire first pregnancy counting down the days until your due date. Why? Because that was the exact date your baby would arrive, right? You always knew exactly how many weeks and days you had left to go because you spent most of your waking hours determinedly awaiting your due date. And when the day itself came, you spent it angrily waiting for labour to start. By the time you’re onto your second pregnancy, you know that a due date is simply a random date plucked out of your sonographer’s butt. It has no bearing on when your baby will arrive. The second pregnancy will be much easier because you’ll expect the baby to arrive ‘sometime in August’ rather than fixating on a single day that will almost certainly come and go with no baby. To be honest, you probably won’t even be able to remember that estimated due date half the time. After all, what’s the point?

#3: The Reaction As soon as you announce your first pregnancy, you’ll begin to feel like a celebrity. Everyone wants to know how you’re feeling every single day of the nine months of pregnancy. You’ll receive countless texts each day enquiring as to your health. People will want to be kept updated about your midwife appointments, birth plan and whether or not you’ve felt any twinges. Your first pregnancy is as exciting for those around you as it is for you. Then comes the second pregnancy. You might get a few congratulations, but that element of shock is gone. A second baby isn’t really as surprising as a first. And people probably won’t ask how you are all the time, because they know you’ve survived pregnancy before. Even your best friend won’t remember when your due date is (which is fine, because neither will you). The reaction from friends and family will certainly feel a little less enthusiastic the second time around.

#4: The Tiredness First pregnancies are exhausting. Remember how you used to spend all day at work only to fall asleep on the sofa as soon as you arrived home? You usually managed to wake up just in time for dinner only to go to bed straight after in a desperate attempt to fight the tiredness. Man, you slept so much. Fast forward to a second pregnancy and with an older child in the house, sleep is well and truly a thing of the past. Your sleep debt is huge and you have zero chance of getting rid of it until your kid goes to university. Thanks to the pregnancy and life, you’re exhausted all of the time, but that doesn’t mean you’re getting any extra sleep. Your older child still wakes you in the night, there isn’t a spare hour in your day to grab a nap and there’s very little chance of you managing a lie-in anytime soon. So, yeah, you’re tired. Like, really tired.

#5: Pamper Time During your first pregnancy, you probably looked after yourself as though you were a delicate princess made of little more than marshmallow and glass. You relaxed during monthly massages, weekly prenatal yoga sessions and daily baths. You didn’t lift anything that weighed more than a feather (and, to be perfectly honest, you didn’t lift many feathers either). You drank eight glasses of water a day, ate (or tried to) a purely organic diet free from junk food, and slept for at least 10 hours a day on a bed made from clouds. That’s not what a second pregnancy is like. There will be no luxurious massages, unless you count the sticky toddler fingers prodding you in the back all night. There will be no yoga, this time you will get your exercise by chasing your child around the house, picking up toys 24 hours a day and wrestling your child into bed at night. You’ll get baths, but there won’t be any candles. This time you’ll be surrounded by brightly coloured bath toys and there is a good chance your kid will come in to have a crap whilst you’re trying to relax in the bath.

#6: Things To Buy As soon as you found out you were expecting your first child, you started researching for the shopping list to end all shopping lists. Every purchase was fully researched before any decisions were made. Even if a product looked perfect and amazing, a negative online review was enough to send you running back to the drawing board. Your baby was only to have the very best. You spent an absolute fortune making sure you had every baby product on the market. With a second baby, you’re far more relaxed. For a start, you know that half the things you bought last time turned out to be a complete waste of money. Most of those baby products are completely useless and you definitely won’t be bothering with them this time around. Plus, you probably already have loads of things in the loft. You might even get round to checking one day. When you have time.

#7: General Geekery You could have passed a degree in pregnancy, birth and babies during your first pregnancy. You read every book you could find, signed up for all the email newsletters and couldn’t stop asking friends and family for advice. You attended prenatal classes, breastfeeding classes and baby first aid courses. You spent all of your time trying to learn everything there was about being a mama. Motherhood was your specialist subject and you would have passed with top marks. You won’t be quite so prepared for baby number two. Of course, you’ve done it all before so that should make things a little easier this time around. But, it’s fair to say that the newborn days are a hazy memory and there’s a pretty good chance you’ve forgotten everything about looking after tiny babies. You know this, but it’s ok, you’re pretty good at winging it now. - See more at: http://www.bellybelly.com.au/pregnancy/7-ways-a-second-pregnancy-is-different-to-the-first/

Hi five, we are in the same boat! Yesterday night i dream that i give birth and scream my guts out when i push. (- -)

For 2nd mummies like me:

#1: Starting To Show During your first pregnancy, you probably spent hours agonising in the mirror over when your bump was going to make an appearance. You may have even managed to get nearly halfway through the pregnancy before being offered a seat on the train. That was all thanks to your stomach muscles.
With a second pregnancy, those muscles are long gone. You’ll probably look about six months pregnant before you’ve even peed on that stick. In fact, there’s no need to buy a pregnancy test in the first place. Your belly will not so discretely let you in on the secret pretty early on. You won’t be able to keep the pregnancy a secret for the first 12 weeks because your newly acquired gargantuan bump will be announcing it to everyone you see. And good luck getting to week 17 without strangers commenting “Oooh, you can’t have long to go, when are you due?” Er, in five months. Thanks.

