Trying Hard To Conceive..Please Share..

mummywannabe

I believe many mummy wannabes out there are also very stress and sad that we cant conceive no matter how hard and longing for a baby. i know that there is a support thread but it is not detailed.. I hope all can share about how to conceive better and methods to conceive will be posted here.

Hi Sam:

Understand your pain, as I have been trying for 5 years before I hv my first boy.
My advice: if you have trying baby for more than a year and no news, you should seek gynea opinion and help. For myself, I have ovaluation problem and block one fallopian tube(I will never know this, if I don't go to gynea). The gynea put me on ovaluation bill and monitor my cycle. All my three prenancy success on first cycle trial, now I'm mother of two boys (one miscarriage)

Hi lovelove:

sorry sorry, enable my PM liao

Hi HinHin and LoveLove,

I agree with LoveLove that you really need to seek the help of a gynae to know why you are not conceiving. If you can, you should bring your husband along to check his sperm condition.

If both of you have no fertility problems, then you should try to identify your ovulation date for more precision. Just google "ovulation date" on the internet to find out more. Most gynae tells you that you are most fertile 14 days from your 1st day of menses, it is not true, the date varies from woman to woman.

If you are very kaisu, the best method to identify your ovulation date is to use an ovulation detection kit from Day 12 of your 1st day of menses. It is expensive (About $10+ per test stick) but most scientific. Other methods includes checking your basel temperature and monitoring the vaginal discharge.

For my case, I have PCOS (which means I am not ovulating eventhough I have my monthly menus) and also have a polyp in my womb (which I removed in March 08). My hubby's sperm is good so the infertility issue lies with me. I tried Clomid but it doesn't work so i am trying SO-IUI for the 1st time this month.

Hi LoveLove, I hope I am as lucky as you to struck lottery on my 1st try.

Wish me luck.

My wife and I have been trying for years.
but our trying is like have twice per month.
anything to do with freq?
I went for a checkup n found my sperms are tested not healthy too.
whats the best advise to help my situation?

RuRU Cat has point out the vy impt factors in her post.

Find out your ovulation date. Most gynae tells you that you are most fertile 14 days from your 1st day of menses, it is not true, the date varies from woman to woman.

I wasted so many time thinking tat this is true. Only to find out my real 'O' date when I plot my BBT temp chart, then I realised tat I 'O' much earlier CD11 than other even thou I m a regular 28days cycle.

Try this link http://www.fertilityfriend.com/, it helps me a lot to get my 'O' date.

Hi Vince,

There are plenty of reasons- some medical, some not, for not conceiving.

Do you really mean try for "years" already? If yes, then you should seek help from OBGYNs specializing in fertility issues...

How old are you and your wife?
But do note 25% of infertility cases have no known cause...so good luck to you...

Hi Vince,

You have to get rid of the misconception that frequency has anything to do with conceiving. It is not the number of times but the timing!

Please ask your wife to start monitoring her ovulation period so you can "do it" on her most fertile period.

You mentioned that that you had your sperms checked and results not very ideal, so perhaps you can ask your gynae to advise you on the options open to you and your wife? I am assuming that your wife has also done her check-up with the gynae and she has no known infertility problem.

As Fairyprincess says, seeing a fertility specialist is the fastest option to identifying the problem and finding solution. But if you still want to try the natural way, then maybe your wife can monitor her ovulation date over the next 3 months and see how. Good luck to u and your wife!!!

My hubby and I tried for more than a year. Still no results. So went to gynae to check it out. Did all sorts of tests. the major problem laid with me cos i don't ovulate enough. My mensus super irregular. sometimes 3 months never come! ( give me false hope of being pregnant). But gynae didn't want to give me clomid so fast. She asked me to lose weight by eating healthier and exercising. And my endocrinologist gave me some diabetic pills (though they checked i don't have) cos some women somehow have become pregnant after eating that...

In any case, i didn't manage to lose weight. but suddenly i lost alot of weight (up to 10KG) within about 3 months? something was wrong. I have hyperthyroid problem.

