TOA PAYOH mummies

char

Yeah Wong Boh Boi. I delivered at TMC so naturally went to TMC Parentcraft.

But she charges double of what other LCs charge hor. For eg, if other LCs charge $20 for a short consult, she charges $40 haha. I went to see other LCs the first time. Then she happened to be there the 2nd time. And from the 3rd time, she'll aws grab me coz she recognised me liao

You can call TMC Parentcraft at 6251 4090 for appt.

surf

Pump inside the car? U're using Medela Freestyle ah?

But it's really very very tiresome to be attached to the pump right? It makes me super angry if I have to throw away any EBM coz I sweated blood to squeeze them out. I pump until boob flat & still pump until the last drops come out. And yup, I will cry if I overslept my alarm & feel angry if I can't squeeze time to pump. Like I say, OBSESSED!

Oh I got the blister before. Just keep pumping until it burst & it'll heal. Put nipple cream & air it as much as possible. I didn't bother to see LC for that, unless you want them to burst it for you?

Oh my boy was a milk monster too. He drank like 1L every 24h!

Char
I was very determined to totally breastfeed, ONLY the 2nd month, my milk supply increased. It was quite a torture, as I got stressed when older generation mentioned 'breastmilk is insufficient for the baby"

I read lots of articles about breastfeeding, tried all kinds of position then finally found 1-2 positions which we were comfortable with.

I do envy those who can pump as I tried all brands, manual and electric, it cannot work for me. I simply cannot relax :-(

Have you tried fish with papaya soup? Each time after breastfeeding, drink lots of fluids too.

I only know the LC as Doris. She is based at NUH (where she does her research as well) and she has a private practice at Novena, I think.

Milk blisters - I kena many times. I was told to "burst" it with a sanitised pin or needle if they block the ducts. Because I pump so much I am prone to getting them, after a while I just get use to it and I'd let the pump "burst" for me! Haha!

BFing mummies, can try Sister Kang at Mount Alvernia as well. She's great. But quite fierce.

Fenugreek. The friend who took fenugreek is taking 4 pills 4 times a day now and is pumping enough for full BM at 18 months.

For those thinking of new breast pump, I swear by Medela Freestyle. Really really portable.

j_foo/surf/jul,
oh so those tiny "bubbles" are called blisters....me so suaku leh! i had that too and left them be cos didn't even know what to do. just today the red scabs have come off so in a way healed but nipples are very sensitive. will continue to pump for now.

precious,
pumping seem to work well for me. latch on just cannot, an discontented baby and a distressed mummy. the CL did boil the fish and papaya soup yda but i think becos of lack of rest and sleep, the supply was boosted. and yes, i do drink lots of red dates tea b4 and after i pump.

j foo, Jul
Mine is blocking the duct
Been trying to "scrape" the skin off but it grows back. Is yours a case of the skin growth over the milk duct? Really irritating
Can feel pain at the tip of the area when pump or latch. I tot a LC may do a proper job of clearing it but i know sure v painful!

But is it a pumping issue? I didn't hv this for #1.

Jul
am using Medela PIS. FS not out yet during my time. So everytime lug that heavy backpack out. My first attempt pump in the car. Need to try out coz having the full mth celebration at an external venue this weekend. Hv to bring pump, sneak out during the lunch and pump in car. If not, how? Dun want to tahan 5 hours.

Yes, it's tiresome and like you, I was OBSESSED. But a fren told me this, make the pump work for you and not u be a slave to the pump and stay home. But I tell you, pump outside always v scary one. Scared pple open door, knock door, etc. I tried not to if I can. E.g. that day when pump in car, a stupid guy was jogging on that car park floor. Then he tried scaring those cats hiding under the cars. Not many cars that day. Then i didn't see the cats ran under my car. he ran towards my car and stamped his feet real hard on the floor at my door!!!! I jumped and started the engine!!!! Thought he is a pervert. He backed off and got startled too. Think he didns't realise someone was in the car. Signal sorry to me. Wah lao, my heart was beating so fast after the scare.

Precious
Envy you that your journey almost over liao. No need feel upset abt cannot use pump lar. So gald i am closing shop after #2.

char

Yeah the poor nipples will hurt for a looong time till they get used to the abuse. Then it'll be painless pumping liao.

surf

Mine wasn't over the milk ducts. Just some "abrasion" at the side of the nipple. And I had tone in the beginning of my breastfeeding career (think it was during the 1st mth) when my boy was latching & more during the initial mths of pumping, so it's probably the pump. But mine aws dried off & peeled off by itself when I ignored them & continued pumping thru the pain.

