TOA PAYOH mummies

Hi Ryes,
ur son so cute.. =P

Oh precious, wow.. if i were to do the same.. my son will not zz anymore.. he will be WIDW awake n watch the show all the way.. =(

sometimes i dun even know what to do with him.. he is like so bored at hm.. oh ya..
mummies can advise when n how u let ur kids self feed n by when they actually can do it by themselves?
recently i'm so vex till i have no idea what to make for my son to eat.. he refused to eat eggs, bread n sometimes fish.. haiz. so can share with me some of the kiddy's recipes pls?? thanks alot!

Self feed - I think generally by 2 can be quite proficient in doing this without creating too much of a mess. You can start now by giving little chunks of fruit or other stuff that he'll happily eat for him to use his hands and feed himself. Then try giving him a spoon and something that won't create too much of a mess (like cereal). Line the area with newspaper if you want the cleaning to be easier

Kids often go through phases of not wanting to eat certain things but eventually they will come back to it. Try other meat and veg? Have good hearty soup if he's happy to take that. I always believe that's the foundation.

Gal.dolphin - self feeding: Junior went thru a difficult phase of "i want my spoon!" when he was slightly after 12mth only. I was very frustrated then cos it's so difficult to wrestle the spoon with him when I wanted to feed him and he wanted to eat. Funny right?

later than I realised that he was trying to feed himself! Gosh... how can a small boy feed himself right?! wah... he could leh. Ever since I got the message (that he wanted to feed himself), he self feed le. Now, he's a skillful toddler who joins the adults at the dining table. But he doesnt pick the dishes, he would point and I would pick for him if I approve the food that he has chosen...

Some times, it's not the food. Change the presentation (the way it's cut/cooked, the plate). I tried using the compartmentalised plate for Junior when he's fussy.

For jUnior, usually changing the way the food looks work.

Anyone planning a holiday trip during cny? Am looking for recommendation on travel agency. I'd shortlisted HK, Japan and Korea.

On the topic of self-feeding. Can anyone tell me how you encourage your kids to self-feed? My boy who is 2.5 yrs old now has always refused to self-feed. I show him that my nephew (same age) can do it but he just refuses. Same applies for shower. Looks like child care kid is more independent....

Eunice, I think it boils down to each kid's character. My son's not in child care but he's the "I can do it by myself" type. Perhaps you can encourage your son to self feed the food he enjoys to start off with. You don't feed him, just get him to feed himself if he wants to eat. Don't get soft hearted either
If you really want to train him to feed himself then you'll have to MAKE him feed himself. As for showering, wouldn't start so early.

Dor, booking for CNY will be tricky, a lot of spaces have been taken up. I've tried 5 Stars and CTC (I think that's the co's name, can't remember exactly) and both were quite ok.

Hi Eunice, kids are more encouraged when they see other kids doing it. He should be able to do it, given his very good motor skills. Allow him to join the family at the dining table, and perhaps get him cute plates with lovely fork and spoon to encourage self feed.
For a start, I allowed the boys to play with their cutleries and created some mess with the food. Well, of cos lots of cleaning after that.

I'm rather strict with them, so when the grandma is not around,they have no choice but to self feed as I don't feed them nor chase after them. If they don't eat, they go hungry.

As for showering ... not so soon lah. A bit to dangerous for young kid to roam in the toliet alone. Relax Eunice !

Hi Ryes, I've delayed the boys to Ascension till they are K1. Already informed the school.
They will start with Cambridge childcare on 15th Jan. Mummy hoping to find a job .. so I think better adjust them with the child care now.

Eunice,
RE: Self Feed, agreed it cld sometime depends on a child's character. Try letting him dine together with Adults or Kids more frequent, this will helps influence him to self feed. My gal started with playing cutleries, food and slowing progress to self feed.

As for showering, she's now able to apply shower gel and wash her front and head (not pro but slowing getting there). The trick, coz both of us shower together at times (hee) in long run she will wanna try 'diy' too. But i guess your case wld be a bit tricky can’t let him see u 'full monty' after all he's a boy.

j_foo,
Thanks for the tip. ya i heard CTC is good too however they dun have the itinerary i want. am now deciding whether to go with 'Holidaybagus' or 'Euro-Asia' both has diff dates and fit in my schedule.