And then one/two months later, i found out i was pregnant! my endo said somehow the losing of weight must have helped. though i must say many "fat" people also give birth.

vince: trying 2x a mth is not enough, esp since a woman normally only ovulates 1x a mth, sometimes not even that 1x a mth and having regular periods also doesn't mean there is regular ovulation. you need to have relations just before and on the same day as ovulation to give time for the sperm to travel up the cervix -> fallopian tubes to meet the egg. it is very rare to get preg when having relations after ovulation unless ovulation happened to be delayed that month.

as for your sperm, there is evidence that men (with normal healthy sperm) generally don't do well when going for the very 1st sperm test and need at least 2-3 tests to confirm male factor infertility. there are many factors that will contribute to quality of sperm; stress, diet, how many times you have ejaculated in that month, weight, hormones, if you smoke/ drink. also if you used some form of lubrication to assist when producing the sample, it can contaminate and cause the result to be poor. HTHs

Hi Mummywannabe,

My daughter is 11 years old and my son is now turning 3. Big gap.... 8 years! Yes, I tried very hard after my first child ....1 yr, 2yrs, 3yrs......I gave up because I have reached age 38 and don't think my energy level is there anymore. I have a outdoor sales job, very stressful and always have to carry heavy samples so I always think my chances of conceiving very slim probably the egg also cannot cling on long enough to fertilise. Then somehow, due to tiredness, I started eating beef to boost up my energy and also I can tell you that if you are stress up very hard to conceive. You need to relieve all these thoughts about wanting and must concieve calling, channel your mind to other things. Your body will loosen up and relax, the egg will take their toll and concieve. Somehow, people always say if it is yours, it will come one day. Maybe some readers would not agree with me .... I have been through a lot of sadness not able to concieve the second one.. even my first child took me 4 years to come. The envy, jealousness and craving feelings all add up to the baby stress.

I hope I share some thoughts you are going through and if many alternative scientific methods did not work, do not give up, relax, it will come one day!

I have a 3.5yo boy. Conceived by "accident" (without planning). We started trying for second one the last two months (timing ourselves using ovulation kits) but failed. Decided to consult a gynae specialised in fertility last week. Found out I have PCOS on my right ovary. On Metformin medication now. But my left ovary is ok. In fact, there was one ripe egg and two unripe ones. So the gynae advised us the two days to try for baby (on our own first).

What have I learnt? One, if you're serious about conceiving a baby soon, seek gynae advice. Otherwise you'll never know if there are other problems hindering that. Two, ovulation kits indicating the best two days to conceive is really really a very rough estimate and you could miss many chances to conceive. In my case, I used ovulation test kit on 12/05 morning and it indicated my best two days were 12/05 and 13/05. Then when I saw the gynae on 15/05, ya it was true there was a ripe egg already in the ovary, but there were two more that could ripen by 17/05 and therefore he advised us to try on 17/05 and 18/05.

I'm also watching my diet to control my PCOS condition and prepare my health for a better chance at conceiving.

we TTC for 5 long years before we succeed.

we went from seeing gynae to taking ovulation pills to taking jabs, gg for laproscopic examination to refusing all docs and gg into distress. All the people around me are pregnant except me. the frustrations went on and on... we even go for TCM.

finally, the chinese doc insisted that my HB go for a SA and found out that there was nothing wrong with me at all. his semen is too thick and the little worms cannot swim out to reach the egg. that caused infertility. so we've wasted quite a lot of time running around, assuming that it's me the lady who's got a problem - It's all because my man has a big pride

Hi Sam,
many mummies here had offered their advice on how u shld seek medical help n to monitor ur O period...

Other than these will b what u need to take note during each BD. Rem to put a pillow or bolster below ur buttock for at 0.5 to 1 hr. By keep ur buttock up will help to let the sperm flow in rather than flow out (cos' for my case, i hv tilted womb so my hubby's sperm will easily flow out after each BD). Then best is not to wash even after 1hr, wait till the next day. Best position to BD for conceiving will b the missionary style n 'doggie' style. n yes, most important is to relax n dun keep thinking of doing is to conceive...

hope this will help.

Thanks for the reply. Actually i have consulted gynae already, as it has been almost a yr since me n my hubby start to conceive.

All i can say is the gynae i went to is super lag.. he dun bother about you and only tell you to wait, he only cares about his preggie patients. Anyway i also dun wanna complain much just try first lor.

Went for SA and my hubby result came out not very satisfying as he got abnormal sperms and count too low.

As for me im not ovulating as prostegerone too low, so gynae put me on clomid. Today is my 23DP Clomid.

So eager, went to get hpt to test but negative, but i don't hope too much now.

How do you know whether u r ovulating or not? Is it by the blood test? I have regular menses every mth..and hv went for checkup before...

I think im damn sway lor...got such a dun care attitude gynae...sighs.. he dun tok much and explain much though, din even bother to check ur eggs after clomid or before or watsoever...

