TOA PAYOH mummies

HI Eunice,pls let me know the price how much selling at Ang Mo ok?and how many pieces one?thx~!btw,there got school meh?for which age of group of the kid ah?
Precious,wer is lor 5?any landmark ease to find ah?i might try up seems u are given free,as i heard ppl said is quite ok,rite?

Newmummy08, check this morning. L size is S$14.95 for 42 pieces t Ang Mo.

Down there got 2 schools, one is Liz Montessori for 2 yrs old onwrds, another one is Jessin, but not sure what is the min entry age.

Are, I just found another pair of sandal and one pair of shoes. Measure the sole, approximately 16 cm or so. Do you want the three pairs of shoes?

hey eunice!Thx alot for help~!so tat will be cheaper than ntuc or?i don know there sell how much ,so onsider Ang Mo will be the cheapest la?
Oh,my boy only 10 months,so thk still nd wait 8 more months to go atleast i thk.how much the fees ah?whole day care?

precious,
jessin have cos i remember looking at their school timings for all levels when they opened for intake last year. i'm not sure about liz montessori. btw, when do you intend to put sha in PCF untill? i heard that private kinddy prepare K1 and K2 students for pri sch and for those kids who are not prepared they tend to struggle in pri sch in the beginning. u know another mummy nick called dsii? her elder son went to PCF and had to struggle to keep up when he was in pri 1 but now ok lah but that was a about 3yrs ago. wonder if PCF improved their standard or not. if not then i may have to look at other kinddy when my gal reach k1.

Char
She spends 2hrs in PCF daily, hence I do not expect her to learn much.
Most important, she enjoys, and is able to socialise n commununicate well with her peers.

Have to depend which playgroup/half-day program I'm sending my #2 when he turns 18mths, then decide if I still want #1 to continue in PCF.

So far, I'm pleased with PCF, and she makes many friends there.
This year (nursery level), they will be introducing phonics, simple maths and recognise chinese characters.

Many of the students from Pei Chun staying at my block, used to study at Blk 45 PCF.
Majority of them did not attend any enrichment programs.
But they did attend some short courses (etc: abacus course) by PCF.
I'm planning to send Sha to chinese enrichment program twice a week, as to build a good interest and foundation, since my hubby wants her to go to Pei Chun.

precious,
ic ic. somehow the PCF at blk 45 seems to be good. not sure about the one that L will be attending. will see how she progresses in pre-n and nursery and decide if wanna switch sch. or at most like you, i can send her for some enrichment classes.

K1 and especially 2 are the important stages in terms of prep for P1. Parents play an important role too, enhancing what is taught in these two stages. To be honest, don't think enrichment is needed unless parents can't play a role in supporting. From what I see in many school's exam papers (perhaps with the exception of schools offering gifted program), 1st half of P1 is a revision of K2, 2nd half is an extention of K2. In short, when choosing a kindy, make sure the K1 and especially 2 stages are well taken care of and the kid should cope well.

Newmummy08, hee not sure about whether Ang Mo is the cheapest. Think Precious highlighted that NTUC is having promotion for mammy poko this week. You can check out and compare the price.

Precious, Liz Montessori has playgroup programme for kids between 2+ to 3+. The playgroup is held at 8-30 am and 10-30 am. She has maths and phonics enrichment program for the older kids between 3+ and 7+.

I'm not too sure what they do for K1 and 2. From what I see (and that was during the early stages when I was attending with Jayden during the 1st wk), I don't think they do a very good job with the older ones. They seem to be very much "on their own", minimal guidance, always seem to be doing worksheets. It may well be due to manpower shortage as Yu Kai was teaching both Mandarin and Eng. Now they have engaged a Chinese teacher so perhaps it's more well managed now.

I'll see how things progress, may change Jayden to Singapore Montessori which Beatrice attended when he reaches K1. I find that they have done a good and thorough job in preparing what NEEDS to be done.

feeling a little stressed whenever i discuss this topic with other mums. the education standard is so high now. what we learned in pri 3 is what our kids are learning in pri 1! so stressful!

precious,
where is pcf?what are the charges like?
hmm.. now i need to hunt for a place for my son when he turns 18mth le.. headache..

hi newmummy,
i gt the mamypoko at ntuc.. think precious quote a good deal n guess wat?there gt lucky draw also when u buy any mamypoko diapers!=)good luck!!

Today Sunday's papers wrote abt preschools on how well they prepare kids for Pri 1.

Took a glance only, didnt read much.
Finally managed to grab the socks from kiddy palace, brand max kool. Think $9 for 3 pairs.

Am so gan cheong abt tues starting school...haiz.

MAMY POKO L Size - the shop at Pasir Ris sells a pack of 38 for $14.20. Currently there are promotional packs with an extra 4 pieces free (so 42 pieces). Let me know if anyone wants, can buy on Sun when I go there.

are
I have replied you. Sorry for delay -- I was on mc, and then on a course for 2 days....

ryes/dor
Do you intend to be there for a few days for them to settle into N1?
Morning session - the kid may not be able to wake up on time.
Afternoon session - the nap time will be affected.
Just give them some time to adapt, and don't stress yourself.

stylobb,
thanks! yeap i'll be there for the 1st few days. will see how if she has difficulty waking up in the morning, i'll move her to 2nd session provided there r available slots.

