TOA PAYOH mummies

Surf,
Thanks for sharing. I'll keep trying.

I'd tried changing FM brand from Pedisure to Gain iq and now back to Pedisure again coz she seems to like the taste. Meantime, gotta prepare to stretch our pocket a bit more by trying out diff brand of milk powder/fresh milk. Find it's a waste to try diff brand and ended up she doesnt want to consume but have no other choice.

Btw, I have a brand of organic drinks to recommend is OATLY chocs flavour(organic oat drinks) can get it from Cold Storage. It is tasty, lactose free doesnt have milk content. I started drinking recently.

Surf,
Rash from fever usually 2 reason. - 1) viral fever, rash broke out when fever going to subside. 2) fake measles. Once the rash clear, usually fever clears together and road to full recovery.

Yes, hou ning contains animal parts. I buy mine from EYS.

Sambucus - it's high in antioxidant so supposedly good in boosting immune system. Not specifically for coughs. I have been using Sambucus for a while, don't find it very effective. And it's troublesome as the dosage is suppose to be 4 times daily. I can't keep up with that kind of dosage so maybe that's why ineffective?

Fever rash - it's quite common to get after a high fever I think

Hullo everyone

Dor

You can get FM samples from the PD you know? They have FM sample usually in satchets for Stage 3. You can get a few brands & try. Then if she's ok with the taste, buy the big tin. or how abt getting her to eat tofu, cheese, ikan bilis etc instead of drinking milk?

Oh how much is the OATLY soy milk? I am latose intolerant so haven't been drinking mil;k for decades! So sad coz I liked HL milk a lot.

surf

Oh u went to Dr heng huh? I'm never going back to that clinic, ever!

Not sure if the rash is rosoela?

Surf, my girl also same thing. High fever for 3-5 days, the break out in flat rashes - if this happens, its usually roseala/false measles (different name - same thing). Fever will usually break once the rash comes out. My girl's second experience.

Dor, maybe give Isomil (soy milk)? One SIL changed to that for my niece and she says niece much healthier nowadays - less allergies. Another niece (another SIL) refused to drink normal milk from about 2yrs old and has been drinking chocolate flavoured milk until now, while her older brother is still drinking normal milk. Can find out the brand for you if you like. It's powdered chocolate milk.

Me too. Still searching for a playgroup for my girl when she turns 2+ to 3 yrs old. Anybody have sent their kids to Jessin Kindergarten or Appletree? Any comments? Or any good recommedations nearby? Thks!

Hi winnie, is your girl borned in year 2009?
Maybe you can consider sending her to PCF kindergarten next year?
This is a pre-nursery (or also known as nursery 1) class.
Hope this helps..

Jul,
my girl dec baby, so bit s..l...o...w haha. another 5 mths then go childcare liao. Come First skool lah hehe, they might end up same nursery.

ivy

Wah then mine more slow liao. Mine's Aug baby haha

First Skool ah.. that's a Childcare right? I still haven't decided on full/half day CC, or just those 2/3 hour playgroup. Coz I have maid & MIL & sometimes FIL at home to take care of my boy, so don't need the CC.

Then I also dunno if I shd find those playgroup now, then shift my boy to CC or change to kindergarten when he gets older. So many issues to think abt.. until I sian

Jul,
slow means only upgrade to Childcare playgroup later.
First skool got half day too.

Tat time they talk abt ykidz, why not take a look there?

Dor,
it's actually quite normal for kids of ur gal's age not taking milk.. as long as she is taking enuff calcium like cheese, yogurt etc then shouldnt be an issue..
my son refused FM after i stopped BM.. so for a few months he din drink any milk at all coz he simply refused..i tried a few brands. he only take a few spoon then refused.. so no worries... =)as long as she is taking enuff solids. then should be all right.. =)

Hi jul,

Mine oso Aug 09 baby leh. Falls on 14 Aug. How abt yrs? Actually my situation is quite similar to yrs. In fact I hv already streamline to those 2/3 hrs playgroup as my mum will be helping me to take care. I was thinking that since most childcare will let the kids sleep in the afternoon so there's no point putting my girl there. Might as well go hm and sleep rite?
YKidz is actually a Montessori school but I hv not gone down to have a look yet. Maybe will find some time to go down and have a look.

Winnie & Jul
Mine is Aug 2009 bb too. He just joined her sister (5yrs old) in Cherie Hearts. This week is his 2nd week. Coping well. The benefit of cc, we can always fetch them at anytime.

winnie

Mine is just 1 day after yours!

I'm also tending towards playgroups now. But I haven't checked out any. Which have you looked at?

I remember the mummies here mentioned Star Tots & Prime Gym near TP Central right? Can't recall any others

Sunny
The weather is erratic also. No wonder our kids falling sick. V sad to see them fall sick, esp my 2mth old bb. The pd has advised that e rash is ok.