Anyway i have been on a cycle of clomid cause not ovulating, just receive my report and he told me that im ovulating, and than went to diagnose my husband SA result, than alreay known fact that my DH sperm count low and abnormal, still put me on 1 cycle of clomid and tell me i can go for another 5 rounds maximum..stupid right, he should have target my DH problems and tell me what to do than waste 1 cycle on me.. Imagine just visiting him alone for tests and 1 cycle of clomid already costs me ard $500.

I find that he is really wasting my time and effort. Than he ask me go straight to IVF than rather than pointing out options for me and giving me reasons y i should go direct to IVF.

Any ladies out there can help me and let me know what alternatives i can take..

I've been TTC-ing since 2003 and finally I've gotten pregnant in 2007. I was overweight and gynaes I've consulted gave me clomid, diabetic pills, and even go to have scans on the 12/13th day just to make sure I ovulated. My period was very irregular, so it is really hard to pin point the day of the ovulation. My gynae told me my "factory" was slowly closing down for production because although I ovulated, the egg didn't really ripen. I was so vexed over the matter.

Mid of 2007 i started dieting and invested in clear plan fertility monitor. The monitor itself costs $300 and I have to use the test sticks ($99 for 80 sticks) everyday. The monitor will, over a course of few months, monitor your ovulation. I've done the test sticks for 4 months, but I never gotten "peak fertility" reading. So frustating.

One day, a friend told us they were successful after trying many years because they diligently taking cherry tomato juice. So what the heck, both me and hb also took them. guess what, after taking the juice for 2 months (every day without fail) I finally gotten a "peak fertility" reading, and now I'm pregnant. I know many people will be skeptical, but I believe the cherry tomato juice helped, at least in someway for me.

To make the juice:
1 packet of cherry tomato, washed.
Boil water, put all cherry tomato, boil for about 2-3 minutes. Drain. Do not discard the skin of the tomato.
Put all tomato and a little bit of water (so it won't be too thick) and blender them together till smooth. Drink 1 glass every day (one each, for wive and husband). Do not add anything, just plain like that.

Hi Sam!just a few lessons i wish to share in my 5 year journey to conceive[i now have an 8 mth old son]
1.search and search until you find a gynae that you are comfortable with, who understand and manages your deepest fears and concerns,whom you can freely discuss your options,whose management style suits your style.its fine to follow up on recommendations but make sure you feel comfortable with the decisions you are making.

2.do other things while waiting for that little precious.i drove everyone crazy during the first few years of trying.i got more anxious as i went thru 2 miscarriages.then i kind of gave up,never think about it all the time, smiled [and really meant it!] when yet another insensitive person asked why am i still without child,went travelling[even climbed the great wall of china!] and voila!i came back pregnant-and delivered successfully.perhaps something to do with stress hormones possibly interfering with fertility i read somewhere.

3.Believe that God is the best of all planners.for one,I realise now that it was good that God gave me and my husband ample time and opportunities to get to know each other better before baby came along.now we understand each other well, we can support each other better in this new parenting journey.in many other ways too, [that are too many to include]the timing of the arrival of the baby is just right for us,something that we could not have foreseen all those years we tried and wondered why we were not as yet blessed with a baby like many others.

That is just my two cents worth of thought.Hope at least it brings home the point that you are not alone!Continue trying but dont forget to laugh and have fun trying!

Hi ru Ru Cat,

thanks for sharing.. very insightful! Your experience seems similar to my.. I'm still TTC after years. Can you share with us which gynae you're using?

hello everyone.. i think Wati's statement is very well meaning. i too trying to conceive for a yr withoutno result. last 6 mths i check up, my gyan say everything ok. 5 mths later while i was doing an IUI by another gyan, he told me he saw some lumps and and cysts on my ovary. and he was surprise why din my first gyance who did the screening and later the 5 cycles of IUI din detect the cysts. and the seoncd gyna say if a cysts was found, IUI will not have high chance.

i was devasted. and my second gyan suggested that i went for sugery to remove cysts as it was getting bigger and impact my fertility.
now after ops, my doc advise me to rest 3 mths before trying...

the 3 mths seem such a long wait like 3 yr to me..im getting very demoralised cos i really very scare that im not succfessful agian in my next few cycls of IUI.. not forgetting the pain and disappointment and also the $ i spent.

anyone having such experience as mine?

i am ttc for 6 mths already, but because i have pcos, i decide to seek gynae help for a baby... going to start with hormonal pills (induce period) and clomid soon...
anyone with similar experience as me? :)

I guess only ppl who been through will understand the pain!! I have been TTC for 6 years already. First gynae checked and nothing wrong with both me and hubby. Tried few rounds of IUI but no news. Changed to another gynae found to have ovary cysts. Performed laproscopy, gynae gave a all clear and did another three round of IUI. Still no news, although in all the IUI rounds, gynae told me that I ovulate!!