Janice,
Cambridge CC is it nxt to Novena Church? Previously b4 i engage a nanny, I'd went in to chk out and find it not bad, I almost wanted to put my gal there then. One of the tpy mummy recommended it to me as her son was there b4 her whole family moved to Indonesia.

Mummies, thanks for sharing tips on self-feeding. I hav bot his favourite thomas and friends plate and spoon but he just refuses to feed himself. He only feeds himself if he drinks soup. Trying to get him started quickly cos number 2 coming, want him to be more independent.
As for the shower part, I saw my nephew doing it. He is good. Put soap on his hair and body parts and wash off the soap himself. Of course all these done with adults around to make sure he is ok. My son is only willing to soap himself. When it comes to spraying the water, he refuses. Guess the water phobia came from the swimming lessons we brought him when he was much younger. That's why now it's so difficult to get him to wash and cut hair. Cry like mad when his hair is touched.

Dor, meant to ask you why your gal start school on 19 Jan?

Babe, how's your Japan trip? How's your pregnancy coming along?

hey Dor, that mummy must be Miin :D My girl was from cambridge before she move to a kindy. My experience with the school is fine too .. only that their school fees starting to get rather pricy.

hey mummies... anyone knows any 24hours or open till rather late clinics in tpy or nearby? i needed to see a doc on sunday 9pm, then realised i dun noe any 24hours clinic so ended up going to Mt A's 24 hours clinic, which had rather cheap fees - consultation is oni $25-$30. juz tat i was given a very ex medicine so added up quite a lot. but the Q was really long, and mine wasnt an emergency case, so cld hv gotten the med at a clinic faster.

i only know AM PM clinic at lorong 2, which closes at 10pm daily, but no one answered when i called. think other than the foody list, its good to start a doctors list too!

Hi Eunice,
Trip to Japan was great but super tiring with 2 kids. Think next time will leave them home n go pat tor with hb.

Sadly baby terminated a week back coz no heartbeat. So no #3 for now. Guess it's juz not the Lord's timing.

re: night crying
my gal also cried few times a night since she was 3mo till about 1yr+. till today i still can't figure out why she cried so often for a few times every night. what ever time she sleeps she will definitely wake up crying 1-2hrs after she fell asleep. i used to think that maybe she was over tired or slept late. someone told me it could be becos of respiratory problem as she was prone to having bronchiolitis when she was younger. anyway she seems to have outgrown that phase although i have noticed that she will whine and wanna cry if she is overtired.

re: self feeding
my gal is able to self feed herself when she was about 2yr but becos she has no interest in eating she tends to play with her food, cutlery or whatever she can find on the table, stand up, play with the buckle on her chair etc. so ended up i have to feed her. but if its something that she likes to eat she'll use her hands instead of her cutlery to eat. she's 34mo now.

welcome babe. how is your pregnancy coming along?

Babe, so sorry to hear that. But as you say, it's the Lord's timing. As for Japan, I think that's the reason my hubby and I have been delaying this Japan lap for these few yrs, cos kids are young, difficult to go to a non-familiar place and wanting to travel round to see as much as poss. And Japan is big so quite a fair bit of time is taken up just going from one place to another. I'll have to wait another 3 yrs I think...

Babe,
Am sorry to hear that happened, do take care.

Re: Tour trip, any advice if 400g formual milk is sufficient for 4D3N.

Eunice,
The P did mentioned something to let the older kids settle down 1st during the 1st few weeks of school then follow-by the younger ones.

Janice,
Yeap it was Miin.

Dor, depends how much is consumed per day. Generally it's 35g per 210ml, I think. Check the tin, there should be info on that.

dolphingal

I feed my son everything because i dont want ot make the same mistake with my girl who is now such a fussy eater. Dont eat egg, no tofu, no veg(now finally can accept brocolli), no fish.

So now son eats all the mention aboved, plus mushroom his favourite, minced meat. But he is fussy when it comes to fruits, he doesnt like soft fruits like banana, papaya,kiwi. He likes crunchy type.

I steam my kids food. LIke minced meat with tofu and mushroom, Or stirfry carrot, mushroom, tofu, brocoli. can chat more with u when u are online.

so nobody else gg to ascension PM?