#2: Due Date – Ha! You probably spent your entire first pregnancy counting down the days until your due date. Why? Because that was the exact date your baby would arrive, right? You always knew exactly how many weeks and days you had left to go because you spent most of your waking hours determinedly awaiting your due date. And when the day itself came, you spent it angrily waiting for labour to start. By the time you’re onto your second pregnancy, you know that a due date is simply a random date plucked out of your sonographer’s butt. It has no bearing on when your baby will arrive. The second pregnancy will be much easier because you’ll expect the baby to arrive ‘sometime in August’ rather than fixating on a single day that will almost certainly come and go with no baby. To be honest, you probably won’t even be able to remember that estimated due date half the time. After all, what’s the point?

#3: The Reaction As soon as you announce your first pregnancy, you’ll begin to feel like a celebrity. Everyone wants to know how you’re feeling every single day of the nine months of pregnancy. You’ll receive countless texts each day enquiring as to your health. People will want to be kept updated about your midwife appointments, birth plan and whether or not you’ve felt any twinges. Your first pregnancy is as exciting for those around you as it is for you. Then comes the second pregnancy. You might get a few congratulations, but that element of shock is gone. A second baby isn’t really as surprising as a first. And people probably won’t ask how you are all the time, because they know you’ve survived pregnancy before. Even your best friend won’t remember when your due date is (which is fine, because neither will you). The reaction from friends and family will certainly feel a little less enthusiastic the second time around.

#4: The Tiredness First pregnancies are exhausting. Remember how you used to spend all day at work only to fall asleep on the sofa as soon as you arrived home? You usually managed to wake up just in time for dinner only to go to bed straight after in a desperate attempt to fight the tiredness. Man, you slept so much. Fast forward to a second pregnancy and with an older child in the house, sleep is well and truly a thing of the past. Your sleep debt is huge and you have zero chance of getting rid of it until your kid goes to university. Thanks to the pregnancy and life, you’re exhausted all of the time, but that doesn’t mean you’re getting any extra sleep. Your older child still wakes you in the night, there isn’t a spare hour in your day to grab a nap and there’s very little chance of you managing a lie-in anytime soon. So, yeah, you’re tired. Like, really tired.

#5: Pamper Time During your first pregnancy, you probably looked after yourself as though you were a delicate princess made of little more than marshmallow and glass. You relaxed during monthly massages, weekly prenatal yoga sessions and daily baths. You didn’t lift anything that weighed more than a feather (and, to be perfectly honest, you didn’t lift many feathers either). You drank eight glasses of water a day, ate (or tried to) a purely organic diet free from junk food, and slept for at least 10 hours a day on a bed made from clouds. That’s not what a second pregnancy is like. There will be no luxurious massages, unless you count the sticky toddler fingers prodding you in the back all night. There will be no yoga, this time you will get your exercise by chasing your child around the house, picking up toys 24 hours a day and wrestling your child into bed at night. You’ll get baths, but there won’t be any candles. This time you’ll be surrounded by brightly coloured bath toys and there is a good chance your kid will come in to have a crap whilst you’re trying to relax in the bath.

#6: Things To Buy As soon as you found out you were expecting your first child, you started researching for the shopping list to end all shopping lists. Every purchase was fully researched before any decisions were made. Even if a product looked perfect and amazing, a negative online review was enough to send you running back to the drawing board. Your baby was only to have the very best. You spent an absolute fortune making sure you had every baby product on the market. With a second baby, you’re far more relaxed. For a start, you know that half the things you bought last time turned out to be a complete waste of money. Most of those baby products are completely useless and you definitely won’t be bothering with them this time around. Plus, you probably already have loads of things in the loft. You might even get round to checking one day. When you have time.