Spent another two years see TCM and ate many packets of bitter medicine! Still no news. Desperate enuf to try malay massage. Was told that my womb is tilted. Did three times massages (the pain is really another issue!) Yet still no news.

With my age catching up, I am really tired and wants to give up, no need to mention about the $ spent...but still there are people out there whom don't understand and thinks I am not doing enuf!! All I can say...so sad!

Anyway, good luck to all of your people still trying out there. Hope you all don't have to go through what I did.

silk, i feel sad about what you have gone thru, you must have been very strong in spirit in the face of all the obstacles encountered. Indeed others can't feel the desperation even if this person is very close to us. Sometimes I feel it difficult to explain my feeling too. Nevertheless,dun give up hope! You are not alone and here's a pat on your shoulder from me :)

Hi silk,

I also been TTC for 6 years already. i have PCOs althought i have not gone through the process of IUIs or even IVFs which i think i may not want to go through it and like wat u mention, pple thot that i should go for it but i need to think twice eg money matters and do my work allow me to go to hospital everytime etc etc

Now i have change to see another chinese physician and hope for the best to come.

Sometimes i really thot of not TTC anymore. i am very tired and very sad. Life is so unfair.

Hi Xiangqiang - thanks for your encouragement.

Hi hopeful, I can definitely understand your feeling. In fact my gynae also recommended me IVF, but of course financial aspects is the biggest concern. I have friend whom went through IVF ended up resigning as they are advised full bed-rest. There are also cases of unsuccessful IVF despite several attempts! I guess, I am just not prepared to take such blow esp after spending so much $ and effort!

Now I am just taking life as it is, since after so many checks both me and hubby oso no problem...we will just try naturally loh. Yup, life can be unfair, but I constantly remind myself of all the little blessings that I get...guess it makes me happier. Anyway, wish you all the best with TCM, don't worry, other than me, I heard of many succesful story.

Hi. I'm in fact fairly new to this portal. Just want to get to know more ladies out there who are on the 2nd attempt at IVF. I just had mine done in July. Yes, the 2ww is a killer. Beta HCG blood test was on 1 Aug but depressingly, it is negative. In fact, during the 2ww I was doing very fine and well, not feeling any discomfort or anything odd in particular. But in the wee hours of 1 Aug, (yes being anxious that later part of the morning, I am going for the blood test), I had so much difficulty in sleeping. Not just because of my anxiety, but I had a funny twisting feeling in my lower abdomen which I had never felt before. I didn't have a good feeling on that. True enough, when I woke up the next morning, there were slight brown discharge together with my Crinone gel. I asked myself so many times,why does it has to happen on the day of the blood test. So in fact, I don't know if implantation did occur. So after knowing the results in the afternoon, I cried myself to sleep. This Thursday, will be seeing my gynae again to discuss the next step. I am praying hard that 2nd attempt with FET works for me. It's physically, emotionally and financially draining. I have taken 1 month NPL in July and this month of Aug, I am on 1 mth hospitalisation leave. So planning to take 1 mth of hospitalisation leave and 1 mth of NPL in September and October respectively, or taking 2 months of NPL in Sept and Oct. Oh btw, I also have PCOs. So anyone in the same boat with me, let's share what we are going through to give the support we will need throughout the whole procedure. Thanks!Hoping to see some responses here.

Hi ladies, sorry I dunno where else to pour out what I am feeling at the moment. I went scouring round for an active posting area. Started my own thread, but no one replied.

Fyi, I have tried 5 IUIs which all failed. I was fed up with my previous doc coz on my 4th last attempt, I asked if I can do IVF and he told me I am still too young. Harlow! I am already nearing my mid 30s,he can call that young? Anyway, I'm glad I found an active posting page here.

Hi Silk,

Thanks for ur encouragement and i really appreciate it. i hope that u dun give up and let nature takes its course, u never know when u will be lucky. Jus hope for the best to come.

Hi Mystyy,

i have PCOS and ttc for 6 yrs. last yr, gynae also asked me to do iui but as my unit at my workplace is small so i have to think twice of being absent for work. One of my colleague who jus came back for maternity leave last dec, she is pregnant again and every wk she works 2 or 3 days cos of mc and other one is gg for surgery cos she also TTC.

