Twins due in 2008?

i was sitting at the comp for a whole morning & afternoon and by the evening, i got such a sore shoulder/upper back ache...any idea if i can use the muscle relaxant Yoko Yoko or those 'koyok' plasters to stick on my shoulders for relief? cos no matter how much i massage still pain...

Hi again, just pop in to answer Cynthia's question.

My first boy was water bag burst situation. Though it should not be very common to encounter. Mine was water bag burst before any contractions. You'll fill something inside you just prick, then water gushing out. At first it's quite painless, but just like you're peeing profusely, then after about 10-15 mins contraction starts. For me, the moment the contraction started, it's already at 5-7 mins interval.

Also, water should be quite clear when gushing out, but for mine, my son pooped inside, so it bacame brownish. Hope this helps.

Hi SYL,

Thanks for sharing... Hmmm... These two days i woke up and found my panty wet... Then today have a transparent gel kind of fluid when i clean myself up... So kinda worried...

Haven't been here for some time. Went for a check-up on Thursday 10th July at 2.00 pm and as one of my twin's heartbeats (the girl) showed distress, the doctor asked me to stay in for further observation. At 8.30 they decided to do an emergency c-section. By 9.20 my babies had arrived. I didn't get to see my babies as they were wheeled straight away to the special care nursery. Only my husband who was waiting outside got to see them and took a quick photo.I only got to see them the next day. My boy (2.1kg )was warded in NICU as he had water in the lungs and my girl in SCN as she is only 1.6 kg. Thankfully he has improved and now in SCN as well with his sister. Both came out at 34 weeks so still under monitoring. I was discharged today . Quite sad I had to come home by myself but am sure they are in good hands and hope they'll be home soon.

Hi water lotus,
congratulations. don't worry they will join u soon. at the mean time, rest well so that when they come home, u got more energy for them.

Hi twinkle2
Thank you. Yes I am trying to rest and be able to walk around so when the babies come home, I will be ready.

Nicole G
About the insurance, yes it helps a lot if they have to stay at NICU. I was at KKH and maximum charges are $470 + $190 per day if Class A. For SCN (special care nursery) is $245 + $190 per day. The insurance will cover between $100 (SCN) and $300 (NICU) a day for each kid depending on the type of care they are getting .

Hi Waterlotus! Congratz on your delivery!

Just so long as the mother and babies are safe, that's what's important.

Meanwhile, just focus on resting well and preparing your body for the milk supplies if you intend to breast feed. So long as you recover well fast, then you can take good care of your twins when they are out. It maybe a blessing in disguise that you get sometime to yourself to recover, and that you kids be in professionals care too. Till when three of you are ready, then your kids will be in your good hands.

So just try relax, your kids WILL be fine.

Hi Cynthia, If you are consistently having such discharge. Do monitor your weight a little, and the babies movement, as well as alert the gynae if you don't feel comfortable with the discharge.

I have heard of a friend dilating for months, and yet she din't really feel any contraction. But this dragged on till she delivered. So you might want to just play safe and check out what are the discharge if they do not look normal. But, if it's water bag burst, I can definitely assure you, you WILL know. Haha.

Hi Ladies, My doc gave me the Down symdrom scan to consider. Im confuse n scared cause both my hubby n me are not keen on it as we dont consider aborting the babies, that is not on our plate to consider. So we decided not to do it.

Did all of u take the scan? Im 29 years old this year, I always thought if u are 35yrs n above than u have to go for the scan but looks like they seem to give everyone that option.

Congrats Water Lotus!
Did u have any symptoms to indicate the heartbeat distress for your baby girl? Hope you will all be reunited soon!

NicoleG
The docs recommend the DS test more as a matter of course these days. and someone told me it's cos of protecting themselves from legal suits in case baby is born with defect...not sure if that's true...anyway i took the OSCAR test cos I am 34 this year already.