#7: General Geekery You could have passed a degree in pregnancy, birth and babies during your first pregnancy. You read every book you could find, signed up for all the email newsletters and couldn’t stop asking friends and family for advice. You attended prenatal classes, breastfeeding classes and baby first aid courses. You spent all of your time trying to learn everything there was about being a mama. Motherhood was your specialist subject and you would have passed with top marks. You won’t be quite so prepared for baby number two. Of course, you’ve done it all before so that should make things a little easier this time around. But, it’s fair to say that the newborn days are a hazy memory and there’s a pretty good chance you’ve forgotten everything about looking after tiny babies. You know this, but it’s ok, you’re pretty good at winging it now. - See more at: http://www.bellybelly.com.au/pregnancy/7-ways-a-second-pregnancy-is-different-to-the-first/
So truth. Totally agree. With my LO one 3yrs old going to CC + housework. I am totally burnt out

Few questions:
I am male, trying to settle most things if possible, so not to load spouse. Currently at 18+. Detailed scan on 30 Mar. Edd Aug
Did so-iui at TFC. Following Dr SF Loh

1) anyone going to Antenatal Programme? http://www.kkh.com.sg/EducationAndTraining/Documents/Antenatal Programme.pdf
Which week to go?or must check with DR?
2) any packages for subsequent check-up at TMH? cos previous scan, we paid ala-carte too. is there anything like package? clinic always packed and full. and kan chiong forget to ask misc. :(

Few questions:
I am male, trying to settle most things if possible, so not to load spouse. Currently at 18+. Detailed scan on 30 Mar. Edd Aug

1) anyone going to Antenatal Programme? http://www.kkh.com.sg/EducationAndTraining/Documents/Antenatal Programme.pdf
2) any packages for subsequent check-up at TMH? cos previous scan, we paid ala-carte too. is there anything like package? clinic always packed and full. and kan chiong forget to ask misc. :(

1) I'm going for the thomson one and I'm currently going for hypnobirthing. I think when you want to go depends on when you are ready. Earlier could be good so can practise.

2) Do you mean TMC? From what I know, most gynaes have packages and some start from week 16. It's best if you ask your gynae.

okay. u can share the thomson one? just to ensure same page.
if price no diff, then better to stick to one place. what is hypnobirth?

Few questions:

I went for antenatal class at thomson n paid 350 dlr for famous Wong boi boi class. U can only go after week 20. Preferable not too late into pregnancy because tummy will be heavy and more tiring.

If U are with dr Loh he has package from week 20 I think. I am not too sure U can check with his staff. What I understand is package is only for appointment consultation. If U have urgent consult or last min walk in U cannot use the package n will be charge accordingly.

If U are staying with thomson then it make sense to apply for the thomson fbi membership card. Pay 60 dlr and U can get discount off antenatal class , insurance, detail scan and Ward stay. Also comes with free goodie bag and child education book.

okay. u can share the thomson one? just to ensure same page.
if price no diff, then better to stick to one place. what is hypnobirth?

This is the thomson one - http://www.thomsonmedical.com/childbirth-education-course-2/
But I'm taking the intensive one day course cos I registered late. :-/

Hypnobirthing - you can read about it here - http://www.hypnobirthing.com/what-is-hypnobirthing-definition/

So far both my husband and I love the hypnobirthing classes but it seems ante-natal classes held by hospitals and hypnobirthing have different methods and beliefs. I think TMC has hypnobirthing classes too though.

I went for antenatal class at thomson n paid 350 dlr for famous Wong boi boi class. U can only go after week 20. Preferable not too late into pregnancy because tummy will be heavy and more tiring.

If U are with dr Loh he has package from week 20 I think. I am not too sure U can check with his staff. What I understand is package is only for appointment consultation. If U have urgent consult or last min walk in U cannot use the package n will be charge accordingly.

I attend Ms Wong boi boi classes about 3 years ago. For folks who hate big class size, then please skip her. Otherwise, is not bad.

Hmmm actually now that I've finished attending her classes, IMHO, the class can improved especially the practical part on taking care of the baby rather than doing the exercises. There's only 1 practical lesson with the dummy baby & it's quite a rush through. Other than that she's fine though she likes to 'sell' herself. Hahaha

If you ladies happen to be under KKH, after birth, for the days when you are warded, nurses will come in to teach you how to clean up a baby from changing diapers to bathing, with a dummy. Lactation consultants will also come in to teach you how to massage your breasts to encourage milk flow, how to latch etc. I was quite annoyed by them at that point in time, but thinking back, it's good knowledge. You can ask them all the Q you want and they will repeat the procedures.

I agreed the exercises can skip and more hands on taking care of baby.

Yeah heard similar review from my hubby's colleague who gave birth few months ago. Initially I was interested then hubby not so keen and offered that he rather that I join prenatal pilates since I have phobia about labour process and he strongly believes that pilates or yoga can help prepare the body wor. So I signed up at Breath Pilates which has a branch near my place and started last week. 2 lessons so far and loving it.