I didn't buy the Medela PISA till 6 weeks. Before that, I was using the useless Ameda Lactaline. PISA is a super pump. It can wring milk from a stone hahaha

Did u use a nursing cover with the pump? Gosh I dunno if I dare pump in the car!

Jul
Of coz must use a shawl!
Me not so "open" leh. Me never buy nursing cover for this. That's why it's challenging lor. Took a while to fit the flange to the breast coz cannot see in the "dark"!

Oh, think yours not milk blister, shld be some sores which dried up. Mine will not dry up and me scared will cause imflammation if the milk keeps getting stuck and cannnot get out thru the duct

surf

Is it? The nurse looked at the blister when I was warded and she said it was a milk blister leh.

Hmm.. in that case, maybe u'd better seek professional opinion. If it needs treatment, at least u can get it sooner rather than later?

Got SingaporeMotherhood December 2010 Newsletter:

"Eu Yan Sang eStore Launches in Singapore – Enjoy up to 25% discount during our launch promotions. "

Is this better than the birthday voucher discount?

jul,
PISA so good ah? can wring milk from a stone, i like the way you put it.

sunny,
you can try and ask if you can use the birthday voucher on top of the discount.

char

Yes it is very good! The power & endurance is unbeatable. I used it for 1 yr without needing any repairs. The only thing is that it isn't very portable.

sunny

It says up to 25%. Maybe most items are only 10% off?

It's online, so interested mummies can easily check I guess. I'm not interested in EYS products myself. Just tot I'd highlight it as saw some discussion about it earlier

The 25% at EYS online store is only applicable to certain products I think. Only had a quick glance. Bai Feng Wan is on special promotional price, that works out better than the b'day 20%

Milk blisters - the blisters will clump together and that's when they block milk ducts. Need to clear these up as they block the ducts where the milk will flow out. There are ways of massaging that can open up more milk ducts and speed the milk flow. Doris, the LC, did this for me and man, it was painful, but really helped in reducing the time needed to pump.

I kena abscess during the first one and had to go for op. The amazing thing was I could tahan the pain for almost a week! I didn't quite know what was going on, only felt the pain every now and then and I didn't think too much about it. And I had no fever (which normally accompanies abscess). The hole was almost as big as a ping pong ball! So with my second one I was careful and more observant, making sure I didn't feel any lump.

The milk blisters is due to the suction being too hard, so may want to adjust the suction power.

Surf, I first week already depression ahhaa. cry and cry. the CL very insensitive, say "ni bu gou nai la, baby bu bao" i not enuff milk, baby still hungry... qi si wo.

Char,
Mrs wong i find her very good leh. Her staff also very good. 1st few times i go i feel they very fierce, then when they know im bit depress they very nice to me. Though i dun really believe that MUST GIVE ONLY BREAST MILK now haha. At that time i try lah, but now i believe HAPPY CAN LIAO.

AND i use the lanisoh gel, heal next day very good. for 1st 2 mths, i literally keep applying, dun need to wipe off ya, the more u wipe ur nipple more blister. Our milk got antiseptic one. Actually its the aerola that give out antiseptic.

FOR PISA, i have it too, i dun find it super good leh. Ok ok lah. Must know how to use correctly. And... i carry it to my office for 3 mths.... haha. Very heavy.

Char,
and im very good with dealing with engorgement haha, im bit sadist though. I got nickname, mdm lockiah haha.

BTW my girl 1st birthday next monday woohoo, im a mother for 1 yr liao!!

ivy,
is mrs wong herself fierce? how can these LCs be fierce? we're depressed and desperate for help, they should be more compassionate mah. after hearing, i dare not go to them for help leh. you can actually tahan the pain of engorgement ah? damn painful!

btw, where to buy lanisoh gel?
happy birthday to your gal in advance. they grow so fast ya? i can't wait for my boy to turn at least 2yrs old! haha!

ivy

Congrats on your gal's 1 yr old tdy!

char

Mrs Wong is rather fierce. But not so much fierce as just abrupt & matter of fact. I personally had pretty ok experiences with her. Ling is also more "fierce". Lilian is very nice. Nvr had up close & personal contact with the rest, so I dunno.

I think can get Lansinoh from Mothercare. I used Avent

hi Surf
sorry for the late answer...busy wif work lately..
school fees for united Montessari is $850 (before subsidy)
i just received call from my first skool (at toa payoh central) they got 1 vacancy for my girl (previously i put on waiting list looong time ago)..now thinking whether to change school anot. if change to my first skool will be because of convenient sake coz i stay at toa payoh, can walk to my first skool. my hubby said united Montessari there very difficult to park the car...so there will be problem to drop her and to fetch her from school.
Precious, are you still engaging the part time cleaner to come your house? im looking for 1 from 4th week Dec onwards till 1st week Jan next year, for 3 times per week. any recommendation?

