TOA PAYOH mummies

eunice/dor
My kids go to Berries.
But still need to go thru the lessons with them after class. Now we have taken to speaking Mandarin with them almost all the time.

Reading - need to build a strong foundation as later on, they need it for Maths problem sums too.

Stylobb, thanks. Went for trial at Berries before but somehow din really like the teacher. She got some strange chinese accent, and she can't control the class. The kids were making so much noise. So i gave up on Berries. I think speaking Mandarin to them is still best. But my kid din really take to it. A bit hard but still trying.

Agree that reading is important, that's why sending my kids to Liz Montessori for her enrichment class on phonics and maths. My son pick up phonics from her and already knows the sound from A to Z. That's why when he went Ak this year and he told me he is learning A B and C and the sounds and 1 to 5, I got a bit huh??? Dunno whether I made the right move to shift him to the mainstream kindergarten when he is learning so much from Teacher Liz.

I am not too sure if AK will prepare my kid well for priamry school. How does the other AK parents feel or any feedback for those whose kids have gone from AK to primary school?

Hi Mommies, anyone with kids in Toa Payoh Methodist Church Kindergarten? How is it?

Or anyone with kids who went before this kindergarten? How is the transition to P1?

Irene,

My fren's 2 sons currently P3 and P5. Both went TPMC but when elder can't cope with P1, she quickly pulled the younger out to PAP K1 cos the cirriculum emphasis then was towards holistic nurturing thru play.

Now that they have revamped the place, not sure about their cirrculum. You may want to check...

Hi fitty_nut
Thanks for the feedback. I went down yesterday and the principal show me what they are teaching and also bring me around for viewing. the new enviornment looks much better than before and the cirrculum seems ok.. but I'm not too sure if that is enuff for P1 preparation thou..

so difficult to choose a school ya.. haiz..

Any mummies enroll your kid/s for the Cold Storage Run in May?

Irene,
Same here, now am contemplating whether to switch my gal from Ascension to Jessin next year for her K1.

Precious,
U think so too....ya was really thinking hard these few days coz early Apr gotta give Jessin a reply liao b4 they open to public. Thanks!

hi Mummies

How is everyone? Been MIA for so long. Been busy with work and kids ever since I return to bk to work. Very sleep-deprived still

Trying to help my hubby out by posting here. His company urgently needs an accounts assistant. Current work location at MacPherson, but they are shifting office to Toa Payoh soon! Thought it may interest TPY mummies.

Job scope as shown below:

Accounting Assistant / Executive
--------------------------------
Job roles & responsibilities

Review staff expenses claims for confirmation of payment.
Data administration on expense system.
Manage cheque & mass payments.
Manage accounting related documents.
Proficient in MYOB
Perform other tasks assigned by Manager.

Requirements
-------------
Singaporeans preferred
Minimum 1 to 2 years experience in Accounts Payable preferred.
Committed, meticulous & a good team player.
Possess good communication skills.
Able to start work immediately or within short notice

Pls PM me if you are interested.

Hi mummies!me oso been MIA awhile.just to chk any one of u aware AMK hub NTUC fair price last wk gt promo disc20%for all bb stuff fir all brand.any idea they still hv this weekend?I would like get a cup with straw for my boy now 2yo.pls adv if any one of u know...thx!
Btw,wat brand better ah??

Hi Dor, Ascension is a good school, why would you want to switch her over to Jessin?
maybe can get her to sit on the school bus if you think its a bit too far?

Hi Irene,
Thanks for the concern, am quite reluctant as well but in long run is better arrangement for me and my gal as am expecting no.#2.
She's currently on sch bus.

any recommendation for dentist?me keeping having toothache.. haiz..think it's time to visit the dentist again..

i also been MIA for quite sometime.. quite busi as my #1 gt chicken pox.. been entertaining him.. *tiring*

oh any mummies also have recommendation for handy man?those who can drill and build shelves on the wall?i need someone who is reliable.. thanks ya as i plan to put some shelves up on the wall to get some space..

I always go Q&M at braddell.so far ok.btw talk abt dentist,my boy nw2yo,when nd brg him c dentist ah?nw occasionally I did help him brush teeth la..