If aborting is not an option for you at all, then you probably don't need to bother with the test.

hi how did you ladies choose the chinese names? The 'wellknown' geomancers all charge 100+ to 300+ per baby, but i have already tot of the chinese name, just need to check the strokes...where can i go or who to contact?

Vine
I had swelling of fingers last night and feet tis morning too....hehe..i was worried so went to check my BP, which is still within safety zone...mustve been the salty food I had on weekend!

Hi Vine,

Swelling is part and parcel. I started during my second trimester. By the time 3rd trimester, last two months, I was practically wearing my father's slippers everywhere, cos my shoes simply don't fit, and they were already 2 sizes up from my normal!

Try cut down on salty food, plus raising your legs when you sleep or work should help, plus don't stand too much. But for me, in the later stages, nothing worked at all. Depends on individuals la.

Vine
re: maternity leave am not sure, cos my co is small, so whatever i arranged with my boss is the "norm". right now i am doing 8 working weeks (not including weekends) as my paid maternity and 4 extra unpaid weeks (i dont get 12 paid weeks as am not singaporean). you should ask your HR on the co policy/right calculation.

anyone getting mum to babysit twins and confinement? wat do u tink is the market rate to pay her during the first mth?

I wish I had family to look after. market rate for nannies who come to your place for twins: $2000-2500 per month!

My confinement is $2,800

Hi Vine,

On maternity leave, not sure if it's same practise for all companies. I recalled checking and reading somewhere that 8 weeks of paid maternity leaves are by companies. And the remaining 4 weeks are by government, however, this is depending on whether your company would want to apply these 4 weeks claims from government as well and give you these remaining maternity grant. You may want to check out with your company. If I recalled these weeks are irrespective of public holidays. So, for me, I lost out alot as mine falls within CNY too. Sigh.

As for confinement costs, Ava is right, however, also due to twins, not many nannies would want to take up the project. Else, they would ask for more. Mine was during CNY period and also I paid S$2800 for her service.

Hi, i m new to this thread. I m 16 wks preg and having twins, edd in end Dec. I wld like to find out more abt CL.

I spoke to one CL last night and she said taking care of twins during confinement is not easy so she suggested a maid or in-law to help out. Since i dun hv anyone to help out at home, she advised me to hire another CL to come in during day time. That will mean my total cost will be 4K++.

I am wondering for ladies here who paid $2800 for a CL, are they working alone or also expecting some other help fr us? You advice is very much appreciated. thx!

hi NZ, yes my MIL is helping out so i'm charged 2800. actually no need to to hire until 2 CLs...cos CL mainly is hired for her confinement cooking and take care of bb so u can rest for 1 month... just 1 CL and perhaps get another maid experienced with children to help out with bb + chores...after 1st month hopefully u can be well enough to 'join forces' with the maid
that may be easier for u?

I am back!! My two babies have arrived safely! And guess what.. My water bag burst but i am still within my full term.. 14 July 2008 : )

Congrats Cynthia. May I know which hospital you gave birth at? Im due only in Feb but checking out costing. hehehe.. Congrats again on you wonderful babies!

Hi SYL, was your gyny Dr Heng Tung Lan of East Shore Hospital and she got an Eastern Specialist Centre? I use to see her when I was young and she referred me to the specialist at SGH, thats where I manage to conceive Twins. Im now 9 weeks. I thought after my 3months scan I want to change gyny. I know that her clinic at Bedok has closed down. Do you have the current contact details? Will really appreciate it. How much was ur hospital cost? Im comparing prices. Many thanks!

Hi Ava,

As u know my water bag burst and i reached the hospital at 1.30am// Waited till 3.30 am coz unable to locate my gynae.. Gosh..thats bad.. i was then in pain and dilute to 4cm already.. Almost changed gynae for operation but just in the nick of time, my gynae called bk and he reached at 4am. I was unable to do EPI anymore so did GA instead... Babies came out at 4.14am and 4.15am and now back at home with me... Cool.. : ) Feeding now on breast milk and interval 3 hrs at 35ml ech feeding...
1566741.jpg

Ohh bless Cynthia.. Congrats on ur babies.. I cannot wait for mine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How do u know how much they feeding? are u expressing or are they latching?