Hey,i received call from blk 199 tpy,but heard some mummies said that cc not tat good?thk i better wait my first skool in tpy ba...that blk 199 seems lesser kids,ratio is 1:5.Environment wise not tat sure coz the teacher there said not really encourage outsider go in visit as scare got virus..etc..hmm..the class start 3 jan, so if i miss this vacancy again,then don know wen will hv vacancy again lo!

I hope can get after cny and he is abt 2 yo liao better rite...

my son now 20 mths but thk he still not prepare himself to cc,now he still zz in rokcer in the afternoon nap!nite time still ok to zz on bed, but now adays he always cry vy liud zz at nite!i don know wat happen to him?is it normal for toddle 20mths to throw his temper and show his tantrum??so so tired with him!he just refuse to zz,even he is vy tired liao!abt 12 midnite already still don wan zz and make noice there!shouted,scream,cry vy loud!haiz...

i hv to wait him cry till tired liao then only zz!

Sabrina
The PT cleaner's schedule is fully packed.
You may also contact Yanghui at 8464 4702. She stays at Potong Pasir.

Newmummy
From what I heard (might not be true), Blk 199 let the children watch TV for many hours.

Hey precious, is it?Means the cc not tat good then...tat time i thk i went once to fill form under waiting list,saw the cc environment like vy dark, i mean not like my first skool so clean and bright and outdoor also quite nice...
hmm..thk better let him go there rather than blk 199 ba...
DOn know y suddenly so many cc come back to me?mayb is new yr start already or got kids enroll to N1 ba..

Btw,my boy really bad temper lo!he can cry and shout and even kick leg on the floor!so noti!my hubby yell to him he also no use!beat him only know cry more loud!haiz...really diff to teach him!
tats y i was thk is it better then let him go cc learn new thgs and let teacher teach him lo!

Char,
yes from mothercare, super good.

They are not say fierce as in rude angry fierce. They very honest and liek mothers. They still very nice, and ling is more stern. Mrs wong is motherly, so like our mother lah, when we need love, give us love and care, when we need to be wake up from ideas, she also tell me lah. So we dun sink into further depression. Go lah they good.

I cannot tahan, so i solve it myself. Hahha.

Hey Jul, Blk 199 is BISHAN-TOA PAYOH NORTH CCC CHILD CARE & DEVELOPMENT CENTRE.
I just call to tell gv it a miss...
Precious,i also ask her that is it got TV for children watch?she said only after the program, abt 5pm + wait for the parent come to fetch them then only will play tv,and the tv program is those singing type...
So the more late the parent come to fetch the kids, the longer the kids watch lo...

Hi Precious
thanks for the cleaner contact.
previously United Montessari provide bus transport but have stopped few years ago because of accidents involving school bus...

Newmummy
I see. The centre which my girl is attending, they let the children watch max 1 educational VCD/DVD. The rest of the waiting time, the teachers play with them, or let them take out toys to play, to playground etc.

Sabrina
Now the sch bus regulation is very strict. All must install seatbelts. Have you decided in which centre?

Newmummy
I drove by Blk 55. Looks that the renovation is almost done, from the outside view. My girl behaves well in sch, will follow teachers' instructions. But at home she can be naughty too. We must be mentally prepared if we decide to send them to cc, etc: prepare to let them cry (perhaps a few hrs, a few days, a few weeks)

hey mummies who are fans of tim's restaurant... he is currently having a promo selling vouchers at 20% off. which means u pay $80 for $100 worth of vouchers in $10s. hv to get in $100s. for mummies who are not so frequent, you might want to share cos very gd discount. valid for one year. promo till end of dec.

Oh really Precious?Thk will wait for this cc then, but there ratehr not that convenicne compare with blk 199 as if raining will be ma fan, coz me not driving,if no rain there will be more nearest to my hse in fact....anw,also don know hv vacancy or not?thk the fees shd be same as Blk199 rite?
Blk55 i tot will only open mid yr 2011?if u said it almost doen for reno,mayb march will hv chance?

side track.

Previous,
did u mention LNT toa payoh before? You send your kiddos there?

Anyone got review on kindermusik, julia gabriels, LNT and shicida??