Newmummy, I started bringing my daughter to the dentist when she was about 4 yrs old. My son's "due" to visit as well since he has turned 4, will hold it till I have my next check-up and bring him along.

Galdolphin, our dentist is at River Valley Road, Gentle Dental

Newmummy08,

You may want to make it a habit for him to brush his teeth every monring and nite b4 he sleeps, this is also to prevent tooth decay after meal or milk.

Most important before you bring him to dentist dun portray an image tat it will be very scary. make it as light hearted and fun as possible. You may also prepare him beforehand by role play, each takes turns to be dentist or patient.

I'd prepared my gal then 3yo, before she visits the dentist by role play however, she learned fm my nanny tat it is painful and scary hence cried when she was there, sigh. Then again, the child might be prepared but situation changes when one reaches the clinic

Oh only turn 3 atleast is it?haha then my son still young for tat..but we still will help him brush teeth ..occasionally only...Hee...

hey mummies... i been MIA too. ger was hospitalised twice in the last 3 weeks, but am glad to report all is well.

i am back on my Project GIVE again. pls support ah! thanx!!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5311683.html?1302080617

dolphin... no handy man to recommend, but can borrow u a heavy duty drill if you hubby wants to do it himself. but i actually prefer cupboards instead of shelves cos easy to get dirty, then need to clean. wonder if ikea got installation service if you buy frm them? hope ah boi gets well soon!

re dentist... the male dentist at the blk 79 dental clinic is quite good, very gentle to my mum, so shd be gd w children too? heard they got female dentist now too. but nearer to the food court, there is a new one opened?

Car Seats

Wanna ask mummies who have 2 kids on what arrangement do you do for car seats? (Erm yeah I'm expecting No 2)

<font color="0000ff">Option 1</font>
I was thinking of getting an infant car seat that can take up to abt 9 mths, then upgrade No 1 to a booster seat &amp; let No 2 take over No 1's present car seat. But not sure if No 1 can manage to grow enough in time to be upgraded. And what if No 2 is another big baby &amp; outgrows the infant seat ahead of schedule?

<font color="0000ff">Option 2</font>
The other alternative is to get another car seat like No 1's for No 2. Then when No 1 is old enough, upgrade him to the booster seat &amp; thrash the car seat. But this would be more expensive than Option 1 right?

What's the min for booster seat - weight or age? And max for infant seat - weight or age?

And how do we disable the airbag for the front passenger seat? Just send to the agent?

Jul
We bought two car seats which are suitable for infant babies till 6-7yrs old (up to 40kgs). You may want to get this range. I sold away the infant car seat and toddler car seat. The new car seats, allow them to sleep comfortably as the seats can be adjustable. They call it 3-in-1 or 4-in-1 car seats

precious

I have one of those 3-in-1s that you mentioned. Been using it from newborn till now (20 mths). I think it's suitable for up till 4 yrs old, if I remember correctly.

I guess the infant car seat isn't very useful since it can be used for only 9 mths? Hiaz.. dilemma..

Congrats Jul!
Car seat:
I m using e infant from #1 for #2 currently..
#1 has a car seat that can set till 4-5yr old..so may hv to upgrade #1 to use booster seat after #2 outgrown her seat.think this is a better option coz if u buy 2 car seat then may end up no place to put e car seats as they r quite bulky...
That's ny opinion..hope it helps...

Jul
That was why I sold the infant car seat when he was 4mths old as he outgrew it. He is tall.
Just remember I also sold the booster seat and it did not have 5-point harness. For safety use, that was why we bought the one which has 5-point harness and easily for her to sleep comfortably than to sleep uptight, which might injure her neck

Gal.dolphin
With the two car seats, that was also why we did not bring the helper with us on weekends. Car is too small as we all have long legs, helper has long legs too

Hi Jul,
I got a hand-me-dwn infant car seat for my gal and she outgrown it when she's 1year plus. Subsequently, we got her a new one tat can last till she's 6-7yo. I got a hand-me-dwn booster seat as well but hardly use.