As i have pcos so my chinese physician said that iui is not for me. so only one final option is IVF but becos of $$$ and time consuming, i think i will not be doing.

Mystyy, u r very brave and i hope u all the best for the ivf.

Hi silk,

I got something to add on.

i have been ttc for 6 yrs and went through seeing gynaes and pple asking me when u wan to have babies etc etc. so i think i really numb abt it and sometimes i think if have baby then i will be very very happy if i dun have baby then i have to accept the reality.

when i see pple like my colleague who married for 1 yr only and ttc but still no news, i pity her. cos the first three yrs for me, my life was terrible and unhappy. Now i think i am much happier although i dun have any children cos the feelings wanting to have baby is not as strong as before or i jus deceiving myself.

That's my life!

Hi Hopeful, thank you for your encouragement. You know, I thought I will never find this thread...coz I have forgotten where I posted my comments.

I have been trying to conceive since 2004. I had done tones of HPTs and I get so disappointed when not even a faint positive showed up. Somehow during my 2ww after ET, I managed the itch not to try and check using HPT.

Yes, I cried myself for two days straight and shut myself in the room. However, time heals everything and I have to look forward and not backwards anymore. What's done cannot be undone. I am just hoping that my next round of IVF using FET will succeed. I am glad that finally someone replied to my rantings here. I know as humans we can do so much and just pray that what we wish for is granted by the Almighty. At the end of it, what's important is that I have tried various ways and means. It's great to hear that you are much happier now. God's willing, you will get what you want too.

Hi Silk,

Don't give up, ok? I have friends who after many years of ttc, they also conceived naturally. So anything can happen. Sometimes, when we don't think too much about it, it comes unexpectedly. Perhaps it just takes time. Yes, doing IVF is not just financially draining, but also emotionally and physically. I understand even trying naturally have lots of its ups and downs. Just relax and try not to be stressed out by little things. What's important is to take care of your health. Prepare your body and eat well so when the time comes, your body is ready for the little one inside. Take care.

Hi Silk i waited 1 and half year to get pregnant b4 there people keep asking me got pregnant already etc......... and my husb 2 older bro their wife haven pregnant yet the 2nd bro go for twice IVF but not success in the end their adopted a baby a 6 day old baby.
And for me b4 i get pregnant i all most every mth
buy pregnancy test cause my period came late lah .
and GOD really test me during my 4 mth pregnant my
baby gal had a cleft lip and after i gave birth she had PDA AND IMPORPERATE INUS. and she very specially to me.

My advise if ur heart say u want to have a baby u will, if any 1 recommed something juz try for fun out of ten i would be trully sucess. like the actor Mark Lee

Before i came to know about this thread, i don't know that actually PCOS is quite common among women. When I came to know that I had PCOS, I felt vey sad coz the chances to conceive is slimmer & I have to seek help to get pregnant which also mean spending more than others. To some people, getting pregnant is just so easy. Often when I heard that news about abortion or abandon child, I always feel very sad and think that some people try so hard to have a child of their own while others don't care at all.

Anyway, I managed to conceive with the help of TCM, I have spend alot but definitely i feel that it's worth it. My gal will be turning 2 in Oct. Currently, I went back to same chinese dr for ttc#2. Went for a scan at my previous gynae, he say that i got no more pcos, but chinese dr still insist that i need to take metformin as my bld test show that my hormones is not normal. My chinese dr is good in treating fertility problems, if u need her contact, u can email mi [email protected]

Hi hopeful,
You are right, the first three years is indeed a trying time for us. Everyone kept asking when are we going to have babies esp I dreaded CNY!! Often I will cry myself to sleep, thinking why life is so unfair. But after so many years, I guess I am imune to all these now. I have no more feelings, even when my MIL commented say that DIL good or not is not important but must be able to bear!

Well, like what mystyy advised, I am taking life more easily now, eat healthy and stay healthy..at least I have an understanding hubby. Who knows, god will bless us with a baby soon.

Hi Christina - at least you know your problem - PCOS and I have seen many ppl successfully conceive even with that. As for me, been through many medical check and so much blood taken, but no exact diagnose why I can't conceive...guess it's all god's will loh.

Hi silk, mystyy & all,

Yesterday i went to see the chinese dr and he suggested that i look for a gynae to do scanning and take clomids. i dun dare to go back to kkh cos last yr i went they refuse to give me the clomid but to do iui or ivf. fyi, i took clomid in yr 04 but unsuccessful.