Mumies, just wanna check if anyone knows whether there is any shop that sells curtains with disney designs like Thomas & Friends, or Barney?

Hey Gal Dolphine,ntuc sell how much now ah?got luckly draw?but thk need min buy 2 pack or somethg rite?went Giant last sat,also got draw,but is for pants tyoe only wo..

Jfoo,thk the MP really is cheap,so u going to gte it this sun?can i let u know this few days?will it troublesome for u?
btw,the shop at p.ris how come sell so cheap le?
anw,thk msia sell more cheap!haha~!
the quality shd be the same rite?

Precious,me also wan to prepare for my son go PFC even now he is only 10mths..haha..kiasu abit...just to get more info,so tat won last min panic ma..hee..
so wan get info from u abt the PFC is whole day or halfday one?wast the diff with other childcare ctr?

Newmummy, no trouble, I go there every other week to buy Magiclean wipes, $3.80 per packet, which works out cheaper than those bundled ones in NTUC. There was one period $3.20 only! Regret not stocking up then... Ya, so you let me know, I can buy for you then you just collect from my place (Lor 5). Want promo pack will have to be fast before they sell off everything. The milk powder there is also cheaper than others I've seen and they are the S'pore version (not M'sian). The two versions source for ingredients from different countries, that's why there's a slight variation in price. As for diapers, don't think there is a difference in quality, although I've heard that the MP value pants do differ in the cut. A few friends have told me that the MP value L size is smaller than the standard MP L size.

jfoo,
ur side sounds so much cheaper for the MP..
can check out for me the prices for the pull up pants?coz ntuc selling $15.20 for 28 piece.if ur side there is cheaper.. mabe can help me buy pls?
then i collect from u when u done?thanks ya..

precious,
may i know where u get those musical flashcards from?tks!

HI Precious,oic,thk now i plan might be too early liao la,...haha...

Jfoo,ok sure,thx ya!The magiclean u get from is wet type or dry?hw many pieces?sound quite cheap.
oh really?MP value pants cutting more small?bt is that gd?Ok,will let u know asap then~!

Gal Dlphine,i saw it sell at Giant only 12.50,gt promo,but cant confirm hw many pieces la,u may go there chk?

j_foo, where is PR?

Ryes, dun gan cheong. The kids will feel that and cry even more. Just give them some time to adjust bioclock but be firm if you want her to nap after return from school.

Have you all bought stuff for cny?

Pasir Ris Dr 6, it's a Chinese Medical Hall, Jin Tai, think there's a branch in Sengkang too.

Magiclean I buy the dry ones. Standard pack, 20 pieces.

CNY - haven't started yet! Have asked my hubby to get pineapple tarts from a bakery near his work place at Depot Road. Read some good reviews on it. Will be getting from my usual place Le Cafe at Middle Road and Teck Neo too.

jfoo... wah, the magiclean is v cheap leh. Ang mo used to be v cheap too, but they always out of stock. now i buy from pink beaute, $12+ i think. i noe the shop u toking abt. last time i stay in sk also buy things like milk and diapers frm there.

i noe the bakery you toking abt 2. very jap stylo name one rite? their tarts are the best seller. i think they are nice, but not huge fan. but le cafe pineapple tarts are good!! i read in the papers abt the raves, and my BIL managed to get some last year and we loved it! but so so ex leh... we are ordering stuff frm a nyonya shop tis year, hope they turn out nice. and we also like u one, every year got a few types of pineapple tarts at home. always say enuff liao, but still in the end muz buy. ha! my frens came for a party one year, and we served 6 kinds of pineapple tarts, they call us siao! hehehe... :p my other muz haves are beehive and kueh bahulu.

me already got partial cny decor up. stylobb would noe. hehe... ordered the cookies liao. clothes bot few months bac all 'reserved' for cny liao. so i guess i'm pretty done! hehe... every year gotta mad rush for my mom's place, so i always make sure i'm done with my own prep first. anyways, not doing any open house so nothing much to prepare also. juz left ang pows!

many thanx to stylobb and eunice for the 'donation' of shoes to my ger!!

Dor,

glad u smsed me, coz I lost your hp and always forget to get fr u again via sms.

Today it was a breeze then end up getting stressed. Gal was all happy and fine. School bus missed our location this morning (somehow had a hunch that he will miss us and should have called day before to reconfirm, but I didnt).
So took public transport dwn.

Adapted well in class, but still worried abt her getting up the toilet bowl to pee, coz stil high for her to tip toe up, worried abt her washing hands, drying it, then she removed her socks and shoes from some blocks activities and teacher asked her wear back (tried to assist her to learn how to wear back, but at one point, my girl got frustrated, then the teacher just throw the socks on the floor). So gal picked up and then teacher try to assist again. Heng my girl knows how to wear her shoes.