Ur babies are so precious........ What was their weight and how many weeks were u when u delivered them??

Sorry for the many questions... ohhh man ur babies are so cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.. Sorry keep repeating....

Hi Cynthia! Wow They are CUTE!! Must have been a scary experience hearing that your gynae MIA. Haha, so glad you pulled through all both kids back home! But seems the one on the right is bigger than the left baby? So their birth tag still on?? Hehe, to distinguish each other.

Hi Nicole, Ya is dr. Heng. She was the one that gave me the twins this round. Haha. Ya her Bedok clinic is still in Bedok, just that they shifted to the interchange mc donald building. The clinic is called Eastern Specialist Center, no. is 64414276. Cost wise, I have to check and get back, as I am in office now. As my hubby took charge of all the payments, hehe I just focused on recovering and the kids. ;P (That's the only time you can heck care)

I belive East Shore most likely would not be the cheapest you can get, but pricing maybe mediocre. Just that because I am living within Bedok itself, plus, my first son was also with Dr. Heng. Thus, naturally I went back to her. Plus we find her sunny nature very comfortable. Only minus point is her schedule always fully packed, so sometimes you need to wait longer.

LOL Jaslyn, your gals DO look alike lah!!! You're probably more able to tell them apart....I think as they grow bigger, even more alike too, cos the weights/size will be more similar.

Firstly, thanks for all the blessings from everybody here .. : )

H Nicole,

I did a check with the nurses b4 i leave the hospital on how much they have to intake.. I am doing both expressing and latching as latching,they will not feel full.. I delivered them at 38 weeks and my boy weighs 2.68kg and my girl at 2.19kg. (Do remember to obtain some medications for more breast milk from the gynae if u are looking at breast feeding.) : )

Hi Ava,

Birthdate on 14 July 08 and to be frank , GA wasnt scary but after that the first step to walk was abit tough but overall okie... Cool..

Hi SYL,

Ya man... So scary when gynae MIA... But lucky he responds in time.. I already took out their tag. Not difficult to differiate them as they are of diff gender.So i put them on diff colour clothes.

Ava
hehe..
ya lor.. maybe cos I can tell them apart
so they dun look alike to me..
ya.. mei mei is catching up jie jie liao..

Hi NZ, I hire a CL to take care of my twins during confinement period for 2k. She is Indo chinese and very exp with twins. I din go thru agent. I also hire one maid to help out cos I have an elder kid.

Ava, are u having pains ard ur rib cage area? Having problem sleeping too???

wah cynthia, u hv created a hype in this thread! so many posts!

glad you found dr ong, how come he MIA, alamak, scary! I hv more or less decided on epidural, wanted to ask for ur experience but you went for GA keke.

when u hv time, come here and share more....

Thanks Cynthia for the info on breast feeding. another question, were you working and were you given bed rest in the 3rd trimester? I notice that most ppl that give birth at 38weeks with twins were on bed rest. Im thinking of that during my 7/8month. I really want them to remain inside me for as long as possible to prevent the NICU stay.

U must be so busy with ur beautiful babies. whats ur schedule like with them? do u feed them at the same time?

Ava, As Cynthia shared, actually GA is not as scary, cos you just fall into deep sleep after awhile. And the next thing, the babies are out, and you just sleep and sleep. Haha. Only thing, the tubes that they stick down your throat does cause some coughings.

Cynthia, Don't move too much now that you're resting. I had bad cases of blood clot when I went back to gynae for checkup two weeks later. She actually had to do a puncture and release those blood. My lower abs was all the while numb n pain, and I thought it was the wound! And actual fact, it was the bad clot beneath! It's been half a year, and I still feeling those clots n numb. Maybe cos I moved around too much during confinement and carried my elder son plus I wore that tummy guard wrongly.
Just a precaution.