May i know any recommendations of gynaes? Pls help. Thanks a lot.

Happy National Day!

Hi Hopeful,

I am currently under Dr Ann Tan at Mount E. Previously I was under PC Wong from NUH, but after 5 failed attempts of IUI and him saying I am still too young to undergo IVF, that's why this year I decided to get a change of gynae. I think what's most important is that you are comfortable with your gynae. My experiece so far with Dr Ann Tan has been good. In fact when I met her after my failed 1st IVF, I had a list of questions to ask her, but she actually told me everything without me asking. So I was satisfied. Some doctors do not explain in details, thus patients are at a lost and most often than not, the job of explaining is left to the nurses. What I like at her clinic is that it is fast, waiting time is short and you don't have to go to the pharmacy to get your medications. Even when I had to take metformin from the pharmacy, the queue is short and thus I do not have to wait for long.

There are other good gynaes around at KK too, as I have read through the forum. Think one of them is Dr Foong. However, it all depends on our body condition, or perhaps God's grace to grant us a baby or not. For me, everything is in good order, uterus lining, placement/shape of uterus etc are all good, but somehow perhaps it's not time for me. But just do not give up. Keep on trying.

Happy National Day to all ladies.

Just to add on, Hopeful, I was given Clomid in NUH, and even after increase in dosage, nothing works for me. I was glad that when I switched to Mount E, after telling the gynae that clomid don't work on me, she gave me Metform, coz I have PCOs and also insulin resistant, of which I was never given before in NUH. Well, thing is, if you have tried for a number of years on a certain medication and it doesn't work on you, do insist on your gynae that he/she to prescribe another suitable medication for you.

Interesting read in today's Straits Times Prime News, Pg A6. Common Fertility Drug is a dud
-Clomid fails to improve odds of getting pregnant.

I just read the papers...some of you may have stumbled upon it already. Ok gonna continue reading now and watch NDP on tv.

hi mystyy
i read the articles about clomid too... it says clomid is not much useful than trying naturally... i was quite stuck after reading... i thought it would be good if medical agencies at least singapore govt hospital can release similar statistics that show their success rates with drug clomid...

Hi blackms,

Yup, that's one thing abt clinics, they don't reveal the real deal. But when I found out that clomid doesn't work for me for my 5 cycles, I decided to stop it and change gynae. I feel if you have tried and it doesn't work, it's time to move on. No point sticking to one thing. Now I am under metformin coz I am also insulin resistant. This drug is also given to pple like me who has PCOs. I am responding well to it. My menses has been regular and on the dot, of which I am glad, at least this problem of absence of menses like half a year is now rectified. Perhaps like you said, diff drugs works differently on pple. Why not ask your doc if there are alternative medication for you, if you had been using clomid for sometime.

mystyy
i tried metformin for few weeks but stop because of side effects as i am feeling very tired all the times... plus diarrhoe
i am going to ask for clomid in two weeks time... but dun seem to have too much hopes. I can have no menses for 6 mths too... after which i will go see gynae to induce... so i could have no idea how absent can it be

Hi blackms,

Sorry to probe further, but have you done any laparascopy before? Coz I had it done twice, first by a gynae at NUH, coz of suspected blocked tubes, but after it was done, they found no tubes were blocked and nothing was wrong with anything in there, except that I have cysts in ovaries. However, after that lapscope, my menses comes regularly, though sometimes its early by a week or late by a week, at least it still came.

My second lapscope was different. My new gynae did ovarian drilling. It is to reduce the male hormones in women with PCOs. Those who were found not to be responsive to metformin or clomid prior to such procedure now responds better with the re-introduction of such medication.

I really feel having lapscope helps coz I no longer need duphaston to induce my menses. But I read in some websites that lapscope has 'expiry date' meaning it remains effective for 6 months, but so far, mine was alright eversince my first lapscope.

Abt metformin, yes I do feel the same symptoms as you too, but it subsides after several weeks. Perhaps your body needs time to adjust to such medicine. I am not sure about this, but perhaps you can ask your gynae about it. My menses was even worst before I had lapscope done. It was like once a year or none at all. I dunno whether to be depressed or happy. The thing is, do not give up, continue on your quest and if you still feel some things don't help you at all, move on to something new. I was stuck to clomid for 3 years which yields no results. So make the change if you feel its time for it.

Would like to check if PCOS can be detected by blood test. What other ways can confirm PCOS?