I dun feel like going jym like JWT, gymboree. Been to GUG, BJG, i feel bored..

ivy,
i sent my gal to GUG and now she's attending LNT @ tpy. The course she's attending now is less active compared to GUG. There r max 6 students in a class and everyone r sitted accompany by a parent. There are song singing session, flash cards and table activities to strengthen a child memory and logical thinking. There's a new edition in LNT programme known as FastTrackids. chk out their website or try out the trial classes http://www.geniuslearninghub.com/. Hope this helps.

ivy,
She' no longer wif GUG, however I had signed up both gug and lnt on weekends class once a week. LNT do have weekdays classes starting from Thurs. However please chk wif them again perhaps they r now open fm mon-sun due to the new addition.

Hi Ivy,

I have sent my girl to Shichida class and so far so good. It's quite similar to LNT, just that it's more expensive I think. I'm also looking for anyone who has sent their kids to Ykidz Montessori? Need some feedbacks for preschools as there are not much good preschools in Toa Payoh. Anyone can help?

Dor,

so how is LNT?? u think good?

Winnie,

same i tot of changing my girl to Ykidz Montessori later on.

i'm also considering LNT cos i can accompany my girl along.. for ykidz can the parent accompany?

anyone knows what's the course fees for JG playclub?

getting very stressed settling on a school for my girl.. it's dec already and still looking for one...

ivy,
frankly, it is not sufficient to let my gal attend once a wk class but since i gotta work guess no choice. Home revision is also impt however, am a lazy mom din really run thru the materials wif her only if i have the time. That is also part of the reason i din enroll Shichida. After attending the course at LNT for close to a year i did see improvement in her writting skill and memory. she's also quite good in maze, memory games and zig saw puzzle.
Personally I find this course is good as it teaches a child to be more focus and discipline in a way as they are not encourage to run about during lesson.
It may be suitable for some kids but not all as it depends very much on individual liking. When my gal first joined after she ended her course at GUG, she is not used to sitting still during the lesson. Eventually she got used to it although at times she'll insist to sit on my lap.

Hi Ivy,Winnie,
I sent my boy to montessori class and this coming sat will be end for 12 times already.
well, i would say the class is only 1 hour from 10-11am.
My boy is the most notiin the class and nvr pay attention when teacher teach!
Parent only either dad or mom can stay with kids.
Basically,the 1st 20mins like let the kids play with the tools there,learning..then will sit in a round, teach will show somethg in flash card,let kids know wat is the thgs,for examples,will gv apple,cut in small pieces let kids try,let them know this is apple,how i taste,etc,then will put few fruits on floor,ask kids one by one come to show which is apple?My boy always don follow inx from teacher and run here and there!So headach!diff to control him to sit properly to listen to teacher, but some kids vg good girl/boy!so participate on the class,so it really vy depends on ur kids!
Then after may or may not hv touch on, like let them drawing,use crayon.
Last will hv singig and dancing session lo...
The fees is $140 per month,4times,kind of ex actually,but i let him try lo.
Every time i bring him to there eel vy stress,coz when he make noise,whole class look at him and me!omg!
Any Q can ask me again...:p
else can call to ask for details ba...

Dor,
ya hard to find energy after work sia.
So she went LNT once a week and do u still run through with her sometimes?

I was thinking of switching my girl when after CC, depends on how first skool is. So want to look for a good kindergarten, which start early say from CC onwards or nursery? Im still lost how to differentiate.

From IFC, to CC, to PLAYGROUP to NURSEY to KINDERGARTEN right?? all got full day?

Hi Ivy,

I'm actually looking for a preschool for my girl when she turns 2+ to 3 years old but will continue with Shichida for the next coming term.

Hi babyminniee,

I think Ykidz hv enrichment classes whereby parents can accompany the kids. I'm actually looking at their preschool curriculum. U may refer to their website for more info.
As for JG playclub, in fact, I'm still in their waiting list. Seems like the feedback for JG was not bad but the waiting time was killing!
It's really hard time finding a good school for yr kid as I'm in the same process as u. Good luck in yr searching!

ivy,
good thing they will give out homework for them to do mostly writing, hence i'll make sure she complete her homework before the next lesson start. other then that i'll usually let her play maze, puzzle, phonics card games or memory games at home. she doesnt likes to write and everytime i gotta coax her to finish her homework or else tr. will question her keke.
My understanding Playgroup, nursery and Kindergarten is not full day. Duration max 3hrs. for playgroup and nursery. Wherease ifc and childcare there r choices for u to select either half or full day diff charges of coz. Most childcare covers thru to kindergarten and the kids learn more in cc as well.

newmummy08,
that sounds very similar as GUG, maybe except GUG teaches zoo phonics am not sure if the montessori does tat.

Winnie,
preschool is between 3-6 right? Which consist of nursery, kindergarten 1, kindergarten 2?

Age 0 - 18mths is infant care, age 18mths to 3 yrs is childcare which consist of playground?

haha am i right finally?