Hi Dor,
I brought my son for a 4d3n trip to genting last year and the 400g formula milk podwer was more than sufficient for him. He drank 8oz 3times a day.. but I dilute the milk by giving only 3 scoops of powder to 8oz of water..
My son started his nursery at Ascension on 6th Jan, I'm also wondering how come your gal's starting date is so late..Hmm, anyway, I am glad that he is adapting well and din cry at all even though it's a totally new environmt for him and surrounded by all strangers. Hopefully, it will maintain this way..

Hi Babe, I'm sorry to learn abt the termination of your pregnancy.. It just strengthens my belief to cherish any relationship that we have with our close ones in life.. Btw, I am interesed in your spree but need to go check my size first. Will let you know asap.. (Anyone knows if there's any shop in toa payoh that sells pappilo sandals?

Christine, you can try the sports shop (Royal Sporting I think) next to Cash Convertors/Tiny Toons (near Courts), they stock Birks and Paps (or at least they did).

Ok Christine, will wait for u. once you confirmed please pm me the details as stated in the spree link and tt ref. Trying to order quick as some of those 50% off ones get oos.

babe,
didn't read your message which was above mine, guess your post appeared while i was composing mine. so sorry to hear about what happened. i guess like me, the Lord knows that we're probably not ready and decided to make his own plans for us.

ivy,
gripe water i think is for 1mth and above if i rembr correctly. either try enfacol or rid wind. i know, i tried both on my gal when she had colic but didn't seem to work very well. perhaps you give according to the directions bah. ru yi oil works for her though. dun worry she will outgrow that phase although its very stressful for both baby and parents to see her cry so much becos of colic.

Babe, so sorry to hear that. But we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

babe... sorrie to hear abt your pregnancy. but as a mother of a special child, i would tell u its better that way. i juz met a neighbour last night, who also terminated her pregnancy recently cos the child is tested to be 47% abnormal, and the docs say he would have many medical probs, so they decided to let the baby go. she is very sad, but she thinks its better than the whole family suffer in future as she's got two elder children. but do take care of your health now as well.

jfoo... u are very rite abt japan. when i went along with hubby's training 3 years ago, i walked till my soles fell off my shoes when i reached sgp! their stations are also ultra stroller unfriendly, with lots of steps and complicated connecting tunnels. i got lost and merry-go-round so many times. its really hard to tug kids along on such trips, unless you go with a tour grp.

dor... when i went bintan, wat i did was to multiply the total number of scoops needed, then bring abt 2 feeds extra. then juz stand in the kitchen and started counting scoops of milk powder into plastic bags. i pack in plastic bags, then pack all things inside a tupperware box, so when the milk finish, i dun hv to bring any container back. i also brought my own hot flask, bottle brush etc, cos hotel sometimes dun hv hot flask.

ivy... infacol/enfacol and rid wind are good. my ger was severe reflux, but these did reduce the effect. they worked well for my sister's kids tho. it might not solve the prob entirely, i presumed you are talking about the crying, cos you will have to wait for them to outgrow the colic. the med can oni help to relieve. you can also try ruyi oil on the soles of the feet. and do apply immed aft bath, before sleep etc, not only when baby starts crying.

Ivy, as Dor and Are mentioned, Infacol is pretty good. It doesn't stop crying per se but it helps with the wind and help the baby burp better, or at least that's what I find.

By the way, anyone wants a bottle of multi-vit for babies and toddlers? It comes in liquid form with a dropper. It's from Nature's Plus. Expiring in May so gonna let it go at only $15 (original price close to $30).

babe
SOrry to hear take. Take care.

HOw was ur gal's first day at school?? I didn't see you....
Mine took it very well....

char, are, j foo, i gave gripe water, baby 5 weeks liao. And use ruyi oil today. Finally just now, she poo major.. i think farted, the shit burst out of diaper -.- but she seems better. Thank u!

ivy,
good to her that. my gal was something like that too. when she has wind in her tummy she would cry until she passed out gas then she felt better and stopped crying.

Christine,
I called Ascension to counter check, the staff mentioned they have diff date for certain groups hence guess mine falls under the latter one.

dor
Wow your gal is in N1, right? Wow, that is quite late...
Who is fetching her there?
Quite messy this week with the pick-up...

Christine, J_foo & Are,

Thanks for the advice!