Jul
Yup, seeing dr Heng. Well, pro is its just across the road for me and so far her medicine works for my gal. Saw gp twice b4 going to her. My gal cold and cough getting better. Daw the wrong gp lar. If not for the rash outbreak, I may bring her bk to raffles medical. They hv the same medicine as pd. We were worried if its measles

Dor
Can call up milk powder coy to send u samples. That was wat I did. Talking abt flavored milk piwder,it is pediasure. We also tried. Ended up hv to mix the strawberry flavor w her original enfa then she drinks fm cup. Wean her off slowly fm the strawberry taste. Now she bk on enfa alr. It was hair pulling for me coZ she only 15 mth and not taking solids well. Too young to stop drinking milk. Oh, we tried give cheese as calcium supplement which she didn't fancy. I ended up buying multivits coZ I was paranoid she be malnutritioned during that period.

PAssed by Blk 146a Sparkletot over the weekend. Exterior looks good. No mummies here went for it? Thinking if to put my boy there when he turns 18 mth for flexi or hAlf day. Stand by first coZ so near. By then my gal wld be full day in cc by then. No need make 2 trips to fetch as her cc not in tpy.

Cc has pros and cons. Really relieve caregiver if u hv 2nd one coming. And we get our me-time to errAnds, shop, laze at home when they are at cc, no sch holidays also. Ok, me lazy mum. Haha

Hi jul,

In fact, I'm still looking around but was veri bz lately so not really into it. Heard abt Jessin, Appletree, Ykidz around TPY area but not sure how good they are.

To other mummies,

Can give some advises? Need some reviews on playgroup around TPY area or nearby area. Thks!

YKids is at Lor 6 HSR building (next to Pei Chun).

Deerland- my neighbour's son went there. Downside about this place is that they only cater up to a certain age, N1 I think.

surf

Oh you're at one of those fantastically located new blocks ah

I'm leaning away from IFC/CC for now, coz I have MIL & maid. I think if I have No. 2, I'll still let MIL take care? Hopefully she's willing. I wonder if she'll be as willing as now if No 2 is a gal? Coz I hope to get a gal

winnie

I find this schooling business very tedious & boring. So you're looking only at playgroups/kindergartens & not CC now? Update me on your findings leh. I'm also a bit busy to look out for playgroups now. Time is running out. 18 mths is actually CNY leh. And 2 yrs will be in Aug. If I keep tu-tu-ing like this, my boy can just go to nursery in 2013 liao haha

Jul
Haha. Not directly opposite but still crossing a road lar.

I also hv helper and mil/mum to help but gal is very hyper and at the terrible two stage now. For the past weeks she at cc in morn for half day, was a relief for both helper n mil/mum. Helper can do housework in peace, eg u dun hv a cheeky toddler haggling w her for the broom and mop. Mil n mum can focus on take care bb. My bb does not nap long so got to carry. But my elder gal need attn too. There were times when she cried and insist my mil put di di down n play w her. Mil almost went bonkers dealing w 2 crying kids.

surf

Yeah I know what you mean. So gotta think abt a 2/3 hour playgroup for my boy. In case No 2 comes along. Maybe by then, he'll move on to nursery or even CC? Anyway see how lah. At the rate that I'm going about this, by the time I find a playgroup for him, he'll be 2!

Oh your gal only goes to half day CC? Which one? I thought you mentioned abt Blk 146A Sparkletots

Tip for (working) mums thinking of putting your kids in IFC/Childcare. The subsidy that the govt gives for full day childcare is 300 for working moms and 150 for non working mums. For half day is 150 for both. [For IFC, full day is 600 for FTWM and 300 for half day, for SAHMs is 150 for either].

If you are a working mum, then depending on the IFC/childcare's rates, it may be cheaper overall to sign up for full day childcare. You can still always take your child out at any time during the day but you have the added option of leaving your child in school on any day/afternoon that your homecaregiver may not be free. A colleague found this out and let me know so I thought I'd pass the info on.

For my two active children, when they are at home, they don't take nap. And when #2 is tired, and wants to take his nap, it is always very short, 15-20mins because #1 makes a bit of noise, he wakes up. Indeed very stressful for me. Seeing myself having to scold #1, and #2 takes such a short nap, I can't do anything at all. Piles of laundry is accumulated etc.

Now both are in cc, gives me the opportunity to spend quality time with each child too.

Weekends, I have more energy to play and entertain them, bringing them for outdoor activities

J Foo - thanks for the feedback on deerland.

was wondering if mummies have comments/feedback about playgroups (2hr) at star tots (blk 78b), ykidz?

Is sparkletots at 146 for pre-nursery?