Terence,
My gal now 4yo is with Jessin CC or they call it Playland. They do not operate on Satudary fyi.
So far she likes the place. The Tr. incharge Tr. Mei Fan is responsivie and understanding, my gal respects and likes her a lot.
My gal goes to Jessin CC after school and usually they'll hv lunch, nap, thereafter the trs. will have some activities with them till 5.30pm-6pm. Is free play till 7pm.

Thanks precious, dor, galdolphin

Re : Car Seat

I think I've made up my mind to get the 6 yr old car seat &amp; upgrade my No 1. Then No 2 can have his car seat. Then when No 1 gets older, get the booster seat. So I end up buying 3 car seats in total for 2 babes hahaha

Forget abt the infant seat liao. If No 2 is big like No 1, then I dunno if I can get half a yr's use on the infant seat. Too bo hua

Hi Dor,

Thanks for the info. Ivy and myself went to Halifax montesorri this afternoon and we actually quite like the place. However, the fee is quite expensive. After subsidy is about 1k per month. Any mummy sent her kid there?

mia too long already! talking back to the tpmck my #1 is there at the moment. so far so good. picked up loads of bad habits though, push #2 when he wants stuff now =(.

Hi Mummies,Need u all an adv~!
My boy now drink Mamil Gold step 3.Was was told by chinese dr say tat he gto alot phlegm,may nd consider to change milk power!
I am headache nw,coz since birth,he already consume mamil gold,now suddenly change,i also dunno shall i?coz i tot all the milk powder is the same!
Any mummies can gv some adv?
Btw,any milk powder is better?if wan change,how shall i change?coz cant be suddenly change the milk powder,rite?Pls adv..thx in advance~!

Hi newmummy08,
Goat's milk u can get if fm Cold Storage. Not sure if NTUC carry.
Depending on the no. of scoops your son is consuming can mix 2 scoop of soy or goat's milk wif mamil and slowly switch over.

Goat's milk is available widely nowadays but only a few brands to choose from, namely Karrimor and Healtheries. NTUC carries both. Shop and Save in Toa Payoh carries Karrimor only and not always available.

Dor
Kiddy palace? They have replacement parts like extra straws/straw heads for water bottles. They may have straps as well.

Otherwise travel stores or baggage section at departmental stores? but may be quite ex.

dor... wat abt the shops @ blk 123? the everything-also-have shop near the lift or the one inside the market, and also the new kids store? their things not very expensive.

hmm... maybe the jap store in central might have also. daiso should hv but so far...

jul, congrats!

dor,
i was recommended by a fren to go to this dental centre which is only for kids and students.
http://www.hpb.gov.sg/studenthealth/article.aspx?id=652

newmummy,
my 4mo boy had a lot of phlegm when he was sick at about 1mth+. his PD suggested that i give him either soy based or hypoallergenic milk like nan HA. i tried soy 1st but he didn't like the taste so i let him try goat's milk instead of nan HA becos the latter causes the stool to be very smelly. however, i found that goat's milk somehow didn't help in reducing the phlegm hence no choice but let him try nan HA. he's been on it for about 1mth+ and i find that it helps quite a lot. so far not much phlegm. if u wanna let your boy try soy based i have some samples for your boy to try. as for switching milk, add new milk powder 1 scoop at each feed one day at a time so that your boy gets used to the taste gradually. if you wanna let your boy try goat's milk and u wanna continue then i know of a place that sells them much cheaper than supermarkets.

Sunny,Are &amp; Precious,
Thanks for the info i'll chk it out. Are i'd tried blk 123 &amp; the new kid store but they dun carry.

hello hello,
Been MIA cos so busy with my girl and myself also fall sick.
My girl was unwell with eye discharge on last fri and no choice rush to doc heng, and guess what, the bill is $200+, shit man.. think next time just go any GP liao. Then ask me go back review on tues, and ask me go back review again in 1 week time.. should i go back??

Hi Ivy,

I'd read remarks in this thread about PD Dr. Heng and seems like she's famous of asking patients to go bk for reviews and charges are more on the higher side. Some may find her good and others may not.

I would rather visit norm GP some are quite good with tods or just change another PD.