Anyone who is looking for Skylight Abalone Gift Set SAFRA member had a promo $48 2cans/$68 4 cans/$88 6cans (free delivery) I'd jus rx'd mine yesterday packaging is exactly what it had shown in catalogue. No worries if u are not a SAFRA member they wont check. This is the 2nd time i'd ordered thru them.
PM me if u r interested and i'll send u their order lists.

Stylobb,
Yeap my gal in N1, her Papa will be fetching her to sch in the morning and Ah Gong fetching her back to nanny's plc after sch.
It's gonna be a mad rush for both my hb and me in the morning preparing her for sch hee!

Dor
That's good...
She is still young, a bit difficult to get her up and about in the mornings..keke

How did the other mummies settle the transport?
(Char/Ryes, are your kids in Ascension?)

On the first day of my boy's school, the bus driver called me in the morning to ask if he is taking the school bus. I said he is no longer taking the bus. I thot that was nice of him.

Dor, your girl starting on which date?
Stylobb, my girl first day in ascension is 19th, it's just another week to go and I dread it to come as well, coz I have to wake up early together with her. And the afternoon nap is gonna be messy as well and I doubt I will have free time in the afternoon too.

Stylobb, do you let ur kids bring water bottle? I double checked again. Water bottle not advisable for them, coz all the bags will be stacked up in a basket. So if there are any spillage, all will gena, together with the notes, the books if any.

IF sling on ur child, any other child can just go and drink and share. (I once saw right infront of me, this little girl tried to open my girl's water bottle that i was hanging on my stroller to drink! Heng I stopped her in time man. Her parents were no where to be found.

Thanks gals for your comfort. Yupz, getting on and moving on and see what's next.

Stylobb, mine was crying. Hb dropped her and we are there usually closer to 8. Saw urs. So guai, like nothing like that! Heehee..

ryes
YEah I find the chaam part is when their sleep is disrupted in the mornings. OK now for my kids as my mil drives them to/fro school.
One way is to ensure ur kid sleeps early at night.
Is she taking the school bus? or is someone fetching her?

Water bottle - yeah, was told not to bring as there are supposedly water dispensers around the school but my maid will still put (half full) bottles in the bags. I think forget about slinging, the kid sure forgets to bring along...

I just asked my older boy, he says he does not drink from his water bottle as the school gives him water...

So your gal wl start same day as dor's gal...

babe
Good to know that you are ok and moving on...
FYI I had a miscarriage before the twins came along..

Oh you saw my twins ah... yah they were v happy and like their uniforms and bags smiling away... joined in the singing and when it was time to go for their class, they said 'bye bye mummy.' Maybe cos they have each other for company...
They also started their berries class last week.

char
OIC... wow, only start in Feb.

Any other mummies have kids going to Ascension...?

Hey stylobb

I dont know if dor's girl starting same day as mine or not. Mine's in the Pm session, 1130am, but will be reaching school at 11am, coz the sc bus need to standby to fetch the AM session kids.

So was told my gal will be brought to the library then hold a mini assembly in their own classroom. Any parents follow the kids in the classroom bo?

hi Ryes,

thanks for sharing.. i also feed my son with EVERYTHING but he choose his food! =(

can kindly share with me some of the recipes u made for ur son via email?? =) thanks alot...

potty training:
mummies can share with me how u potty train ur kiddos?n what kind of training pants shld i get for a start.. thanks alot.. really appreciate the input..

Ivy,

PM u.

Ryes,
My gal is starting sch the same day as yours but in the a.m. session. i'll give it a try if both of us can 'tong' the waking-up early part, if not will chk wif the sch if there's any p.m. slots available hee!

Ryes
The ones that I went -- they gather in the main assembly area, then break into their classes. They will hv morning singspiration.

Wow, what are they gonna do for half an hour??

dor
IF your hb is fetching, at least ur gal does not hv to wake up so early. But ur gal is still young... a bit tough for her to hv to get up early.
Last yr I was getting up at 6.30am!!

babe
Hope ur gal is beta today.

stylobb,
think am gonna be like u waking up at 6.30am. gotta prepare myself for work, lil one to sch plus hb usually leaves for work @ 7.30am. *pengsan*

Any mummies heard of this brand of soap bar "Euroma"? Need some feedback if anyone has used it b4. Suppose to cure ezema, skin problem, etc. sounded like a 'wonder bar'.