I'm taking the intensive class so I don't know if it's going to be sufficient.
So I'm going to go for this class - http://www.childbirthodyssey.com/services/calming-baby/
This seems interesting and it's held by my hypnobirth instructor whose knowledge is amazing. Just sharing in case anybodyis interested.

I'm so nervous that it's approaching. When my sister had my nephew and niece, I didn't even dare carry them when they were a few days old. I hope I'll have the confidence with my son.

Few questions:

Coincident :) my detailed scan also on 30 March and I'm also under Dr Loh.
See my earlier post to milogal about the antenatal class. If your Wife's mum or your mum or any sister/Sister-in law can share their real knowledge about newborn care, that's one assurance that you can rely on some realtime help while hands on the job when needed as bb comes along. Then can consider doing away with this course. There is another one which is for Father and newborn by TMC (saw the poster at TMC; maybe can check it out).
I hv signed up for TMC's FBI membership too in view of discount on wards etc. Recommend that your Wife sign up too if confirm delivering at TMC. I intend to ask doc about his package in the next visit after the detail scan. Maybe you can make a note to ask them too. Nice of you to support your wife actively this way. Way to go :)

Mummies, esp 2nd time mummies, I'm curious and hope you can share your knowledge about dealing with post partum bleeding. What do hospital really usually provide and how should we best prepare ourselves (e.g. Recommendations on best type of undies, brand of sanitary pads, after birth care etc). Thanks in advance.

I'm taking the intensive class so I don't know if it's going to be sufficient.
So I'm going to go for this class - http://www.childbirthodyssey.com/services/calming-baby/
This seems interesting and it's held by my hypnobirth instructor whose knowledge is amazing. Just sharing in case anybodyis interested.

I'm so nervous that it's approaching. When my sister had my nephew and niece, I didn't even dare carry them when they were a few days old. I hope I'll have the confidence with my son.
Ehhh, I didn't dare to carry other kids before I was a mummy for fear of hurting them, but when it comes to your own, your hormones will FORCE you to carry them 24/7.

We can equip with all the knowledge we learn from the classes, at the end of the day, it's on-the-job training. Many a time, you will realise, "eh, my prenatal class got teach me this meh? how ah?"

Ehhh, I didn't dare to carry other kids before I was a mummy for fear of hurting them, but when it comes to your own, your hormones will FORCE you to carry them 24/7.

We can equip with all the knowledge we learn from the classes, at the end of the day, it's on-the-job training. Many a time, you will realise, "eh, my prenatal class got teach me this meh? how ah?"

You mean it will come naturally is it - Ie. that you will know how to carry him so you won't hurt him? I'm afraid of the soft neck. Keep having visions of clumsy me hurting him :-/

Mummies, esp 2nd time mummies, I'm curious and hope you can share your knowledge about dealing with post partum bleeding. What do hospital really usually provide and how should we best prepare ourselves (e.g. Recommendations on best type of undies, brand of sanitary pads, after birth care etc). Thanks in advance.
My post partum bleeding ended in about 3 weeks plus?

I remember the hospital gave me stool softener (liquid form) & Vitamin C for 1-2 weeks (or maybe 3-4 weeks) before I was discharged.

I was wearing disposable undies all the way till I stopped bleeding cos I had to keep changing the pad every 3-4 hours? For sanitary pads, I go by Kotex Night with wings (the longest one).

After-birth care, I think nothing much lo, just remember to BATHE everyday! I cannot imagine not bathing when I am bleeding underneath and breastfeeding at the same time! OMG.

My fren suggest buying those heavy night use sanitary pad. Hospital one will be thick and uncomfortable. After birth try not to squat and walk too much for first two weeks. Despite what the older generation or cl tell us but its hygenie to bath daily cos u are carrying bb everyday n latching. Just need to bath early and dry quickly.

Me too especially dr remind me not to do exercises like others. So am more careful.
Ya, unless you are super active bunny before pregnancy, it's better to be a relaxed and chilled bunny during pregnancy.

So funny, during pre-natal classes last time, I got to know this heavily pregnant lady who can stretch like nobody's business and the other mummies including myself go "wow"....she was actively doing yoga before pregnancy so I would say, she was better than the instructor! :p

You mean it will come naturally is it - Ie. that you will know how to carry him so you won't hurt him? I'm afraid of the soft neck. Keep having visions of clumsy me hurting him :-/
Ya, it just comes naturally! Otherwise you start to practice with your teddy bear.
Always always hold the newborn baby by the neck. Or use the crevice of your arm to support his neck at all times. Nobody is allowed to carry him vertically with no support on the head.

Try not to let inexperienced visitors (like kids for examples) to carry the baby. I am very kiasee and kiasu, so I don't really like friends and distant relatives to carry my LO when he was young (and even maybe now also)