Notice dress too long, so gonna alter for her too. Didnt take lunch, coz she dont eat macaroni. Tomorrow kway teow also I think she wont eat. Mon, Fri porridge also she wont eat. Die lor. Haiz...

Then just when they release the kids, I was talking to the bus driver at the carpark, when I went back, sa her crying loudly, said she cant find me. Sob sob....

She was dead tired by then. I think for 3 hrs for her is the longest she has been in a school, other than playgroup, which is 2hrs.

Wondering how to coax her up the sch bus on her own..haiz.

Le Cafe is always a must have in my household. Ex as they are, they're BIG, so one is enough to satisfy (most people!). Ya, I like to stock various pineapple tarts, give more selection ma, and then I'll offer the people tarts according to their "standard" haha! Those not so picky ones, will eat any tart, those with more classy tastebuds will get the Le Cafe or Teck Neo, haha! My MIL bought a bottle from Cold Storage (the homebrand, made in Indo), I tell you, it was so yucks that I spat it out! Seriously! Pineapple paste was yucky, pastry was too salty and hard.

Another fav of ours is Lapis, but we only buy one big one, cut into a few portions and give to various friends. Still contemplating as to where to get from this year. Normally we'd get it from Subway Niche. We get surabaya from them too.

jfoo... i noe wat u mean. sometimes we go out ppl give free tasting. aft eating we will look @ each other and you can literally see our speech bubble like "u call tis pineapple tart?!?!". hehe... hubby will usually walk away, while i juz throw a weak "too sweet/sour for us". :p actually, for the past two years, we found tat our fav is still the cake history bakery opp ntuc at the hub. their pastry is crumbly and paste is sweet, but not overly. shucks, talking abt the tarts are making me salivate! ha!

i usually dun eat lapis cos dun quite like. but there is this brand the MLM i buy things frm bring in frm m'sia, we love so much! wen i set up stall to sell one year, it was sold out in matter of days cos very different, not too oily, and the taste juz nice. wah jfoo... you are really a foodie leh, i lose to you even! hehehe... :p

j_foo,
ah...jin tai tang, i know where. there is also another one at west plaza in pr too. yeah the Fm and diapers they sell are a bit cheaper.

CNY Goodies, my all time fav pinapple tarts, lapis and fried mini spring rolls stuff wif spicy shrimps Yummy!

Heard fren mentioned abt the pastry stall @ Middle Road maybe will chk it out personally. Me too quite particular abt pinapple tarts, must not be too sweet and crust has to be buttery. Had ordered 1 tub of homemade tarts fm my colleague.

Ryes,
mine seems ok the 1st day but today she starts to get very attached to me *fainted*. whenever am out of her sight she'll starts to call 'mummy mummy' aiyor. Trs din put enough effort to coax her too perhpas knowing that am around for her bah.
brout this out to the VP and she tld me to let the trs know so that they could try to coax her longer. I tot the trs shld try their best without mentioning sigh again.
I'll give it a try for a term and see how things go.

are
Yah, I took a 2nd look to ensure the tigers deco is on there..keke
No problem, hope at least one pair will fit her.
Too bad I didn't keep the smaller sizes....

dor
They say the stuff at Middle Road shop is already sold out by now...hehe

My fave is also pineapple tarts, and yes, pastry gotta melt in the mouth type!! And I don't like too much pineapple!

ryes/dor
Actually ur gals are stil young .. not even 3, right?? Will take some time for them to get used to the school, hours and routine... quite chaam if dor's gal has to wake up early...
Maybe sorta tell them in advance what is the routine like...

pineapple tarts @ middle road: thot they will produce daily *sigh* Btw lor. 1 along the 4d/toto booth there's a bakery shop selling bubble tea as well, their pine tarts r acceptable considering the price they are charging. last year i ordered fm them. Perhaps some of u can go there for sampling.

stylobb,
my gal nowadays wake up at abt 7am +/- been putting her to bed at 9.30pm. last nite we slept abt close to mid nite as we attended a wedding dinner and this morning she still wakes up at 7am. She must be stone by now keke!

Today, i finally bring up the courage to leave my gal alone with the trs. B4 i left i can hear her crying and calling for me. The Chinese tr. try to pacify her, she was ok for awhile but nxt moment cry again *ke lian*. Hopefully she'll improve when the days passes.

Here's somthing to share:-
http://www.crocs.sg/walkthetalk2010/

Dor
It is normal.
My girl also cried when I sent her to daily 2hrs playgroup.
Trust the teachers, I believe the teachers will take good care of her.
The only time I cried badly, was when my girl was just 1mth old and I placed her in the children's church with a stranger.
While I was in the adult service for 2.5hrs.
She was then so fragile, and had to breastfeed her.
My mind kept thinking if she would be hungry.
But God is always good. He always reminds me that "He will take care for me"

Precious,
Precious,
Thanks for sharing and encouragement.
Yes, i am worried abt my gal while at work, will wonder how is she doing when am not around hence able to undstd how you feel then leaving your lil one with a stranger at such vulnerable age.