Jul
My gal at Cambridge cc. Starting her on half day first to see if she can adapt. If she cant , then got to withdraw her. I hv big prob w bathing hev now as she scAred of shower but that is how cc shower for full day kids.

As for b146a is just my bk up plan for no 2 in coZ nearby only.

Precious
U just reminded me abt bb bonus! Forgot that. Ur kids any issue w bathing at cc? Mine scream and struggle and tried to run away. V dangerous in the toilet n at HM

Yem
Sparkletots is a cc which offers pre nursey.

Sunny
Agrees. My Fren did that too. My fee only 40 bucks cheaper off halfway, more worth to put full day. I hope to start in fen before going bk to work. Argh....., dread going bk to work

sunny

Thanks for the tip. I'm aare of this issue. But anyay, I'm prob not looking for a CC now but just playgroup/pre-nursery.

surf

Oh your gal's afraid of showering? My boy cannot stay still. He used to climb in & out of the bathtub, then became totally didn't want to go in,.. so we switched to shower. He still cannot stay still! It's very dangerous coz he may slip anytime. We have the Ikea anti-slip mat but he runs out of the mat. really dunno what to do him.

Oh Cambridge is at Newton/Novena area? Vaguely rem passing it. It's one of those landed properties?

precious

I know what u mean. When I was a SAHM, all I wanted to do at nite or on weekends was to 'throw' my boy to Hubs so that I can get a break. Not very healthy. One of the reasons why I went back to work was so that I can have a more positive relationship with my boy. At least I'm more patient with him when I see him after a whole day away from his antics.

Surf
The bathroom in cc is very safe, all non- slip mat. So far they are ok to shower in cc and at home. At home, sometimes I let them do painting inside (those washable paints) or bubble bath, I always have a big net bag which I place lots of toys for them to play.

Surf, I had the same problem with my girl being scared of the shower. It's a phase. She also struggled at school for a while but school actually safer cos the whole toilet floor is lined with the rubber mats.

At home,can try and distract her with bath toys or bubbles or maybe you or hubby take shower with your boy at the same time...show him that water in your hair/face/eyes is 'fun' and can be shaken off. Maybe give him control of the shower head and let him 'shower' dad or mum... basically its to teach them not to be afraid of the shower.

precious

Yes, boats, cars, brushes, scoops, cups, bowls, everything! Doesn't work

My boy is strange. he doesn't like toys much. He may have one or two favourites but they don't last long before he gets tired of them. He prefers 'adult stuff' like vacuum cleaners, my makeup brushes, toothbrushes, pails.. You name it! The only toy he likes more is cars

Surf, Jul, Sunny & Galdolphin,
Thank you all so much for the tips. I'll try to get sample fm my family dr.'s clinic hee save me a lot of $$$. I tried Pediasure choc flavor but she still refuse to drink sigh. Guess i have to be patient and keeps trying.

These few days daughter and me dwn wif fever & cough sigh. Find it hard to take care of her when i myself is sick too. Really need a lot of rest.

Re: Showering,
You all are very patient to coax your lil ones to bath, for me jus 1 solution if she doesnt want to listen after few times of coaxing i'll bring out the cane. Maybe not the best solution but sure save my time and trouble.

Jul,
If your boy still can squeeze into bath tub maybe can try tat. I try tat on my gal a few times coz that's her favourite. I put a small plastic cup and towel in the bath tub to let her play for awhile b4 showering her.

jul,
Oatly is purely oat drinks zero milk content. Am not sure how much thou coz usually hb gets it. Am also giving my gal Oatly since she rejects milk.

am looking for a post natal massage lady.. anyone has one to recommend?
i lost my previous massage lady number.. sigh..
hope can get one soon..

Dor

Like someone else mentioned, you can call the FM companies for samples too. For eg, I called Enfa & they gave me 3 satchets (3 feeds) by post. Better than spending $20+ or more on each tin & having it all go to waste.

Hiaz.. very hard lah. He has a mind of his own. really is born in the Year of the OX lor

Thanks for the info on OATLY. I'll get a pack to try for myself. Coz I do need to take in more calcium.

Hope you all recover soon from the cough.

gal.dolphin

U can try Tanti at 91000548.

She has her own massage bed which she'll bring to your place. I only did one session with her tho, coz I was suffering from depression then & my MIL wasn't too happy abt the 'oil' so I didn't continue.

MIA for awhile, girl down with high fever, bad running nose. Today better and went to IFC.

I havent take a look at any school like ykidz or cherihearts. Currently she is in first skool which make me lazy to find another school. The reason in finding another school is hoping to find her a better education one. My fren keep asking me to try montessori school, say the mindset will change. Some say everywhere same, just give some enrichment course -.-

morn...

ivy - ur fren tat sells montessori to u is not me right? hahaha

i understand the "lazy" part... me too as just follow his bro wld be so easy. :p